Mercedes-Benz A-Class – third-gen takes over the mantle

Remember the cutesy MPV-looking vehicle from Mercedes-Benz? Well, it looks like the baby Mercedes is all grown up and ready to face the world – the new-generation A-Class, or the W176 if you will, has arrived.

UPDATE: The Mercedes-Benz A-Class has been officially launched in Malaysia. Read our launch report and view the pics here.

For starters, the A-Class is 4,292 mm long, 1,780 wide and 1,433 mm tall. It also crouches 180 mm closer to the road when compared to its predecessor, no doubt to match its exciting exterior that tears away the stigma of the brand for boring and balding. And if that is not enough, the A-Class retains the diamond grille that was first seen on the Concept A-Class. Refresh your memory here.

If the tight design of the sheet metal isn’t enough, the daylight running lamps and indicators have been organised to give out a distinctive ‘flare effect’. It only highlights the company’s desire to appeal to a younger (or young at heart) audience.

As for the rear, the taillights, which consists of fibre-optic cables and LED modules, continues the muscular lines and the A-Class’ stocky width.

The interior injects that youthful feel as well, with a high-quality feel of course. It comes with trim surfaces that feature an electroplated finish in ‘silver chrome’ for a ‘cool touch’ effect and the option to pair the car via an iPhone app (more smartphones to be added to the list soon). And then there are the ‘little’ details that pull your attention, such as the air vents that are said to stand out like ‘sparkling jewels’.

The A-Class comes in petrol and diesel powerplants. Mercedes-Benz claims that this is the first time it has produced a vehicle that emits just 99g of CO2 per kilometer. All engines also come standard with an ECO start/stop function.

There are three permutations for the petrol engine. The A 180 has a 1.6 litre that produces 115 hp, while the A 200’s 2.0 litre is good for 156 hp and the A250 is powered by a 2.0 litre 211 hp engine. All the engines will feature direct injection and exhaust gas turbocharging.

Specific to the 1.6 litre engine – a first for Mercedes-Benz – is something called CAMTRONIC, which restricting the amount of fresh mixture via the adjustments of valves on the intake side. What this means in English is that the system further reduces fuel consumption.

There are three choices for the diesels as well. The A 180 CDI outputs 109 hp and 250 Nm, the A 200 CDI is rated at 136 hp and 300 Nm, and the A 220 CDI (with its 2.2 litre engine) offers 170 hp and 350 Nm. All engines can be partnered with either the new six-speed manual transmission or the 7G-DCT dual-clutch automatic transmission.

Ride and handling duties of the new A-Class will be taken care of by a new four-link rear axle, which together with its lower centre of gravity gives the A-Class the credentials to slip on the 4MATIC all-wheel drive system. There’s also the option for customers to tweak suspension settings. The electromechanical steering has also been completely redesigned and repositioned to make usage of the Dual Pinion EPS possible.

As for safety features, well Mercedes-Benz says that the A-Class is the only one in its class to feature the radar-based Collision Prevention Assist as standard. The A-Class also comes with a wide menu of safety tools like the Pre-safe, Brake Hold function, Hill-Start Assist, Distronic Plus, Adaptive Highbeam Assist, Blind Spot Assist, Active Parking Assist and Speed Limit Assist, to name a few.

The question is, will we see a Malaysia-bound A-Class? If it does arrive it should be sometime next year.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Johnny on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:07 am

Mai Gosh….simply stunning!

• go naza1 on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:47 am

oh yea!! looks so great…..is this mercedes or korean car? :P

ultra hot!!

• Alpha on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:00 pm

At first glance the front kinda looks like the new SL-class!

• This will compete with BMW 1-Series. Expect to cost no more than RM150,000 for the low spec version.

• From ugly A class to this not bad. But it looks more like the B class.

• Hothatch wars.. Good that the 3 stars are in.

But Chris, where do I “Refresh your memory here.” on the diamond grille that was first seen on the Concept A-Class. No links there.

Is the petrol version of the engines turbocharged? Seems not.. just to be sure.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:33 am

Sorry, my bad – was editing the piece and inadvertently omitted it! :) It’s linked now.

• It is turbocharged. It was written above
      ‘All the engines will feature direct injection and exhaust gas turbocharging.’

• kadajawi on Mar 13, 2012 at 11:57 pm

Most A class versions shouldn’t be hot hatches. Perhaps none of them, at least until AMG gets to fiddle with it. Actually, almost all B or C segment cars are not hot hatches, just because there is a high performance version somewhere it doesn’t make the base spec version with 75 hp a hot hatch.

• Jaybond on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:19 am

Of all the European new hatchbacks, this is definitely the best looking. The new Volvo comes second. Audi’s third and BMW’s fourth. Although the 2 years old Alfa Romeo Giulietta could be tied for 2nd or even 1st place..

