Nissan Juke-R goes into production, very limited run

Good news. The Nissan Juke-R will go into production. The bad news: Juke-R will be made in limited numbers on built-to-order basis. The price remains undisclosed but as my ex-Creative Director once told me, “If you need to ask for the price, you cannot afford it.”

There are three reasons why the Juke-R will be made; two of the reasons are high-profile and well-respected members of Dubai society. No hint on who the third person is. You see, the Juke-R made its debut in Dubai in January and have without a doubt caught the eye of some the nation’s elites.

Gareth Dunsmore, Marketing Product Manager for the Juke, said: “With such a strong reaction, and with three genuine offers on the table, we decided we had to make the car a reality. We can’t let down enthusiasts who are this keen to add to their collection of cars. The Juke-R has become something of a phenomenon and I’m enormously proud of the impact it has had. There will be more news to come on Juke later in the year.”

While the original Juke-R was based on the MY10 GT-R running gear, the production Juke-R will get the drivetrain and chassis of the MY12 GT-R. As a recap, the Juke-R has a 3.8 litre engine that produces 545 bhp and can reach a top speed of 160 mph, or about 257.5 km/h.

Nissan will be taking orders in the coming four weeks before officially starting production. The first three owners will get their cars in late summer. If you want to get one, here’s the email address [email protected].

The video below shows what the Juke-R was up to in Dubai. Watch out for the über-cool helmet with teeth.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• bujang selamat on May 08, 2012 at 4:30 pm

beige colour seat…looks better than our persona

• khylie555 on May 08, 2012 at 5:02 pm

I want this and the BMW 1M!!!! Wish my bank account is full!!!

• kimi_ on May 09, 2012 at 2:15 am

comparing JUKE-R with lamboghini and ferrari is a real JOKE

• kadajawi on May 09, 2012 at 10:03 am

Why? The JUKE-R is a GT-R disguised as a tiny SUV. And we all know how good the GT-R is.

• kucipan on May 12, 2012 at 10:02 pm

i think joke-r (joker) is a suitable name for this car..no offence

• venven81 on May 08, 2012 at 5:08 pm

is this video a joke or what? *meh*

• kadajawi on May 08, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Who cares. It’s well made and exciting.

They should have used a real race track and less editing though.

• Dun expect too much out of a Nissan ad that’s trying to sell a Nissan. Those supercars weren’t even trying…

• kadajawi on May 08, 2012 at 7:18 pm

What’s wrong with the people? The Juke-R is clearly way cooler than those supercars. Those are rather common, but the Juke-R? There are like a handful of them, and each is probably more expensive than those supercars combined. The Juke-R should be a huge laugh.

• m-ocker on May 08, 2012 at 7:39 pm

when is malaysia going to receive the juke?

btw, i would love to get one and will be happy to drive it around town for the eyesore of others to see… huahuahua…

• kadajawi on May 08, 2012 at 8:04 pm

When within 4 weeks you send them a mail saying you’ll buy one, regardless of price (because well, they won’t tell how much it’ll cost). It’s a “if you have to ask…” thing.

• Alpha on May 09, 2012 at 12:20 am

I think the Juke looks quite nice and unique,though.

Buy a Juke.
      Buy a front halfcut of a R35.

=A Juke-R,the Malaysian way!!

• Offspring of Subaru and Toyota: BRZ or GT86.
    Offspring of Nissan and The Joker = Juke-R

• zebulun on May 09, 2012 at 10:01 am

omg.. why so hideous??

• Dennis on May 09, 2012 at 10:25 am

In the latest upcoming Batman movie ‘The Dark Knight Rises’ , Batman will use
    the Juke-R to get his chicken pox vaccination jab…………

• who cares how fast it goes when it is nauseatingly ugly?

• m-ocker on May 10, 2012 at 6:34 pm

the bruneians seems to adore the juke.. when i was job posting there few weeks ago, i did get the chance to visits their showroom. the juke was launch in brunei early march 2012 and the response was overwhelming. the waiting list is two months. the turbo version was sell for only $44k.

when you see it in real life, you cant denied it really do look that good.

btw, the bruneians can really accept any kind of car brands sold there. they even buy the geely . you will see a lot kia forte koup, and the orig version of myvi, the sirion.. even proton too. you never hear them being biased to other brands.. if only we malaysians have their mentality…

• kadajawi on May 12, 2012 at 11:04 pm

You don’t have any humour, do you?