Chevrolet Beat to get 1.0 liter 3 cylinder turbodiesel engine

Chevrolet will be adding a new 1.0 litre turbodiesel engine to their compact Chevrolet Beat hatchback, which will help GM expand its market share in India.

The 3 cylinder turbodiesel engine is expected to output 150Nm of torque, which doesn’t sound like a lot compared to larger 2.0 litre turbodiesels, but it’s a very good number considering it’s a small and light car and peak torque kicks in at a very low engine RPM compared to a petrol engine.

The Beat diesel is expected to do 24 km per litre, or 4.16 litres per 100km. Fancy something like this in Malaysia?

[zenphotopress number=999 album=709]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Diesel LOver on Jun 30, 2011 at 1:35 pm

How nice if this comes to Msia with a sweet price=)
    Many other compacts would not sell anymore(ie Myvi,Viva)

Btw euro2 can pakai?

• good small and compact, is great tha having 24 km per liter fc..
    low possibility to enter here, if yes then the price will very high too.. since we need to pretect some1 else… haihhh….

• Diesel LOver on Jun 30, 2011 at 1:37 pm

interior looks good tho

• the headlights are too big.

• hector_smacker on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:11 pm

pls pls pls make this happen in 1Malaysia

• Princess MiMi on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:12 pm

very compact like smartfor2. Definitely a idea car for those who not good in parking :P

• Autobot Skidz !

• amel8488 on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:24 pm

please bring in this car with a very good price…. CKD is better

• River on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:31 pm

Nice looking cili padi car
    When are they going to bring in Honda Brio?

• beat-ur-mom on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:35 pm

Wow that speedo LCD can display facebook twitter gmail update rite!? awesome!! traffic jam can play angry cow.

• beat-ur-grandma on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:38 pm

look at the rather LONG gearstick, this car is meant for women for surez !!

• DewaSemut on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:43 pm

I want Proton Emas hybrid to enter our market rather than this one…

• Georgie on Jun 30, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Nice looking compact car. The interior is still kinda concept-ish. Btw Paul, it seems that Naza Q will be bringing the Chevrolet Colorado with the thailand-spec somewhere in the 4Q this year.

• ben yap on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:07 pm

for 1.0, 150Nm is a lot which is equivalent to a NA 1.6 torque.

Will the 3 cyclinder engine working too hard for such output and additionally being turbocharged?

• Its a turbodiesel, those peak torque will be reached at lazy low rpm, no stress for the engine. Its those ns petrol u shud be worried abt considering it need to rev high at above 4k rp.m daily for peak torque

• carazy on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:13 pm

if the price tag is good, i thing this car can triumph here in Malaysia with good advertisement from Naza…

• carazy on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:13 pm

if the price tag is good, i think this car can triumph here in Malaysia with good advertisement from Naza…

• gtoforce on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:17 pm

i thought the world already has one Honda BEAT???!!!

• thedoghouse on Jun 30, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Viewing it from that angle (side-front 3 quarter), this car has a muscular stance and look like it just came back from the gym. can “BEAT UP” Vios G Limited in the boxing ring… ;-)

• 150nm of torque at low rev is good for a small car…..compares to a 1.5 liter honda city which can only muster 145nm at very high 4,800rpm…. bet this beat will be a hoot for town use

• nazgul on Jun 30, 2011 at 4:27 pm

fall in love with this car since TF2…nice design…the only autobot car if i could afford one…decepticon too expensive…huhu must go and watch TF3 this weekend…

• ‘The 3 cylinder turbodiesel engine is expected to output 150Nm of torque, which doesn’t sound like a lot …’

PT are u sure 150nm from 1.0l TD engine is not a lot? that’s more than campro 1.6L CPS. yes comparing turbo diesel and NA petrol engine is not right, but when comparing torque to torque, that is consider huge for smaller and lighter car.

• tikus on Jun 30, 2011 at 5:36 pm

No need to guess lar….This car will not in Bolehland coz the invisible hand say tak boleh head on with P2.

• naza please ckd it here..

• rodney on Jun 30, 2011 at 8:40 pm

nice interior, but bad for maintenance. glossy surface always welcome scratch marks…

• anakSarawak on Jun 30, 2011 at 9:05 pm

YYEESSSSS!!!!!!

• jalan54 on Jun 30, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Its a very nice car, but if it is in Malaysia, it wouldn’t sell well due to the distributor here in Malaysia. I really don’t understand how they market the cars here in Malaysia. They can’t even sell the Cruze properly here (as we all know Cruze is selling pretty well world wide). If I’m the CEO of naza, I’ll definitely fire the company COO and hire a better one.

• gtoforce on Jul 01, 2011 at 12:22 am

guys
    i thought we already have honda beat?

• sell it around myvi price or lower, sure I’ll buy it!