Toyota GRMN Sports Hybrid Concept – electric in the front, V6 in the rear

This is the Toyota GRMN Sports Hybrid Concept II, a hybrid sports car that it will be entering into the 24 Hours of Nurburgring endurance race in late July 2011.

The GRMN acronym stands for Gazoo Racing Meister of Nurburgring, which is a tribute to the late Hiromu Naruse, Toyota’s late test driver (1944-2010) who passed away last year. He was also the chief of the GAZOO racing team.

It’s quite obviously based on the Toyota MR-S, as you can see from the interior pix.

The car has a mid-mounted 3.5 litre V6 engine powering the rear wheels, while the front wheels are powered by an electric motor mounted up front, resulting in a hybrid all wheel drive system. The engine’s peak output is 245 horses, but combined with the electric motor the car has an effective 295 horsepower.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2329]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• shawal on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:03 pm

wow… front looks like a TVR ,
    BUT….will Toyota Build it….?

• kwing on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:04 pm

nice, look a little like supercar…

• Icecold on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:19 pm

Wow! I wonder if this is going into production… Would make a unique variety to Toyota’s line of ports cars .

• Razor on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:24 pm

The rear looks fat IMHO

• the MR-S chassis has always been a good platform, hope toyota develops a new mid engine sports car..

• freddie on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Yeah good chassis, MR-S , the car that always spin at corner, except if the driver is damn good.

• i find it very balanced with the most responsive steering,mid engine car not like driving front wheel drive..you have to have a good feel of the car..i know because i own one for almost 8 years already, never spun on me before..

• yup….the mr-s is the worst ever handling sports car….if it is even a sports car in the 1st place.

• missyblurkit on Jun 27, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Jojo: agree with you. we’ve owned our MRS for the last 10 years and she’s been a superb baby. Street or competition she has never failed us.

One has to drive the car to know how she handles. To accuse the car that it spins at the corner or is the worst ever handling sports car is unfair. Have the 2 respondent ever really driven the MRS to begin with?

The MRS itself has withstood the Super GT and was the GT300 champions. Not once but for a few years. This speaks a lot of the car.

• pual tan on Jun 23, 2011 at 3:51 pm

295hp with tat kind of look is a bit embarrassing driving on normal road, and color of a cow’s liver summore, i beh tahan oh.

• TFazuin on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:05 pm

3.5L but only 245hp? The mark x 3.0 supercharger makes 320hp and the flat 3.0 makes 255hp. Maybe they don’t have a suitable mid engine available. 50hp extra on an electric motor is about the same performace of the current run of the mill hybrid like 3008’s Hybrid4. Not really that impressive.

• Agree.. Toyoda at it’s best of being fakefully green!

• that aluminum chassis is below 1000kg and quite strong, is not all abt power output..weight plays a huge role in performance

• Kiddo on Jun 24, 2011 at 12:44 am

Sometimes you have to consider what type of engine it is. This 3.5L V6 is of the Atkinson cycle type i believe, they’re made for good fuel efficiency and high compression ration.

If you’ve read more, the 3.5L V6 on the Lexus IS350 makes a nice 306hp, happy?

• AhBeng on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:14 pm

i really thought is a new TVR!

• CamPor on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:37 pm

wow…erk…mmm…wtf…shit…wow…

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Jun 23, 2011 at 4:51 pm

Toyota …weird and wacky…. MRS racer….

• SOUP69 on Jun 23, 2011 at 6:17 pm

That is one ugly car. Sorry TOYOTA, try not to raid your parts bin for a concept. It’s obvious not much thought have been put into the design of the car.

• zinus on Jun 23, 2011 at 8:31 pm

so no boot trunk at all? hehe just kidding guys

• missyblurkit on Jun 27, 2011 at 3:10 pm

We’ve owned the MRS for the last 10 years and for sure its not trigger happy spinner at corners. Driven her hard at gymkhana and hill events and she’s been giving a good handling for a mid engine unlike what’s been claimed by some readers. For those who know her, podium finishes were common not just by the group of MRS owners n their cars each with a different setup.

If one were to follow the history of the MR2, then one will realise that a power to weight ratio makes the difference in the MRS.

Bad handling? Then I wonder what made the MRS emerge as SuperGT champions in the GT300 category for a few years?

• koolspyda on Jun 27, 2011 at 5:36 pm

this is parked under the late Hiromu Naruse Gazoo project, not main Toyota (just) yet.

(V6 THS – Toyota Hybrid System. AWD with KERS), feelers going round its could be combined output of 400ps, max torque 56N.m. 450ps with KERs output 68.N.m
    braking 100kmh-0 in 32m

much like the porsche’s 918 where the combined output place it in >700hp,

This hybrid is tested currently in japan under the guise of the standard MR-S.