Nissan Sylphy updated – two trim levels, plenty of new kit

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has introduced the refreshed 2012 Nissan Sylphy. Nissan’s C-segment sedan is now available in two trim levels – 2.0XL and 2.0XV – revised styling and a longer equipment list.

On the looks front, there are new front and rear bumpers, a new chrome grille and revised lamp design at both ends. Five colour choices are available – Bronze Gold, Tungsten Silver, Sapphire Black, Twilight Grey and Brilliant White.

Both XL and XV specs come with a black interior theme (used to be beige) with fine cherry wood trim, silver-ringed meter design with Multi-Information Display, and a new head unit with MP3 and AUX input. In addition, the door mirrors can now be folded at the touch of a button, while the air-con system adds on a temperature display and automatic setting.

The XV adds on leather wrapped steering and audio controls. It also comes with Nissan’s intelligent key (i-Key) keyless entry and start system.

The highest spec car is equipped with bi-xenon projector headlamps with Active Front-lighting System (AFS) – the only car in its class to offer such a feature. AFS, not to be confused with bending main projectors, is a cornering lamp. This is added to the already standard auto headlamps. The XV also rolls on 195/60 R16 wheels, one-inch larger than the XL’s 185/65 R15.

The Sylphy 2.0XL Comfort is priced at RM114,880, while a mid spec 2.0XL Luxury that adds on V-Kool tint, leather and sat nav comes in at RM119,880. The 2.0XV Premium will cost you RM124,880. All prices are on the road including insurance.

For a limited period, all purchasers will get an aerokit free of charge. ETCM is also currently offering low interest hire purchase rates starting from 2.5% per annum.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• OMG…Pls change the Ugly design …

• johnson on Mar 10, 2012 at 12:55 am

is this design looks worse than proton?
      i suggest you get your eyes operated,how can you say ugly?
      ugly is proton and its founder,that is called ugly bloody natta bumiputera design
      get your facts right before say ugly.

• RadzLee on Mar 10, 2012 at 6:22 am

dude, face it. the exterior IS UGLY!

• lim guan eng on Mar 10, 2012 at 2:38 pm

your taste outdated..pity you =)
        may be you are an aged

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 10, 2012 at 3:48 pm

actually both of them are ugly. to be honest the nissan sylphy is an underrated car, it does the job well but unfortunately doing the job well isn’t enough for foreign makes these days u need a USP. had it been priced lower (no thanks to our gov tax) it would probably sell better. Nissan : make every damn model of your car like the GT-R or Fuga and you would definitely sell more cars than Honda.

• Pororo on Mar 09, 2012 at 7:07 pm

wow.. our premium taxi become more luxury lah…. HAHA

• Hyundai De La JUNK on Mar 09, 2012 at 7:47 pm

I though our luxury Taxi is Hyundai Sonata, KIA Optima, Naza Ria, Naza Citra the bunch of bad sales & lousy resale value Korean JUNK.

• kadajawi on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Who gives a f*** about resale value? Only those who bought a crappy car in the first place and want to get rid of it asap. When I buy a car I drive it for 10+ years, and after that resale value is awful for any car (unless it turned into a classic perhaps, but then I’d probably have to wait another 20-30 years).

• those air-con vents remind me of those from the new Cayenne. Nice.

• theanswer on Mar 09, 2012 at 7:11 pm

for some reason i like this car.

• kuriang on Mar 09, 2012 at 7:14 pm

arghh.. just a bit cosmetics changes!! if they are upgrade rear suspension with multilink i’ll consider in my list..

• arfadzt on Mar 09, 2012 at 7:25 pm

rear view plz

• Works on Mar 09, 2012 at 7:25 pm

ermm sylphy? should call it nissan syphilis due to it’s horrible design. heard this car got so many problems…

• Chriszoom on Mar 09, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Nice

• nebula87 on Mar 09, 2012 at 7:57 pm

js like a typical taxi in hongkong…xD

• how reliable is the CVT in this car???heard got problem………:P

• wolfsburg on Mar 09, 2012 at 8:23 pm

woah! 4 speakerS!

• kadajawi on Mar 09, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Still just 2 airbags. But hey, obviously automatically folding wing mirrors are more important than lives.

Funny how priorities are different. In Europe it’s not too uncommon for a B segment car to have 6+ airbags, but not even the option for an auto gearbox. Here the last thing that a car will get is 6 airbags. Unless it was meant for Europe.

• theanswer on Mar 10, 2012 at 7:23 pm

u should see camry 2.4 spec. over 160k..but still less airbag than K car.

• kadajawi on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Yeah, I know I know. The basis of the Myvi, the Daihatsu Sirion has at least 4 airbags in Europe. And is made in Japan. And costs less than the Myvi. What the …?

But yeah, as long as Toyota, Honda etc. can get away with it, they will only give us as few safety features as possible. I guarantee you, as soon as everyone stops buying these Japanese cars (except for those that are well equipped, like the Prius), in less than 1 year all Japanese cars have a decent amount of safety features.

