SPYSHOT: A clearer view of the P3-21A interior revealed!

Here’s a new shot of the Proton P3-21A interior – the clearest shot we’ve ever seen, uploaded onto funtasticko earlier today. According to funtasticko, this shot was snapped at Equatorial Cameron Highlands.

There are some differences with this particular car’s interior compared to the one we previously saw, which I’ve included right below the latest image for your easy comparison. The first interior that we saw featured what appeared to be nice glossy strip of wood on the dashboard section in front of the front passenger.

This one doesn’t have that glossy wood, which could indicate a lower spec model. Tun Dr Mahathir also mentioned a GPS navigation system in the top of the range model, while this car has a normal radio system.

Liking what you see so far? The way the center dash area curves down to the gear selector area actually reminds me of the Proton Waja design.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Still the same old aircond control dials. Sighhh

• kimi_ on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:16 pm

UGLY like shit !!!!!

• gabla on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Better to have a simpler design but with well laid buttons instead of radical design like Gen. 2 but the buttons placement makes no sense. Soft touch is a plus for me especially when a more expensive car is using hard plastic everywhere.

• Obama on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:31 pm

LOL, nothing different with proton saga interior

• saga interior?
          dude seriously have u even been in a saga before?
          saga plastic is way more horrible than in this
          pelik pelik je..

• Quattro on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Hope to have dashboard kind a like old wira

• OMG, very conventional design. BORING yet simple…

• locoroco on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:07 pm

what a let down…who they hired to design the interior? and who approved such design?? just sack the bugger or the whole team altogether lol…

• wendy on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:44 pm

what can be more boring then vios dashboard?

• i think the dashboard does look nice..
          the new picture is clearly from the m-line or lower base model..
          and the higher model would get a gloss effect on the dashboard (refer to old picture; between the top of the dashboard and the glovebox)

while the new picture is just solid with no effects..still looks nice though..
          but yes, the three buttons there just spoils it..
          but for a car not more than 80k, this is great !

and i think the interior designer were inspired by this perhaps?
          http://www.dwimobil.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/jaguar-xf-interior-2012.jpg

• HirumaKecil on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:14 am

Almost the same like many merc cars..

• Vader on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:41 pm

As mentioned by Dr.M, the quality is on par with Europe car.. let wait and see..

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:17 pm

lol after decades of lies under him, do you really trust his judgements on a product which directly profits him?

• Vader on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:32 pm

just be fair to potong.. only judge the car after really take a look on it..
          but not simply bash or praise..

• skiborne on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:58 pm

at least he’s better than anwar. thats fo sho, anwar is merely talking shit and no proof that he’s good

• littlefire on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:30 pm

WTF, even Anwar also drag in here for what?!?

• farghmee on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:52 pm

hahaha..agree with u :)

some malaysian need to learn on “How to Focus on a given Subject” badly.

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:16 pm

agree with you even the first saga release, he even say that and this creates a laughing stock to the world

• Volvo is the same so don’t blame…

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:45 am

volvo went bankrupt in 90s and sold to Ford. again, not making money and sold to who? a company in china!!!

so what, this shows the design is not a positive strategy in marketing

• James Leong on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Does it come with Full Auto air-conditioning system? refer to the 3 airconds button, seem like it still manual. So sad proton, please look at Kia forte, it come with Full Auto air-conditioning system.

• guys here is the spec i got from comment waja2006 at http://funtastickodesign.wordpress.com

P3-21A is C-Segment
        4 air bags
        side mirror auto ON/OFF
        keyless
        built in GPS from bosch
        auto rain sensor
        auto light sensor
        WIFI IN CAR !!!form yes WTF
        auto cruise
        paddle shift for Premium
        hidden exhaust tail pipe
        multi function steering
        16?rims
        smart info mation display
        passenger airbeg can on or off
        rear dismister auto 15mins off
        follow me home lamp function
        door auto lock
        2000RPM reach 205Nm
        9.6 sec to 100 km/h
        7 speed protonic
        REAR MULTILINK system
        5 star NCAP
        abs,ebd,esc,isofix hazard light on deceleration ,BA and TC
        premium model with Touch Screen + GPS
        Premium using CFE, Exec with IAFM+
        Price 65~75K, 75K is premium model

• squall_shinoda on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:52 am

IAFM+ for lower-spec is a major letdown, macam langit dgn bumi when compared with the top-spec model that uses CFE engine. Proton should at least use the CPS engine for the lower-spec model.

• 7 speed huh, sounds great, anybody knows the fc for this car?? cant wait for it to be launched, plz improze fast proton,

• guys here is the spec i got from comment waja2006 at http://funtastickodesign.wordpress.com

P3-21A is C-Segment
        4 air bags
        side mirror auto ON/OFF
        keyless
        built in GPS from bosch
        auto rain sensor
        auto light sensor
        auto cruise
        paddle shift for Premium
        hidden exhaust tail pipe
        multi function steering
        16?rims
        door auto lock
        2000RPM reach 205Nm
        9.6 sec to 100 km/h
        7 speed protonic
        REAR MULTILINK system
        5 star NCAP

• Reduan on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:18 pm

why we need fully auto-aircond here? we are in Malaysia. Doesn’t have winter to use full auto aircond. semi auto is more than enough. Better you learn what is fully auto aircond before post here.

• James Leong on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:19 am

Redzuan: Please learn before or think you reply, i think you are still in stone age of the automotive world. Malaysia is a hot & cold country, i think you just back from Africa or Atlantic right?

• James Leong on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:35 am

Please learn or think before you reply, i think you are still living in stone age. Are you just back from Africa?

Now already 2012….do you expect to use or buy a car like 70s with the same price at 70s? Please lar…

• OMG looks cheap as usual so don’t expect more !

• The dials actually look practical, much easier to control without looking while driving.

• meet_the_zonan on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:30 am

Potong never learn..

• anti-vios on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:01 pm

aku perasan.. ramai yang suka komen menggunakan kepala lutut berbanding kepala otak..

N rakyat malaysia juga mudah lupe… ritu korang kutuk interior Exora bold, cakap tu xlawa, ni xbetul.. suro pecat orang tu la, orang ni pon sama kene pecat….

Biler kuar actual pict.. ramai pulak puji cantik…

Rilek ler brader… tunggu keluar actual pict dulu…. haih……

Pasal cukai, memang xle buat ape.. melainkan korang tukar gov yang ada.. tp malangnyer.. ramai je penyokong be end kat sini…. mmg xde bende berubah la… hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

• Wisdom on Feb 13, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Are u sure car prices will plunge if we change the government?

• man man on Feb 13, 2012 at 5:32 pm

sigh…stup*d old design..ayoo……proton, please fire your designer !

• gigilasi11 on Feb 14, 2012 at 12:49 pm

this car sure in higway cucuk bontot lu punya car.205Nm.18% more power 2.0cc.kentutla pakai kereta old car cakap lebih.

• spark on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Just Nice!

• Nazz - P1 Glenmarie on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:08 pm

tq paul..

• To be honest, the dashboard looks too plain to be a global car. However for proton standard, it is ok.

• clutch basah on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:12 pm

It does look like Waja’s dash. in plain word.. boring
    Really hoping hi-quality plastic material is used like one in Accord and that multiple tones look quite nice.. me likey

• vincent on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Sorry to said Accord interior material doesn’t look that great with all the hard plastic here and there, check out VW passat and Mondeo, more soft touch material.

• honda dont use soft materail, but high quality plastic that make u feel premium inside.

• skiborne on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:00 pm

honda is never premium to me. just another ripped off junk using same ol’ engine block for decades

• for D secment still using hard plastic laike accord WTF… better conti cars and korean cars

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Not to be offensive, but the cockpit design looks quite dated (the , looks like some cars in 2006, 2007. There is wood grain interior for the top/higher end model, hope that there will carbon fiber interior available?

• BN=barang naik on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:26 pm

looking on the bright side..at least its better than sylphy dash..and thats not a compliment

• “The way the center dash area curves down to the gear selector area actually reminds me of the Proton Waja design.”

But for me, its more like a bit of volvo language. see

• faizulamin on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:26 pm

for me, it’s nice, eventhough a bit plain.

anyway. hopefully, this car will come with 6 speaker standard and not to place them on top of back seat. must be place inside door panels instead (front and rear) and another two at dashboard . i hate speaker at the back of my head.

hmm.. got bluetooth kah? blutooth cpability for audiio have become common nowadays. hope this will be bundled together.

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:30 am

i think what u mean is bluetooth streaming so that we can play songs from handphone and sound will come out at the car speakers, right?

15 years ago 75K was the price of perdana 2.0 manual and proton wira 1.8 DOHC and later satria GTI.

