Free parking for hybrid vehicles in PJ for three months

Three months of free parking in Petaling Jaya – that’s the cheery news awaiting new hybrid vehicle owners. The Petaling Jaya City Council, or MBPJ, has announced the free parking initiative as part of its green incentives programme as tabled in its 2012 budget.

According to a report, hybrid vehicles – and that means the Honda Insight, Toyota Prius as well as the Lexus CT 200h and RX 450h (and the Honda CR-Z, when that arrives soon) – will be given a special pass to enjoy the free parking, which presumably is valid for any public parking bay in the city. The report mentions that the incentive will be for cars registered from January 1.

There’s no mention of when the free parking duration will begin though; presumably again, this should be anytime from January next year. Which also brings about the question – does the January 1 registration validity only cover vehicles registered from the start of 2012, or from this year? Questions, questions.

In other news mentioned in the report, the council will also be spending RM100,000 to install energy-efficient LED lights at residential areas, which will help brighten back lanes. The cost of installing the lights, maintenance and replacement of faulty lights will be borne by the council, states the report.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• very good move indeed !

• cucibawang on Nov 01, 2011 at 7:34 pm

wah like that all civic owner must dress up the civic like hybrid civic for the next few months hehe… there judge hybrid or not from the look of the civic only right? hehe..

• Untungnya jadi orang kaya… Bwk kereta hybrid(mahal).. Minyak jimat.. Parking pon free… Orang miskin je yg bnyk kos hidup sekarang ni

• wah untung nya orang kaya yang mampu beli kereta hybrid(mahal)… dah la jimat minyak.. parking pun dapat free.. tinggal lah orang miskin kat malaysia ni dengan kos sara hidup tinggi..

aik mcm terbalik je situasi

• jadikan motivasi untuk kita berusaha jadi orang juga

• mcguyver on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:27 pm

Kenapa kamu miskin?? Kenapa org lain kaya?? renungilah…

• im just saying that our G should think about helping needing people first=__=

• rush hour on Nov 04, 2011 at 8:51 pm

hybrid users are paying more but contribute to less pollutions.

this kind of specialty has been practised in japan and UK among others, with either free parking, lower taxes and/or free entry to cities like London, where the council charges for congestion caused by road users.

• tishaban on Nov 01, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Excellent move, let’s hope we have more incentives to reduce our usage of fuel (and indirectly reducing the subsidy the Govt has to pay). How about reduced tolls? :D

• buskerhatesTnH on Nov 01, 2011 at 5:58 pm

the cost of parking for 5 years wont cover the cost the car’s bateri….

but a good move to promote ‘green’ stuff

• enough with the battery issue, its getting old already.lets face it, any car will also face defects

• Nigel on Nov 01, 2011 at 6:07 pm

CT 200h tak dapat?
    hahahah

• How bout the lexus CT200h ?

• Only 3 months? In the USA they have special parking slots for hybrid vehicles everywhere. As well as special stop zones at airports, malls, etc.

• Pak Abu on Nov 01, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Abis ko nak brapa lama? 50 Tahun? Ni bukan US, ni Malaysia ngok. Abis kenapa jamban kat Malaysia semua ada pili air, kat US takde?… sapu bontot ngan tisu je. suruh US berubah ikut Malaysia dulu

• Pak Abu yang Ulu… *shake head…

• PakAbu on Nov 01, 2011 at 7:08 pm

That’s not me :mrgreen:

• Pak Abu on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:20 am

Ko ingat ko sorang nama pak abu kat Malaysia nih? Ko ada daftar hak cipta ker guna nama ni? By the way, PakAbu and Pak Abu adalah perkataan yg berlainan. Klu tak paham, sah BM UPSR ko tak pass

• Anti-emo on Nov 01, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Kenapa emo tak pasal2 ni Pak Abu oiiii. Mak Ngah tak beri ke malam tadi?

• musangberjanggut on Nov 01, 2011 at 9:13 pm

pak abu, kt malaysia pun ade laa tandas yg xde pili air.. kt klcc nun pegi tgk.. cehh~~

• dear Z, if in malaysia, people will never follow the rules.. just go to the shopping mall, see the parking for the disable people was got ‘sapu’ by people i describe as CACAT AKAL.. parking for “orang kurang upaya” but parked by people that “orang kurang usaha malas cari parking”.. sighhh~~ if there are special parking for hybrid or electric car, it will also been occupied/used by those stupid people..

