Left-hand drive Proton Exora facelift spotted on test

At first glance, this Proton Exora looks just like any other Proton Exora, or at least that’s what we thought when we were driving up the highway and spotted two Exoras on the left lane. You can zoom in the photo above to spot the difference. When we passed them, we noticed that this Exora was a left-hand drive car!

Furthermore, it appears that the front of the car has no tape covering it up at all, offering us a full view of how the facelifted Exora will look like. The back still has a little tape on. Theo Chin has a rendering of the new front end.

This might mean that Proton is preparing to introduce the Exora into left-hand drive markets soon. Earlier this month, Proton announced that it signed a Memorandum of Understanding with Chinese automaker Hawtai Motor Group to explore manufacturing the Exora in China amongst other things, and we know China is a left-hand drive country.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 26, 2011 at 5:03 pm

they will sell in China as Lotus technology…good luck.

• blackcipan on Oct 26, 2011 at 5:16 pm

The front is totally zero-camo right? So seems that this is how the Exora FL will look like. Quite an improvement from current angular front.

• Quattro on Oct 26, 2011 at 5:17 pm

nice > move to european and u.s market………….

• nabill on Oct 26, 2011 at 5:21 pm

i tink dis is the turbo one bcos the rear wheels have disk brake

• rexxx on Oct 26, 2011 at 5:22 pm

PAUL ! THE NEW AVANZA !!!! http://gustomobil.wordpress.com/2011/10/10/11466/

• Jika beberapa waktu lalu bocoran gambarnya untuk bagian depan dan buritan, yang sekarang lebih utuh.

• akina on Oct 26, 2011 at 11:00 pm

it is still a boring avanza

• nabill on Oct 27, 2011 at 1:44 am

who the hell cares??

• Yuzdi on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:47 am

We are talking about dat Exora. This Avanza sudah salah masuk bilik.

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:57 am

Avanza stand no chance against Turbo Exora with CVT! bye bye!

• Prismo on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:21 am

Welch Motorsport Proton Persona’s new livery

http://www.flickr.com/photos/60942416@N03/6117565206/in/photostream/

• YER LA.. tak der news tentang proton persona race kat BTCC lg.. sy dah bg tau bnyk kali dlm comment ni, tp paultan tak mau ambik tahu pun.. last race dapat no. 10..

• Pity if Proton didn’t change the wiper position.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 26, 2011 at 5:25 pm

for all i know it received very bad ratings in the uk by whatcar

• taboogen on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:06 pm

dun worry uk will get the best spec… diesel engine is on its way… eu country are now looking for safety.. practicality… space… and fuel consumption… they just need to move from point A to point B safer and cheaper….

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:06 pm

whatcar is reviewing our spec, which doesn’t have turbo. the one coming to UK and Australia in 2012 is turbocharged and with CVT. not everything bad in that review, but for sure the major weakness of that Exora, the powertrain will be improved greatly by the upcoming turbo version.

• chong on Oct 26, 2011 at 8:39 pm

that’s because they are so jealous it rocks with LOTUS handling which was one time ago theirs

• Expatriate VN on Oct 26, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Luckily P1 own Lotus only. If P1 own Rolls Royce, instead by BMW, don’t know what kind of craps will spill out from blind supporter’s mouth!

• Lotus is fast turning into a tongkat GLC, and soon be extinct like that tiger skull if nothing is done to rescue it from the clutches of evil.

• Prismo on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:20 am

so, if it got a bad review then they cannot sell the car in other ‘country’?

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 27, 2011 at 3:10 pm

seems like everyone is just denying that their car sucks

• Prismo on Oct 27, 2011 at 6:27 pm

oh i see… every car that get a bad review then we can consider it ‘s suck?

Pernah dengar “Lain tempat lain org”, “Lain padang lain belalang”, “lain lubuk lain ikan”.

• Exorathebest on Oct 26, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Tahniah… !

