New Segment: Malaysian Automotive Association Vehicle Sales Data for July 2011

We’re introducing a new segment in this website to show you who are the real movers and shakers in the industry. Why does Tan Chong still sell the Sentra? How many units of the Savvy did Proton shift? Is the Proton Saga or the Perodua Myvi Malaysia’s best selling car?

You’ll get all those answers in this new regular segment. Presenting the industry sales data from the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA).

Starting from this month we will publish sales figures from each brand and each model sold in Malaysia, as submitted to MAA by the manufacturers. We kick off with data from July 2011, but have also put in the previous month’s numbers for comparison. There’s also a year-to-date (YTD) number to see how they’ve done so far in 2011.

The table includes features such as the ability to sort alphabetically as well as by number of units sold. Just click the column headers to sort. There’s also a little search field at the top right of the table so you can filter the list down to the specific model/brand you want. Bear in mind that the figures are only from official distributors, and grey imports are not included.

[table id=7 /]

Notice any interesting trends? Share them with us in the comments section! :)

Source: MALAYSIAN AUTOMOTIVE ASSOCIATION

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jerry on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:20 pm

I am not sure how long FHI’s Subaru could remain as an independent car maker.

• Hey where is Perodua Myvi?sure win lolx

• m4xspeed on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:11 am

read thoroughly!

• july back on top bah with more than 8k sold, so saga whats ur strategi?
          how bout slashing some more $$$ ? paul pls put d top selling model/brand
          1st till d bottom sales so to not confusing

• coolcar on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm

After look through the sales date, it is amazing how korean car salesman can tell the lies. They should get the lies telling oscar award.

• Very informative indeed. Thumbs up to Paul Tan.

• Roffle on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:26 pm

lol no Kia Forte? I thought Korean fags shouting how great Kia Forte is but truthfully Ford Fiesta sales more than Kia cars all together and let alone other Ford cars.

• Great info. I noticed a tremendous increase in the number of Honda Insight on the road these days. Everyone is going green…..

• dun think they REALLY wanna go green, it’s only because of the tax exempt, the jazz and civic seemed uneconomical to afford.

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:39 am

actually the insight is the only affordable Honda below 100K, other than City. either they opt for Insight or nothing.

• Carl Wong on Aug 27, 2011 at 2:05 am

It beats City to become the best selling car from Honda :]…!!! Behold the Hybrid era!!!

• ayyam on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:40 pm

no one want to buy lancer anymore lol

• Sonata sales land on the snake box :-) all way down.
    Ha Ha ! Did someone mentioned how Sonata breathing behind Camry neck in US ? And it would overtake Camry by year end to grap the champion title American best selling model ? but here in Malaysia different story all together lah !

• jolomuddin on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:05 pm

and yet the sonata waiting list is so long

could it actually be that hyundai is actually selling ALL the stock that they can get a hold of?

nice try to spin it as if sonata not selling well :)

• Mask Ryder on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:24 pm

Dah le tu ! Memang jualan Sonata semakin merosot dari bulan Mei – Jun – Julai semakin turun.
        Alasan stok kurang tak masuk akar langsung.

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:43 am

Year to date total

Accord 2,509
          Sonata 1,938
          Camry 4,512

combine both Accord and Sonata sales still cannot beat Camry. Honda and Hyundai must think of new strategies already. giving good looks & high spec alone is not enough.

• Thiyagu on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Car value depreciation is main concern in buying car in malaysia. Not wrong to concern as we buying car for 100k, not like US you can get car for 10k only. It’s a big deal they can achive the qty even with higher value depreciation compare toyota and honda.

• I wonder where are those hardcore korean supporter gone to? to scared to face the facts? They where bashing the new camry like no buisness.
            The figures says it all. when it comes to buying a korean, no one will but they will still buy a jap end of the day.

• capt jack on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:55 pm

coz hyundai is handled by freaking sime darby in malaysia

• arcana on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:42 pm

different country different taste bro……
        malaysians generally prefer the jap brands….
        but who are we to say? now the koreans may not be the best selling out there, one day they might be……like the americans did laugh at japs for making copycats 30-40 years back….look where they are now, i bet the same scenario will happen sooner or later.

anyway the europeans and americans seems to be very receptive to changes and koreans are fairing alot better there, maybe is the asia culture that is resisting change and sticking to the “proven formula” of jap brands……time will tell.

