Perodua expects to ink agreement with Proton on strategic collaboration by year-end or early 2012

Perodua expects to ink agreement with Proton on strategic collaboration by year-end or early 2012According to Bernama, Perodua says it expects to ink a collaboration agreement with Proton later this year or by early 2012. The company says it has had meetings with Proton at the highest level, and a strategic collaboration for both parties is well on the cards.

“There are a few areas that we are trying to collaborate. They are still at discussion stage. I think we are happy with the items. We will make the announcement on a memorandum of understanding this year or next year,” Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh was quoted as saying.

Aminar added that there was no change in Perodua’s stance on the proposed merger with Proton. “We are against the merger. We have our own plans, going forward,” he said.

In other news, Perodua will be announcing details of its new electronic automatic transmission (EAT) plant in the near future. Aminar said that the company will reveal details on the equity structure of the plant as well as its exact location when the announcement is made.

“We are setting up a joint venture. It’s still in discussion. We’ll make announcement on the equity structure of both Perodua and our Japanese partner (Daihatsu), as well as the location of the plant in the next one or two months, whether it will be in Selangor or outside Selangor,” he told reporters today.

Perodua was also mulling whether the plant will be constructed at one go, or in phases, adding that at least RM200 million is to be invested on the factory, which will produce transmissions for both the domestic and export markets.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• “We are against the merger. We have our own plans, going forward,””

what the HELL!!! i did’t get it?? its sound so damned belagak…

• VoidDance on Oct 06, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Well, they planned to rebadge Japanese car for forever. Designing their own car is alien to them. :D

• then what ? merge and let P1 pull down everything?

• MoFaz on Oct 06, 2011 at 5:47 pm

bapak P2 is samurai from japan. kalau pisah dari daihatsu, confirm kena pancung!

• dirtyoldmen on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:25 am

A few weeks back, politicians were making loud noises for merging P1 and P2. If they succeed, my guess is we’d be seeing a new GLC on the horizon. Who do you think will be in control then? And who profits from that? The over-taxed consumer? Get real.

Obviously this is detrimental to P1 and P2 interests. “We are against the merger. We have our own plans, going forward,” is their move to counter check.

In summary, the business world is telling the govt to back off. Let market forces decide.

Do you get the whole picture now or should I sketch out some doodles to further aid you people? Geez, M’sians fly off the handle whenever they read P1/P2 news. Go figure.

• MoFaz on Oct 07, 2011 at 2:19 pm

France gov ‘stepped in’ during 1974 crisis when Citreon bankrupt, the result is a merger between Peugeot and Citreon.
        Korea gov also ‘stepped in’ during 1998 crisis when Kia bankrupt, the result is a merger between Hyundai and Kia.
        fast forward to 2010.. Peugeot-Citreon and Hyundai-Kia are now some of the biggest auto-manufacturers in the world. Nett profit of Peugeot-Citreon last year was more than RM5billion.
        we shouldn’t compete among each other in the small market. even if P1 & P2 did not merge, they should collaborate & work together to grab the bigger market out there.

• dirtyoldmen on Oct 07, 2011 at 5:06 pm

“we shouldn’t compete…collaborate & work together to grab the bigger market ….” which is basically saying you’re pro-monopoly and cartels. aka anti-competition. maybe you’re into price-fixing as well? how about govt bail-outs?

you also subscribe to the “magic pill” thinking that mergers are a panacea for ailing businesses.

perhaps you should petition the board of directors of both P1 & P2 with your ideas as you seem to know their business better then they do.

• Mr. Mofaz,

Well, at least IF the merger is real, you don’t have to hide your aging Kancil anymore!

“Protong worshippers are the ones that needs a reality merger, nobody likes your tin-milo quality cars!”

• P1 losing money. P2 making tons of money. Guess who wants the merger.

• tiadaid on Oct 06, 2011 at 3:51 pm

After MAS-AirAsia, now P1-P2? Shocking, real shocking!

• kitkat on Oct 06, 2011 at 4:14 pm

i believe this collaboration more to after sales services instead of components sharing.