• gabla on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Soft touch, I like!

• neckotynne on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:30 pm

what’s the different of plain design or boring dashboard…? BMW 3 series design also almost plain like this too… It’s just they put some electronic screen on it… at least the design is not da same typical pattern as the Gen-2 and others… Duuuhhh…!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:32 pm

Has a bit more appeal than a wet diaper to me, check out the Gen2-like plastics….well done Proton!

• omg.. they did it again..sigh…

• Chill out guys, this is not top of the range model…highest spec will have built in 2din Bosch gps unit..look much better than this :)

• Really hope this is only for prototype…

• kuncisudu on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:48 pm

this is nothing, wait until p2 unveil perodua bezza. yeah!

• perodua bezza?it should call as daihatsu/toyota bezza.because perodua will take toyota/daihatsu model and make it as they car.NO ORIGINALLITY at all.lol

• in a way, P1 is better. they do their own design.

(though the outcome is so so…)

• Sergio Mendes on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:43 am

Hats off to P1.
        They design & manufacture from scratch for this.
        P2 is merely rebadging.

If given the opp, I’d like to rebadge a Ferrari….and call it Jubori..hehehe..

• kivatt0024 on Feb 11, 2012 at 10:04 pm

perdua bezza a.k.a prius kontot….

• Donkey Kong on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:54 pm

The upper half of the dashboard looks identical to a Chevrolet Optra’s. Unfortunately the center stack looks cheap and uninspired. If they wanted a clean-looking Euro design, they should see the dashboards of VW, Audi and Skoda. Clean, uncluttered and spartan.

If Proton has a poor choice of colors to go along with this uninspired dash, then I think most people will stick with a Kia Forte, given the price range that Proton expects to sell this car for.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:55 pm

The interior looks so-so to me. So sad to see Proton still retaining the outdated knobby-styled aircond controls while C-segment rivals are already using digital aircond controls. Plus, the interior reminds me of the Waja. The designer should at least have guts to design futuristic-styled designs – be it interior or exterior – so that it can truly be a global car that Malaysians can be proud of.

• Crease on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Honda City and Vios stil using knobby style aircond contro…why no ne say outdated?

• Justice on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:30 pm

come on la..
        City and vios are B-segment..and the REAL price not even reach RM80k

• LOL ! DUN SAY 80K .. 60K THE MAX

• Gabla on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:14 pm

You mean real price without UMW fat margin? A lot of the VIOS components are already locally produced so the tax difference between the so called national car to the Toyota cars are not that big anymore. Especially most of the cars are now designed and produced in Asean. Don’t fool yourself thinking that you are buying a japanese cars. They wanted people to think that the tax is still high so that they can justify the higher margin.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:01 am

Tau takpe. Even there are certain components inside Vios dugong that are shared with certain Perodua models like Alza and Myvi.

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 09, 2012 at 10:50 pm

Even fiat 500, which is an A-segment car have digital controls

• afizan99 on Feb 17, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Fiat 500 is A segment premium la brader.. Kat UK pun dah berbelas ribu pound la.

• creasty on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Honda City and Toyota Vios also used the knobby style control..why no one say outdated?

• BeemerFreak on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Because people say until sick already. Go check on all the post with City and Vios Facelift, so many similar comments

• squall_shinoda on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:53 pm

European Honda City had already used digital aircond controls. It is the Asean and Indian versions that still use knobby controls as a cost-cutting measure. Vios’ controls are even fuglier, and, ironically, even Perodua also borrows those fugly knobs for the Myvi Lagi Worst… oops silap, the so-called Myvi Lagi Best and Alza.

• but at least the new Myvi interior looks better

• PakAbu on Feb 09, 2012 at 7:28 pm

Maybe the knobs are cheaper than the push bottons+LCD. But personally prefer the knobs because they are easier to use with my not so accurate left hand. Fumble and twist is easier than peek, press, peek, press ···· ;-)

• Honda Power on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:37 pm

There is no Honda City solde in Europe but there is the new Honda Civic hatchback in Europe. Please check your facts before posting. By the way, this P3- 21A dashboard looks outdated and is damn ugly.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:47 am

There is. Even in paultan also got reports of the European Honda City, just google it to find out more. European Honda City is sold in some selected countries such as Poland. It uses a 1.3L engine (marketed as 1.4L) and mated to either 5-speed manual or 6-speed AMT. In Europe, the Honda City and Civic are two different segments; the former is a subcompact sedan while the latter is a hot hatch.

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:05 am

in an open market, vios is actually competing against the Saga only as they are in the same size category (wheelbase below 2,600mm)

only in the protected market does the vios compete against the persona and coming soon persona R.

• albag on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:57 pm

interior from the 80’s… LOL no LCD screen yet?

• Martin on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:58 pm

I’ve notice something after the departure of previous MD and the arrival of current MD, (DSZ i think tat’s what his name in short hand).

With previous MD, we see Proton trying to come out with something unique, in exterior and interior design, for example the Gen-2. the Satria Neo and Savvy. Their design are daring and bold, but due to the material quality and manufacturing know how, the end product not as good as the initial concept (if u ever c the original sketch of Gen2, u will understand what i am saying).

With the current MD, obviously Proton become more down to earth in terms of interior and exterior. A safer way i suppose, like how VW and Toyota r designing their cars. And also, nowadays each Proton models share quite a lot of parts, which previously not seen under the management of previous MD. Sharing parts is making sense, to reduce cost and improve quality. I guess DSZ has learnt alot of Toyota philosophy while he was at Perodua, because how Proton try to make a car is getting more and more identical to how Toyota was making a car.

For Malaysian, this is good because DSZ is making sensible and practical car, from Persona, Saga MK2 and Exora, but to compete globally, kinda hard because they r simply not desirable in the global market, and from the spyshots above, same case for this upcoming sedan.

Proton is getting stronger in engineering department, but it seems like they r losing out quite a bit in styling department. Still, only fanboys want desirable car whereas most people simply want practical ones. I believe this car can see good sales if priced appropriately but when put into global market, it is utterly hard to attract customers who do not even know Proton.

• harap lebih baik on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:24 pm

the saga FLX is a much newer design compared to this car (the styling of its facelift design). proton seems have a problem setting the design flow for this model which is quite left behind compared to saga FLX. this design started in 2008 and the saga flx is in 2010 (it just a facelift so they can really make a fast development). for me they should refine this car styling before going masspro testing units/parts.

if this car came out 2 years ago it would be a great contender to kia forte and others, but been launched this year it would seem to have shorter lifecycle compared even to saga mk2 (blm + flx). but they always can do a major facelift for this car if it is too low acceptance in this 6 month, just hope for the best this car would sell well and facelift shall be done in matters of 6-12month ahead.

*the hatchback version of this car said to be much better designed, totaly different rear lamp design, diff front n rear bumper, much sportier interior trim level but still with the same headlight design. the hatchback shall be launch 1 year later and it could have new inputs from this car launching..just pray for the best.. lol :3

• beatnik on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:45 pm

In other word DSZ is better than.. erm you know who.. hehe

• Johnny on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Thats why DSZ + TM is the way to go!

• pacifictuna on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:18 pm

correct. proton used to produce cars that they would like to sell. now they produce cars that people would want to buy. i still think Gen 2 is good looking though poorly engineered.

• septzz on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Proton in engineering, I can see that has the potential. Motorsports (R3, S2000 rally team) they can go far too…. but please…Proton please….FIND A GOOD CAR DESIGNER! BOTH EXTERIOR AS WELL AS INTERIOR!! If you keep making cars like this, I prefer to save some more for Kia Forte (regardless the class and price range). This car failed to impress me. I think many of you will agree with me. Nevertheless, It’s just my opinion.

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:26 am

dont forget proton S2000 rally team car was prepared in UK. the R3 has not gone that far yet (to be able of engineering a highly competent & reliable rally car)

• You must remember previous MD was when Proton 100% inhouse design. Proton dont want to use same parts from previous model cos it old and mitsubishi t&c in the parts. After waja, Gen2 and Savvy…yes proton can use same parts or common parts in all cars and that is what current MD done.

• PakAbu on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:59 pm

The dash board is nice. Simple, with clean lines. Central console looks OK too. I like the 3-button control for air-con. The head unit looks like replaceable/up-gradable to DVD 2-din unit.

Looks promising. If “naik gaji” again… then… :mrgreen:

• omg… the ‘boring’ interior design really does not match with the exterior look lolx… haiz…

• jsooz on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:02 pm

ok la…dun think jeremy clarkson will be really impressed though

• BADboy on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:39 pm

I wish to see Jeremy to crash this car like he did for Produa last time…. hehehehe… soo bad!!

