New Chevrolet Cruze and Chevrolet Captiva police patrol cars handed over for evaluation

Chevrolet’s Malaysian distributor Naza Quest handed over three evaluation “Proof of Concept” units over the the Royal Malaysian Police earlier this week at the 2nd General Police & Special Equipment Exhibition and Conference (GPEC ASIA 2011) at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre.

The three police cars comprised of two units of the Chevrolet Captiva and one unit of the Chevrolet Cruze. “I am certain that the Chevrolet Cruze and Captiva will exceed the stringent requirement of the police force,” said Datuk Wira SM Faisal Tan Sri SM Nasimuddin, Naza Group Joint Group Chairman.

Naza Quest also provided a total of 60 Chevy Captivas for use as the official car for VIPs, guests and international delegates at the event. GPEC ASIA 2011 is quite an interesting conference, showcasing wares and services from exhibitors from 11 countries, including C41 systems, forensic IT research, criminal investigation, vehicle technology, traffic control and road safety equipment, task force technology, body armour, ballistic protection, non-lethal and self—defence weapons, first aid and rescue equipment as well as logistics.

Ministers, Chief of Police, Members of Parliament and other related law enforcement officers from 14 countries are expected to attend this closed specialised trade show which is exclusively for members of authorities for the business with police equipment, security technology and services.

Harvinder Singh actually saw the Chevrolet Cruze with police livery around a month ago at the Chevy dealership on Jalan Ampang when he was picking up a car for an upcoming online video shoot. It certainly looked the part – perhaps some high torque Chevrolet Cruze diesel for the police force too? :)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Naley on Jul 01, 2011 at 9:14 pm

woo hooo…very nice car here…

• the car is nice, but the yellow-blue line look a bit lame.. if they turn the color like the Kia Forte Black Matte Police Car, it sure be look more aggressive.

• alldisc on Jul 02, 2011 at 9:42 am

that is not our official police car colour scheme bro. unless, its highway chaser can lah. but can the car chase a turbocharged proton wira?

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 02, 2011 at 6:15 pm

No need to chase lah. EVO 10 or whatever. Nothing outruns a motorola.

Besides isn’t the police forces as a member of governmental department required to use protons unless there is a vehicle class that is not available?

• ilovechevy on Jul 02, 2011 at 1:10 am

start with Cruze, coming up next is Camero (bumblebee), then the rest… since when police cars become a car show? hey Proton, shame on you!

• good idea.. then later rakyat will say “no need supercar.! penjahat only use wira lah, buat apa keta laju2? habis duit rakyat, bla bla bla..”

when police buy evo last time, rakyat already get angry.. said police used people money, bla3..

• CHONG KAT on Jul 01, 2011 at 9:25 pm

BERSIH!

• William on Jul 01, 2011 at 9:27 pm

Just make sure they car not Decepticons!! :O

• LOL.. criminal will gonna love to ride it x)

• fried chicken on Jul 01, 2011 at 9:30 pm

So the Inspira is not good enough for the police eh?

• away from home on Jul 02, 2011 at 5:05 am

inspira is like photocopy of evo/lancer, whats great about that, i’ve seen Porche cayenne as police vec. for qatar police…far more coollllll

• away from home on Jul 02, 2011 at 5:10 am

our expenditure is like a person having lots of credit cards, korek sana kambus sini, spend here – reduce there

• NeuroOne on Jul 02, 2011 at 3:34 pm

this is a “Proof Of Concept” vehicle. The Police have not made any purchases yet. Naza are giving this to the Police to test. This is like sample product la. Naza wanna sell their cars to the Police..

• sleevesshop on Jul 01, 2011 at 9:39 pm

wow! police got evo n this!

• clement on Jul 01, 2011 at 9:56 pm

the patrol cruze makes my saliva drools! sexy!

• Sharp looking police cruiser!

• tun tansari on Jul 01, 2011 at 10:09 pm

beautiful policewomen too in anotehr outfit,wow

• transformer on Jul 01, 2011 at 10:12 pm

Police Cruze are the best looking ever….
    Kancil move aside
    Wira move aside
    Perdana more aside
    Waja move aside
    X-Trail move aside
    S80 move aside
    Even Helang(Mitsu Evo) can’t match its looks….

Btw, can anyone share how many Helang(20units) left as today?