• is that a bumper scoop? might be the CFE under the hood

• macha on Oct 26, 2011 at 5:58 pm

The all new Lotus Exora, the world’s best handling MPV.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:10 pm

BRAVO….

• the front grill look same as toyota WISH 2009 model….

• silentguy on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:34 pm

just asking ,when will the new exora fl come out? will it come with cvt and turbo?and how much ?pls and tnks for helping^^

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:04 am

nobody knows… proton put cvt into Saga and price increased less than RM2k.. now, the turbo unit might cost RM2k, so i think it’s safe to assume the turbo exora with cvt gonna be RM5k more than current version… my guess only.

• Shhhhhh. Thanks. on Oct 26, 2011 at 8:06 pm

Possible this might be the Exora Turbo?

• damn, their exora spec must be better than our malaysians spec yet cheaper! i bet!

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:07 am

dude, cheaper or not is depending on their tax. Waja is RM60k+ here because of tax. Waja is RM38k in Arab because there’s no tax. get it?

• littlefire on Oct 27, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Why Arab can be so cheap, but local for us so expensive?!? I tot Local cars should be tax free so we can buy local cars more easily right?!?

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2011 at 6:02 pm

this issue will never end. people here want tax-free car but can’t accept petrol price increase. cars in UK & Singapore have tax, even their petrol have tax (170% tax for petrol in UK). if we put malaysian mentality into people in the UK, they would want even cheaper petrol than Malaysia because they produced 2 times more petrol than here! oklah.. i’ll show you simple mathematics:

Saudi Arabia: 10.5mil barrels per day / 27mil population = 0.38
          UAE: 2.3mil barrels / 8.2mil population = 0.34
          Malaysia: 900k barrels / 28mil population = 0.03

that’s a ratio between oil produced and population. that simple ratio could tell us how ‘big’ is the piece of cake that every citizen get. people in Arab & UAE get much bigger cake (10 times more) than us. do you get the idea?
          but, what do you expect if gov give everything much too easy? unemployment rate in UAE is 12.7%, Saudi is 10.8% and Malaysia is only 3.2%.

• Waksey on Oct 28, 2011 at 9:44 am

Hey, I don’t mind paying RM3.00 per liter of petrol if Waja is tax free like those selling in Saudi wak.

• MoFaz on Oct 28, 2011 at 11:38 am

tax is gov income. if they reduce tax on cars, they will increase tax on something else. yes you may get cheaper car, but if GST implemented, would you mind paying 5-6% more on everything else?
            if waja is RM40k, your monthly instalment might be around RM500, down from current RM700. which means you save RM200 every month. now, factor in your new fuel price: 200litres every month at RM3/litre would mean your spending on petrol would increase RM200 from old price. your saving from car instalments would go to petrol just like that. and you would have to pay more for other things as well due to increment in transport cost, bla bla bla, which retailers always said whenever petrol price increase.
            reduction on car import tax would only benefits those rich people who enjoy changing cars oftenly, while increment on petrol price would burden everybody including those who couldn’t even afford a car. i believe the system will change when everybody could afford to live without subsidies.
            on different matter, gov imports 99% of sugar, yet our retail price is lower than one of the world’s leading sugar exporting countries: Thailand. our imported sugar ends up being smuggled back to thailand. gov should just remove subsidy on sugar completely.

• same! can buy 2 waja! :D :D

• hoochiez on Oct 29, 2011 at 9:16 am

As always, this mo-fart employs his ever-so-biased selection of “copy + paste” from the www…. Zzzz… “GST 5-6% on everythinh else” ? Memalukan la u… GST got more pros than cons, but he only state the cons. GST suppose to replace the ineffective Sales and Service Tax of 5% – 10%. With GST implemented, gov can consider lowering personal income taxes. And btw, GST is exempted for staple products if u are so blind enuff to miss.

Stop crapping and farting la… Tsk tsk tsk..

