Honda Civic 9th Gen launched: from RM115k, 5yrs warranty unlimited mileage and 10k service interval

UPDATE: Gallery now has pictures of the 2.0S, Hybrid and Modulo. Also the Studio shots are in.

Say hello to the 9th Generation Honda Civic. Just launched, there are four variants with three engine permutations to choose from – a 1.8S, 2.0S, 2.0 Navi and the Civic Hybrid. It is good to note that the petrol engine variants are CKD models while the Civic Hybrid is CBU.

The 1.8 litre SOHC i-VTEC generates 141 PS at 6,500 rpm with a torque of 174 at 4,300 rpm. The 2.0 litre SOHC i-VTEC produces 155 PS at 6,500 rpm and has a torque of 190 Nm at 4,300 rpm. Both engines transmit power to the front wheels via five-speed automatic transmission.

As for the Hybrid, the combined power of the 1.5 litre engine and electric motor decks out 110 PS at 5,500 rpm and has a healthy torque of 172 Nm between 1,000 and 3,500 rpm. The Hybrid draws its power from the lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery, which is said to have an increased output of 33% and weighs 9 kg lighter than the NiMH battery. A CVT gearbox is chosen to partner the hybrid engine.

Unlike the petrol engines, which uses ventilated front and solid rear discs, the hybrid has ventilated front disc and drums for the rear. Suspension, however, is same for all – front MacPherson struts and rear multi links. Rubber-wise, the 1.8S wears the 205/55 R16, the 2.0 slips on the 215/45 R17 and the Hybrid moves around on 195/65 R15.

The Civic is 4,525 mm long, 1,755 mm wide, 1,430 mm tall and has a wheelbase of 2,670 mm. The 1.8S is weighs the least of the lot at 1,225 kg while the 2.0S has a kerb weight of 1,270 kg. The Hybrid tips the scales at 1,280 kg.

On the outside, the 1.8S Civic is fitted with front fog lights, halogen headlights and glass printed antenna. The 2.0S comes with HID headlights instead of halogen and gets the extra auto levelling headlights and side mirrors with indicators.

The Hybrid’s equipment list is, well, a hybrid of the two and then some. It has front fog lights, halogen headlights, auto lights, side mirrors with indicators, LED taillights, heat absorbing glass all-round and a roof-mounted antenna.

The sedan gets a lot of kit too. Standard interior equipment list shared by all variants include the 5 inch intelligent Multi Information Display (i-MID), single CD audio compatible with WMA+MP3/IPOD/USB, six speakers, ECON mode button and auto climate control.

The 2.0S variants are further kitted with eight-way driver power seat, smart entry with push start button, paddle shifters and cruise control. The Hybrid plays with the same, only without the power seats and paddle shifters.

The 2.0 Navi gets the additional 6.1 inch navigation touch screen that displays video from DVD, VCD, DivX and the reverse camera. This variant also comes with Bluetooth audio and can be linked to your phone.

All Civics now comes with the Vehicle Stability Assist with Motion Adaptive EPS, ABS and two front air bags. The 2.0S, 2.0 Navi and Hybrid gets extra side airbags with occupant position detection system.

What is grabbing the headlines is not the engine or the tech that comes with the car. It is the service interval and warranty.

Service interval have been extended to 10,000 km. Honda says that the car and engine is durable enough to have a longer service interval. The labour service is also free up to six times, but it is only applicable for every alternate paid service until 100,000 km.

Just as the City, the Civic has a five-year warranty with unlimited mileage. The Hybrid also gets a five-year warranty with unlimited mileage for the IMA battery.

The 1.8S Civic is going for RM115,980, the 2.0S for RM131,980, the 2.0 Navi for RM136,980 and the Hybrid for RM119,980. All prices are on-the-road and the cars are now open for booking.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• pumpkin on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:22 pm

i thought hybrid is the lowest price.

• pumpkin on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:22 pm

but i m wrong

• Bimmer on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Additional RM 5k for the Head Unit is also a ripoff.

• Malaysian are not stupid on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:32 pm

We have to thank carmakers like Kia, Hyundai, Peugeot and even VW for this 5-years warranty by Honda. Without them, Honda will still try to rip us off with just a 3-years warranty.

• Lim Kopi on Jul 12, 2012 at 8:18 pm

What the hell happened the car price??

Compared to previous model, these cost like 15% more, and yet technology is almost the same!!

Those of you whom are buying – you are paying MORE FOR LESS!!

• Answer on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Why pay more? Because Honda ma. Ur friend will jealous if you are driving a Honda car.

• Ah beng on Sep 15, 2012 at 9:25 pm

I totally aglee lo…honda brand give some pretigeous…2nd value vely good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Gabla on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:51 pm

According to another website, this new Civic has 60% local content level. From an article here last year, Inspira during launch only had 26% local content and Proton was targeting for 65% local content after one year.

The Inspira price is a lot lower than Lancer thanks to a lower tax from the high local content level. I believe the Civic would also enjoy a lower tax thanks to its high local content level.

The question is, why the price of Civic has increased instead of decrease? Is Honda Malaysia raking in a lot of profit?

• deftones on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:15 am

guys…don’t you get the hidden agenda?? more warranty but price increase.. that’s probably how they turn around..

• the handbrake lever is sooooooo funyy.. cmon la honda. see vw, use only button..why so hard to change the mindset!

• Dont like the following:

1) Big RPM display not necessary for automatic transmission car.
        2) Dashboard look ugly.
        3) why 5 speed transmission when other have introduced 6 speed 2 years ago.
        4) Not as macho as previous civic
        5) Ugly audio control at stering

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Expatriate VN on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:27 pm

You expected Hybrid price below RM 100K, then non hybrid can ta pau lor……

• Jimmy on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Good move, Honda Mal.
      All of a sudden, Honda Mal becomes the most generous Jap car distributor in Malaysia now.
      Please support Honda to make others follow.

• Sam Loo on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:07 am

Yes, this is a nail in the coffin for Elantra.

THose that bought Elantra hailat oledi

• _xXx_ on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:59 am

Alamak, look at the BIG wheel arch gaps!!!!

• Really? Let’s do a comparison

Elantra 1.8 vs Civic 9th 1.8
        Price : 112k vs 116k
        Engine hp: 150 vs 141
        Torque : 178 vs 174
        Gear : 6 vs 5
        Seat : Nappa leather vs fabric
        Seat adjust: powerseat vs standard
        Side mirror turn signal: Yes vs No
        Auto folding: No vs Yes
        Sun Roof: Yes vs No
        Head Unit: Built in GPS vs standard radio+ mp3
        Reverse camera: Yes vs No
        EPS: Yes vs Yes
        VSA: Yes vs Yes
        Push start: Yes vs No
        Keyless entry: Yes vs No
        Auto light sensor: Yes vs No
        Auto rain sensor: Yes vs No
        Warranty: 5 years vs 5 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • a-huat, u did a good job!
          but rakyat mindset still prefer jpn not koria. there r hidden technology that v don “see” it, but need to “feel” it! eg. my 2 bro one own sonate & the others tiana. the sonata bro agree the tiana is much quiet inside the cabin.

• Yeah yeah…you can compare everything. But most people do concern about the price depreciation.

For example after 10 years, Civic: RM50K Elantra: RM25K…Which one would you choose?

• To CK:

Why everyone still get trap by the 2nd hand value? You buy a car = you have made up your mind to do a 100% lose money investment.

You don’t buy a car and start to think, “Oh ya, after 5 years I gonna sell it for a good amount of money”…Life is short, enjoy while you can. How many 10 years do you own?

We need competition, then only we as the consumer will win. It is a good example that Korean car and german car put up some competition and now Honda gives 5 years unlimited milleage warrranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • To 1Mal:

Yes, have to agree that Japanese still have better refinement. But, I think it depends on what kind of ride you opt for. Nissan is known for smooth and quiet ride, and less on sporty side.

• Tokan on Sep 15, 2012 at 9:29 pm

brader u miss 1 thing. 2nd hnd value which one better…u know the answer

• Kamal on Sep 22, 2012 at 11:59 pm

But hyundai has a poor 2nd value…

• it’s 2nd hand value is getting better nowadays

• fazee fazill on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:15 pm

The vertical H vs the slanted H!

• SashiRao on Jul 13, 2012 at 6:40 pm

Elantra vs Civic
        Price : 112k vs 116k … yes I agree
        But the sad thing is aftermarket value ??
        The difference is about 20-40K
        eg;
        Hyundai Elantra 2.0 (A) Black , Service Record -08
        RM 53 800
        Honda Civic 2.0 A i-VTEC 1 engineer owner FULLOAN -08
        RM 93 800

• huyoo on Jul 23, 2012 at 6:51 pm

who cares 2nd hand value any more? with 9-yrs loan nowadays… basically pakai sampai mati lor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • if everybody buy the all new elantra.. the secondhand value also not too bad.. am I right?

• To SashiRao :

You aware that civic 2.0 new car cost 130k right?
        RM130k – RM93800 = RM36200

Elantra 2.0 HD (last gen) new car RM94000
        RM94000 – RM53800 = RM40200

So can you tell me is there a major difference between the depreciation value?

Don’t forget, you already save alot of money in the first place during purchase.

1 more thing, civic 1.8 9th gen still give goodyear NCT5, while elantra 1.8 MD gives continental MC5. Talking about generous Honda Malaysia… LOL

• Jerry Tan on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:34 pm

GoodYear NCT5 also stock tyre for MYVi….. ahahaha

• beemt on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:19 pm

nct5 old aready now qith cc5, but inspira better with mc5

• I own an ELANTRA 1.8G 2005 & i drove CIVIC (fren) quite often. I still prefer driving my ELANTRA much more than CIVIC 2.0 since I enjoy driving more than enjoy THINKING.

• Price-wise a few thousand increase but no substantial improvements as far as I can see. The worst is the hybrid version. Tax-free but still reach RM120K. Previous price was RM108K only

• Jimmy on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Government reduce tax of hybrids, UMW-H take advantage of it by increasing price back to usual. We can expect next generation Pruis to be RM170k. There was really no need for the tax revision in 2006.
        Relatively, BMW and Merc still treat us better than these arrogant PSEUDO-luxurious aim-for-mass-market Japanese carmakers.
        Better buy Merc and BMW.

• this is 1.5, OMG ! that was 1.3.

• Due to horrible reviews all over the world Honda is pushing out the facelift version for the 9th Gen Civic much much earlier. Expected to launch end 2012 or beginning 2013.

So if you insist on buying this car, be a smart buyer and wait another 6 months and see or be typical Malaysian and buy the car now.

• if old stock no sell, you think they will bring in new one, remember Sentra ?

• So expensive but still hard plastics everywhere! At least the Toyota Altis has some soft touch material.

5-years warranty is a good move but with all the CKD problems I heard for the 8th Gen Civic, you will definitely need it.

• Can’t see any real improvements here to justify the price. All those accessories are mere gadgets that I can do outside for a much cheaper price.

Looks are subjective but uglier than the previous generation for me. Even the interior space also look smaller.

Best joke is the 1.8 version practically has no real changes. Since they have now standardize the projector headlamps, at least include HID for all variants.

• You are right. Most of the car maker has started to include those so called “luxirious” features in lower end model. Really don’t understand why is Honda Malaysia so stubborn. 9th gen 1.8 spec generally stays the same as 5 years ago. The only feature that is added is the I-MID which I think is just a bigger screen information display and is nothing to shout about.

• PPKia on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Not bad…

Here’s hoping Drb-Hicom doesn’t mess up with it like how they did with the Preve.

Hidup Syed Mohktar! Hidup Honda!

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:40 pm

Still a good price at 119K

• Khong Chia on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:29 am

Dont complain lah people about the high price! How else can the government get money to send all the MARA students overseas?

More intriguing is the car is 60% Malaysian content. People must be Bodoh to buy this “Malaysian” made car at this price. Even my Proton Waja I think has more Japanese content than this Civic.

Ha ha. How Malaysians are cheated. You are not buying Japanese lah. Don’t fool yourself. Anything more than 51% is a car that is Made in that country. Its a Malaysian car, just like any other Proton. You are better off buying the Inspira with a full Mitsubishi engine.

Or even better, add a bit more and get a Mazda CX5. Full CBU Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:37 am

Kong Chia You are very racist… just stick on commenting about the car ok…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • It’s a car blog man. stick to the car. if not go and comment on Malaysia Today, suits the way you talk.

• suku sakat kerabat johor on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:11 am

Yeah. Agreed. I will go for Chery. I always support the chinese products. I don’t want to be rascist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • meltsh on Sep 11, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Obviously u don’t know what u are talking about, comparing a proton to a honda???

• Stupid Kong Chia on Jul 21, 2014 at 10:40 am

Nice comment Kong Chia. Your comment isnt racist a bit. Not a single bit. You are the true gentleman. Keep it up Kong Chia.. you stupid b@ast@rD!!!!

• Jaspal Singh on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:06 pm

60% local content and priced that much? This what happens when we have to support the bumi crony parts suppliers in Malaysia. Local parts are so inferior in quality that they need to force Japanese car manufacturers to take the parts or else suffer from high taxes. Thailand gets CBU car and the price is so much cheaper than Malaysia. Infact, all over the world get CBU except Malaysia. So if you are buying 60% Malaysian, might as well buy a Proton lah!!

