KL-Kuala Selangor LATAR Expressway remains toll free for August, RM2 toll per plaza starts on 1 September

Have you tried the LATAR Expressway that links KL to Kuala Selangor? I have, although not the full 33 km length to the coastal town. If you’re wondering where the entry point is, it’s along Federal Route 1 up north to Ipoh. The start of E25 is after Templer’s Park and just before one enters Rawang. You won’t miss the huge interchange.

LATAR was opened by Minister of Works Dato’ Shaziman Abu Mansor on 23 June, when he also announced the toll free period from then till the end of August. This is a much longer free sample period than the usual one-month affair by new highways, 38 days longer, to be exact. Toll collection of RM2.00 at each plaza will start on 1 September.

“For those with families and relatives in the communities served by LATAR Expressway, we would like to encourage them to plan their holiday travels, try out the expressway and appreciate the benefits of convenience, fuel efficiency and time savings,” said KL-Kuala Selangor Expressway Berhad Chief Executive Officer Amran Amir.

“To add to the spirit of Ramadan, we are also giving out dates and mineral water for motorists traveling along LATAR during the month between the hours of 6.00 pm to 7.00 pm daily,” added Amran.

LATAR serves areas such as Kuala Selangor, Assam Jawa, Ijok, Bestari Jaya (formerly called Batang Berjuntai), Kota Puteri, Puncak Alam, Shah Alam, Bukit Jelutong, Sungai Buloh, Kundang (why no exit ramp from KL?), Rawang and Selayang, according to the concessionaire. It’s an alternative to Federal Road 54, and the official claim is that one can get from the KL entry point to Kuala Selangor in just 18 minutes.

Anyone can verify that? Share your feedback and LATAR experience here!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2555]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 02, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Expensive toll charges.

• i’ve tried this highway last month…the road is good coz its new..not so many car using this road..can cruise with no problem..but the facility still isnt completely built..ie the rnr, toilet, gas station..nothing!

• but beware of the cows… i encountered one bull on the middle of the highway after Kundang on my first run of the highway from Templar’s Park to the exit near Ijok… it was juz standing staring at my car and the kelisa on my right, wah, very scary! luckily there was a LATAR highway patrol 4WD behind us and it quickly caught up with us and honked and flashed its lights at the the beast and shooed it away to the edge and over the big drain to where it came from… so ppl, be careful!

• squall_shinoda on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:11 am

Not just cows but also dogs as well. I encountered a stray dog trying to cross the highway last month.

• now… wat is this abt mother n son at Latar highway? anyone know? can elaborate?

• rumah plet on Aug 02, 2011 at 4:13 pm

abolish all tolls in malaysia!

• Nicky on Aug 02, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Yes, abolish highways to. Highways need money, money acquired from tolls, tolls need money. No tolls no highway. :)

• RedBeanBun on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:11 am

so in other countries have no tol, no roads? what is in your mind?
        Building a road is suppose to be a G’s responsibility where the father of national car sold the soul and use privatize idea, and ends up the klang valley only Federal Highway noneed to pay tol!!

Why are we paying tax if G has no responsibility beside burning the $$ to their pocket? hey, i am referring to the PoKa coffee FreeZone!!!

• Nicky on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:50 am

in united states they have.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:25 am

Correct. Most interstate highways there are free of charge, but they still have toll highways which are known as turnpikes.

• xavier lert on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:23 am

dude even dubai have tolls

• squall_shinoda on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:23 am

Of course building roads is always the government’s responsibility, but maintaining them is not as cheap as what you think. Maintaining the normal trunk roads is not as expensive as expressways, because the road tax should cover the costs. However, expressways are not cheap, as a huge amount of land needs to be acquired, plus the construction costs are very high.

If you insist of having totally free expressways, then consider these facts. Countries like Germany and even US have totally free motorways/freeways, but then their petrol prices are high. Same goes for British motorways, but the fuel prices there are very high. Even the diesel in UK is more expensive than petrol.