• stupid proton on Oct 26, 2011 at 8:56 pm

aah ,proton never famous out of malaysia, hit bad rating always, even top gear making fool of it

• mizzuddin on Oct 26, 2011 at 11:31 pm

u really took their show for serious..? demm… u must never heard the term humor

• smart guys never trust topgear…
      they never liked asian cars…always bragging about british car’s the best bla bla bla…
      bongok la kalau percaye apa mereka cakap…

and did topgear even bashed a proton car before? yang ada gen2 and satria neo only about interior..they didnt even talk about the driving experience..

and one more thing, pernah tengok PERODUA KELISA get destroyed by jeremy clarkson?classic

• gomok on Oct 27, 2011 at 4:16 am

Jeremy clarkson tu kalau duduk sini pun akan pakai proton gak…

• rally_fan on Oct 27, 2011 at 8:25 am

jeremy has changed his tune slightly towards proton in a positive manner, especially after the appearance of the satria s2000 rally car.

• littlefire on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:43 am

Honestly only a few cars got good rating, but the sales are worst… P1 Savvy (Fifth gear) & Jumbuck ( Topgear Australia). Anyway dont be so happy, Jumbuck is only for practical urban use & worst in safety, while savvy already stop production… ( U know why! Quality issue huh..)

• ZenZarray on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:32 am

Adus2..this Stupid Proton says”aah ,proton never famous out of malaysia, hit bad rating always, even top gear making fool of it”…..if u really see top gear u wouldn’t miss this episode the Ashes Chalange http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BVZ_HyRosZ0…why would they use Satria Neo?? Why didn’t use other rally car instead of proton if they says proton sucks??

• littlefire on Oct 27, 2011 at 5:24 pm

That is S2000 satria neo wif renault 2.0L engine, not a normal 1.6L engine satria neo on the roads…

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2011 at 6:06 pm

again, it’s easy to deny other people’s achievements rather than acknowledging them? Satria Neo 1.6 already beat Mitsu Lancer and Subaru Impreza in APRC, driven by our Malaysian hero Mr Karamjit Singh!

• littlefire on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Then why still Proton need to hire foreign ppl to drive the S2000?!? Dont give stupid reason is left hand drive, bla bla bla.. so local hero like karanjit singh cannot drive?!?

• Dei Gundu!!!!……..do u understand anything about motorsport or sport in general or not……..it’s about competitiveness, money, budget and advertising……that’s why italian ferrari get german, finnish etc driver to race, the reason why most of EPL club Man U , Chelsea etc players not even english……if local hero like Karamjit got what it takes not just proton but renault, ferrari also will be hiring him …….sighhhhhhhhh

• MoFaz on Oct 28, 2011 at 11:07 am

you didn’t know the story, but don’t simply assume kiddo! have you try to look for it? here:

… “When asked about his thoughts on the race, Karamjit said he was concerned that his left-hand drive Proton Satria Neo S2000 has him at a disadvantage. “If the car was right-hand-drive I would be confident and able to attack. It’s a fabulous car and the tricky Stages I can handle. I just don’t feel comfortable so I’ll be taking it easy to ensure we finish,” Karamjit said after completing the reconnaissance earlier today.”

source: http://paultan.org/2009/08/13/proton-r3-malaysia-rally-team-with-neo-s2000-and-karamjitjagdev-officially-launched/

• Prismo on Oct 27, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Then, why did they did not use other brand that using their own engine?

• Dont get me wrong.. i am really proud with this news but.. where the hell is the Persona R :(

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:11 am

one by one la… this turbo exora will be released earlier than persona R, next month.. perhaps you can see more persona R after they launch this. sabar bro!

• mizzuddin on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:55 pm

looking forward to replace my Persona Elegance with Persona R next merdeka…

my Persona crashed and declared total lost already…

• one word…sabar

• William on Oct 26, 2011 at 9:24 pm

And I think it is a manual CFE exora because u can see the word M/T on the windscrean…XD

• Last sentence needs a fix.