• tiger760li on Jul 13, 2012 at 7:06 pm

dnt blame malays, local parts are generally supplied in malaysia by china man companies,
        research properly bfr shout
        u singh pple only knw how to critise malays only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:44 am

Mr Singh… please appreciate living here in Malaysia.. “bumi” speak thousand words… be careful of what you write or else you can sit back an be a guard as long as your ancestor originally shipping here for….

• suku sakat kerabat johor on Jul 16, 2012 at 7:21 pm

I would go for a big lambo instead of barking in here.

• suku sakat kerabat johor on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:14 am

I’m hoping Mr. Singh will bring all Tata models into Malaysia soon. I always adore them.

• Dorshie on Jul 17, 2012 at 3:32 pm

Dey Mr. Singh, lu punya nasib lu makan, dia punya nasib dia makan- apa salah makan sama-sama? thats your ancestors dialog in P.Ramlee movie. Don’t complain much when your life in Malaysia is full of subsidy. Those local manufacturers pay taxes and provide jobs to people in this country..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Monday Blues on Jul 19, 2012 at 12:12 pm

OMG. Since when Thailand got CBU unit? They also CKD. Their price is much lower because their volume is freaking high so the OEM part is much cheaper. You think Thai govt don’t have tax? They sell cheap in Thai because H can be exported anyway so they eat so much money from there alone. You think Honda here can export? Not even my EX-5 can export.

But anyway this Civic should be cheaper!! Eat smaller money, but gain the volume la Honda! Stupid sales strategy like they don’t realize the wave of their competitors..

• Mazda and Nissan r so much better than T & H ! even Kia & Hyundai r much better than T & H now ! even Proton is better than T & H now ! T & H r getting super ugly,super date technology,less features,only dua airbags,low quality but overpriced !

• Extrimist on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Nissan? The cheapest car Nissan offer stability control is starting from RM173k. Many Malaysians don’t realize this.

While Nissan might performed well globally, personally, I think Nissan is the worst Japanese carmakers in Malaysian market. They don’t really bother about Malaysian safety.

Sentra, X-Gear, Grand Livina, Sylphy, Latio, all of them WITHOUT stability control. That’s very unacceptable.

• Don worry T & H still cant best Nissan GTR 35 :)

• nissan much better ha… how abut their famous GTR and skyline.. both driver dead in crash at kuantan.. they should design car that safe in high speed crash or it just same with kancil put turbo in..

• Alvin on Jan 02, 2013 at 6:07 pm

My Honda Civic 9th Gen now got problems that SC cannot fix. Constant wind noise from driver’s side. How to explain?

Already left the car with the SC three times and the last time a representative from Honda Malaysia is present yet the problem was not fixed! Funny thing is, after three visit not even a single part was replaced, makes you wonder whether Honda Malaysia is serious in honouring their so-called 5-years warranty. Bad enough the car is defective but I have wasted three whole days to find out nothing has changed. So much for after-sales service.

• Popish on Sep 24, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Did anyone notice there’s no EBD n BA on this civic???

• Alpha on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Seen it on the metal.Not bad,really.

• confused on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Wah the center console looks so cacat one..

• Vader on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:57 pm

Agreed! When take a close look, it seem like recycle material and really look cheap!!!

• Das Motor on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:58 pm

The plastic is horrendous! Could there be any lower graded plastic out there? The Polo Sedan has better quality for sure and yes, it’s at a lower category.

• Tall Pan on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:32 am

i love the inside. very late-80s retro look. [sarcasm]

wth honda? actually looks worse than last civic edition

• Expatriate VN on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:26 pm

“Blood sucking price” no thank to NAP!

• polo saga on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:28 pm

the civic hybrid’s front is so ugly!!!

• The design grows on you

• not a bad price. considering its honda

and it comes with 5 yrs unlimited mileage warranty now

• Calli on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Great warranty!

• Desmond on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Is it that hard to make Push Button start standard?

• haha why i can see some design cues from forte and preve especially the front?

• Stop mentioning preve n korean car in every car post please. Kind of sickening ….

• sleepwalkerz on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Why do i think that the korean’s interior is much better than the japs?

• DriverLM on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:56 pm

korean cars handle badly. they tend to look good outside, but terrible when it comes to handling. Even preve’s road-going quality is much better than the popular forte.

• @DriverLM: Don’t really agree with you. I’ve test driven the Forte and also some Jap cars (Sedans like Civic, Vios, Altis), I would say both or them doesn’t have much diff or would I say the handling is on par with the Japs. Japs handling is just decent only. If you are talking about cars that handles well…COntinental Cars would be the choice and obviously Preve handles well due to Proton owns Lotus so yea, Lotus Handling. No one would actually deny that Proton cars has good handling

• Ponorogo on Jul 12, 2012 at 7:18 pm

This front end design derived from accord euro cl7. ..i believed this cl7 is launched looooong ago from preve and forte…

• whoa so many thumbs down for you ha ha ha

• Airbeg on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:41 pm

This civic was first launched way back b4 preve was launched and it carries the DNA from the 8th gen civic which was launched b4 forte… You know what I mean

• should i say the this car looks like the previous civic which was launched in 2006 few years even before preve and forte existed?

• sleepwalkerz on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:18 pm

agree!! the front light looks like preve and the buttock looks like mercedes c200

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Because Forte copy City in the first place, understand Kimchee Brain.

• YOU ARE RIGHT, SAME FEELING. HONDA PREVE?

• TokGajahFArM on Jul 12, 2012 at 7:50 pm

Low class car!

• you forgotten last time everyone was saying forte copy civic and city?typical basher….

• BMW BEST on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Nice rims for the silver one…the exterior and interior need time to get used to in it…still think the rear lamp is abit same as the old camry lol.

• Imran on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Any body out there dare to say this honda was a copy from preve?

• no

• Honda had this concept since 2005.
      http://goo.gl/b4YLT

• i dare to say..
      preve butt looks better..

and of course..interior quality..especially the dashboard.

• yea right. Then why don’t you launch an inspira with preve butt than preparing for lancer sportsback clone.

• i was comparing this new civic butt with preve..
        see although preve’s butt is not so nice..
        this is worse..why came out with inspira lancer crap amoi?

typical japan blind fans..
        watch a lot of hentai heh?

• besmi on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:59 pm

sorry to say preve and forte designs win over civic, koreans and malaysians prove they are better in design this time

• AHMAD on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:54 pm

FRIEND, YOU THINK WHO YOU ARE?

• Michael on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:39 pm

I love New Civic. Going to book later. ^^

• It has same engine as 8th civic, but 10k interval is not apply to 8th civic, should said 9th civic engine slightly improve engine from 8th civic…

• Steve on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:12 pm

All modern engines can last and don’t need to be serviced so regularly at every 5000km like Honda forces its customers to. It’s just to rake in more money but this greediness causes damage to the environment. Why can engine oil so frequently when it’s still useable?

• b sensible on Jul 12, 2012 at 9:04 pm

agree with you guys engine shd be make to last longer and work harder esp ours roads hv loopholes, twisting, uphill…besides engines alike human body no need frequent maintenance just like you don’t easily fall sick and need a doctor as you exercise occasionally…

• suku sakat kerabat johor on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:22 am

Nah. It won’t happen dude. Capitalism is at its best now. If the engine can last longer, how to make extra money? For those out there who approve capitalism, remember this, u suck on people blood, ur blood also being sucked as well. So, stop whining.

• because oil filters can only last 5-7K ??

• johnny on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:41 pm

hmmm i guess giving us the warranty was the only way to create demand..looks like honda is kinda desperate…but gosh that center console is one hideous looking thing..

• meteorx on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:44 pm

look preveirsh to me

• http://goo.gl/b4YLT

• turnb on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:44 pm

preve has better back design like conti, one side grill front opening is to let air going in since it’s turbocharged, it’s functional, not just for cosmetic purpose

• Side curtain air bag?

• comarde on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:44 pm

I kinda dig the new civic looks… ain’t this new civic already best seller in US??

• Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:58 am

That’s why….. The Joes banging the us civic but it still a best seller there… Don’t you smell something fishy… (toyol’s,ta guys behind this huhuhuhuhu)

• suku sakat kerabat johor on Jul 16, 2012 at 7:37 pm

*sniff. Yes. I do smell something. I smell fanboys. Do you have any idea how to get rid of it?

• the car looks nice here compared to other photos seen so far. why the top range is DVD capable when the screen is too slanted towards the driver?
    i think the previous gen still looks next-gen compared to this version.

• Extrimist on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:46 pm

For Civic Hybrid, it comes not only with 5 year warranty, but 10k KM interval. Good news.

Preventive Maintenance Rates and Costs for the Civic Hybrid (km or months, whichever comes first):-

1,000km or 1 month: RM24.80
    10,000km or 6 months: RM278.49
    20,000km or 12 months: RM422.03
    30,000km or 18 months: RM436.30
    40,000km or 24 months: RM617.96
    50,000km or 30 months: RM278.49
    60,000km or 36 months: RM579.84
    70,000km or 42 months: RM278.49
    80,000km or 48 months: RM1,245.99
    90,000km or 54 months: RM436.30
    100,000km or 60 months: RM1,796.63

Total: RM6395.32

Average maintenance cost (in 5 years): RM1280 per year.

Is this considered cheap or costly? I don’t know since I never bought a new car in my life. Any advise?

• johnny on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:12 pm

i think we also need to find out how much it cost to replace those batteries just in-case..

• zarim on Jul 14, 2012 at 7:28 am

last time I asked, it was around rm5k – 7k just for the battery.

• carazy on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:31 pm

form my current car, Persona, its look a bit expensive.. but if u willing to pay more, why not.. car is liability, better save some money to buy home instead of fancy cars:)

• Cosmo Artemis on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:21 am

Not really…when you go back to your hometown during raya, a good car is a must. Many of Malaysian will judge how well you are doing in your life by just looking at what car you drive.

• now that is a stupid way to live, no?
          ok if you can afford a new car at raya but let’s not live “papa asal bergaya” that will be the jahanam of most who do that.

• Mikail on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:21 am

It’s not a must..this just reflects a shallow and superficial mindset.But it’s yr cash(or perceived as much of it is generally loaned)and one is free to spend it as one likes.

• Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Sory to say carazy… i have 2 fancy house but nill fancy cars…. i drive a kelisa and my wife a getz.. mmmmm…admiring cars with those safety gadgets like Electronic Stability Programs…without Korean tag…

• sounds like a good way to go, but you must understand, it is very hard to resist all this marketing pressure.
          not just cars but handphones, Tvs, heck even houses! LOL.
          i myself drive a myvi and the wife a livina, a fleet(if i can call it that) that serves our needs as a young family of 4. though sometimes i wish more lowdown torque in my ride. focus tdci would be good! alas it going to be replaced! so sad!

• suku sakat kerabat johor on Jul 16, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Guys. No need to be too choosy. Work hard, save money, get a Lambo. Everyone is happy.

• YeapyEvo on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Add on the Li Battery replacement and labour charges after warranty expires.

Rear drum brake for Civic Hybrid, seriously?

• where did you get this ?

• Extrimist on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:22 pm

You can check it at Honda website. Go to Civic Hybrid (or any model you want to check)> Accessories > Maintenance.

• Vader on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:05 pm

If compare to previous civic, total maintenance cost for 5 year (5k km interval)is RM6660.30, then is comparable.

• PPKia on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Maintenance per year is cheaper than the 3K insurance (without NCD)

Wait till you bang the car against a lamp-post or the back of a lorry, then the real cost comes in.

• Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:12 pm

What types of car that cost ciput when you bang a lorry’s backside????? Hello friend… better buy a bicycle…

• Darren on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Are you Honda salesman?

• I don’t know how your cashflow is. If you are concerned about outflowing cash to maintain the car, then maybe you should consider something else.

Buying a new or old car doesn’t make a difference in the cost of maintenance, if the old car is well taken care off.

Both cases still pose the same question. Can you afford to pay in full the cost for every maintenance service, especially above RM 1K+ ?

Welcome to the real cost of car ownership, besides paying loan instalment, insurance, road tax, petrol, toll & parking charges.

• sonyman on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:47 pm

volvo s40 total sum up 100,000km is about RM7500.00,

so it is not much cheaper for honda. Only a little cheaper.

• 2010 Honda City Preventive M’tnance cost is around RM1200 (average 5 yrs/100K) 5000k interval. So where is the saving? Im sure the New facelifted City average cost is around that figure as well. Weather it’s 5000K or 10000K service interval, the cost of maintenance is basicly the same.

• bnhmr on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:44 am

of course no saving, honda just want your money till you drop, you pay a lot but you get only plasticky dashboard, my oh my. would rather get preve or pug 408

• Model look hot…

• Mikail on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:31 am

haha 308..that’s known as ‘association’..honda wants the Civic to be on yr mind when you think abt the “model”..both nice to look at but high maintainance dude!

• Does Honda still have stocks of the previous generation Civic? I think that is the better car.

What’s the big deal with 10k km intervals? Many cars are already on 10k km (if not more) intervals.

