First teaser image of 2012 Euro Honda Civic hatchback

Here’s the first undisguised teaser image of the 2012 Honda Civic hatchback for the European market. Honda says the new European Civic will be offered exclusively as a 5-door hatchback, so I wonder if this means they’re phasing out the 3-door version – perhaps they want to reserve that body style for the CR-Z. And I wonder if this means there will be a Honda Civic Hybrid hatchback, or will that continue as a sedan for Europe?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• transformer on Aug 31, 2011 at 5:11 pm

this EU rear looks nicer than USDM sedan rear….
    lets hope its front is able to match its rear well….

• Naz@AE111 on Aug 31, 2011 at 5:20 pm

the rear reminds me of insight.. @_@

• Ha? Gen 2 tail lamp?

• PokokCerryMechanic on Aug 31, 2011 at 5:28 pm

its got reverse camera…even its a hatchback. ==

• blue-traveler on Sep 01, 2011 at 10:52 am

yeah, saw the little black thing, on reading your input. Not sure if it is a camera. But it will great if it is one. Was a huge skeptic these reverse camera thing on cars, until i have one. Now i wonder why most car don’t have one. Love it.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Aug 31, 2011 at 5:29 pm

i wish we had this

• dun get too excited… even if u found this very nice. remember the last time u enjoy checking a lady from the back but wish u had stop at the back once u saw her front? LOLz

• CHONG KAT on Aug 31, 2011 at 5:33 pm

gen2 wannabe

• shawal on Aug 31, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Its kinda annoying to see all these ‘teasing’ practice around, well… at least we don’t have to pay to see more….

• Don’t expect this Civic hatchback coming to our shores, Malaysians will not buy…

• kington on Sep 01, 2011 at 8:11 am

Hatchback have slowly “died off” since the EK, only for the super-miinis to take over such as the Jazz, Yaris, MyVi and now the Fiesta – which is selling very well.

• not really about hatchback vs sedan. it’s more to the interior space and size overall. we have similar taste as american, bigger is better. european on the other hand prefer smaller cars due to narrow streets and parking. the euro civic would be significantly smaller than our civic, just like the accord is.

• peYno on Aug 31, 2011 at 5:57 pm

First!!

• Don’t expect this Civic hatchback coming to our shores, because no Malaysians will buy…

• some malaysians will buy… those who have no taste… and only care for the brand… its a honda, so its a good car… last gen ugly ass civic hatch also got ppl buy from naza…

• Malaysians buy that Civic hatchbacks = Malaysians steal cars form Europe.

• bobby on Aug 31, 2011 at 6:11 pm

I hope the Civic 2012 for Malaysia will look different from the US one.

Even for this hatchback, it will never had the chance to reach Msia shore except for those grey importer.

• Fish tank on Aug 31, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Nice teaser but more nicer come to Malaysia the price around RM110k below so that Civic Hatchback would beat Kia Koup.

• dream on… 200k+ easily…

• bReaL on Sep 06, 2011 at 4:11 am

civic euro will never reach our shore except thru importers, and right now the price for last gen euro civic is rm140k

• mirror mirror on Aug 31, 2011 at 7:35 pm

This is looking good.

• vw_fan on Aug 31, 2011 at 8:39 pm

looks promising already!

• curvy design with split rear screen… the last vehicle to feature this is the fugly crosstour… hope it wont reminisce that…. or else honda is gonna enter the terminal fall…

• jay8393 on Aug 31, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Looks decent…

• Carl Wong on Aug 31, 2011 at 11:30 pm

The back looks amazing, sadly it’s the European version….

• Simon Sez on Sep 01, 2011 at 12:06 am

Honda! please stop teasing.. we want to see everything. :)

• too bad we’re not gonna see it fully naked soon… that would be the the car chassis frame and mechanicals without paint and bumper wad so ever…

• sexy chicks on Sep 01, 2011 at 12:55 am

so?how much this honda!
    peyno sucks…..
    where expatriate? :(

• the tail lamp is good but i do believe persona R is better

• Unforgiven on Sep 01, 2011 at 2:41 pm

It’s only a dream for many to own a Civic especially the Civic hatchback after year 1985…

• Car Driver on Sep 01, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Yep agree with U. Only the rich can afford Civic nowadays. It is getting more and more expensive…

• autojohndoe on Sep 06, 2011 at 2:00 pm

hmm… you have experience buying cars in 1985… so, you must be 50+ years old…

• OMG…nice…anyway,i think it will not sell here.So bad.

• Mr Wancer on Sep 05, 2011 at 5:30 am

Ohmai…

Persona / Gen2 tail lamps…

Honda ‘copied’ from Proton? How it feels guys seeing your favourite Honda copied Proton?