• WaryNordin on Oct 26, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Turbo i guess!! Go P1…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 26, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Why used specific Left Hand Drive (LHD) term? Right Hand Traffic (RHT) is more appropriate and generic term used for vehicles moving on the right side of the road, and vice-versa for Left Hand Traffice (LHT)!

• mizzuddin on Oct 26, 2011 at 11:25 pm

i thought u only know to bring up crappy issues

• sukasuki on Oct 27, 2011 at 1:44 am

biase lah, pekerja kontrak tebas rumput. xmampu beli kete tp berlagak macam kaya lah sgt. kesian plak aku tgk Expatriate Vietnam nih.

• mizzuddin on Oct 27, 2011 at 7:57 am

i actually gave u 1 thumbs up :0

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:53 am

whatever term they use, they’re not wrong, you’re the one wrong here.
      RHD or LHD are the terms referring to the placement of the driving seat and steering within the vehicle. LHD is correct as they’re driving on the left side of the car.
      RHT or LHT are refering to vehicle position on the road, whether you’re driving on the left or right side of the road.
      on the situation above, they have LHD car, testing on LHT road!

• Jimmy on Oct 26, 2011 at 11:02 pm

While Toyota is trying to look wider by using lamps and ‘widened’ bumpers, Proton Exora is doing the other way round.

• mizzuddin on Oct 26, 2011 at 11:17 pm

i’m about to say… “hang on tight!!! mr Expatriate VN on his way..!”

it’s too late already… :0

• theanswer on Oct 26, 2011 at 11:26 pm

nice looking bumper.

• when will proton actually launch this exora? last time they said late last year or early this year?now already end of year.

• Honda Power on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:44 am

No big deal. Jaguh kampung will always be jaguh kampung.

• sukasuki on Oct 27, 2011 at 1:45 am

HONDA EX5 EH??

• Everybody is Jagoh Kampong before they go Internationally that a fact. You jagoh Kampong what the problem. Don’t just look at others look at you sometimes and think if you really can think

• BadBET on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:50 am

no.. he mean that honda is better.. at power window technology kui kui kui

• shahmetal on Oct 27, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Failed. Proton actually improved it. Now they even gives 10 years warranty on their power window, while Honda is now keep degrading. Yes, Proton is still jaguh kampung, but Honda is once jaguh kampung too, now still going that way. Pfft.

• akina on Oct 27, 2011 at 5:19 pm

ala..honda pon ada power window problem jugak. 2 minggu lps, mmber aku dpt surat drp honda untuk ‘UPDATE’ power window city dia. tp honda malau nk mengaku tu PROBLEM, so, dia panggil la product UPDATE. update apanya!

• Carl Wong on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:48 am

LOL I don’t see any point of covering the appearance of national cars………….
    Just give us the REEV plug in hybrid…

• nebula87 on Oct 27, 2011 at 3:32 am

so refreshing~~

• makeitmine on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:31 am

Give options for 1.8 engine, 1.6 turbo/supercharged and diesel engine, extended warranty, lifetime warranty for some parts, this car will sure sell in many markets.

Maybe need ipad dock console, parking assist, more sound proofing, bigger wheels etc to get people excited at the car!

If not, it’s just a Proton!

• John Johnny Jonathan on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:11 am

heard from Proton ppl , Exora Teboo will coming out NOV 2011 ..anytime ,, price below 80k .. cn sum1 confirm back ..

• loveit on Oct 27, 2011 at 10:52 am

man, this MPV is perfected if proton done something for its rear coz it look so like ordinary van rather than MPV…hope to see that for its second generation..

• The driver holds a walkie-talkie.

“I am being followed! Help me! I saw a man with a camera keeps tailing me. Takkan la depa taktau yang ni Exora Turbo?!” said the man in the Exora.

hehehe!