• bebek on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:14 am

whats wrong with the sime darby?

• insightfully_me on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:00 am

I doubt sonata will overtake camry in US by year end…all-new camry has just been launched in US and the sales of Camry will only go up for the remaining of the year…the sales gap between the two models will only get bigger

• web programmer on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Great use of web to present the info!!!

may i suggest a few added features?

1) a column for number that instantly update with the search (so at a glance we can tell eg. Insight is #10 in July 2011)
    2) ability to use logical operator eg. ‘AND’ ‘OR’ in the search box so we can get instant comparison eg. ‘livina OR avanza’

Thanks.

• very good info. maybe just sort out car sales by ranking?

hard to believe 3000+ jokers bought the dugong last month!!!

• vios??? XD XD

• Cant believe 488 monkeys bought the ultimate junk last month.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:19 am

I cant believe someone with such foul mouth was allowed to comment here.

• Very obvious you are biased. Look “someone’s comment”, and a person with a complete brain will know who is more foul mouth. Go back to school buddy. You need to pass your spm.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:37 am

Maybe you are the one still in school, because that is the only place people teach patriotism and i sense that u have that….. In our bolehland it is always between patriotism and common sense, they are both mutually exclusive and i bet u belong to the former category…….

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:51 am

what else can ‘i says’….
            year to date sales as follows

city – 7,802
            vios – 16,816.

for every city Honda sold, Toyota registered 2 units of Vios.

what happened to good looks, 120hp engine and 5 speed AT ?

others in the price range and so called better competitor includes

peugoet 308 – 1,317
            suzuki swift – 2,953
            proton inspira – 6,073
            naza forte – 3,430
            chevy cruze – 519

some info from proton insider – they have stopped production for inspira. but not sure for how long. perhaps too many in stocks.

• You aren’t even capable on comparing and understanding simple statements. Not only that, you reply with tonnes of things that are not even related to my post. SPM is nearby, get off the internet and start studying.

• Salamander on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:27 am

Unlike you they can afford it.

• I am PROUD to drive my proton Exora. Way better than mr 488.

• Alpha on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:07 am

Way better,dude??Not a fan of Kia/Naza,but that Forte’s fuel consumption is way better than ur Exora,dude.Higher specs and more power too.So,why are they the monkeys and you’re not??

• aparaaaa..compare mpv dengan sedan….mangkuk hayun betul..kalau nak main compare macam tu, compare dengan Polo laa….Forte tu nothing in terms of acceleration and fuel consumption compared to Polo….tak yah compare gitu

• Alpha on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:41 am

Dah dia cakap pasal Forte,but dia only drive an Exora,pasal tu la aku compare 2 ni,mangkok.Baca dulu baru comment.Dah la comment x betul,nak berlagak pandai pulak.And sejak bila pulak Forte (C-segment) patut compare dengan Polo (B-segment)??Dasar bebal.So,compare MPV dengan sedan x boleh,tapi compare hatch dengan sedan boleh??Appaaaaraaa!!Ba wau da wau ha punya orang.

• Salamander on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Erm okay. Seems like you really cant afford it after all.

• MiniCopperFreak on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:59 am

Dont say like tat lor, maybe he is the sultan of brunei, you never know one you know…..

• chk4122 on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Interesting sales of Volkswagen Passat CC, from 16 units in June to 160 units in July? Any reason behind this tremendous jumps in sales??

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:23 pm

i remember around that time they were having issues trying to import it in. Passats were sunbathing under the sun in Port Klang. lol

• Pauli on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:03 am

VWM had some isuue with the Govm on the selling price. So stock got stuck at the port.

• bobdbilder on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Its hard to just look at 2 months and come up with a trend. But what I see is the Germans are not doing too good with the exception of the C class. What is prominent is for sales of SUVs (not twin cabs pickups) are going down across the board. Perhaps people just realize it does not make sense to have one and rather go MPVs.

