Mitsubishi Pajero Sport VGT Test Drive Report from Sabah

We’ve wanted it since Thailand had it earlier this year, and Mitsubishi’s Variable Geometric Turbo (VGT) engine is now here, packaged within the Pajero Sport SUV body. Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) launched the new variant last month.

With the addition of VGT, the 2.5-litre DI-D commonrail diesel unit puts out 178 PS and 350 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 3,500 rpm. It’s quite a substantial increase from the non-VGT engine’s 136 PS and 314 Nm. Better still, the benefits stretch at both ends – the Pajero Sport VGT is claimed by MMM to be 12% more fuel effiicient that before.

We recently got to drive the Pajero Sport VGT on the beautiful mountain roads of Sabah. Read the full report after the jump.

As a recap, the Pajero Sport was launched here in mid 2009. The seven-seater SUV is based on Mitsubishi’s stylish Triton pick-up truck, but is also more than just a Triton with a canopy. Features that set it apart include plusher materials, Tiptronic manual shift, third row seats and rear coil spring suspension in place of the Triton’s leaf springs.

Currently, MMM sells 2WD and 4WD versions of the Pajero Sport, and the VGT, available only in 4WD automatic form, is an addition to the range. All are imported CBU from Thailand.

Visually, there isn’t much to differentiate the VGT from its less powerful siblings, only a locally fitted VGT badge on the tailgate and a “Hi Power” emblem on the sides. All else is familiar. Inside, the VGT is quite well equipped. The centrepiece is an aftermarket 2-DIN Kenwood ICE system. This full colour touch screen head unit incorporates a reverse camera and Garmin GPS guidance.

Other useful features are cruise control (buttons on the steering’s right spoke), leather upholstery, auto climate control plus rear AND front parking sensors (upgraded from two to four eyes at each end). A new addition here is Mitsubishi’s magnesium shift paddles, as fitted to the Lancer and ASX.

The long and conspicuous paddles control a new gearbox – a five-speed INVECS-II automatic transmission, one ratio more than the non-VGT Pajero Sport. So it’s a new engine, new gearbox and more features in the cabin for the extra RM5,000 over the GS 4WD. The Pajero Sport VGT is priced at RM167,375.80, slightly less than the Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi Premium, which MMM considers a rival.

The Pajero Sport has always been a decent SUV to drive, taking into account its truck underpinnings. Not much of a surprise really, since Mitsubishi’s entrants into the C-segment sedan and SUV markets are on the better side of the driving scale. The Triton, which contributes its platform to the Pajero Sport, is also the pick-up truck that those coming from cars will be most comfortable with.

The Pajero Sport rides well, and I reckon that this comfort is one of its main strengths. Besides ironing out bad roads and soaking bigger bumps well, the big SUV is also firm and steady past the highway limit. And the rear end doesn’t hop around independently, thanks to the coil springs that replace the Triton’s leafs. By the way, the front seat design is new, and it’s more supportive than before, too.

The Pajero Sport is not the sharpest tool in the bends, for obvious reasons, but it hangs on pretty decently if you ignore the body roll and weight transfer, and push on. Two-time Dakar champion Hiroshi Masuoka was brought into Borneo to show us how it’s done. In a parking lot with cones, the champ threw the Pajero Sport’s considerable 2 plus tonnes into crazy lean angles, even lifting some tyres in the process.

As usual for Masuoka san (yours truly is lucky to have rode with him on several occasions now) he was twirling the wheel nonchalantly, smiling and talking in the process. Like a well oiled driving machine, the man was consistent round after round from start to end.

We did not go to such extremes on the road, but it’s good to have the knowledge that this isn’t an easy car to topple despite protests from your passengers.

Nothing has changed in that respect, which leads us to the powertrain. It’s been very long since I drove the Pajero Sport, and without a back to back refresher, it’s hard to tell the difference, although I’m sure an extra 42 PS and 36 Nm will feel different. In isolation, it’s a strong diesel engine in the truck mould, which means it roars and one shouldn’t expect BMW 20d refinement or response.

Engine response isn’t the most immediate, which may give the (wrong) impression of a big lazy beast, but speed rises faster that you’d think – just observe the speedo. Also, the VGT engine’s turbo whistle is quite apparent, if that tickles your fancy. Wind down the windows to appreciate.

We drove a long scenic route from Kota Kinabalu city (they have great beef noodles!) to Mesilau up in the mountains, and I found myself using the shift paddles a lot, definitely a useful addition and more convenient than the shift lever, which has Tiptronic on the far side of the driver. Those long sickles are standard Mitsubishi issue, the best of its kind, in my opinion.