• MoFaz on Oct 06, 2011 at 4:24 pm

saw the news last night. i don’t think they would merge, most probably sharing parts or joint development only. there won’t be any share-swap like MAS-AirAsia. the biggest hurdle is Daihatsu or Japanese still own large percentage of P2, they won’t let go of P2, not that easy.
      Different case for Peugeot-Citreon and Hyundai-Kia, all of them can make their own decisions before they merge or take-over, Citreon and Kia almost or already bankrupt at that time. The gov step in as a matter of ‘national interest’ to save thousands of workers and most importantly, their economy.

• Sambal Belacan on Oct 06, 2011 at 4:04 pm

oh! S*h*i*T!No this time!

• After joint venture, both P1 & P2 improve their own competency in the market and later-on open the car market.. then this is a good move!!!

else..

After joint venture, both P1 & P2 monopoly the market and later on increase the local car price since no need to compete to each others.. thaen we all suffer!!!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 06, 2011 at 4:33 pm

“Strategic collaboration” – another round of MoU-MoU here, Moo-Moo there, Farting-everywhere …………..

Re-badge MyVi?? Or transfer of “Ah-Beng-know-how” to elongate MyVi chassis to come out with butt, just like Saga from Savvy??

Pathetic! VW want to take over, jual mahal! now kelam kabut looking for any partner(s), be it Mits, AIM, …… and now P2!

Likely there are blind supporters jump out from bawah tempurung and start blindly attacking anything and everything considered as bashers!

• Haha.. Funny guy la you.. You are not in their shoes.. You will never understand.. Its plain simple.. You are not their friend..

• squall_shinoda on Oct 07, 2011 at 1:11 am

You’re even more pathetic simply because you’re not them, or at least being in their shoes. Full stop. That’s why you always talk cock as if you own the Wolkswagen Group even though you’re not. Look at the European and American carmakers, and even Japanese carmakers. They already know know Chinese cars still have quality issues, and yet they still assume Chinese carmakers as a threat for their survival and cannot simply rest assured.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 06, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Put it in the right perspectives, the first step toward genuine extreme improvement to take place in P1 is the need to remove cronies vendors and that weak opportunistics bureaucrat! Let DSZ have free hand and operate P1 like free enterprise.

So dream on! Present gov dare not to touch it! So dream on.

• MoFaz on Oct 06, 2011 at 5:04 pm

your ‘prefered’ gov are just the same… this would somehow become “political debate”. but please everyone, try to discuss on issues related to motoring ya!
      i waited since february for Pakatan’s “radical solution” to reduce car taxes. habuk pun tarak! did you read their “alternative budget”? there’s no mention about reducing car tax, but they would convert the AP system to be an auction system, more or less like COE in singapore. now, do you think the “NEW AP” will be any cheaper? no, they estimated that the new system will bring RM1.2bil EXTRA to the “Alt Gov”… so, dream on dude. let me remind you again, COE in singapore now costs more than RM100k. i don’t think it would be that high in Malaysia, but you get the idea, right??

• Expatriate VN on Oct 06, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Good that now you are educated about the different between Certificate of Entitlements (COE) implemented in SG vis-a-vis Approved Permits (AP) implemented in MY.

SG is so “kiasu but smart” by come out with this name to circumvent WTO ruling, and our dumbass Bodohland still use this legal term which is “illegal” in the spirit of FTA. So, the alt budget also as dumb as treated “New AP” as cash cow, somemore call “prosperity for all” budget, the best they can do is transfer the benefits of AP from AP Kings to gov coffer. This is not good enough for the betterment of rakyat at large.

