Singapore to lower special tax for Euro V diesel cars

Some news from the south – according to a report, the Singaporean government is set to reduce the annual special tax on diesel passenger cars, specifically for vehicles that are Euro V-compliant, beginning January 1, 2013. The announcement was made by the country’s Minister of Finance, Tharman Shanmugaratnam, in the FY2012 Budget Statement.

Effective January 1 next year, the special tax for Euro V-compliant diesel cars will be rated at S$0.40 per cubic cm of engine capacity, with a payment of S$400 set as a minimum. Presently, vehicles that are Euro IV-compliant or higher are being taxed at S$1.25 per cubic cm of displacement.

Essentially, the revised structure – made in recognition of improved emissions of these vehicles compared to pre-Euro V ones – will result in nearly 70% savings for owners of such diesel passenger cars.

Currently, owners of an Euro V diesel car with an engine capacity of up to 1.6 litres has to fork out S$1,000 in tax every six months. With the new tax structure, the cost for the special tax is set to be lowered to S$320 for six months, translating to a S$680 reduction.

For engines displacing above 1.6 litres up to 2.0 litres, the current S$1,250 tax is set to be reduced to S$400, while that of 2.5 litre diesels, currently at S$1,563, will be brought down to S$500, with all figures for a six month period.

The report adds that motorists can choose to pay the special tax annually or every six months, together with the standard road tax. As for the special tax for diesel taxis and Euro IV diesel cars, the figure will remain unchanged at S$5,100 per annum and $1.25 per cubic cm respectively.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• This is a very good way to encourage Transport companies to upgrade their vehicles….Malaysian Govt should emulate this……Department of Transport should push for Euro V Diesel ma……

• Wallstreet on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Yes, this is far better than giving it to Hybrid. Clean diesel is far better than hybrid when it comes to overall environmental impact. More importantly it did not take away the fun of driving..

• oligopoli on Feb 20, 2012 at 12:46 pm

never realize its so costly to own and maintain a car in SG ;-)

• carazy on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:41 pm

waw.. S$2000 for rodtax a year for 1.6 liters car.. crazy money

• ppl over there at sg have good reason not to buy a car because their public transport are so damn good..can u say the same with malaysia?..

• ss427 on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:03 am

Hi bro, sorry I beg to differ. Our public transport system may look glamourous on the surface but we Sillyporeans are cursing and swearing at it everyday. :(

It’s utterly ridiculous when you realize how much time you’d need just to take public transport to cover short distances. Our transport companies are profit driven gov linked companies and serving the public considered secondary to them :(

Our MRT breaks down almost 2-3 times a week… and often during crucial morning/evening rush hours. Our buses may be new Euro 4 Scanias and Euro V Benz Citaros, but they’re often overloaded with passengers and you often need to wait for >15 mins for one to arrive only to find that you can’t board the stupid bus. :(

Eg, I live in Serangoon area and works in Raffles Place. If I drive to work, the total time taken (inclusive of morning heavy traffic) is ard 20mins at most. If I take the MRT, its ard 40 mins, and its considered pretty fast as I can make use of a newly opened line. If I take a bus, I will need to hop 2 bus svcs and the total time taken can be > 1 hr! !@#$%^ Total mileage is ard 12-13km only!

But of cos, few people can afford to drive to work at Raffles Place as the parking charges is horrible expensive (SG$6/hr anyone?) and parking lots are very few. So most of us are stuck with their overcrowded MRTs and buses and pray that they don’t breakdown with you in them… :!@#$%

This is why most sillyporeans still aspire to own a car despite the so called ‘world class’ public transport systems… :(
        And for all the nonsense

• ss427 on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:07 am

And that’s EXCLUDING the normal road tax our dear gov imposed on regular gasoline powered cars.

