Volkswagen 1.4 TSI engine to get cylinder shut-off feature

I have to say that the Volkswagen Group has always been one of the quickest mass manufacturers to implement the latest technologies across their entire product range, while competitors tend to only put the cool stuff in their higher end models.

Direct injection, turbocharging, and twin clutch transmissions – they’ve been implemented across the board and even the most affordable ‘baseline’ Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI has all of these technologies implemented.

So when I first read that Audi’s new 4.0 litre V8 TFSI engine had cylinder shut-off technology, I wondered when this feature would trickle down to the smaller Volkswagen Group engines primarily used in Volkswagen/Skoda/SEATs. Turns out it only took a few days for the announcement to come out – Volkswagen has just announced that cylinder shut-off technology will be available on its 1.4 litre TSI engine beginning early 2012.

Volkswagen 1.4 TSI engine to get cylinder shut-off feature

Under low to mid load conditions, the engine management system will shut off two (cylinder 2 and 3) of the 1.4 litre TSI engine’s four cylinders, providing savings on fuel consumption. It is active whenever the engine RPM is between 1,400rpm to 4,000rpm, and torque output is between 25Nm to 75Nm. Volkswagen says these conditions are basically almost 70% of the EU fuel economy driving cycle.

As soon as the accelerator pedal is pressed hard enough, the two cylinders are reactivated. If the engine management system senses a non-uniform pattern – for example, driving in roundabout traffic or a sporty acceleration pattern, the shut off system is suppressed.

The savings are the most at constant moderate speeds – say, 50km/h in either third or fourth gear – Volkswagen says savings from running on only 2 cylinders can amount to 1 litre per 100km. On average, the technology helps reduce NEDC driving cycle fuel consumption by 0.4 litre per 100km. Combined with automatic start/stop functionality, this savings increases to 0.6 litre per 100km.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the VW 1.4 TSI engine's cylinder shut-off feature are generally positive, highlighting it as an innovative and fuel-saving technology that enhances performance while reducing emissions. Many commenters praise VW's advancements, comparing it favorably to other European brands and praising its reliability and engine durability. Some express skepticism about the real-world efficacy and maintenance costs, warning that the complexity may lead to costly repairs. There is also discussion on the broader trend of downsizing and turbocharging in the automotive industry, with proponents supporting the technology as a means to improve fuel economy. Overall, the sentiment is enthusiastic about VW's technological progress, though some remain cautious about its long-term reliability and maintenance implications.

• Paul,

Next year sedan Jetta also cone with this feature?

• You guys should test drive the VW coz it’s so fun to drive!my 10 months Polo is so fantastic and i love it!

• RedBeanBun on Sep 02, 2011 at 7:54 pm

This is very cool, so hope all new 2012 car will have this. This is actually very cool after reading, so the car is like 4 cylinder, but can have 2 in active!! Cant wait for it! It can be a factor for VW and Audi to challenge the other german-made.

• artworkz on Sep 02, 2011 at 7:56 pm

Mivec MD

• kimi's fan on Sep 02, 2011 at 8:58 pm

this is called sincere , i guess

• This is good technology- save fuel especially in traffic. Polo will be best fuel consumption n its class and yet giving performance of a 2.0 N/A. Hope this will inspires other car makers and benefit society as a whole.

• ONGWC5 on Sep 02, 2011 at 9:01 pm

My Golf sport 1.4 TSI already good enough to save petrol, this new version of 1.4 engine even better! :-)

• Jolly_idiot on Sep 02, 2011 at 9:13 pm

Mivec-md technology in place?

• Kevin on Sep 02, 2011 at 9:29 pm

why are people so difficult to please?
    as afar as i’m concerned, with more components in place, they are more likely to fail as compared to cars without additional features.
    Therefore I wouldn’t want additional features unless it means lots of cost savings or much higher power output.

• turbo go go go on Sep 02, 2011 at 10:27 pm

i agree on this.

twincharger? DSG? now cylinder shut off? so i can get 6liter/100km? and then if anything above mentioned spoils, that will definitely costs more than the petrol saved.

sometimes toyota is right not too employ too many of those high tech and not proven stuff on board.

hey, a v12 or v8 need this feature to save petrol ,but a 4 cylinder 1.4 liter twincharger engine need this too? wow…..

• Japs knows how to put a battery into a vehicle only!! Thats all, do you think toyota and honda hybrid maintenance cost is cheap?? Hey, stop envy VW advancement please, be smart!!