• MoFaz on Oct 06, 2011 at 11:48 pm

who the heck said i don’t understand the difference between AP and COE? let’s see what you understand about AP. According to MITI, the number of APs awarded every year is 10% of the total industry volume (TIV) of the previous year. APs are needed for all CKD and CBU imports. Proton and Perodua hold only 60% of market share. so please explain how 10% of TIV could get 40% of market share?
          As I understand, any country could limit their imports. if by your arguments (WTO, FTA, whatever), Singapore shouldn’t limit the import of cars for whatever reason. By your definition, what Singapore did is legal, but Malaysian AP system is illegal? clearly you are prejudice and practicing double standards. Have you ever heard anyone complaining that he/she have to wait for next year because AP for this year already finish? you can find hundreds if not thousands of unsuccessful bidders for COE in SG every year. They can buy the car, but they’re not allowed to!
          Venezuela oil production is 2.5mil barrel per day, which is about 3 times more than Malaysia. Venezuela has the cheapest fuel price in the world and it even cheaper than water, just 7sen per litre. Filling up 40litre tank would only cost you RM3! But Venezuela regarded car imports as a threat to their economy. The gov promoting the sale of cars assembled in the country, but making cars in Venezuela is not easy. In order to import new parts, you need a regular source of foreign currency, something which is tightly controlled by the government. Demand for new cars is estimated at 600,000 units, while only 250,000 available. The waiting list for a new car in Venezuela can last up to two years, so now every car that rolls out of a showroom immediately increases in value. This is the only place where a car value appreciates. You can find a used car more expensive than a new one here.

• blue-traveler on Oct 07, 2011 at 11:55 am

SO…, have you connected the dots, MoFaz. This time it is written by yourself…again. If not, please re-read your last paragraph. If don’t want, here’s a summary for you.
            V have cheap oil and mainly rely on oil as its country budget. -ie Malaysia in the 80s and 90s. V feel that it should have its own car, else control by foreigner. ie- M feel that car is next big industry, which was right. P1 started in the 80s, and soon after must be protected from the foreigners. (which again is correct, but this is the sticking point for everyone when to kick the “baby” out of the “baby cot” b4 it destroy what it is supporting it; ie our tax money.) V is reliving what we have been throght 30 years ago. And we all know what the current “ending” is like.. – Lost to become THE regional car industries to our neighbor, which mean loss of hundred of thousand jobs opportunities for the people.(Real world fact is staring at you from up north, if you want to argue this fact). Now buying a car here is like pucking our nose hair, for no reason. Good ones, that is. ( if you want to compare to singapore or hongkong, then know this:- THEY HAVE NO LAND TO EXPAND THEIR ROAD!!!!!!!. Us? duh!)
            AP is a sorry excuse to even exist. (for to me it has already departed from what it was created for, initial.) It exist now only to enrich the few. The so call opp by you, knows it, the people konws it. And the govt knows it. Thats why it got to go. Unless…….oooooou, hey MoFaz, are you one of those AP king?

• MoFaz on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:52 pm

Venezuela is more like Thailand, not Malaysia.
            Malaysia is developing & producing own car to reduce imports and foreign dependency, while Thailand and Venezuela are limiting the imports and forcing the car manufacturers to build CKD in their own countries. remember, Thailand banned import of CBU cars and van in 1978 due to trade deficit.
            while Thailand being “helpful” to their CKD business, Venezuela have another policy which hurting the CKD.. it’s their strict monetary and foreign exchange policy. their high inflation rate add insult to injury and making the situation incondusive for business. Venezuela is not limiting imports to protect the CKD, but they’re more concerned about the cash outflow, aka trade deficit (imports greater than exports) like Thailand.
            now, can you see the different?
            why thailand banned CBU at that time? CBU imports will let large amount of money flow to Japan. By forcing them to do CKD and use local contents, it will help establish heavy industries and create job opportunities in Thai. The money is still flowing out, but instead of 100% go to Japan, it has been reduced to between 40-60% only.

• hoochiez on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:38 pm

If u notice, this Mofart has a habit of off-loading a whole lot of bull**** he probably read on wikipedia or googled, in hopes of dodging the bullet. All the irrelevant comparisons, beating round the bush and goin way off tangent – tht is his style. All the points put forwrd got no conclusion.

Typical signs of a suspected crony kid who always have to say the last word said, disregarding any form of relevancy. Rempit kuat kuat betul…

• tec96248 on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:19 pm

You are just wasting time teaching him. He is not smart enough to understand. It is very difficult to compare everything between other countries. There’s always pros & cons of every countries policies. Nothing is perfect, improvements, upgrading and advancements are required from time to time. That’s the reason we always have better upgrade with new models, such as cars. so why frust? motoring is an enjoyment.