• pacifictuna on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:19 pm

he’ll drive it with a ‘long face’……

• BadBET on Feb 09, 2012 at 7:16 pm

go to you tube and watch jeremy talk shit about porshe panamera, even a luxury brand also hard to please that guy… only british made is good LOL.

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:35 pm

absolute right. luckily all British Marques now owned by different parties.

Rolls Royce, ASton Martin, Bentley, Ford is actually Ford of Europe, Vauxhall is actually under GM.. even Jaguar is under TATA now.

• johnjonnyjonathan on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:04 pm

ayookkkk!!!! why make it like this…too simple dimple pls la proton..now 2012..not 1985..

• syafiq on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:05 pm

this car using the latest technology.. they use the new samsung digital windows.. the gps will be displayed on the windscreen though.. hahaha

• fortezen on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:05 pm

sucksssssssssssssssssss

• Kiasi No Kiasu on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:08 pm

Simplicity design love it ! unlike Elantra hair stylist design (tak kuasa yo!)

• jolly_idiot on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Looking at this interior will make me vomit after few days.

Probably will sell off the car after few days purchase as it makes me vomit everyday.

• so don’t buy lor…why u need consider buying it if that what makes you…ohh i get it, my bad..didnt notice your name..sorry2..

• Sergio Mendes on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:17 pm

You should have your health checked. Vomitting everyday is not good.

Yours,
      Caring Malaysian.

• jolly_idiot on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:47 pm

I’ll not vomit by not looking at it. In fact it gets better by looking at hot chicks.

• NO AUTO CLIMAX CONTROL?

• sawdust on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:15 pm

There are some numbing creams you can use to achieve that, but what has that to do with this car? You wanna kongkek in the car ah?

• cardreamer on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:58 pm

hahahahahahaha…funny..everybody want to give comments!

• beatnik on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:43 pm

I haven’t seen a car equipped with Auto CLIMAX control.

lolness maximus..

• septzz on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:36 pm

top gear christmas edition showed a gadget bunny that vibrates when connected to the car. that pink color….alaaaah! u know what i mean!!! hehehe…

• tiadaid on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:55 pm

Citroen cars have an optional auto climax control – but for women only!

• Justice on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:37 pm

ayyoo..
      auto climax…?

• silly me ,what i mean is Full Auto air-conditioning system ! sorry~

• Kiasi No Kiasu on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:06 am

Auto Climate Control lah Bros !

Then again if got auto climax function then sure sell like hotcakes. :-P

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:37 pm

its okay UIO, u make our day in complete happiness!! :D

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:15 pm

lol wth is climax to do with a car? :P

• Adam J.T. on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Now this is coming up on 9gag very soon….

• the car dont have..u probably ada auto climax, if you know what i mean.

• MoFaz on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:03 pm

auto climax??.. you see a pretty girl in a car next to you and you automatically have climax?

• sp3d2 on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:14 pm

This is not ugly. still ok.the thing is it is just too simple.

• DavidB on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Toyota’s also still use the same old tractor tyre aircon knob ok… what do u expect a aircon knob to look like? Triangle?!

• nabill on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:22 pm

hey…atleaset the glovebox lines match the dashboard lines ! thats a first for p1!

Actually the global car status its given means design inside out will not be very adventureous since its has to be accepted by so many type of ppl in diferent continents……

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:33 pm

correct, and the sales figures is the proof.

lets see whether proton could be able to be a global car maker, or will maintain to be cars for malaysians only.

• bland design…never put high expectation is Proton’s interior design.
    they never design bravely.
    this just look so cheap at the radio..
    like chinese design//

• pekan on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:27 pm

like a volvo.. but volvo’s better looking..

• hafiz on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:28 pm

quite similar to s80 volvo dashboard.

• john dawson on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:30 pm

nice. looks like the new 5 series interior. well done Proton ! unfortunately we can’t get the car in canada.

• dozy888 on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Latest car launched car from China?

• no where near european standards. sorry.
    u guys look at hyundai now. and soon to be launch elantra.
    tats european standard.
    even toyota is getting better now. New avanza,2012 camry,yaris..
    i hate to say, even perodua’s design too. they catch up so quickly. very brave design.

• i forgot ! and FORD too?

• gable on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:46 am

New avanza? Are you blind? What changes does Toyota make to the Avanza design?

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:35 pm

new avanza – you cannot see the differences? are you blind??

• Whynot on Feb 09, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Elantra tops in foreign sales car in USA. This is because the design is very futuristic and the price there is cheap too. They really are doing and improving on their design where younger generations wanted more in better design today!

• Wilson on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Who would want a car which don’t even has a auto climate control when selling at a premium price? I saw the Camry 2.2 model has this thing equipped. Don’t tell me Proton has no such technology.

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:39 pm

if i remember correcntly, Waja 1.6X and 1.8X has automatic climate control as standard feature – even though using knobs instead of digital screen and buttons

• linear_system on Feb 10, 2012 at 4:33 pm

my neo hi line 2006 has auto climate control..

• OMG now it’s true sudah terang lagi bersuluh this Tuah really lazy design outdated Disaster

Sad very sad very sad how Protongkat gonna go Global Car with this lazy mentality

Bad news the car loan rules tighten up surely affect sales too

Probably the banks also happy to increase car loan interest rates back to 4 pct with this new Disaster model

Very gloom future for Protongkat very gloom and doom coming soon

“Protongkat close shop – our 2nd Merdeka Day alhamdulliah thanks god!”

P/S:
    How do you describe DSZ work with TM new boss? “Tidor sekatil, mimpi lain-lain” kah kah kah

• eh why r u sad? i thought u dont care about proton’s car? i think i know why

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:41 pm

hello friend. this car is not outdated design ok?? it was design like 2-3 years ago meaning.. at that time it is pretty modern and futuristic.

However, time has change and yes… sadly this car is outdated. nothing much to shout about.

• seems like the interiors are designed with roominess in mind.

• donadoni on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:39 pm

it doesn’t move me at all this kinda shisht

• Cant the designer think for futuristic design? more creative is must, for me, just a simple dashboard like kancil, that’s all, nothing special and to be proud of it, is total lack of innovative, disappointed at all.

• Eimrane on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:41 pm

for me….

radiator grill n headlights reminds me to VW (Germany)

the curve on the hood, just as same as Kia Forte (Korea)

body shell looks like Mazda (Japan)

Rear end and tail lights quite similar to new Jaguar XF (British)

I hope it will have ‘Volvo’ handling (Swedish)

And The interior, I hope Proton will give an Italian touch (Italian)

Then, we can be proud with this Global Car…hehehe

• Keyboard Warrior on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Wah : so ugly one?

• Seriously on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Something most of us are feeling is… we expected more. Regardless of whatever version this model is, that picture is uninspiring.

• kaptenkit on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:45 pm

malaysian, please. too many complaints old this and outdated that. yet they want the car to be cheap. you pay more, you get more

• James Leong on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Does it come with Full Auto air-conditioning system?
    Look at the 3 aircond button, it seem like manual….
    Do you think you can compete with Kia Forte?

• lets just hope the real thing looks and feels much better ~
    cause’ i oways get a diiferent feel after sitting in one proton compare to picture.
    the real thing does feel n looks much better

• mentari-o-korea on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:50 pm

that auto gear lever look tall and plasticy, shame!

• inderaloka on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Biasa jer…

• mambangmabuk on Feb 09, 2012 at 4:59 pm

most of the comments only talked about interior.. aiseh, if interior so good no point also if it comes with lousy engine… typical malaysian minded…

• cardreamer on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Now it turn out to be “Asia’s answer to Volvo”?..well, the vertical proportion of the dash reminds me of old hyundai cars..can’t wait for its launching…

• Ian Sia on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:05 pm

from the pictures, the interior looks dead ugly. even a 5 year old kid can design a better looking centre console. looks like it was designed using a ruler! until today i still think proton make and design shit cars! no doubt about it. I have never been impressed with any of their cars especially their own design.

• dude, ask that kid to apply position at proton now.

• cazran on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:05 am

yes.. ask the kid to apply.. :))))

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:45 pm

that kid wont be successful, coz at proton you need to have qualifications first.

and perhaps, some experience…

err.. passion – not necessary.

• want new car on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:07 pm

sure this will outrun vios J..empty thrash can being sold at 70k…only blind stupid will buy it..

• shawal on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:08 pm

No paddlr shift, mebe its d mid range model, i cant wait to see the high end offering, shud.be classy, dont go faux carbon fibre like sumvother manufacurer that targets prepubcent teenagers

• Look at the brighter side. With plain dash, it’s easier to clean. Just 1 wipe. Don’t need cotton buds and fancy brush from Meguire.