• Iylia H on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:19 am

the a-class used to be a bubble shaped car.. now the bubble has popped and comes out a car that has the 1 series’ silhouette. nice design overall.

• Mohd Arrif on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:22 am

Like it too much

• hot hatch?

• lan87 on Mar 13, 2012 at 9:38 pm

hottest hatch i would say… dang!!! this hatch is really hot… would love to see the AMG version of these… slap on the 6.3l AMG engine and it will fly…

• kadajawi on Mar 13, 2012 at 11:59 pm

No. It would be a hot hatch if AMG gets to drop in a bigger engine. A hot hatch B segment car should have around 200 hp, this is a C segment car, there hot hatch IMHO starts currently at 250 hp. Otherwise it is just a hatch, no matter how hot it looks like. Thus a Golf GTI is a hot hatch, a 1.4 TSI isn’t.

• 1.6 liter only produces 115hp, myvi better than this..

• kevin lee on Mar 13, 2012 at 11:43 am

one needs to look at the gearbox, fuel consumption , co2 values and torque and horsepower at what RPM, moron! stick with the 4 speed auto in your myvi, please
      !!!

• myvi can tapau this merc anytime!!!

• lan87 on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:59 pm

this is a troll… he knows its not true but he’s only trolling lar….

• Ayecaramba! on Mar 13, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Haha, nicely said. People still have guts to compare the A-class with the Myvi.

• Air-cond vent design in merc looks nice nowadays…steering wheel too…

• Nice hot hatch!
    I hope it is available here!

• harris murad on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:35 am

ohh myyy what a beauty..
    look at the lines/curves ishh ishh…:0

• The Enthusiast on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:49 am

This looks yummy. Bring on the AMG! But please make the ride less harsh. Leave the stiff suspension on a press of “AMG” button.

• Alpha on Mar 13, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Agreed.Merc is in dire need of a luxury hothatch like the 1-Series M. an A63 AMG would be overkill,but hey,we can dream,right??

• Reeza on Mar 13, 2012 at 10:49 am

BMW and Audi would do well to learn from Merc on how to design small cars.. this new A is simply stunning,and A+ car!
    Just look at the BMW 1er and the Audi A1, I can cry from the visual assault!!

• Then a proton or something else make you wanna jump into the river?

• kadajawi on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:01 am

Come on, it’s hard to be uglier than the new 1 series. The old one was fine, but the new one… you have to try hard to compete with that. Ssangyong sometimes could, but apart from that…?

The A1 is a B segment car, BMW and Mercedes don’t compete there. And anyway it’s actually not that ugly. It just looks like a shrinked A(enter any number…).

• M4YH3M on Mar 19, 2012 at 1:09 pm

player please… just look at this car from the side and tell me what does it look like? Doesnt it look a bit (alot actually) like the BMW 1series / Z4 curvature? since its the same, you should cry looking at it as you would looking at BMW.. biased critic sucks, just sayin..

• To me, this design looks better(especially the rear part) than the new 3rd Generation Audi A3 and the 2nd Generation BMW 1 Series (F20)…

• Ayecaramba! on Mar 13, 2012 at 9:12 pm

I prefer the Audi A3 instead. Just a little bit more. It just looks a bit more ‘finished’ if you know what I mean. But the A-class definitely has more attitude. Would love the A-class with a more generic bodykit. I too like designs with more flare and am not much a fan of the Audi design language with it being very corporate like but the A3 looks more complete than the A class. The A class looks good btw. Don’t get me wrong.

• Well said. You have a good point and reason. Each different person has their own taste and liking. A3 looks quite good to me too. It’s just that the rear and the side looks a bit too bland and very common looking compared to this A-class which features plenty of curvatures on it’s design.

• Just me on Mar 13, 2012 at 11:10 am

It seems like all european design car are nice nowaday. Even Citroen, peugeot are all damn good looking. I hope this car starts from < RM 200K when selling in malaysia.

• kadajawi on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:04 am

What do you mean, even Citroen? Apart from a short stint in the late 90s/early 00s they have always made pretty and different cars. From the Traction Avant, over the DS (a design legend), SM, CX to the XM, and then the new C5 and C6, not to mention the DS3, DS4 and DS5, C3 Picasso, C4 Picasso, C4, C3 Pluriel, …

Peugeot had the original 206 which looked great. And the 407. But apart from them…

• carnoisseur on Mar 13, 2012 at 11:26 am

This will sell !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Nai Kong on Mar 13, 2012 at 11:56 am

I personally can’t choose between this & the Volvo V40. Brand wise & resale value, Mercy. Safety & tech, Volvo. Both visually looks stunning! IMHO.

• The Enthusiast on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:15 pm

I think you should consider the fifth and foremost factor: the driving experience. How the car rides, the handling, the power. That’s always the deal breaker in my car selection. I’m confident AMG will do a brilliant job on this A-Class but that’s only if money is not an issue. Otherwise Volvo seems to be value for money.