• Anon Driver on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:33 pm

Because those who whines are sore losers, who wanted to actually own a Japanese car, wait, if those taxes reduced, why not a continental car instead? To be honest, without the taxes, I believe we got more sombong people driving the car and hogs the road, with the quality of Malaysian drivers, a lot which can be described very rude and impatient; all here is hit the pedal drive the car like his father’s road, don’t know how to signal, don’t know how to brake, don’t know to take a corner, never respect pedestrians, don’t any shit about driving, but want to drive a nicely built machine. Forget it, just forget it. We have enough of Myvis accident, I don;t want to see VW Polo accident spree.

• Unforgiven on Oct 06, 2011 at 9:08 pm

The younger generation of indon maids are speaking in English now.
        Please be good and be good to our future generations.
        Don’t be orang jahat that do business like P1 n P2.

• Johndeep on Oct 06, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Exp. vn, you were always in the wrong blog. You liked to create supporters condemning gov and anything linked to gov. This is politician game and you have made the people who love this blog BLOODY SICK when reading your everytime and longlife NEGATIVE COMMENTS.

Everybody wants to make his/her day better by improving their knowledge and keep us updated with new cars and technology not putting more and more black dots in our brain.

Go away and join political blogs.

• Hoochiez on Oct 06, 2011 at 8:08 pm

It’s simple – Industrial policies certainly imply govt intervention in economic activities. However, there is no uniformity in govt roles and the extent of its intervention varies from one country to another. Ergo, the success in creating competitive industries or keeping not-so-competitive ones alive varies as well, whilst others results in failures causing exorbitant public debts without raising industrial competitiveness.

The govt can provide protection to domestic producers by various means: tariffs, subsidies, quantitative restrictions, investment measures, etc. However, most govts are not independent from the politics of interest groups and, therefore, does
      not always act in national interest, which more often than not leads to cause further problem: CORRUPTION. See some familiarity already ?

Case in point: Msia vs Thai – both govts implemented policies to drive their respective automotive sector. No prize for guessing who turn out to be way more successful.

One can only conclude that our govt’s intervenation in P1 was “over-pervasive” – taking the driver’s seat and getting involved in production, R&D etc. whilst limiting domestic competition to protect its interest. Basically, “cronie vendors” were not under pressure to upgrade their productivity and economies of scale, never achieved.

On the contrary, by staying out of production activities, the Thai govt was able to draw the line between public and private interests. It encouraged competition in the domestic market and was able to introduce liberalization to the industry much earlier.

So, VN Expat is spot on – if there should be any radical change required to reform P1, “Let DSZ have a free hand and operate P1 like a free enterprise”. Otherwise, pull the plug and go back to the drawing block.

• Rinnegan on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:18 am

@Expatriate VN: “Let DSZ have a free hand and operate P1 like a free enterprise”. This, I have to agree.

• Ash Menon on Oct 08, 2011 at 9:30 pm

I think regardless of one’s position about the Malaysian automotive sector and policies, we can all agree on that point.

• Why not? Sound good to me.. Monopoly or not.. It will not change for a few cry babies..

• mizzuddin on Oct 06, 2011 at 4:53 pm

i’m a strong opposition supporter even i’m a public servant
    i’m shameful of Expatriate VN who always talk all he likes, narrow-minded, insulting, full of negativity…

how do u expect any improvement with all the negativity?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 06, 2011 at 7:39 pm

So, You can blame low star rating or bad quality of P1/P2 on Top Gear negative comments! like Jeremy Clarkson smashing of Kancil or comment on 3 star rating for Waja! So, Top Gear being popular programme is the “dampener” of car industry, and like any typical civil servant mindset, like the balls-carrier and shoes polisher to feed you syiok sendiri news!

U see, how UK gov so realistic, knowing that their car industry is a sun set venture, despite tradition and long history, their public never against RR sold to BMW to make it commercially viable in open market. P1 should make internal structural change by kick out cronies and weak opportunistic bureaucrat, external opportunity is to undertake MoU for strategic collaboration with world class player (i.e. VW). This is the change P1 needed, then only there is a hope for us in future to truly enjoy good news on motoring!

• autojohndoe on Oct 06, 2011 at 9:13 pm

and i wonder…

did you get your 5digit income fair and square?

without playing cronies and bureaucratic?

if it is true… well, you just give the world an ideal place to work…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:21 am

Experience, expertise in area of your specialization, knowledge, oversea (uk, us or au, etc) high standard U education, skills, competency, hard work, survival of the fittest, risk taker, no pain no gain game are the main key words to work and play at level field in this “the world is flat”.