• turbo go go go on Sep 03, 2011 at 2:58 pm

hey, i’m asking you, is the petrol money saved is enough to cover if this cylinder shut off feature spoilt?

everyone knows its not worth it.

the tsi technology, i understand. DSG, yes, but this cylinder stuff? to save petrol? come on, too dangerous. it sure will spoilt.

since when vw has a car that can last forever? that is japanese car, not european car that is well known for long lasting.

• 5 yrs warranty , unlimited mileage yo..

• Driven on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:02 pm

I think you should read properly. Only 2 years manufacturer warranty, the other 3 years? You are lucky if you can get your claim…

• And hey, do you a battery alone cost RM7k(Honda) w/out installation called “CHEAP” or “LOW”?? And i heard toyota’s cost more than 10k?? Is that Cheap too? And these 2 cars is totally lack of power, no joy of driving at all. Consider this

• ”since when vw has a car that can last forever? that is japanese car, not european car that is well known for long lasting.”

How about old timer Beatle… still on the road nowadays. Japs cars in here last long coz have a lot of spare parts available. Thats why japs cars last long here… understood?.

• tiongyou on Sep 05, 2011 at 10:17 am

Hello Mr “Turbo Go Go or whatever”

VW cars have always lasted longer than Japanese cars. In fact even their engines are more superior and last longer than any Toyota or Honda. They are also easy to maintain engines. That’s why they win “World’s Best Engine” award more times that Toyota ever has! The same applies to their transmissions, chassis and other components.

Besides, VW’s TSI, DSG, technology etc has been proven in Europe and Japan (Japanese love VW’s, it is the most common non-Japanese brand there since 1997) since the late 1990’s and early 2000’s. So reliability is not an issue. Ask the Chinese, they will tell you how reliable the Chinese made VW Passat’s are(as taxi’s) compared to Japanese or Korean brands.

Enough said …

• arcana on Sep 02, 2011 at 10:30 pm

additional features doesnt mean its doom to fail often…..it that happens either u’re in a bad luck to get a lemon or the quality is just not up to standards.

i’ve driven carbs, EFI and VVT engines even hybrids…..CVT and 3 to 6 speed boxes….none failed on me, especially with proper maintenance and care…

as technology advances, so does the manufacturing process too….and i would say today’s components should run as good as the old school days.

• turbo go go go on Sep 03, 2011 at 9:40 am

high tech stuff, once it is spoilt, it will be very hard to replace, most probably just replace a new one.

just like your ipad/iphone, that is so nicely manufactured, in a tight and small compact package.

and this 1.4tsi is hgihtech too, so, i think its not as easy to replace stuff inside. well, its always easier to repair a bicycle than motorbike. but in terms of advancement, is this cylinder shut off feature needed for 1.4tsi at all? for 2.0 turbo golf GTi maybe, but this 1.4 already fuel saving.

might as well ask ppl to buy diesel only.

• Then you should write to Lamborghini ask them to imply this feature to their super sport car too!! Come….ON, its more practical to apply this system to a normal performance car rather than in a supercar, dear!! Gti is main and mean for sport performance, “Can a horse run faster when eat less grass???”

• Loveit on Sep 04, 2011 at 2:19 pm

Cakap tak serupa bikin punya orang, Kali vw dual passat cc harga sama macam camry or accord ko beli jugak

• Jimmy on Sep 02, 2011 at 11:30 pm

So we will quietly happily buy Toyota Camry 2.4V with a 20-year durable engine, chassis & suspension & non-rattling interior BUT old tech engine, 3 speed auto, zero airbags, no ABS/EBD/brake assist and no TC, at the price of RM170K; to the extreme for comparison.
      I don’t want to buy a detached house because of cukai tanah, cukai pintu, kos electric, kos pengemasan rumah etc.
      I don’t want to get married because I need to take care of her feeling, I need to please her ……
      So it all ends up nobody buying RR/Merc/Ferrari/Aston Martin……..

• are you saying that toyota engine using old tech…..are you kidding!!!!!

• No, he is not. toyota is really using a old-fashion and outdated engine. People here only exaggerate and shout everywhere about vvti, please go wikipedia and find when it was and is whom who first use, is who’s technology.

Read more and be a smart and intelligent consumer

• Owh…then help me alex…i,m just about to buy a toyota rush…should i change my mind…

• kamaji on Sep 03, 2011 at 11:41 pm

you dont need to…it’s your own hard earn cash & btw do you know that the engine is carry over from Avanza.Your buy is very basic & tend to be underpowered but if still love it……..go ahead & ignore what other hv to say.

