Volvo V40 premieres in Geneva, all loaded up

Volvo’s new V40, which was leaked prior to its Geneva premiere, has made its official debut. The five-door, five-seater sibling to the Volvo C30 is the first new model that’s fully developed according to the company’s human-centric ‘Designed Around You’ strategy.

Design cues include a classic V-shaped bonnet further enhanced by bolder expressive lines, a low and wide front grille, a wide shoulder line to echo the rising beltline and a hexagonal tailgate reminiscent of the C30.

Six engine choices have been slated for the car, three petrol and three diesel units. The range-topping petrol mill is the 2.5 litre T5, with 254 hp and 360 Nm (400 Nm in overboost), followed by the 1.6 litre T4 and T3 units, offering 180 hp / 240 Nm and 150 hp / 240 Nm respectively.

The diesels are led by the 2.0 litre D4, with 177 hp and 400 Nm for numbers. Then, there’s the 150 hp and 400 Nm D3, also a 2.0 litre unit, and a 115 hp and 270 Nm 1.6 litre D2 rounding off the list.

The T5 version comes with a six-speed automatic gearbox, while the T4 is available in combination with the automatic six-speed Powershift transmission or a six-speed manual gearbox. As for the T3, it comes with a manual gearbox.

Meanwhile, the two 2.0 diesels are available with a six-speed automatic transmission or six-speed manual gearbox, while the 1.6 litre oil burner comes standard with a six-speed manual box, with the Powershift unit available as an option. All engine versions have start-stop and braking energy regeneration, no matter which choice of gearbox.

Suspension-wise, the front McPherson struts have the same 25 mm piston rods as the S60, with the stiffness enabling the structure to absorb lateral loads better. The rear, meanwhile, features monotube dampers with compression and return damping done via the same valve – with a shorter, faster fluid flow, the damper responds more quickly.

Two different chassis setups are available for the V40, a Dynamic chassis being standard. The second setup is the Sport chassis, which lowers the ride by 10 mm, and here, the springs and shock absorbers have a firmer setting.

LEDs feature strongly, used in the front and rear position lights, daytime running lights, turn indicators in the door mirrors, rear number plate illumination and third brake light.

LED lamps are also used to light up strategic areas of the interior, with a red-to-blue setting that adapts the light to the interior temperature; another seven mood themes are available. The gearshift knob for both auto and manual versions also feature LED illumination from the inside.

Inside, the cabin adopts a driver-centric approach, with Volvo’s iconic ultra-slim centre stack now in a more sculpted version than in previous models. Highlights include a new, fully graphic instrument cluster that allows the driver to personalise instrument layout and information stream.

The cluster, which has an active TFT (Thin Film Transistor) crystal display, offers three graphic themes – Elegance, which has amber illumination that creates a traditional and calm aura; Eco, which features green background illumination designed to create an environmentally inspired look; and Performance, which is red.

For the last, a tachometer scale replaces the speed scale in the centre as displayed in the Elegance and Eco versions. Vehicle speed is shown digitally in the centre of the display. The right display includes a power meter, which is a gauge that informs the driver how much power is available and how much power is being used at any given moment in time.

Material and trim-wise, the interior offers three main colour themes: Charcoal, Charcoal/Blond, or Espresso/Blond. Leather seats are also available in a new Azure Blue accent colour. Also available for the car is a fixed panorama glass roof, that stretches from the front windscreen to the backrest of the rear seats.

As is to be expected, there’s a full deck of safety and support systems to be had, and the list includes a world-first Pedestrian Airbag Technology, Lane Keeping Aid with haptic auto steering, Park Assist Pilot, automatic Road Sign Information, Active High Beam and a Cross Traffic Alert radar system at the rear.

The V40 also features the groundbreaking Pedestrian Detection with full auto brake, as well as the further-developed City Safety low-speed collision avoidance system, which now operates at speeds up to 50 km/h.