• Steview Ahmad on Oct 27, 2011 at 4:57 pm

Wonder which left hand drive country would want to buy this thing ? Many MPVs out there in this left hand drive countries which at anytime better spec, better technologies, etc. Diesel engine ? Got from third party ? UK wants to buy ? US market, a big joke or what ? Give 7 years warranty the last round also cannot move the cars there in UK. What a feel good factor again, again. Right hand drive also cannot do properly. Go ahead and click Down.

• MoFaz on Oct 27, 2011 at 6:25 pm

have u heard the term “better priced”? not all people want all the gadgets and high-tech stuff in the spec. they’re more concerned about the price and whether you like it or not, that’s the majority of people. Exora in the UK will be around £14k with turbo, cvt and rear-view cam. Pug 5008, the most basic spec without turbo is £18k. that £4k may not sound a lot to you but they can buy almost 3000litres of petrol with that money!

• Waksey on Oct 28, 2011 at 9:43 am

You think so P has better pricing than others ? P was selling at lower price than others but still no one wants to buy in overseas. Sales figures don’t lie, you know ?

• MoFaz on Oct 28, 2011 at 12:06 pm

you have to understand also that sales figure also depending on marketing, sales and service outlets, warranty and many other things. how many showrooms proton have overseas? in china, youngman showrooms are mainly located at suburbs, not in big cities like Beijing. and not many people know about proton-youngman due to lack of marketing.
          hyundai also use ‘cheaper price’ as their main factor. some reports mentioned that hyundai cars in overseas market are better spec’ed and cheaper than in their home market, Korea. some koreans end-up importing hyundai cars from US, and still cheaper than those sold in Korea even after they factor in the import tax!
          unlike proton, hyundai has many factories and showrooms around the world. their expenditure in marketing is gigantic… just imagine how much they spend for world cup sponsorship. FIFA’s six partners are Adidas, Coca-Cola, Emirates Airlines, Hyundai-Kia, Sony and Visa and they an annual fee in the range of US$24 to US$44 million. that’s RM72-RM132 million per year, just for World Cup. Advertising Age estimated global measured advertising expenditure in 2009 of $829m for Hyundai and $536m for Kia. that’s billions of ringgit in 1 year!

• hoochiez on Oct 29, 2011 at 9:07 am

And hyundai is able to invest in A&P bcuz……? Why not P1…….?? All the years of protection still jagoh kampong lor… Stop farting la cyber-trooper… Tsk tsk tsk…

• road_chaser on Oct 27, 2011 at 5:40 pm

I have a chat wif one guy from proton during their car exhibition at MOT few days back.. I ask wether Proton will launch the new Exora Turbo this coming November but he said it likely wont happen bcoz he told me that the test of Turbo’s engine still in progress..the Exora will come with superchaged instead of Turbo…the same engine will be used for upcoming Persona R..

• Hoochiez on Oct 27, 2011 at 6:13 pm

Whateva la… see how the sales when/if really launched in china etc. Now, just syok sendiri cakap… one kenot blame the scepticism, just being realistic.

But entirely diff story for P1 cyber-troopers who are prolly falling off their chairs… LOL !!

• campor on Oct 27, 2011 at 8:25 pm

whateva la… sibuk.. suka hati orang la nak syouk sendiri… ada kacau kau ka?

• WASTING TIME! C’mon, do you think this car can really make it in Europe market?

• November on Oct 27, 2011 at 7:59 pm

good job proton. proton nowadays is different from before, good job!!

• RedBeanBun on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:28 pm

many car manufacturers is publishing petrol consumption rate for cars now…

I cant find any from Exora….also what is the autogear speed also not published…

• alfie60 on Oct 28, 2011 at 12:00 am

This shitty car maker is not fooling anyone except those diehards that drinks DZS bath water and swears that it also cures ailments and Proton is the best car in the world.