You can survive in “expatriate market” if you have these main attributes and embrace “CHANGE”! There is no short cut and “untung atas angin” to genuine success!

Stop wondering! Can you do that? Continue wondering at most you are unskills low pay (illegal) immigrant if you go oversea.

• MoFaz on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:26 am

high standard U education, but you can’t understand the actual meaning of “Expatriate”??? i wonder what kind of standard is that.

• sukasuki on Oct 07, 2011 at 10:10 am

oh, ya meh? i guess u didnt have any experience being “cah keting” or backstabbed by people at the top. hopefully u wont experience that coz its sooooo hurting!

• why dont you just step out of Malaysia rather than being here talking crap?

• squall_shinoda on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:15 am

See, even the involved name of the car is wrong. Try to search at YouTube, can you find any Kancil being blown by Jeremy Clarkson to smithereens? It IS a Kelisa, you idiot, not Kancil…!!! About the Waja’s 3-star rating, that one was rated by Euro NCAP, not Jeremy himself. Do you think a mere individual like him can simply rate cars the way he likes? Even if Jeremy Clarkson has a degree in engineering, he still has no authority to give Euto NCAP ratings.

About the Kelisa case, of course it had made Perodua fans and even the government felt pissed off, Jeremy did point out that Perodua should be independent and not merely relying on Daihatsu to design the cars while Perodua only assembles them. Of course Perodua had already changing after years from that controversial Top Gear episode; they finally design the new MyVi all by themselves without even a single reference to the JDM Sirion. The only bad thing is that they only rely on a very few models which will be recycled over and over again as the countless editions. They should instead develop new models to replace those which had already stopped production or failed. The good example is the failed Nautica, they should instead study why Nautica is a disastrous failure while its predecessor Kembara could enjoy very strong sales. Then they should develop an all-new model and find a suitable powerplant of it; a turbodiesel engine by Daihatsu may work fine.

• treblecase on Oct 07, 2011 at 9:39 pm

And to top it all off, that “episode” with JC & Kelisa wasn’t even a proper episode of Top Gear. It was just a straight to video “specials”.

• for those who believe in what ever jeremy clarkson bashing, u r simply plain idiot.
        that guy is moron in some ways, not logical, not constant, bias towards english product etc.

• blue-traveler on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:31 pm

agreed. I really dislike that guy. I don’t even want to see or read the mag version too.

• i regard Top Gear merely as entertainment program, with a bit information about car, that’s all

• rosdi on Oct 06, 2011 at 4:54 pm

“…. equity structure of both Perodua and our Japanese partner (Daihatsu), …”

CORRECTION!.. the sentence should have been like this..

“…. equity structure of both Perodua and our Japanese OWNER (Daihatsu), …”

Hahaha…. partner konon… what is Perodua without Daihatsu??! Nothing!.. yilek..

• So folks.. you will be getting, Saga Extreme Edition, Persona Extreme Edition, Exora Extreme Edition, etc etc… It will be very EXTREME for P2 haters that support P1.. LULZ

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 06, 2011 at 5:14 pm

same old drama. still no better car to talk about. extreme there, flx here. haih. pity they cant fool us again now.

• autojohndoe on Oct 06, 2011 at 5:20 pm

NO SUMMARY OF THE AGREEMENT YET PEOPLE ARE TALKING LIKE THEY ARE IN THE MEETING ROOM…

dumb

• Capslock of Death!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:10 am

Ya, no summary of agreement? Yet you talk like it is exist! And farting like moo …… in the meeting room!

• MoFaz on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:23 am

u’re sooo prejudice

• autojohndoe on Oct 07, 2011 at 8:37 am

am i saying anything wrong?

it is you who kept telling the untruth…

who’s farting for no reason now, eh?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:25 pm

Ya, you are farting …… because you pass a judgement like Chairman in the meeting room.

• autojohndoe on Oct 07, 2011 at 4:04 pm

so, why keep barking?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:43 pm

Still farting ……… and acting like Chairman ……… make judgement there and here, and query here and there as well ………… as everyone answerable to you………. pathetic chepor cybertrooper.

