2012 Toyota Corolla Axio launched in Japan – does it preview the next generation Corolla Altis interior?

Toyota has unveiled the new Toyota Corolla Axio in Japan, which is a sign that it won’t be long now until the Toyota Corolla Altis receives a full model change as well, since the 5 year lifecycle that it typically runs on is about due now.

The Toyota Corolla Axio is one of the two Corolla models for the Japanese domestic market – it is sold alongside a wagon variant called the Corolla Fielder. You may wonder, what’s with all the different Corollas?

Two generations ago, the name Corolla Altis made its debut, because Toyota wanted to make its C-segment sedan contender appear larger and more luxurious for the world market, but a larger Corolla would not be suitable for sale in Japan as they have certain tax segment based limits for the exterior dimensions of a car, which made sense considering how limited space is in Japan.

So they sold a Corolla in Japan (and in some other countries like Singapore), while the rest of the world markets such as Malaysia got a Corolla Altis. When the time came for a full model change, the Japanese market Corolla got the Axio name tagged on when it was unveiled in October 2006 , and soon after, a corresponding Corolla Altis was launched and hit Malaysia in March 2008. These 2 models had different outlooks but they did share a very similar interior.

So while this latest generation Corolla Axio is not the Corolla that will replace our Malaysian Corolla Altis, we could assume that the next generation Corolla Altis could share an interior design derived from the new Corolla Axio.

The new interior design is quite a departure from the previous generation Corollas – the sleek vertical Volvo-like “waterfall” centre dash area that felt like very clearly split the passenger and driver areas has been replaced by a more horizontal oriented design that positions all controls higher up.

The area ahead of the gear shifter which used to have a sloping trim has been replaced by what looks like a storage area – variants that have wood trim in the interior now have it rather gaudily encasing the audio and air cond controls.

The instrumentation panel has been changed to a triple-gauge layout like the Camry’s, replacing the current twin gauge layout. Lower end models only have a single speedometer. Some variants have a bare steering wheel while others have a joy-pad like control on the left steering wheel spoke.

Two engines are available – the larger one is a 1NZ-FE 1.5 litre which should be very familiar to Malaysians as it’s the same engine in the Vios, but with some changes – the version with a CVT transmission has a higher compression ratio of 11.0:1. The smaller engine is a 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i 1NR-FE that makes 95 PS and 121Nm. The wagon Corolla Fields has larger engine options – instead of a 1.3 and 1.5, it’s offered as a 1.5 and a 1.8.

The Axio rides on a 2,600mm wheelbase, which is the same length as the previous two generations of Corolla. Wheelbase is not the ultimate indicator of interior space, but it’s worth noting that it’s one of the shortest in the segment – some C-segment cars have grown to have wheelbases of over 2,700mm. The Preve has a 2,650mm wheelbase. But despite sharing the same wheelbase length with its predecessor, Toyota claims the new Corolla Axio offers 40 mm roomier knee space in the backseat.

The Axio is also light – the heaviest 2WD model is 1,090kg – adding 4WD brings the heaviest version up to 1,200kg. As a comparison, the current generation Corolla Altis in Malaysia weighs from 1,250kg for the 1.6E up to 1,315kg for the 2.0V.

Although the Corolla is a very popular car, given that the market for a C-segment sedan continuously shrinks in Japan (non-hybrid Civic Sedan has been discontinued for Japan, for example). Toyota’s big seller in Japan is now the Prius – and 10,000 of these are targeted to shipped domestically every month, while combined monthly targets for the new Corolla Axio sedan and Corolla Fielder wagon only come up to 7,000, with more of these being Fielders (4,000 units) than Axios (3,000 units).

I think you can see some cost cutting efforts with the latest Corolla Axio, especially on the interior. Most of us will probably prefer the outgoing interior design to this latest one. But who knows, perhaps the new Corolla Altis will be an even further departure from the Corolla Axio and have a bespoke interior that is more upmarket. Look after the jump for a small photo gallery of the new Corolla Axio.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kambing on May 20, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Yikes! I think they just hired a bunch of monkeys to design this car.

