7th-gen US market 2012 Toyota Camry finally revealed

We’ve had glimpses of it already, but here are the official details and images of the 2012 Toyota Camry, which has been finally launched. The seventh-generation Camry makes its debut in America, where it has been best-selling car for nine years running and 13 of the past 14 years. The main selling points are the “bold, sophisticated new design”, more spacious interior, improved driving dynamics and an even quieter ride.

“The all-new 2012 Camry blends an evolution of the car’s values – such as comfort, efficiency, reliability and safety – with a more appealing design and engaging driving experience. Competition in the midsize sedan segment is the strongest it’s ever been, and the all-new Camry is designed to maintain its long-standing leadership while also broadening its appeal,” explained Bob Carter, Toyota Division group VP and GM.

Toyota says that the new Camry’s form is elegantly simple but modern, emphasising a wider, lower stance over the previous model. We can see the more crisp and precise character line, while things like the more strongly curved door cross-section and better defined rocker panel molding give it a more expressive look. The new headlamps and wrap around “arrow” tail lamps also help the more dynamic cause.

There are again three powertrain choices, all of which have been improved for better economy and performance. The revised 2.5-litre four-cylinder now boast 178 hp, an increase of 9 hp, and 230 Nm of torque. This engine employs Dual VVT-i for both intake and exhaust camshafts, as well as Acoustic Control Induction System (ACIS) that helps optimise torque over a broad engine speed range. The 3.5 V6 has 268 hp and 336 Nm.

Both petrol engines come exclusively with a six-speed automatic gearbox with manual shift mode. In the Camry SE, “D range” sequential shifting allows manual shifting with the new steering paddle shifters even in D mode. The SE’s automatic transmission also features faster shift times in S mode, with downshift blipping control to boot.

The new Camry Hybrid debuts a highly revised version of the brand’s Hybrid Synergy Drive powertrain, including a new 2.5-litre four-cylinder engine. With US EPA-estimated 14.5 km/l combined, it yields a more-than 30% boost in fuel economy compared to the previous gen car, thanks largely to the new powertrain, but also due to lighter weight and optimised aerodynamics.

Like the old 2.4, the new engine is the HSD uses the Atkinson cycle. Combined with the electric motor, the system produces a combined 200 hp. A new water-cooled exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) system cools and controls exhaust gas injected into each cylinder, eliminating the need to richen the air-fuel mixture to control cylinder temperatures.

The Camry Hybrid now has a more pleasing sound under acceleration, according to Toyota. Speaking of that 0-60 mph (96 km/h) is done in 7.6 seconds, so it’s not a slow car by any means.

While the old car’s external dimensions are largely retained, the 2012 Camry offers a more spacious interior. A new dashboard design, modified seat locations, redesigned seats and “lean” door, pillar and headliner trim all combine to add “both real space and greater perceptual spaciousness” while also enhancing outward visibility.

The accelerator pedal and front seats were moved forward, and the rear-seat hip point was positioned rearward, increasing the couple distance by 0.6-inch. Together with reshaped front seatbacks, rear-knee room is up by 1.8-inch. The redesigned center console and front edge of the rear-seat cushion increase rear middle seat legroom by two inches.

The Camry is known for its comfort and hushed ride, and a lot of work has gone into this new model to reset the benchmark. Measures that focus on reducing wind noise include stronger door and rocker area seals; optimised placement of sound insulating materials; foam applied in the roof, pillars and door openings; acoustic glass used for the V6 and Hybrid model’s windshield; and special bracing of cowl intake louvers.

The dashboard structure and assembly was also thoroughly reworked to prevent noise intrusion. The structure employs a new cross member and center brace, along with sandwiched sheet steel to suppress resonance and vibration. With the sandwiched steel, asphalt foam is used to absorb vibration energy while increasing sound blocking effectiveness.

Damping-coating thickness and application areas have been optimised for reduced floor-panel vibration and noise penetration through the floor, and there’s a new type of carpet, too.

An inch here and a decibel there may not sound too exciting, but it looks like Toyota knows its market well with the Camry, and has improved on its best seller’s strengths, while offering more contemporary design in and out. However, this is just the US version – our ASEAN car may not be identical. But do you like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• SoloLove on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:25 pm

quite a nice car..

• Nice car indeed. But be careful the korean car salesman will thumbs you down!!

• what a weird comment u give..
        why everthing try to link to korean car???

• sagatron on Aug 24, 2011 at 4:16 pm

wahhh…toyota civic meh??this one tune by mugen??

• kington on Aug 24, 2011 at 5:49 pm

TRD. The Aussies have had the TRD version for sometime now.

• JasonChang on Aug 24, 2011 at 6:29 pm

sagatron pls check ur eyes la…it looks like civic..?hahaha thats a funny bull shit….