• Sorry but have to tell you that Rush is one of the failure product. That is why not many unit otr. But if you really think its practical to you, just go ahead. Is your money anyway, I am not trying to be dictate here. Just intended to give some better ideas(i think) to reader for comparison.
            “Japanese car is not as reliable and durable as people exaggerate here(in Malaysia)”. If you have friend who in spare-parts business, go ask them.

• salgoodguy on Sep 04, 2011 at 10:36 pm

1 and half year been using that car , i m not bored..wierdly got feeling to change to other car since day one i drove it…my previous car idsi +cvt

• Medic on Sep 05, 2011 at 9:37 am

Better scrap ur plans…Toyota rush has really dated tech.It’s an Avanza modded to fit in like a SUV.Bad reviews from every car mag when it first came out YEARS ago.Save ur $ for something else..

• Farhan on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:51 am

I doubt there are many additional components needed to implement this. Possibly none. Seems more like an ECU firmware thing. Just takes time and a lot of testing to get it right.

• No, there are in fact additional parts.

When the cylinders are ‘switched off’, the valves of this cylinders are locked too. Otherwise the cylinders would act like an airpump (needs power) and the catalytic converter wouldn’t work any more (too much oxygen in the exhaust gas). In cool climates there would be another problem: The ‘pumped’ air would cool down the engine block.

BTW: In MotoGP this system is in use for some time already. Not to save fuel, but to limit the engine output on slippery surfaces.

• Farhan on Sep 09, 2011 at 1:36 am

Ah ok, interesting. I only forgot about air lol. Too much electronics focus :)

• ONGWC5 on Sep 03, 2011 at 7:35 am

Whoever never own a VW car are always assumption that those TSI,DSG etc technology is fragile. The truth is; I had zero issue on my TSI since day 1 till today, just top up petrol & go, reliability & safety car I ever own! ^^

• turbo go go go on Sep 03, 2011 at 2:59 pm

your car is barely 1 year old. watch out.

• ONGWC5 on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Don’t worry, my auto leveling bi-xenon bend light is bright enough to watch out! ^^

• TFazuin on Sep 04, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Jangan cakap besar… its still under warranty bro, hope you took a 3 year loan rather than a 9 year loan for the car, then can flip at the end of it before the 5 year warranty ends. When its broken you’ll cry bloody murder but then you still have that loan to service every month.

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:04 pm

If all car manufacturers were like toyota we would be still using ancient carburetor engines, start your engines by cranking the propshaft manually, roll up windows manually and most of all have 5L engines that produce only 100hp in the name of being reliable.

• turbo go go go on Sep 03, 2011 at 2:59 pm

toyota is number 1 for a reason.

• I am driving a toyota, I don’t feel like driving no 1

• turbo go go go on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:32 pm

vios is rubbish

• So you say rubbish is No.1??? haha………….

Ini kaki pusing kuat

• turbo go go go on Sep 05, 2011 at 10:17 am

Alex, as an owner that can buy so many cars, i really doubt that you can understand english well.

Toyota is number 1 in the world currently.

and toyota vios is crappy/rubbish car.

any relationship there?

did i say toyota become number 1 by selling vios? you have difficulty understanding my statement, so cut the crab of saying you have estima, bmw f10 5 series, caldina gt4,and golf.

go work OT and pay your polo instalment.

• paparadzi on Sep 04, 2011 at 1:06 pm

In a world where cars are cheap and fuel is expensive, this is a very good feature. In our situation where cars are very expensive and fuel is subsidized, this feature is just a novelty.

• don^don on Sep 02, 2011 at 10:25 pm

actually, this is more towards cost saving, a bold move (and a cheaper alternative) to improve the fuel efficiency of the car while maintaining the performance and meeting strict regulations too. the faster u implement this en mass to your whole lineup, the lower the cost towards production.

• Rashid222 on Sep 02, 2011 at 10:33 pm

@ Kevin u are a typical Asian . You can’t think like a German. Opsss way behind . Germans are very innovative and with high expectation. They are the best in auto engineering . Don’t let your contention to show your appetite .