• paultan on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:13 pm

looks like a vw dash
    but boring looks must be countered with exceptional quality

• woww…nice….

• altec on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:29 pm

I don’t see what the problem is with those knobs. If anyone has been following the new BRZ/FT86 sports car from toyota and subaru they should realize that those cars are using a similar knob design and nobody is complaining.

Regardless of the so called “outdated” design, I’m fine with this dashboard layout. what i’m more concerned about this car is it’s handling and performance.

• BADboy on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:30 pm

OMG… is Proton going back to stone age???

• Yes..I support u..Proton will become Brand of Dead again..Once again with DRB. If they sell Lotus..more suck will be..Dr M just let it be ugly..haiz..Why.. This car represent Malaysia..Please don’t let us down..We all feel so sad..

• woww…nice…

• Justice on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:39 pm

i hope this is the B-LINE. !

• Woww… nice car….
    only not malaysian will not love this car…. hahahha….

• abepie on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:42 pm

suks.. savvy design better

• Zizou on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:52 pm

This is disappointing.. Please give us something from outside the box.. Not something that anyone can predict.. A plain boring interior and exterior design.. Embarassment to the 25 years of experience.. They never grow & learnt didn’t they..

• lalok_stylo on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Aku rasa ni base-line pny model je kot….
    bkn high-line pny…..

• Gebang on Feb 09, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Nampaknya kualiti dashboard meningkat…dgb soft touch material…kira okeyla…

• Ni baru permulaan proton nak buat kereta yg bertaraf.. ntah2 nnti lagi hebat.

• alldisc on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:49 pm

elo bro… proton dah buat 5 model keta berlainan dari waja, savvy/saga, gen2/persona, satria neo dan akhir sekali exora.

cuba tengok dashboard exora tu… mak aii…. quality of material and surface design. kenapa skrg baru bangun tidur ke.

• libralcl on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Simple, nothing to shout about. But after a touchscreen multimedia 2 DIN player with GPS integrated along with rear camera view = should be good.

• i wait and wait for tis alleged ‘global ‘ car to come. finally tis is the look. weird ass and ‘tata like dashboard’ . i think i can book an alza already ( most prob they are in the same price segment)

• Maniam on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:31 pm

What so fancy about soft touch? Soft to touch?
    It is just a coating sprayed on just about anything to make it feel like rubber. If you work at a car workshop or handle solvents on daily basis, the coating will come off within 1-2 years.
    Heck, those china hairdriers also have soft touch coating on them.

• papa rich on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:00 am

compare old myvi and new myvi button,,
      which feel better ?

• pendayung tua on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:35 pm

ok je interior dia.. tak lah buruk sgt…tak ada apa yg huduh pun.. nak interior nmpk mewah, angkat la GT-R ke bugati Veyron ke… nih duit dh la tak dak..kritik je reti..maki lak bagai nak rak..mana2 spesis yg dok hina kaw2 nih,biasanya spesis org yg duit cukup2 bayar lepas hutang je nih..kalo org duit banyak dia xde kritik lebih2 nya..kalo byk sgt duit,dia drive ferrari dh ke or kete2 yg mewah. tak dipandangnya proton nih…kutuk je lebih, duit takdak buat cara duit takde la..bodoh! ;)

• Chyan on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Heard of Volkwagen and Volvo design nowadays?

Call this boring and you call THOSE TWO BORING.

• But VW design looks very neat eventhough it’s boring. Volvo interior is not boring in my opinion espescially the new S60.

• panjang on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Its just an okay design.
    Prefer this design than Vios but not City.
    The center console seems too flat.
    Then again, they cannot satisfy everyone.

European?
    Nah….nothing drives, feel or look like European car unless its a European car…end of story.

• Abuya on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Ok basher, grid your lines… Hahaha…

Cik abg semua, ni prototype. Pernah tengok prototype yg dihasilkan TAK PERNAH dikomersilkan? Sekian, terima kasih.

By the way, keta ni utk mid class people. Klu korang ‘high taste’ among low class people, sila berpijak dibumi nyata. You won’t get presidential suite at Rumah Tumpangan Ah Beng.

My advice is earn more money and buy conti car

• tun said quality are on par, i hope so. if true then this new p3 will be my next proton car, it’s not wrong to buy proton if their improve and keep their promise about quality,
    and for proton basher, if you have mindset proton are shyt car.. even proton quality are 101% improve you still will find it shyt because your mind are said so.
    i’m not proton fan, but since i drive proton 2010 model i admit their quality are not on par with current international model but i love the proton handling.

cheers

• _xXx_ on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:53 pm

flat dash top – good for mounting all the taxi gadgets/meters

hope it’s better than the saga teksi

• SparC on Feb 09, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Simple, easy maintenance, not rattling sound is a good dashboard design.

most importantly, all button are ergonomics.

I believe Proton Engineer want to design something which is practical, long lasting, yet robust.

• Proton should hire new designers…

• nothing fantastic

• copy honda steering ><

• Johnny on Feb 09, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Whatever it is, if priced properly, people will still buy.

• Very plain and boring design, Proton really need to do something with their designers, either sack them or send them to KIA / Hyundai styling dept as trainees.

• inderaloka on Feb 09, 2012 at 7:37 pm

I am patriotic but my expectation is high.

• Maccroman on Feb 09, 2012 at 7:41 pm

Geng!

• drillero on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:00 pm

Me, reserve my comment until i see and drive the actual thing. Just my 2 cents hope to Proton new management, please uphold the grandeur name of Hang Tuah.

• icycoolboy on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:07 pm

My little sister can design a better interior than that!!!

• nazis on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:09 pm

why the dashboard design look too simple and plain?? only plain Naan? not cheese naan or tandori naan. at least give garlic naan la. huhuhuu. like volvo from 80-90. doesn’t match with exterior design, turbo cfe somemore. why??? chevrolet cruze from already a few years on market and dashboard design looks nice.

• seyed reza on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:16 pm

buttons placement makes no sense…….:((((( especially air conditioning buttons”((its like gen2 ..persona”))…proton must tell to all Malaysian people where is the innovation design for this 2012 car dash…where is the interesting common sensible buttons…..!!!!!! we now its not luxury cars but the design is so poor.and disappointing… if people and all customer wants to buy a new proton car like this “65.000 0r 75000” Thousands for what reason…for my opinion its beret to have my cps gen2 more trust-able car for low cost ….I”ll have a plan for trade my car …this time i choose like Honda city KIA forte..even if its cabin more smaller than gen2 even if its hp engine and capacity lower than my cps gen2………….:(((

• mark foster on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:21 pm

LOL. Trust me, these pics doesn’t do justice to this new car. If you see the car for yourself, you’ll be surprised by how much this company have changed.

• ponlek on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:21 pm

have No expectation on this car yet so far…it’s too early to put a line here..will only know it when it’s launched..NO expectation..no expectation !!

• Absolute Rider on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:26 pm

kinda upset after seeing this photo. please no wooden trim for high end model. even look more “uncle” and younger people don’t like it

• Absolute Rider on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:29 pm

too many colours trim :(

• alhhin on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:36 pm

too much complaint, guess too many people watch korean drama too much, too fancy and futuristic , old-school always the BEST

• papa rich on Feb 09, 2012 at 8:41 pm

proton designer should play with lines better like the korean…
    still ‘kotak’ look , where the hell is the innovation ?
    sorry proton, but this design very awfully outdated , never gonna compete with forte or vios.
    just love the specs (european) + better than china made car, maybe…

• Mega/Liverpool on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:15 pm

Drip drip Drip………..Oh when will we get to see this car?????
    Will Proton have a eco engine for it?
    Will they export to Uk?

?
    Mike/Liverpool

• perantau on Feb 11, 2012 at 6:56 pm

you see…. British people now looking for cheap-to-run car. this is because of the economy here getting worse. it is good if proton have good car (reliability is the the first things to think….then design as for eye attractants) with better fuel consumption. Don’t go for hybrid because hybrid is actually not an eco-friendly. it is not green at all because it bring harm to earth because one of its component comes from rare-earth. you know what does it mean…rite? also how reliable the hybrid car in the long run? Not economy-friendly as well. the battery not cheap either! it is more harmful than using petroleum based fuel. really hope for proton to dev. diesel engine for sedan car and the govt. can import quality diesel.=just my humble opinion=

• kerelbort on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:23 pm

it should be an auto climate (not climax :P) aircond right? i saw a screen near the aircond knob…

anyhoo. this design… is the european look alike right? boring design. i.e. jetta, 3series interior(not the latest one), A4 interior… right? am i wrong here?

well.. take out the audio system and replace with a touchy screen.. it could look modern…

cheapo HU? has proton ever make a car with stock cheapo audio system? blaupunkt and clarion is not cheapo right?
    can you get name brand in cheap toyota or cheap honda? i did not see it yet. I may missed it.