Sentras outselling Latios….hmmm

• BeemerFreak on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Where is Bentley Ferrari Lamborghini and Rolls Royce?

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:54 am

many of those are not new, but rather almost new. they are brought in and declared as used to offset the super high taxes of fully imported cars outside ASEAN.

• Jezmomo on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Hey, where is all Citreon babe go ? :(

• intermilan on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Brooklands Motor are not a member of MAA, so they don’t submit sales data to MAA.

I would love to know their sales figure. Should be quite low, but still…

Its a pity that Citroen have so little footprint in Msia market.

Citroen sister’s brand, Peugeot, are doing well in Nasim.
      Maybe they need stronger distributor? Is Brooklands Motor fault?
      The person who own Brooklands also own Competitive Supreme, the distributor of Ssyanyong. Both brands are doing pretty bad for quite some years (Ssyanyong used to sell huge numbers of Rextons) and the outlook look bleak.

PSA Peugeot Citroen might need to look into the possibility of find a new, stronger distributor for Citroen. Unfortunately, the way I see it, Brooklands doesn’t seems able to move anymore. They have been appointed since year 2007 (that’s 4 years) and nothing is happening. Obviously, all the sales target mooted out during those days were not achieved.

Citroen have very exciting line ups now… DS3, DS4, C5 etc..
      And the Europeans marques are having a resurgent in our market, spearheaded by encouraging sale growth of Peugeot and VW models (Ford is American brand, unfortunately..)
      Its a waste if their presence in our market stay like it is now..
      Mati segan, hidup tak mahu.. sigh..

• Hayden on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:56 pm

I saw a lot of nice Citroen back in Europe… seriously they have a lot of good car that can gain the attention of Malaysian Buyer.. maybe they need to appoint somebody else in distributing their car in Malaysia.

• intermilan on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:59 pm

congrats..
    this info should have made it here long time ago. better late than never.
    previously, only MTM publish this stat. hopefully PT could publish it with more data analysis tools..
    some people just like to play around with all this figure just to make comparison. something like web programmer suggest would be a good start.
    thumb up from me!

• Hitamputih on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:21 pm

Maa data must buy/subscribe … And maa must approve membership… Maybe they no money before this Or maa don’t approve blog

• intermilan on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Hopefully, PT would be able to publish this on monthly basis and timely too.

Additionally, having a Y-o-Y sales figure comparison is nice to have.
        Can see growth of the model or brands.

• Chris on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Who bought the camaro?? o.O

• Bob Vettel on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Who bought 1 Chevy Camaro in July? And where the heck is the Chevy Camaro available for sale? Last time I went down to Naza there wasn’t any American muscle cars in the lot!

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:19 am

Probably the showroom model at the ampang rd chevy showroom

• kington on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:38 am

Yeah i was told by the NAZA guys that one unit was sold and another was on its way….

Perhaps it was Bumblebee after all.

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:56 am

the one on display during KLIMS ’10?

• sembilan on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:47 am

Sultan Johor got one!

• Anyway, T & H sales still better than Korean cars…

• and someone really bought the BMW X5M
    Well, you’ve got some taste, sir..
    Well done

• barack obama on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:19 pm

what!…..where GM???

• kenneth on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:20 pm

“Volkcswagen Scirocco 2.0″… hahaha

• WTF @ chevy camaro

• RedBeanBun on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Marvelous!!!

• Gajen on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:40 pm

TOTAL audi sales=460. Not to be a total arse la bros but that is just miserable la. For all those Audi fanboys out there, can you guys wake up oredi?

• catdog on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:33 pm

yup.. at the end of d day merc and bm still at the top… but it will be good if we can see the trend say in 3 years…. i bet the sale of audi and vw are vy much improved

• Gajen on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:50 am

People have been saying the same thing for last 3 years laaaaa…now need another 3 years mer….hmm….

• coolcar on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:40 pm

I have been hearing this lame excuse for the pass 10 years lah, why don’t we just accept the fact that rich people will prefer BMW and Merc than Audi and Volvo. And this rule very likely will not change for another 30years.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Who are the rich people to buy Yaris ! :) paying RM90K for a Yaris, he/she gota be damn rich.