• sam witwicky on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:48 am

rashid…please im beggin to u!!! please! about nissan teana just now…asean automotive is dying….especially malaysian automotive…look into our market…

• Kevin on Sep 03, 2011 at 9:25 am

rashid, fyi, i own 2 german cars, and one is a 2007 Passat. I’ve just changed the drive shaft which costs me RM9k. Its not cheap but not many people are aware in the costs for just maintaining the necessary parts.
      What i’m trying to say is cars nowadays are packed with too many unnecessary features which is nice to have but not necessary. When it fails, you only help to support their after-sales objectives.
      But many people are excited about new inventions without knowing the repercussions of having additional unnecessary features that will eventually be costly to maintain.

• TFazuin on Sep 03, 2011 at 11:54 am

Couldn’t agree with you more, people go for the cheap hybrids like Insight and Prius or CT200h thinking the save fuel consumption and the enviroment, but the battery costs RM10-12K a piece, which is more than 10% of the car’s costs. These batteries, are more hazadous to the enviroment than the whole fuel they burn in their lifetime.

Btw if you ever lose your Lexus CT200h key, its only RM5,000 for the remote excluding programming costs. The PDI guys lost a key during transport and that’s the cost of a replacement.

• Johndeep on Sep 03, 2011 at 10:38 am

Dont think German is so advance. Honda 3.5V6 latest engine has this option of 2 cylinders shut off invented few years ago.

• BluePuggy on Sep 03, 2011 at 7:18 pm

yeah,Honda came up with the VCM stuff three years back on their Accord 3.5…..so this technology stuff is nothing new in automotive world i guess….humans,dont bash me,i’m just a human ;p

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 04, 2011 at 9:53 am

Hahaha…and the laughing stock of the automotive industry has that in the cadillac 8/6/4 wayback in 1981.

That said..they didnt really got it to work properly….

• SaveTheEARTH on Sep 04, 2011 at 8:13 pm

We are talking about an engine with just 1400cc. Old papa & old mama story is a history such as big big engine cc. Downsizing with low co2 and low fuel consumption.

• izhar on Sep 04, 2011 at 11:31 am

sorry bro…Cadillac is the first..1981…V8…shut off 4 cylinder…

• wallstreet on Sep 03, 2011 at 11:06 am

German and now the Koreans are known to churning out product fast but sacrificed on trial and error which causes reliability issues. The Japanese on the other hand are known to take much longer time to develop a product because their emphasis is on reliability. The Japs are real perfectionist and known to take failures very seriously. Still remember reading an article somewhere on Isuzu 4X4 problem whenever they tackle the same puddle somewhere in our country. A team of Japanese actually came and tested on the same puddle to study the problem.

• Why you are thing the other ways round.

• Pinnacle on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Your English is just like this VW cylinder shut-off…2 of your cylinder totally seized.

• Why you said thing the other ways round??

• Yes, there’s even a website which only subject is Toyota’s ‘perfectionism’: http://www.toyotarecall.org/
        ;)

• Wallstreet on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Read my post carefully. To be perfectionist you need to learn from mistakes too and make it perfect, that is how one become Perfectionist. Read my post again, the Jap from Isuzu actually came to Malaysia to study why their product failed. They took the initiative to correct their product and make sure it does not happen again.

• It seems, that Isuzu’s perfectionism didn’t work in the US and in Europe. Wikipedia: “Isuzu is mostly known for trucks of all sizes, after Isuzu small automobile sales drastically plummeted and Isuzu had to drop all sales of sedans and compact cars in the late 1990s. In 2009, Isuzu abandoned the United States consumer market due to lack of sales.”

• TFazuin on Sep 04, 2011 at 12:02 pm

Perfecting what is already there is a bad thing. You know you should just be driving the Ambassador. Its been perfected by the Indians as old as Malaysia has reached its independence. :) If you haven’t then, you’re just paying lip service. Its the only car for perfectionist…

• Jimmy on Sep 02, 2011 at 11:20 pm

I always said VW group is the real No 1 auto maker. No cheating. 3rd-world-vehicles not included. Do not keep the high tech and good designs just to the upper end models.
    We know who do these most obviously.

• But their BEST is nothing compare with German tech, right??

• reydtz on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:33 am

VW das Auto tagline… is it not german?
        fact : VW was founded in 1937 by the Nazi trade union Deutsche Arbeitsfront

• i’ve been thinking why cannot more automakers implement this technology to their ranges. perhaps due to cost, lacking technical expertise or the technology is still in its infancy. but i believe this plan should have come sooner. hats off to vw for delivering performance, aesthetic appeal and fuel economy.