• OMG…I agreed. Not looked like Civic…The front view gave me a bit new face-lift T.Altis concept. Anyway, the design totally different compared with existing Camry.

• sagatron on Aug 24, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Jason, already check my eyes ma and paultan agreed as well..hah…hows that??

• Yeap! in Australia, the Camry or should I say it the AURION is well known for its sportiness… that’s the only place where V8 supercars race series is all about big V8 saloon racing!

• fariz on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:25 am

you kampung ah? nothing wrong with the car…..looks better than the last gen…

• SoloLove on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:23 pm

wah.. everybody thumb me down meh.. i not a toyata fan boy.. hate dugong style to the max.. but i do give credit when they make something good.. for me it look quite nice.. exterior wise.. interior.. dont know what 2 say.. but awkward rear seat..

• Outlook really ugly la. Interior still ok la. Out look like old old car design..

• u get thumbs down becoz u like boring looking car. does not matter if u luv or hate dugong. its just becoz u like fugly looking car. get it ?

• wallstreet on Aug 24, 2011 at 10:44 pm

I agree with you, give credit when is due. Never a Toyota fan, just hate their design. But I do respect them for coming out cars that sell and that’s matter the most. They dont care about criticism on their design, uncle car la, etc…but its the uncles that can afford this car. They emphasize on reliability, spaciousness which is 2 main points most uncles are looking at. Young ppl may love cars like Mazda, great car like Mazda 6 but how many can afford it? By the time the became uncle, practicality sets in. Thats when Camry is the best choice. Korean cars may have improved on their design but sad to say they still failed in term of reliability.

• Jesse James on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Agreed.

• i like it…simple not too curvy

• alienmacho on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:06 pm

i define simple + not to curvy = awesome for audi, kia forte, honda civic and cadilac cts. but this camry is simple + not to curvy = ugly.

• Chris on Aug 24, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Did something happened while I wasn’t looking? Why is it that everyone who says good things about the car get thumbs down and vice versa?

This car keeps giving me that Nissan + Hyundai feeling… Sort of fresh yet felt recycled… I can’t decide if I like it or not…

• looking-good on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:12 pm

ya.. i notice that too.. whoever praise about this new Camry will get thumbs down till “hidden due to low comment rating”!!

this reflect the consumer feedback, guess UMW toyota must be prepared to do something.. like add-in more goodies for this new car (ofcos also a good price tag!), not like all the while just give us kosong inside…..

if they still ignorance and arrogant as always, they will be out very soon

• This show that korean car salesman is very free, they got plenty of time to thumbs down what ever comment that praise Camry. So come on thumbs down if you are korean car salesman.

• looking-good on Aug 25, 2011 at 1:47 am

i just thumb down ur post… but i’m not the salesman or the owner..

the Korean’s win the thumbs up from people is bcos of their products, not bcos of the dealer, we all know the Naza ppl provide super thumbs down service here!

• alldisc on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:36 am

check out June’s non national segment sales – Toyota tops 5 out of 10 best sellers.

Vios still commands a healthy sales. Hilux, Altis, Avanza are all there. wonder why Sonata and Mazda 6 still cannot make it to the top 10.

i see most of the comments here are not relevant to what is actually happening in reality. and the reason why umw toyota doesnt bother much with the clowns here.

they do listen but to the voice of what consumers really want. affordable, modern tech, reliability, parts availability, after sales service.

• Don’t pretend lah bro.. oh maybe sister, you are a korean car salesman/lady…got you!!!

• gorengpunsedap on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:55 pm

nothing much spesel la about this car..little bit disappointed with the design..50% or more..more look like the latest honda civic ..

i thing the korean model much more attractive ~~

• Look like Camry 2003 model.

• another hot cake coming soon!

• another hot cake is on the way…

• Agree, this car will sell very hot, pity the sonatas will be growing fungus at their store, wahaha..

• Finally it has arrived. Im waiting for the JDM spec. It will be much better looking than this model. I am booking it!

• VOLVO LOVER on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:33 pm

volvo s60 much from the rear?

• Sporty, and I’m very sure that this will be heavily modded by Ah Bengs!

• Alanore on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:40 pm

Its good that T put so much effort in acoustic insulation.
    Exterior-wise is a big NO for me; while for the interior, I like this trim more http://jalopnik.com/5829969/2012-toyota-camry-interior-sell-sell-sell

• Troll honda much?

• kitkat on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:42 pm

less luxury looks compared to current model
    more to altis facelift or new gen of altis..

• Derrick Chai on Aug 24, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Quite agree with your view…. Feeling a little bit of disspointment though… :(

• ABTguy on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Big smiling mouth at the rear :)

Well, the new car definitely looking more impressive than the outgoing model. Hopefully come with 6spd box instead of 4/5 spd, even for the based 2.0 model.