• niuhje on Mar 13, 2012 at 11:58 am

lemme guess… RM180K to RM220K sigh!

• It’s a WOW factor! Simply stunning.

• cool! what’s the price range?

• loveit on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:18 pm

this look GORGEOUS ! I’m so want it !

• DewaSemut on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Waayyy better than BMW 1 series…. :)

• loveit on Mar 13, 2012 at 12:25 pm

it really reminiscence BWM 1 series, most likely its competitor

• k_man on Mar 13, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Get it CKD’ed, price it in GTI territory…its gonna flood the streets!

• Am I the only one who thinks it looks stunted? Like the front is long enough to fit a C-Class tapi belakang kontot?

• picasso on Mar 13, 2012 at 2:07 pm

How come Merc make all good looking car??

• rally_fan on Mar 13, 2012 at 2:11 pm

i’ll have to say this. The new A-class finally got the style it deserves.. very good job mercedes.

• VoidDance on Mar 13, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Did MB secretly hire Chris Bangle? I mean, look at the side profile, that gorgeous flame surfacing lines.

• A170 owner on Mar 13, 2012 at 2:49 pm

nice gorgeous looking fun car.. tremendous changes on current model. price starting at 180k? hope its below that.. Not a value buy comparing other makes or even other segments frm jap/ korea makes, but there are supporters that simply love and trust on the merc badge.

well.. well.. hope i can afford this model upgrade .

• WOW.. stunning! looks so much better compared to the new audi A3!

• damn! this is my favourite.

• seancorr on Mar 13, 2012 at 3:51 pm

This car has to sell below the RM200k mark. The C class retails @ RM255k. The new B class should be at the RM220k mark and this A Class should sit hopefully around RM180-190k. I cannot agree with MBM to sell this anything above RM200k.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 13, 2012 at 4:55 pm

then dont buy….the 211 bhp version will surely be above 200k. should be surprised if it was priced below 220k

• bobdbilder on Mar 13, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Uh a turboed 1.6 that does only 115hp? Reminds me of a SOHC 4G18 if you put some low boost turbo. If it is so, they must have sacrificed the Power for Torque. Alternatively sacrificed power and torque to get low fuel consumption.

A 2.0 liter pot that does 156 and 211 in different boost? And its a RWD? Its huge at 4.2m x 1.4m. Almost a Pug 308 size.

Its not going to be cheap. I wonder who is their target market? I mean really? A bit pointless to the 99% of the population and for those that does not work as a car salesman.

• squawk on Mar 13, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Rich man’s Golf? :-)

• Ash Menon on Mar 13, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Woah! If MB was hoping the redesign would appeal to a younger audience, they’re definitely done a stunning job there. I can actually now think of a Mercedes and not immediately imagine some old uncle car.

• No it’s not.

• ABTguy on Mar 13, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Looks more sporty than Golf GTI !! I think this is easily the best looking hatch !

• BanyakMasyukWang on Mar 13, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Merc seems changing their gameplan for the A all together… from mini MPV to super-mini/hatch. And its good, because this will be a take on both BM’s 1s and Mini. Hot competition results in better products.

• gorgeous!

and look better than the concept…

Please bring it here!!!

• Supertram on Mar 13, 2012 at 6:59 pm

my my this is a pleasent surprise! look at that looooong hood the “a” series just turn from cutesy baby to sexy mama!

• Gary Tee on Mar 13, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Any prediction for the price??

• Gary Tee on Mar 13, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Any prediction for the price?

• Henry Ford the XII on Mar 13, 2012 at 7:37 pm

If you guys care to google about it, other websites mentioned that the 1.6 produces either 115 bhp (some said 121 bhp) or 156 bhp. The 211 bhp comes from the 2.0 engine.
    Torque for the 1.6 is about 200 Nm and 250 Nm, respectively.

So while the power is relatively low for a turbocharged 1.6, its torque is much higher than the equivalent sized NA engines.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 13, 2012 at 8:28 pm

merc please ckd this car

• modus operandi on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:43 am

oh… at second glance, it looks like mini R class…

• modus operandi on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:51 am

oh… at second glance, it looks like mini R class… superb…

• foxman on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:10 am

Accidentally found this, the new B class also coming, same design but thicker…
    http://www.globalmotors.net/mercedes-to-produce-an-all-new-model-at-the-tuscaloosa-plant-in-us/

• HirumaKecil on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Look like volvo..

• Any A class with hybrid engine? If available, we can buy at a price WITHOUT import and excise duties.

• yeahjack on Dec 19, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Anyones know when is the Date of theNEW A-Class Lauching in Malaysia ?

• Alien Lim on Apr 27, 2013 at 9:54 am

I have notice an error in this article, A200 is a 1.6 turbo engine producing 156hp, not 2.0. Just for your info. Cheers.

• narita on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:46 am

I checked thru the test drive in youtube at few countries, NO spare tyre ??