To top things off, V40 owners will be able to personalise their ride with an exterior accessory styling kit. The kit includes deflectors, a twin-coloured rear diffuser, a striping kit and enlarged rectangular, chromed twin tail pipes. Diamond-cut 18-inch alloy wheels with contrasting grey detailing and a roof spoiler can be added separately.

Production of the V40 starts in May, with first customer deliveries set to begin in September.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 08, 2012 at 6:37 pm

why the 2.5L T5 instead of the 2.0 T5 used in other Volvo variants.

• shawal on Mar 08, 2012 at 6:38 pm

its volvolicious ….err that came out wrong…

• crz01 on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:35 am

Why the speedo design looks so familiar? no wonder coz i staring at it every day to work…

• zaff1984 on Mar 08, 2012 at 6:45 pm

It wow-ed me. Love the side profile & interior especially the meter panel. Look more premium from the current one. Nice.

• Vader on Mar 09, 2012 at 7:30 am

Agree. This V40 look great! Is no more “uncle” car design from Volvo.

• When will this sexy reach our shore? Estimated price?

• Black Dog on Mar 08, 2012 at 6:56 pm

From a boxy to a more sexier & curvier shape, one model at a time! It might end up like 2 huge balls later!

• keeekeee on Mar 08, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Any ideas the small engine gonna be how much in msia?

Great car and great safety features for wife witb kids

• Nai Kong on Mar 08, 2012 at 8:15 pm

Wow…….very nice. Hope the pricing is below rm200k :)

• chuakz on Mar 08, 2012 at 8:19 pm

no idea why it isn’t using the same 2.0 T5 as in other volvos….but when it reaches our shores should be cheaper than the T5 S60 which is 255k…if it’s priced right…maybe 220k? It might eat into Golf Gti territory…very nice and clean design

• elegant, sporty and edgy…a first from VOLVO…nice, nice , nice…
    the meter cluster shape is a bit similar to the one in lotus evora..but LURF it…!

I hope the 1.6 model with 270NM will be sold here..shouldn’t be too expensive for us..

• Volvo malaysia, place the price of the 1.6 T3 in the Camry region and i’ll buy it..please..

• Gavin on Mar 08, 2012 at 8:44 pm

the interior and gadgets are wonderful

• Looks like a spiced up Proton Gen 2.

• i think u need to see an eye doctor.best if u check ur brain oso

• SaveTheEarth on Mar 08, 2012 at 10:21 pm

When reach our shore price tag should start from RM160k. Someone might think I’m ridiculous asking a stunning look V40 selling at this level. I’ll consider few things as folloing – market demand, perception toward Volvo in Malaysia, current S40 vs All New V40

Market demand – Now still clearing 2011 S60 T5 demo unit. Last year end 2011, S60 AWD T6 2011 demo unit sold at RM260k (new car RM350k), if this were BMW don’t you think that will slash as much as RM90k, 25% (launch and sell at the particular same year, depreciate that much). Value???

Perception toward Volvo in Malaysia – just check out the used car magazine and you will be sad to see that it is fall under General Car Category.

Current S40 vs All New V40 – stamp duty 2.0 non-turbo vs 1.6 T4, price can be lower. Performance wise T4 not as powerful as VW 1.4 TSI. Bear in mind, even though Volvo has the advance City Safety Features but only attached to the top of the range offer in Malaysia. Thus this features can’t will not take any advantage in pricing.

Just look at Volvo S60, we all do not see much on the road. This already proof what I’m talking about. Opposite way, easily find a VW Passat on the road.

• sorry to say,technologically s60 is far more advanced than the VW passat cc.The price u pay for a volvo is justified,just have a look at their spec sheet.if can go n test drive.u wud be surprised

• SaveTheEarth on Mar 09, 2012 at 5:54 pm

I did mention, the Advance City Safety Features will just attach to the top of the range model. I admitted safety wise is more advanced however this safety features are not there, don’t you think the price you pay for a Volvo is justified. Engine and gearbox wise all from Ford.