The centre console looks cheap and if Honda’s cost-cutting can extend to such a prominent part of the car, I don’t want to think what they’ve taken out in the unseen parts of the car. Overseas reviews have commented on the higher levels of NVH. I will need to test drive one to see if this is the case.

Why the mismatched colours on the dashboard? :(

• SashiRao on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:54 pm

I wana trade in My 1.8 Civic FD, so much problem , every 3mnt sure got sumting …Brek Pad, Steering hose/PUMP/oil.. Mounting/ Absober …
    Since its 5yrs Warranty , no more worries.. use 5 years kaw kaw, sell again

• nobody on Jul 16, 2012 at 7:31 pm

sashi bro..all u mention Brek Pad, Steering hose/PUMP/oil.. Mounting/ Absober ” all this item doesnt come with warranty le

• Julian Lee on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:56 pm

This car is sucks! The front copy Proton Preeve and the backside copy Toyota Camry. Buy BMW better they is originals only

• verba on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:49 pm

X6 is like gen2, bmw also copied others

• Mario Gomez on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Bro,don’t compare X6 with the rubbish gen2.

• BMW BEST on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:51 pm

So Audi A7 also looks like Gen-2,are you dare to go out and yell AUDI IS COPYING PROTON !!!!!
        Can you?

• verba on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:10 pm

i dun care, gen2 came out first lol

• BMW BEST on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Oh maybe you haven’t seen BMW 318ti,after you see that you will know who came out first.

• verba on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:54 pm

@BMW BEST
        BMW 318ti is nothing like gen2, different one and ugly

• BMW BEST on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:30 am

I know both of them are different car but both of them look nearly same from the side : long front and short rear.So can I assume that Gen-2 is copying BMW?

• verba on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:33 pm

wash your eyes
        gen2 far more beautiful than oldies 318ti

• I like KFC on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:13 pm

@Verba,

Please dun compare a BMW when you cannot even afford its 4 set of wheel. Gen-2 is a rubbish car that deserve to be scrapped.

• MrDDR on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:29 pm

Everybody know X6 copied Gen-2 even though Gen 2 is a rubbish car.
        =X6 copied Gen2
        =X6 copied rubbish car
        =X6 rubbish car
        =hahahha

• BMW BEST on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:13 am

Yeah yeah whatever,since you so defending Gen-2 so I’m not going to keep argue with you.So go stick with your Gen-2,and I will keep supporting BMW X6.That’s it.

• Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:21 pm

mind your tongue Mario….the gen2 is which brighten your house back yard

• are you afford to buy a car even Datsun or only just able to criticize?

• suku sakat kerabat johor on Jul 16, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Can’t agree more with u bro. I always wondering why do overseas car always copying Malaysian car design. Anyone got answers?

• melvin on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:56 pm

8th gen 1 is looks more sporty…. This 1 kinda looks like mature abit… Anyway, mybe have a body kit makes it looks more hotter… Haha…. Let see..

• SashiRao on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:57 pm

and since its an improved 8th Gen, i assume problem has been fixed. But sadly Expected Hybrid to be around RM109K … saves oil ( Long run D best car availabe worry FREE. No much money spent on OIL and Maitainance.

• Bimmer on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Yeah, 5k service interval really saves a lot of OIL compared to 10k service interval… Dunno how the hybrid can save OIL, maybe can save FUEL.

• SashiRao on Jul 13, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Yeah, im eyeing HYbrid but how much diff does it make, is it WORTH ??? Please advice ! compared to Jazz,Insight ill take civic

• Datuk Jack. on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:58 pm

the metal color is awesome.. but side view is more like a city with difference back view…

front view is city plus old civic..

back view like niggers butt..

the dashboard look so fugly… donno whose’s the designer could be some one from mars.. really damm fucuk weird.. is not futuristic is weird..

the price is really “honda”, no comment on that..

5years warranty, than how much total damage for owner pocket for service charge n parts?

10% dp with 2.5 interest u still paying:

1,183 permonth for 9 years (1.8)

1,398 permonth for 9 years (2.0)fullspec..

if buy using company money, is okay.. using own money? better buy preve..

• lkhoe on Jul 12, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Exterior doesn’t look too shabby but headlight design looks too similar to the 8gen US sedan version and honda city, whereas the interior dashboard seems chunky and uneven. The two red buttons look akward side by side too.

• James on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Corolla Altis looks nicer.

• the design is kinda disappointing for me. Would prefer the previous gen (8th Gen) civic more.

• YEAH BABY!….NAVI cost RM5000 more and you get 6.1″ navigation touch screen! the world is going mad.

• jayve on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Modulo-ed model looks good also ..

• kwame on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Ugly car from front to rear. Lacks ideas and creativity. Warranty is good. Still, similar to Toyota, blood-suckingly overpriced for a car that looks like a baboon.

• kwame on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Ugly car from front to rear. Lacks ideas and creativity. Warranty is good. Still, similar to Toyota, blood-su_kingly overpriced for a car that looks like a baboon.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Kwame look like a baboon maybe, Civic look great.

• Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Haiyooooo…kwame and lion… “apish” car enthusiasm… i like…

• Megane on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:19 pm

“What is grabbing the headlines is not the engine or the tech that comes with the car. It is the service interval and warranty.
    Service interval have been extended to 10,000 km. Honda says that the car and engine is durable enough to have a longer service interval”

HAhahaha …i laughed my head off reading this statement , seriously HOnda Malaysia , Who are you trying to con with this statement ?

• Honda Supporter on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:32 pm

non of your business, as long as the car is very much better than those rubbish dugong car.

• dgklu on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:20 pm

lol only a bit prettier than dugong, that means still ugly, yuck!

• James on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:30 am

nah corolla altis looks sleeker and classier, this looks like the designers lost their passion for designing. and i do agree the 8th gen civic still looks the best.

• carnoisseur on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:19 pm

I drove it just now ,2.0 engine is quite responsive and torquey upfront but the grey plastic dashboard puts me off .Do something about it Honda .

• Derrick C on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Hmmm… it looks slightly better than what I expected… not bad.

• xavier lert on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:25 pm

center console = “WAJAR”

• John Lim on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:27 pm

All variants come with VSA, Toyota, please learn!

• jialat on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:18 pm

you don’t need VSA in toyota cars because it’s superb handling, when when you get turtled it can go jump and flip back to centre position

• knowl on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:50 pm

sarcasm at its best!

• Toyota good in handling?!? r u dreaming…

• Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:35 pm

Hahahahahahahahahahaha…. at first i read your comment… i just don’t agree what you are saying but when i read it twice.. it makes me lough till my stomach hurt… keep it coming jialat..

• hahaha what a joke of combination from City head + Accord tail. Ugly than our proud national car Preve. feature wise…. haizzz.. totally lose to getting more and more popular car Forte

• shhhhhh later on many bashers will get butthurt, they can’t stand it if someone praises preve

• badass on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:28 pm

says Japs really making fool of Malaysian with this price…F U Honda!
    Just like Jib Gor making fool of Malaysian

• carazy on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:36 pm

what happen to honda’s interior designer? are they dead??

• pelangi on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:36 pm

I prefer the previous design which seems nicer. Need to survey first. I’m considering between civic,golf tsi n new focus. Need to see n test drive the car.

• tourist on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:38 pm

10,000 service interval is big news? How about severe driving? Also 10,000-km?

Proton’s CFE engine is already 10,000-km service interval but 5,000-km for severe driving.

• Model gals look better thn the car. Design sucks…

• Honda Supporter on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:58 pm

i strongly believe u r blind. ppl will only stare on the car, nobody will look at those model. unless those model is standing beside other car, then nobody will look at those car.

• if the car is built in the 90’s, yes, it looks stunning..

but in 2012, it is just bad taste.. the models looks better… :D

• bryan on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:53 pm

5 years unlimited milleage warranty ? this is indeed a good start from japanese car maker.

hope toyota will follow as well.

• suku sakat kerabat johor on Jul 16, 2012 at 7:50 pm

Actually not toyota. UMW make them look bad.

• Anyone who actually follows automotive news would have expected this way back in 2011. http://goo.gl/4u5UM

Anyone else who thinks any car looks ugly, please draw/design and educate us on how your definition of any awesome looking car should be. I bet you cant even draw a proper circle.

• dsner on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:18 pm

look carefully, some parts are ugly designed, especially at backside

• hek elee.. lepak aa bro. baru kutuk design skit dah cabar buat design sendiri. lek aa bro. kalau macam tu mampus la semua org tak leh complain. complain nap suck, kena buat nap sendiri. complain politician corrupt, kena jadi politician sendiri. complain astro mahal, kena buat astro sendiri. complain air asia delay, kena bawak kapal terbang sendiri. giler aa bro.

• Maserati on Jul 12, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Superb car. Just test drove it. Feels generations ahead of any korean junk out there!

• dengan ini aku ingin bagi warning pada sime darby dan hyundai malaysia. kalau korang tak dapat deliver elantra 1.8 color putih aku sebelum raya, aku akan cancel booking dan order civic. esok aku nak gi letak booking kat civic. aku bagi sa (glenmarie) aku sampai next senin week utk confirm elantra aku boleh dapat cepat, kalau tak, aku proceed civic. dah 2 bulan lebih tunggu tapi janji semua hampeh!

• pegi jela booking civic tu, kau ingat kau sorang je yang mampu beli kereta 120k? ada berlambak customer lain yang bole beli. takat bayar rm500 sebulan baik kau pakai kancil buruk je

• Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:42 pm

you should cancel jer bro…. nowadays.. “janji ditepati”… when it comes to hariraya takut you gigit jari…

• mad aly on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:48 am

100% HONDA SA!! hahaha… pity!!

• athlon on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:02 pm

guys, need your advise…

accord 2.0l is about RM138k and civic 2.0l navi at RM136k…

which one will you go if you’re me?

i need a family car for weekend outings only…

for me, it looks like kinda silly getting the civic navi whereby i can get the accord at similar price range…

maintenance interval and warranty not a point for me to consider, so the extra from civic to me is ok.

pls help bros…

• Buy the Accord la, or for the replacement Accord end of the year. Bigger car and better presence.

• dung Zong on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:28 pm

I have both and I tell you its better to get the Accord. It’s much more comfortable and it’s not that slow either.NVH is better in the Accord. But if you are young or young at heart then probably the Civic is for you

• Extrimist on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:40 pm

It depends on your priority. If your priority is SAFETY, better get Civic since it’s come with stability control (VSA). Accord 2.0 doesn’t come with VSA.

I hope you will satisfy with the car you buy.

• u might cry when the new accord launch here..if the price is about the same..

• Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Are you sure? I don’t think that honda will be stupid enough to tag honda accord price similar to civic…Are they????

• athlon on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:49 am

just went to showroom and kinda lots of ppl surprisingly… the actual unit turned me off seriously… it’s still an OK car but not for the price of RM136k, even worst for the 1.8l…

• Expensive Jap on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:06 pm

137K for the full spec 9th gen civic is a ripoff considering it’s a SOHC engine, and aftermarket touchscreen navi audio system are way cheaper than 6K. The only good thing about this new car is the 10K km service intervals and 5 yr unlimited mileage. Everything else is just add on cosmetics i.e. push start, electric seats, auto leveling headlights. I’d highly recommend the 8th gen if any dealer still has stock or a second hand one at around 85-90K now.

• Zacko on Jul 12, 2012 at 7:58 pm

I do agree… 8th gen FD looks better than this one.. since that im gonna buy the FD version soon.. :)

• JacobKing on Jul 14, 2012 at 8:57 pm

What is the problem with SOHC? Can you explain? If not, dont make silly comment you Toyota sales man

• Nice car, shame about the price.
    better wait for next year major facelift.
    Buy one year already look old….
    Why is Hybrid price so high if tax free???

• matlimmutu on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:16 pm

the 8th gen still the best civic design of all time :)

• plteu on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:22 pm

gosh what happened to honda designers? are they trying to copy ugly altis?

• Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Don’t you hear the rumors…they are migrating to proton and hyundai or maybe kia

• civiclise on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:29 pm

all this while they have fooled us with 5K service interval..why VW can give u 15K sevice interval..are they used super advance material for the engine..

• Melayu on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Bro mercedes give 25k service interval…. lagi lama… lagi jahanam kereta… lagi bagusssss…. i think i heard the mechanic said in lough and tyranny..in my sleep huhuhuhuhu…

• tiger760li on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:31 pm

lets talk abt engine which is SOHC and not DOHC,10k service intervals which was long due from HONDA MALAYSIA,this happened bez they introduce Latest technology SOHC engine,
    secondly VSC is standard which i believe is really good move from Honda
    thirdly 5 years warranty with unlimited mileage is really good move,
    design is good bez handling of this civic on the road is awesome and proven.

• 1000horses on Jul 12, 2012 at 8:55 pm

Handling is good n proven??? U meant gen8 or this new fb? Not sure abt fb, but fd is definitely crappy handling..sold mine after 10mths….eg n ek way better handling…gen8 is like jelly chassis compared to previous gens..dun tink fb wud b overly better as Honda has to design a car for the masses, so comfort is over handling…

• kartikel on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:34 pm

superb car!