• drMpower on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:47 pm

a bit sportier
    its like the UK spec k20a engined honda accord
    i forgot what its called but that what i meant

the fact that matter more is by looking at the body shell, apart from front and back areas, theres not much difference in between
    it shows how this car is..perhaps designed with shoe string budget

of which maybe true considering the legal suits and other problems faced by toyota in these a year or two

• amirad on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:48 pm

Sometimes when a car looks so so in the pics, we hope it would look better in the flesh. Unlike the new Sonata and Optimo, even in pics they look outstanding. In flesh, even better and really grab your attention.
    Where are the character lines? I only see smooth body panels. Yep. Its an overblown Altis 2.0. So predictable but safe.

• Jesse James on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Yeah, look good in picture and even better in flesh. But it gets boring quite fast.

• Ugly !!!

• Gajen on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Our version would probably be better looking….Hopefully….

• HORRIBLE! Steering wheel is bulky, the shapes are all off. Nothing matches and it looks like what they did to the Chevy Camaro, too many designs all at one time. Nothing flows into another. Disaster!!!

• irwan on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:53 pm

I like the back of current model more. The square trunk light is too Accord-ish

• Altis facelift or new Camry? on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:58 pm

It looks more like Altis facelift than new Camry. Has Toyota loss it?

• mohsin on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:12 pm

Yup! I think it’s Altis oso!

• But I feel this is Altis 2011 unreleased edition due to it is too ugly to be put in the market. But now must put it out due to economy problem.. Sell to USA first la.

• Best selling executive car is getting better. Choon!!

• atifjeelan on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:00 pm

The exterior look like a mixture of various of car brands. The lamps similar to civic and forte. The front skirt look like subaru impereza.

The interior look simple. The hyundai sonata got much better design (sporty and elegance)

• Mazlan on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Civic n Forte face…

• LionelStep on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Oh gosh…..I have been swarmed by Hyundai’s and Kia’s latest exterior design language so much….that I could not feel anything special about this latest Camry model…..

• i must say,,,,the current model looks better than this…

• xxXXxx on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Less classy and more sporty…however I felt disappointed on this new model. Personally I feel like this segment of car should go for either more classy and luxurious OR go for high-tech and sporty! This model like 50-50 means a bit but not so classy and a bit but not so sporty! Interior is typical and nothing fancy….yet not classy! In my 2 cent, Toyota should look at how Hyundai grow!!!

Remarks: I am a Toyota owner.

• “Remarks: I am a Toyota owner”
      Ya, we believe you, but at the same time we think you are also a korean car salesman.

• looking-good on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:17 pm

and i believe u do not own neither Toyota nor Korean’s

• You are right, Toyota and Korean are for the middle class, I am driving Porsche Cayenne.

• Seriously?! on Aug 25, 2011 at 4:42 pm

bwahahaha! now this is the joke of the century!

• thought i’m looking at Civic. but no, it’s the new Campy. i mean, Camry.

• F.O.Ç on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:12 pm

At the side it resemble last generation Camry which somehow going backwards but change the front & rear design. What I wish to our Asean Camry is complete redesign, like how Hyundai Sonata 360 degree complete redesign from previous models. I don’t think Camry engineers able to put everything (sporty + comfort) in ONE good price.

• sixtythree on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Whilst this may be nice looking car, our UMW for sure will UNCLE’lize the camry for M’sian market.

• The rear like the Fifth-gen Camry.

• mid-income earner on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:23 pm

Oh no.. that’s a mess!

• ahhh..cant wait for the review

• hahahaha Bigger Altis….Japanese and Honda all lost it….I love Korean…Hyundai, Kia, Samsung, Wonder girls, kimchi, choru choru….., mega world domination, here we come!

• LatukBandar on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:43 pm

My personal view (most probably wrong, just my opinion):

Korean products – pay RM1 get 50 cent quality
      Japanese products – pay RM1 get RM1.10 quality
      German product – pay RM1 get RM1.50 quality
      Chinese products – pay 1 cent gets 1 cent quality

If you’re a salesman and sold a varieties of mechanical and electronic products from all over the world, you’ll know Koreans are good at marketing only.

My first choice is always German products followed by Japanese and then Chinese (dirt cheap, no complains). Korean products are over-hyped, overpriced for the quality.

• Fallen on Aug 24, 2011 at 6:11 pm

use your brain..what’s the price difference between a korean car and a german car??

• You are so right, he must had failed his maths during SPM…wait until his DSG breakdown tengah jalan bro….lol!

• Wait for the Elantra and Accent and eat your words dearly. It is so hot that all Americans must be really dumb to buy them….

• it’s weird coz european dun buy them either… they buy VW GOLF….

• The most knowledgeable comment by far.

