Lexus GS launched; five variants from RM366k to RM464k

Lexus Malaysia has just launched the new Lexus GS, which I drove it – for a very short time – not too long ago.

There were five variants launched at the event – the GS 250, GS 250 Luxury, GS 250 F-Sport, GS 350 Luxury and GS 350 F-Sport. So in all, there are three different trim levels and two engine options. The three trim levels, if you have not guessed already, are standard, Luxury and F-Sport, which I will explain later.

We’ll start with the engines. The Lexus GS gets a choice of two powerplants; both are 24-valve V6 engines with Dual VVT-i. The 3.5 litre 2GR-FSE produces a maximum power of 312 hp at 6,400 rpm and 378 Nm of torque with a 0-100 km/h of 6.3 seconds and a top speed of 235 km/h. The 2.5 litre 4GR-FSE is good for 206 hp at 6,400 rpm and 253 Nm at 4,800 rpm with a 0-100 km/h of 8.8 seconds and a top speed of 230 km/h.

The engines are installed with something called a Sound Generator that raises the sound pressure of specific frequencies at the intake area to create a pleasant engine sound. This is a first for Lexus.

Both engines are paired with a 6-speed Super ECT with A.I. Shift automatic transmission that sends power to the rear wheels. The transmission features a manual interface, the ability to enable faster shift speeds, earlier torque convertor lock-up and downshift throttle blips – all of which can be altered via the Drive Mode selector.

There are four modes to choose from – ECO, Normal, Sport and Sport +. In ECO, the GS’s throttle mapping is revised as well as the seat heating and climate control systems to give a better fuel economy. Transmission is also set for a more un-rushed drive and avoids unnecessary use of fuel. Also in ECO, the meter lighting changes to blue.

In Sport, the throttle mapping and transmission shifting priorities are set to make the best out of the engine. Needless to say, the driver will experience a stronger acceleration and more responsiveness. The meter cluster in this mode changes to red.

Sport +, which is only available in the Luxury and F-Sport variants, changes the characteristics of the engine, the transmission, suspension and steering. In this setting, the difference between the inner and outer shock absorber damping through corners is increased to cut body roll. The electric power steering (EPS) is also sharpened and optimised to give a better driving dynamics.

The GS features Lexus’ latest Vehicle Dynamics Integrated Management (VDIM), which also integrates the newly developed Lexus Dynamic Handling (LDH) system that calculates the optimum steering angles for all four wheels and responds to the driver’s input.

The GS 350 F-Sport’s LDH also includes a Dynamic Rear Steering (DRS). This system monitors the vehicle speed and yaw rate, steering angle and speed and lateral G and adjusts the rear wheel angle to 2.0 degrees.

The GS also gets new suspension bits. The front has a double wishbone front and multilink rear suspension system.

Back to the equipment levels. The standard GS 250 is only available with the 2.5 litre engine. The interior is finished in leather and the seats are wrapped in smooth leather. The front seat is power adjustable in 10 different ways and it’s the only seat that has a memory setting. The climate control is a dual-zone automatic system and it comes without sunshades. On the dashboard, the LCD screen size is 8 inches and the sounds come from a Lexus Premium Audio 12-channel speaker. Outside, the standard GS does not have adaptive front light, has 17 inch wheels and does not come with a Sport + mode.

The GS 250 Luxury and GS 350 Luxury are available with both engines. This variant gives you adaptive front headlights, 18 inch wheels and Sports + mode. Additionally, the interior is finished in wood and leather, the seats are wrapped in Semi-Aniline leather and the front seats are 18-way adjustable. Both front seats also have memory setting. As for creature comforts, the air conditioning is a automatic 3-zone system and there are sunshades for the rear window and rear door windows. There is a 12.3″ screen up front and the sound is hooked up to a Mark Levinson 17 speaker system.

As for the F-Sport equipped models, which you can have with either the 2.5 litre or 3.5 litre engine, you’ll get the 16-way adjustable seat for the driver and a 10-way adjustable seat for the passenger. The other interior equipment mirrors to the ones you can find in the Luxury variant. Extra for the F-Sport are exclusive front grille and bumper, rear bumper, lip spoiler, dark alloy wheels and upgraded front brakes. The change in front bumper means that the F-Sport also loses the fog lights. The front and rear suspension systems are also retuned in the F Sport to make better use of the adaptive variable suspension system, which makes the F Sport a more sport-focused machine.

The GS offers 10 airbags, including a knee airbag for driver and front passenger; rear gets protection from seat-mounted side airbags. The brakes have been tweaked as well. The brake booster power has been increased for instant response and brake-cooling performance has improved airflow to minimize brake fade.