• bnrtk on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:42 pm

wait till you touch its hard plastic dashboard

• Someone on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:02 pm

lots of car in that segment are about the same. plastic dashboard. Get a BMW or BENZ if you can afford it… no point complaining here..

• bmwer on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:33 am

no need to buy luxury brand, even ‘cheap’ preve has soft touch dashboard, why not honda?

• bmwer on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:36 am

oh nowadays honda has turn 180 degree to expensve but cheap lousy brand while proton is cheap but high specced brand, very funny indeed

• the design looks ugly and really different than previous model..i thought it will be more sporty than b4..

• chinoy on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:51 pm

for the 1.8 price chevrolet cruze is a better deal and for the 2.0 price,the kia optima is much much better deal.both have more specs and design to offer.this new honda civic is a letdown and the engine looks a mess

• shawal on Jul 12, 2012 at 6:52 pm

“Vehicle Stability Assist with Motion Adaptive EPS”
    this is the real highlight of the car…
    its a shame the standard radio is so frikkin ugly! wth were they thinking!?
    at least if it wuz a standard double-din, you can change the darn thing n wont look out of place…

• Expensive Jap on Jul 13, 2012 at 5:52 pm

8th gen FD 2.0S already has VSA and EPS. So it’s not really a highlight for the new FB. Maybe for the 1.8 model. And I’m pretty sure they are aftermarket panels you can change to fit 2-din player on it just like the FD.

• shawal on Jul 14, 2012 at 8:47 am

EPS is not new, but the motion adaptive EPS is new i think? where the car will brake either side of the wheel to keep the car stable at high speeds
        at least thats wut i read from their drive in thailand

• Sgt Scoop on Jul 12, 2012 at 7:04 pm

For the extra RM5k, you may as well take the CBU hybrid. Another big winner for Honda.

• carpathia on Jul 12, 2012 at 7:09 pm

Its priced quite close to the Peugeot 4 0 8 . I would buy the Peugeot .

• i told to somebody before in this site that the price for entry is below 120k.. he never believe and pretend like knw everything.. see! as expected, Honda salesman not cheat on me.. ppl always overestimate their knowledge, never listen to ppl.. sigh.. but of coz, the entry is really an entry standard, nothing special, so sad.

• carpathia on Jul 12, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Its priced quite close to the Peugeot 4 0 8 . I would buy the Peugeot

• Gseven on Jul 12, 2012 at 7:20 pm

for some reason it look like a proton preve, toyota camry and a honda city join together.

• Sharon on Jul 12, 2012 at 7:22 pm

The exterior looks ok. interior…errr… the dashboard looks like it’s melting….. out of shape

• encik boss on Jul 12, 2012 at 7:30 pm

I like the exterior design but HATE the price!

• mr.haha on Jul 12, 2012 at 7:39 pm

The only good things about this car is that pretty chick…

• Zacko on Jul 12, 2012 at 7:55 pm

This new civic has a lot of cost down compared to the old version of FD 8th gen which is the dashboard material is cheaper and number of parts been reduced. There’s no texture on the dash. Plus if you noticed the accel pedal is not floor mounted as the 8th gen civic. To me that looks more sportier and comfort to drive. Hinge at the rear trunk doesnt have cover which is the 8th got. Rear combi lights are not exactly 2 piece as the 8th one. They just add those 2nd piece slim lamp just bcoz of the regulation. In US only single piece. Basically nowadays in automotive industry, cost reduction is a common thing. But German cars are always improving bcoz they dont bother on cost to build a car as long it is quality and satisfied.

• Mamat on Jul 12, 2012 at 8:01 pm

ugly dashboard….i think honda should be improve design for dashboard…

• AbgTutor.com on Jul 12, 2012 at 8:18 pm

nice face

• No front sensor like the altis?

• Tok-kok on Jul 12, 2012 at 8:44 pm

How come the Hybrid so expensive? i tot no tax already????

• Extrimist on Jul 12, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Lets compare this new Civic 2.0 (FB) vs 8th gen Civic 2.0 (FB).

Engine Type: SOHC vs DOHC
    Engine Displacement: 1997cc vs 1998cc
    Max Power: 155 (114) @ 6,500 vs 155 (114) @ 6,500
    Max Torque: 190 (19.4) @ 4,300 vs 188 (19.2) @ 4,500
    Compression ratio: 10.6:1 vs 9.6:1
    Curb Weight: 1270kg vs 1315kg

Can anybody interpret the data and relate it to performance? Eventhough this new Civic using SOHC, how does it performs compared to previous DOHC in FD Civic? I still couldn’t get the real picture.

I hope somebody will share knowledge here. Thanks.

• mines on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:19 pm

sohc is an ancient type of engine tech, used by japs automotive companies like honda and toyota for their uncles and unties cars. the powertrain still sucks with ancient 4 and 5 auto gears.

it’s underpowered a lot, 2.0l with only 190nm torque? what a shame, even single turbocharged cfe 1.6l has 205nm

• tuned for fuel-saving and smoother revving.

• lysis on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:27 pm

then preve has been tuned for best of both worlds,
        cvt for fuel-saving and smooth revving
        while turbo power to smoke like boss

• Extrimist on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Looking at the data, the new Civic’s SOHC has slightly more torque, and at lower rpm, compared to FD’s DOHC.

What does this means? Maybe you can explain more. Thanks..

• 2cents on Jul 13, 2012 at 6:31 pm

@Extrimist

SOHC tends to have more lower end powers, and vice versa.

Correct me if im wrong.

• Hedge-Ass-Vee-Ten on Jul 15, 2012 at 1:29 am

Comparing an NA engine with a forced-inducted one? C’mon dude, don’t compare apple to durians. How about comparing the 1.6l CFE with Polo GTI’s 1.4l TSI with 250Nm of torque? Now, is the Polo overpowered or the CFE underpowered? Different engines, rite? And the term “power” is very subjective. Some can even say that evo/scoobie is underpowered just because he is used to the power of GTR35. In the end, its up to you. Go test it, feel that the power is adequate, buy it. If not, forget it.

• cfe is turbocharged 1.6 engine but equivalent to n/a 2.0l, that’s why it’s been compared to n/a 2.0l civic engine

1.4 tsi is twincharged turbo engine, no wonder has more torque than 1.6 cfe singlecharged turbo

• using SOHC is good during lower engine speed as the power only use to spin the single crankshaft.. in DOHC, more power is required for 2 crankshaft thus sacrificing some power to the transmission.. However, DOHC is more efficient at higher engine speed with more valves which is smaller and the speed of open n closing of the valves is faster as the valve is smaller n lighter.. SOHC has lesser valves and each valves is bigger in size..

SOHC engine is less complex.. and i guess not often we rev our engine more than 4000 or 5000 rpm.. most of driving requires less than 4000 or 3000 rpm..

• Extrimist on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:13 am

Thanks for your explanation.

However, I think I need to clarify something. SOHC and DOHC doesn’t means the valves numbers. FYI, 8th gen Civic FD both offer 16 valves eventhough 1.8cc is SOHC and 2.0 variant is DOHC.

SOHC: uses one camshaft for all the valves in the engine on both the intake and exhaust.

DOHC: use one camshaft on the intake valves and one camshaft on the exhaust valves.

My concern regarding this new 2 liter Civic is that while the engine has changed to SOHC from DOHC, the data shows that maximum torque is higher and can be achieved with faster rpm, compared to FD’s DOHC. So I can’t imagine why they said FD engine is better than this new FB…

• Actually if you see real car then will be different, nicer. Try go showroom and see.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 12, 2012 at 9:08 pm

Design is a letdown because it looks less “ah beng” that 8th-gen Civic, so expect early facelift. Despite that, there are still good things about this Civic FB:-

1.) Honda has finally put a push-start button due to major threat from Korean carmakers, and even our own Proton Preve.
    2.) 10,000 km service interval for the first time ever by Honda Malaysia, as a result of complaints by Honda owners saying that the present 5,000 service interval is too short. In addition, they also offer 6 free services (first 3 services are free plus 3 additional free services during 30,000 km, 50,000 km and 70,000 km). At least this should relieve the pockets of the Civic FD owners, as servicing in Honda service centre is expensive.
    3.) 5-year warranty, unlimited mileage (to challenge the 5-year warranty by Proton)

Whether we like it or not, we have to admit that Civic FD still definitely sells, because it is a Civic anyway. The amount of sales in the US is the proof. It seems like Canadians design cars better than Americans (FYI, our Civic FD is actually designed by Acura Canada, so it is sold in the US and Canada as Acura CSX).

• free services doesn’t mean free spare parts, still have to pay high prices for them, engine oil, gasket, spark plugs etc

• kelvin on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:13 pm

They have calculated, you pay more for the all the extra.

• suka suka on Jul 12, 2012 at 9:17 pm

very low quality
    another cheap knock down; knocking malaysian door :)

• Insight42 on Jul 12, 2012 at 9:30 pm

whichever is more fuel-efficient civic hybrid or insight..

• This time civic look “Lost” and the price suck. I think Honda Malaysia see us stupid by increasing price and some more quality drop compare to Korean car. Honda…..bye bye….forever.

• skiborne on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:09 pm

same ol’ gearbox. seriously there’s no other car at this level or lower with 5 speeders, except for lagi power lagi best

• squall_shinoda on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:05 pm

Then we should ask for CVT instead. It is pointless to ask Honda to build 6-speeders when they already got 7-speed CVT.

• SGBLM on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:25 pm

The model chicks look better than the car …

• 130k, yet no automoatic headlights and rain sensing auto wipers.

No DRL’s too..

• HONDA will always be HONDA way better than korean cars and people are going to buy this car no matter what you all say :)…

• Honda Power on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:34 pm

If you cannot afford to buy new Honda Civic, please stop your mindless bashing. I bet 98% of you Honda bashers are only driving the 2 Ps. Pffffth!

• It’s not about Honda bashers. Honda just don’t built anymore impressive cars that people want to buy. Those who want to buy honda just probably in love with the brand. It’s better to buy a better car. No improvement in terms of technology from previous gen. What’s the use of buying it just because it has a new face. Forget it.

• sorry i cannot see paddle shifters in the pics
      anyone can enlighten me?

• kelvin on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Has been waiting for the new KIA. Their design is interesting, quality dunno.

• This blog is flood with Korean Junk car salesman, just imagine, so many bad comments but everytime they are selling way way way better than Korean Junk, this prove that most bashers are actually a Korean Junk car salesman.
      For example, they talk so bad about the new camry, now I already see so many on road.

• mad aly on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:58 am

come on la bro… dont get emo.. its a free world.. everybody have rights to condemn and u have ur right to defend or protect ur beloved Honda.. kan3?

• alpha999 on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:36 am

ur so right….typical malaysian mentality, when they cannot afford something, they crap and bash to feel good that they cannot afford it……

• Do not assume that others are in the category of lower income. To tell you the truth, I really admired honda since my schooling time…and my first honda is civic 8th gen..I bought in 2008. But now sorry, I have bad experience, only 4 years on the road, a lot of problems have I faced.. last two months.. got bearing problem, one from front tyre and one form back tyre. Then 2 weeks after that another tyre got bearing problem.. then steering hose.. and the recent one, heard sound ‘tuk-tuk’, sent twice for checking at honda and they confirmed that was engine mounting problem.. i search the internet.. not only me got that kind of problem.. others faced the same problem as well..
      Do not ever think that we cannot afford to do maintenance, in fact i choose to use fully synthetic engine oil.. i got money, my income 10k per month, my wife 6k.. total 16k. We bashed honda not because we cannot afford, but just simply because the quality and reliability issue.
      That is why…very soon.. no more honda.. but VW instead.

• Medic on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:17 am

Join me bro,used Civic 2.0 ivtec for 6 years,then one day test drive a Golf.Quality iside is superb,DSG paddle shift,torque 240nm at just 1600rpm,ride &handling superb.Consumes less fuel than my wife’s Myvi 1.3l..good joke.

The FC is inspite of whacking the car now
        &then,manual shift &S mode.Really amusing when i see those Civic,Altis,Forte trying to catch up,when i zoom past them.

To those who have that cash,just go &test drive a conti car…the young,the old,even the kids are hooked.

• Mimpi Siang Hari on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:27 am

Honda Power: Sorri la bro…lu datang rumah gua..tengok apa kereta-kereta gua pakai…sebijik gua punya kereta boleh beli lu punya 4 honda civic…itu belum kira lain kereta lagi. Gua pun ada pakai lu punya All New Jazz (problem disc break, angin masuk, dengan Vios pun makan asap) bla bla)..jangan ingat orang sini main komplen sedap hati sebab tak mampu beli lu punya brand..ramai kat sini even Maserati pun dia mampu. Open your mind la..critical Honda mentality..damn u! Mau gua punya contact no ka? Boleh set appointment tunjuk kebenaran???

• jackSEPANG on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:52 pm

lu mana datang bro? nak tunjuk sombong g masuk forum maserati la .. orang kaya tak cakap besar beli 4 bijik civic boleh dapat kereta lu.

ape punye mentaliti

• B18CR(twin-charged) on Dec 19, 2012 at 4:30 am

Agreed!!!not impressing much ha new FB?dont wory la..always got kedai “abang2” to mod to ur own lusty design ayte?everywhere got “JUNCTION PRODUCE” softness touch of vip style ‘kain alas’..or change to mugenR bodykit..hehe…

Bolt on maaa klu nk lagi power lagi best-duit-mengalir…eps vsa tcs etc wut else?selalu guna kaa?selalu practice kaa?ingat dia senang2 nak tolong kau tak berpusing kaa?penah tengok fd spun 100km/h atas hi way kn..