• autojohndoe on Aug 25, 2011 at 1:07 pm

man… for the sake of import product… you are willing to buy China product? Not that i said all their product bad… but…

i better buy malaysian made…

• Seriously?! on Aug 25, 2011 at 4:47 pm

“My personal view (most probably wrong, just my opinion)”
        eh no. you did get one right (the most probably wrong part)

• kwing on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:33 pm

ugly front..

• haha.too many korean fans here.im nt gonna write anythg gd bout the car

• Andrew on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:25 pm

even not a korean fans, I still do not see the goods of this car. lol~ truly rip off from the price you pay. what you get in the end of the day? the start-stop system? or foot-handbrake? keyless entry? a empty shell car which looks big (maybe this is the goods) only.

• problem is not with the price toyota set…..is the way our tax system works.do you how much to buy this car in US if u do direct convert of currency?around RM 65k….yep that’s right.

and those who keep complaint about the outdated 4 speed tech toyota employs with the previous gen……this 1 have a 6 speeder in it

• sukasuki on Aug 24, 2011 at 9:00 pm

err, i think UMW make this car overpriced and kosong spec. why always blame G?

• looking-good on Aug 25, 2011 at 1:51 am

YES, totally agree! its the UMW we should blame first !!

• alldisc on Aug 25, 2011 at 5:05 pm

current camry 2.4V sold at 174K. actual price from UMWT – 89K.

do the maths.. the rest is all tax and duties.

VW Golf GTI price is actually 49K. but being CBU, the taxes are sky high – reason they are more than 200K.

hard to believe? find the custom papers…

this is malaysia lahh…

• Andrew on Aug 26, 2011 at 7:51 pm

do give me explaination for honda CRV vs Hyundai Tucson vs Chev Captiva, price vs spec?

• hahahahaha it’s a crappy Altis…sorry Camry Altis, Japanese and Honda have surrendered….hello Hyundai, Kia, Samsung, Wonder Girls, kimchi…choru choru…..i love Korean!

• Dissapointed with the new look. The existing design is much more nicer. Toyota should have keep the design for Altis.

• Joseph on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Looks great and I am sure it will be a great TOYOTA CAMRY, but still not worth having at the current prices in Malaysia.

• Tiuniasing on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Kia Optima is much more photogenic than the Camry. I think the Japanese brands are facing tough competition from the Korean made, which is a good thing to the consumers as we have more choice and better offer from the car manufacturers.

• En Ali on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:43 pm

rear lamp looks awkward!!

• loveit on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:44 pm

exterior looks early 2000 design..too retro..Hyundai n Kia or even current Camry look better…

• The front is so ugly nothing.

• alpha999 on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:51 pm

aisay man…..toyota designers totally run out of ideas……current camry more muscular looking….

• Couldn’t agree more. It has less elegant look than the current model. The back is simply too Accord-alike, which is ugly.. Basically T has exhausted their design gear .. After waiting for years for a new model, I’m sure I will give this a pass and walk into a Korean showroom.

• Kevin on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:01 pm

whats up with the 2 pacman design tail lamp design? trying to eat the toyota logo?
    LOL..

• thebugbud on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:01 pm

I guess the korean is hitting more on the right spot in term design than the Jap.

Recently design language has been pushed by the korean to a notch that is not easy to be challenged by others.

On ride and comfort, jap is still better. How nice if the car can have both. ;)

• Take the TOYOTA LOGO out ppl might thought this is a FACELIFTED KIA FORTE. Nothing interesting.To those JAPS car fans the only hope for u’ll is the ACCORD now.

• Jerry on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:10 pm

I am changing my mind on earlier comments that the New Camry is a dud. In fact after watching a video found at Worldcarfans.com I am falling in love with Toyotas again. They deserved a pat for putting sporty touches on USDM Camrys but I believe the car will be toned down for conservative Asians buyers who demand luxury and prestige on a model that is essentially the transport for working-class America.

• arulkay on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:11 pm

aiyooo what happen to jap car nowadays the design looks so boringggg lor………
    izzit bcoz the effect of fukushima dichi reactor radiation……huhu

• putra_rider on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Laaa…civic?no idea kah?

• JonVu on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:30 pm

It’s a CIVIC + ALTIS for the head

• Expatriate VN on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:31 pm

“The all-new 2012 Camry blends an evolution of the car’s values – such as comfort, efficiency, reliability and safety – with a more appealing design and engaging driving experience.”

– These traits are Camry best selling points, I for once would like to own one once this Camry reach our market. Excellent work from Toyota. Good quality D-segment global car.

• MoFaz on Aug 24, 2011 at 7:46 pm

once u said Accord is your dream car.. now you want Camry.. u’re just like a kid!
      your salary is soo high.. go buy both and play quietly in the corner ya.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:57 pm

You are the one misquoted me about the “power of dream”, show me which posting I ever said about H, perhaps it is better for you to do a proper home work before bare all for other to see your retard mind.

