Thai Motor Expo: Subaru XV unveiled, and we sample it!

We have returned from the Thailand International Motor Expo 2011, where Motor Image (MI), the Subaru distributor for our region and beyond, unveiled the Subaru XV at its stand.

This XV in question is made in Japan and will go to MI marktes such as Singapore, Taiwan and Hong Kong. Malaysia? We have a locally assembled XV to look forward to, scheduled for an October 2012 release.

If you remember, back in July this website broke the news of Subaru’s CKD plans for ASEAN, with Malaysia as the hub. We followed up by revealing the XV as the model to be locally assembled at Tan Chong Motor Assemblies in Segambut, KL. Extra details came in our exclusive interview with Motor Image boss Glenn Tan, where he revealed more about the ASEAN bound XV as well as MI’s big plans for Malaysia. Click here to read the interview.

The XV is powered by a 2.0-litre four-cylinder horizontally-opposed Boxer engine, which is Subaru’s trademark layout. This engine, tuned for good low to mid end torque, is a new unit featuring Dual Active Valve Control System (DAVCS), 150 PS and 196 Nm.

Another USP of the brand is Symmetrical AWD, and the XV feeds drive permanently to all four wheels. The sole transmission choice is a Lineartronic CVT with manual selection. Brakes are discs all round, with the fronts ventilated. The XV’s suspension consists of front MacPherson struts and rear double wishbones.

While the XV’s shape looks similar to the Impreza hatchback’s at a glance, its front and rear styling is unique. It measures 4,450 mm long and had a 2,635 mm wheelbase, figures that are 35 mm and 15 mm longer than the Impreza hatch, respectively. The concept of the XV is not new, but this time, Subaru has dropped the “Impreza” name from the model, like how the Outback doesn’t wear the Legacy name.

We were given a preview of the XV at Motor Image Thailand’s modern Khlongkum hub, modeled after the all-in-one Toa Payoh Subaru hub in Singapore.

The drive wasn’t much to write home about, consisting of only a straight and a slalom run in the centre’s compound, but it did reveal good response and pick up, while exhibiting less body roll and weight shift than I imagined, considering the raised stance. The driver’s seat feels right for me – it goes low enough and the steering adjusts for rake, too.

The XV should prove to be a pleasant drive, but one will first need to remove any image, idea and expectation of a loud turbo Subaru. Yes, those blue monsters wearing gold shoes that roam our streets :)

The pics I took are a good preview of our CKD model, but some details are to be ignored. The point of local assembly is to lower the price, so it makes sense to stay away from the unnecessary luxuries. The sunroof you see here won’t be present, as with the full colour display above the centre stack and HIDs.

The factory stereo is likely to be replaced by a 2-DIN touch screen unit (with possible options for reverse camera/GPS) linked to the original steering audio switches. The shift paddles for the CVT will be present.

Fancy display won’t be in CKD car, but a touch screen 2-DIN HU with GPS/reverse cam might

Exterior wise, this is pretty much it, including the 225/55 R17 wheel size and the distinctive design of the alloys. The XV’s identity hinges on the tough off-roader looks, so the black body cladding and roof rails are highlights of this C-segment crossover. Tangerine Orange Pearl, as seen here, is the car’s signature colour, but less flashy hues will of course be available. I’m sure there will be requests for WR Blue!

Price wise, MI isn’t committing a figure yet, but promised that the XV will be priced competitively with C-segment SUV rivals. A lot depends on the exchange rate, and the Ringgit isn’t exactly faring very well against the Yen, unfortunately.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 11, 2011 at 4:19 pm

hmm….for a ckd car, i expect higher specs actually since the price is lower.

• arcana on Dec 11, 2011 at 6:11 pm

yeah, unless it carries a real cheap price tag….but judging that its not going to be a volume seller, i doubt its gonna be super cheap…..RM145K as a guess….

• Veelzedub on Dec 11, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Looks nice but dunno why it somehow looks like the Satria Neo both front and back

• ongtk on Dec 11, 2011 at 7:42 pm

That’s my impression too; especially the rear.

• Derrick C on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:24 am

Agree! Wao…. it shows our “P” is getting better this day…. ppl start copying thier design, “instead”…

• laluan sehala on Mar 08, 2012 at 6:08 pm

possibly because of the colour.

• A grown up Satria Neo? Wow…

• adiia1 on Dec 11, 2011 at 6:02 pm

VERY HANDSOME!!!

• mirror mirror on Dec 11, 2011 at 6:08 pm

I think there is a demographic change around this region and that is why we see more brands setting up more CKD ventures. My friend, 40, married with two kids just bought a Golf Tsi instead of the usual Camry or Accord because he still wants to have some fun driving. Such thoughts are less common say around 10 to 15 years ago.

So how does a non sporty or non turbo Subaru going to slot in among other well established Japanese and Korean brands? Have Malaysian motorists finally become more open to new brands and new segments of cars?