For a reg 1.6L gasoline powered car, the annual road tax is about SG$600. So if you drive a 1.6L diesel, you’d need to pay SG$600 PLUS SG$640 of diesel tax! :( Total $1240…

Ain’t life wonderful in SG? Our gov thinks we print money and will juice us dry so that they can show off to the world (and Bolehland) how great Sillypore economy is…@#$%^&

• Gavin on Feb 20, 2012 at 2:42 pm

What else but to buy the most powerful diesel in the line up, too bad SG is so small

• A. Samad on Feb 20, 2012 at 3:32 pm

It looks like even S’pore is bogged down by a similar archaic law (thank the British or whoever) that jacks the cost of private diesel car ownership – so who says that S’pore is so progressive? If they were so advanced they would have spotted and fixed this stupid law a long time ago! Most advanced countries (not ours nor S’pore) encourage the use of diesel because of its advantages; by reviewing the very laws that limit the use of such vehicles.

• guess, next year onwards sales of diesels cars/suv will start to increase in SG. The Japs will be hit hard while the Euro/Korean will surely benefits. After this, no such thing as high FC for Korean/Euro cars since their diesel are waayyy more frugal & powerful compared to a Japs petrol. Eg, an Altis 1.8 VVTI FC is around 13-15km/l but a 320D/or any Jetta 2.0 TDI can easily do btw 15-19km/l with a heavy foot! an those conti are damn torque laden (180nm @4,000rpm for the altis vs 350++nm for the conti at low 1,500rpm…hehehehe)

• toroto on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:14 pm

When will be malaysia’s turn? Wil de G stil giv same ol excuse dat our country’s climate n condition does favour to high-grade diesel? Yet stil stil wanna b de leader in automotiv n environment-frenly in de region? Really shameful…

• tikus on Feb 20, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Our G is still sleeping….zzzzzz

• tricycle on Feb 20, 2012 at 5:42 pm

W T F, why are they charging special tax for lower consumption and lower emission car. The used of this kind of car should be encourage.

If the BN MPs know about this, surely they will follow. What ever ideas that is burdening the life of the Rakyat, the BN MPs like to copy. Tax here and there, GST la, they want to copy from SG.

But when it comes on how good the SG manage the economy, the safety n security, the judicial system and etc which are far better than us, they will not do or moot the idea. Ohh I forgot this is Bolehland.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 20, 2012 at 6:39 pm

singapore really siao one.

• littlefire on Feb 20, 2012 at 10:25 pm

While SG already start using EURO V, we still at EURO 2… Wahh…. Even worst then Thailand & even India…

• ss427 on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:12 am

I’m really concerned about the diesel quality in Bolehland. I mean, high sulphur content Euro 2 diesel will cause considerable damage to Euro 5 engines.

The ultra high pressure fuel injectors will be fouled very quickly, the cat converter will be damaged and the particle filter will be choked with unburnt sulphur soot…

I guess for Euro 5 cars in SG, owners will need to top up the fuel tank before making a trip to Bolehland. And not to refuel for the whole journey. It’s a good thing diesel engines are generally more efficent than petrol engines

• bagero on Feb 20, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Ive no idea many malaysians drive diesel car everyday to work.. who care?? V, 2 or 1000?? go green laa people!! go prius or insight or cycle!!

• skiborne on Feb 21, 2012 at 11:33 am

truth is, EVERY SINGLE diesel passenger vehicles that are brought in here have been retuned to be able to accept our diesel quality. not to brag but my dad drives Landie Freelander 2 (pre facelift) wih 2.2 diesel engine and till today it drives like a dream.. even Bimmer is boldly bringing their Xdrive 20d engines in various of its models.. and from what i can see, most new X3s and X1s here are diesels!

• Norman on Feb 21, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Hmm good,Probably i will buy European under 1.8 turbodiesel MPV

• I think everyone should think about lorries and bus. They are the who will suffer if gov switch to euro-V. Hmm….

• Motorhead on Jan 04, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Our cousins in sabah and sarawak seems to be way ahead of us in the peninsular as they have recognised that diesel is the way forward. In fact the rv of diesel cars are much better compared to petrol. However, as for us sadly we remain in ’70s mindset with our choice of compressed or spark induced combustion. It is sadder still when we have automotive writers who still would prefer a petrol engine beemer over a diesel just because of his hate of the noise the diesel makes when it is idling.