Volkswagen Passat “The Force” ad is the top watched car video on YouTube in 2011!

Remember Volkswagen’s The Force commercial? The one featuring a pint-sized Darth Vader trying his “powers” out on the new Volkswagen Passat in his parent’s driveway. Well, it turns out that the amusing ad made it as one of the top 10 most watched videos on YouTube in 2011. The ad made its debut at the Super Bowl, and the recipe combining one of the most popular car brands in the world with one of the biggest movie franchises in the world sent the ad on its way to becoming one of the most viral videos of 2011.

The commercial showcases the Passat’s Remote Start feature, which allows you to start your Volkswagen Passat’s engine from your remote control while you are still outside the car – this is a useful feature if you want to crank up your car to let the air conditioning run and cool down the interior before you get into the driver’s seat.

The Passat featured in the ad is the North American model, which is a unique larger model designed specifically for the North American and Chinese markets. The Passat sedan with the 1.8 liter TSI engine that was launched in Malaysia this year is the European model.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• witchy on Dec 22, 2011 at 11:15 pm

Wow starting at around $20,000, that’s like 70k here omg

• Cheaper than the new Exora Bold? That’s quality living :)

• rally_fan on Dec 24, 2011 at 6:08 pm

The average american degree holder earns approx USD 2,500 a month. plus high living expenses (food, petrol, housing, etc.) plus they pay around 20% of that salary in taxes…

• Mazda freak on Dec 28, 2011 at 12:03 am

mate the USD has more purchasing power lah. what is MYR2.5k ?

• seancorr on Dec 23, 2011 at 12:27 am

Nice…does our Passat come with that remote start feature?

• RedBeanBun on Dec 23, 2011 at 8:02 am

and thtas u$20K! a half year salary for many people in usa. not a RM200K, 3-5 years salary for many people in Malaysia.

• pacifictuna on Dec 23, 2011 at 11:30 am

i watched the video over and over last time…. the idea is brilliant.

• There they can get a passat for rm70k here we can get a vios j specs…

• harris murad on Dec 24, 2011 at 3:09 pm

…or a 20 year old beemer or merc.
      just kidding, heh!

• USD20k is more like RM65k. you can’t even buy vios dugong J….but only can get a myvi lagi power lagi mahal 1.5.