If you say Thailand can build free highways with not even a cent of toll, let me tell you that those so-called free highways there are not expressways but rather dual carriageways or divided highways with at-grade junctions. They do have controlled-access expressways in Bangkok, but all of them are tolled and their toll rates are higher than ours.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:53 am

So if no highway, then abolish income tax, car tax, goods and services tax (10% + 6%), road tax, etc!

• squall_shinoda on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:41 am

Yes, abolish all tolls… so that the Afghanistan roads will become better than our highways. Plus, if the toll is abolished, then the petrol price will increase kaw-kaw to cover the highway maintenances and construction costs. But best of all, all highways will be very badly jammed, because no tolls means more tendency for the people to use cars instead of public transport. The toll should not be subsidised or abolished because the toll mechanism itself acts as a “natural deterrent” to keep the traffic rate low for smoother flow.

• Amin GmbH on Aug 03, 2011 at 3:00 pm

have you heard the word tax? tax is legitimately not founded by good faith if the money issuance/custody of fund is firstly upheld by government. unless the central bank really materialize money equally on hard commodities/products at agreed prices, the semblance of independence’s showmanship really prevails yet the tax is still puzzling to be justified because of so many financial engineered instrument (bond, CDS, etc). if money issuance by a central bank (what kind of central bank? definitely not our nation) is debt-centric, supply/demand-contraction-centric, the tax is not justified.

our highways are accounted on sovereign debt, so we never know the source of money we borrow from. the citizens should put paying tolls inside e-filing as tax-relief.

• apexg2 on Aug 02, 2011 at 4:21 pm

alternative way to Kuala Selangor…Kuala Selangor during raya season, pergh! You should try it!

• g-mey on Aug 02, 2011 at 4:47 pm

just tried the highway last week..
    and yes, from the entry point, kuala selangor to templer park will take 18 minutes or less if you are driving more than 110kmh..

but not sure how long it will take when the toll start the operation..

• jackson on Aug 02, 2011 at 5:34 pm

i pity those toll collector who have to work on Sept 1 when everybody still in festive mood.

• Abcda on Aug 02, 2011 at 5:40 pm

imposed the erp.

• GT Fan on Aug 02, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Found this video on Latar on youtube. 18 minutes looks to be on the low side

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3YztksukE9s

• loveit on Aug 02, 2011 at 6:00 pm

they change Batang Berjuntai name to Bestari Jaya? WTF !!! the former name always make me smile when driving at PLUS near bukit beruntung..

• gattaca on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:06 pm

peoples of the batang berjuntai always being mocked because of the name..thats why they change it…

• xavier lert on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:26 am

the road over there also improved…

• Alpha on Aug 02, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Any speed traps??How’s the highway itself??Any unnecessary bumps??

• Black Dog on Aug 02, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Like u mentioned, I went to Kundang last month & can’t exit from both sides! WTF! Just a small slip road and they refuse to do it, apparently to collect more toll.

Highways should benefit the public, not inconvenience them! Shit mentality!

• Alpha on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:31 pm

Why don’t you be the one making all the jalans since u sound so smart??

• rakyat on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:29 am

bro, as a resident of rawang, having used the highway and knowing how much one has to travel extra since they didn’t build an exit at kundang, it is really stupid of them indeed not to build the ramps. not to say not enough land. black dog is right. u’re the one trying to be a smart-ass here.

• stingray_skin on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:55 am

they did the same like DUKE. No exit at certain area that have an entry roads.

i think the best they open a ramp at kundang can benefits many people especially residents around there.

• Black Dog on Aug 03, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Alpha…That’s exactly proud, ignorant moron like you who’s contributing to all the badly designed roads and bad state of transport in this country!

You never know how to accept positive criticism!

• squall_shinoda on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:53 am

Expressways are meant to have very few entry and exit points via grade-separated interchanges to maintain high-speed travelling comfort. If an expressway has too many entry and exit points, then it will be as ill-fated as the LDP, seriously jams like hell even not during rush hours.