• Perodua: we need your ride&handling to fix our lagi power lagi kuat gegar Myvi

• Proton: we need your designer doing better rebadging for our smart guy get it Inspira

• rosman on Oct 06, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Loser trying to do some arm twisting here !!
    Myvi outsells Saga and reality hurts !!
    Best P1 gets out of the 1.3 market and go
    into the 1.5-2.0 segment.

• DarkAvenger on Oct 06, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Ok, now we can now install the Inspira’s Mivec 2.0 engine into the Myvi…….Lagi Power, Lagi Best, Lagi Cepat Langgar Hancur Berkecai!!! Hehe.

So, new JV….PRODUA? PEROTON? or just PEROTIGA???

• i think they hired ppl like you in P1 and p2, hence the tragedy

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 06, 2011 at 7:39 pm

oO. interesting.

A monster in the making or will they actually come up with something that benefits the rakyat.

I won’t really think too much about this. Probably just a JV to make components for economies of scale (ie gearboxes)…and probably Perodua is eyeing Proton’s manufacturing facilities.

• uareidiot on Oct 06, 2011 at 7:51 pm

please close down p1 and p2 and make foreign car price cheaper pls..so everyone can at least hav a honda or toyota

• LOL @ OUR NATIONAL CAR on Oct 06, 2011 at 8:24 pm

congratz Proton getting another MoU/collaboration/agreement/partnership or what ever contract…

Lets list it down: –
    1) Mitsubishi
    2) Agency Inovasi Malaysia
    3) Renault-Nissan
    4) Youngman Lotus
    5) Cusco (claim by their fans)
    6) Tata (suggested by Muhyiddin)
    7) Detroit Electric
    8) Hindustan Motors

anything that I miss?

• PakAbu on Oct 07, 2011 at 10:16 am

You missed Lotus

• blue-traveler on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Nope, he did not. Lotus is bought over by P1. So what’s Lotu’s is P1’s, what’s P1’s is P1’s. Not even sure if Lotus wants anything from P1 except the $$$. ($_$)

• Expatriate VN on Oct 07, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Ya korek, korek, korek ………….

The reality is P1 is act as sugar daddy like gravy train pump in money to Lotus to make it float ………

But for blind supporters which I don’t need mentioned, they are still self-praise syok sendiri always mentioned on Lotus handling in P1 car!

• exJAVANESE on Oct 09, 2011 at 11:50 am

bro..u wanna try real proton with lotus handling..go get your selft Satria Gti 1.8 1997, Putra 1.8 1997 and Wira LE Tiang Gol 1.8 1997….

• Myspira, Myga, Kancilasi are coming, woohoo.

• Masked Ryder on Oct 06, 2011 at 8:56 pm

P1 & P2 joint venture, stop producing same class rival car, P1 concertrate only bigger car P2 on smaller car.
    Revoke Naza & Inokom national car rebate, ask them to pay CKD & CBU tax like any other mfg, presently they r eating into P1 & P2 market with national car tax rebate without having to use local parts, introduce Semi Knock Down tax, so that no more screw 4 door stick 2 badges type of CKD.
    Korean car fan is willing to pay tax like any other, they don’t mind if Korean car cost more than Japanese & Conti since according to them Korean is the best car in the entire world.

• nebula87 on Oct 06, 2011 at 10:04 pm

(P1+P2)/2=P1.5?

• matrxe on Oct 06, 2011 at 11:09 pm

Merger makes no sense and not beneficial to local consumers. They should collaborate to penetrate foreign markets.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:11 am

What to do? They are jaguh kampong!

• squall_shinoda on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:55 am

If they are jaguh kampung then can you explain why Proton’s export figure is always A LOT bigger than domestic market? And can you explain why Indonesia imports the Malaysian MyVi to be sold there as Daihatsu Sirion and not importing the Sirion from Japan? If you yourself think you’re better than Proton or Perodua, then build your own car laa by your own hands. Then we’ll see whether you can sell them or not, and whether they get any automotive awards or not.

• “can you explain why Proton’s export figure is always A LOT bigger than domestic market?”