Just becareful la..learn from experience..or other peoples experience..kereta baru tapi kalau malas nak study owners manual pun leh jahanam keesokannya..

semuanya wear n tear dekat kereta ni..bukannye kereta bergerak tapi cabut seat,fender,hood and radio tinggal dekat rumah sebab takut rosak..mana boleh kan?semua bergerak sekali jugaaaa..

Jagalah kereta anda..ingatlah orang tersayang..
        Lagi power lagi best-duit-bazir..

• MAZpengDA on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Toyota should learn from honda like offer 5 year warranty w/unlimited millage, we shame to u toyota.

• Finally, a new model with ESP standard across all variants. I hope sincerely that this will be followed by others.

PaulTan, please do a DRIVEN article on this latest model, as I am very eager to know whether the claims made by US consumers rights group that it is worse than previous gen in terms of handling, NVH, and especially the loud noise emitted in the Hybrid version when the engines starts up after idle stop.

• Anon Kneemas on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Speaking of the USDM 9th gen, it’s definitely a step back. Firstly, interior quality has noticeably gone down (failed my fingernail and touch test). Second, the 8th gen feels livelier, the new one feels more aloof (possibly because of the EPS’s new gearing and other settings. Thirdly, the competition has gotten more sophisticated and exciting in their powertrain offerings. And lastly and more subjectively, the styling looks outdated and awkward even in the higher EX and SI trim (hybrid looks like an 80s model Japanese car. I was a prospective buyer but moved passed this car for another.

• jimbo on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:14 pm

for sure it’s superb handling and NVH, even better than contis, because the test drive unit is overly modified. just wait till you get the real one, it sucks, to the max, lol

• Anon Kneemas on Jul 12, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Why is everyone applauding the 10km service interval? What enthusiast owner will wait until 10k km for their first oil change and after? Problems only arise beyond the warranty period and by that time the Honda stealership would be happy to sell you a new civic then.

• kelvin on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:06 pm

You pay extra for the 5 years warranty. Sad. the price, so sad.

• lausr on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:07 pm

hurmmm….civic or peugeot 4 0 8 ???????
    helps me

• chaos on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:24 am

Based on power and space – definitely the 408 Turbo

• encik boss on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:07 am

Pug 408 cheaper (around RM126k). even tough Pug 408 service is high, but at the end, the price will be almost the same with civic.
      But 408 is better in term of performance, quality and handling.

• hehehaha on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:48 pm

same situation as you. but think back the 2nd hand value. I will go for Civic

• mazxt on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:10 pm

10k service intervals is nothing to shout about, what the heck, put full synth oil and walla, change it every 10k km. so what is so good with honda actually? only brand?

• 080808 on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Serious interior design mis-match at the radio/Navi panel & the overall front dashboard. Something just not right there. Somehow IMO 8th-gen is still a better looking car as overall. Honda Malaysia should bring in better spec car to us if they want to continue to be competitive.

Hope other Japs car maker like Madza, can produce something better….waiting for the new Mazda6!

• when waja was introduces , ppl complain about center dash facing driver….if its a genuine problem , i guess ppl will complain here also…

• terry on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:42 pm

no problem, later ahbeng and brother’s shops will sell aftermarket aircond vents that can put the blow to the right way, specially made for this crap civic

• squall_shinoda on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Kia Optima K5 centre dashboard also faces the driver, anyone want to complain about that? In terms of instrumentation theory, that kind of dashboard is intended to make the controls more accessable to the driver.

• not complain optima dashboard because it can smoke fugly civic anytme anyday

• bmpower on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:24 pm

140ps? 150ps?

not the Power of dream anymore.
    honda killing it’s own fan.

sad. the real vtec now kicked out now…

• Civic Lover on Jul 12, 2012 at 11:33 pm

PROTON PREVE??? Honda failed to create a new better design for Civic.. I still choose my 8th gen civic is better than this.. so sad on this design..

• Is 8th gen engine & 9th gen the same? i refer to 1.8L’

If it is the same why services interval is different?

If not the same, what is the differences?

Anyone can answer?

• i believe it’s just marketing gimmick by honda

• polo saga on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:00 am

nobody.

• Extrimist on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:36 am

Is it 1.8S? You can get the data in their brochures.

9th-gen FB Civic:

Displacement: 1798 cc
      Compression ratio: 10.6:1
      Max Power: 141 (104) @ 6,500
      Max Torque: 174 (17.7) @ 4,300

8th-gen FD Civic:

Displacement: 1799 cc
      Compression ratio: 10.5:1
      Max Power: 140 (103) @ 6,300
      Max Torque: 174 (17.7) @ 4,300

• squall_shinoda on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Because everybody is complaining about the short 5,000 km service interval, which is actually intended for severe maintenance schedule. In the user’s manual, the normal service interval is actually 10,000 km, not 5,000 km. Plus the service cost in expensive. No wonder why most Honda owners prefer servicing their cars at cap ayam workshops when then can offer much cheaper service cost yet still using ori parts.

• Toyota and Honda is Rubbish…Mazda is a better Japanese car

• poler on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:13 am

mazda parts aer very expensive, wait till months to arrive, i dun want to ride bike when i have 150k car. it’s a big No No

• bmpower on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Couldn’t agree more.

The good japanese car manufacturer left now only 2.
        – Mazda!
        – Nissan (but nissan car always fugly look – except r35 heh)

honda out.
        toyota out.

• Extrimist on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:52 am

Somebody prefer DRIVING JOY, over SAFETY.
      And somebody prefer SAFETY, over DRIVING JOY.

Segment C car:

Honda Civic Hybrid 1.8S: RM115K (with stability control)
      Toyota Altis 1.8G: RM123K (with stability control)
      Nissan Sylphy Comfort: RM115K (WITHOUT stability control)
      Mazda 3 2.0 Sedan: RM125K (WITHOUT stability control)

• mad aly on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:14 am

please add..

A C-segment sized car with a B-segment price..

Proton Preve 1.6 CFE : RM73k(with Electronic Stability Control + 4 airbags )

the safest with 5 Start NCAP Australia and with LOTUS Ride.. so u get safety + Driving Joy on this car… so why does not compare it together ?? simple, coz its PROTON… and PROTON has no chance to stands beside those Japs marque that u mention (typical Malaysian Mentality)..

• Extrimist on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:48 pm

I respond to Mr “arwc”. He did compared Mazda with Honda and Toyota. He didn’t mentioned Proton.

Well, he did’t mention Nissan either. But since he compared those Japanese carmakers, why don’t I include Nissan too since Nissan is kedekut carmaker (do you know Nissan only offer stability control starting from RM173 Teana?)

I have no offence with Proton. I am more happy if Proton install ESC to Exora, since the cheapest MPV with stability control in Malaysia is only starting from RM143K (Citroen C4 Picasso). That will be a boost for Proton.

Don’t get mad, aly… :) Cheers

• kelvin on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:44 pm

@mad aly If we are not getting expensive car because of Proton, maybe we might be talking how good Preve is.

It is the enviroment that makes how we Malaysia think. So what make us a typical Malaysian Mentality.

• I noticed one thing. That cool looking twin exhaust tip from the FD is now gone. Even the Modulo kit does not feature any exhaust tip at all…

• civic does not need those twin exhaust tips. it’s only sohc now, not dohc like before. now it’s underpowered a lot, not powerful but not petrol friendly too. so one word to describe all. CRAP.

• Extrimist on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:20 am

Max torque is higher and achieved with faster RPM, compared to FD. Can you explain why you said that now it’s underpowered?

Max Torque for new FB: 190 (19.4) @ 4,300
        Max Torque for FD: 188 (19.2) @ 4,500

I just want to learn. Thanks.

• bumbl on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:58 pm

because honda cars specs are nice on paper only but in real, it’s underpowered cheap looking interior car

• tiong nam on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:17 am

sorry 4 being a noob, what does FB stand for?

• Car Driver on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:34 am

The Civic Hybrid is even more a ripoff. Drum brakes for the back and RM119K with no govt tax. H you think buyers so stupid..I dont think I will run now to the showroom to see the car.

• kelvin on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Because of political reason, you won’t be getting 60k Hybrid in Malaysia.

• Hedge-Ass-Vee-Ten on Jul 15, 2012 at 1:41 am

Totally agree. Not just Honda, i think any decent brand who declares that they want sell an imported hybrid for RM60k, their units will not ever reach our shores.

• hehehaha on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:10 pm

If im not wrong. the cost for building a hybrid car is not cheap.. according to one of the news (sorry forgot from where dy :). please dont always point the cost on Tax. others factors may applied. (If blaming on tax, then we should blame proton) because of proton, high tax applied. everyone knows it what happen. For those who complaint about expensive car and better go for proton… Sorry to tell, forever you will get expensive foreign brand car…

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:13 am

That question came up during the press conference and it was answered.

Yes, it is the same car but not the same. It was explained that Honda took feedback from the American press and customers. Honda says that they have applied much of the improvements to the Civics that were launched after USA’s, including the ones that you see here.

It would be interesting to see the differences between the Civics of two regions as proof. Till then, one cannot form an objective conclusion. If anyone had seen, feel and driven the US and Malaysian Civics, do let us know what you think. :)

• Chris, I don’t think so. US customer mainly complain about the interior cost cutting of the vehicle. I don’t see our Civic is getting an upgrade in the interior.

Probably the real upgrade will be the facelift version which soon to be happening in 2013.

• MrCounterstrike on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:24 am

What has happen to Honda’s design lately. I see the new Civic still looks the same as the outgoing model. The specs also still remains same. Better save the money and buying continental cars like BMW, Mercs, Audi n Volvo.

• Yeah, better dont waste $ on it. Go for a VW POLO GTI/GOLF GTI/Audi A4/BMW F30, you will get all your satisfaction

• albag on Jul 13, 2012 at 7:59 am

later if it looks different, then u guys say it’s fugly and the designers have become retarded… it retains the previous design coz the previous design was way to futuristic for modern era… “if it’s not broken, don’t fix it.”

• jhoon on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:53 pm

different doesn’t mean it’ll be fugly, please be more creative otherwise they don’t deserve to be entitled as designers

• better go for VW POLO GTI or a VW GOlf TSI with this price

• 9th gen Civic is NOT going to sell well for sure…i dont see the sincerity from Honda at all..
    Just look at the Ford Focus, how much effort n good things/features has been put in…
    Our eyes n mind should be kept opening for others car makers.. Ford/Mazda/Peugeot

• terry on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:16 am

Now!! Forte, Elantra, Sonata, Optima, Altis can you stand at the side please!!!

• Davincci on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:18 am

Quality of Engine and dashboard is definitely letting us down. Toyota and Honda are brothers nowadays, welcome to low quality club~ !

• stebenrudin on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:03 am

more (meh) rather than (excited)…..heheheh

• Hahaha a lot of Honda bashers here..but dont be surprised if sales of the civic defy your comments..

In terms of price aiyaa increase a bit also bising ke? compared to 8th gen FL price, for the new 1.8 price increase by RM1k only..where as for 2.0 increase by RM2k only..spread that over 7 years loan you wouldnt feel the difference. You’ll get 5 years warranty plus several new features to play with..

Design wise yeah i do agree 8th gen looks better..but i think Honda made a decision to make it less sporty and appeal to a wider mass..I dunno

PS: Im not a Honda salesman but I said the above because I dont complain on petty issues..

• No brainer, of course sales will be good.

Msian buy badges only, most won’t care if it’s a good value car. If you slap the Honda or Toyota badge on the Preve, it’ll sell well too!

• terry on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:22 am

Sorry Smart Alec, most Malaysian are smarter than you think.

• tokmoh on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:18 pm

@terry: NO.

Most bankruptcies are caused by car loan. Biar bankrupt, asalkan pakai Toyota/Honda, is it?

• terry on Jul 14, 2012 at 6:31 pm

@tokmoh
        You are Wrong!!
        The right word should be “asalkan pakai VW”.

• hehehaha on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:14 pm

price increase?? can anyone tell me how much is CIVIC sell in 1995? So, why still have many buy 8th generation since the price went up so much.. confused……..

• honda doesn’t offer better car with the price increase so is it worth buying?

the answer is NOPE

• Let's talk about facts on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:45 am

http://blogs.cars.com/kickingtires/2012/07/top-10-best-selling-cars-june-2012.html

see here, if Korean are so GOOD, they will be in here. :-)

Korean are only good in “outside look” like their girls, if not pretty then go for plastic surgery.

• shitoryuu on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:40 am

BTW, top best selling cars in Malaysia is Proton and Perodua. According to your logic, those two cars are really GOOD.

I wonder why Ferrari is not in the top best selling cars ranking (You know what I mean)

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Proton and Perodua top selling is because they are cheap, Ferrari is not top selling because it is expensive.
        Korean Junk is cheap but can not sell, T&H is more expensive but selling well, do you get it bodok?