• Seriously on Jul 01, 2011 at 10:51 pm

Malaysia doesn’t need better police cars… they just need better policemen.

• redboy on Jul 02, 2011 at 12:34 am

Quote of the DAY! Straight to the point. Last check, we still dunno who is the serial child killer yet…

• sick&tired on Jul 02, 2011 at 12:55 am

agreed! better replace all the ministers while you are at it, especially kerismuddin. BTW the only reason why the government decided to try out the cruze and captiva is to help Naza clear stock.

• pyopyo on Jul 02, 2011 at 1:02 am

COMMENT INI TERSANGAT LAH TERBAIK!

• PERFECT CONCLUSION….couldn’t agree more

• away from home on Jul 02, 2011 at 5:14 am

yeap, thts right

• tiadaid on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:19 am

Malaysia needs better MALAYSIANS, not just policemen…

• yippi33 on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:41 am

so true…bad policemen are due to bad malaysians..

• Bad malaysians are due to bad economic & inflation in the country…

• Nasai on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:37 pm

Bad economic & inflation in the country is due to the BAD management & leadership + corruptive ministers of the country and this has completed the chain cycle.

• be cool on Jul 05, 2011 at 9:28 am

Malaysians always blame others..

• bangau oh bangau

• far from home on Jul 02, 2011 at 3:53 pm

there r gud msia still tryin to survive at home but sum of gud msia are also away frm home

• then, we should change the way of police academy recruiting police.. i’ve seen the “rempit-style” police doing wheelie somewhere using their Kawasaki Superkips 150.

• myself & i on Jul 01, 2011 at 11:07 pm

pero2.. bagi la new myvi to the police force also.. LAGI BEST..

• tsong on Jul 01, 2011 at 11:10 pm

I don’t want my car same as Police Car..

• Priced Over on Jul 01, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Just for looks?

0-100 km/h acceleration takes 11.5 seconds.

The Cruze is so slow, heavy car coupled with underpowered engine, how is it going to catch the criminals?

• theanswer on Jul 02, 2011 at 12:03 am

tell me how many criminals using evo or ferrari? most of them also using wira..plus police got helicopter..their big bikes..and road blocks! why waste time chasing around the country alone.

• nebula87 on Jul 02, 2011 at 1:17 am

Yalor…those who commit crimes always use Proton Wira…or their Wiralution…XD
        no nid helicopter, just road blocks can solve the crimes chasing thing…

• Mozilla Chrome on Jul 02, 2011 at 1:04 am

For patrol use I guess they are not using the stock model..They already made some modification to it.

• nabill on Jul 01, 2011 at 11:39 pm

y on earth do u need models revealing police cars????

big car fleets like police and taxis need cars that have low maintainance and durability…if naza offer them cheaper maintainance than proton thn y not….

• sick&tired on Jul 02, 2011 at 12:57 am

bcos there are a lot of pervs in the police force! and also for the ministers to ogle

• azuan on Jul 01, 2011 at 11:49 pm

look nice n maybe fast n furious…

• redboy on Jul 02, 2011 at 12:32 am

Now we know why the AP King getting richer even though the consumer market purchase power is not much…got big boss behind support. Go Transformer!!

• These Polis cars might have Triple-Turbo fixed into them ! Tekan button 0-100 in 2 seconds !

• who is that chic? so hot.

• jasin on Jul 02, 2011 at 2:10 am

Now u know why the turnout was overwhelming
      at the handover ceremony !! :)
      By the way will the 60 Captiva bear a special number plate
      ie. GPEC ASIA / GPEC 45 ?

• Ha Gnih on Jul 02, 2011 at 1:15 am

with this, our PDRM patrol officers will be semakin berlagak la. Now drive a beaten-up Waja already so berlagak, apa lagi kalau memandu Cruze. Please oh for the Love Of G-O-D, educate your officers on how to talk politely to civilians like us. Our patrol officers are usually rude and intimidating. THIS is the thing you must upgrade 1st and foremost before handing them a new ride, MOFOS !

• Ha Gnih on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:03 am

Just the other night a patrol car pulled me over with my mother sitting next to me, requesting for a strip search. I asked them why and guess what they said ? “Jangan banyak tanya, kita suruh you buat, you buat la” Is this the kind of safety enforcers the government is cultivating in order to keep the peace ? I don’t f***king think so !”

