ASEAN NCAP pilot project set for May launch, programme protocols being finalised with ANCAP

The ASEAN New Car Assessment Program (NCAP) pilot project is set to have its protocols finalised next week in Sydney, when representatives from the programme meet their Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) counterparts for a week long collaboration on the matter. The release of the ASEAN NCAP protocol is set for March 16.

This follows on the collaborative Memorandum of Understanding signed by the Global New Car Assessment Programme (GNCAP) and the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) in December last year to establish a pilot project for a South-East Asian NCAP to elevate motor vehicle safety standards, encourage a market for safer vehicles and raise consumer awareness in the region.

Signatories to this MOU include ANCAP as well as the Automobile Associations of Malaysia, Singapore and the Philippines. ANCAP’s role will be to provide technical and program support to the ASEAN NCAP to ensure that the program pursues protocols and procedures that will ensure meaningful, accurate and reliable test results. It will also assist ASEAN NCAP in aligning with other NCAP’s around the world.

The need for an ASEAN NCAP has been brought about by fact that different safety features exist between specific models car manufacturers sell in their region and those exported to or assembled in ASEAN countries – the argument goes that Euro NCAP results aren’t applicable to the same model cars as sold in ASEAN, since cars sold in the region usually have fewer safety features in order to attain a lower selling price.

The project partners will be tasked to independently select the vehicles for testing based on the least expensive – and usually less well-equipped – variant of the model available in the major markets of the region. The selection of non-airbag variants are also set to be included.

Testing is set to be carried out here in Malaysia at the new PC3 Crash Lab test facility being developed by MIROS, will be based on the 40% front impact crash test regulation of the World Forum for Harmonisation of Vehicle Regulations (ECE: Reg. 94), but at a speed of 65 km/h – the test protocol and procedures are to follow that of the European NCAP covering the protection of both adult and child.

The first internal crash test, including a pre-ASEAN NCAP crash test, is set to take place sometime in late April to early May, with ASEAN NCAP crash test 001 scheduled for May 24, in conjuction with the 2012 annual meeting of the Global NCAP scheduled to be held in Kuala Lumpur. The event will also see the launch of the PC3 lab and ASEAN NCAP programme.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• drMpower on Feb 08, 2012 at 2:42 pm

they should do asean version CAFE as well
    as for this NCAP, please and please and please exclude india and china
    for the love of airbag jesus and boobs put together the last thing i need in my life is a china made vehicle made wrecking my people

• Why exclude them from test? Isn’t it better to show bad equipped this cars are?

Or did you mean disqualify them after test?

• kadajawi on Feb 08, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Some Chinese cars get 4 stars now in euro ncap, I bet the Avanza is worse than that, several other Toyotas too, not to mention Perodua.

• i_swear on Feb 11, 2012 at 11:20 pm

For the love of any safety features, please exclude any car that didn’t put at least 2 airbag in their basic model (vios J, avanza basic, alza SR basic)

• calvin_ng on Feb 08, 2012 at 3:06 pm

what can I say… its about time public get to know how safe their car is!!!

• bongek on Feb 09, 2012 at 12:50 am

yes, no matter japs, continental,china, “produce in ASEAN” OR “produce and design by ASEAN” …. coz some ASEAN model have less safety features,, and i hope the permanent lab will be in malaysia…

• alldisc on Feb 08, 2012 at 4:07 pm

asean ncap is cool. comparison will happen between cars sold in neighbouring countries.

competition will start from 2 airbags to 4 airbags, to 9 airbags…

and from 3 star rating to 5 star rating… this is good.

• littlefire on Feb 08, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Yup, It should have done it since long time ago!!! We as a consumer may need to know how safety our car will be!

• What happen with MyNCAP?

• driver on Feb 09, 2012 at 1:20 am

Are you referring to MyVAP? Those are non-destructible kind of assessment that are based on tests that have been conducted and reported.. not the actual crash.

• kaminski on Feb 08, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Good news and definitely a positive for the ASEAN auto industry. The published results will spur on manufacturers to be best in class, that equates to better standard safety features for customers in the long term. On another note, its interesting to know that most of the 5 Star performers in Europe from last year would probably only attain 4 star status under the new pedestrian test standards being introduced this year by Euro NCAP.

• “The project partners will be tasked to independently select the vehicles for testing based on the least expensive – and usually less well-equipped – variant of the model available in the major markets of the region. The selection of non-airbag variants are also set to be included”

if a car sold in Malaysia comes without airbag or without any safety features (Safety Reduced version) but the full safety version is sold in other ASEAN countries, which model will be used as the test vehicle? The Malaysian SR version or the full safety version?

If we use the full version then the SR version will use the test result to say they acheived full 5 stars or should it be based on countries?

• kadajawi on Feb 08, 2012 at 8:29 pm

Probably other version cause after all they are still cheaper. Hopefully they will go for the worst speced car instead. The effect is simple. Even our cars will be as safe as possible so that their rating is not ruined, thus hurting sales.