• youbodok on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:42 pm

@mentari-o-korea
        any stats that can support your statement?

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 14, 2012 at 6:08 pm

@youbodok
        OMG, you need a stats to prove Proton and Perodua sell more car than Ferrari in Malaysia?
        And you need a stats that Camry is more expensive than Sonata and Camry sell more unit in Malayisa than Sonata?
        OMG !!!!

• youbodok on Jul 14, 2012 at 8:46 pm

no, stats that said Proton and Perodua top selling is because they are cheap, any?

• Dust Auto on Jul 15, 2012 at 1:43 pm

youbodok, not only youbodok but also no common sense? You need proof that P1,2s are best selling in msia? You buta kah?

• youbodok on Jul 15, 2012 at 4:19 pm

not about the sales number, but the stats that say it gets high selling number because it’s cheap

selling number charts i can get anywhere la, you yang buta, read carefully

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 15, 2012 at 10:02 pm

@youbodok
          If P1&2 sell at Ferrari price, do you think they can get high selling number?
          OMG you not only buta, but also really bodok.

• youbodok on Jul 16, 2012 at 1:34 am

mentari-o-korea
          you cannot mix those different segment, make the comparison between same segment but with different brands. if you mix it up, then it’s not unjust

who is buta and bodok now?

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 16, 2012 at 12:28 pm

@youbodok
          “who is buta and bodok now?”

Too bad, it is still you.

• youbodok on Jul 16, 2012 at 9:10 pm

mentari-o-korea
          i believ you deserve it because you can’t compare apple to apple

• power8003 on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:54 am

Personally, I also think the the Honda Civic Hybrid for 120k is definitely a rip off same goes to the CRZ auto Hybrid. All this car is over priced. If you compare the prices in US.

Hybrid civic: US 26,900
    civic sedan with navigation: US 23,605
    CRZ auto with navigation: US 23,705
    Insight with navigation : US 23,690

How can the price of the Hybrid and CRZ can be about the same price as sedan civic. The Hybrid and CRZ are suppose to be tax free and Civic Sedan which is CKD is subject to 50 – 100% tax. As you can see, Insight in US is about the same price as CRZ and Insight. But in the Malaysia, the price different by 20k….. I really do not understand the tax structure. I feel like Malaysian likes to be ripoff. I think the only to stop this is by boycotting buying the car.

• _xXx_ on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:38 am

r u paying income tax at US rate? R u buying fuel at US price?

• power8003 on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:05 pm

To be frank you, we are also paying quite high tax. I also rather pay higher fuel price then paying higher car price. By the way, are our pay comparable with US? If you want to compare, you need to compare apple to apple and orange to orange.

• Davincci on Jul 16, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Agree. Government just make fool of us by imposing so high taxation. Screw them

• kelvin on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:03 pm

We Malaysian is always ripoff by our government. I can’t see any reason why we are still suppporting the same old government for decades over and over again to support Proton and AP. Are we too scare to change?

• jackSEPANG on Jul 16, 2012 at 5:04 pm

your vote is secret, want to talk politic
        go politic forum la

• uncertain buyer on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:01 am

which would u guys choose btw altis n this civic?

• James on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:35 am

corolla altis 2.0v hands down. dual vvti + 7 speed cvt

even with navi its still cheaper.

• Mazda 3

• go for a test drive VW Golf/Polo/Sonata/Forte/Peugeot308 and you will have your answer

• shitoryuu on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:37 am

Why?
        Have you test drove?
        I am interested in VW Polo. How is the Polo feels like?

• Yeah, it’s nice. try visit VW showroom and request for a test drive. the salesman will serves you well. i dare not give you any comment because im not a car expert. you should test drive it to feel the difference and to see which car best suit you.

• Extrimist on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:41 am

I tried to compare 2.0 cc NA engines for different carmakers.

Mazda 3 (DOHC): 147PS @6500 rpm, 182Nm@4500 rpm
    Ford Focus (DOHC): 145PS @6000 rpm, 185Nm@4500 rpm
    Toyota Altis (DOHC): 146PS @6200 rpm, 187Nm@3600 rpm
    Honda Civic (SOHC): 155PS @6500 rpm, 190Nm@4300 rpm
    Nissan Sylphy (DOHC): 133PS @5200 rpm, 191Nm@4400 rpm
    KIA Forte (DOHC): 156PS @6200 rpm, 194Nm@4300 rpm
    Hyundai Elantra (DOHC): 165PS @6200 rpm, 198Nm@4600 rpm
    Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT (DOHC): 155PS @6000 rpm, 199Nm@4250 rpm
    Peugeot 408 (DOHC): 147PS @6000 rpm, 200Nm@4000 rpm

Just for fun.

• eyeing for BMW 325i, definately no no for japanese car.

• kennytkl on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:27 am

erm….Hyundai Elantra dun hv 2.0 if i not mistaken, the top range will b 1.8 wit 148hp

• power8003 on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:03 pm

Bro, the latest ford focus is 160ps la…..

• polo saga on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:08 pm

new forces 2.0 is 170PS.

• param on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:08 pm

noob here. how to understand this numbers..which value is good higher or lower?

• polo saga on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:08 pm

new ford focus 2.0 is 170PS.

• Extrimist on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:33 pm

Sorry, It’s Hyundai Sonata, not Elantra.

Ford Focus data is taken at Ford Malaysia website. But yeah, the new Focus will be 170 PS.

• myviT on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:33 pm

the power surge is late coming in, turbocharged engine i think better, in this case, pug 408 turbo with max torque before 2,000rpm and preve at 2,000rpm

• Why most of the pictures on 2.0 and Hybrid only? What about the 1.8 version?

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:57 am

Interior pictures are similar to the Hybrid. Exterior pictures are similar to the 2.0S.

• Chris can you explain how does the six free labour services for every alternate paid service till 100,000 km works?

• xenogearz™ on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Nice, but better wait for the all-new Ford Focus I suppose…it should be a better value-for-money car IMHO

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:53 pm

A cheapo car with unfriendly price.

Same to New Camry, cheap plastic and lousy buttons. Poor build up is sucks.

Toyota & Honda is trying to rip us back from their lost in Japan Earthquake and Thailand flood?

• Wise Guy on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:57 pm

I have been a Honda car lover and will always be. Some of you ‘baru hisap susu tetek’ goons here doesn’t understand car evolution vs revolution. When you’re in the top like Honda, you don’t need radical designs to pull in smart customers. This design was done by taking into account fuel efficiency, reliability, comfort, ride and handling. But I have to agree with some of you, the price increase for this new Civic is NOT reasonable and justifiable.

Off course, we Malaysians now are spoiled by choice. Usually unmatured, unwise youngsters will be stupid and will only go for how the car looks good rather than considering relaiability. You can’t blame these goons as they once only owned a kapcai buruk. Buying a Preve is a big jump in self actualization for them!

• M Generation on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:29 pm

“Wise Guy”..ohhh ya?? WISE people never say others ‘stupid’ or condemn others. You..Old school boy thinking..think he is good BUT actually outdated…asyik bermimpi dengan perkara lepas.

• But Hadnling also sucks …. Poor Honda lover….

• “WISE GUY”,
      what making u feeling so great being a big fan of “Honda”..
      i am owning Ford Mondeo ,Proton Inspira & Ford Fiesta doesn’t mean i cant afford to buy honda accord…or even passat cc, bmw 3 series..
      Everyone has his own expectation towards car.
      9th gen Civic with the new price tag just making some people rethink of considering other brand…
      u like honda just go ahead to get your beloved civic if u are feeling proud to be…

BUT DONT ASSUME OTHER know nothing about cars…
      Hey, got chance.. go n test drive Ford or VW then only make a sensible comment…

• excuse me on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:28 pm

CS is very patient to read all the comments until level. Owning so many cars yet, checking out Honda page…. ??? must be honda lover?

• Paultan fan on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:04 pm

Honda salesman spotted

• Davincci on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:18 pm

The plastic dashboard is the best thing I had ever seen.

Yucks!

• Bad Handling on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Handling like hell…berayun berdodoi dodoi bila drive laju kat DUKE…

• kelvin on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:09 pm

Buying a Honda is also a big jump in self actualization for you.

• GT-Rider on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Wise Guy only drives civic but his friend’s civic
      (civic ek), museum level car, he only owns kapcai buruk

• jackSEPANG on Jul 16, 2012 at 5:09 pm

spot on bro..
      if this bashers own a Toyota or Honda they will know,
      keep bashing and nothing they get, keep on critics even do not have a PENNY to buy Toyota or honda.

poor man,, support technologies bro.,. real world support any brand u like, dont simply critic others.

• Kancil Killer on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:58 pm

first impression looks like Kimchi Car

• carnoisseur on Jul 13, 2012 at 12:59 pm

im not a Honda basher and i own one . I must say this civic has a terrribly plasticky dashboard , what were the designers thinking?

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:07 pm

..ugly & costly !

• Kena Kencing on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Cheap exterior and interior quality with late 90’s accessories. 5 speed??? very very expensive!!! We have been cheated with that price!! Sorry to say “MACAM HARAM JADAH!!”

• Frankly speaking, first impression while seeing this model from US website, the reaction is just:

What an ugly model!

Really, really couldn’t compare to Elantra.
    If you owned Elantra, you got what I meant.

• aiyuh on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:31 pm

I just cancel my booking from Elantra… not because of honda or what. Just simply feel bored on its extremely sexy outlook. bored…

• jolly_idiot on Jul 13, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Agreed. Elantra have a wow factor on design but it goes off too quick.

Staring at Elantra too long makes me vomit.

• kelvin on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Elantra is nice, but little over do.

• I cancel 1.8 elantra for civic 2.0. The 1st reason being the service for Hyundai Malaysia sucks big time in handling my purchase. 2nd is the handling for Civic is way better than Elantra in term of pick up, cornering and driving experience…. Civic actually looks better in metal. 3rd its nt Hyundai vs Honda, it’s inokom vs Honda… 4th 4 airbags 6 speaker n folded side mirror compares to elantra 2 airbags 4 speaker n no folded side mirror. There are more to b exact… I’ll advice those that bash the new civic to test drive n sit in the cabin to judge before u comment. Cheers !

• inokom is only badge, but it’s still a hyundai product, i don’t really understand why malaysians put much emphasize on badges

• Davincci on Jul 16, 2012 at 8:15 pm

Yes, I test drove,handling is very good

• Outdated on Jul 13, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Teknologi honda ketinggalan zaman. Ramai sudah mampu beli kereta 100k ke atas dan mereka kini merupakan generasi yang bijak menilai kualiti dan teknologi. Udah udah la tu brand H…janganlah lagi bermimpi menjadi jenama pilihan…sedap hati ko je letak harga. Banyak senang kaut untung. Dah la kualiti semakin teruk..disc brake problem, kereta masuk angin..bunyi bising angin juga bunyi wisel. Nama je i-V.. tapi injin lain senang2 je tinggalkan makan asap. Zaman jenama lain mengatasi anda sedang berjalan. Awas!!

• Plastic Surgery on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:06 am

Plastic Dashboard some more…100K over…overprice!!!

• Hedge-Ass-Vee-Ten on Jul 15, 2012 at 2:04 am

It sounds too familiar… just now saw a post of a Honda Jazz owner got smoked by Vios, the same ‘disc brake problem”, the same “masuk angin- sound problem”. Poor chap. Those Honda SA must have ripped him off. They told him the Jazz can smoke a Supra.

• Davincci on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Please don’t mention about fuel efficiency when you put in the SOHC engine, this is confusing the customers, it should called as downgrading in order to grasp more profit from us. Zzz

• Zero Emissions on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:38 pm

contrary to popular belief,DOHC is not an advanced version of SOHC.it is a different application

• Davincci on Jul 13, 2012 at 2:28 pm

I’m Honda user, sorry to comment badly on latest civic, thought of changing it at first moment when heard it gonna launch, after seeing the dashboard, engine and the price tag. It had gone far away from my planning.

I love the service of Honda, but with their specs, it’s just another big time failure. Everyone keep mentioning about resale value, yea its true but its just for old time Honda which is popular welcome by Malaysian, KIA, HYUNDAI, VW, PEOGUET, MAZDA is climbing ahead Toyota and Honda, when the demand is drastically drop, where does the resale value goes?

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:04 pm

We are not sure whether or not you are a Honda user, but very sure your are a Korean car salesman.

• White on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:39 pm

you got nothing useful to share?

• It’s true, look at 7th gen civic. It’s not as desirable as the 8th gen, hence it dropped like rock.

Let’s say you buy now, 5 years later you buy the finally handsome 10th gen, market overflooded with 9th gen that not much ppl want, resale value rick rolled?

• Davincci on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:49 pm

As spoken, I’m Honda user, and not any vehicle brand of salesman, just my 2 cents

• suka suka on Jul 13, 2012 at 7:13 pm

funny..

a seven (7) years old VW Golf GTI MK5 (2005) still fetching around RM120K (buy new that time RM200K) residual 60%/

where else…
      2L Civic (2005) fetching around RM65K (buy new that time RM120K) residual 54%..
      2L Accord (2005) fetching around RM65-70K (buy new that time RM140K) residual 46%…

mmm go figure

• Davincci on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:54 pm

Funnier

You compare them now? Lol. No wonder Honda and Toyota won’t improve

• so funny to compare civic with contis, if you don’t afford to lose more, why buy contis, just stick with your jap cars which handling like sampan and cheapo plasticky interior

• Medic on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:05 am

Go &find me a 2005 mk5 Gti for 120k,i’ll buy striaght away.Don’t talk cock here.

