Nissan Teana production to stop in Japan, but domestic sales to continue through imports

In news earlier this week from Japan, Nissan says it will end domestic production of its Teana sedan by next year due to weak demand from the Japanese market as well as declining export margins that have come about from the stronger yen.

According to reports, the company, which now makes the Teana in Japan, Thailand and China, plans to move Japanese production of the Teana to the US, though domestic sales of the sedan will continue through imports.

In 2010, annual output of the model in Japan amounted to just about 26,000 units, with most of the vehicles being exported. Nissan Motor Kyushu, which makes the Teana in Japan, will take up production of the Note, a subcompact that is enjoying strong domestic demand, the reports add.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• RedBeanBun on Sep 02, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Is it the Nissan Altima in USA?

• sexy chicks on Sep 02, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Move the production line to Malaysia, we welcome you with open arms….and legs.

• bongek on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:24 pm

come to malaysia…we learn the tecnology
      come to other ASEAN country,,they don’t learn and still depend to japan motherland to produce new model…
      so which country will benefit Nissan more?

• turbo go go go on Sep 03, 2011 at 9:44 am

come to msia, we will spoil your brand, and this teana will be mfg for at least 20 years from now.

• anthony, you stated production in japan, china and thailand- Does that mean the one assembled by Tan Chong Malaysia not counted, since factory not owned by Nissan?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:15 pm

The reports mentioned just those three countries, so your assumption may be right in that they’re only looking at Nissan-owned production facilities.

• kev_413 on Sep 02, 2011 at 3:50 pm

TC should follow japan and phase out this old model

• murad on Sep 02, 2011 at 4:56 pm

why should they? it’s not entirely old model, just that our country are late adopters. There are still a handful of this group segment that want big cars.

• mother-trucker on Sep 02, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Nissan should rebadge Navara truck as Infiniti and sell it in Japan.

• hunterhead on Sep 02, 2011 at 5:49 pm

can you read english?

• agree, it shd phase out. i saw this car 4 yrs ago in singapore. The only reason TC doing this is to making huge profit by nego wt japan for this late old model low spec into malaysia. Compared same class, camry, accord got better spec then what TC offer.

• same thing with honda, the current civic has been phased out in japan long time ago, but malaysia still selling and created another variant called 1.8 SL. Still many buying.

• squawk on Sep 03, 2011 at 10:21 am

Teana has lower specs than Accord? Can’t imagine that since Accord is so barebones!

• BeemerFreak on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:11 pm

I think TC should phase out the Serena and Sentra first. Those are even older. They should start thinking like Mazda and the Koreans, bring in the latest cars for us. Nissan is a good brand with great cars world wide, just apparently not in Malaysia due entirely to the fault of TC

• MazdAstina on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Totally agree, even their own japanese do not want the car. hahahaha.

• sam witwicky on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:14 pm

test drive review japanese D segment between teana,camry,accord…
    most voted is teana…
    but i dont like the design…kind old…
    accord & camry? not my taste
    im 23 years old….prefer camry 2012 in usa….more sportier..

• Inspira on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:52 pm

Not your taste….. I m 23 years old
      Kinda weird comment . You can’t afford to own a car is more appropriate ….. Lamer.

• Rashid222 on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:56 pm

To Sam
      Don’t say not my taste .

You can’t afford is more appropriate . Lamer :)

• sam witwicky on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:11 am

yes i cant afford cos im still 23..but susah betul cari segmen d yg bentuk sport…executive je smua tuu…naza do something…tc n umw suck…please! im beggin to u rashid and inspira!!!! please

• Sam – kalau ada $$, i boleh cari segmen D yang betul2 sport, tapi u kena show me the $$ first!!!

• turbo go go go on Sep 03, 2011 at 9:46 am

hey sam,

buy saga blm

and turn it into evo and subaru :D

• The Unicons on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:23 pm

So Proton SHOULDN”T REBADGE this as Proton Perdana replacement model. Total failure. Besides, for me this model doesn’t look nice….

• bongek on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:57 pm

as buyer,,correct.it shouldnt
      as company board director? ermm,,if they sell it for a cheap cost…why not? look how proton make money from old perdana model…it all about the money,, and as long as company finance status turn to black ….hehehe

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:33 pm

so made in thai now?

• discontinue in japan oso nvm,TC can still sell it here cuz sure got people buy it.car companies noe malaysians would buy a car as long as its big size.dun matter if the spec sucks

• Masked Ryder on Sep 02, 2011 at 10:53 pm

The Korean too short change Malaysia Consumer by supplying outdated & obselete model like Getz, Matrix, old Accent, old Avante, Old Caren (Citra), old Optima, Antique Carnival/Ria.

• I believe is not Koreans that short change us, mayb the distributors should buck up to bring in the latest models available in other countries.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 03, 2011 at 8:21 am

Wow…u think its so easy to set up local ckd line ah? Its not really that these cars carry hugh volumes. Granted some of these cars are a little long in the tooth but seriously, some like the old citra is an amazing value for money if u need a decent mpv for cheap.

As for the teana, i find it odd for them to move production to usa. However it is still a good car with one of the interiors that is both simple and elegant.

• Nissan should redesign all their car outlook. All damn ugly.. from the streamline till headlamp..all ugly. Please get from Nissan Nismo Sport team to redesign..such as GTR.. Hope Nissan will resume back to best brand.

• Masked Ryder on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:25 pm

4G63T, others i not sure but Naza CKD or shall i said CBU National Car, it hell out of easy for Forte case, Bring in CBU without the 4 door screw on, once arrived in Gurun, have the 4 door screw on ! Stick on the Badge Walla ! National car tax status tax rebate.
    U can even have the KIA badge FOC if u want.
    Easiest CBU>CKD>National Car job on Planet Earth.

Offcoz u need a influential Step Grandma lah !

• Latest US August 2011 Car Sales Figure.

Nissan Altima shoot up 24% to 23,016 unit & ytd 169,427 unit.
    Hyundai Sonata loosing it’s heat down 3% to 20,682 & ytd 156,580.

Honda Accord which yet to recover from the march Tsunami sold 18,439 units

Chevy Malibu too had suffered down trend at 17,840 units & ytd 160,152 units.

Champion title holder Toyota Camry which expect to start selling it’s new model next month maintained it lead with 30,185 units total up 204,670.

D segment line up (ytd)
    1.) Toyota Camry – 204,670
    2.) Nissan Altima – 169,427
    3.) Honda Accord – 162,375
    4.) Chevy Malibu – 160,152
    5.) Hyundai Sonata – 156,580

Incase u want to know where is Kia Optima, they sold 6,157 units with ytd 49,546 units.

• DArkerMarker on Sep 04, 2011 at 6:01 am

No worries,

with our TC so good in make-up and face lifts, recycle parts, etc, I wont be surprised that they can make DAtsun 130y sell like hot cakes….

• azrai on Sep 05, 2011 at 7:42 am

Even Japanese don’t want this Nissan, but malaysian? japanese wannabe?

• x-vios on Sep 05, 2011 at 4:00 pm

mentioned Nissan only, TC kena hentam… no matter what is the topic…

• is this news true?

• does it affect the production in Msia?