I have seen the effect EuroNCAP had on Germany/Europe, so I think this is the best thing that could happen to ASEAN motorists ever.

Prepare for Vios resale value to plummet, hahaha. Perodua too. Too bad they probably won’t test old cars, though they should (could boost the sales of new cars if people see how good their Iswara or Wira or Kancil is.

• kadajawi on Feb 08, 2012 at 8:36 pm

In Europe they usually pick the worst speced car. That would be the Malaysian then, lol. But then again the article says it’s the cheapest car. Due to the Malaysian tax structure that would mean it is never the Malaysian car that is tested. Manufacturers could simply make their Malaysian car slighly more expensive than the safer foreign version and blame it on high taxes. Even Proton.

• alldisc on Feb 09, 2012 at 10:42 am

actually in europe they select the model anticipated to be the most popular.

example between myvi SX, EZ, SXi, EZi and SE… of Perodua expects the EZi will be the most popular, that one will be used for euro NCAP.

but anyway, ABS or no ABS, body structures and design for pedestrian protection still the same. no matter which trim level we buy.

• kadajawi on Feb 09, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Is it? Too bad, they should correct that for ASEAN ncap.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:02 pm

There is mention that ‘best selling variants don’t necessarily have to be tested, but are preferable.’ Also, that vehicle selection will be based on ‘most basic safety equipment of vehicle that is on sale in any ASEAN countries.’

• i wonder how many start will the MYVI score ??????????im waitin to laugh

• i wonder how many star* the MYVI will score ~

• Adsolute Rider on Feb 08, 2012 at 6:32 pm

We will see how’s the car perform and we might also see Proton P3-21A by then.

• So I guess soon we will know how safe is the cars sold in here? Eg: Saga FLX , Myvi, Persona and others? :)

• mr M.Y on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:13 am

for saga model, watch on youtube la… almost all new proton’s car crash test video there…

P2, show you mild steel car crash test result/video…

• About damn time ! This is long over due. Guess it’s better late than never.

It will be very, very interesting to know how basic model of Viva and saga score. Can’t wait for this to be widely used benchmark in our local market for all cars.

Also wonder how will the basic a.k.a. cheapest model of Toyota & Honda will fare. Can’t wait !

• kadajawi on Feb 09, 2012 at 12:15 pm

I wonder if they test all the cars currently on the market (well, the popular ones) or only newly launched ones. If the latter perhaps we will see a flood of new Japanese cars, so they don’t have to be tested. lol

• Unforgiven on Feb 08, 2012 at 11:06 pm

We should put the real Tun M to sit inside the Satria Neo and Saga.

• bongek on Feb 09, 2012 at 12:43 am

i think u have some sad story to share with us, please proceed… we will read/listen

• Unforgiven on Feb 09, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Not sad, just that we may see improvement by doing that?
        Else he’ll be driving top class car while you are with your proton, lol.

• XC70XC on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:02 am

It is an independent avenue to assess the safety rating of the car sold in ASEAN region. Good to see such programme in place. There is however some disparity between the regions even for Euro NCAP and ANCAP here. Just recently some cars rated 5 stars by Euro NCAP failed to get 5 stars from ANCAP. Bear in mind no safety items are changed. The reason being is that ANCAP test a safety parameter which until recently Euro NCAP did too but it no longers carries the same rating when Euro NCAP allows averaging that parameter.

For ASEAN NCAP, there will be huge range of scores even between same model of cars simply because of the safety equipment on board. Local car makers will have to come up with creative marketing in order to sell lower equipped cars but guess when it comes to dollar or RM and sense, dollar or RM will likely to prevail. This is just for Malaysia. What about for Thailand? In Thailand, a number of cars it producing are now for world market. Case in point, the Honda Jazz/Fit. It now comes standard with ESC as it is a lawful requirement here. So without ESC, it will not score 5 stars with ANCAP. Even without full 3 point seatbelt for the rear passengers, it will not score 5 stars. That is right folks, lapbelt only in centre rear seat is no longer acceptable as it causes more injury during an accident.

Proton is having a hard time trying to sell cars in 2012 over here as it no longer able to register new cars without ESC. Spoken to the Proton MD and he is desperately trying to get Proton to equip cars with ESC but so far no luck. Proton trying to be a world class car maker better start with getting the basics right especially the safety items. It is laughable that my relative’s Nissan Micra (Thailand CBU) has 6 airbags, ABS and ESC as standard which matches my Volvo V70XC. Bear in mind, my Volvo is now approaching a decade old but in term of safety still bang up to date. Safety has now catch up and even small hatchbacks like the Micra and Suzuki Alto has complete array of safety items.

• kadajawi on Feb 09, 2012 at 12:20 pm

My German spec Citroen Xsara from 2002, almost base spec, has 6 airbags and ABS, if it had a bigger engine (I have the smallest one) it would also have ESP. Keep in mind it is a 2002 car.

• HYUNDAI new cars will score full !~ even the i10 earn 4star currently ~