• arcana on Dec 11, 2011 at 9:20 pm

most B-D car segments can fit 4 passengers comfortably…..no surprise the choice of golf TSI, it only gets tight when its 5 passengers and thats where ppl with RM150K budget +/- opt for D segment cars for decent room.

demographics certainly change with more brands coming in….at least we dont see T & H brands running around like national cars anymore.

• mirror mirror on Dec 11, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Yup, that’s what I thought, the buying decisions of typical 40 year olds today are quite different from those of 40 year olds some 10 to 15 years ago, I think they are more willing to try new concepts and products.

• LFA LOVER on Dec 11, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Very handsome one. can i have one? wipe out the ugly asx

• Masked Ryder on Dec 11, 2011 at 8:18 pm

Say Good Bye to Tucson & Sportage, Japanese Rules !

• Yes…Support U.Korean car really suck.. I prefer back Japan car now.

• Ignorant.

• this is a hatchback car, but not suv.. why keep link to tucson and sportage?

• David D on Dec 12, 2011 at 4:18 pm

What a bunch of ignorant idiots. This car is more of an Impreza, given the Outback treatment, not designed from the ground up, so what you foolish brand bashers-cum-worshippers have to say now?

Don’t get me wrong, fellow commentators, the Impreza remains one of my favourite mid-size sedans, but i just can’t stand idiots like Masked Ryder keep bashing the Koreans in every single post about any car. Got nothing better to do isit other than bash? How about people like us bashing your beloved Toyota and Honda like no tomorrow?

• Masked Ryder on Dec 13, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Hey Look Ding Dang is talking sense here, but as usual selective prosecution, choose to make noise when korean car are been critised & play deaf when japanese car are bashed.

Infact i just an mirror image to those japanese car basher.

Well David Dude my feeling to u are mutual.

• David D on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Quite a stupid way to make yourself famous here, eh Masked Ryder?

Quit the bullcrap, and talk sense here. Your ignorance, as well as your tendency to call people silly names whenever we disagree with your sweeping comments, easily shows who’s the bigger child here. Very childish, man. Only knowing how to bash people like a kindergarden kid teasing his mates.

In case you’re wondering why i don’t always comment, it’s very simple. I will only make comments whenever someone makes incredibly stupid statements, like you, be it in Jap, Conti, or Korean.

Wanna know my thoughts of this car? SImple. Despite this being a Impreza on stilts, it still keeps the main essence a Subaru must have-a Boxer engine, AWD system, that makes every Subaru feel really secure to drive in any situation. Note that the interior is a significant improvement from the previous one, which was really plasticky.

Now, fellow commenters, if you’ve got some good replies towards this blind basher, give him a piece of your mind. Show arrogant, ignorant brand fanatics like Masked Ryder that there is no place when you try to be childish, or act arrogant.

Have some proper, logical replies before you reply Masked Ryder. You reap what you sow. And you’ve just got the first bite.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 13, 2011 at 5:46 pm

I’ll keep this short & simple (U r very long-winded for a youngman)

1st of all this ain’t reality show & I seek no 5 sec fame here, if that is in ur mind i sense jealousy, no wonder lot’s of personal attack, I would call u “name” when u deserved it by whining like a child who lost his candy.

My comments is simple Subaru XV is a better Sporty SUV than Sportage & Tucson, look & engine specs.

– End –

• David D on Dec 13, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Your comments say so, but like how we commentors go, we do anything to talk with logic, rather than just conclusions of this car will beat that, this, yada, and so on.

And, people like me, TurboMan, BeemerFreak all work on giving credit where it’s due, and not just praising this or that for nuts. Mind you, i have some beef towards certain Korean cars too, as some of them lose out to other brands as a result.

Got a problem with me being long-winded? Your own problem, not mine. But, hey, at least i’m just putting sense together, and not be some comedian-like commentator who keeps calling people pathetic names whenever someone tries to correct the wrongs of the wrongdoer. Grow up, man! This is a car market no longer dominated by Toyota or Honda, but a massive competition of all makes, whether in reviews, sales, and awards!

And, FYI, Paul Tan and his team just picked up a Santa Fe Premium as their company car. Stupid? Paul Tan brand polisher? No, it’s people like you who can’t accept the reality of stiff compedition, resorting to punching at the lowest level.

• Masked Ryder on Dec 14, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Typical David D posting, another long article with little point.

Your so call credit toward japanese car just an cover up with lot of agony behind.

I too have discredit some japanese made such as Honda Brio (which i think is a outdated design) Nissan Juke (which i think is too weird look).

But unlike U & the bunch of gundoos who would even appraise even a Korean Garbage Trucks.

So why would i care what Paultan Tan team drive, nor would care what K-Pop Idol drive, unlike u i don’t fancy idol.