If I want to buy the 2nd, then Nissan Serena MPV is my next choice, but for the latest model C26 currently selling in Japan, not present outmoded crap TCM offering for C 24 in this Bodohland. Perhaps have to waite until the cow come home or jp offer future C 27, C28 …. then only come to our shore.

• pigsy on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:23 am

how sad to know that you are living in a place called Bodohland…

as for me, im living in Malaysia.

• sukasuki on Aug 24, 2011 at 9:04 pm

rilek la Mofaz, dia tu berangan nak pkai accord dan camry, tp sbnarnya naik honda c70.

• Chimera on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Most of potential car buyer in malaysia does not care how it look. most of them only will say ”Aku Pakai Baru,Dia Lama Punya.” After that,hidung dia berasap lagak daa…….

• vw_fan on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:32 pm

The dashboard looks good but overall I feel underwhelmed by the design. For me the design philosophy seems like a revival of the 90s.

• J@CK LIM on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Civid front with 5th generation rear?

• At last, generally look kinda good although its a little bit of altis here and accord there. But the triangular chrome fog lamp just doesn’t quite fit in. I prefer the front of the red camry and I doubt UMW will bring in that 5 spoke ring like the red camry, just gorgeous.

• blacky on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:39 pm

haha really so many kimchi fans here…. the sonata looks good because previous model was…u know i know la…..whether is design, fuel consumption or reliability……for example, out of 100, it is easier to differentiate 83 marks from 60 marks than 86 marks from 83 marks… just wait for new gen sonata or forte then you will know…….

• hooo surely the japs have been effected by the nuclear radiation.

• what i can bout this car is…..
    mengkotakkan/memepersegikan sesuatu yang bulat/lengkung…….

weirdly shape IMHO…

• taboogen on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:47 pm

wow PS2 controller being attached to the stereng.. what next.. hahhaha kelakar lah

• Honestly speaking, I am kind of disappointed on the design.

• Sure its getting better, with great looks and It will surely outsold accord transformer.

• With great looks it’s sure going to outsold accord transformer.

• rallyart on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:55 pm

nonesense….

• Enlarge version of altis, exterior design is totally no “improvement” at all if compare to korean, interior look like 1.5 or c segment design, only wrap by some leather, The camry should design in the way on “Elegance & Luxury”, because it is a flagship from Toyota, worse than the current malaysia version.

• Paul,

Any info for park brake?
    is it hand/foot/electric park brake

• Camry is still among the top ten non national car segment interms of sales volume. Sonata and accord is out of the list. Shame on you…..

• OMG..wat is this??? prev H brand lost it with the civic …now T brand gone wt the Campy,..i mean camry

• Shaycoat on Aug 24, 2011 at 4:10 pm

NOTHING!

• What?! Camry. I almost think its a facelift forte

• William on Aug 24, 2011 at 4:28 pm

This is just US version… Ours will be a different looking JDM version

• embun on Aug 24, 2011 at 4:36 pm

i hope this comes to us
    for only i wish that the previous model will drop in price that i can afford.
    it is still stunning to own one

• paparadzi on Aug 24, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Remember that this is the American Camry, and Americans look at Camry the way we look at the Persona. It is the basic family car, not a luxury or sport model.

The way the government tax our car, plus our income level compared to the world, our perception is that the Camry is a luxury car.

• Johndeep on Aug 24, 2011 at 5:42 pm

It is your own perception that Camry is luxury car. Everybody says luxury for BMW, Merc, Audi. Jap cars accord, camry, Teana are executive sedan.

And camry is definately not a basic car even in America.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 25, 2011 at 1:08 am

And do pls define what an executive sedan is.

A base 4 cyc camry is just a regular family 4 door in north america. Same as the 4pot accord, altima, malibu. In fact the base models are sometimes even more sparingly trimmed than our models. The v6 versions are however, noticibly upmarket.

They still have a larger Avalon there as thier flagship.

A camry may look boring but that does not detract it from being a good car…and the north american camry is quite abit better in the nvh department as compared to our local aurion based camry.

• RedLine on Aug 24, 2011 at 4:40 pm

My first impression:

Exterior: Plain body, ugly front bumper.
    Interior: Nice dashboard, but don’t like the two eyes/nipples on the steering wheel.

• DR MARK on Aug 24, 2011 at 4:43 pm

hahah. this is what is called CAMRY..!

• Wondering why Toyota is not adopting the ‘low displacement engine, high output” like Audi TSI and merc Bluetech and Bimmer’s….??? Is the technology is too expensive for Toyota…..?? of which i think they can afford it but may be it can cannablised its own Hybrid line…..