• Paul Tan on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:07 am

No 120k but got 125k

http://www.oto.my/car-for-sale/423/2005-volkswagen-golf-gti

• oh no on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:25 am

hey medic; i thought u already buy ur TSI murah 160hp..
          regret ka???
          why dodnt u buy GTI?
          or nak murah with ur TSI value alot 2nd GTI 7 years old RM120K…
          or 175K for 2 years old car with warranty…

• merepek on Jul 14, 2012 at 8:11 pm

just saw many MK5 2005 are selling for RM110K – RM130K..
        narrow and specific your search on mudah and u will find.
        yes go buy :)

• harrier on Jul 13, 2012 at 3:07 pm

hey guys,, lets talk abt price..236k compare to kia sportage 138,888 on-the-road – five-year warranty..
    how abt that..

• White on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Test drove the 2.0 Navi this afternoon. I will be very honest and not bias here. for a RM137,000 car, you get hard plastic covered dashboard which sounded hollow when knocked. The touch screen does not compliment the console at all. The lines doesnt match, like a 3rd party device you could install at any workshop out there. Now, this is my personal opinion, and based on my own judgement. I’m being very honest here. The lines of the dashboard does not connect to the door panel, so there’s a block of hard plastic there that connects to no where. Everything feels so plastic in the car with no luxurious feeling. The back passenger door feels so hollow when knocked on it. The size of the cabin been reduced from previous generation. The all-new Civic does not carry its sporty look anymore, it looks more like a bigger honda city. More like a family car than a sporty niche. Having said that (Family car), the cabin size is slightly bigger than a Mazda3 only. Brake lights back to normal halogen bulbs.

When I opened the trunk lid, i couldnt close it back, i slammed it hard and it wouldnt close. Salesman told me the lock needed to be changed. So much for QC.

Lets talk about driving. I have 2 honda cars at home, an suv and a big sedan. The steering feels light and loose and same goes with this new civic. Not my preference but some may like it. Acceleration was not as powerful as expected but the handling is there. Minimal road noise and less bumpier than the previous civic. I just couldnt help keeping my eyes AWAY from the touch screen because it is really hideous looking, no knobs to turn just plain buttons. and it only comes with 4airbags.

I know alot of civic fans out there, but ask yourself, is it worth to buy this car. RM132,000 and another RM5000 for that touch screen. Do you think it’s worth it? Dont just talk, go feel and test drive the car yourself, handling may be good to some, but with interior like this, i’ll be driving with a long face all day long.

• Good review White. I bet professional reviewers would have tried to sugar-coat all that up. When you knock on the plastics in this car, you feel like those portable plastic chairs you used for kenduri outside your house.

These pricing really a big joke. If it starts like RM70K++ like our neighbor in Thailand still ok but cost-cutting like this for such premium price is unacceptable. Thailand also CKD for themselves but our CKD price is RM40K more.

• suka suka on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:20 pm

Ya, but you sound more like a Korean Junk car salesman than a very honest and not bias test driver.

• Davincci on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:16 am

Then you sound like junk Japanese car dude LoL

• White on Jul 15, 2012 at 5:37 pm

I have never mentioned Korean cars. Dont bring your hate here which carries no grounds and judgement. Have you test driven it? and feel it? If you love it, then you can go ahead and purchase this car because it fills up your preference, criteria and love for this Civic. Its your money and nobody could control it.

• Someone on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:13 am

This is how some bahser talk here. whatever thing you said, as long as not suit them, they will bark at you.

• Someone on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:03 am

I think we went to the same showroom? Cause I visited one of the Honda Showroom near Jln222 last Sat and one of the showroom car have problem with the trunk lid. Start wondering the quality. Suppose I gave up 408turbo for Honda Civic and for booking on the spot after view. After a real check out, quite disappointed with the interior design (dashboard material), engine appearance (just personal hobby on seeing nice engine cover and arrangement). I put on hold for my new car now.

• funniman on Jul 13, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Tested 2.0 Navi yesterday. Apart from the ugly “dashboard”, I have not much complaints. I already have a City for 8 years and I do know the quality of Honda. The engine is very responsive and not as noisy as Elantra or Forte. For me, 5 or 6 speed does not make much difference as long as the transmission is smooth.

• suka suka on Jul 13, 2012 at 6:16 pm

tested it is way better than E90 320i..
      also at point it feels and ride better than C200 CGI..

power of ivtec wihch BM/Merc needs to learn and do better R&D…

HONDA will never break down on roadside like BM or Merc

• sarcasm on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:10 pm

tested it is way better than bentley and aston martin..
        also at point it feels and ride better than rolls royce ghost..

power of ivtec wihch all luxury cars need to learn and do better R&D…

HONDA will never break down on roadside like bentley and aston martin

• Hedge-Ass-Vee-Ten on Jul 15, 2012 at 2:12 am

Damn. Laughed till I nearly swallowed my monitor.

• what to do on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:29 am

some how i have to agree that Honda dont need to stop by road side and poop up their hood..
        coz they dont break apart like Conti(s)…
        sorry..
        but thats the fact; open your eyes and see around..

• dreaming of maserati on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:15 am

tested it is way more powderful than maserati and ferrari. also at point it feels and ride better than rolls royce phantom and maybach 62

power of ivtec which lamborghini and porsche needs to learn and do better R&D…

honda will never break down on roadside like bmx bicycle.

• merepek on Jul 14, 2012 at 5:58 pm

smoked a Cayman S during test drive at Glenmarie..
        wow power of ivtec..
        Cayman facing hard time to catch up..

• smoked a Golf GTI during test drive at Glenmarie..
        wow power of ivtec..
        G GTI cannot catch up at all..eat my smoke

• merepek on Jul 15, 2012 at 8:50 am

golf gti is a slow car..
          same as E90 325..
          or even c250 CGI..

yes agree; power of ivtec.
          they cannot keep up with us.

• Medic on Jul 16, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Smoked a FD2 kau kau last weekend with my stock Golf Tsi.Lansi sucker,hogging right lane.Then he WOT try to shake me,over took him easily.Just when i thought gonna have some challenge…saw him so far off the pace from my rear view mirror…aiseh!,boring liao,slow down again.

Conclusion ivtec(10 years old tech) &5 speed auto eat smoke from TSi &DSG.Wake up Honda,if not you’ll be left behind.Even Proton woke up already.

• restor on Jul 16, 2012 at 9:16 pm

@Medic
          maybe he just wanted you to feel good, don’t play-play with civic, according to honda fans here it could do 240km/h stable on road, even 400km/h like Ferrari!

• Hedge-Ass-Vee-Ten on Jul 15, 2012 at 2:19 am

tested it is way better than Bugatti..
        also at point it feels and ride better than Airasia..
        power of dreams wihch conti designer needs to do better R&D while sleeping…
        HONDA will never break apart on roadside like traffic lights or durian

• Medic on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:00 am

Macam katak bawah tempurung,never tested conti car before,of course you say this.I owned a Civic 2.0 ivtec for 6 years,but once test Conti car,damn it was good…no looking back since.Many friends also the same.

• merepek on Jul 15, 2012 at 8:47 am

kami katak yang hidup bebas.
        nak buat apa buang masa terperap dalam tempurung?
        kami sentiasa mahukan terbaik.
        HONDA terbaik.

1. resale very high
        2. senang / tak rosak (macam CONTI)
        3. belambak atas jalan (sales no 1)
        4. enjin terbaik

• vetvi on Jul 15, 2012 at 4:08 pm

tak best spare part mahal, handling cam sampan, enjin takde turbo, gear 5 je

• jeng jeng jeng jeng on Jul 21, 2012 at 3:57 am

Hey Medic..

u just buy TSI 1.4 after using Civic..
        dont la act so much..

iyooo dont la talk crap here..
        u just eventually tapaued a Civic whom dont wanna play..
        but u try la other Stock Civic or Modded…
        see who smoked whom..
        I bed your 160hp TSI 1.4 also hard time to fight pure IVtec revolution..

i have a Conti and Jap
        but not VW..

however i noticed that VW driver here thinks their car so fast and they intend to become lansi/taiko on the road.

who u think u are???
        go break your DSG apart…

so mr medic get out form ur clinic and come to track with all of us
        we want to smoke your tiny 1.4 TSI crap apart…

• buywatcar on Jul 13, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Like Honda, buy Honda. Like Korean car, buy Hyundai. Like every cents that count..do a crazy analysis and buy the car which maximizes the value for money.

• suka suka on Jul 13, 2012 at 6:12 pm

wow this is very good car..
    this CIVIC will shake the lame 3 series and c class merc off the road..

very nice quality and luxury feel..
    for sure it wont break apart like BMW and Merc on malaysian road..
    see road side who break down easily..

good work honda..
    awesome! good job!

• Statistician on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:31 pm

c class and 3 series owners have already shamed themselves by wasting their money on cars and send their kids to local college such as UNITEN and MMU. I have seen so many continental car owners doing this. Buy big car to show off but neglect children education. Sell your big cars and buy a civic. Send your kids to overseas la selfish !

• Davincci on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Lol to compare 3series and c class.

Yea good SOHC engine and plastic surgery dashboard to create luxury fake feel and it break our heart as well

Worst job SUKA SUKA

LOL

• roller on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:04 pm

shake? in your dream, twin turbocharged bmw and merc won’t be beaten by this puny sohc engine

civic got turbo? lol

• what to do on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:32 am

its proven many of the previous generation civic 2L can hit over 240kmh..
        no need to MOD..
        please google in youtube..
        so yes i believed so it will able to shake off those CONTI(s) in real life..
        lets face it..
        no matter what: Japan are still better..
        if they such no use; why their car sells very good world wide + their reliability… resale all NO 1 !!

• yeah after selling it worldwide then do massive recalls due to defect parts or in friendly words upgrade service.

240km/h with civic is like moving coffin, it’s not stable and suck at local twisty roads

• YeapyEvo on Jul 13, 2012 at 6:28 pm

The only good thing about Honda is the engine and transmission which is the heart of a car, other than that other parts aren’t as reliable as they used to be. Once Korean can catch up with Japs’ on engine refinement, the tide will chage drastically.

Mind you, the selling price is just 70-80k in Thailand, so the actual cost of the car is how much only Honda know. Don’t expect 130k quality just because u pay 130k for it, it is forever a 80k car at best.

• kelvin on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:24 pm

Everything come to Malaysia will become luxury item with premium price, but the thing is we are not even a high income country. Are Malaysian spending too much for car? Are the current and future generation able to survive at golden age, with all the money spent on item like example this Civic, which seems like a premium car, but the fact is it is not.

• I still yet to test drive the new Civic. However after tested the Elantra vs the Civic FD, I have to say that: Yes, in terms of engine, Honda is more free-revving and little bit more responsive. However, Elantra especially 1.8, has comparable power if not better. Elantra 1.8 on the other hand, the engine is also quite smooth and quiet unless you floor it up to above 5k rpm.

Honda, if you still want to continue your dominance, please be more generous and stop being lazy. I really hate the fact that spec given in Civic 9th gen 1.8 is practically the same like Civic FD 1.8 5 years ago.

• Another 20 years for Korean to be par with Japs in engine development (Its require many years to develop a good and new Engine). Unless Korean acquired others car makers and combine the technology. Or they will just like proton use normal engine copy from Mitsubishi? (not even Mivec). When talking about car makers and engines (please correct me if im wrong), there must be a reason for Japs car popular since the past, Mazda rotary engine, Mitsubishi Mivec engine, Honda V-tec engine, Nissan straight line engine(Twinturbo). A car brand would not just develop in overnight which only the base on the outlook. It must have something that others competitor cant get. Frankly, Korean car needs make up with some special features to win buyers emotion and sentiment. Because they do not have strong selling points like a good engines and brands name. However, generation changes, people tend to go for nice outlook, engine wise (just care about the HP on the book). But do you really know how a v-tec work? Im a fans of turbo car, not NA car like Honda. But I respect the others car engine design who makes a car different from the inside not just the outlook. For those who want to spend money on outlook only with cheap price, go ahead. For me, because beautify a car outlook, can be done easily with little money. Getting a good engine will be far behind our pockets. So I think honda followers not only will like the outlook but the soul of it.

• Davincci on Jul 16, 2012 at 8:34 pm

SOHC rules!

• civic now neither powerful nor beautiful, at least try to win one aspect, then another could make it later

bye bye civic

• To Mr P:

Disagree. 20 years? Don’t think so. I guess your comment is about Elantra which you think only have outlook but no inside? Definitely you need to go take a test drive and rethink your statement that Korean is lagging behind 20 years in engine. 40MPG, on par acceleration with Civic (if not better), class leading HP/torque value is not something that can be developed over night. It is not like some other brand, slapping in a turbo, some fancy accessories and claim that it is a Global car.