• ilovepolice on Jul 02, 2011 at 1:16 am

too many police car models make people confuse only! if some police come with cars other than wira or waja knock at my door in the middle of the night, i will never open my door… for safety reason..

• M’sia police soo cool…M’sia BOLEH…

• Who will win the supply contract….I believe not the best car, but the highest commission to the kerisman

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Jul 02, 2011 at 1:38 am

I dont want Chevrolet. I just want the CHICK.
    Give me her number please! I promise this time I WILL NOT BOMB HER. ok!?

• J@CK LIM on Jul 02, 2011 at 6:30 am

First Mitshubishi Lancer, then Chevrolet Cruze?
    is that mean Proton gonna rebadge Chevrolet Cruze soon?
    another replacement model?
    Or
    our government Just trying to promote us and encourage us to use Imported vehicle?

• _xXx_ on Jul 02, 2011 at 8:39 am

why do polis cars need front lips and side skirts?

• pugger on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:45 am

yeah, and it has 18 inchers too! clearing the Cruze limited edition stocks coz no takers??? at least their inspira came without bodykit and only 16″ wheels…more practical and save cost on tyres too….the last time they got the Forte in matte black w 17″ oso looked really cool but up til today i hv not seen a single unit on the road….but Helang i saw quite often….until they all started to totalled one by one….mayb now left 1 unit n they keep in museum oredi….

• jay8393 on Jul 02, 2011 at 10:38 am

The Cruze SE looks great in police livery!

• MouMouRen on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:49 am

Huhuh, Our TAX Money. Are those patrol officers able tp drive those car in Pursuit mode?? Don end up like the EVO 10 crash into drain agian. haha Why don use our LOCAL car? Not enough comfort or not fast or ugly?? Once those car brake down, spare part will cost u like hell. Good luck for the new polizzzz car. Next car will Lamborghini cos want to chase Ferrari. hahhhahaha

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:52 am

Awsome police car shape ever seen!!BUt why not use camaro instead of Cruze???don’t you think punk driving something fast that only camaro can chase out!!!

• KL Stray Cat on Jul 02, 2011 at 11:54 am

Just in time to be used on the 9th ??
    ;-)

• freeze on Jul 02, 2011 at 12:47 pm

Damn. Police have upgraded from Saga to Iswara to Wira to Waja to Inspira to Cruze.
    Next they will get Camry.

I’m still stuck with Saga.

• Better save that money and build more pondok polis everywhere and hire more police…

• ericmaxman on Jul 02, 2011 at 3:22 pm

potholes gonna make good love with those rims

• Lim Kopi on Jul 02, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Is this CRONISM in the making ??

It just smells fishy … u know …. U help me, I help U …. kinda looks like it

• Cruze was a sales flop in Bolehland. No wonder AP King trying flog these off to pdrm for some cheap publicity to boost sales.

• Gooddaymate! on Jul 03, 2011 at 4:33 am

Paul,
    Nice car….
    As for cruze, any info regarding the engine whether 1.8L petrol / 1.4L ITI turbo / 2.0L Diesel?

• Putin on Jul 03, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Got Cross in front..where is PERKASA ???

• Nice.. And use that all 60 captiva to rammed all CLEAN 2.0 people..

• Schneider on Jul 03, 2011 at 1:02 pm

captiva ..the most powerful 4×4 SUV aound

• Schneider on Jul 03, 2011 at 1:02 pm

captiva ..the most powerful 4×4 SUV aound

• aLLC_7000 on Jul 03, 2011 at 10:56 pm

wow

• cannotunderstand on Jul 04, 2011 at 9:49 am

sales is bad, so its not a bad idea to 'donate' them to the gov bodies.. ie sime's hyundai matrix, all gone into sime car rental's fleet.

• yoyoman on Jul 04, 2011 at 10:21 am

politic choice…

• Sokong anak watan.. on Jul 04, 2011 at 10:03 pm

Jgn cemburu bro….apa nak kisah itukan anak watan punya Syarikat…kita kena laa berbangga…jgn pulak nak kaitkan dengan politik…otak kosong betul…Pandang kehadapan..Baru orang luar respek kat negara kita…Bengong punya yoyoman…