• bila agaknya proton dan perodua nak buat teknologi ni yer…..hmmmmmmmm

• bila agaknya proton dan perodua nak buat teknologi ini yer….hmmmmmmm

• Small Engine but fast enuf and save fuel enuf…German tech is the best!

• Carl Wong on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:45 am

Amazing technology to increase fuel efficiency and reduce emissions even more, similar to Honda’s VCM !!!

• Polo-ng GTI on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:53 am

mitsubishi already got similar technology before… they just drop this function after that..dunno why…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MIVEC#MIVEC-MD

• turbo go go go on Sep 03, 2011 at 9:42 am

cos the petrol saved cannot justify for the engine cost IF it fails.

• toyota also can do like this, only waits for automakers start first then it will folllow, for toyota no use to implement new tech and reduce its reliability factor because new tech implementation has no good track records yet

• Hey come on, DSG is proven and followed by BMW, MERC. Why don’t toyota follow??? Answer is : they do not posses this skill and tech to produce this high end gearbox. They know only buying vvti from Yamaha, or request Yamaha to tune a high power engine for them, that it

• turbo go go go on Sep 03, 2011 at 3:03 pm

becos japanese do not drive like a hooligan, so a 4 speed or 5speed auto is good enough.

btw, your can get evo/gtr for those dual clutch thingy. well, only if you can afford a evo x or nissan gtr, that will outlive your golf.

golf = myvi.

number 1 selling car in europe= golf. what so special?

• Being a family,I am pretty happy with my F10. I sold my 1 year New Estima off, the last Japs car i own. They really don’t respect the word LUXURY, the material, workmanship, Fixing an fitting all fails my expectation. After i drove the Estima for 1/2 year, noise start, from poor Insulation, things loose, suspension ,so many noise when you do cornering and high speed bumping. My wife keep on complaining my Caldina GT4 is too shaky every times i drive without fail.

My comments here is based on my own experience, not simply bull-shitting

• SaveTheEARTH on Sep 04, 2011 at 8:26 pm

What you owned before all are AP cars rite. Use before by others, import, touch up by local and then sell to you. We can’t determine how good or bad by the time it reaching our shore. F10 definitely is the right choice however must come from BMW Malaysia.

• My estima is brand new CBU, not recond

• Medic on Sep 05, 2011 at 9:42 am

You r really retarded.If you’re the type who is contended with a Myvi which has bad NVH,rides like a boat,old tech engine of only 90bhp,4 speed auto,with low NCAP ratings,then you’re really in your own world.Europeans drive Golf,if given an opportunity to drive a good car like VW here..y don’t we?

• Golf = Myvi?what’s wrong with you?

1 is high quality with high tech ride ‘ Golf ‘

1 is low quality and expensive ride ‘ Myvi ‘

• Pinnacle on Sep 03, 2011 at 7:47 am

This is nothing new and many car manufacturers are quite skeptical. Beside improvement on engine fuel consumption VW always lack behind in term of overall weight reduction which Mercedes and many others are adapting it now. I also like Mazda i-stop which i had driven in Japan and their start stop is much much faster than the beemer’s.

• Mazda 6 with 140km/h and above, the fuel gauge drop also faster than the beemer’s

• Pinnacle on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:15 pm

By saying this, clearly you do not possess a Mazda…let alone a Beemer.

• So do you? I will never want to own a car like this. Luckily thats my company car, haha?? Jealous???

• Pinnacle on Sep 04, 2011 at 8:08 pm

VW Malaysia actually gave their salesmen Mazda 6 as company car? So jealous……

• My company give 150k to me(choose my favorite car) to buy a car, so do you think that is a sales man benefit?? Please use ur butt to think if you are that brainless.

• Pinnacle on Sep 05, 2011 at 7:51 am

You just gave yourself a slap on your face. You actually believe what I said about VW giving salesmen Mazda 6? Can’t you even catch what I meant? Your company gave you 150k to choose your FAVOURITE car and you chosen Mazda?? You also said you own an Estima, Caldina?? Are these not Japanese cars? Aren’t you said japanese cars are useless and Malaysian are silly to buy the japs? So what now? Are you going to say you sold all and now have 5 Polo, 8 GTI, and 12 Passat? What a load of bull s**ts…

• MCdog on Sep 05, 2011 at 10:08 am

Maybe you should google around to see which companies/countries have been investing heavily in carbon fibre technology. Once the cost is drop to a acceptable level, it won’t be long that VW will mass produce ~800kg car.

http://www.economist.com/node/21016439

• toyota do not have this type of advance technology, they don’t even have a high tech or high performance engine.(YAMAHA always behind these) Please3 stop envy abt VW advancement!!! While VW start DSG, Japanese make cannot follow after, even after few years. So please do not compare VW with toyota, VW produce Lamborghini, Bentley, Audi, Porshe……………etc. What toyota produce??? a downmarket lexus,which cannot sustain in US but have to come back here and market in ASIA.