• peter_pj on May 20, 2012 at 8:40 pm

Or maybe they got Perodua to design it…don’t you think that the dash looks very Myvi-ish? But extremely gaudy-trim

• Costwise on May 20, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Preve is better than Corolla. I used to own one, 1995 model, probably the greatest Corolla…? This is going backward, I would get Preve anytime, anyday.

• going down hill… like new civic……..

• Cedyy on May 21, 2012 at 11:40 am

much worse than the new civic. at least the new Civic is an evolution of the previous model. this one looks regressive

• Actually Polo Sedan is not that ugly if compared with this :(

• Looks like they copied from the design from Ford Lynx from the 90’s!

• The centre “square” centre console really kills me, the camry steering wheel looks too big and very odd for this poor axio..please do not apply this axio design on the altis, Toyota..please.

• William on May 23, 2012 at 2:44 pm

Looks like they modify it from Toyota Echo Sedan…

• zachary gibson on May 20, 2012 at 2:56 pm

Looks like an old man’s car…. yucks.

• I don’t always say that Toyota is an ugly car. But this, is, beyond ugly. Looks like a rebadged Chinese-manufactured car. Sorry Toyota.

• That why Toyota got a lots of old man supporter, old man got money ma, we still young, that why we can’t afford old man car, our taste will pick elantra, polo, civic and others.

• CrabStick on May 20, 2012 at 3:00 pm

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORING!!

• Boringxio on May 20, 2012 at 3:04 pm

I disagree. Some cars look good but boring. Some are just plain ugly. This one takes it to next level by being plain fugly. It’s excitingly fugly, totally not boring at all.

• Boringxio on May 20, 2012 at 3:03 pm

At first I thought it was one of those China made cars!
    love the last pic tho…future uncle

• Agreed. Fugly Uncle Car. In this instance P1 has done a better job with Preve – which makes it pretty bad. But UMW will still sell it by the bucket loads.

• Orange on May 20, 2012 at 3:17 pm

dash still look old early 2000 design…that’s the problem with jap, ‘jyougei kankei’ (seniority) causing young designer idea blocked by their so called superior senior..

• kimi's fan on May 20, 2012 at 3:28 pm

it is unacceptable that this automobile giant produce these kind of exterior design

Pui~~~~~

• WhoKnows on May 20, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Funny to see a bunch of mediocre complexed and brainwashed korean writing rubbish against superior companies than their forever-pathetic and unreliable rubbish (no need to say `hyunida-kia`, right? Hehe.

• Jimmy on May 20, 2012 at 5:29 pm

I refused to buy the current E-class because it is Toyotish. Korean cars? Some of them are ‘banyak masuk workshop’ even before 25 000km milage, and some have major problems before 60 000km (perhaps need to improve dealerships).

• mirror on May 20, 2012 at 6:10 pm

My..oh..my.. you really know how to talk rubbish..don’t you?

• even saga flx looks better than this ugly ass-io

• Sunday on May 20, 2012 at 3:39 pm

it’s looks won’t shout ‘look at me’ for sure but it will definitely sell as those in the market for this type of car (and there are a lot of them in the world) do not want a car that shouts ‘look at me’ for reasons best known to them. i have always thought the corolla axio looked cleaner and i do prefer its simpler lines compared to the fussy looking altis and this new axio does look rather clean and timeless in its somewhat ‘boring’ way… something like how vw’s look; boring but timeless.

• i also like these clean and simple toyotas…

i would love to be driving one of these:

http://paultan.org/2007/10/16/tokyo-preview-toyota-crown-hybrid-concept/

• Sunday on May 20, 2012 at 3:49 pm

yup. the crown looks good too. sometimes, if you can see through the flash and dash of other cars, you should be able to see the values of this model. which are not flashy looks but rather, solid, reliable and dependability and for many, it is more than enough already. just see the number of vios and corolla running around and you would understand.

boring looks maybe but then, that’s what accessory shops are for ;)

• cefir on May 20, 2012 at 7:14 pm

good luck for you
          it’s not for me, i don’t say it’s timeless, clean design, solid but it’s

UGLY !!!

• motoyt on May 20, 2012 at 11:26 pm

did you say ‘timeless’? it’s proton design concept, what is toyota’s?

unclish, boring oldies design concept?