• cfe engine for this car, non of the 2.0 NA will have 205nm 2000-4000 rpm.

if people dont like it please buy 1.5 vios, 1.5 city or 1.6 fote. or 1.5 swift. they will be proud with the brand name and its 1500 see see.

• fazron80 on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:38 pm

This is not on par with the global standard they’re trying to achieve. Malaysians will still buy of course. On par with conti cars? Really? Go all out and design something that will wow the world lah Proton. Not just something just presentable to us malaysians.

That being said, I’ll probably get this car anyway. Just dissapointed that looking at what is shown so far. It’s just another standard proton car. If put beside the current car design of other manufacturers like Forte will not wow anyone. Except vios of course which will look ugly even compared to kereta lembu.

• septzz on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:38 pm

cannot go

• intermilan on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:45 pm

A safe design. better than risking it with flamboyant design. but seen too bland look quite boring. General feeling is rather ‘uninspired’.

If inspired by clean-looking Euro design. , they should make sure the build quality and material quality (fit n finish) is high like European too.

It just that, from the picture.. material quality seem like cheap / ordinary compared to whatever in the C segment today.

I wonder they benchmark again what car/model.

VW interior design is so bland. golf, polo…spartan.
    have a look at current c4 / ds4 dashboard. quite nice for a c-segment model. not so over yet not so safe either. modern-looking design and feel adequately premium for a c-segment model.

http://www.citroen.co.uk/home/#/new-cars/car-range/citroen-c4/control/

• there’s always a risk to go for flamboyant design, it risks to get ‘outdated’ before time…

• Drebar on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:45 pm

Honestly still much more be desired…Dashboard terlalu flat it’s true but too late crony suppliers sign kontrek apa macam lah

But car buyers biasalah kalau tanya lelaki u suka awek dada airport atau awek tetek busty…ok forget about it lah

For me i’m mixed feeling sedih ada, bangga pun ada

Sedihnya, rear tailight design very odd/janggal dan tak match design view depan yang sporty, still no chrome door handle dan window lines (style new Forte 2013)

Bangga, sebab Proton choose simple angular straight design like Jetta/Forte and not too obsess with Hyundai fluidic design. Look at most VW dashboard designs also boring flat same as Kia. Even Audi also have some flat boring dashboards. Pls check out Honda Brio internal plastic parts ho ho ho worst than Savvy lah

Finally, to offset all these design mistakes by Proton then Proton patut dumping price strategy

Who cares Proton must take chance local market so just hantam pricing starting RM45K base manual and RM50K base auto

Protom mesti dumping price until Myvi wet its pants off

• 4agze on Feb 09, 2012 at 9:55 pm

please oh please remove azlan othman from heading proton styling..nothing good coming from department anymore.their styling so lagging behind..get someone with a good automotive design background from abroad…new fresh idea not the same old stuff from the same person..

• Superman on Feb 09, 2012 at 10:02 pm

If this was not a pic of Proton, will you people complain again? This is a B line model and FYI the car was designed by Ital Desgin of Italy and engineered by Magna of Austria, this is a world class car. Wait to see the real thing when it is launched and then say some words. Full auto magic HVAC and a high end touch screen multimedia system are included. Another version beside the CFE will come later this year.

• driver on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:12 am

hopefully what you’re saying is true. fingers’ crossed!

• fazron80 on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:32 pm

We all want this to be the world class car. A new era of Proton. Well at least most of us. But in reality how much proton can sell this outside of malaysia based on the design alone. Kia and Hyundai is already there. Proton can’t waste any more time and continue to improve. Hopefully the next car will take the Koreans head on and say hey you’re not the only one that design a car. This car can’t do that yet.

• James Leong on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:25 am

Yes, everyone waiting for proton to produce a real “WOW” factor which could make our product proud in the world….Otherwise, don’t simple said global product….
        some ppl here still protecting proton, that why we doesn’t see any improvement….

• Guys2 here are the spec i got at

http://proton-sales.blogspot.com/2012/02/adakah-rm75k-untuk-p3-21a-berpatutan.html

Keyless Push Start,
    Auto-climate Aircond,
    Rain Sensor,
    Light Sensor,
    ISOFIX, Multi info Display
    Double-din
    + Touch Screen
    + Reverse Camera
    + Build-in GPS
    4 airbag
    Traction Control (ESP)
    4 Wheels ABS, EBD & BA
    with Paddle shifter & (+/-) on gear column (For H-line)
    CVT 7-Speed (H-line)
    AT 4-Speed(M-line)
    Campro CFE 1.6L
    Rumors Built in WIFI (wow)

• No much complaint about interior. It’s acceptable. But the car is so ugly. Just like old hyundai, kia & saga blm. Its will make your 17″ rims look like 14″ because of fat rear. After years of forte domination, now p1 try to fight with this? Perghhh slow maa… very very very slow.

• For a cheap sedan car, that should be fine. too many buttons and ppl will start complaining. keep it simple. but im crossing fingers for a good build quality and quality materials used.

• Hmm.. Sorry but i feel like fighting a losing battle already. I am a big supporter of proton but with this plain and without the wow factor, it just going to be ok in malaysia but global player.. I doubt it.

• btw, thats a nice touch on the gear part.. glossy black with silver lining at the sides.. and i think i see (well i could be wrong) that the cable is connected to some sort of USB port??

I can see starter button!! yeay!!

wait.. the second picture looks like it has another kind of interior trim?? glossy bits on the door and the dash!!

cool!!

if anyone has mentioned this before, sorry for wasting your time reading this.. but its too loong to read all the other comments above.. haha!

• Unforgiven on Feb 09, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Are we supposed to compete with global car like VW, Toyota, etc?
    Or are we supposed to drive cheap VW, Toyota instead?
    You decide the future!

• speed_lover on Feb 09, 2012 at 10:34 pm

suzuki swift punye dashboard yg super simple tu takde pun org complain..global car gak tu..ramai je yg beli

• Sedan Suck on Feb 09, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Typical Protong design…….you can do better than this. If the price under RM55K for base/medium line, you going to have volume. Anyways, good luck Proton

P3-21A is C-Segment
    4 air bags
    side mirror auto ON/OFF
    keyless
    built in GPS from bosch
    auto rain sensor
    auto light sensor
    auto cruise
    paddle shift for Premium
    hidden exhaust tail pipe
    multi function steering
    16?rims
    door auto lock
    2000RPM reach 205Nm
    9.6 sec to 100 km/h
    7 speed protonic
    REAR MULTILINK system
    5 star NCAP

• 9.6 sec to reach 100km/h?
      i expect that it should be around 7 sec since 1.8L satria gti could do it on that range.

• arapaima9 on Feb 10, 2012 at 7:37 am

9.6 sec to reach 100km/h is pretty reasonable for a sedan family car..it’s not a sports car….

• ss427 on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:42 am

Told you guys already… That CVT will make sure you won’t go anywhere fast.

Anyway, if max torque o/p can be had from 2000rpm, when will the torque o/p fall after that? Having max torque at such low rpm is good…drives like a diesel engine :) But… what happens after that? You can’t win any stoplight races if you shift gears at 2000rpm (ermm… fake CVT ‘gears’) because your puny hp o/p will be too low to allow the car to power ahead

Rem pple, big torque will allow you to pull ahead at launch, but you need big hp to gain big speed. Both aspects needs to go hand in hand.

If the max torque o/p can be maintained from 2000-4500+rpm, then it may be a good engine, but at an advertised century sprint of 9.6secs (its slower in real life folks), I seriously don’t think the max torque o/p can be maintained after 2000rpm.

For small 4 cyln engines (< 2.5L), a poorly tuned setup can result in something like this;

138hp at 5500rpm, 205NM of torque at 2000rpm…failing to ard 140+NM at 3000-4000rpm as the small turbo ran out of breath.

In such cases, you really can't win much races since the torque o/p falls dramtically before the hp o/p can catch up to offer big speed.

Anyway, 5 star NCAP as awarded by who?? Euro NCAP or the new ASEAN NCAP?? Or just a fig Potong pulled from the air to make themselves looks good??

• littlefire on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:41 pm

EURO NCAP only can be given to those road on-going cars.. Which mean the car already on the roads, and random testing on the new units will confirm what is the real safety standart..

• you crazy or stupid? even 2.0 turbo got hard time to do 7sec

• ss427 on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:50 am

Well Hyundai/Kia 271hp 2L Theta II GDI Turbo can do it.