• Driven on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Looks like you really hate Japanese cars so much especially Toyota….because they still command the biggest market share here??

• No, i just try to state the truth to wake those who think they know what is car. Japanese car is only win in term of size, they like to make big bulky car which suits Asian’s taste (Asian think BIG is good). don’t trust what i say, you go to the showroom and try them out, and you will find the different,thanks

• Driven on Sep 03, 2011 at 9:39 pm

You don’t need to try so hard to tell everyone how right you are and criticized so much on those who prefer Japanese cars. Both made have their own pro and cons. So it’s up to individual to decide what’s best for them. Yeah Polo Is a nice car but with that price one can buy an Altis, Civic, Mazda 3 which is far more practical for family. So are you telling us they don’t know car? Polo have this and that, so what? Does it has the spaciousness comfort for a family of 4? Or those who like bigger car and complaint Polo is to small? It’s their money…

• this tech is good for the overall economy of the vehicle. Unfortunately our current “laws” do not have any mechanism to take advantage of this system in terms of road tax, import tax etc. Hence, it is a shame that M’sian consumer and the vehicle manufacturer could not make this tech as a competitive advantage against other manufacturer.

It is my guest that this tech will be “quitely” introduce as an accidental product since all of this will be standard in all VW cars.

Yet again a proven issues that our laws and policies are so backward, while all other countries are moving forward with the times.

• sexy chicks on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:27 pm

VW recognise that a lot of YOUNG CHICKOOs willing to be a GUINEA PIG.

• rosdi on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:56 pm

Who drives at 50kmph????? I drive my kancil twice that fast..

• Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2011 at 4:11 pm

You’d be surprised. I often find myself cruising at 50km/h to 60km/h because of heavy traffic on my way to work.

• eagleeye on Sep 04, 2011 at 10:15 am

my average speed is 20-30km/h bcoz of traffic jam , thought even a bicycle can potong me anytime, only i have to use my legs, if not why not a bicycle? so now where is the thousands of money from monthly installation going? into drain?

• Serious Fast Donkey on Sep 04, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Rosdi used to drive mini bus.

• fadzli on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:16 pm

no wonder la my polo 1.2tsi can reach KL – JB in 1hr 15min..all the VW trademark TSI+DSG…

• KelentongTuhhh on Sep 03, 2011 at 6:21 pm

mission imposible KL-JB in ”1HOUR 15MIN” .. i wonder top speed of ur polo 1.2tsi is how much u could b done that journey in 1hour 15min,even u stepped full gas pedal,whole highway no car block,no traffic jam…..

Dude,top speed of newerPOLO 1.4GTI oso only can go up to 229km/hr… u can done that journey in 1hour 15min for 400km??calculate urself

i wonder r u really having VW POLO anot….

• i think he’s just kidding…pointing out his polo is very fast…hehe

• darkcity on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:24 pm

i think he doesn’t own one.that’s what happens when someone is in fantasy and couldn’t afford to own the car

• Serious Fast Donkey on Sep 04, 2011 at 9:47 pm

KLuang-JB I believe.

• Izzit same with Honda VCM tech?

• Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2011 at 4:10 pm

yes, similiar. Honda VCM is available in Malaysia with the Accord 3.5

• Donnie Darko on Sep 03, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Hi Guys,

I’m Dutch, living & working in Thailand and just read the same article in a Dutch car magazine (autoweek)

I found it very interesting to see the difference in comments between the Dutch forum and you guys. The general conception in Holland is that VW’s 1.4 TSI engine is state of the art in terms of power but very much overrated in the field of fuel consumption.
    The official number for a VW Golf 1.4TSI 118KW DSG is 6.30 l/km (nearly 16 km / liter) while numbers released by car-leasing companies the actual average is much higher at 7.93 l/km (12.61 km per liter)

While additional fuel saving of 0.4 l/km due to partial cylinder deactivation theoretically is welcome, the downsizing trend for the sake of fuel consumption does not always stand in the real world.