• OMG…then those buying H.Jazz & Freed are damn damn rich! LOL

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:01 am

they are not only rich, they just want to be different. and especially for ladies to buy a forte or cruze is just too much big a size.

• myvi passo on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:03 pm

helo2…ada tips@pengalaman korang yg mbeli kereta jenis recond?
    btl ke kereta recond susah nak dpt spare part..

• izhar on Aug 26, 2011 at 6:08 am

carik kete yang ada spare part kat kedai potong..apa2 hal ada option…nak beli barang original (baru) sakit jugak beb…kedai potong trend kat m’sia ni kete jepun lah yg byk…recond ni macam ko beli kete second tp barang2 yang rosak dah diganti dulu sebelum jual…member2 aku penah pakai..so far masalah xder pun…kalau kene ganti barang pun sbb milage jer…

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:59 am

spare part tak susah sgt.. bab masalah electronic mcm warning light ABS/airbag/EFI, mahu terduduk sbb takde saper boleh check. kalau keta ada waranti, peace-of-mind.

• asgard on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:04 pm

more people bought cherry eastar than kia rondo,
    vw golf tsi maintain 100+ sales per month,
    more people bought proton inspira than kia forte

my choices for cars : forte, inspira, fiesta, 308, city
    for suv : asx, 3008

• nebula87 on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Chevrolet Camaro??? i know who bought it…our beloved sultan of johor….XD

• bobdbilder on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:51 pm

For his son. But that was like last year. Saw it at Singgah Selalu and on the same night at the Zone. Next to the cousins’ Mustang.

• nabill on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Have to remember that those ap/recond cars are not included….which is ALOT…this statistics might be helpful…bt its not the true picture of curent local auto industry..

• MCdog on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:52 pm

I think it is quite accurate for cars under 130K. Above 130K grey import tapau authorized at least 10 to 1. All hail the AP Kings and Queens ;-)

• Chicky on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:24 pm

So far in 2011, Proton total sales is 97216 units while Perodua’s is 95835 units. How come Perodua can say they’re leading?

• Jimmy on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:06 am

Altis kalah to Civic. This is a lesson. If you use old engine, 4-speed transmission and ugly face, you will still lose even though you may be slightly more reliable. By the way, 2 airbags only even in Camry 2.4. Shameful. I mean the owner, because this showed that you are not very rich and you are kiasu.

• Funny thing is;

Protong still kalah to Perodua (even though Perodua uses old engine). Imagine if Perodua use new engine? Lagilah tapau bungkus Protong. Haha.

• proton still leading perodua in total sales up to the moment. where got kalah? proton ride and handling also better, and nowadays airbag is standard with rigid body. so safety also proton win. quality? both so-so only. where got kalah? care to explain?

• altis is using the cutting edge dual vvti, cvt with virtual 7 gear and a revised better face la. i am owner of civic not altis, sometimes have to be fair when comment.

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:13 am

the reason for 2 airbags only, is malaysia has high rates of accidents. replacing 2 airbags for those ketuk magat workshops olredi a headache for them… imagine 7 airbags like in prius or….

11 airbags in Lexus LS.

toyota was one of the earliest japanese makes to install twin airbags as standard in malaysia since 1998 with second gen camry and corolla AE111. dont forget that.

Honda followed some 2-3 years after.

The leader if not mistaken was Ford with its laser lynx (and TX3) in mid 90s.

• insightfully_me on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:09 am

Altis lost to Civic but City and Accord both lost to Vios and Camry respectively…now what does this imply?

• Nicklancer on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:19 am

3 very rich person in Malaysia. Nuff said.

• MAA..i wonder how much you have to pay for these this data.. I believe it is a very exclusive data huhuhu

Never the less.. I am greatful you manage to get it thanks to you!

• I think custom has some sort of rules/quota per month for CBU units. Not only hyundai but Merc, Audi the waiting list is crazy. It got to do with inflasion and so on. Tho they earn a lot of tax and such, we got to control those imports stuff too.