When fitted to the Sonata and the Optima, both cars managed to do the century sprint in <7secs, with the Sonata taking 6.5 secs only. And that's with the standard 6AT, imagine what the cars can do if Hyundai decides to install the 6speed twin clutch transmission one day :D

No I didn;t made this up. Just surf by Motor Trend, Car & Driver URL to see for yourself. :)

• rome48 on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:05 am

its a 2.0 l turbocharged diesel silly..no way to compare it with a 1.6 LPT..

• pacifictuna on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:14 am

why hide the exhaust pipe?

• This will still remain a puzzle to the mechanics / technicians of proton. Will they be able to apply their technical skills to this new proton? It’s a big question that I’m worried, since their biggest ‘Wow’ on the power window problem. This new technologies will be a burden to everyone, not just the engineers. Cost would also be another de-facto here. probably the buying cost would be reasonable, as it will definitely be cheaper that the japanese / european models, but maintenance cost would be another factor. Hopefully proton know what they’re doing, and hope they will know what are the drawn backs they will face.

• wajaowner on Feb 09, 2012 at 11:03 pm

oh my waja eheheheh…1st thing came in mind after looking at this picture

• dear Proton,

im currently electronic-electronic engineering undergraduate. probably i could join your team to computerized/digitized all your electronic application. i made this because i think your dashboard interface electronic look very 90s (especially your analog dial knob). ive extensive experience in using MCU after joining numerous robotic competition. probably i could give a hand to do it.

• dirtyoldmen on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:25 am

Dear Applicant,

We thank you for your interest in a career with our company.
      Regretfully, at this present moment, there is no vacancy for an “electronic-electronic” engineer and it’s a policy to hire qualified personnel. Perhaps you should check again AFTER you’ve actually graduated.

Thank you,
      f. HR

• DavidB on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:17 pm

BMW also still have analog dials… how?

• Sgt Scoop on Feb 09, 2012 at 11:37 pm

When they launched the concept Tuah it looked fantastic. Now they’ve taken all the nice design bits off it’s just a Persona. :(

• Alamak..nampak macam kereta pakcik..Sikit futuristic design pun tak ada..I dah rasa sedih terhadap design Proton ni..Mula I support Tuah Concept sepenuh..Kemudian bornet light mengecewakan..Sekarang pulak interior..I think Proton really will make lost again..The air cond vent also so old design.. Kesian.

• Whynot on Feb 09, 2012 at 11:51 pm

What is going on again in P1? Kick those ugly designer out and let the public design something very much better. There are plentiful of young designer out there in Malaysia that can do tonnes of beautiful design than this. What a let down!

• cazran on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:10 am

i wonder,, if the both pic from the same car?? coz the colour of the panel is quite different???

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:53 am

Did you ever read first, understand what PT had written, then think before you post your comment???? It seems that some of the commenters really like to buzz in and complaint this and that but never understand the real story… Uuuhhhh.

• Whynot on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:15 am

To P1. You paid tonnes of monies in design. Tonnes of monies in molding and try on errors! Have you ever thought of 1Malaysia peoples? We are the true lovers of Protons and you have never listen well to the peoples that put you up high and well known. It is a regret that you continue to do ugly design and not allowing the people views. If you continue to do like this. The next time it would be your funeral!

• c14man on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:21 am

i hear “nyik nyik nyik nyik nyik~~~~” coming from in between the gaps…
    i wonder how proton does it every time.
    it’s like their secret recipe that no other manufacturer can duplicate.
    as if it’s symbolic of proton cars. without it, a proton car is not a proton car. =)

• yippi33 on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:15 am

looks like the guys at Honda and toyota manage to steal that secret recipe..i can hear it also in their cars..

• the steering wheel somehow reminds me of the current Honda line-up standard steering and dashboard somehow is a hybrid design from multiple brands : proton, perodua & honda..

• Alinda on Feb 10, 2012 at 1:43 am

Readers criticized like they can design a better dashboard. Apply for job at Proton and help make their cars better! Dr M has said the new model is on par with the best from Japan & Europe. So please give it the benefit of the doubt.

Currently Proton Inspira is discounted up to RM7000 but I’m willing to wait until May for the new model launch.

• bonbon on Feb 10, 2012 at 1:51 am

proton, launch this model to other market laa… i want to see how malaysian react on that

• Bongcs on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:48 am

I hate to say this, but the new myvi interior just attracts me more. this is just too general.

• papa rich on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:16 am

proton designer need learn bout line and curve just like the korean car manufacturer,
    honestly, dashboard look dull and boring ,
    but i just love the specs on this car (hopefully good quality) coz dont wanna hear complain bout others than the window problem proton had.

and about the material, maybe good quality as it look can last longer but lack of soft touch especially the steering-very hard when u grip .

proton can do better than this, plis do more proper design (optitron or digital speedometer) please…………………………………

• ah_lock on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:35 am

in my POV, kira ok what.. simple design.. compared to neo dashboard like argghhh wtf.. or even worst, the “underwear” vios dashboard.. haha..

• ah_lock on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:38 am

another thing, kira ok juga lah design dashboard mcm ni compared to nissan dashboard like the new micra or the new versa/sunny/sentra.. that kinda of design really sucks laa.. like wtf, it looks like a chinese car.. haha..

• tiadaid on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:50 am

They’ve tried thinking out of the box in terms of interior design – it’s known as the Gen-2 mk.1. Guess they’ve turned off from thinking out of the box thanks to the hostile reception from the audience on that model.

• Romuluz on Feb 10, 2012 at 7:28 am

The dashboard looks really boring and more fitting on a Chery or Geely low cost car.
    Hope the designers re-work it before freezing the design for mfg.

• Septum Primum on Feb 10, 2012 at 7:52 am

PLASTICCCC o.0

• razee hussin on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:12 am

i think u guys missed the previous post..proton tend to imitate bmw style of dashboard with long term/lasting desing instead of radical design such as hyundai,kia,

• This may be true, but proton always fails to add QUALITY into the even simple design.

• Alinda said:
    “Currently Proton Inspira is discounted up to RM7000 but I’m willing to wait until May for the new model launch.”

He he he told ya Dilbert marketing Theory always proven again and again

Dilbert Marketing 101:
    “How do you sell a bad product?”
    “Sell it to stupid people!”

• Alinda:
    “Dr M has said the new model is on par with the best from Japan & Europe. So please give it the benefit of the doubt. ”

He he he after more than 25 years and RM10 billion sales sacrificed wasted by car buyers….still asking 2nd chance??? He he he no way jose no way…once bitten twice shy lah…he he he

• He he he Protongkat try hard to do “European design, Japanese tech but Malaysia price” on this tuah…

He he he how about “Saudi Arabian price” then sure laku lah…starting price RM35,216.98….he he he

“Protongkat sure laku Formula – European design, Japanese tech but Saudi Arabian price!”

• rabbbishhhhh on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:43 am

as long as that fella… err… lano… azlano still there in charge of design dept. don’t expect anything other than a trash.

• ayahjannah on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:44 am

old fashion. interiornya tidak nampak peningkatan. sama macam model terdahulu.

• ugly, unimaginative… boring…
    plz take a look at cruze and elantra/sonata’s interior… 1.6 turbo mated to this dashboard is a letdown…

• Joe Radzif on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:20 am

can I say it dull?
    huhuhu

• farghmee on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:49 pm

can can.
      this is just a pic.

maybe after the launching, our perception may differ?

• ABTguy on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:46 am

To me it looks like a “Fault-less” or bare-bone design, conservative but functional, hopefully.

Perhaps what Proton should have been done is to adapt brush-metal on the center console to bring up the perceived value of the car, at least for the high spec version. And some brush-metal ring on the air-con vents etc.

As for the air-cond vents itself, the design adopted by Audi / Peugeot RCZ (round shape with chrome ring) looks good !

• ss427 on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:50 am

The dash really looked like early 2000s design… It sure looked like the old 2004 Lexus ES300

http://www.qatarliving.com/files/imagecache/page_480/2010/8/25/LEXUS_02.gif

Ok before you guys celebrate that you finally have a budget mini Lexus from Potong, the lousy Potong interior parts will make sure the new any similarity will be confined to the shape only.. Those 3 a/c knobs seems like its taken from the Lancer, I mean Inspira.

Those air vents certainly doesnt look like Lexus quality. :)

And what’s up with that tiny bump on the dash top on top of the central air vents?? :( Sloppy workmanship? And Potong needs to get rid of that Honda copycat steering wheel part. The wheel boss is too big and the buttons are too small and flimsy.