I drive a new Corolla Altis (something some of you guys call an “uncle” car I believe ;-) ) 2.0 with CVT transmission and i’m getting an average of just 5.85 l/km. (no lead foot, 80% highway driving)

Many European car manufacturers are downsizing their engines while compensating the loss of cubic inches with turbo’s and superchargers which are prone to premature failure while Japanese car manufacturers are following a different route with basically
    the same outcome.

Just my 2¢

• Jerry on Sep 03, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Enjoy reading your piece, Ronnie.

Some reckon Mazda’s upcoming SkyActiv engines will be able to achieve better fuel economy and lower CO2 output without downsizing, turbocharging and cylinder deactivation. The clever Germans maybe enjoying all the attention right now but don’t count the Japanese out yet.

• Driven on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Yeah Jerry, Mazda Skyactive really looks likes a very impressive piece of technology. I read in their website that the sky active applied not only on engine which they claimed fuel consumption will rival even the Prius hybrid plus more hp and torque. They also invented the sky active gearbox which they claim to have the advantages of DSG and CVT combined. Most importantly the sky active chassis which has a significant weight reduction yet they strengthened it further. Very impressive indeed.

• Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2011 at 4:09 pm

I know what you mean.

But while the end result fuel consumption is the same, the downsized turbo engines offer an exciting 240Nm torque figure from under 2,000rpm which is very enjoyable to experience, while the normally aspirated Japanese engine has a more traditional torque curve.

• ONGWC5 on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:25 pm

This is my TSI average fuel consumption result, 49 litre top up when low fuel warning light up, average speed 110km/hrs, full tank can hit +800km!

http://i234.photobucket.com/albums/ee181/ongwc5/201107311218.jpg

• Driven on Sep 04, 2011 at 7:56 am

I m surprised with this figure of 6.6l/00km at 110km/h for ur TSI. My Mazda 6 2.5 done 6.2l/100km, seriously.

• Loveit on Sep 04, 2011 at 2:09 pm

At least this ongwc guy shows the pic that believable. so where yours believable evidence ?

• Driven on Sep 04, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Seriously, wanna bet?

• Donnie Darko on Sep 04, 2011 at 5:48 pm

Here the average FC of my Altis 2.0V dual VVT-I CVT :

http://i1083.photobucket.com/albums/j396/donniedarkodutch/2011-09-04164118.jpg

Did a trip from Bangkok to Chiangmai for the holidays. 5.9L / 100 km.
          100-110 km/h, tipping at 1900 RPM..

Just sayin.. ;-)

• Jerry on Sep 04, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Impressive fuel economy (16.95 kpl at extra urban) on a 2.0-litre compact car, Donnie. I’d not rely on onboard computers for fuel figures. How will those figures fare under manual calculations, I wonder…

• Dr. M on Sep 03, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Both European or Asian (we can safely refer to Japanese) technologies have their pro and cons. At certain juncture, when technologies take its lead, carmakers have to decide their direction to make better cars and sales.

But if we are to really choose which is more superior, a quick thinking by looking at F1, GP2, WRC, IRC etc whereby generally European cars have more winnings over the Japanese. The Japanese are not behind but where there is little room for errors in a big competition, that’s where winning says it all.

Japanese are building cars of their own way and they have to up against so many European marques. Japanese carmakers are equally good for the mass. Just buy to your preference.

• Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2011 at 4:08 pm

So far, Nissan is the only Japanese car manufacturers to have a small displacement direct injection turbo engine of a similiar concept to Peugeot 1.6 THP and Volkswagen 1.4 TSI, but I bet even that is because of the Renault influence.

• Donnie Darko on Sep 03, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Definitely agree on the torque figure., love the low-end-diesel-like torque on the TSI engine.. But as far fuel consumption concerns I would go as far to say that a NA 2.0 engine tuned for low end torque (for example the 3ZR-FE @3600 RPM) in real world driving could achieve better FC than a similar powered small displacement TSI engine..

But what if we take reliability into account.. While Toyota and Honda had their major share of recalls, their engine department seems to be more reliable then their German counterparts with forced induction..