• kundang resident on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:08 am

it’s juz one exit into kundang la… we r not asking for 10 to 20 exits (like LDP) so what kind of jams r u expecting la… we are talking abt a full 33km length without any exits at all other than the exits into NSE & Guthrie… imagine kundang/kuang/rawang/bdr tasik puteri ppl can only enter LATAR but cannot exit, still hv to use old roads to go home and get stuck in rawang & sg buloh infamous jams! the LATAR ppl came by kundang to do a survey right after the highway was completed and they were asked the same questions “Why here can go in and cannot come out??? What kind of stupid highway is this!” And now ppl are taking risks by going the opposite directions by driving down the entry ramps at both sides… juz bcoz they omitted to add in exit ramps… haizzzz

• squall_shinoda on Aug 03, 2011 at 3:28 pm

First thing, let me explain about access control. On small kampung roads and housing area street, only the respective residents normally use those roads to access their houses. Because the houses can be directly accessed from the kampung road or housing area road, the design speed limit is very low to provide collisions and lags caused by house owners entering and exiting their houses.

Main roads and trunk roads have partial access control, because the houses cannot be located directly beside the road but rather requires minor roads to access the houses. As a result, the design speed limit increases to a moderate speed but not too high because there are still tendencies of crossing the paths of the traffic from other directions.

Lastly, expressways have full access control. That means only motor vehicles excluding slow-moving vehicles are permitted to enter an expressway. The expressway is fenced all the way to prevent intruders as well as animals. The only means to enter and exit the expessway is through the designated grade-separated interchanges; no at-grade junctions allowed. Even the number of interchanges are limited. A typical expressway is built as a dual-carriageway with non-stop divider to prevent crossings with the traffic from the opposing side. As a result, the design speed limit is high.

I agree if just one interchange is built at Kundang, but you have to take note that the distance of the proposed interchange and Kuang System Interchange at Guthrie Coridor Expressway is very short, which will affect on the speed limit as well as comfort.

• kundang resident on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:51 pm

hey squall_shinoda, tks for the detailed n extensive explain, really appreciate it… but when we asked the contractors (towards the end of the construction) why LATAR didnt add the exit ramps into kundang (only hv entry ramps) and they answered “they wanted to save costs”… well, there goes…

• squall_shinoda on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:14 am

Then it’s not an appropriate answer. Building just two more ramps at Kundang to turn it as a full interchange doesn’t cost much. The existing highway reserve land should be sufficient fot it.

• or maybe they juz dun wanna let ppl use Latar without paying toll… ie let’s say there is an exit ramp into Kundang coming from Templar’s Park then motorists exiting NSE after paying toll at Guthrie exit can enter Latar, and exit into Kundang in less than 5km without paying Latar toll… now do u think they wud let u do tat? of coz not… so now motorists make a u-turn at the rest stop and go down the entry ramp into Kundang… can we make a plea for Latar to add on exit ramps at Kundang?

• laden on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Gov think that v had a money making machine….then v pay road tax for what?

• Alpha on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:30 pm

If u dont want to pay,use jalan lama la~

• Nicky on Aug 02, 2011 at 9:08 pm

whassup with u? u dont wanna pay, use the other jalan la. and you think the G have the authority to print as many money as the want izit? Maintenance who wanna pay? Administration of the highway? The developments? heh. Everything you want it free make your own country la.

• A fairly good construction. smooth sailing from Puncak alam exit all the way to Guthrie h’way. From my home in Puncak alam to Duke exiting to MRR2 near ulu kelang takes only 40 minutes with average speed 100km/h. Convenient for k.sgor and surrounding area. RM2 toll charger is nothing compare to the time and comfort of driving. The slightly higher center concrete wall is a welcome at night as it block light from incoming car who couldnt be bothered to lower their beam at night. Thumb up from me.

• greasemonkey on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:53 pm

will use toll ways to save money,(fuel and less wear n tear on vehicle).Cheers!

• myself & i on Aug 02, 2011 at 9:02 pm

how many toll booth in total are there?

• MoFaz on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:05 pm

3 tolls.. so if you take the whole 33km, u pay RM6. it’s abit shorter and slightly cheaper than Kesas Highway (34.5km, RM6.60)

• DArkerMarker on Aug 02, 2011 at 9:16 pm

In other words….

Nothing will be FREE.