• lanzxervia on Feb 10, 2012 at 9:53 am

you see chevrolet cruze interior and that’s what we call DASHBOARD..please proton change ur designer

• gtrGunner on Feb 10, 2012 at 11:16 am

comeon chevrolet cruze dashboard center console design reminds me of a painted urinal bowl….lolz

• Outsider on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:09 am

Sama juga macam gambar dashboard exora prime yang banyak orang komen buruk tapi bila tengok sebenar bila launch..ramai puji kata cantik…so please dont judge only when looking on the blur picture…but please see directly front on your eyes, dont after that you can judge whatever you want…

• interior looks cheap and plasticky….

• Proton resemble like UMNO…Only promise here and there but end product really disappointed. Down PROTON and UMNO!!!

• farghmee on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:44 pm

u talk like politician: blame this & that.

give solution, not hatred.

:)

• pendayung tua on Feb 10, 2012 at 12:28 pm

aku takdak masalah dgn design PROTON nih..however dr segi harga amatlah tidak relevan dan tidak logik..knp bila anta oversea bleh harga murah berkali ganda..tapi jual dalam negara sendiri harga mahal tahap gila babas…there’s something fucking wrong with the system la..rasuah kah? dasar yg hanya nk untung pada kerajaan kah? try explain sket boleh tak kat rakyat yg x fhm nih??

• MoFaz on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:11 pm

semua kereta kena tax kat malaysia ni la. excise duty 75% + sales tax 10%. harga persona tu RM30K+ je kalau takde tax. kalau compare dengan arab saudi memang la murah sebab sana takde tax!
      dah paham dah?

• wheeler on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:20 pm

That’s call market penetration strategy. Naza is giving Peugeot 5008 how many years and very low interest rate, for what?

• Car Driver on Feb 10, 2012 at 1:12 pm

U know why many commented this is a boring car?
    Almost every features are copying other successful car in the markets which everybody already seen or used before. Nothing new..
    Proton is catching up with these cars only now.. That is why so many commented this and that are boring..
    Nothing refreshing about it..Unless something different introduced in the car..Like Auto Climax control, super GDI engine, very different and sporty exterior, etc..
    Otherwise just another affordable car for travel between A and B..

• befor it come put ppl can said a thousand beautiful words to discript …..after it came out mostofthe time doesn’t seen like what had been siad before….wait n see ok………..how great it is it just a car………

• Carlos on Feb 10, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Many love Proton but seems Proton will let down many of us. This is last test to Malaysians, if this P3-21A fail, please cease any torture to us, Malaysians. Many resources already went to drain just to justify the incapable existence of national car project. In fact, the Cabinet back in 1983 not fully support of the project.

Having said that, being a citizen, we must support the national industry for over good 26 years. Since now DRB is the new majority owner, and they’ll bear the consequences of the national brand. They’ll lose nothing since Tg Malim plant easily can sell to many manufacturers if not rent partly if not fully. Once Proton fold, the Shah Alam plant will give DRB more than enough for the RM1.291b they already forked out.

About RM1b worth of Shah Alam land bank once convert to property business and over RM300m (very conventional estimate for state-of-the art Tg Malim plant) PLUS P3-21A already in the final stage before unveiled, Proton’s stake sold to DRB is a gift!

By 2015, if this project fail WE CAN’T RELUCTANTLY to scrap this project for once and for all. Let market decided and no more government bail out.

Promote public transport rather than private car ownership and sell oil at market rate (it will cease smuggling and save subsidies for future generation). Car will be cheap but not oil.

Opps! Before that please help us, Proton. Create a decent quality product. Before you can export and well accepted by global market lets people of Malaysian, Aseans embraced your car with proud and delight or at least satisfied with your car ownership and experience.

Your brand image far from good though your product is not bad. Change it before 2015 or doom at it best.

Love Proton.

• Pls proton, what is your real selling factor? To me, the car design is the utmost point to open ppl’s eyes. Thnx for the long list of the car specs. But to me why do kedai mamak have wifi nowadays… Bcoz it is a must. Same goes to the long list specs , or else you will lose with other carmakers just in the first round comparison. Pls proton , do design with s’thing that is new, fresh, bold with strong character which we can really proud of. Everything here seems to be copycat. We all know that we can never appreciate a 2nd siti nurhaliza or m nasir. After all, you just have to crack your head for years just for producing only ONE GOOD CAR.

• yippi33 on Feb 11, 2012 at 12:24 am

no wonder Toyota and perodua manage to rake millions of monies…its because people with mentalities such as this…same old junk engine and gearbox…give it a new ah beng interior and bodykit to fly to the moon and vallah!!!you’ve got a best seller in malaysia!!
      Great!!

• DavidB on Feb 10, 2012 at 3:28 pm

everyone seems to be SO concerned about how the Tuah might look. Did anyone bother to look at the specs they are throwing in? In a 100% Malaysian made car? (Myvi is not Malaysian car btw)…

I for one am proud that we have finally come this far.

Toyota Malaysia, Perodua… whatever. They can sell as many cars as they like, but the point is they have brought NOTHING to Malaysia in terms of improvement and innovation. All still 3rd world mentality of “assembling” cars with minimal input.

• if y dont have any car yet…
    maybe this car in my list…
    good job proton…

• Potong Sorgua on Feb 10, 2012 at 5:40 pm

COngratulation PROTON for coming out with a new model.

Definately an effort from proton rather than simply rebadging from Mitsubishi. While the quality and design remain to be seen….there is another question i wish to bring up…Constructive views are appreciated here.

1. Since Proton is sold off and now it belongs to a company….should it be a right time to remove the heavy taxes on other cars to level the playing ground.
    2. If the taxes are not removed…..why is the government protecting a company discriminately at the expense of the Rakyat
    3. If the protection is to stay….what is it in for the RAKYAT?

• pendayung tua on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:44 pm

agreed..STOP protecting PROTON …y protect a company car when it doesn’t give any benefit to its own people.. not only give an expensive price for a local-built car…but also give an impact to other car price in this country…y still consider to save the thousands of proton workers while another MILLION of people of this country also should be considered..sacrifice the thousands when u can SAVE million others….

• Absolute Rider on Feb 10, 2012 at 6:22 pm

Use black!!!! and some chrome or “titanium dark silver” not so many colours like this…. aduh!!!

• Absolute Rider on Feb 10, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Something I want to share about my feelings about Tuah – Persona R – P3-21A.

I still remember the first time Tuah concept being shown to public which at that time reported that it will be the replacement of Persona. So people all start to call Persona R. The Tuah concept really full of “WOW Factors”. At that time, Proton even said that they are getting Italdesign Guigiaro to design the Persona Replacement. I was so in love with the concept car and start to think to get it.

Then, spy shots after spy shots and people call it Persona R!!! Spied here and spied there. Suddenly, one day Proton showed us the white body of the model and told us it is not Persona replacement model. It is a new model in different segment as it is not carry any “parts” from Persona. Known as P3-21A.!

Later we all saw the front uncovered of P3-21A, at that time I was like “Oh… ok, but the grill and head lamps kinda no WOW designs and details!!!” After months, we all saw another uncovered picture of P3-21A, this time the rear. Again I was “Opps….. oh ok”

Finally, the clearer interior picture is out! This time, I was like “oh my gosh!!!! so uncle looks and with so many different colour trims.” Please don’t use wooden finished! It will makes the interior and the whole car looks more uncle-ish. For this tye of segment you are targeting 30s and above of age buyers. They prefer black!!! with some chrome or titanium dark silver finishing!!!!!

Please Proton…… I’m not bashing but your P3-21A lost all the Tuah’s WOW FACTORS!!! made me few very disappointing. Still looking forward to see and feel the real car once it launched months to come. Hopefully can make some final improvements!!!! THANKS PROTON….. :)

• fazron80 on Feb 11, 2012 at 1:25 pm

probably their designers all are uncle. Clueless on what a modern car design should be. Too arrogant to change their mindset and too ignorant to listen to other people who genuinely want proton to succeed. Syok sendiri. The result will be just another same Proton that looks like it’s going somewhere but so few people outside Malaysia will be impressed. Satria Neo was probably something that had the outside world interested a bit. But really not that much. Let’s wait and see the real car.

• conslusion man on Feb 10, 2012 at 8:15 pm

I think good design been made by the designer with good quality ,
    i seen some of malaysian car designer design very good,
    its just because of TO MAKE AFFORDABLE CAR all those went wrong..
    or myb the chairman always choose the outdated old man look style… ? MAYBE..

• biggie on Feb 10, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Proton has been paying the same amount of tax as any car produced in asean country.

The fact that here in malaysia we are paying tax, when we buy goods more then income tax as in many other country where car seem to be cheap.

Anyway… Most here do not boter to listen to explaination.