The F-Sport gets bigger ventilated front discs. Notably, the hat section of the two-piece rotor has been fabricated in aluminium to reduce weight and suppress heat deformation – Lexus claims this is a world’s first.

The Lexus GS is built in Toyota’s advanced Tahara plant in Japan. It comes with a 3-year or 100,000 km warranty.

The price, on-the-road without insurance, for the GS 250 is RM366,200; GS 250 Luxury is RM398,660; GS 250 F-Sport is RM400,600; the GS 350 Luxury is RM456,800 and the GS 350 F-Sport is price at RM464,800.

Lexus are taking orders now. In fact, they’ve already been doing so for the past two months. Last tidbit: I heard, as I was walking to my car, a sales lady telling a potential customer that if he books the GS now, he’ll probably get it in the middle of the year. That’s a quick delivery time, isn’t it?

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Lim Kopi on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:34 am

Chris… 3rd paragraph:

The 3.5 litre 2GR-FSE produces a maximum power of 312 hp at 6,400 rpm and 378 Nm of torque with a 0-100 km/h of 8.8 seconds

U sure its just 8.8 secs?? That slow??

• Chris Ng (Member) on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:50 am

That’s what is printed in the brochure: 8.8 seconds.

• Chris Ng (Member) on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:57 am

Oh no wait. Yeah… I got the figures switched. Sorry. Fixed it already. Thanks for the spot.

• looking-good on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:57 am

“The 3.5 litre 2GR-FSE produces a maximum power of 312 hp at 6,400 rpm and 378 Nm of torque with a 0-100 km/h of 8.8 seconds and a top speed of 230 km/h. The 2.5 litre 4GR-FSE is good for 206 hp at 6,400 rpm and 253 Nm at 4,800 rpm with a 0-100 km/h of 6.3 seconds and a top speed of 235 km/h.”

2.5 is faster than 3.5 ????

or the 3.5 engine is very heavy???? same car rite?

• Nice car but 0 to 100 take 8.8 sec is a bit slow…

• Mr. J on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:38 am

hmm, a bit too simple?

• yourMoMmy on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:25 am

the LCD interface, the fonts and icons are so dated like window95 style like tat lol…the bimmer interface so much cooler!!

• i think the writer mixed up the acceleration and top speed figures for the 2.5 and 3.5

• the interior is a better looking one compared to mercedes and bmw…classy

• khylie555 on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:53 am

Wah,so nice!!!!better design than infiniti.this is the first time i compliment a Japanese car.

• the white F looks so gorgeous, exterior and interior

japanese motoring at its best

• Dearer that SKD-ed BMW 5er? Anytime 520d is better car. It’s no brainer.

• Muddy on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:42 am

…but then the top speed for 2.5 is 235kmh, yet 3.5 is only 230kmh? Hmmm…

• Josh Ling on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:56 pm

ya, that’s a little bit too strange for me. how can the top speed of 2.5 is higher than that of 3.5?? even if the 3.5 car is heavier, i still don’t think it will have that kinda difference.

• mister potato on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:11 am

disgusting price for disgusting people with disgusting financial sources. It’s only USD60k (RM180k). Malaysians make less money but pay disgustingly more. Disgusting.

• clutch basah on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:13 am

Had a friend’s IS for 2 weeks the other day and believe me I’d rather pay 400+K for this GS than the sport version of new 3-series. The IS was 3 years old and it was just exquisite.

• BN=barang naik on Mar 29, 2012 at 8:52 am

5 series m-sport much more cheaper!

• KL Stray Cat on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:04 am

Yeah…a button for snow ;-)
    Light, Sleet or Blizzard ?!

• snaz1 go on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:07 am

the pointy face looks like LFA, but, to make it a family look? -_-

• drgn86 on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:10 am

UMW’s arrogant pricing…

• Lexus must be crazy….paying this value to Japanese Chassis?????? BMW 328 twin turbo worth the value if you would have to compare with Lexus!

• kington on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Indeed there are many that look at Lexus and Infiniti cars as glorified Toyotas and Nissans. Truth be told, if you’re sensitive enough, these cars have come a long way they honestly feel pretty good. Even the first IS200 (nee Altezza) earned much respect from the Europeans with it being tagged as a car that uses its technical ability to raise its badge and pedigree and not the other way round.

Subjectively, i too had doubts when Lexus first sprang into action during the late 80’s but I can say this – they have not beaten Germans yet, but the gap has been narrowed down tremendously over the years.

Price wise, it is expensive but don’t forget, Merc did the same with the outgoing W202 back in 1998 when it was given a subtle bodykit and a price hike just to portray an image of class and excellence when the W202 was clearly outgunned by BMW’s E46 and Lexus’s first IS200.

• Professional on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:36 am

nobody would want to buy a rubbish of course fast delivery hahaha

• lchan on Mar 29, 2012 at 9:43 am

An entire dial just for eco, normal and sport setting?…haha.