• KuciKuci on May 20, 2012 at 3:40 pm

seems like Toyota is going backward…

• balloon on May 20, 2012 at 3:44 pm

i think Toyota is doing a great job in making lousy and ugly cars! Good luck in the next 10 years because you will be loosing the market like what Nokia is doing right now! The market changes every minute. If you are not willing to change with the trends then you should go down like the rest!

• Jimmy on May 20, 2012 at 5:42 pm

Nope, not in Malaysia where cars’ prices are sky-high for many. They will only lost customers like you and me, who refuse to buy Camry as spare car. We are the minority right? The only good thing about Toyota here nowadays is: resale value. Resale value only.
      I guess even if they put CAMRY badge on Vios and sell at RM162000, the ‘CAMRY’ can still sell like hot cakes.

• Pls lah…now the new T car models are ugly…..so in future who going to buy those 2nd hand T ugly car with resale value high? I believe in future the good looking korean car will have better resale value.

• alldisc on May 20, 2012 at 9:18 pm

one of the most important criteria when selling a car brand is the network of sales and aftersales.

the local umw did just that but with the high overheads they cannot avoid but to charge a bit more. this is simple common-sense.

what happened to chevrolet, for example? not many willing to part money for a renault, or a citroen since the service centres are nowhere but the klang valley and perhaps penang and ipoh.

umw not able to bring the 20 models of cars and MPV/SUVs like Japan as restricted by the punishingly high taxes/excise and the need to oblige to the G not to kacau P1/P2 market. they have to play strategic and bring in only the most sellable models.

i have to agree if toyota remains unchange like Nokia, they may not be around 10 years from now but then again, Japan is a very unique market unlike anywhere else in the world. the corolla and camry may still do well there – and it is a very big market there where Toyota has always been the No.1 carmaker for like 30 years or more. that will be their priority, as to what i believe. we are not like China which can demand a specifically engineered car like example BMW 3 series long wheel base never done in history before.

• Jimmy on May 20, 2012 at 5:48 pm

To add: we cannot compare electrical devices with cars, definitely not in Malaysia.
      What is happening to Samsung and Nokia will not happen in Malaysian car market, unless one day cars are cheap to majority Malaysians.

• mrworldwide on May 20, 2012 at 3:45 pm

toyota r trying to bring ‘classic’ or ‘retro’ feel to dis car…lolzzz

• busybody on May 20, 2012 at 7:53 pm

yes, retro. the back remind me of Sentra…

• waterman on May 21, 2012 at 2:09 pm

awww.. that is the latest fashion trend… RETRO FTW~
      but sorry i don’t buy this idea.. LOL

• rustyrazor on May 20, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Might takes me for another 15 years to say it nice.. Those japs maybe drunk a sake whilst designed it..

• unnon on May 20, 2012 at 3:56 pm

on the exterior, the rear of preve is much more better than this one…

• This looks like the budget version for Japan’s domestic market.god i hope they dun do the same thing for the global market/asian market version.

And they said the new Honda Civic is ugly

• gotodmc on May 20, 2012 at 4:30 pm

I thought still got hope waiting for a real vios replacement to buy. This is hinting a sign of uncle design for future vios.

• JeremyNg on May 20, 2012 at 4:42 pm

so it still using the cheap torsion beam ??

• don’t say it’s cheap because once it’s TRD badge, it’s sport car suspension, just like how vios TRD becomes sport car from japan that can beat GTI, G-TR, Gee Gee, bumble gee and so on, you list it yourself, even felali

• Kworld on May 20, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Not a Toyota fan at all but latest Korean cars still using torsion beam like the Elantra. Old engine and low cost components but at the surface they throw in all the specs and features to entice those buyers in Malaysia. Unfortunately many Malaysians don’t realized it. Malaysians are just like the Koreans, like the bling bling but don’t care much about the ride quality. Only car company now that have best of both world now should be Mazda, excellent ride quality and loaded with features.

• kington on May 21, 2012 at 12:34 am

You’d be amazed how many cars out there are using torsion beam setup.

This is the era where cost savings rule. The MK6 GTi is no longer as well built as the Mk5.