It means we cannot enjoy the privelage due to our own oudated/ancient road tax structure. Eg Camry’s 2.5 litre can produce only 178 hp but Audi 2.0 can produce 211 hp (and higher torques at lower rpm)…

• Zaifman on Aug 24, 2011 at 5:14 pm

The 160hp 1.4 TSI used by VW and Audi is almost as powerful as the US Camry’s 2.5. :P

• agree… the last real japanese automotive revolution tech triumph is the launch of cvt civic.

• Zaifman on Aug 24, 2011 at 5:10 pm

If I say anything good about this car…I’ll get thumbed down by Korean **** riders.

Korean cars are getting better and finally able to compete with the big names from Japan and Europe. But, people have their own opinions. I still prefer Japanese cars though.

I like the new Camry, just a simple modern car, not with exaggerated looks.

• korean car salesman on Aug 24, 2011 at 10:46 pm

We will thumb you down if you praise camry again one more time, last warning to you.

• Zaifman on Aug 24, 2011 at 5:12 pm

A heads up, our Camry is actually a Toyota Aurion which is Australian designed.

• Naz@AE111 on Aug 24, 2011 at 5:13 pm

is it an Altis or Camry?? rather buy the old one..

• they just explode the Altis (which looks better in the size)…

hope Msia version is better, and if comes with still 4 Gear Auto…sayonara Camry already…

• Zaifman on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:57 pm

6 speed is likely…. maybe we’ll get a new Aurion as our Camry is a rebadged Toyota Aurion.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 24, 2011 at 5:24 pm

A car for safety, realiabilty, good quality, pleasure driving, and command respect in its class! I for once, would like to get one as my “2nd car”!

• Maserati on Aug 24, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Wow…this is nice! Sure gonna sell like hot cakes in Msia! Well done!

• Expatriate VN and Maserati is Perodua Salesman. Not Toyota Salesman. Because ppl in P2 only bash P1. TOYOTA man not bother to bash P1.. because P1 is not their rival.

Only P2 ppl who like Toyota ppl like hell because its their mother company.

• bobdbilder on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:59 am

Yes. You would expect 400 words or more from them when bashing. But when it comes to giving out credits; they have gone down to just one liners. So when you really look at it, and do a behavioral based profile, you will come to realize that these are losers.

But in the greater scheme of things, they are needed in a society to keep us in check so that we don’t have children like them. They have become our 21st century Big Bad Wolf to tell to our children and pass on to the next generation. We shall reinforce positive attitudes towards our children so that we should not be scorned for having bad seeds.

• I think u selling cake. This Camry model look ugly…How to sell.. Altis look more better. This care look like 70″s design.. But USA people might like.. they like old style muscle car look

• tell u guys la…..one day koreans will oso ran out of idea for their design.enjoy it while u all can

• CarDude on Aug 24, 2011 at 7:31 pm

It’s in consumers best interest to have
    great products competing with one another….

Unfortunately, in Toyata’s case…..
    at least the exterior…..

This is one Ugly looking car….

• maybe toyota is relocating their design team into LEXUS. This new camry look far less refined compare to the one on the road today.

• I usually don’t leave any comment after seeing new cars post but for this camry i must say something because this is one of my most highly anticipated car and i have expectation on it…

The front looks ok, except it resembles altis so much which is not-so-good since camry meant to be more up market….
    The side looks ok despite it is not curvy or coupe-like but that;s totally fine since different people have different tastes….

PS: THE REAR, However, is F@!#!ing dissapointing!!!! What’s wrong with its designer? Why has those rear lights designed as such? and how is it fitting to the overall design?

FINAL WORD: Please don’t get this version in UMW MALAYSIA, we hope the ASEAN version is better, or else i am switching to Honda or Korean, worse….

• shawal on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:52 pm

why all camry’s underpinnings are visible..? makes the car looks cheap…. it started from the first fat one..

• shawal on Aug 24, 2011 at 9:16 pm

All i can say is that, They can cater to America’s design and taste, while we can ignore them with our Asian buying power…

• Accord on Aug 24, 2011 at 9:22 pm

awwwWwww.!!! this Camry look so cheap and Ugly!

• why I cant comment one??? why!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• uncle sam on Aug 24, 2011 at 10:29 pm

callin all uncle & auntie to join me to book this car. We uncles damn luv this car to the max. Dont care if design boring, fugly. Uncles gonna die soon ma, so just get a car that is as quiet as a coffin ma good lor.

all uncle/auntie with me on this ?

• Mask Ryder on Aug 24, 2011 at 10:30 pm

This Camry has been choosen as Pace Car for 2012 Daytona 500 Nascar’s Sprint Cup season opener.

This is the second non american car ever been given such a great honour in 50 years of Daytona history the first one was a Porsche 917 in 1971.

• kakakak on Aug 25, 2011 at 7:27 am

becos they paid to be a sponsor, you think its the performance of the camry? lol

• alldisc on Aug 25, 2011 at 5:10 pm

they have the initiations to sponsor. so what?