• MoFaz on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:14 pm

land in urban area is expensive, while the rural area are far cheaper. highways outside the city are cheaper and few are free. few federal roads are now 4 lanes, for free.
      and if gov build too many free highway in the city, rural folks would feel the gov doesn’t care about them. so, it doesn’t matter if you’re rural or urban folks.. pay as you use.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:48 am

I agree with that. Look at what happens in Sabah, Sarawak, and even the east coastal states like Terengganu and Kelantan. The LPT Phase 2 construction keeps delaying for a number of excuses, and Sabahans and Sarawakians never be able to have expressways even though their main urban areas suffers more and more traffic jams. Sarawak is the worst; the only east-west road to connect main towns as well as between Sabah and Sarawak is the so-called Pan Borneo Highway.

• Hey, you guys at Semenanjung are damned lucky you know. You should be thankful and not complaining all the way. We in Sarawak don’t even have a decent motorway linking our towns, and the so called motorways are fit for motorcross track. That’s why most of us here drive 4X4.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:51 am

Yes nothing is FREE, but we don’t want to get a raw deal by compel us to make “multiple pay” in the form of car tax, road tax, income tax, goods and services tax (10% + 6%), and so on and so forth and yet when come to highway, we are compel to pay another round again in the form of toll. You are so damn stupid to allowed cronies to “sodomize you yet you fork out the entertainment fees”. You get it ……..

• sukasuki on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Nothing free in this world. maw mati pun kna bayar, beli keranda, kain kapan, bayar lubang kubur, buat funeral, suma duit dan duit.

• freeze on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:23 pm

meh

• kayel on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:26 pm

i’ve tried this highway early last month, from my house in bukit jalil, it takes 40 minutes to reach Bandar Melawati, Kuala Selangor with speed at 100km/h…very impress considering i’ve used old route that will take almost 2 hours….

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:44 pm

I find it interesting that people are justifying why we had to pay tolls when we pay one of the highest car taxes in the world, pay road tax and also pay the highest rate of petrol among oil exporting companies. Furthermore, the highway especially the one to KLIA is bumpy.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:13 am

welcome to 1Bolehland..

• Nicky on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:54 am

Russia is the 2nd largest petroleum exporter but selling Ron95 for Rm3.50. And you have anything to say about it?

• TFazuin on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:22 am

So we produce petroleum products, contrast 600,000bbl per day with 30mil population to 400.000 barrel a day for Brunei with 200,000 population.

The fact is for realistic income to happen you have to take away the subsidy otherwise it will not show the real costs of things. You can insulate the transport cost within the country but you cannot insulate the imported goods costs.

We should also have tougher laws against excessive profits especially on food products, and control the financing available down to 50% for 3rd house/home buyers. This will rein in the inflation and make basic necessity affordable. My question is even when the non BN has the states, why don’t they implement this for all the state led GLC funded housing? Why are the houses built as expensive as the private initiative? Easier to comment but definately harder to govern. Credit history can be obtained by BNM so it should fairly be easy to establish.

• PakAbu on Aug 03, 2011 at 3:36 pm

That’s an interesting connection between property financing and inflation. Do you have any reference that I can read further?

• g-mey on Aug 02, 2011 at 11:01 pm

3 toll… Rm2 per toll sound bit high for me..they should charge lesser on weekdays and back to rm2 on friday and weekends… Hehehe…

• Well done Malaysia.

Malaysia BOLEH

There is only one thing that Malaysia is light years ahead of the world …. toll roads ! No.1 in the world in terms of toll road.

• not quite right there bro. there are tolled roads all over the world.

travel a bit…see for yourself

• mr/ms cack

I have travelled a fair bit, even if one have not travelled far and between …. one can always rely on internet for business news etc.