Link please.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 07, 2011 at 1:47 pm

He is idiot farting worst of its kind …………. put his stinky foot in his mouth by saying Proton export more than domestic market! Why Indon got our MyVi’s Sirion? This is because Toyota is majority owner (not partner) of P2! Ask simple question that everyone know the answer!

• MoFaz on Oct 07, 2011 at 2:06 pm

you haven’t answer my question above: how 10% of TIV allocation for APs to import CKD and CBU can grab 40% market share?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 07, 2011 at 3:57 pm

1st – I am not information center!

2nd – Where did you get the 40%? Means the like of Alphard can capture that kind of market, more than 200,000 unit per year?

3rd – You bullshits a lot, where got APs use for CKD import? Are you nut! APs used for CBU and recond like Alphard, Mercs C-Class, Elgrand, etc.

4th – There were previous reports of abuse of APs by “recycle” its, ttherefore actual unit import should be more than 10%TIV, but I don’t think it achieve 40%? Where did you get this 40%? Any evident, or just pluck from the sky for the sake of attack!!!!!!

• squall_shinoda on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:12 am

Of course Toyota is the owner of Perodua. But can’t your shitty brain ever thought of why Toyota used the Made-in-Serendah Perodua Myvi to be sold as Sirion in Indonesia and not Toyota’s Indonesian plant? It is because Perodua’s manufacturing practices have made Toyota to put their trust to produce Myvis as Sirions in Indonesia. True, I know that Perodua’s cars are so overpriced nowadays and have already went off the track from their original intention to build cars that are affordable to everyone including students and lower income group. But still, Perodua still have Toyota’s trust. Same goes for Proton for gaining Mitsubishi’s trust to rebadge the Lancer GT as Inspira.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 07, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Try to google the past entries in Paultan laa… I have already provided the links in my comment in one of the previous entries and I don’t want to do the same thing over and over again just to give to some idiots who don’t want to listen at all. Smart guys get it, idiots don’t get it.

• treblecase on Oct 07, 2011 at 1:37 am

What’s with all this bickering?? Why don’t you guys just go out there and enjoy your ride no matter if it’s a Kancil or a Ferrari? With all these bickering and dissatisfaction, it’s no wonder our roads are filled with glum and raging faces with the “my ride is better than your ride mentality so get the f*** out of my way!” attitude. Sad.

• expat, why always rely on top gear comment,they just wwe, more on entertainment side rather than real world verdict. Love to watch it,but dont take it too serious.
    Its like why jeremy dont like porshe cars n always bias on them while the others praise them. It was simply bcoz he had an accident when test driving porche before on the track when shooting the show. He is out of control of the car when going sideways. I’d the opportunity to watch that episodes. It makes him look ameturish than pro driver n did tarnish his reputation n then, he starts hating porche cars.
    N comparing cars like drinking wines n liquors. Is that valid even for analogically?
    But fun to watch. Thats why he employ stigs(marketing hype n it works) to do the job.
    He even hates lotus before when proton acquires them. Only now he likes them(lotus evora). The same as fifth gear,even they are better compare to top gear,but when it comes to proton, they still have negative thinking due to the same reason.
    Still remember the episode in fifth gear when they comments on lotus cars, they said lotus, own by u know who company(its like saying that proton an evil company),they never acknowledge proton n not even mentioned proton’s name in that episode.
    The same thing happens when they shoot out savvy, even one of their tester unintentionally praise savvy when driving it, but the end verdict is different coz they already feel that their pride has been rip of when prtn buy lotus. They cannot accept the facts.

• blue-traveler on Oct 07, 2011 at 12:49 pm

In a Nut shell, P1, P2, collaboration; A-Ok. Everyone does it, Japanese & japanese car do it offen, USofA Brands have done it. Euro cars…..ah a bit cloudly on that one.(did merc, and bemer said something of tech collaboration this year? All of VW group don’t count.)
    Euro, and US and Jap, cross bred all the time. So why not Malaysia ones. BUT… total merger. NO. Ok. got it now. and agreed. We have only 2 players. Or 1 & 1/2, player. We don’t need a monpoly. Monoply is no good for the long term.

• Vote with your wallet. When the buying stops, the killing can too.

• matrxe on Oct 16, 2011 at 11:03 am

how to vote with my wallet. I can only afford to buy sub 70K car. No thanks to our rakyat didahulukan tax structure.