Today i already saw at least 5 new sportage on MRII and Karak. Last week i ask for the waiting list its like 2 months. It must meant something. 169 in sale pretty good. We are talking about KIA at 138k huhu

Ps: still could not believe theres 734 units for sentra sold. Damn.. That car like antique already

• treblecase on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:23 am

I think the Bumblebee registered is the unit Naza brought along for their Transformer 3 roadshow

• treblecase on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:29 am

I also wanna know who are the 15 who bought the Sawi in June/July

• hunterhead on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:35 am

pls kill the sentra….gosh….=.=’

• long live sentra on Aug 28, 2011 at 11:57 pm

why kill a good n reliable (n affordable) car… not everyone like u…

• statistician on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:39 am

A constant strong opposing gesture by fans of paultan.org on brands like perodua and major japanese makes indicating clearly that paultan.org users does not represents the majority of Malaysian choice. I am NOT at all saying that paultan.org is inferior but it is more a favorite site by a specific bunch of petrol heads who has different taste compared to the average Malaysian.

• Chilavert on Aug 26, 2011 at 7:51 am

true enough

• all this while and u just realize it today?..hmmmmmmmm

• low2215 on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:22 am

Well , on the contrary , if you look at a it , it could also means everyone wants to drive a BMW but can only afford proton / perodua. ( thats include me :) )

• plus proton hater too

• MCdog on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:59 am

I think this only prove that majority is always less informed and easily brainwash by marketing campaign. This apply to politic as well in bolehland. Sheeps just know how to follow because they are too scare to be not following.

• why can’t you figure it out? people that bought those cars are the majority followers, they care less about car or what-so-ever, just buy for the brand or simply because they sold to friends words who want them to joint back-wagon. people like this seldom interested in motor thing.

people that active in PT blog are motor enthusiastic, at lease they know more and aware about the strength and weakness of certain cars than the majority followers even if they are not experts, that explain why PT blog is full with negative comments about P2 or T. however, this doesn’t means there is no T and P2 enthusiastic in the blog.

• Kudos to PaulTan.org for sharing this very important “evidence” of our ill-fated motoring industry. Let this statistic information become an “eye opener” for those “syok sendiri” people from Tanjung Malim.

Perodua has the highest sales (per model) lead by its flag car MyVi followed by ViVa and Alza. Not to mention other Japanese siblings are getting their fair share from consumers’ choice.

I agree with a forumer’s opinion up there, the numbers of Protong “syok sendiri” cyber troopers visiting PaulTan is very alarming. Nevertheless, this shows that their “syok sendiri” opinion DOES NOT represent the actual scenario of our local car industry.

The conclusion from the data: the Rakyat still prefers IMPORTS or at least half-breed imports (like Perodua, Naza etc.) and other Japs alike. I hope this data will be more available to us in the future. But something tells me, there will be NO significant changes in many years to come for as long we still maintain our current “one-sided” automotive policy.

Selamat Hari Raya, hati-hati memandu and Maaf Zahir dan Batin.

• Roffle on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:32 am

Ok I admit that I didn’t see Naza Forte but what I wanna stress about the demand of Forte’s decrease where Ford Fiesta’s increase rapidly.

I hate some Forte owners that bashing other brands as if Forte is like BMW or Audi.

Come on Forte just made in Korea where Fiesta from Continental. Ford Fiesta not NAZA Forte!

• Just me on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:02 am

Can’t help it lah, lots of Paultan reader are Proton, Perodua, Kia & Hyundai salesman. trying to promote the car I supposed. From the data, it proved that malaysia car market is price driven and people are willing to except even the car has poor quality/reliability.

• DoDO man on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:11 am

LOL, I am not a Forte owner but let me make a fair comment. Fiesta is indeed nice and powerful little beauty but unfortunately they are plagued with issues here in our Bolehland. Please remember that the Fiesta in our Bolehland is not from Europe, it is assembled in Thailand and also a cost down unit. I always see those Fiesta owner always comment on how great their Fiesta looks like when JC driving it but again, Fiesta in UK and Malaysia is different in term of their spec and also built location. Fiesta here is distributed by Sime Darby and you can find a lot of horror story from their fanpage in Facebook regarding the service.
      To me, Forte is an average car in term of everything ( well,except for the gadgets which is great for a car under 100k), the handling, the pickup, the engine, the FC and everything else is average IMHO. A good choice if you are looking for a car under 100k with plenty of gadgets and space.