Let me tell u why i never like Korean Car, there are just a Cheap Copy of other made, Copying Japanese Engine, First Copying American Design Now Copying European Design, The only reason people choose Korean are are becoz they are “CHEAP” that why when SD try to price their Avante & i30 close to japanese rival it end up collecting dust & sunshine in their warehouse.

• azlan on Dec 11, 2011 at 8:20 pm

it looks like a sporty rondo.. mmm..

• x suter on Dec 11, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Rival to caldina maybe, eh??

• vincent on Dec 11, 2011 at 9:13 pm

Danny, nice write-up n nice cars but try to use less acronyms? Some might not get USP n WR. I assume USP is unique selling point whereas WR is World Rally from WRC (World Rally Championship).

• nazariacantletgo on Dec 11, 2011 at 9:26 pm

takdok turbo la pulok…dok wape beh la.

• teelim on Dec 11, 2011 at 9:29 pm

I can’t wait for Subaru to release a souped up version of the XV

• Faddd on Dec 11, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Looks beautiful, although looks pretty similar to Satria Neo especially the rear quarter, and that orange especially. Proton Design way ahead of it’s time?

hehehehe

*le troll*

• Yes, and the headlights are taken from the current Persona. Azlan Othman seems to be on the right path… ;)

• Ahmed on Dec 11, 2011 at 10:05 pm

Nice but very thirsty car for sure. Minum kuat this Subaru . @:)

• udasalleh on Dec 11, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Luv the rims… n the whole instrument console. Coming from subaru i expect the handling would be superb. Im wondering why its taking P1 so long to come out with a crossover design (like the proposed lekiu on the exora platform)… with P1’s latest CPS+CFE CVT… bet it would give others all a run on their money. Hope DSZ is listening.

• donky on Dec 11, 2011 at 10:46 pm

the rims reminds me kia soul

• JeremyNg on Dec 11, 2011 at 10:51 pm

The rims work for me ……………

• bagero on Dec 12, 2011 at 12:25 am

No Xenon, No Projector, No LED break, No DRL?? No Turbo air-scope on bonnet????
    DAMN.. going back to old school kaa???

• RedBeanBun on Dec 12, 2011 at 12:32 am

will be disappointed if the price cannot match CRV, Kia Sportage, or PUG///

• Erm Guyz!! If I am mistaken , at one glance it look like satria new to be especially the rear!!! :)

• amatku17 on Dec 12, 2011 at 8:47 am

It’s gonna be a rival for mitsu ASX, both 2 liter engine, CVT tranny, low roof lines, almost similar interiors. Wait for the price!

• dzulx on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:08 am

this thing gimme an interesting idea..

just imagine satria neo .. jack up the sus… big wheel and tyre.. and put that thing on the roof…

• I think it looks like neo from outside..but interior looks superb!!!!

• dando on Dec 12, 2011 at 11:39 am

since price-wise will be competitive as other C-segment SUV (crossover), there’s not much in the market,
    let’s see the crossovers in the market.
    1)suzuku SX4 = rm90k
    2) mitsu ASX = rm138k
    3) hyundai tucson = rm136k
    4) kia sportage = rm136k
    5) peugeot 3008 = rm143k

should be within this range… unless if MI want’s to compare with those luxury crossover like BMW/VW/Audi… then most probaly more than rm200k…but i don;t think so…
    i think should be within peugeot 3008 range la..140k+

so, how do u pronounce XV?? as in Ex-Vee or the number 15?
    subaru exvee or subaru 15…. ?

• SURVEY on Dec 12, 2011 at 12:13 pm

if this good car thumbs up.other than that thumbs down

• Am i the only one that finds all subarus’ interior to be a tad dull and unappetising?

• vroom on Dec 12, 2011 at 3:42 pm

satria neo SUV version

• seancorr on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Aw crap if they watered down the specs of the car then that would be crap. Yes they can sell a basic spec car but pls la sell the full spec car too. There are Malaysians who would love the full spec car and don’t mind paying more for it.

As for this CBU model…where’s the DRL, HID/xenon lights? Why not a 1.6 turbo engine since its more fuel efficient and with the possibility of saving some $$$ on road tax? Reverse & front parking sensors with GPS would be good too. How about option for leather seats? Soft touch materials would be good for the interior too…looks super dull inside.

Would like a better rim for the Malaysian market =]

• pdvilq on Dec 13, 2011 at 1:48 pm

Belakang sebijik macam satria neo haha…selalu org bash proton sebab tiru itulah, tiru inilah…tapi bila kereta lain iras – iras proton macam mana?

• pelams on Dec 14, 2011 at 1:35 pm

err… the butt is from neo or volvo xc60?

• Vincent on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:48 pm

is tat coming tis year? hopefully de car will perfect and price also reasonable…. anyone know when will launch in malaysia?

• If Subaru use this design for the next Forester with at least 200PS up front, then I will consider going back to a SUV. For the moment, I’m happy with my 180PS hatchback!