I guess we have to wait and see how this downsizing trend further develops., for now, If I had to choose to buy a second hand car with 200.000 km’s on the odometer and I was given two options : Turbo charged small displacement 150 HP or 2.0 NA 150 HP, I wouldn’t have to think too long.. ;-)

OT: So VW’s new 1.4 TSI engines should actually be rebadged as 0.7 TSI :-)

• Donnie Yen on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:44 pm

Sir Donnie, I like your comments, you sound like a very wise man from Dutch. Do you own a motorblog? I wanna subscribe for free of course. :) I can teach you kung-fu in return. sorry abit out topic.

• Jimmy on Sep 03, 2011 at 11:12 pm

If cars are cheap (or cheap relative to your income), just buy whatever cars that you like, safe + high tech + good design + cute. I guess many in this category will not choose Toyota/Lexus.
    Premature failure, so what if that car can be bought with your one-month income?
    RR to some people is just their one-month income (most of us have not seen big snake passing shit)
    To many people in Malaysia, cars are expensive to them that they have to choose Toyota because of Kiasu/Kiasi.
    Do you want a supersolid single-storey flat or a beautiful fancy bangalow?
    I guess cars other than Toyota are not as fragile as Proton right? but yet a lot of people are still buying Protons. To many people, buying a VW is ‘cheaper’ than we buy a Proton.

• Loveit on Sep 04, 2011 at 2:16 pm

I have to agreed. bet the Toyota and Honda worshipper won’t even dare to buy those japs cars if continental car priced the same range.

• Coolman on Sep 04, 2011 at 1:00 am

Haha.. Pretty sure I just woke up the neighbours thanks to your comments.. Cheers buddy

• bongek on Sep 04, 2011 at 11:07 am

wow…normaly it will be proton.perodua.honda or toyota thread will be this long…. but now VW …. malaysian taste getting better….or VW standard become lower?

• To those criticizer here, you don’t have the heart to embrace the success of VW, who producing World Engine of the Year for the past few year. Cannot follow the step where the world is progressing, still thinking of 4 or 5 speed is advance in 2011, and thinking of Valve control technology is most advanced in 2011. But when time comes, where all the Jap manufacturers start follow using TSI, DSG then we will see what you guys gonna say, haha!!

• TFazuin on Sep 04, 2011 at 4:16 pm

Its not critising the relaibility. what they talk about is can you afford to maintain the car when all your warranty is over. VAG parts ain’t cheap and someone who has 7 year car loan or longer can’t afford to have the shocks, turbos etc broken down during their ownership. Its ok if you have loads but if you’re a salary earner it really is a pain.

• venven81 on Sep 05, 2011 at 7:34 am

If these people are worried about maintenance after warranty, then it’s wiser for them not to buy this car and go for something that they really can afford. Why bother?

• loveit on Sep 05, 2011 at 8:11 am

if you don’t have the ‘ball’ the don’t buy…kiasu again and again..

• People who bought the Volkswagen such a small size car but big size car price tag,i believe most of them could afford the VAG parts…no worries :) btw my Rieger bodykit cost around RM2.000 and i think it’s quite cheap for me lolx

• correct me if i’m wrong ….

read somewhere that vw is discont its 1.4TSI with supercharge + turbocharger and will opt out the supercharger …in the future, the TSI will have only a turbocharger instead of both. Read in Oz car review, the twin turbo TSI have a reputation of being a hand grenade. Guess, having 2 turbo have its drawback in reliability

• masdo on Sep 04, 2011 at 11:46 pm

How is this different (more innovative) from mivec md and ivtec with vcm?

• fariz on Sep 05, 2011 at 12:55 pm

ah…more awesome tech from VW!! simply don’t understand all the hate comments, anti-innovation individuals, go live in cave or somewhere in the jungle where everything is basic….

• well only time will tell how reliable a tsi engine is. new owners now are on a high. they aint thinking about the time when the drive train goes south.

• mizzuddin on Sep 05, 2011 at 5:59 pm

hahahaaa

VW entry become like local makes entry already by reading all the comments… haahahaaa

• milo_ais on Sep 06, 2011 at 9:10 am

Meanwhile P1 just implemented ABS for their cars!!!

• darkcity on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:37 pm

forget about asian cars (mainly toyota & honda)im going for euro cars this time.nothing beats their performance,smooth engine,quality,reliability and the badge.no matter how expensive an asian car may be,euro cars will always remain the benchmark for luxury

• no more toyota for me. My Toyota Vios year 2009 is sux…..drive less than 2years and i fix few times for brake issue. got sound and rear disc brake not function. i gave up. Booked my GTI Red Devil and will be arrive March 2012. same price with better accessories…