• Looks like the ‘unclelization’ of Toyota cars set to continue spearheaded by the camry. The interior is really bland and dated. Perhaps it won’t appeal to younger consumers. Reminds us of the VW-Audi interior?, where VW interior is minimalistic and straight to the point design whereas Audi interior features a more sporty and futuristic design.The point is they can do it well. I don’t even think the Lexus interior is ‘marginally’ better than its cheaper parent, Toyota. The Koreans are designing way better interiors at recent times.

By the way, those round air-cond vents on this corolla looks horrible.

• Jimmy on May 20, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Typical TOYOTISH: ugly and C C .

C C stands for c—ing c–t.

• Tony Montana on May 20, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Once a car for uncle/aunty, always a car for uncle/aunty.

• VWsupporter on May 20, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Toyota! no worries…you are expected to be like this we are used to it…. you are hopeless… keep up your current value and leave us staying away from you gradually and move towards euromobil players who are getting monopolized in asian market with its technologies and affordability adoption(slowly) for Asian.

• Bean..Mr Bean on May 20, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Heavily Value-Engineered.

• so much comments regarding its exterior and interior design
    why not asking about its weight? very light like vios
    if it’s as light as vios then how tin milo its body since the size is much bigger
    this is a big no-no since it must have lesser rigidity
    this time japs car won’t be as safe as other makes

• Disney on May 21, 2012 at 8:04 am

Weight=rigidity?

I think that you know nothing about rigidity.
      Well, I think that you know nothing about elasticity too.
      Maybe, I think that you know nothing about energy conservation neither.

Or maybe you are too smart.

• 4G63T DSM on May 21, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Weight does not necessarily mean a safer structure.

yes, the easier way to make something strong is to use more steel, but nowadays, manufacturers have a good range of materials that lower weight without compromising strength and crash worthiness. (ie. high strength steel, composites, magnesium alloys) and better CAD designed crash cell.

That said, manufacturers will continue to get tempted to compromise safety here in malaysia, where there is little in the way of standard MINIMUM safety requirements.
      Lack of airbags, undersized brakes and lack of ABS/TC.

• _xXx_ on May 20, 2012 at 7:01 pm

Sure onot Toyota? Just change the valve lift height or piston top shape and bingo, new engine. Dun u think 1NZ-FE name is dinosauric? How bout 1MY-FE for the ‘new’ engine?

• Unforgiven on May 20, 2012 at 7:02 pm

The Japs seems to be seeing far ahead, they are telling us that we need the cost cutting, due to the uncertainty…

I’m sure they still have luxury car/Lexus/86 for different market…

• Anakata on May 20, 2012 at 7:10 pm

The design is beyond bad, it’s an attempted murder!

• nighttrain on May 20, 2012 at 7:21 pm

OMFG! Thisnis one ugly ass sedan.. Japanese people actually buy this thing?

• Interior is FT86 wannabe, so maybe they are going to sell it to wannabe too?

• Who are you people to determine the Since when Toyota said Corolla is only for youngster?

• Who are you people to determine the market for this car? Since when Toyota said Corolla is only for youngster?

• Rulered on May 20, 2012 at 8:16 pm

It’s part of the plan to deter car thieves from stealing Toyota cars.

• Amingo on May 20, 2012 at 9:08 pm

Toyota Europe design much much better

• alldisc on May 20, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Corolla has various model names. other than Altis, Axio and Fielder, it also has Levin, Sprinter, Trueno, Runx, Cielo and the current Altis hatchback sold in UK is called Auris.

all sport different body styling.

• catdog on May 21, 2012 at 9:37 am

market segmentation…japs are clever…i smell negative aura when reading all comments here… hop it wil not infected me n you all :)

• Merc=Real Euro on May 20, 2012 at 9:59 pm

funny thing is this car will not make it to malaysia as it is a JDM model only….so why comment on something that we are not going to get…..

• Kelvin on May 20, 2012 at 10:12 pm

Lol is this the low end version of toyota altis?

• that interior…..that back….

BURN…….BURN IT WITH FIRE !!!!!!!!!!!

• Gokul on May 20, 2012 at 10:46 pm

So “Uncle’ish”(Made up a new word just for this car and it suits).. Guess Toyota designers are consists of some bunch of boring ass uncles.. Why Japanese? Why are you guys are going backward nowadays? Watched too much of tentacle porn till it injures your brain??

