LRGP’s Eric Boullier: We have now a proper identity

The protracted Lotus vs Lotus naming row between Tony Fernandes and Group Lotus/Proton was settled earlier this month, with Group Lotus ending up with the ‘Lotus’ name in F1, and the present Team Lotus migrating to the Caterham name from next season.

This means a lot to Lotus Renault GP. “Massive, massive. Massive for many reasons. We have now a proper identity, we know who we are. We don’t have stories about Lotus, Renault, Genii, and how many shares, options, etc, – it is clear now,” said team boss Eric Boullier.

“It is clear, many, many sponsors who we were talking with, and which were planned for discussed in 2011, suspended, or even rejected the discussions because of this team name issue, so we can now restart the discussions and I have to say it is going in a very constructive way to make sure the future is done,” he added.

It’s no secret that the “new Lotus” under Dany Bahar’s leadership is placing motorsports and heritage as pillars for it to challenge the likes of Ferrari as a carmaker, which was why an F1 team racing with the ‘Lotus’ name but not under its control was an issue.

“The Lotus project is also much bigger, but something should be announced quite soon I hope and it is a nice way to secure our future with a new identity. It will change everything. Lotus brand, being the same family as Lotus Cars, is the same business model as Ferrari, the same business model as McLaren and it is completely legitimate to be in F1,” Boullier stressed.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• You’ve got to appreciate Tony Fernandez..without him, Lotus would not even have returned to Formula 1.

• AGREE…….

• M'sian Salvatore on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Full supported without him. Lotus RIP forever since 1994 frozen under Proton hand. The Team Lotus now RIP that win 7 time World champion. Now new chapter begin with their 1st ever season in Formula 1 by Group Lotus. Now we have Lotus sister very related in the past, Caterham F1 team in 2012. Caterham in the past banned being competing in any series by FIA because the FIA excuse is Caterham are damn too fast.

• You’ve got to appreciate the amount of the nation’s money being spent in this F1 team which ultimately is feeding the European economy via their motor racing industry

• I wonder how many of you know that this LRGP is around 75% Genii Capital and 25% Group Lotus. And Group Lotus is not involved in the technical development of the F1 car for now. And Renault, is just a hull for LRGP because they are using Renault Engine.. And FYI, Genii Capital is a bean counter, I believe the most sane minds know how bean counters work and how this might end up (example: GL over spending, like the G, to purchase the whole F1 team from Genii..).

I do have some hate against this Lotus, but that is all due to Eric Boullier and Danny Bahar.. Best of luck to Group LotusCars, but not F1.

• Gavin on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Meh rich people toys, basically one for you one for me, one for me one for you.

• MazlanHB on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:36 pm

Proton Savvy has a Renault engine, and was referred to as ‘my first Lotus’ in its marketing strategy…we can see Lotus n Renault r together now!

• M'sian Salvatore on Nov 23, 2011 at 2:16 am

Group Lotus is not together with Renault. There are Genii capital team. Renault sport f1 that won 2005 & 2006 WC sold their team to Genii capital, and now they only as Engine provider. The 7 time WC Team Lotus reunion with Renault Sport F1 for only a season of 2011 which is owned by TF. Next year Williams reunion again with Renault sport F1. which both in the past won championship with Renault engine. Team Lotus now gone RIP again for next yr onwards. Group lotus now in their 1st season at 2012 even thought they not the owner of the team which Genii capital are the actual owner. That is the most budget way to enter F1 because no money afford to own a F1 team. Special case and a laughing stock in F1 world.

• M'sian Salvatore on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:59 pm

Name is not the issue for team. They hv serious Top mgt issue and ethics issue for keep pointing finger critic & blame on their driver for mgt mistake & error. They are lousy BS team anyway. And their boss, Eric is a jerk bully Heifeld. See what result they can get achieve w/o him. Lucky Kimi not join their team & Kubica should join Ferrari in 2013.

• stevenLRGP on Nov 24, 2011 at 8:25 am

hey buddy, you seem to know a lot a bout racing…but the cold hard facts are these….this is the nature of the beast….how does bernie has so much control over the actual race when he is just the rights holder..u can say that in the past certain decision have been favorable to certain teams…why even luka in ferrari also welded the same wand as danny now…he is a the apprentice remember…only diff here that lotus is under a msian GLC which has a lot of money but lack the business acumen to do well in a international motorsports stage….we ahve arrived proper in F1 today dur to the publicity that was a result of the court battle….was is all a play to get the brand out there again…what was tony’s real plan…why did he not jsut give it up and settle for the big cash buy that was offerd wahy did he hold out till the very end and settled it amicably…

The rough and tough of the motorsports corporate world is not a very nice 1 if you really knoe who is doing waht to whom and when or even how….it is if you are willing to accept the REAL truth or just be another tin kosong and bash here!!

• ezracopters on Nov 27, 2011 at 11:42 pm

yup, certainly agree with you. all this court fiasco might be a setup by both of em..

well GL want to rebrand LOTUS and make a huge entrance as well. and tony, hate him all u want but he is natural born business minded. they had invest quite large amount on this sport, and immediately realize there is money to squeeze from this investment. so, why not..he decide to stay put in F1 while at the same time enjoying probably huge settlement paid by the GL to make a good team for himself in 2012.

i do believe the court case was actually nothing, they had settle it sooner than we though..it’s the PUBLICITY that both party seek for. as for Tony, im pretty sure soon we will get saloon car, MPV, SUV etc with a brand name, Caterham. hopefully he wont ask the G to recognize it as 3rd National Carmaker hehe…and LOTUS, well interesting years ahead, i cant wait to see their 1st product..nevermind the Roman Horse..i wonder will it be better that the Aston, the Jag and others compatriots.

so, actually it’s win win situation. beside, GL dont need to spend lots of money coz the majority investor actually is Genii Group, which mean he is the boss, so he gotta spend more.. come to think about it, well PROTON really know how to manipulate their love one hahaha.. only the pride and LOTUS name on the stake..whatever it is..2012, LOTUS def need much better racer and better car..