• gimmeone on Sep 04, 2011 at 12:37 pm

BTW the price of the golf GTI is NOT 48k without tax……..please double check before making such comments!!!

• sam witwicky on Aug 24, 2011 at 10:41 pm

no wonder laa america digelar United States of Toyota…haha…
    hyundai elantra & kia optima lagi cantek…

err..why so many k-pop fans in here??? anybody loves j-rock?i love anime soundtrack song…ow yeah…

• Dashboard design reminds me of current honda city.

• dannyl77 on Aug 24, 2011 at 11:25 pm

I Think the New Toyota Camry is aiming for a Younger Generation Market… Maybe for those in their 30’s…. Elegance & yet Sporty looking ……. But they will loose a lot of the Older Buyers who is in their 40’s & 50’s for sure …… who most likely will be changing their preferences to Lexus …..
    as i can see nowdays , a lot of youngsters whos is in their mid / late 20’s is already driving civic & altis … early 20’s pulak driving vios & city already ……… I would say maybe Toyota is foreseeing the future trends…… that’s why the New Camry is a Bit Sporty looking like an Upgraded Altis / Civic…..

• the side profile looks like previous gen model..can’t say its pretty..not sure whether we get the same one..since our current camry is the aurion..

• Julian Lee on Aug 25, 2011 at 1:01 am

hodoh gila, bmw better

• cybermaster98 on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:10 am

Compare apple to apple la. I think its silly to say BMW is better than Camry. Isnt is expected since the BMW 3 series for instance is about RM 90K more expensive?

• No matter how it looks, Camry is still a roomy and comfy limo for the family man. Better grab the current model before it goes extinct.

• SimonH on Aug 25, 2011 at 1:18 am

Sonata 2.0T for me please. Beats this fugly crap on all counts.

• Wonder when this new Camry will have another round of worldwide Mass Defect Recall ?

Toyota = King of Mass Defect Recall .

if Not Radiation Parts .

• cybermaster98 on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:08 am

I dont think thats a fair statement. All the major car brands have had recalls over the past few years not just Toyota. Google it and ull know. Besides, the volume of the recall would be higher for Toyota since their sales figures are much higher.

• fariz on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:23 am

Which means they continue improving the car, nothing wrong with that….

• alienmacho on Aug 25, 2011 at 5:06 am

for US market… great! the sale will indicates the numbers of american idiots that capable of driving :P

• American Muscle on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:44 pm

toyota tahan lasak la bro tu sbb laku….wktu weekend drive camaro dgn awek…time kerja drive camry….tapi kat malaysia UMW still shite…

• Front and back bumpers look almost the same.

• desmond on Aug 25, 2011 at 5:57 am

damn cunnnnnnnnnnnnnn for uncles -.-

• labuyot on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:09 am

new camry = matured altis

• alldisc on Aug 25, 2011 at 4:59 pm

same company, so what. bmw and merc are using many similar design cues for every model… like twin round lamps for bmw. and the double kidney grilles.

there is nothing wrong at all. afterall, toyota should know better – they are the one designing all the cars. we are mere spectators.

• waa…civic & accord half cut join together…LoL

• blacky on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:46 am

it’s amazing to see so many bashers here….. they really work hard coming up with creative and not so creative comments to bash kaw kaw… Putting everything aside, camry still success in making all competitors’ fans to thump down for an obvious reason…..

• sorry to offend u, uncle. This camry sure ngam your uncle taste. No need to care what other ppl comment.

• CIVIC + ACCORD

• fariz on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:24 am

looks decent, better than its predecessor……..interior fit and finish seems better than before (at least from the pics here)……….despite all the baseless hate comments, I think this is going to sell, better than its predecessor…..

• Ash Menon on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:36 am

Having previously criticized Toyota for coming out with absolutely boring designs, I must applaud them for this rather edgy look. I don’t think it works completely, but the effort must be credited.

However, the front really reminds me of Forte + Savvy. Especially that first red pic.

• hexagon on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:38 am

Don’t judge the books by its cover..

• lazyf on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:52 am

backdated design…

• Honda Power on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:44 am

Has Toyota run out of design ideas until they have to ‘copy’ from their arch rival Honda? Observe the new Camry closely and you can see resemblance to Honda in three parts of the car. The three parts are: 1. Front head lights look like current Honda Civic’s head lights 2. Part of tail lights beneath the bonnet look like current Honda Accords’s tail lights 3. Part of dashboard looks like current Honda City’s dashboard. New Toyota Camry = Civic + Accord + City. Wakaka!.

• messi on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:44 am

Take the first look and you will never want to take another look. Boring and non muscular.

I reckon that the next generation of Hyundai Sonata (improvement and refinement need to be done on the engine) will out beat them in US if Toyota did not inherit the brother LEXUS design which is MUSCULAR like BMW.