• catdog on May 21, 2012 at 9:18 am

Dont like de way u insult the japs. As i know they are vy disipline and positive people. I tot porn is kind of arts… perhaps can make people more creative… hehe

• bummer on May 20, 2012 at 11:09 pm

wow it looks much better than current civic
    i want one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• mickey on May 20, 2012 at 11:19 pm

totally disappointed !!

• You all are just poor guy!

• Sam Loo on May 21, 2012 at 12:51 am

At least, it will not depreciate like the Elantra, 2011 model selling for RM60k+

• David D on May 21, 2012 at 12:27 pm

The Elantra you are mentioning is the 2006-2011 HD version, so it’s understandable why it depreciated quite fast, due to the demand of the new MD version. And if you care so much about resale value, buy a damn house, or invest. Better yet, stash your damn money at home, instead of craying about how this horrid Axio depreciates lesser than an Elantra. Lame arguements, really.

• syntium5000 on May 21, 2012 at 5:33 am

ahh…who cares…in Malaysia..as long its Toyota..ppel will buy it…UMW has no worries..sure still can make $$$$$$$ maaa……..

• Somehow the front look like previous generation of Lancer and rear look like previous generation of Elentra. Right?

• I think the new Civic is better looking that this UGLY Corolla. Why tail light all same design as Civic. No other design ka….These Honda & Toyota designer have to be sent back to design school la…..I agree 1000% Preve looks better than this.

When european car manufacturer design car if design cue looks like 70’s you all say retro but if japanese designers you all say its not a gud design …

• beatnik on May 21, 2012 at 8:06 am

They were too busy designing and developing the GT86 and totally sidelined the corolla.. LOL!

• T&H remains hopeless so far on their new cars introduction… Their Design and Tech is still that far behind…

• Their tech is over 9000 years ahead of others (according to Toyoda fanboys).

This is just F.U.G.L.Y

• 1BatangNaik on May 21, 2012 at 9:08 am

To take a quote from Top Gear, “It won’t win many fans with those blessed with the gift of sight”. Maybe the target market is those really senior folks.

• the car portion seem odds..
    headlight resemblance of the on going VW car
    the rear end similar to India Toyota Etios
    and those end does a bit low.. like proton wira

• meteoraniac on May 21, 2012 at 9:19 am

someone pls nuke the manufacturing plants which came out with these patethic designs (2012 camry, now this POS)…

• cureorcurse on May 21, 2012 at 9:20 am

The headlamp + grill reminds me, Triton

• seriousdude on May 21, 2012 at 9:20 am

first time seeing toyota with such wheel fender flares…like old focus

• Anand on May 21, 2012 at 9:32 am

dont worry..all the ah bengs still going to love this design too…even the latest ‘butt beauty’ avanza already on the road driving by ah bengs…

• shawal on May 21, 2012 at 9:40 am

The New Corolla …unleash the uncle in you !……

• ss427 on May 21, 2012 at 9:40 am

Guys, I believe I’ve mentioned several times in the new Camry thread that this Gen11 Axio is a 101% POS!.

I was watching ChannelNewsAsia some 2 weeks back and Toyota CEO (yes, that same guy who was grilled by US congress some yrs ago regarding Toyota’s sticky gas pedal) actually had the cheek to say how exciting and innovative this new POS Corolla is.

Note: To be fair, Toyota did mentioned that the Gen11 Corolla will be targeted at older buyers… since Jap population is ageing fast and few youngers who bother buying a B&B cars, Toyota have to cater for those beyond 60 yrs old.

Yes folks, the Gen11 Axio is an Ah pek car, and it doesn’t hide this fact. :( The new bodyshape looks alot like the cheap Toyota Atios for the Indian market…

And despite using the Gen9 Corolla chassis, the Gen11 is built smaller than the Gen9 and 10. In fact it is as small as the awful Gen8 Corolla… that box on a box model.