Roffle,
      Fiesta sales is still behind Forte and this is proven by fact, just making your conclusion based on the 2 months sales ( that Forte is decreasing and Fiesta is picking up) does not proof any point. Unless Paul can provide us more sales figure perhaps from 2010 Jan until now, then we can justify the trend. If you are stressing your point based on 2 months data than I find it interestingly foolish and inaccurate. On the other note, all i have seen so far is the Korean’s car being bashed by T& H supporters but I rarely see bashing from Kimchi fan on other car brands. Anyway, let’s sit back and observe the trend for months to come. :)

• Roffle on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:10 am

I’m not the one who started Forte vs Fiesta.

But why some previous comment by Forte fans saying Fiesta only 1.4 and 1.6 where else Forte got 2.0 and talk like a god claiming not worth buying Fiesta cause it’s small car compare Forte more roomy.

And my point is valid since Korean fags also bashing other brands as well like saying Proton Tuah copying Forte design and Toyota and Honda are overrated cars.

Can you see how arrogant Korean fags are and people buy the car for their own pleasure not become cocky like Korean fags.

• DoDO man on Aug 29, 2011 at 1:55 am

Roffle,

People tend to compare and comment because both car are around the same price range even they are in a totally different segment, that is the fact. I believe you are a Fiesta owner or fan and that is why you are being so defensive and hurt when people belittle the car that you love so much. It kinda suck sometime cause both are on a totally different segment and it is not fair to compare both at least IMHO

For your point on bashing by saying some fan claimed Tuah copy Forte design, I believe those are opinions and people are entitle to it, it does not give you or me the right to judge them and for me, it is normal, just take it with a pinch of salt, there are tons of Honda fans who claim Forte copy Civic design, why don’t you call them fags as well? For me, I do believe T& H are a bit overrated but they deserve that due to the reputation they build throughout the years.

If you do think and agree that car should be for people’s own pleasure then I believe you should not feel this way.

• maserati on Aug 26, 2011 at 7:44 am

As a conclusion, even with all the hype about forte and sonata , their sales are rubbish.

Even a more exp car like camry is selling more than forte. And sonata is lagging far far behind the japs. So, goodluck lar kimchi fans.

• They can say whatever they want, they can gloat whatever they want. But the truth is forever the truth :)

• Pauli on Aug 26, 2011 at 7:56 am

Great statistics. Now we can really tell which model is hot and which is not. Thanks.

• cyrus on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:05 am

No data for Honda STREAM??? would like to know the data as I am going to have one very very soon…..

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:13 am

Erm, Honda Stream 1.8 is listed, 70 units in June, 70 units in July, and 442 total YTD.

• Hi Paul,

Just some thoughts… would it be good to have numbering on the left column of the table so that after sorting, one knows if a particular model is lower or higher in the ranking…?

Regards,
    NYC

• fendy on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:24 am

still got ppl buying Chery A160?? erkkk

• kenot on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:12 am

maybe the buyer very2 hate with proton and perodua, but cannot afford other brand.

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:18 am

that one registered by Cherry dealers laa.. for test drive purpose i guess. or Sales Manager to use.

• Ash Menon on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:31 am

Ish…the Focus so little? Sad la, that’s the family car to which all other cars are compared in UK…

• cheng on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:33 am

volvo’s sale so little…

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:36 am

but their profit margin is good, one reason they can withstand the test of time

• Vincent on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:44 am

HI Paul, good to have this statistic..

Just a suggestion, it will be good to see the firgure sort by sales rank from higher to lower, rather than A to Z.

Good Job.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:02 am

The table allows one to sort listings alphabetically as well as by number of units sold – all you have to do is click the column headers to sort.

• gorengpunsedap on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:57 am

total sales for proton cars 97,216 units – perodua cars 95,835..

very closely fight !!!!

i vote for proton as a winner for this year..lalalalala~~~

• kenot on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:17 am

the little sales number for the certain cars show that:

1) the car is very executive and expensive to buy. only a rich man can afford or,
    2) the car is already outdated and cannot attract people to buy.

