FIA lays down the rules on defending positions in F1

Throughout the 2011 Formula 1 season, we’ve seen plenty of on track skirmishes. In some of the battles, it was clear who was in the wrong, while some were more debatable. The FIA has now issued new rules regarding defending positions, to put it clear for all.

The ruling body has decided that drivers defending their position will be allowed to move back onto the racing line, but must leave enough room between their car and the edge of the track. Only one move will be allowed.

“More than one change of direction to defend a position is not permitted. Any driver moving back towards the racing line, having earlier defended his position off-line, should leave at least one car width between his own car and the edge of the track on the approach to the corner,” reads the new regulation.

Another newly clarified rule states that lapped cars will be allowed to unlap themselves and then join the back of the field during safety car periods.

“If the clerk of the course considers it safe to do so, and the message “LAPPED CARS MAY NOW OVERTAKE” is shown on the timing monitors, any cars that have been lapped by the leader will be required to pass the cars on the lead lap and the safety car. This will only apply to cars that were lapped at the time they crossed the Line at the end of the lap during which they crossed the first Safety Car line for the second time after the safety car was deployed.

While this is going on, “the cars on the lead lap must always stay on the racing line unless deviating from it is unavoidable”.

The 20-race 2012 season starts in Australia on 18 March, before the teams head to Sepang the following week for the Malaysian GP. Bahrain is back in the calendar and F1 returns to America for the United States GP in November.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• slum in bolehland on Jan 05, 2012 at 8:15 am

wow danny so late in the morning still writing…hehe
    F1 go backward with this rule…weird

Ohh by the way can u cover about dakar rally especially truck categories it seems petronas team now 1,2,3

• i think u guy misinterprete about the regulation…1 move defensive driving at 1 approaching corner

• alldisc on Jan 05, 2012 at 9:34 am

rules are always good, but racing excitement will be kept low to minimum.

i dont think lewis hamiltion will agree to this, nor kimi raikonen, neither mika hakinen, fernando alonso, michael schumachier, alain prost and the late ayrton senna.

• Obama on Jan 05, 2012 at 11:08 am

Just watch the qualifying round result will be good enough to know who will win the actual race after these rules come to effective. Got grand stand ticket for only watching qualifying?

• wlighter on Jan 05, 2012 at 11:52 am

ayrton senna would roll in his grave… he defended his position very with lot of vigor and the races looks exciting because of it. all this new rules about overtaking sux.

• Bay MH on Jan 05, 2012 at 9:52 am

Our Kejara system look peanuts compared to this…..

• Lorat on Jan 05, 2012 at 10:13 am

What? Only one attempt at crash, boom, bang?

• sawi cool on Jan 05, 2012 at 11:20 am

one move?
    aiyo, it’s not a race anymore.

it’s normal in a race for the guy in front to defend his position, and for the one behind to do his best to overtake.

F1 drivers are the top drivers in the world, it’s a shame for the sport and for the fan to limit their creativity and race to their best…

• lchan on Jan 05, 2012 at 11:23 am

more rules. yawnnnnn…spoiling further an already ruined sport.

• alldisc on Jan 05, 2012 at 12:52 pm

there should be only one rule – there is no rules for overtaking.

• Littlebear on Jan 05, 2012 at 11:32 am

This is a very bad rule. Overtaking manouvers should never be restricted like this. Motorsports are known to have some soft of dangerous element in it & it takes great drivers with guts to win a championship. With this rule, there won’t be much excitement left in F1.

• blackbox on Jan 05, 2012 at 11:42 am

Easier on over taking but less the excitement of dog fight :(

• katun on Jan 05, 2012 at 12:23 pm

ai yo yo…what la all these rules n regulations…dey think the drivers can remember “only one move” at 300km/h – katun la this FIA…just install trailer horn on the cars n inside helmets la, one time use, sure gif way…wakawaka…

• when i was kid i used to wake up in the morning and get scold by my mum just because wanted to watch f1.. now, when i really can afford a ticket, sepang at least.. i just found f1 become boring race..

• Carl Wong on Jan 07, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Why do you get scolded? My family watch with me whenever I watch the live F1 races now :].

• kadajawi on Jan 05, 2012 at 1:57 pm

*zzzzzzzz*

• ayamxxx on Jan 05, 2012 at 4:28 pm

now F! is not entertain anymore.
    not jut the f1 car does’t look attractive, the tracks have become more boring. no more overtaking, less accident, gap between each team become wider.

still remember f1 on early 2000~2004,where a lot of determine driver like montoya, raikkonen, plus William F1 car which can go to almost 20k rpm.

• john die on Jan 06, 2012 at 11:03 am

u know y??its all because of the f**king A Max Mosley…hopefully after this Jean Todt could make a changes

• Carl Wong on Jan 05, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Drive fair, clean and safe. Not just for racing for applies to real life driving too. And no tailgating on public roads please. Think you’re so good? Take it to the race track. Too poor for that? Play a racing video game………

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 07, 2012 at 5:03 pm

so why not race on a railway track then eh FIA?

• The FIA should learn from NASCAR where they can fight it out to get to the front – Top Gear

It should be pure man and machine without some shit rules. Of course you cant just ram the leader meters from the finish line but you get my point?