• Lorat on Mar 09, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Since Nissan is reintroducing Datsun brand name again, can we have a Datsun Sentra? I kind of miss the name.

• kadajawi on Mar 09, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Oh, I have just noticed that you have to level the headlights yourself? With bi-xenon? Clearly not a car for the European market, in Germany it is required for cars with xenon to have auto leveling headlights, that’s why it is almost impossible to upgrade to HID there (without that feature the car is not road legal). I think all cars must have at least a manual leveliser, all my contis/all the contis I have driven have it, unless they have xenon.

• haezx6r on Mar 09, 2012 at 8:39 pm

TOO UGLY TO BUY..

• peter_pj on Mar 09, 2012 at 8:55 pm

Wow, the premium over the standard spec is huge……but I anticipate a lot of people to get the XV model anyhow :-p

• tok-kok on Mar 09, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Hopefully this is the final revision of this (end of life in other countries) of the current Sylphy.

Is ETCM going to bring in the new Sentra??

• somehow i think its nice too.

i like the black interior, more elegant compared to beige which was so uncle. the brown leather seats look nicer too.

this facelift shows that TC is targeting a younger crowd..

• Still ugly

• Wah…calling all Uncles….

• isuzuki on Mar 09, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Failed to urged my wife to go for Sylphy, she ended up going for the 1.8 brand T with DVVTi and 7 virtual speed gear box. Though she preferred the looks of the 1.8 brand H – sporty.

:)

• slumber on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:17 pm

How come the lower front bumper looks like pre-FL SAGA?

• RedBeanBun on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:28 pm

infact, the price for this size of car and quality is not bad…

you other option is Altis, Civic…i mean…this is so much more family size..

• sick&tired on Mar 09, 2012 at 11:00 pm

RM124k!?

• David D on Mar 09, 2012 at 11:58 pm

One of the most underrated C-segment cars in Malaysia. Shame, as it has the best mix of fun-to-drive factor and ride comfort, all these despite using a torsion beam!! I had an rather extensive test drive of this car in the middle of last year, and it really took me by surprise. Looks really anonymous, just like the Altis, but once driven, it really proved itself to be a dark horse of this category.

The only reason i couldn’t get the car? It was a nick over my budget. Otherwise, i’d happily opt for this over any other Jap or Korean car any day.

• agree.

Sylphy is indeed a great package – but was badly marketed…thanks to ‘uncles’ in ETCM.
      They make us feel like we’re years behind our neighbouring countries…

• izack on Jun 27, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Bravo! I’ve got one myself. Test drive yourself. Don’t judge a book by its cover…maybe the look is not as pretty as a H or T but i believe me u can feel the difference..

• johnson on Mar 10, 2012 at 12:52 am

looks like oldman’s car but anytime better than mahathir’s proton
    apa nama minister

• tasha on Mar 10, 2012 at 1:00 am

Still using rear DRUM brakes when others 2.0 L cars are of rear DISC brakes., horrible .

No point looking nice with outdated engineering technology

Not my type of car anyway.

• David D on Mar 10, 2012 at 4:46 am

Ah yes, Tasha, good point there. Drum brakes on a C-segment car, especially when it’s not a basic model? That’s a really awful bad mark there as well. Another thing i also wanna point out is that the seats in this car are kinda squishy, which makes for great comfort, but utterly useless when cornering enthusiastically.

• kadajawi on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:57 pm

To be honest even some contis have drum brakes IIRC, at least for the base spec, and that is hardly an issue. It’s nicer to have disc brakes, but drum ones do work too.

Also it is clear this isn’t meant for spirited driving, having more comfortable seats is perfectly fine and actually desirable. You just don’t buy this for driving fast, you buy it if you want a comfortable ride. If it does the latter well, then yeah, why not? For some it is the right choice (especially considering Malaysian roads).

• theanswer on Mar 10, 2012 at 7:31 pm

looking at the price..yes its nonsense. but if u understand abt brake system..rear drum brake can give almost similar braking ability to disc at the same size.

• Cowabunga! on Mar 10, 2012 at 1:21 am

the could have at least tweaked it to DI MR20DD level with 147hp, 210Nm, from the current 138hp,198Nm, car would have been a better refinement.

also package it with new Impul or Nismo bodykit.

• amatku17 on Mar 10, 2012 at 7:52 am

The luxury model should have HID headlamp, 17-inch rim, 4 disc brake, premium sound system, bundle with all safety features.

• DArkerMarker on Mar 10, 2012 at 9:06 am

The rim design looks so ah pek….

• auto-guy-but-not-quite on Mar 10, 2012 at 10:05 am

Danny, check your info on AFS…..

“The highest spec car is equipped with bi-xenon projector headlamps with Active Front-lighting System (AFS) – the only car in its class to offer such a feature. The lights turn on automatically when it’s dark.” The current Sylphy already has auto-on function.