Our route included an off road stretch that the Pajero Sport dismissed with ease. While the stretch was mild for off road standards, I still wouldn’t have attempted it in a crossover SUV. Here, one has good ground clearance, approach/departure angles and a robust frame, plus MMC’s Super Select 4WD system with four modes – 2H, 4H, 4HLc and 4LLc.

The Mitsubishi Pajero Sport VGT is a good SUV in the traditional sense. Rugged underpinnings that can truly go off road, but with good comfort, space and amenities for those who use it solely as an urban machine. Although it might look unflattering next to the Hyundai Santa Fe for some, the Mitsu is a different sort of animal really, one with its own set of strengths.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 30, 2011 at 3:07 am

the car is meh. prefer the other pajero. great picture of Hiroshi Masuoka though.

• gavin on Oct 30, 2011 at 4:04 am

It has the most handsome ass among the rest

• interesting

• Alifz on Oct 30, 2011 at 7:42 am

Wow..so great you all can go to Mensilau..never had oppoturnity go go there even I’m staying at Sabah for 2 years…
    Anyway the tranny is normal AT, not the CVT is it?

• TurboMan on Oct 30, 2011 at 8:25 am

Nice SUV with a great engine.

Its on my list now shall i need an SUV.

• nice, that’s the tamparuli bridge in your first photo! in the old days it wasn’t possible to cross that area in the late afternoons as it would be flooded by then

• Wah! Paddle shifters for huge SUV? Must be a first. Will buy…

• How about comfort with the SUV fully loaded with 7 passenger? How is the 3rd row comfort compared to Innova, or other 7 seater SUV?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 30, 2011 at 1:24 pm

We had plenty of luggage, so no chance to try out the last row

• eskay on Oct 31, 2011 at 9:21 am

the 3rd row seat is not very spacious. im only 5’6″, and on a long haul journey, you can’t stretch you feet at all if both seats are occupied. for kids should be no problem. the ride is acceptable back there.

• sick&tired on Oct 30, 2011 at 9:32 am

The Santa Fe is a much better looking SUV compared to the Pajero Sports although I suspect the Pajero Sports is better for offroad usage (with its truck underpinnings).However if I need something for offroad, I would rather get a pickup truck and save RM80k in the process!

• Santa Fe is more powerful too wt 440nm & 190+hp compared to the pajero sports…plus a lower road tax for santa fe 2.2 liter engine compared to pajero 2.5 liter…

but the pajero have bttr off road capabilities BUT, its wiser to opt for a cheaper Triton if u need something for off road which leave this Pajero as an uglier,less powerful & higher road tax alternative to the santa fe???

• pentium 4 on Oct 30, 2011 at 9:36 am

Yes….! Very good review by paultan.org… I hope more and more new models will be tested in Sabah as the road conditions is far more difficult than in Peninsular… If it can perform well in Sabah, definitely it can perform better in Penisular…

• toyota fans on Oct 30, 2011 at 6:09 pm

hahahha…. lets ask paultan go pick a new car, drive it from KK to sandakan…first thing rosak, SUSPENSION!! this is why sabah have alot 4WD suv or double cabin, and then the roadtax is cheaper than penisular

• subhero on Oct 30, 2011 at 9:55 am

ive been visit this car at showroom abt a month a go. since my sorento having a lot trouble. then, i visit also new fortuner .

price compare = almost same.
    beutiful compare = both beutiful
    interior compare = VGT
    exterior compare = fortuner.

and, till now i still using my current sorento, its becoz, i have to cover abt 25k more to settle bank settlement. so sad. but for me, ill choose VGT. superb driving, more leasure, and very2 suitable for SITE PROJECT conditions.

• policeman on Oct 30, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Did you visit a kindergarten?

• BeemerFreak on Oct 30, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Pray hard that Naza brings in the 2.2 crdi Sorento. by then it will be the SUV to look out for.

• lonelyobserve on Oct 30, 2011 at 9:58 am

Checked globally on Mitsubishi’s 2.5 DID engine (model number 4D56). This high power diesel engine sacrifices the torque for using automatic tranmission.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_Astron_engine

Comparing with manual transmission and automatic tranmission, engine with manual tranmission has 400Nm of torque whereas engine with automatic transmission has torque to be reduced to 350Nm.

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 30, 2011 at 10:26 am

Will the Triton VGT have the same features as the Pajero Sport VGT? (paddle shift, 5 speed etc) I heard the Triton VGT is gonna be launched on Feb next year.