Malaysia has the highest toll road in the world …. go check your facts

• MoFaz on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:27 am

CCLV, you don’t have to go far. travel south then cross the causeway. you’ll find many ERP gantries around the city. ERP = Every Road Pay. And guess what, they’re now testing GPS ERP… gov will know wherever your car goes, your speed, and most importantly to toll you kaw kaw…

• Johor Lang on Aug 30, 2011 at 11:44 pm

come on… Singapore ERP not collecting Money 24 hrs 7days per wk, 365 days per yr!
            some more they will reduce the rate when school holiday and rate evaluation are conducted quarterly.

most important; their MRT and bus are efficient enuf PLUS all are well connected!
            not like us, go Masjid jamek/ bukit nanas/ Kl sentral (monorail) take a look 1st lar….

come on. with GPS ERP, u just pay what u used, no exptra, no less. pay per use. everything are written black and white.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:08 am

we are the pity Msian being sold by the G to the Tol companies where other country, the G build ROADS!!! GODDAMNIT!!

• Johny5 on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:58 am

Nice pic!

• Leonardo on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:00 am

The are rumors of atttempted robbery on the dark highways at night. Anyone can verify that?

• Leonardo on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:08 am

Those who don’t want to pay the toll, you HAVE A CHOICE- use the old federal roads.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:42 am

Our choice is to use highway without toll, otherwise G don’t collect tax, don’t imposed NAP tax up to 280% for car, abolish road tax, abolish RM 18 billion a year IPP subsidy, abolish 10% + 6% on certain consumers products like food and beverage, etc.

Also abolish cronies, AP King, corrupts politicians, etc.

• oleoresin on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:45 am

This is only an option road. No need to complaint. Just using your ordinary road if you think RM2 is higher. Simple as that ok.

If you ever live in singapore, you should know that bolehland is better. The people complaint here is only counting the bad perspective compare to other country. The good? Keep it under foot until that good is gone. When gone, start to complaint. When exist, never apprieciate.

Amount of car is rising everyday. The road that you can speed long time ago is jammed nowdays. So choose either want to waste fuel and time, or use toll road. Me? using motorcycle. No tolls but suffer when raining…

• stingray_skin on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:10 am

yeyeah use motorcycle…at the same time ease congestion on roads…

those who always complaining congest, dont forget you also the one who contribute to it…

use public or motorcyle or car pool if you can…wake up early and go to work early to avoid traffic jam…

but remember, TAK SEMESTINYA L/RAYA BERTOL BOLEH ELAK DARI KESESAKAN…

• Expatriate VN on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:37 am

All highway are design and implement as part of country upgrading and built better infrastructures to spur economic development and benefit rakyat at large. Highway is not built as “option road”! You are so dumbass, why we can’t complain on toll???

• MoFaz on Aug 03, 2011 at 2:03 pm

it’s better to keep your mouth shut, otherwise everybody knows how stupid and naive you’re.
        Maybe you cry a lot asking your mom to breastfed you whenever you’re hungry and I don’t know how long you plan to remain as a baby. Your cry is now becoming annoying. please grow up.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 03, 2011 at 3:28 pm

You are the one who need to be breastfed by your mom, and some more barking at the wrong tree. Do you read before EIA or Feasibility Study for Highway? These reports, or highway alignment, details drawings never mentioned it as “option road”. I saw before for proposed KLIA highway extension from KLIA to Putrajaya/Cyberjaya. Period ……..

• MoFaz on Aug 04, 2011 at 12:43 am

to use the highway is entirely up to yourself. it’s OPTIONAL!. nobody force you to use it. if you don’t want to pay, use the federal road. PERIOD!. itu pun susah sangat nak paham ke? expatriate konon!

• squall_shinoda on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Whether an expressway serves as an alternative or the only main road depends on how those guys out they plan the expressway alignment. Let me tell you something – many expressways in Klang Valley DO NOT follow the expressway standards. The proof? Certain highways like LDP are built by simply widening the existing municipal roads, adding dividers, building flyovers, building the rumah pemeras ugut aka toll plazas… and poof! the expressway is open to traffic. The concessionaire didn’t even think to make free-flowing interchanges for busy exits like Freescale Interchange. They also didn’t consider the tons of minor junctions along the LDP, which contributes to massive traffic jams like hell daily, even when during non-rush hours. In a nutshell, that highway is nothing more than just a divided highway that never comply with expressway standards due to lack of full access control.

On the other hand, the Grand Saga highway is a very good example on how to provide full access control when upgrading the former 2-lane Jalan Cheras FT1 to an 8-lane controlled-access expressway.