AFS is an active cornering lamp that turn ON (into a corner) according to your steering wheel angle.
    its available in almost all of the Lexus, BMWs, and Audis that you guys drive so much, so often. Test driving cars aren’t just about power , top speed and cornering abilities.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 10, 2012 at 11:46 am

“The lights turn on automatically when it’s dark” refers to the main headlamps – auto headlamps.
      Yes, I need to separate the two sentences. Chill la, friend :)

• kadajawi on Mar 12, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Actually this feature was AFAIK introduced in 1968 by Citroen. It’s not bad, can be quite useful.

• Extra kits does not make it a good car…..

• ahlee bin ahtan on Mar 10, 2012 at 12:13 pm

To all pakcik’s kelapa sawit and getah FELDA and FELCRA please take note this refresh look!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 10, 2012 at 12:31 pm

I noticed many here like to practice “selective blindness”, just because a car doesn’t have a VW badge, it is condemned. Does the RM150+K VW Jetta have HID/Xenon headlamps? Nope, it only has halogen headlamps! Does it have a keyless entry and go system? NO again! But hey, it’s OK as long as it’s a VW right?

• kadajawi on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:19 am

The Jetta probably has 6 or 7 airbags and a really good EuroNCAP rating. That is what you pay for, plus the modern engine and gearbox (low taxes, low FC, good performance). I’d rather keep my life than to have a few gadgets.

Especially keyless go, which I consider a huge security risk (making it extremely easy for technically skilled thieves to snatch your car, it even makes them look as if it is theirs. Just have someone with a compatible transmitter sit next to the driver, and his partner can drive away. Sweet, huh? Or will the engine turn off when they get out of range? Still could be far enough to hide away the car to properly circumvent the security systems).

Xenon is very nice though and improves safety, if implemented properly.

Nevertheless VW are indeed charging a bit more than they should. But so does Toyota and Honda.

• Dimestys on Mar 10, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Very Ah Pek looking car. this car looks worst with with bodykit….no offense to current owner

• better wait for P321A

• PetrolLeg on Mar 11, 2012 at 9:22 am

Not a good comparison, both are of different category, but if you want to compare then go ahead, Nissan is global. For Proton they have been long enough in the industry but still local with only few rare occasion of exports.

• Low cost car for 2.0l.
    Head light need to be redesigned.
    How could the japanese dont even know how to desgin a proper look of his head light ?
    It looks like dinasour and very conventional. 30 years design outlook .
    You dont have paper or pen for proper design ? ask proton . they are sure can design the proper headlight than you sylphy ?
    Sorry this car not for me even below 100K . Bad look .

• Maserati on Mar 10, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Cant understand people saying this car is outdated? This is way better than rubbish forte. Its the lousy forte that is using outdated technology!

• TurboMan!!! on Mar 11, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Ok. Maserati.

Still making sweeping statements as usual.

Try to back your point with valid points, not hearsay.

We are listening.

• CrabStick on Mar 10, 2012 at 7:58 pm

Nissan, stop fooling around.. do some real upgrade, like converting the rear wheel brakes to disks! Jeez!

• CarDude on Mar 11, 2012 at 9:58 am

Are air-bags that expensive for the japanese?

• oblong on Mar 12, 2012 at 8:08 am

Nope…only in Malaysia where less accessories mean higher profit margin…gomen rule doesn’t require so much airbag.

• kadajawi on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:12 am

No, it’s just that they don’t care if Malaysians die, as long as it benefits their profits. Renault for example charges 380 Euro for the window airbags for the Kangoo II. That translates to about RM 1600.

• ETCM has finally updated this outdated but underrated car.

Well you have to drive it only will you realise the so called wonders of this car, it’s boring but comfortable and family size car, like the VW Jetta …. price cheaper and bigger

• phas3r on Mar 12, 2012 at 2:59 am

Forgotten car. but those seats look nice

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 12, 2012 at 9:25 am

Test drove the car a while back. Design wise, its polarizing, I find it unbalanced, looking too narrow and tall. Driving dynamics are muted, softly sprung with little feedback and excitement. its definitely not a fun car in the bendies. The gearbox is the only redeeming feature.

However, my wife loves the car….for precisely the reasons that I don’t. Its comfortable, easy to get in and out, relatively quiet, and spacious. Remember the tv ads for the Sylphy? well, you’d get the clue its targeted at women and it works.

Ultimately we skipped this and went with a bigger MPV since we needed the extra space…as one of the major niggle I had with the Sylphy is that the rear seats can’t be folded down.

• stinggg on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:16 am

i like this compared with the previous ah pek version

• Extrimist on Jul 09, 2012 at 6:58 pm

SAFETY & SCURITY:

No Stability control. Life is cheap, according to Nissan.

• Daniel on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:09 pm

this is a family sedan not a sport sedan, so y r u guys keep calling it ah pek’s car? Spacious, powerful, low fuel consumption at a reasonable price, wht else can u ask for? tested the brakes??? go n test drive b more open minded, H n T,jus a mind game while u r driving it.