China’s Brilliance hires Pininfarina man Dimitri Vicedomini

China’s Brilliance makes decent looking cars compared to its local rivals, and a lot of the good work comes from the famous Italian design house Pininfarina. The former loves Pininfarina’s designs so much that they’ve decided to hire the man who penned them.

The Pininfarina designer in question is Dimitri Vicedomini, who has 15 years of design experience. He previously led a Pininfarina team to design and modify several Brilliance models, including the BS4 Splendor (pic below) and Zhonghua H530 saloons.

Brilliance Auto, based in Shenyang, northeast China, sold 30,446 Brilliance-branded cars and 69,354 Jinbei vans in the first quarter of 2012. It is also the local partner for BMW.

Chinese carmakers using Western designers is no new phenomenon. Recent examples include Beijing Automotive Industry Holding Corp hiring former Ferrari designer Leonardo Fioravanti as consultant and Geely naming Volvo’s Peter Horbury as its design chief.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Decent design better than Toyota n Honda. Car manufacturer should think outside the box and get new designers…… Korean and China manufacturer have taken a bold step…..Japanese manufacturer should follow Mazda zoom zoom……

• dzulx on May 22, 2012 at 5:24 pm

This is what proton should do…please stop relying on those interior designers who design that stupid preve’s interior…

• Espresso! Quick! on May 22, 2012 at 9:48 pm

yes, i would agree with you. the ergonomics in most proton cars is horrendous. i’m not referring to those that didn’t come from them like the wira, the inspira, the tiara (which was pretty well designed ergonomically). the new preve is decent enough ergonomically but the aesthetics leaves quite a bit more to be desired.

• During my short stint in P1, I found out that it’s the ‘Tuan Penasihat’ that decided on what we M’sian were going to get from a Proton, and it’s up to the plastic texture inside! While it was proven successful during the 90’s, it’s proven otherwise ever since. I might be wrong now, but my kind suggestion is, Mr Tuan Penasihat, please entrust our new generation of technocrats to spearhead P1 ahead. You’ve started that great job, now let the younger continue…

• anti-first on May 22, 2012 at 6:46 pm

mmmm….i detect a hint of alfa 155/156 lines.

• shawal on May 22, 2012 at 6:52 pm

I can see why pininfarina gladly let him go…

• how to profit more if hire expertise . With “cincai” designer poor people has no choice but to buy also. Thanks to “G” force

• alldisc on May 22, 2012 at 8:51 pm

i just cant believe how simple lines can still make a car looks good nowadays now that the “in” shapes come in the form of BMWs, Mazdas and Hyundais

• mivec101 on May 22, 2012 at 9:19 pm

not trying to be racist here, but i suspect proton has a very bumi-dominant design team. during preve launch, i did not see any malaysian chinese heading a design unit. maybe someone can prove me wrong here.

• Dzulx on May 22, 2012 at 9:55 pm

Not to be racist also but why u think chinese jave to lead the design team? As far as i know no correlation between talent and races

• adzhar on May 23, 2012 at 9:29 am

Agree…even the China’s Brilliance, Beijing Automotive and Geely appoint a non-Chinese to lead the designing team

• alldisc on May 23, 2012 at 8:26 am

such a question is non-relevant. proton has many chinese malaysians working in all kind of various departments.

their R&D has been around for more than 15 years, and if not mistaken the lead designer for gen2 was chinese when he described the headlamp as eyes of a tiger.

every individual human has different capabilities, different left and right motor in the brains but it definitely has nothing to do with race.

in fact, we have 4 companies doing local design or at least styling of an already existing car including naza, perodua and inokom.

• laluan sehala on May 22, 2012 at 9:49 pm

actually this model looks very good. seen it in china and it is really impressive.

• Chinese car manufacturers do need the expertise and thoughts of those who’ve been doing it long before they started doing business. That way, the design and the performance of Chinese cars would start gaining credibility.

• tunguuu on May 22, 2012 at 10:34 pm

http://www.brilliance-eg.com/FSV.html

another model..new FSV…damn..very nice…

• OMG….who can forget the Brilliance BS4 euro ncap crash test disaster…hope this doesn’t end up the same. To be safe…just stay away from it…

• Jimmy on May 22, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Improve public confidence.
    Improve reliability.

• Meanwhile for Protongkat, their kampong designers simply tapau some Italian pasta to learn how to design European style car.

He He He! What happen when Mee Sedap pretend to be Italian Pasta and got mix up? Look at PREVE lah. Aweful taste!

• a.car.fan on May 23, 2012 at 2:15 pm

This is a brilliant idea and a brilliant step from Brilliance. I bet it’s tired of seeing it’s copycat competitors doing the same thing over and over again. Why not give them a taste of European design (like Hyundai’s and Kia’s)? This could actually change people’s minds about Chinese cars, that is of course with the right combination of exterior and interior designs and most importantly the QUALITY!

• carredux on May 23, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Finally! Some originality from the Chinese!

• what originality? Ohh..you mean it’s not another Camry rip off?

• carredux on May 24, 2012 at 3:25 pm

I’m not saying it so but at least it would be the start (hopefully) of their departure from the styles derived from other luxury cars.