• critic_A on Nov 01, 2011 at 6:38 pm

any news for proton Inspira R3???

• See Whye on Nov 01, 2011 at 7:05 pm

Stupid move. Which is more eco-friendly, a Lexus RX450h or a Perodua Viva? Why should the Lexus get more benefits? And how about modern diesel cars, many of which are as economical as hybrids in real life driving?

• kumpel on Nov 01, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Totally agree… Viva and Sawi should get free parking also

• viknesh on Nov 01, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Agree with u, they should have free parking for hybrids less that 2.0cc and electric cars.
      plus free tol charges on highways also.

• squawk on Nov 01, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Thumbs up for modern diesel. MPPJ officers and councilors need to try out these cars themselves to see.

• Feast on Nov 01, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Exactly, hybrid cars are not for the poor. Cheapest being close to 100k for insight. And now the govt instead of helping the poor they are giving tax incentives and now free parking to the rich. The guy who bought a Lexus hybrid will not give a shiit to these few ringgit free parking. While the guy who struggle to pay for his old kancil still have to pay for it.

• fuel cell phone on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:47 pm

totally agreed

• squawk on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:32 am

Not really. Just look at the number of ‘rich man’ cars illegally parked outside the shopping malls to save a few RM. :-)

• Mokmeng on Nov 02, 2011 at 11:18 am

Orang kalau dah pakai kereta hybrid tu nak kesah pe pasal free parking.Celah gigi je semua tu.Yang sudah kaya makin ditolong,yang miskin ni makin ditindas.

• heckler on Nov 02, 2011 at 12:22 pm

the issue here is not helping the poor. it’s helping the enviroment for our future generation. get the facts right.

• Mokmeng on Nov 02, 2011 at 3:12 pm

kalau nak cakap pasal jaga environment ada banyak lg cara lg efektif dari bagi free parking ni,yg duk gondol bukit sana sini sampai tanah runtuh tu lg besar impak dia kat pesekitaran..
          ni gimik je lebih..parking sedia ada pon tak cukup..

• Feast on Nov 02, 2011 at 4:25 pm

Environment my foot. Ask all those who bought Insight, you think they really thought of environment?? They only thought they can save a couple of ringgit of petrol. If those Lexus 450 really think of environment then he SHOULD NOT buy this car. 3.5L and you call that good for environment? IF they want to think of environment, the very same ppl who bought Hybrid should not be throwing rubbish out of their car as I SAW from an Insight. IF govt want to think of environment, the very first thing is to stop corruption and start to take those choking black smoke lorries out. Improve public transport and provide us with clean diesel. All the saving on environment from Hybrid not even contribute to 0.0000001% of all those pollution.

• Wallstreet on Nov 02, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Hybrid cars ARE not that environmental friendly either. First they still run on fuel and worst still their battery need recharging that will contribute to more fuel consumption. Secondly the manufacturing process of battery also contribute a large part as well. Thirdly the disposal of this battery is another major pollution to our earth. If you are still driving even on Hybrid or electric car then you are not qualified to talk about saving the earth. Take a bicycle…

• mcguyver on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Eco friendly means TOTAL ZERO or LOW CARBON EMISSION (CO2) . U try find out and compare Hybrid cars and Viva Co2 rate.. And not by comparing fuel consumptions

• Sunny on Nov 01, 2011 at 7:35 pm

If they implement to national car let say a year I believe many more will buy national car. The profit of sales share with municipal

• nebula87 on Nov 01, 2011 at 7:54 pm

who cares?

• Nameless One on Nov 01, 2011 at 8:03 pm

How about Honda CR-Z ??

• Nameless One on Nov 01, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Honda CR-Z?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:33 pm

Ah, when that is launched it will no doubt be added to the list.

• policeman on Nov 01, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Who pays for public parking anyway? For 4 years I’ve parked for free on public lots.
    If it can cover my workplace parking then that’s good.

• 100% whole heartedly agreed.