• Black Dog on Oct 30, 2011 at 11:24 am

Why no photos of the off road stretch? Since already in misilau, might as well hike up mt KK. Thats what i did last year, it was breath taking!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 30, 2011 at 1:27 pm

I was driving that stretch, can’t multi task :)

• redyoyo on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:05 pm

U can’t just hike up the mt like that. have to make bookings & reservations etc etc. Anyway I always always enjoy the drive up to Kundasang/Mesilau, when I am not the driver. You West Malaysians should come to KK more often. Help our economy a bit. Eat our beef noodles like what Danny did.

• nabill on Oct 30, 2011 at 11:47 am

i saw one the other day…my godness i think its one of the TALLEST vehicles u will ever see…from behind , u pretty much see 80% of the rear tyres….it should ride abit lower….it definatly will have problems in some tight car parks….

• Jhuan on Oct 30, 2011 at 11:51 am

I did have sat and drove in one of the Lower version of 2WD GL, very good impression on it’s comfort, cabin quietness and power. One of the best in that price range. Driver position also very ergonomic.

• LP570-4 on Oct 30, 2011 at 11:52 am

I love sabah. Beautiful places & beautiful women.
    I’m going to sandakan tomorrow for off road expedition to Kuamut for a week.

• where’s the rear seat picture?

• amatku17 on Oct 30, 2011 at 1:54 pm

I think this is the right time for paultan.org to organize a shoot out for 4WD segment.
    should include Santa Fe, Pajero Sport and Fortuner for example. Let test on sprint, body roll, comfort, NVH, FC,gadjets etc. Totally awesome comparison.

• Masked Ryder on Oct 30, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Since many claim Santa Fe is better ! Why not pit Pajero Sport against Santa Fe in an offroad challenge, after that Santa Fe can tapau & claim total lost !

Santa Fe ! look like 4X4, sound like 4X4, but can’t perform like actual 4X4 on Offroad.
    Just like Korean Car Fanboy full hot air but no real ingredient.

• FattyBear on Oct 30, 2011 at 5:55 pm

One of the more attractive 4WD’s available on the local mkt.

The santa fe 2.4 basic looks interesting too at a lower price but for mud duty, nothing beats a diesel

• rexxx on Oct 30, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Paul, why dont you do an SUV review which includes this Pajero Sport, new Fortuner, Sorento, Santa Fe, Captiva, Everest, or etc. Just like the Camry, Teana, Accord one :) we would definitely love that.

• Nieto on Oct 30, 2011 at 7:08 pm

How does it perform during the steep hill right before mesilau resort?

• Ahmed on Oct 30, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Mitshu…. Good brand but second hand value koyak sure……. Pity …. Less service center compare with t n h n n ……

• Starstreak on Oct 31, 2011 at 6:41 am

Then get an underspec Toyota Fortuner. If this how Malaysians generally are (resale value on top of everything else), Toyota will be happy to keep on selling underspec Vehicle with some minor ugly facelift for a very high price!

• Can we buy a manual transmission version if we want it? Will MMM bring it in?

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 30, 2011 at 11:46 pm

I still don’t get why none of these pickup chassis suv’s (save from the innova) offer a lower riding 2wd only version with the full complement of options and top of the range engine.

I sure don’t need 4wd but would appreciate the toughness and load capacity of the body on frame chassis while saving a few 100 kg and a few 1000$ by loosing the 4wd. I mean, loose the 4wd and you’d increase performance and handling and reducing fuel consumption

• Because this car is not built only for you, city boi. You might not need the 4wd but for those who drives wrecked roads in sabah/sarawak, they are life safers. BTW, with VGT Diesel, you are already saving a lot of fuel compared to a 2.5L Petrol turbocharged unit.

• and hear I thought you can change the 2WD and 4WD intermittently under 80kmh speed. or did I read wrongly.

• Indon Man on Oct 31, 2011 at 12:43 am

This Pajero Sport is a truck based, just like Innova which is using Dyna chassis.

• ericg on Oct 31, 2011 at 8:05 am

hey danny, which beef noodles u had? kah hiong? or…? hehe

• then u should consider mitsu asx instead 4G63T DSM. it has 2wd only and low weight or bought pug 3008 with mile of option as standard

• Any idea what is the fuel consumption is for the VGT?
    How many KM / Litre?