• breaL on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:32 am

all those famous world wide brands got well trumped out by our local proton and perodua lolz….would be a big news if the field is flat

• DewaSemut on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:43 am

Hi Paul… very good posting u have here… Like 1000x!

But, something is off for Isuzu D-Max figure lah
    June = 449
    July =447
    How come YTD is only 579???

Mitsu Lancer Sportsback also “separated” from other Mitsu models…

Perhaps next month the list can be sort off to segments as well… B, C segment cars, MPV, SUV etc.. etc… that immediately can show who is the market leader…

SELAMAT HARI RAYA AIDILFITRI TO EVERYBODY… drive safely no matter what car you’re driving! :)

• steven on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:47 am

Handa Civic Type R still available?

• Drust on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:50 am

There’s a mistake in figure for my beloved Isuzu D-Max.

• mbs80an on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:07 am

i wonder where is Perodua Nautica???

• mbs80an on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:14 am

Where is Perodua Nautica?

• drmuz2008 on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:17 am

Proton is leading Perodua so far this year. Good job Tuan Syed. Next year should be much better with new product (TUAH) .

Syabas.

• I see a good trend for VW in Malaysia and their Assembly plant will be operating before the end of this year. This would mean lower prices (locally assembled VW’s as per Paul Tan’s article) and they will be emerging as a strong contender for the Malaysian and Asean market.

• i found..only myvi boost sale from june to july from 1822 to 8447..is it the effect from japan earthquake?only july myvi can recover..but other japanese maker not show sale boost like myvi..why?

• inderaloka on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:45 am

Year To Date:

Perodua Myvi: 41597 units sold
    Proton Saga: 45074 units sold

Proton win. Go Proton go!

• GugurDaun on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:25 pm

That’s because between January and June, many would-be buyers were waiting for the new MyVI

• Musalmah Endut on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:46 am

Paul please include the grey importers too.. please please please… please *wink wink*

• blue-traveler on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:54 am

yo bro Endut, no way is that going to happen here. think of all their effort so far to outfox the tax collectors, by putting up their sales fig here would kill them. But that said, I believe that they have their own fig. being shared internally, so as to know what to bring in more. And Yes, I too would love to see it. And their buyer stat. It will be very very interesting.

• Honda Power on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm

An interesting point to note here is Honda Insight has sold more than City and Civic in July. Civic sold more than City and Insight is Honda’s bestseller for July. Is it possible that more people prefer to buy Insight than City and Civic because Insight is a hybrid and it is only RM99,800, just about RM9,480 more expensive than City Grade E? Why are City sales declining? Is it becuause of the Japan earthquake and tsunami in March? Shortage of parts for City? I notice that City sales were below 600 units monthly from April until July. Average City sales was about 1500 units monthly before April. City sales have been below 600 units monthly from April to July (4 months period). Now only increasing slowly. Hopefully City sales can be back to normal by Q4 this year. Can anyone provide some explanation about this unusual trend?

• Well one look at the interior, i guess many of future city buyers fell in love with it.

• treblecase on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:41 pm

Proton currently has 8 models under their line-up, well 9 if you include the Perdana. Perodua currently has 3 models only.

Total YTD sale of Proton = 97,216
    Total YTD sale of Perodua = 95,835

Proton edging Perodua by a mere 1,381 units is not really a win IMHO considering the number of models they have.

• gilabangang! on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:14 pm

seriously!..adoi manyak bising
      who cares about your humble opinion coz numbers dont lie
      sell more p2 next month la

• SK Tay on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Awesome segment.. I always wanted a place where i can get such info.. Keep up the good work..

• Still have people buying Mahindra Scorpio sia. Bravo!

• Well done; top 20, Jap T & H, Boleh land P1 & P2… wahhaha… my Gen2 still rank#54 off 166. Good job P1.

• sam witwicky on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:27 pm

if include of grey imports im sure alpat & estima wins….
    black bison alpat so delicious

• I think people start to fancy vellfire instead of Alphard nowadays.. Check out full spec 3.5v.. Its like being in a private jet huhu

• Is this data reliable?
    If this is true… then the last reported number of order for the new Perodua Myvi was fake!!!