I will not be buying this car as my current ride is good enough, my way of avoiding paying tax, got no money to hire tax consultants for private income

• Dr Mamak said Protongkat cannot be producing cheap car all long anymore

But what is wrong in selling cheap cars? And why cheap cars cannot be decent quality or better featured?

Ha ha ha this where Dr Mamak and Protongkat talk nonsense self-contradict themselves

It is simply because Protongkat reach dead-end on how to produce cheap cars with great design and features-pack

Look at next Hyundai i10 and new Kia Picanto – a testament of Cheap cars can be produced both Nice design and tons of Features

And just forget this fantastic Elantra lah way ahead million light years from Protongkat Tuah got it all wrong even before launching kah kah kah

And in US Euro global market Elantra, Forte actually cheap compact sedan that dragged Civic Altis Cruze etc category down to their knees not because its cheap price but smack of design paradigm shift that shows cheap cars can be stunning beauty and even better specs HA HA HA HOW TUAH GONNA BEAT THIS HUH!

Ok lah still got chance for Protongkat to survive longer not all is lost…how about sell it at Saudi Arabian price (not Malaysian price)? Ha ha ha yes it is!

“Protongkat sure laku formula – European design, Japanese tech but at Saudi Arabian price!”

• inderaloka on Feb 11, 2012 at 8:36 am

The interior design are not impressive at all.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 11, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Im just wondering, 16 Tuah have been registered in 2010 and 3 in 2011. All under Commersial Vehicle. A total of 19 already hit the road. I don’t see any reason if they couldn’t make their mind on what supposed to be in the production line by now.

http://www.maa.org.my/pdf/market_review_2011.pdf

One other thing, why the interest rate for Malaysian made Car esp P1 and P2 is 1% higher or more compared to imported models? Why G imposed such rule thru Bank Negara and this really hurts our monthly payments.

• Quattro on Feb 11, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Anybody can confirm the spec?
    Items Persona Elegance H-Line (fullspec) P3-21A (fullspec) Anggaran (Minimum)
    Penambahan Kos
    Harga RM59,713 RM75,000 (andaian shj) RM15,287 (15K)
    Engine Campro IAFM 1.6L Campro CFE 1.6L RM2.5K
    Gearbox AT 4-Speed CVT 7-Speed RM1.5K
    Sports Mode – with Paddle shifter & (+/-) on gear column RM0.5K
    Keyless Push Start,
    Auto-climate Aircond,
    Rain Sensor,
    Light Sensor,
    ISOFIX, Multi info Display  – ? RM1.5K
    Head-unit Single-din
    + Portable GPS Double-din
    + Touch Screen
    + Reverse Camera
    + Build-in GPS RM1K
    Sport Rim / Tyre 15″ / 195 16″ / 205 RM0.5K
    Airbag 2 Airbag 4 airbag RM1.5K
    Traction Control – ESC RM1K
    Braking System ABS & EBD 4 Wheels ABS, EBD & BA RM1K
    Chassis & Body Current Chassis + the whole new Chassis / Body
    + All new parts & details
    + All new Design
    + NCAP 5 Stars
    + increase in Insurans RM7K
    Others – Unknown items &
    Upgrade Parts that we all still don’t know RM3.5K

• Quattro on Feb 11, 2012 at 1:54 pm

i’m very excited when somebody say dia punya dashbord adalah seperti old wira > harapnya benar2 begitu > just to added if proton boleh beli juga teknologi timing chain dan electric power steering > ianya akan menjadikan persona baru ini “Must Buy item’ utk rakyat malaysia > harga 75 utk high spec, tp utk yg lower spec minimun engine mustilah CFE type jg + minimum safety feature eg. 1 airbag for driver only but abs+ebd is a MUST.
    from other website:

“Yang pertama, bab ciri keselamatan, P3-21A mempunyai NCAP 5 Star rating, yang pastinya memberikan kelebihan ketara kepada pesaing-pesaing terdekatnya terutama Vios & City. Rangkanya lebih kukuh dan selamat serta mempunyai Airbag depan dan sisi. Ia juga merupakan kereta yang paling selamat di Malaysia jika diletakkan dalam segmennya, kerana ciri pemanduan ‘Lotus Ride & Handling’ yang amat stabil & menggunakan ‘Multilink rear suspension’ yang tiada dalam pesaing-pesaingnya seperti Vios, City, Forte, mahupun Corolla Altis, bak kata DSZ “guarantee best handling in it’s class”. Ciri-ciri keselamatan lain yang dilengkapi P3-21A ini adalah ABS & EBD with 4 wheels Disc Brake dan satu lagi ciri keselamatan terbaru diperkenalkan iaitu ESC (lebih kurang mcm VSA-Vehicle Stablity Assist).

Bab aksoseri pula, kereta ini dilengkapi dengan Keyless Push start Button, Light Sensor, Rain Sensor, Build-in GPS, front LED light untuk pemanduan waktu siang seperti Audi, ruang boot yang amat besar, lebih kurang besarnya seperti ruang boot Persona Elegance, menggunakan spotrim 16″ inci dan lebar tayar saiz 205, logo badge proton yang diletakkan di bahagian depan dan belakang lebih besar menampakan kereta lebih gah dan pelbagai lagi.

Bab performance pula, variant teratas P3-21A akan menggunakan enjin Campro 1.6L CFE dengan 7-speed gearbox CVT, 140PS/205 torque. Wowww!!! dan tak lupa ia juga dilengkapi dengan Paddle shift steering, dan sport mode +/- di gear column seperti Inspira 1.8CVT dan 2.0CVT. Bagi variant pertengahan dan bawah, engine yang digunakan ialah Campro 1.6L IAFM+ dengan gearbox CVT 6-speed.

Akhir Sekali bab finishing, bab ni ramai yang musykil dan bimbang, terutamanya mengenai badge Proton di Steering. Jadi komentar-komentar di blog funtasticko, paultan dan lain-lain tak perlu lagi bimbang, kerana badge proton warna hitam-putih (sama seperti badge di bumper depan) disertakan lining chrome nipis disekelilingnya ada diletakkan di steering P3-21A ini. Steeringnya pula menggunakan steering Exora, tetapi ada sedikit ‘design improvement’ di bahagian ‘Audio switch control’ sekaligus menampakkan steeringnya lebih kemas, kompak dan elegan. Dashbord & door trim pula menggunakan soft material seperti Wira, bukan keras seperti Persona, Saga, Exora & Satria Neo.”

• fazron80 on Feb 13, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Harga yg cfe brp ce kongsi sekali. Knp tk bg manual. Walaupun ramai suka auto tp org oldskool mcm aku suka manual. Lainlh kalau proton guna DSG mmg konfem lagi laju dari manual. Experience bwk cvt tak brp sesuai utk hardcore driver. Agak boring pun ada. Letaklah CFE tu dengan manual sekali. Barulh betul2 power. Bagilah lebih pilihan kepada pembeli. Mmg keta brand lain pun takda manual. Sebab tu aku tak beli brand lain. Kalau manual harga pun boleh turun lg. Maintenance pun murah.

• panglima neo on Feb 11, 2012 at 9:52 pm

it is look okey what….

i just want to remind all of malaysian…,
    dont look at one side only means only this picture view…
    because the view only at left side… currently we still dont know the full interior and exterior… it might be very smart on their exterior and interior… hopefully…

• Satria Gen1 on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:37 am

I want to give a message to Proton R3 Division:

Please give some inputs to the interior design. Please don’t spray the golden colour part to red!!! Black leather with chrome finish on gear, use chrome interior door opener would be nice touch plus black leather seat and steering wheel and red stitching (string). Very dark grey or black plastic for interior!

I’m currently getting a car for myself and looking for other brands too but many come with Torsion Beam and P3-21A with multi link (same segment) which is a plus and I do agree the designs wise were a bit let down.

Hope to see it within 6 months time or sooner. Hahaha….. Seriously! Nice touch and I’ll go for it! I can’t wait for P3-22A till next year.

Any plans for 3rd Gen Satria? Hope Proton, DRB-Hicom and Lotus can work together! I’m sure many satria lovers here as it’s a more popular Proton brand internationally and it’s time to get a replacement.

• fuelpump on Feb 12, 2012 at 1:01 pm

hope this tuah wont come with fuelpump problem and should come life time warranty.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 12, 2012 at 2:59 pm

I’ve to turn down P3 for this moment cause EB will be out Next week and the MK (the one I’m waiting for) will be introduced in 2013.

BTW as informed by internal source, more than 20 Vendors have been terminated so far due to Quality issues in P1. Most of it related to P3-21A.

Tough way to go Proton.

• says says on Mar 02, 2012 at 6:24 am

..the one onboard that new Vanette Van much much better!

• allen on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:36 pm

RM75K for premium spec