• amiro on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:04 am

well..well..well…i owned a white vgt since last 1.5 months..perhaps among the early owner before the production delayed due to thailand flood…i did my homework before booked it…yes santa fe has a bit HP higher but i prefer the macho image of this vgt…highway performance is not bad at all where i can consistently cruise at 160 km/h at comfortable NVH and stability…( if you need to go 200 km/h , please dont opt for SUV..but i’m pretty sure this beast can reach that speed ) i’m happy with its performance and no problem at all commuting me every day to the KL office in tight space urban driving…i’m not an offroad.guy but still enjoy the performance of this SUV…i drove T brand before and had enough “T and H” fever…

second hand value? as long as i’m satisfied with the performance,why should i worry on the matter…..for those still in T&H fever of secondhand value..i think maybe you can start investing in KLCI stock exchange,beli saham ,public mutual for more profitable return in the future rather than buy a car…peace…

• Jimmy Ng on Feb 17, 2013 at 10:12 pm

I owned a pajero vgt for 1/2 month.The fuel comsumption which I tested from KL – Penang only 8.78km/L.any idea to increase the ration to 16.5 as mentioned in the specification.

• Kim.ykp on Feb 20, 2013 at 8:56 pm

I owned triton vgt since sept 2012 and so far very good to have one. Kimanis to keningau road i think the paling mencabar road in Malaysia but this vgt pakai gear 3 and 5 only. Still can feel the pecutan..

• pak ya on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Just want to share my dissatisfaction on your service and commitment to fulfil your promise with customer. This was not the first incident since I used the Pajero VGT (elements are to advance for the sub-normal kids to absorb. It was ashamed when I faced 2 major problems while using the new Paris Dakar equipment.

For info I just ride the car on asphalt road and once awhile I ride on earth road around 30-40ms from asphalt road that connecting my mother’s kampong house. I do not have the opportunity to drive on the desert. I have tried once last week while attending on weeding ceremony in Gurun Kedah but the morphology of the geographical features there more or less very similar like in Ipoh and not as Paris Dakar route.AJD 7708) since December 2012.

First incident I need to replace my fuel pump just after done 2000kms. Assumed due to sub-grade diesel been used even though not for my case. Service on the first few months’ not professional e.g. not return a call, lost the appointment made etc. After that the service never improve. This comment not only from my experience but my other colleagues experience too.

It began when I start to lodge the report of GPS malfunction. Too many promises been raised but not fulfil until to the level of to return back my call. The Ipoh’s manager has promised to replace the whole unit of Kenwood set since 16 Oct 13 through phone communication after a long silly battle with Ipoh team which admitted finally based on all of my “common sense” points as a normal human being except the ancestor of Mr Darwin. Unfortunate for 2 months I’m keep waiting for the result in silence and patience until yesterday I start knocking and asking the status of those promises. It was very upset that been told that I need to send my car for the agent to pull out the unit from my car and they need to check it for another few more days. After it been fixed I need to send again my car to pajero service to re-install my “new” Kenwood unit.

Is ok for me to adhere with all those smart arrangements but I’m got angry because my great great grandmother radio can’t fix into my narrow pajero sport compartment. This is the big reason on why I’m too angry with Mitsubishi service.

I don’t know what the hell your team are doing. I have used Isuzu,Toyota and Ssang yong but never experienced such experience with their team. Send my regards to Mr Tetsuya Oda and ask him to start with the first S only for the beginnings and not the 5 S yet or as your 3s outlet because your team I see as a bunch of kindergarten kids and I’m afraid the elements introduce as S

• yusuf on Oct 10, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Just want toJust want to share my experienced and disappointment with MMA, agent (FA) and the car itself ( Pajero VGT/ Plate number AJD7708). Started to use on December 2012.
    1) First month ( Jan/Feb 13) – diesel pump need to be replaced due to leaking
    2) Fourth month later (~ april 13) – GPS “kong” – blaming game between vendor (Kenwood) and MMA agent ( FA automobile) up to extend of the blaming of the poor tinted ” V kool” reduced the receiving signal. Blind man also can laugh of this reason.
    3) New Throttle body been replaced at last due to leaking few months later after silly battle with the agent. if not mistaken sometimes early this year , hopefully the workmanships at least equivalent with our national car personnel.
    4) Turbo charger leaking end last year and been replaced with the new unit sometimes mid this year. The package inclusive of the cutting of the metal housing due to difficulties to install the turbo hose properly as per standard plant installation plus heavily leaking on more than one joining hose after the installation. Until today very unfortunate need to continuously battling with MMA care line and agent due to maybe incompetency of the expert to look after the problems during the installation and need to wait the “used unit” as a comparison benchmark. Not sure either this is one of the measures as per MMA’s SOP to check the problems or some tactic of escapism with some backup of technical reason. The leaking of turbo hose still there even been tighten regularly.
    5) For the first time ( Sept 14) after more than one year my GPS can works properly since the Kenwood can’t runaway by blaming the receiving inefficiency due to “V Kool” tinted after I challenged them to torn the “V Kool” screen at my cost in order to proof the problems not because of the poor “V Kool”. Unfortunate the happiness not long since I found the plier been left on my battery terminal when I want to check my powerful turbo the next morning plus I noticed the screen wiper position not resting on the original position but 2 inches above it. My colleague always salute and smile to me while they travelling together in my car. Lucky nothing happened to the car due to carelessness of the “plier incident”.
    6) Brake producing “screaming sound” ended in Sept14 after more than a year as a responsible citizen I’m waking up my neighbours for free in the morning.
    7) Break down communication, no proper procedures in place plus etc. I’m don’t want to wasting my time to write more or wasting other people time to read more. If need more information can be contacted by my mobile 012-5172357, my car number AJD7708 .