“Well, it seems like P2 is back with a vengeance, and armed with its new “Lagi Best” Myvi, has sold 16,500 units in the just concluded month of July. ”

Quoted from:
    http://paultan.org/2011/08/03/perodua-sales-up-by-85-orders-for-new-myvi-hit-25k-units/

See now the figure shown in July for the new myvi only 8.5k units lol…. Huge difference!

• I am 98% sure this data is reliable.. P2 claim maybe inclusive bookings and people walking in front of their showroom.. Lol

• rockidz on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Remember this news?

Perodua sales up by 85%, orders for new Myvi hit 25k units; 16k orders in July itself.
    But the data above shown only 8.5k units for the new myvi in July! Huge difference lol…

Just in case you guys dont know the news… here it is:

http://paultan.org/2011/08/03/perodua-sales-up-by-85-orders-for-new-myvi-hit-25k-units/

Now we know who actually tells the lie with this data uploaded ! lol….

• Paul Tan on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Orders and deliveries are different. MAA data shows deliveries.

• think on Aug 26, 2011 at 6:14 pm

delivered are the for last hand..until in reach customers. So that is sales..data sales.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:33 pm

i wonder if they count in grey imports..the number of bimmers must surely go up the roof

• My favorite article so far.
    Rude awakening for the Korean Dream Boy.
    i10 & Picanto vs Myvi.
    Forte vs Vios (So called Dugung).
    Forte vs Civic/Altis
    Sonata vs Camry (So call uncle car).
    Rondo vs Grand Livinia.
    Just look at the sales figure difference, i’ll spared the details as the chart clearly shown the truth, as i always said their opinion r mere imagination without supportive facts & figure, their bigot mindset r totally irrellavant to the “True” Malaysian buying trend.

• David D on Aug 27, 2011 at 3:54 am

Jolo, how many times have we commenters here have told you, quit bashing aimlessly? True, sales may not be as how most people expect, but to give credit, we’ll all have to admit that the sales for the Korean makes have improved significantly, if not dramatic, which goes to the Conti mainstream makes like Peugeot, Ford, Volkswagen.

Seriously, what the hell has the Koreans done to you, huh? Got knocked down by one? Accidents involving it? Seriously, dude, you should be the one who deserves a nice bashing right into that thick-skinned skull of yours for nothing but always bashing the Koreans in every single posting, whether conti, Japanese, or Koreans themselves.

Mind you, we’re not bigots, and as how i always said, you’re going against a sea of car lovers who wants proper makeovers to their cars, not just a small, unrecognisable facelift, and a silly price hike.

• farizY on Aug 27, 2011 at 11:38 am

cool info…I love statistics….:)

• YWChg on Aug 27, 2011 at 4:19 pm

How abt recond unit? Estima??? Alphard???

• Masked Ryder on Aug 30, 2011 at 11:16 pm

Paul, i think the Mazda 3 figure is incorrect (someone mentioned it in another forum) upon comparing with motortrader June figure, i noticed that Jan-June was 965 unit, the 160 unit was actually June figure alone.

• carpathia on Sep 05, 2011 at 8:24 pm

i dont citroen on the list, so is citroen dead in malaysia or is the data incorrect ?

• intermilan on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:51 pm

Perodua Nautica isn’t in the list (as mentioned before), maybe no sale in June & July, but tak kan no sale YTD 2011? An absolute failure given that its a Perodua!

Same goes to Peugeot 308CC.. Not in the list.
    I believe Peugeot / Nasim do deliver some units early in the year but no sale in June & July.. nevertheless, still have YTD sales figure.

I suggest PT to include all models sold in Malaysia irrespective of whether have sale in the last two months or YTD (even if YTD sale = 0).

Only by reporting this (if the info is in monthly MAA report, which I sure there is) will we know the FULL pictures.

By the way, grey importers don’t report their sale figure to MAA, so no statistics of grey imports sales figure.

• Stephen C. H. Loh on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:32 am

Can you advise where I can get data on Number of Motor Vehicles (Total) and Number of Commercial Vehicles (Total) on Malaysian Roads.
    Thanks