The dash layout…. seriously guys, I don;t know what to say…. I guess Toyota has come to a point that they literally take the kitchen appliance on wheels butt jokes into reality… The dash looks like some high end microwave ovens control panels. It really looks awful and fugly. :(

The so called tech adv in the Gen11 Axio doesn’t hold water in our hot climate at all. That start stop function may boost fuel economy…. but the device doesn’t work if you have the aircon constantly on, which is always the case in our hot climate. It is totally impossible to achieve the stated fuel economy overseas…

And Toyota has degen so much that they actually got the guts to go through 3 model change while using 90% similar parts from the 1st iteration!! :( This Axio is still using the 12 yr old Gen9 chassis, the engine is the old 1NZ-FE 1.5 and it is 12 yrs old too. The CVT box is not to be taken seriously, but having said that, it has been ard for at least 6 yrs for the Axio for it was already offered in the Gen10 Axio.

I can go on and on, but I just wanted to ask Toyota… Toyoda-san, although sold in small numbers, Korean cars are being sold in Japan too. May I ask how in the hell are you going to explain to your potential customers that this POS is far superior than say, the current Elantra?! :) When someone pulls up a new Elantra beside this POS, how will real car buffs see your POS?

And then there’s competition from Americans and Europeans too. Japs can be very patriotic by choice and will tends to supprot their own products, but I seriously doubt they can continue doing so when you present a product that looks almost 20 yrs old even when brand new.

• Fukuoka on May 21, 2012 at 11:56 am

No Korean cars are currently sold here in Japan. For whatever reason, Hyundai stopped selling their Elantra, Sonata, Coupe and TB in 2009 whilst Grandeur, JM and i30 were history in 2010. I believe they were forced to closed shop by the Japanese government as a protective measure. The only Hyundai that is available now in Japan is a bus. Kia, Daewoo & SSangyong are the brands that the majority of the Japanese never heard before, so don’t bother the sales history.

While we are at it, China cars also have never landed on the samurai shores.

• ss427 on May 21, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Hi bro

OK I stand corrected and updated on this.. So one can’t buy a new Korean car in Japan anymore…

But what about the competition from America and Europe? I understand both GM and Ford are pushing their products very hard in Japan, with a big help from the US gov of cos. I understand Japs can buy a new Mustang and Camaro in Jap readily from any Ford and GM dealer. And Japs gov is great in that they don’t restrict registration of LHD vehicles in their country…. so there’s no issue.

Park the Cruze, new Malibu, Focus, Fusion or Taurus next to this POS… I mean seriously who will buy the Axio??

• catdog on May 21, 2012 at 3:16 pm

You said this car is targeted at older buyer! See you already ans your own Q…

• Kimi Raikkonen on May 21, 2012 at 9:49 am

WoW! This is a beautiful piece of shit on four wheels!

• pauline on May 21, 2012 at 9:58 am

even saga beats it in exterior design.

its only slightly better than savvy……oh my eyesssss

• blacky on May 21, 2012 at 10:33 am

y worry so much….since JDM…only 1.3 and 1.5 (1.8 for wagon) but here got 1.6,1.8 and 2.0
    just wait n c the differences when it reaches here…..but prefer outgoing dash design thou….n i dun like the round aircon duct…centre 1 is ok…

• ss427 on May 21, 2012 at 11:33 am

Yes we overseas customers may not worry too much, since the Axio is a JDM model not meant for export… although grey importers have brought in sizable number of the Gen10 Axio in SG…. and the car was indeed crap, but this Gen11 Axio takes crap-ness to a whole new level.

But my point is, if Toyota has the guts to degenerate their long time nameplate so much that it looks like this POS, what’s PREVENTING THEM to do likewise to export model version of the Gen11? :(

Surely the official export model will not have a totally new chassis since it defeats the purpose of cutting cost in the 1st place. 2nd, it is also quite unlikely the export model to have a totally different dash and interior fittings…since, again, it will defeat the purpose of cost cutting… which is what Toyota main priority these days….

FYI, not many Bolehland frens here have seen the Gen10 Axio up close before, but here in SG, it is a fairly common sight and Prime Taxi actually used the model as part of their taxi fleet. The Gen10 Axio sported the same dash layout as the current Gen10 Altis… the only difference is that our grey importers brought in base, rental car specs Axio (eg 1.5 X) that doesn’t come with tach!, cruise controls, radio, and simple 3 knob manual a/c controls, fixed rear seatbacks, rear drums and 14″ steel wheels.. :( .