• yazid on Mar 12, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Just to share again another experience with my Pajero Sport VGT.
    This time it involved the engine screaming when travelling “long distance climbing” on the road such as Batang Kali to Gohtong Jaya, Simpang Pulai to Cameron Highland or any long distance climbing roads in Malaysia.
    This type of problem first time happened to me in 2-3 months early while travelling from Gerik to Jeli on the East West Highway where my RPM very closed to 4000rpm and my speed limit just between 60-70km/h. The engine produced loud sound and maintained all the way while was in climbing mode. Waiting for the engine back to normal by reducing the speed to 40km/hwhile still in moving mode but unfortunate not happened until I decided to stop the car along the road side in order to normalized back the running engine. Unfortunate still the same. Later decides to switch off the engine and switch on the engine back in order to alternative rectify the problems by the “kampong” approached. Thanks god it works. Thinking because of the new car it happened like that and no complaint lodge to Pajero until second incident happened while traveling from Simpang Pulai to C highland road.
    This time I lodged the complaint to FA Automobile Ipoh and everything were rectified as mentioned to me when I picked up back my car from them. Unfortunate the third incident happened while travelling from Batang Berjuntai to Gohtong Jaya. Later I lodged a complaint through phone to FA Automobile.
    Unfortunate all the fixing events by FA automobile ended with the same problems which still the same on the “engine screaming” and too high in RPM. Not sure what they have fixed.
    At last 2 months ago the Ipoh FA Automobile service advisor revealed the information that this type of Pajero coming without the oil cooler unit as what the previous model have. He also mentioned this type of problems also happened to their other customers and I’m very happy on this information since I’m not alone of this battle. He given his assurance to fix the problem for free. Unfortunate as what happened on 10 March 2015 they can’t fulfill their promises since my mileage exceeding the guarantee limit.
    When I lodged the complaint to their customer care line the explanation was different and the lady mentioned the unit is not covered as per agreement contract.
    Actually I’m confused with Mitsubishi and the service agent policy on any communications I have with both of them and I’m not referring only on my recent communication with them yesterday but also since I used the Pajero VGT on Dec 2013 where I always encountered the inconsistency of the explanations, services, internal communications etc. The communications with them taken place since my new unit of Pajero need to be replaced with the new oil pump, follow by throttle body and later the turbo unit. These 3 items considered the main items in any motoring vehicle operations. The last battle with them was the GPS unit replacement after I challenged them that I’m willing to torn my V-kool tinted if they keep on blaming the tinted caused of the GPS signal issues. The latest issue now of my lovely Pajero Sport is the oil cooler unit.
    After quite sometimes I took deep breath I understand now why the Paris-Dakar event is the best promotion tools of this type of Pajero. I realized the Paris Dakar route do not involves any long distance climbing , everything were the flat terrains and sandy with dusty environments.
    So my advice to the 4WD fanatic outside there if you’re looking to travel in the country with the hilly terrains don’t by this type of car. For Malaysian can buy Kembara . It’s more worth it. But if you think you want to have the 4WD experience for the purpose to buy the fish from the market etc this is the unit that most recommended.. But please ensure the market not at Genting Highland or C Highland or the same level. Or you can plan you’re future 5-10 years route plans that you will avoiding the climbing terrains in order to use this type of car. Cheers

• mitsu not fanboi on May 05, 2015 at 10:30 pm

bro..u can read on manual book about the gear sliping when climbing long distance road..happen with me once..my solution is install atf cooler under MMM waranty, but in manual book..its happen because it prevent u from losing power during climbing road if i not mistaken..but my techinician told me that because of the transmison fluid temp above the normal temp..go try cek up on manual book bro