• PakAbu on Aug 03, 2011 at 3:42 pm

> Amount of car is rising everyday. The road that you can speed long
      > time ago is jammed nowdays. So choose either want to waste fuel
      > and time, or use toll road. Me? using motorcycle. No tolls but
      > suffer when raining…

Don’t you wish for a well-connected and reliable public transit? It doesn’t to be the fastest in the world. Just on time and close-by to the next one. Afterall, we want to be “negara maju” by 2020 isn’t it?

• i get from templer to exit at kg kuantan (just after ijok town, before Kuala Selangor – that’s the maximum length of the hiway at the time) in 20 minutes. Ran through 2 toll plaza. I save almost 1 hour compared to old route. Which mean I’ll have to pay RM4 when the concessionaire start charging. Well, a bit high me think, but worth it.

• yess toll again….

• Expatriate VN on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:04 am

Paid exhorbitant tax of up to 280% for car, pay road tax, pay income tax, income from Petronas, etc, yet we have to paid overprice toll.

Most of toll concessionaire get cheap loan (i.e. like SILK with 1% from world bank backed by G), bond, land provided by G and other “gravy train” incentives provided by G. They are smiling all the way to bank to fill in their kitty, more than enough to enjoy luxury life and feed their next 7 generation.

Those rakyat like Ah Beng and Ali who apart from paid all kind of taxes, who are on average own a car with 7 year loan are compel to pay overprice toll, yet there are many of them so ignorant and dumbass to support for toll collection.

Our submarine commission already more than RM 500 Million, this money at least enough to built 1/2 of LATAR highway length. How about RM 12.5 billion PKFTZ scandal, how many highway can be built without toll with this monies?? Somemore so much of Petronas monies (RM 18 Billion a year) is use to subsidize IPP, yet our electricity rate keep on increasing ???? There are too many overhere who are plain STUPID of the highest order to support for toll collection. These bunch of idiots is so stupid and willingly enough to let cronies to suck them! Then better go to M@44 building and jump out to be classified as committed suicide.

• stingray_skin on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:14 am

rilek bro banyak bersabar di bulan yg mulia ini… pissyooo!! :-)

• ur commenting at the wrong blog la dude.

• MoFaz on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:58 pm

as usual, blame blame blame.. that’s all u know. it’s no suprise because you learn it from pakatan and that’s all they have been doing past 3 years. ask your pakatan to make federal (from subang to klang), kesas, and kulim highway as free highways if they could, all these highways are within their states.
      MRR2 and Federal highways are free, 3 lanes on each side! and look what happen every morning and evening. the jam are terrible, sometimes i stuck more than 2 hours. these tolled highways provide alternative routes and less congested. pay as you use la.. even public toilets are charging 20-50 cent per entry!

• Expatriate VN on Aug 03, 2011 at 3:22 pm

You mad dog bark at the wrong tree! Highway is under Federal BN Gov.

• MoFaz on Aug 04, 2011 at 12:55 am

yeah, they always say they can do it. can build highway for free, can provide more low/med cost housing in the states and so on. in the end they just blame the federal gov.
          the highways can be ‘freed’ if the Pakatan pay to toll concessionaires. but they do not have money and don’t know how to generate income. look at PAS in kelantan.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 04, 2011 at 10:07 am

Still barking at the wrong tree, I think your tongue need to cut off so that you are not whoof whoof ….. unnecessarily at a wrong tree again, until drag in Kelantan issue. Yes Kelantan lack of income, somemore denied petroleum royalty by Fed Gov. But at least Nik Aziz did not generated tonne of debt, leakages in term of billion, no mega project like PKFZ, building toll highways or Kelantan balance sheet is not in red. You still proud of the billions corruption, capital flights 888 billion (2000 – 2008), so next generation need to selling DVD, become whores to support this debt lifestyle.

You are damn dumbass mentally challenge that no amount of $$$$ and time can educate you that “this world is belong to future generation”. Our BN Federal gov create future “spending and debts” generations to support cronies and elite 4 wife lifestyle and gravi train that are more than enough to feed their future 7 generation. Kelantan is poor presently, but at least no future debts for future generation to pay. You got the point …… if not better go to M@44 building and jump out to become no. 3 of “committed suicide” statistic.