I would also like to add, how about NGV vehicles? Why don’t they get free parking?

Who deserves free parking more? Folks who drive a Perodua? Or folks who can afford to drive cars which cost at least RM90,000++?

Which brings on the burning question, which cars are more energy efficient and eco friendly overall to produce and to run? Small capacity petrol cars made in Malaysia? Or, hybrid cars made in Japan, with a lot more components than a normal car, toxic batteries, electric motors which use very rare metals, and which subsequently took a ship (a very un eco friendly mode of transportation) to arrive on the shores of Malaysia.

• hybrid cars get free parking
    then same car get double parked

combustion engine FTW

• Why should these expensive cars get free parking?

• Next time the battery operated wheelchair also got special free parking. This totally suck.. Hybrid is richman only can afford. Actually must charge them more parking fee..Due to their car less pollution when finding parking. They can turn more place to find parking. Please dont scold me for this idea. If standard petrol or diesel car..they generate more heat and CO while finding parking. this must be minimize

• DarkAvenger on Nov 03, 2011 at 12:39 pm

I support you. Ruch people who can afford 100k imported cars should pay DOUBLE for their parking!

• hahah, Get your facts right! rx450h emission only 148g/km while viva arond 141g/km and myvi arond 150g/km. look ma the 450h just as green as supermini

• Carl Wong on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:40 am

You mean CO2 emission? Insight (after facelift) is 96g/km getting close to Prius :], and the leader Prius is 89g/km. As technology improve we should be getting 50g/km soon and eventually ZERO/0 emissions from hydrogen fuel cells, all electrics, (compressed air vehicles??) etc.

• ILike on Nov 01, 2011 at 10:59 pm

cepat cepat beli hybrid sticker

• khaix19a on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:41 pm

that include porsche cayenne hybrid right????

• Radzuan on Nov 02, 2011 at 12:20 am

The issue here is not abt the car is cheap or expensive. Its about being eco and carbon free friendly and the existing hybrid vehicles deserve the incentives. Our existing vehiles hv high carbon emmission and the green house effect is creating havoc to mother earth. So to the critics, you are mising the point. Grow up boys!

• nabill on Nov 02, 2011 at 12:49 am

i will add ‘h’ to my car to indicate its a hybrid !

• amir hamzah on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:01 am

Fantastic initiative taken by MBPJ to promote “green technology”
    Looking forward to more Majlis Perbandaran’s following this same path
    and also working with manufacturers to install “plug-in” electric stations
    for EV’s at car parks / shopping complexes in the near future.
    I’m amazed that some people voted angry and sad when MBPJ is
    also using the latest tech to light up backlane and streets. …:)

• arcana on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:06 am

how bout LS600h? thats also hybrid, but i dont think we can even see one around

• Jolly_idiot on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:28 am

What a stupid move. Encourage green with free parking? Do you think people wil buy hybrid just becoz of free parking? And those can afford hybrid do they bother freebies like this?

A more solid way in promoting green in reducing the hybrid price and tax. Look at europe country, they already start using hybrid for decade ago and their hybrid cars is very affordable. I barely can see honda hybrid there but prius dominates the market.

Btw, why don’t they offer free summons for illegal parking on hybrid? I guess this move will create lotsa potential buyers on hybrid. This gives better encourage to go green. Better result maybe?

• mcguyver on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Not sure whether u r following the government budget last year and this year or not.. FYI all Hybrid cars in M’sia currently didnt impose on Excise & Import Duties…

• Do cars like Cayenne Hybrid and Panamera Hybrid are included in this free parking?

• droll on Nov 02, 2011 at 2:54 am

while i understand what the council is trying to do, and i am sure the guy who thought it up must be feeling so proud, this just goes down in the public’s eyes as another half thought of scheme.

you want to support green environment? eco friendly motoring? simple policy like that also open to loop holes.

i think they should not base the criteria on hybrid cars. they should base it on something like total co2 emissions of a vehicle. set a benchmark and if a car passes sthat mark then they get to enjoy free parking lah. ok, then we hv the other problem – what about cars so old that their co2 emission levels have gone up due to bad maintenance?

i really have no idea how they are going to enforce this. too many ways to cheat the system.