• Gan9494 on Mar 29, 2012 at 7:04 pm

If u got Ur facts right u will know it’s also the control for the huge display which controls all other functions….

• “Both engines are paired with a 6-speed Super ECT”… if I’m not mistaken, these cars (outgoing version except Gs250) were using 8 speeder. Huh, does Toyota ditch their renown 8 speeder alltogether to make way for something they did mention before, a 10 speeder?

• kington on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:51 pm

The 8 speeder was used for the LS range only.

The previous GS was using a 6 speed gearbox and having driven the previous generation GS300, the 6 speeder is just nice. I think it’s as many gear that you can fit into any gearbox. More than 6 is just a killer.

• what would be your preference if u have 350K to spend… this 2.5 or simply a F10 basic model?

• Gs250f-sport at rm400k you can add a few thousand to buy a bmw528i msport….

• Yeahh..im dying..need to key in those spec in system..Y lah they launch too many spec..aiyakk!!

• Which is better looking? M25 infiniti or GS250. thinking of upgrading my car.

• Wisdom on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:02 am

Artificial engine sound eh. Why not tune it to faint F1 like sound?

Plus this car got ‘DRS’ (which easily mistaken for drag reduction system). As we’ve known, Japanese manufacturer always like to play with acronyms; DOHC, VVT, VTEC. They cant resist it even in their lux model. Its ABS (all-bull$hit, not antilockbrake-system).

If thats the case, my car got 4RT (4 rubber tyre), RSW (round steering wheel) and SM (side mirror). ;p

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:11 pm

this is just a souped up and overrated camry with better soundproofing! the dream car for wannabes!

• Childish….this is diff chassuc smart… Rwd….drive your exotic hyundai elantra already

• Gavin on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:23 pm

I hate to be the owner of one that the rear steering has broken down, i bet it’s gonna cost about 1/4 price of the car

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 29, 2012 at 12:31 pm

8.8 secs for a 3.5L ? HAHHAAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHA!
    my vios TRD can easily smoke this slow poke!

• LexusGS on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:18 pm

I think you should read carefully 0-100 done in 6.3 Sec, 8.8 Sec is the 2.5L

• better off buying a BMW 528i, cheaper road tax, faster, and better fuel economy.

• looking-good on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:28 pm

the Predator car is in town ~

• Hyundai Fan on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Not impressive at all because it is just more like a facelift model without much changes in the exterior look. No wonder some of the onwers of GS have shifted to Infinity sedan.

• Gaban on Mar 29, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Fuyoohhh…nice car. Have to wait 10-15 years can buy this car. This boleh land high tax to let this car on the our highway

• Gorgeous front but not so pretty butt. Well, doesnt matter d price. There r ppl tat will still buy it. Bmw n merc are too common on malaysian road.

• perfect, now we cant differentiate between BMW e60 and this lexus.

• Why everybody likes to compare other car with BMW and not Mercedes or Audi?

• CrabStick on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Wow nice car….. 400k… OOOOOOK… back to work!!!

• Fuyiopo on Mar 30, 2012 at 12:12 am

Lexus having the same price tag as beemer and merc is just purely wrong.

• Julian Lee on Mar 30, 2012 at 12:47 am

BMW Better!!!

• BENSON 11 on Mar 30, 2012 at 12:50 pm

GS250 for 400k? last GS300 cost 400k also. it got less power for the new one it seem to be for the same price

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 30, 2012 at 1:48 pm

those that buy lexus like to shiok sendiri! just like the buyer of sangyong chairman!!! no prestige at all!! only difference is they pay a premium over bmw n merc !

• amirad on Mar 30, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Have driven mercs and beemers (bro and sis punya), but not yet driven a Lexus. Buying a Lexus is like appreciating finer things in life. Its the car I’m aiming for.

• well well well,so what do we have here.

hmm.
    to be honest my father owns a Lexus,a Bimmer and a Merc.
    and to be frank the IS which is to be benchmarked with the 325i and E200 feels better,more power and cleaner energy compared to these two Germs.

I ain’t promoting Lexus fanboyism but this is the truth.
    yes the Bimmer do have great engines.
    Merc wins on the comfort.
    but Lexus combines both of them which I recommend them as super brilliant car.
    Lexus is #somuchwin compared to other brands while the fact these car are so much pricier than those Bimmer and Merc.

• Expensive Jap on Apr 04, 2012 at 3:24 pm

I no understand your england.

ANYWAY, after all it’s down to one’s own perception. It’s your own 400K, not mine not others. Just that I rather spend 200K on a Civic Type R and another 200K on an Audi A4 if I had 400K.

My dua puluh sen =)