You will even surprised after test drive Ford Mondeo, when everything is more in Volvo…… More horse power, more torque, more safety features, more price, more maintenance but lost out in driving dynamic (same engine and gear box). You can even check or read a major publisher in Malaysia, the editorial did give the same comment.

• of cuz a lot of people would say Volvo’s driving dynamics may not be sporty enuf.but thats just the way they are,its the safety that makes it a volvo.even without top of the range City safety features,there is still ample of technology in the car Much more than even BMW 3 series and far more comfortable

Despite being cheaper and good driving dynamics,the Mondeo is even rarer.I barely see one on the road,same goes for the passat cc after the price hike,hardly a new registration plate

That being said,i think alot of Malaysian’s overlook Volvo,they say its expensive to maintain.But is a BMW OR AVW cheap to maintain?NO!Is the depreciation minimal?NO!

So the after market valeu is generally affected by perception,not because of the car.

• kadajawi on Mar 09, 2012 at 8:49 pm

More tech than in a F30? Are you sure?

Funny how this car is trying harder to protect pedestrians than Japanese cars protecting their passengers (unless they are JDM or meant and built for Europe/USA).

• SaveTheEarth on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Only upon launch and you have the money to spend your heart will tell, are you seriously going for Volvo. I do not know whether currently you own or owned Volvo before. Comfort car – Yes, powerful car – Yes, quality ride – Yes. Brother, no matter how good is Volvo, don’t you get what I mean. Value perception toward Volvo in Malaysia, I’m trying hard for Volvo Malaysia to have the right price. Very very close, I gonna get brand new S60 T5, however when trade in my 2005 S60 2.0T……oh

Comparing Ford Mondeo is to let everyone know, Volvo is using Ford engine and gearbox, technologically not as advance as you mention.

Comparing VW Passat is to let you know a CBU unit with greater performance is cheaper than CKD S60 T4 (no advance city safety features).

I never mean the car is bad instead it is a good car. Market value is all depend how well the management in making things better. A better value in owning a Volvo. Is easy, price close to VW or higher with full body kit as standard.

• SaveTheEarth on Mar 09, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Price it wisely and Volvo Malaysia acts more aggressive, we will love Volvo then only then. Volvo Malaysia did it before like the 240 and 850 era. Volvo can make it happen again but before this please understand what Malaysian want, should you have a pre-own Volvo center I’ll have more confident toward you all.

• 4g63tdsm on Mar 08, 2012 at 10:39 pm

I think I might be right to say that this should be volvo’s first 4 door hatchback…..

Don’t recall them making this body style previously. Wagons, yes…2 door shooting brake, yes…. But not this.

• seancorr on Mar 08, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Good stuff…now if Volvo Malaysia can bring in the car at a competitive price without skimping on the spec list.

• Vincent on Mar 08, 2012 at 11:57 pm

Best looking wagon so far… thump up for Volvo!!!

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 09, 2012 at 1:55 am

Superb Evolution.Proton take note ! fantastic front,radical but beautiful rear,first class interior and off course clever choices of engines.All this recipe will lead to success if the price is right.

• clutch basah on Mar 09, 2012 at 8:15 am

Sexy looking car. Nice interior, the back is a bit too “busy” but that’s just personal opinion. A lot of safety and electronic goodies are also included like pedestrian detection, lane keeper, park assists and the most surprising to know is the pedestrian airbag which is the first in its kind. The headlamps make it cool to look at especially on the overview photo. The hood linings, the bumper is well enough, and the roofing system (moon roof? panoramic roof) is also great. Price it well Volvo Malaysia and I will buy one, that’s a promise.

• SEXIST volvo car ever

• putra_rider on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:03 am

this is up to date car. alot of technology applied.
    i like the digital meter.

• Henry Ford The XII on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:08 am

Shud get this (at least in T4 form) if SDAC bring in the new Focus in 2.0 GDI only.