In other words, what you see here could very well be the what the next gen Altis dash!…

I really want to see exactly what Toyota is going to do to convince their oversea market prospective customers at respective car shows that the Gen11 interior is much better than Elantra? LOL :)

• squall_shinoda on May 21, 2012 at 10:46 am

Toyota Corolla = ???? (translation: uncle’s car)

• really going downhill for toyota. Recent new camry is totally nothing to shout about only the pricing.

• wajaowner on May 21, 2012 at 11:50 am

i am sorry but this is damn fugly

really in a shock when i see this just like when i see the new honda civic gen 9

• oko028 on May 21, 2012 at 11:51 am

no offense to Toyota fanboy, its obvious look at your beloved Toyota design…our Proton can do a better job!!!

• ss427 on May 21, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Ok I agree the Preve looks better in this case, both inside and out…

But your Proton notorious reliablity issues and the continue use of cheap, brittle interior parts will make sure that Toyota, no matter how crap they ended up to be, will still be at least one notch higher than Proton when all things considered… :)

• preve got soft touch material, civic interior looks cheap, hard plastic

• Sighs why lah the design so boring looking… it’s not ugly but i expect something nicer… This kind of design is for lower end cars like vios class…

• fraz006 on May 21, 2012 at 12:50 pm

oh my god! buruknya. lucky i booked inspira, best value for my hard earned money.

• sleepergrey on May 21, 2012 at 2:25 pm

I think it’s the new generation of Toyota Vios/Belta. Remember Galant Fortis? It’s the same with Lancer.

• 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i engine? I hope proton and perodua can fitted it into Saga FLX and Myvi as well..

• ss427 on May 21, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Guys just a quick comment on the pros and cons of using rear torsion beams…

FYI torsion beams are indeed employed to keep manufacturing cost down. complex suspension designs such as 4 wheel doubble wishbones as once used by Honda in their FDs are the best of the best.

Torsion beams sacrificed some at the limit handling powess with the rewards of lower manufacturering cost but still offering a comforable ride.

Torsion bars/beams setup is, in theory, NOT a true IRS… extreme wheel movement in one axle will affect the other.. and becos of its higher unsprung weight, going through round roads quickly will result in lots of axle hopping as the simple torsion beam needs time to settle down.

The trouble with Toyota’s setup is that the Gen9 Corolla chassis (ie, ZZE) is too soft and wobbly as compared to other leading manufacturers who used torsion beam setups as well. I don’t think I need to eleborate much la, I’m sure the majority of you here have owned or at least driven a Gen9 Altis before.

You can feel the chassis twisting whenever you try to pull a fast corner….and with a slow responsing torsion beam, you can feel lots of banging and kickbacks from the rear of the car whenever you try to do fast corners.

You don’t feel such things happening in the new Elantra :D

• Disappointed on May 21, 2012 at 2:27 pm

On the bright side, at least Malaysian’s aren’t the only ones getting ripped off. It looks like the Japanese themselves are getting the bad end of the deal. At least Toyota is pretty fair, when it comes to sticking it to your customers ;)

A Japanese Corolla with Vios engine. That’s just sad

• ss427 on May 21, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Well this Gen11 Axio has shrunken in size as compared to the Gen10 Axio… and if you look at the overall dimension, it is indeed closer to Vios than our present gen Altis..

Toyota evidently believe their 12 yr old 1NZ-FE can do wonders… which is largely true given the feather light nature of JDM Toyotas…

FYI, that big eyed Gen9 Hipporolla 1.6L that was once sold in SG from 2000-2003 has a kerb weight of just 1030-1050kg! Yes, that’s 1.05tons…. for a 1.6L Corolla??

The Altis 1.8 from 2004 onwards came in at approx 1.2 tons even though it is built on the same platform…. the difference between JDM specs and official western market specs Corollas is clear…

And of cos the FD1 came in at almost 1.3tons… :)

I won’t be surprised this new POS weighs in at 1.05tons as well if not lighter

• alldisc on May 21, 2012 at 4:21 pm

there are several other main advantages of using a torsion beam axle. it may not be as good as double wishbone or mutli-link set-up though in terms of ride control.

1. it is easier to manufacture, and definitely cost lower.

2. It has fewer components, thus lower repair costs. Imagine the pain to change many bushes or suspension arms beginning in 4th year and again and again in the following years.