The news that they handed over Proton electric cars to the government in Putrajaya prior to production dont impress anyone because all they do is RUBBER STAMP the shitty electric cars. They should let the public test it rather than ‘syok sendiri’.

The lifetime warranty on the power window seems to have a catch to it that is we must give Proton another 6 years of business in maintaining the problematic shitty car so that they can recoup their money back .

The stewardship of Proton may change hand from Nazdmi,Yahaya.Mahaleel and now DSZ also dont convince us that things are different the fact the same shitty vendors are still supplying the shitty parts.

Mahaleel promise us radical changes and improvement and yet with the TUV endorsement the shitty car cant sell globally.

Now with billions investmented in Lotus now we Malaysian now might have to chip in directly or indirectly should Proton/Lotus ‘WORLD DOMINATION’ plan failed.

Their news of joint venture has been going around god knows for how long and till to date nothing definite.

As Winston Churchill once said” You can fool all the people some of the time and some of the people all the time but you cant fool all the people all the time”..

If DSZ is so desperate for the public to belief that Proton is now a better car eventhough its still the same shitty vendors supplying the parts than he should do the angkat “Sumpah Laknat’ at the National Mosque like Datuk Eskay or Saiful and save some money on advertising and hiring Chacko. ;-)

• hmmm…another shitty comment from a laknat name alfie60……sighhhh

• alfie60 on Oct 28, 2011 at 10:36 pm

It takes one to know one,bro! ;-)

• MoFaz on Oct 29, 2011 at 9:05 am

we don’t have to be a shit to know that you’re shitty. we know we’ll get shitty comments once we see “alfie60”

• say say on Oct 28, 2011 at 1:48 am

Aiseh..skirting bumper belakang mcm NGL Impul la..tau la pakai CVT Nissan..takkan skirting pun tak reti design one!

• Bila pula PROTON guna CVT NISSAN??,Awak ni org Malaysia ke??org luar pun tahu PROTON guna CVT Punch Motive…

• say say on Oct 28, 2011 at 3:36 pm

oopss…sorry…

Exora got no CVT right?…NGL got one….

what I mean Exora mau guna CVT like NGL, skirting design pun ada look like NGL..

haa..ada better..

dont mad mad..later got sold..

peace!

• wei ong on Oct 28, 2011 at 4:09 am

xpyah nk komen apa2,korg bukan leh buat proton untung pun..tgok ,bace sudah..xske diam xpyh jd anjing okey

• November on Oct 28, 2011 at 10:12 am

Proton really working hard to improve itself. So I’m gonna support them for now. I’m still positive towards Proton for now.

• bila plak masa exora x publish fc dlm brochure? Mule2 kuar dulu dh publish. Gear pun bgtau mitsu punya.
    Yg cvt plak,bile masa pkai nissan punya cvt. Flx cvtkan dh launch,dia pkai punch motive punya cvt,manual getrag. Aiyo,camnelah org2 mcm ni bleh komen ngarut2 nih. Aduyai.

• izack04 on Oct 28, 2011 at 12:14 pm

This mpv looks better than my father’s exora MC…..great new front bumper…..anyway good achievement…..keep on developing new idea into proton car……
    Hope the cvt gearbox shows better petrol saving than its predecessor…….

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 28, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Proton, try competing on equal ground.. See how fast you crash and burn

• rally_fan on Oct 28, 2011 at 6:08 pm

you said it yourself sonic boomz.. “try competing on equal ground”. at least they’re trying. everyone who becomes successful has crashed and burned many times over.

• hoochiez on Oct 29, 2011 at 9:39 am

P1 won’t survive la without protection… Not ready, which is why rakyat is absolutely disappointed…all the cronism, corruption and leakges….producing substandard cars for the rakyat !!! Another 25yrs maybe…maybe then.

• JgnHrpGovJe on Nov 21, 2011 at 11:20 am

kwn i sendiri ckp keta exora dia kalau naik bukit mcm taik! then korg fikirlah sendiri..