• makeitmine on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Proton & Perodua collaboration is only in spirit. In real life, each will be competing against each other in the small marketplace.

Will collaboration make existing cars higher quality, cheaper to produce or exceed world standards? These are not determined by Proton or Perodua but the marketplace.

Perodua is in the market for cheap cars. As long as Perodua is around, Proton will have to abide by the game (making cheap cars).

Perhaps Perodua/Daihatsu should collaborate with Proton/Lotus to design/build/manufacture a cheaper global car capable of beating mini coopers hands down.

Proton should also collaborate with HiCom to manufacture its next generation of engines and car body design.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:02 am

In the past, Proton used to be under DRB-Hicom in 1980s and 1990s before their shares were sold to Khazanah. When Khazanah took over DRB-Hicom’s shares, there are too much politics being involved in Proton. The only good thing are DSZ was originally from Perodua with his mindset to focus on quality and family-friendly models being carried along as well . Meanwhile, Dato’ Nadzi Salleh was an old-timer in Proton and once became Proton’s MD in 1990s before being known as Proton’s chairman.

The moral is very simple – carmakers should be run by businessmen and engineers, not politicians.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:41 pm

Yes, stop the buying, stop the sucking!

• hoochiez on Oct 08, 2011 at 1:03 am

Expat VN, it is almost impossible for the general population – how to afford anythin but a P1 when you don’t even pay tax ? And for tht matter, approx. 90% fall out of the tax bracket.

• MoFaz on Oct 07, 2011 at 9:19 pm

woi VN immigrant.
    go to MITI website and check for yourself. AP is needed for both CKD AND CBU! no wonder u’re so bodoh and keep refering Malaysia as bodohland. high standard U education konon but u dont know what expat means. u’re just immigrant.
    let me ask you again… only 10% of previous year TIV allocated for APs. how come this 10% could grab 40% market share? jawablah kalau pandai sangat.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:16 am

Mofaz, “expatriate” means “pelarian” aka refugee and not “pendatang” aka immigrant… but I must agree that APs are needed to import cars. If the AP runs out, then no more cars from that particular model can be used, and the distributor will have to wait until next year for new ones.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:50 am

Why name calling, so don’t complain if I do the same in the future! Mofaz confuse a lot by having baseless assumption that I am Vietnamese come to Malaysia working. The true fact is I am Malaysian work at oversea (not necessary Vietnam)! Otak udang, expatriate simply refer to highly skills and highly educated working outside of his country of origin. Go to Wikipedia or other to read more before give your brainless idiot comments!

Those unskills workers normally known as immigrant workers. If still confuse! get lost ……

This is talk about P1 and P2 strategic collaboration, not name calling and mud slinging.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 08, 2011 at 7:53 am

Finally everybody knows the true reason why you become so bodoh sombong and forgetting your own roots. You work overseas and enjoy 5-digit salary there and then tunjuk lagak as if you know everything in the world. When you are asked for the source of your so-called “facts”, you refuse to provide. That’s why you are a hated character in Paultan.

This blog is intended for car lovers to share their thoughts to bring up the Malaysian auto industry, not for stupid car brand wars with “my ride is a lot better than your shitty ride” mentality, or stupid assumptions that everything done by carmakers and the government are all wrong and you are “the only correct one”.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:42 am

Still 40% thingy, 40% of what, capture the 2.0 cc or above segment? Capture 40% of non-national car segment? You are really joker put burden on me to answer your pluck from the sky %. Play-play lor ……….. what I need to do is to have a benefits of doubts by create/question your baseless allegations! Just provide a link to this 40% thingy, or any source to support your argument, otherwise it is just a crap.

• MoFaz on Oct 09, 2011 at 7:56 am

i think u’re foolish enough to think that APs are only for recond car. APs are for all imports, even handphone need AP. for cars, APs is for CBU and CKD.
    you’re always asking us to prove that you’re wrong for whatever bullshit you created out of thin air. now i give u a scenario and ask you to explain what you understand from it. you stupid answer that “i’m not information counter” has clearly shown that you’re actually don’t understand our automotive policies. simply believe whatever shit told by your fren doesn’t make you smarter. do your own study kid. you’re just wasting our time.