• Mask Ryder on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:48 am

2012 Camry give the Best fuel economy in it class, even beat Sonata.

Super hightech ICE system.

Somemore 10 air bags standard for all model.

Our version should be similar to 2012 JDM Aurion with more executive looks.
    Hopefully with the same 2.5 ltr engine & 6 speed super ECT as this US version.

• pelams on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:55 am

y got so many hiiden comments? haiya…….next time fikir guna otak,before commenting!

• if u got nothing to comment, then dont comment about others. Guna otak sendiri la !

• Carcraze on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Just commenting on its exterior. It feels like the designers have run out of options and ideas. It does not appear to reflect any image, much less a Camry, where the current one is such a success. Very often buyers make the decision to buy a car based it being a Japanese car, and then its attractive looks. A significant number of Malaysian buyers do not go for technological aspects of car buying.
    This Camry, sad to say, is not attractive at all. And the back design looks as if the designers dozed off while working!!

• FOR GOD SAKE PLEASE REMOVE THIS CAMRY , Ugliest car on earth

• YangYang85 on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:04 am

Strongly Agreed…

Some ppls love it coz of its brand only…

• stephen on Aug 25, 2011 at 3:34 pm

most of the time, japanese car meant for US market and Asia market will have slight differences. But of course not on the curve.

this new Camry do remind me of the older Altis version but of course with sportier look.
    Hopefully we will know how the Asia version look like. To me…. American prefer more muscle car look which we normally hate….. however I won’t expect it will improve 100% when they reveal Asia version

• Peter on Aug 25, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Quality & reliability aside … talking abt the exterior design, IMHO Toyota’s cars look uglier each year (may be not so on drawing board) … to my surprise, Korean car getting more futuristic looks very year … agree?

• Peter on Aug 25, 2011 at 5:13 pm

What happen to Toyota? Why this look? Aint’ Camry going for premium line family car?

• ToyotaLover on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:07 am

Good things:
    – Interior
    – Engine (better than last 2.4)

Bad Things:
    -F$#@ing ugly Rear light
    -Current model has better overall design…

• aimantakkisah on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:06 pm

typical malaysian… too much complain.
    u suka ,u beli . tak suka u diam .

*no mugen for hyundai*

• momos on Sep 02, 2011 at 10:02 pm

The silver one looks Hideous.. TG..its for US version.. the red one is better, I mean it look American..

• momos on Sep 02, 2011 at 10:03 pm

The silver one looks Hideous.. Tg.its for US version.. the red one is better, I mean it look American..

• Hyundai Fan on Sep 06, 2011 at 9:45 am

The front is Honda Civic & the rear is Honda Accord. I think Toyota has run out of idea in designing a car that can defeat Hyundai Sonata YF just like can be seen on Altis.
    I think the time for Hyundai & Kia to overtake Toyota & Honda in the car maket has come just like the time when Samsung & LG overtake Panasonic & Sony in the TV market & overtake Nokia & Sony Erricson in handphone markets.

• Outdated design. Its an old design. No real appeal.

Toyota had made mistakes in the past with their designs. They have done it again!!

• Positive citizen. on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:22 pm

new car for upper class… middle class only afford for PROTON and PERODUA.. cost of living in Malaysia increase drastically.. like me with 4k salary only afford for persona.. all becoz of “program rumah pertamaku”.. b4 that program u still can get 200k value of terrace house in klang valley.. but due to that program all property increase like hell.. easy said u need at least 6k permonth for standard live style.. 4k is small in big city.. see below:
    1) rent a appartment 1k,
    2) 2 child day care rm700 plus milk etc easily total up to 1k,
    3) household spending 1k,
    4) my pocket money rm500 only (this only for lunch, petrol n toll.. lucky i’m not a smoker if not more worse)..
    5) tax and epf another RM500….

some time i try to put my self in shoes for those with many child and small salary.. oh… can’t imagine how hard they facing live every day.. how hard they work still not enuf..

those with big salary so lucky as everything is pay/provided by company.. lucky the company i work with are take a good care of they staff with at least 10% increment every year.. willing to share they profit with atleast 3months bonus every year…

i heard some of private company even they make lots money still so calculative to they staff.. with fix increment year (some only 50bugs per year) and bonus only so so..

hmm… hope gov can look how to help they citizen..

• Positive citizen. on Nov 14, 2011 at 8:26 pm

proton still more value for the money… most will agreed with that fact…

• eric chee on Apr 02, 2012 at 9:44 am

very ugly , both front & rear. front like Proton Perdana, rear = WEIRD LIGHT DESIGN ! Totally OUT!
    Japanese car also seem getting bad in term of Quality for these recent few years. May be this is due to cost-cutting for Malaysian market which impose HIGH TAX due to AP ! Sad !