• kenny on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:23 am

Nice design with loaded spec. Bravo. This V40 makes me wanted to own a volvo for the very 1st time.

• hway de Cruz on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:26 am

nice design, powertrain respectable… i hv never driven a volvo before. wonder wat is the price here in bolehland? if below VW, may be a bargain for potentail buyers. any volvo drivers care to share their experience owning a volvo?

• kadajawi on Mar 09, 2012 at 8:53 pm

In Europe a Volvo is usually priced in BMW, Audi and Mercedes territory, while VW is below them.

• SaveTheEarth on Mar 10, 2012 at 10:41 pm

I owned Volvo S60 2.0T 2005. Powerful, comfort, safe. But no one really care about you are driving a Volvo…… Night time people thought that it is a Proton Wira cos all S60 doesn’t have Xenon night. Volvo is a fast car however Volvo owners normally do not drive fast. Or I should mean Volvo Malaysia all the action taken just up to a level for those kind people with safe and steady character(mostly professional).

If you were look at BMW E90 3series, just check out the one with no body kit, not really attractive actually however BMW Malaysia know what Malaysian want body kit, xenon light as standard. Wanna upgrade then go for M Sport.

Apple to apple, a Volvo with body kit will need to add bout RM20k, When everything is added, the price far more higher than BMW. Not to mention R-Design, totally out of Malaysia sight.

Volvo is extremely attractive when with body kit. I just don’t understand why Volvo Malaysia doesn’t understand us. You are losing out the market and still want to force yourself seem like on par with Bimmer, Audi and Merz.

By the way, for your info when owning Volvo I was by age 30.

• Littlebear on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:54 am

A beautiful looking car :)

• The Enthusiast on Mar 09, 2012 at 11:17 am

Best looking hatchback ever. But even the new Merc A-Class is equally good looking too. The specs in this Volvo is equally good too though the Merc has AMG as advantage.

• mmouse on Mar 09, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Weird, S60 T5 2.0 generates 240 hp
    V40 T5 2.5 generates 254 hp??
    Why?

• yiet5 on Mar 09, 2012 at 6:10 pm

The T5 2.0 very limited upgrade and produce max capacity of 260hp while the T5 2.5 with tune only receive power upgrade up to 300hp. With some hardware tune, you can easily reach 350-400hp. Thats the reason why volvo use the T5 2.5 version; allow younger people to upgrade their car performance – same as what they done in golf gti and audi a3

• VolveforLife on Mar 09, 2012 at 12:40 pm

This volve is nice but dont think the price will be…sure around Rm200k be patient wait for couple of years buy the second hand save lots of money !

• Unforgiven on Mar 09, 2012 at 11:02 pm

For T4 and T3, need to be cheaper than 1.4 TSI, even better if price around 308 Turbo. Else you should know the sales per month like. S60 is definitely overprice. So sorry because we are in Malaysia and we still need to take care of the very rich to earn free money. The very rich are mainly well connected umxxx guy, cronies, etc. The very rich may be eyeing on RR or Brabus maybe.

• SaveTheEarth on Mar 10, 2012 at 10:12 pm

That is Europe and Volvo Europe might have better understanding of their market. Volvo Malaysia should learn more from them a better understanding in what Malaysian want. Hints…… Malaysian fond of Volvo a decade ago. Mean brand awareness is already there, please be more aggressive should Volvo Malaysia wanna capture this market.

First, capture our eyes. Second, capture our heart. Third, worth to having it.

First, full body kit as standard. Second, price it right (current price you lost out everything, including your future). Third, safety features……awesome.

• HatchBack enthusiast on Aug 25, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Can anyone give their insights in comparing the V40 to a Mercedes A class? I am choosing between these two.

• Fauzi ahmad on Sep 14, 2012 at 11:16 am

Dear Sir, how about price in RM, wow wow hebat hebat