• MoFaz on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:08 am

no development in Kelantan because no income? how long should you hold to that principles and coward ideology? do you buy car in cash? do you buy house in cash? sometimes debt is necessary but it must be controlled. Pas gov should develop the state, then investors will come. not just sit in kedai kopi waiting for the money to fall from sky. Look at Kedah, they started Kulim Hi-Tech Park and see how many companies there? Fed Gov came up with Cyberjaya and look how many multinationals companies came to Malaysia. Kelantan can do it if they want, but all they can do is to blame Fed Gov.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:34 am

The PLUS and Karak highways were once under the federal government via Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM), and yet they were still tolled. So what are you going to say? Currently all highways are put under their respective concessionaires, while the LLM is just an enforcement body.

• Nicky on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:16 pm

who says BKE is free? Butterworth Kulim Expressway toll increased lah macha!

• squall_shinoda on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:39 am

When did SILK apply for a loan from the World Bank? What proof? Do they have the authority to borrow from the World Bank? Talk with facts to prove it, don’t just talk shit la.

• Uncle Honda on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:34 am

It’s really benefit people from K.L, normally it take 1 hour and 30 minute from KL to Tg Karang. Now with this high way, it take only 1 hour. So, you can skip traffic jam at pekan sg buloh, skip the Sg Plong traffic light, skip the sharp sharp corner. Berbaloi.

For the people who think this highway is bull shit, tax, BN, G, F, and so ever, please use the jalan lama lah.

• mutings on Aug 03, 2011 at 12:45 pm

browsed through all the comments and what i can conclude is that the road user (in general) considers paying toll as a burden/cumbersome/unnecessary when taken into consideration, among other things, the need to pay for road tax, fuel, income tax, so on and so forth, which by simple logic and mathematical calculation, the deduction does seem spot on.

irregardless of our political affiliation and/or level of trust towards the government, i think it is only fair to say that the government must have done a thorough study on the financial implication of imposing the toll rate for the highway, on the users. surely they would like to strike a win-win situation between the highway operator, the rakyat, and the government’s coffer, in which while it may bleed some of us to ICU territory, in the long run, the sacrifices made would have paid itself off.

i mean, while we may love to complaint and become disgruntled at things, but at the end of the day: hey, at least the government is doing something with the rakyat’s money that we all can see in physical form and enjoy it for many, many years to come. at least, the money was spent good.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 03, 2011 at 5:59 pm

3 toll @ RM 2.00 for 33 km work out to be around 18.18 sen per km! This toll cost per km easily higher than most of small car petrol consumption per km (normally less than 15 sen per km based on RON 95 @ RM 1.90).

• MoFaz on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:00 am

for some people, time is money. unlike you, you think money is everything. they will use the tolled highways as long they could save time and also save fuel, rather than stuck in jam, wasting time and fuel. man, you can get back the money you spent, but you’ll never get back the time you wasted.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:23 am

time is money – ho, ho, ……. no amount of medicine can cure your “brainless, retards and imbeciles for coming up with such a silly contradictory statement”. U said time is money and now you support “time is cost” highway. No wonder you are good running dog barking unncessary, other smart people with vision treat time to create wealth, on the other hand you moron like to incurr cost (i.e. pay toll) for the sake of feeding your master’s 4 wives lifestlye and his 7 generation! Period …….. LOL, better stop here not wasting time to entertain dumbass, let cronies continue with more debts generated projects in order to creat your future debts generation to sustain it.

Sound economy is talking about wealth creation, not create future debts generation! Can you get it dumbass petrol head!

• MoFaz on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:11 am

do you realise that;
          A) someone who know how to generate wealth is not complaining.
          B) someone who don’t know just like to complain.

you’re in category B

someone made karipap and sell in night market, do you suddenly come in front of him/her and demanding him/her to sell at lower price, if possible at cost, or even better just to give it free to everybody?

the companies which build the highways took RM1bil loan from Bank Pembangunan Malaysia and the Islamic Development Bank, spent few years to build it, then charge RM6 per car. they expect 60,000 cars will use the highway daily so they could get roughly RM360,000 perday. still, it will take more than 7 years to get the cost (initial loan) back. add maintenance costs, overhead costs, and bank interest… they could finally break even after 15 years. they’re willing to spend that much for the business, and only after 15 years they will have profit, no more debt. if the traffic volume and toll rates remain the same, that’s RM130mil revenue per year for them until 40th year, the road will be free thereafter. that’s their business, use other road if you don’t like it.