• every year who want free parking, need to do emission test at mbpj. those under certain ‘green’ level can get free parking for the whole year. next year if want free parking again then need to test again.

but every time test, need to pay rm200 fee, no matter what the result will be. hahaha.. gud idea or not mbpj? can i submit application for my company to be the authorize agent to do the test aa? we share half-half.

• llgriver on Nov 02, 2011 at 8:47 am

it should be free toll rather than free parking.no different to the environment between a parked range rover and a park prius.once the tyres roll, that’s make a different.

• what definition of hybrid they follow? … can nvg mix petrol car eligible? 2 power sources also.

not fair lar only expensive manufacturer labelled ‘hybrid’ can get free parking.. my wira ngv also hybrid whatttt!!

• Free parking? in the first place, are there even sufficient parking lots available? Good luck if you find one. We are always good at introducing new initiatives but none lasted, i.e. hangat2 tahi ayam saje….remember the multi level portable parking? white elephant now.

• Please lar, CO2 emissions are not the be all and end all of being environmentally friendly. There are many other factors to consider.

Hybrids have already done more environmental damage by being more resource intensive to build and to ship over, compared to more conventional vehicles, especially those with a lot of parts made locally or nearby.

BTW, ever wondered where they got the metals for the batteries used in hybrids? Very filthy business.

• Stupid ruling. Only cater rich people. How many can afford a hybrid? MBPJ should give discount for others and charge hybrid owners double instead.

• JazMan on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:27 pm

Personally, I think Malaysia is not doing enough to encourage more environmentally friendly alternatives, i.e. Hybrid cars.

Firstly, hybrid cars are still expensive. Honda Insight is the cheapest, but the price has only risen recently due to import “tax” duties. And it is still 100K plus, which is out of reach to most Malaysians.

Secondly, other countries have parking incentives, road and congestion charges levied (IN FULL) and even HOV-only lanes. What does Malaysia offers in terms of incentives? Free parking for 3 months?!?

Lastly, hybrid technology is a mature technology. It has been around for a while, and has proven its worth, while lowering CO2 emissions. Test drive any one of them, the Insight, Prius, or the CT200h. And you will find that the drive and power is excellent.

All in all, I think it is time that Malaysia really think about hybrid/EV vehicles incentive be reviewed thoroughly and really encourage it.

• junaidi on Nov 02, 2011 at 2:31 pm

hi MPPJ, can tow away those cars illegally parked too? make more money that way.

• Carl Wong on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:30 pm

I think those people who park illegally at road sides don’t just want to save the obviously affordable parking fees but refuse to make a few more turns or walk because they don’t have legs (why not cut them off if you don’t want to use them? You can use the orang cacat parking legally). I’m not sure because I don’t drink alcohol but the alcohol they drink is around RM50-100+++ per bottle?

• No One on Nov 03, 2011 at 9:02 am

Typical Malaysia, try to bodek middle to upper class group of people. Why PJ? Why not Kampung Baru? why not give free parking to local branded car like Proton & Perodua? these rich people take their luxury for granted, most of them have no road ethics, keta mahal2 pun xnk bg turn signal, b’lagak. dh senang nk lagi senang.

• This will only widen the social gap between the rich & not so rich who barely can afford their daily cost of life. Bodek org kaya je, why PJ & why not Kampung Baru? These middle to upper class people take their luxury for granted, many of them have no road ethics, don’t ever bother to give the turn signal. Can afford keta mahal2 but to arrogant to flick the turn signal. They should give free parking to local brand cars like Proton & Perodua, now that baru rakyat diutamakn :)

• squawk on Nov 03, 2011 at 7:18 pm

What PJ (and other cities) should do is encourage bicycling and provide safe non-bumpy routes and bicycle parking.

If it’s safe to cycle short distances, you’ll probably find fewer people driving out to the kedai runcit or 99 to buy a loaf of bread.

• NHP10 on Oct 09, 2012 at 12:15 pm

so many bastards here dont even drive a hybrid car but giving a thought like no other business. for 5000km travel per month i only poured around rm300+ for petrol instead of rm800 per month with my previous car. the extra of rm500 if buy a brand new city…u spent more on fuel + installment but with prius C…i can save money n enevirontment.