Mercedes-Benz’s turn to do the triple play – C-Class Coupé, SLK and CLS introduced in Malaysia

Earlier this week, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia introduced the new CLS, SLK and C-Class Coupe in the country. The company is looking at the models to effectively widen and deepen the brand’s offerings of niche models, and complement MBM’s portfolio of CBU models already available in Malaysia.

The C-Class Coupé, which made its international market debut in June last year, is available in three petrol engine guises here, these being the 156 hp C 180 and 204 hp C 250, with the 306 hp C 350 available as special order. All three models wear a BlueEFFICIENCY tag.

The C 180 Coupé, which comes wearing an AMG Sports package, is priced at RM305,888, while the C 250 Coupé goes for RM388,888.

Meanwhile, there are three variants available for the third-generation SLK, which made its market debut last March, and these are the SLK 200, SLK 250 and SLK 350, all with a BlueEFFICIENCY suffix again.

Power outputs are 184 hp and 204 hp for the SLK 200 and SLK 250 respectively, while the 3.5 litre V6 mill in the SLK 350 offers 306 hp.

Features include the Benz Airguide draught-stop system, and the SLK 200 gets the Dynamic Handling package thrown in. In terms of pricing, only that for the SLK 200 was mentioned at the launch, and this one goes for RM460,888.

Lastly, the second-generation CLS, which arrives in its 306 hp CLS 350 BlueEFFICIENCY form, with the 408 hp V8-equipped CLS 500 BlueEFFICIENCY available only through special order. The CLS 350 rolls in at RM760,888.

We’ve driven the three cars – MBM hosted a media drive up to Penang this week, so stay tuned for the first drive impressions of all three models next week.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tiadaid on Jan 19, 2012 at 8:36 pm

The new Merc design concept is all hard and straight, a far cry from the “mata belalang” days. I like.

But can it break free from the stigma (for me at least) of being a car for the OKBs or “nouveau rich”?

• Alpha on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Yeah.Competition from BMW and Audi is really stiff.

One question,though.Why is the C180 Coupe too expensive??Auto Bavaria brought in the 320i Coupe at 249k last time and 325i Coupe at 298k,which is both cheaper than this C180 Coupe.Is the AMG package worth the premium??

• Think again! on Jan 19, 2012 at 11:48 pm

On the Contrary,

getting bored of their designs, not much different in looks in these three models, all looks the same..Hope the new S class do not follow this pathetic looking grill……..

• Seriously on Jan 20, 2012 at 10:04 am

Well, obviously there are similarities only because it’s normal for car brands to spread their current design theme throughout all its models. Instant identification.

• Nissan on Jan 20, 2012 at 11:00 am

the design is simply gorgeous esp. SLK, far better than the new BMW. i used to like the latter design but Merc is getting better this day or am i getting old result in a change of taste?

• bimmerdude on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Really surprised to see a Hoffmeister Kink on the C coupe. Well I guess Merc is finally admitting that you can’t beat the M3 so might as well pretend to be a BMW. Well done MB!

• Seriously on Jan 20, 2012 at 11:09 am

Dear fanboy,

Although the Hofmeister Kink is a distinctive styling in BMWs, its just accredited to. Other cars have used it, just that they don’t have a fancy name to call their little cutouts.

If you want to go all anal about it, talking about pretenders… Mercedes-Benz basically created the first gasoline-powered automobile and thru time had safety innovations like independent suspension for all four wheels (swing axles), hydraulic braking system and the crucial safety cage (crumple zone) and the freaking ABS!

Well I guess every other car manufacturer is finally admitting that you can’t beat Merc so might as well pretend to be a Merc. Well done everyone else! #sarcasm

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:07 pm

MAD PRICING! and the CLS…wrong rims seriously. wait for grey import….

• Aku lah on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Till now, I still hate CLS design…ugly.

• Brian Jong on Jan 20, 2012 at 10:08 am

From the first day when CLS came out, it will be always stunning and pretty as well as 2nd gen car..its not ugly as might you think

• RedBeanBun on Jan 19, 2012 at 9:19 pm

Super day light robbing….RM306K for a C Coupe? pathetic.

• paultan on Jan 19, 2012 at 11:12 pm

The CLS is not as “alien” as before
    I am expecting something more bizarre
    Instead of this one

But still, this is a stunning car

• Seriously on Jan 19, 2012 at 11:32 pm

Magnifique!

• mister potato on Jan 19, 2012 at 11:32 pm

C250 Coupe for RM388,888? It starts at USD$37k, and if you include all the available options except heated seats, the total goes to USD$48k or RM150k, still less than half of RM388k. Nowadays a lot of Malaysians can afford RM150k cars, and a lot of them are regular middle-class people, forced to be happy with bare-bone Camry 2.0 or Accord 2.0. Wake up!

• Seriously on Jan 20, 2012 at 9:31 am

Well, it’s Malaysia haven’t you heard? GE is coming… Reformasi!

• Josh Ling on Jan 20, 2012 at 12:10 am

C Class Coupe oozes class and sportiness. But other than that, I don’t like where the current design of MB cars is heading. Maybe it’s a marketing strategy as well, to stand out from the crowd since other 2 premium brands from Germany are going the elegance and more “flowy” route, I don’t know, but I still think I prefer MB cars to be more elegance and graceful, not too “in-your-face” kinda look. I like edginess, but if every new car is looking edgier and more “in-your-face” (especially the big nose) than the last one, i think i will get fed up quite easily, especially for a car manufacturer that had produced numerous classic cars with timeless design like MB.

• Simon Ng on Jan 20, 2012 at 12:13 am

After looking at the cars. I have to close my eyes and keep reminding myself “Money cannot buy you happiness, money cannot buy you happiness………”

I dont think it is really working. LOL

• albag on Jan 20, 2012 at 10:19 am

really it cant… imagine when u drive this along the road and keep worrying about your precious Merc could get scratch or ram by other road users…

• current design of merc is getting too retro for its own good. especially the slk’s grille.

much prefer the previous gen design….except for the CLS as the 1st gen looked like a madagascar cockroach.

• Mercedes-Benz from Germany actually shot a very cool short film of the new C-Class Coupe in Putrajaya last year, but only now they launch it here haha. Overpriced though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=eTozS36JVEk

• Unforgiven on Jan 21, 2012 at 12:28 pm

How come we don’t see the 2001 coupe, the shorter version?