• oleoresin on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:49 pm

Yeah, the pakatan already teach, when price up, blame BN. When toll, BN. When tax, BN. All bad thing is BN. They like an angel, never do mistake. And they promised, when they got power, all will be abolish. Hey man, thats before they get power.

1. In 1997, they said putrajaya is wasted thing, aim to build castle for Mahafiraun Mahathir. Nowdays? Gerak kilat ke putrajaya.

2. In last PRU, they said BPR (Now SPRM) will have office at SUK lobby. They bold and they said they always clean. Nowdays? Syoh2…. Keluar pekeliling.

Now they promise many things. Let me predict answer when they get power

1. Tax will lower or abolish. After get power – Tax kena naik sebab negara byk hutang. BN dah joli katak duit rakyat.

2. Harga barang takkan naik. After get power – Tak boleh kekal or turunkan harga. Nanti beban kepada peniaga.

3. Harga minyak kembali RM1 per liter. After get power – Kena naikkan sebab stok minyak BN dah habiskan. Minyak kena beli dari luar.

4. Akan beri pendidikan unversiti percuma. After get power – No more subsidi terutama UiTM sebab negara takde duit. BN dah joli katak.

Dont be stupid dude…. They already set athe reason when you ask in future

• bongek on Aug 04, 2011 at 6:38 am

both of them sama …but some people looking for competition between them…. only fanatic will agreed whatever reason given by both side…. but anyway it your vote…your decision right…

• squall_shinoda on Aug 04, 2011 at 10:40 am

I agree with that… in fact during the election we can only vote for the person who will represent our respective areas aka our local YBs and ADUNs, and not the person who will become the PM.

• muazs on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:54 pm

plssssssssss beware a mother and son at latar highway…it’s a true story

• kayel on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:58 pm

too many comment to read…another info that was not contain on this blog thread are, this was apart from the project that is going to be continued until Teluk Intan…correct me if i’m wrong…

• Expatriate VN on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:44 am

To the best of my knowledge, this LATAR highway will connect to the proposed Asam Jawa interchange connected into proposed West Coast Expressway (from Banting,Selangor to Taiping, Perak pass thru Teluk Intan). The concessionnaire is Talam you know what is their financial standing.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 04, 2011 at 4:21 pm

The concessionaire for LATAR is Bina Puri and not Talam. Meanwhile the tender for the West Coast Expressway has to be reopened because the original concessionaire kept on delaying. No connection with Talam at all.

• ah lee bin ah tan on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:18 pm

alamak 16 SEPTEMBER I promised all MALAYSIAN I will be the new PM get it!got it !good now vote me! and this new highway will connect you to Putrajaya I promised you’ll but I tak berani BERSUMPAH tau

• paparadzi on Aug 04, 2011 at 12:50 am

What do you guys think if:
    1. No road tax
    2. Very low car tax
    3. No fuel subsidy but pay fuel tax instead?

Cheap car, expensive fuel. Then the fuel-efficient cars will be more fashionable.

Sorry for being off-topic.

• leapordsang on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:45 am

i believed the author asked for experiences and feedbacks on using this expressway. i arrived at the article expecting those..but alas, there are so much noise on government tolls la, pkfz la, bla bla. Although i might slightly agree that these are healthy discussions, may i ask that we please focus at the topic at hand?

i mean, i just wanted to know how long did anyone took in order to reach the ijok exit, at what speed, in what traffic condition and/or perhaps what could we expect from the expressway during the raya season and these political arguments doesnt really contribute much does it?

• eddie on Sep 02, 2011 at 3:17 pm

i tried yesterday, enter ijok at 5.10pm, exit templer at 5.25pm. i made 15 mins journey.