3. They have less contact points to the chassis so less noise and vibrations are transferred into the car when running a hump. cars using torsion beam tends to enjoy a quieter ride, unless of course a lot of sound deadening material is used which means adding more weight to a car.

4. The design does not take up much space, so the cabin can be made larger and create more comfort for rear passengers.

5. being smaller with less components means they are lighter as well, especially in the unsprung weight area. This improves acceleration as well as fuel economy.

this is why current vios weighs around 1,050kg while current city weighs around 100kg more. city has more power but 0-100kmh for both cars are the same, while vios has better FC in city drives.

among cars using this include
    1. Saab 95 (1970s)
    2. Mitsubishi Galant Super Touring (1984)
    3. Honda Jazz (2002)
    4. Toyota Vios
    5. Nissan Latio and Livina
    6. Kia Forte
    7. Kia Carnival aka Naza Ria
    8. Chevrolet Aveo
    9. Toyota Corolla
    10. Toyota Estima
    11. Peug 206/207
    12. Opel / Vauxhall Astra
    13. Citroen C4/Xsara

even VW Golf uses them (not the current Mk6, but previous Mk5). What VW says about torsion beam is stated in their website

“The torsion beam rear suspension has proved to be the most economical layout for non-driven rear axles. Two trailing arms are linked by means of a cross member, which also serves as an anti-roll bar. The advantages of this layout are good directional stability when cornering and a compact design, making for convenient use of space at the rear.”

it may not be as good as multi-link or double wishbones set-up but in their flaws, it has its own advantages.

• ToyotaPJ on May 21, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Wow…nice design ! This is what Toyota is about quality and good designs ! Ppl the new Camry is finally here…and now this beauty can’t wait for it to reach here !

• Steve Cardenas on May 21, 2012 at 4:58 pm

i think this will serve basis for/and therefore previews the next ASEAN Vios, not the Altis. Yes, it has the Corolla badge, confirmed at least for Japan. Not necessarily the rest of Asia have to follow. As is, it should replace the Vios. it is 2 inches longer in length and wheelbase. Its interior looks like that from the all new USDM Yaris hatch. It has 1.3 and 1.5L options, rides on a 175/65R15 like the Honda City and most of all, it looks like B-segment cheap. The next Altis might also be based on this, but should be extensively revised. Heck! the compact car segment is so competitive now, the Axio un-revised shall become an epic fail.

• John Elevator on May 21, 2012 at 8:26 pm

this looks even older than the 2001 Corolla Altis! way to go backward! just like civic … just like preve (a mashed up of new (US version) and new) civic!

• vios7758 on May 22, 2012 at 7:47 am

down size, light weight, use small engine…same wheelbase, spacious interior, longer leg room.. may be this car could be vios replacement…wait n see in 2 years time…. then no more vios just corolla n camry….1nz-fe the legend…after a decade still world best engine….no point to replace it.

• fugly on May 22, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Toyota cars are getting from good looking, to ugly to fugly to completely out of this world fugly!!!!!!. Toyota keeps playing safe with very very old designs and technology used. Some of their cars have very poor QC, rattles and poor parts for example the old Avanza.

New cars coming from Toyotas are simply too horrible to look at. For example the current new Avanza. Any models below the 100k mark from Toyotas are shit.

• William on May 23, 2012 at 2:45 pm

looks like they modify from Toyota Echo Sedan

• Wiseowl on May 25, 2012 at 2:31 am

i am truly can’t understand why the designer of this model is “Moving Backward” instead of “Moving Forward”. If this model (assume a replacement model for Altis) land in Malaysia, I am 100% considering keeping my current Altis ’08 or switch Honda or Hyundai perhaps. Deeply upset with the design. Wiseowl

• MAZpengDA on Jul 23, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Another great-great-great-great-great grandfather car design from toyota,we all shame to u

• RedBeanBun on Jul 26, 2012 at 2:41 pm

This is farking pathetic! Toyo share sure going down..

• alitstar on Oct 27, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Yikes! Whats going on in TOYOTA? Their cars look uglier by every new models…

• ah seng on Oct 27, 2012 at 9:28 pm

because they cut cost by hiring 3rd class designers from myanmar!

• Jetlee on Jan 26, 2013 at 12:34 am

wowww… wonderful.. beautiful..