Hyundai 6 speed is developed in house with more than 300 patents. They also have GDI engine while Honda is still developing a GDI engine.

I know you are a Japanese fans, I am one also. But do you know how Japanese starts? Yes, by copying the American. However, they innovates. Anyhow, Korean is catching up very fast, this is the fact. Look at Samsung.

I have said many times, “Honda don’t be lazy if you want to maintain market share”. Example would be A-VTEC that was heard years ago, but until now it is still in the mist.

• cfe is not bolt-on turbo engine
        it’s a real turbocharged engine

• Yes I know it is not bolt on. I didn’t say it is bolt on.

• anything you said, it’s NOT bolt on or slap on, or stick on, or put on, or anything else that it’s not not, ok?

• http://www.aduanrakyat.com.my/enjin-proton-preve-bocor-kurang-sebulan

Enough said. Don’t want to argue with you. If it is a properly tuned and reliable engine, the above won’t be happening.

• Extrimist on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:51 am

Just want to share with some readers. Honda did introduced GDI engine (K20B) in 2004 with Honda Stream Absolute. But I think it didn’t performed as expected.

2004 HONDA STREAM:

Transmission: 5AT
        Kerb Weight: 1430 kg
        Engine type: K20A
        Max Power: 156ps(115kW)/6500rpm
        Max Torque: 19.2kg?m(188N?m)/4000rpm
        Fuel Consumption: 13.6 km/l

2004 HONDA STREAM ABSOLUTE:

Transmission: CVT
        Kerb Weight: 1470 kg
        Engine type: K20B (GDI version)
        Max Power: 156ps(115kW)/6300rpm
        Max Torque: 19.2kg?m(188N?m)/4600rpm
        Fuel Consumption: 15.0 km/l

While the GDI version is using CVT, fuel consumption hasn’t been improved dramatically. I think this is the main reason (besides the manufacturing cost) that K20B is only survived in one model, and discontinued 2 years later.

http://paultan.org/2007/04/18/hondas-i-vtec-i-engine-direct-injection/

• Nice car. Especially the black one with high heel……

• Regina Shwartz on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:03 pm

I wonder what’s going wrong with Japanese car designers. First the Ah-Beng Camry and now this with the Prevé rear.

• Regina Shwartz on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:04 pm

Also for those wondering what’s going on with car prices going up up and up, it’s not the car… it’s the Ringgit going down down and down.

• bmpower on Jul 13, 2012 at 8:39 pm

I sad to say this…

It’s very the shame if this honda ‘tapaued’ by Proton preve on hiway … :(

the fact are preve got 7 speed gearbox! paddle shifter somemore!
    unless u blind. ;)

• Balotelli The Best on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:04 pm

Conclusion….PREVE IS BETTER.

• kelvin on Jul 13, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Proton preve will be perfect, if it has a complete tail light, the price is 65k for premium version, and the dashbord quality.

• ATOYOT on Jul 13, 2012 at 10:51 pm

Everybody likes to criticise just to show they can…

• To bmpower..

Do you know, 7 speed on preve only virtual cvt gearbox.. like previous honda city. almost 10 years ago technology. Why u said better?

Speeding on highway is subjective. Depend on mentality of driver. The previous FD civic can go for 245 km/h. Preve?

• bmpower on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:29 am

you don’t have to tell me about old and new tech. even the engine itself are very old time ago!

but bear in mind. 7 still more than 5!
      it doesn’t matter virtual or not as long as it functional! .

or you still love it because it branded as Honda?

• civic can go over 200km/h but not stable and not fun at all, preve can do the same but you are planted to road and corner like nobody business

• miaomiao on Jul 14, 2012 at 2:02 pm

amazing… finally proton has caught up with the japanese… your logic is not logicall at all.

• penta on Jul 14, 2012 at 4:44 pm

japs car sucks at handling, swaying like hell

• Medic on Jul 14, 2012 at 10:01 am

You talking cosck ar?say Civic Fd can go 245km/h…same top speed as Golf Gti 2.0 turbo.

• yes of course civic can do even more than 500km/h and smoke ferrari, porsche and lambo can do corner at 399km/h, no problem at all

• oh no on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:27 am

medic jealous coz your 1.4TSI cannot go that fast; see who told u sell ur CIVIC.. i vtec maaaa very power..
        come to track la..
        or u scared ur DSG kaput???

• Davincci on Jul 13, 2012 at 11:03 pm

Let the sales of new civic do the talking, if the car is good enough, the figure will show

• urmama on Jul 14, 2012 at 1:55 am

agree to your statement.. i hate vios but see too much vios on the road make me neutral towards that car.. maybe it’s really a reliable car perhaps.. i duno.. i own a kelisa only.. so dun dare comment much..

• Davincci on Jul 14, 2012 at 2:25 am

No doubt on Vito’s is fuel efficiency. VVTI is really saving on cost of petrol.

Just that thEy should also implement dual VVTI into 2.0 G Camry instead of 2.5V only.

Honda and Toyota having same type of business mind. Very stingy to offer they good things on overall segment

• YeapyEvo on Jul 14, 2012 at 12:22 am

CVT is just a transmission, it isn’t a gearbox in actual fact, so the term “virtual” 7 gear

• The interior Camry 2012 is much better in term of quality. Even the are diff segment but camry win i think.

• Medic on Jul 16, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Camry 2.5l 2012 is a total failure,body kit like some Ah Beng car.The only new 180k car with only 4 air bags,no traction control.Go ahead &spend 180k for a badge. As for the 2.0l,don’t even mention it..so malu!

• tourist on Jul 14, 2012 at 5:34 pm

The 2.0 litre SOHC i-VTEC has a torque of 190 Nm @ 4,300 rpm. On paper, inferior to Proton CFE’s 205 Nm @ 2000 rpm. More importantly, CFE’s torque is at a much lower and useful rpm. Seems like the CFE is a bargain in comparison.

• 1st: You can’t compare a NA to a turbo engine.
      2nd: 205NM vs 190NM, difference of 15NM, but civic is 12xx kg while Preve is 13xx kg. Preve weight will mitigate its torque advantage. Yes, of course Preve still has low rpm torque advantage.
      3rd: Overall combination and efficiency. I believe Honda 5 speed is a very mature gearbox. The most important is still how efficient is the engine power being fully transferred to the wheel. Honda transmission is still much better than Proton punch CVT. Transmission logic and ECU is still Preve weakness. Honda 5 speed is known for its responsiveness and shifting intelligence(of course still not DSG like)
      4th: Reliability. Go to Preve club forum, few pages of complain including engine oil leaking in less than 300km of mileage.
      5th: Fuel consumption. I read in Preve forum some owner can get as low as RM50 for 200KM. Civic will have much better fuel efficiency.

Lastly, I am not a Honda supporter. I owned a Hyundai. But I still have to agree that in terms of technology wise, Honda is still light years ahead of Proton. Ask yourself, if Proton produces Hybrid car, do you dare to get one? I think Proton still really have a long long way to go.

• tourist on Jul 15, 2012 at 7:28 pm

Are Civic’s handling better than Preve?

• sarcasm-detector on Jul 15, 2012 at 10:22 pm

yes, please refer to comment above, 240km/h and still stable, lol or if you want to feel happier just believe that it’s stable even at 400km/h, like said in another comment above.

*can’t stop laughing*

• Civic is more agile. Test drove the Preve, it handles quite well I have to admit, but feel that the sitting position is too high for me. The car feels high too, maybe due to Proton knows Malaysia has alot of oversized speed hump, LOL.

• yeah if 5 is better than 7, why not you go for archaic 4 gears of toyota, and you are in the future, year 2900

-sarcasm-

• 7 gears vs 5 gears. i would pick 7 anytime, 5 gears bored already, just like 4 gears in toyota cars, very oldies, not for youngster like me

• Enjoy your CVT then and please study CVT mechanism, Honda City previous gen is also using CVT, but why they revert back to 5 speed, is due to the cost of repair of CVT and the rubber-band feeling killing the joy of driving.

The only 7 speed which I think is worth mention is DSG 7 speed.

• new crz also uses cvt, where got revert back?

lol

• No idea if its the same but I bet they have improved their CVT gearbox.

CVT is a known weakness for previous gen city.

• This fella totally a newbie to car. Just like buying computers from Imbi. 7 better than 5…..??!!

• Please forgive him, he is just trying to hard sell his Global car.

• who want to sell car here? honda already lose this time, not powerful, not ‘green’, hard plastic interior, so now try to attract people by 5 years warranty, so desperate

pity honda

• dofty on Jul 16, 2012 at 9:52 pm

preve is global car? hmmm anything la but for now, better than civic

• bmpower on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:57 pm

lol.. honda salesmen tell about computer comparison? so i-core 7 is rubbish than icore 5 lol ololol

• teesang on Jul 15, 2012 at 9:00 pm

this civic FB is much much worse than FD, take a look at this,
        http://www.hondaproblems.com/Civic/

only launched this year but the problem counted already 12! civic FD is already years on road but problems counted only 21!

• expat vin on Jul 15, 2012 at 9:43 pm

if honda is still light years ahead proton:

1.why don’t they downsize the engine and put twin, triple or quad turbocharged engine? at least single like preve?

2.can beat preve contiish handling?

3.why no 6 gears at least (preve has 7)

3.why the boot smaller than preve and why no foldable backseats? cannot design better?

• Is putting a turbocharger is really such a big deal? Can’t you see alot of turbo-ed Kancil, Wiralution with big arse pipe running around Malaysia?

I am not from Honda management team, I can’t answer your question, but why don’t you write a feedback to them?
          I can see that Honda insists to perfect the NA technology rather than following other steps, this is my honest opinion.

Contiish feeling? Hmm….

Please study the mechanism of CVT. Thanks.

Boot smaller or larger I have no comment. Want bigger boot you can buy City, it has more than 500L too. But one thing I dislike about Preve is its too high “backside”

• expat vin on Jul 16, 2012 at 1:02 am

yes, it’s trendy nowadays, i don’t talk about turbo-ed Kancil, Wiralution with big arse pipe, that’s not factory set one, no warranty from manufacturer.

this is different one, like golf, polo, bmw, merc. it’s a big deal, since i-vtech is already an archaic engine.

small turbo engine can tapau n/a engine with bigger cc, more power with lesser cc

yes city has bigger boot than city but preve has a lot cabin space than city, ride and handling wise and specs no need to mention which one is better, different segment summore

high backside can put reverse camera no much fuss

• Honda is meant for NA car, with their years of development in V-tec engine, why do they need to go for turbo? Your question just put confused to BMW why they dont produce Compressor to beat BENZ.

Good to comment but yet must know the background.

• Medic on Jul 16, 2012 at 12:38 pm

There is no gears on CVT,they modify the CVT to make the drivers feels like there’s 7 gears,hence it is virtual.It is because drivers like to feels the gear change,albeit a smooth one.

This is a cheap but good way to get better FC,but doesn’tgo well with performance,hence most sports car prefer DSG or 7 or 8 speed automatic.

• bmpower on Jul 19, 2012 at 7:02 pm

vtec wasn’t na engine. I many race and tournament, they rejected from NA category, but they do have their own vtec category.

an NA but not NA. ;)
          so why not make them versus a turbo? because it’s honda right?

You see.. im not proton supporter, but funny… before… some people even compare proton to supercar lololo

• spyrers on Jul 14, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Ugly design and poor CKD quality. Great move Honda.

• Terry on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Test drove the car. Internal Quality/material so so. Bumpy ride (Wonder why)?

• i think the 8th civic looks better.

• Car Driver on Jul 15, 2012 at 9:35 am

Saw the car in showroom finally after much deliberation. The Hybrid rear looks wider and slightly better due to the rear lights design. However I do not like the Web-like RIMS, ugly! The mudguard for the Hybrid not painted. Looks like saving cost for Honda. The rear seat looks bit smaller than previous version due to reduction in wheelbase. Boot space smaller than MD Elantra. Not bad but not fantastic either.

• Carl Wong on Jul 15, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Before you continue bashing, did you at least sit inside and touch the real car yet??

I just checked it out in the showroom, and personally like the Hybrid version, it looks a lot more beautiful compared to the lifeless pictures. I would love to take the Civic Hybrid for a spin, but no test drive model available yet….

New features such as keyless entry, engine start/stop button, ECON button and Lithium Ion battery :]……..!!!

The interior is spacious with comfortable seats, rear seats can fit 3 people (even fat ones?) no problem. The only disadvantage I can think of is the slightly smaller boot and no fold-able rear seats.

• Funniman on Jul 15, 2012 at 8:21 pm

I originally wanted the Hybrid version but changed my mind due to the low usage of the car. SA told me that if you do not use Hybrid often, it defeats the purpose of a Hybrid car. The 1.8 version is very basic and the driver seat is not electrical operated.
      Test drive showed the engine is very responsive and easy to drive. Did not go on high speed handling as it is only in Glenmarie area. The engine much more smoother and quiet compared than Elantra and Forte. But gadgetwise, the Koreans are better.
      Verdict: Paid $500 to book the 2.0 Navi car.

• 2.0 Navi? Another 5000 more there will be lots of option including Teana.

On the engine part, agree with you on the smoothness, but it is only when you rev it hard which you don’t do it everyday. Below 4k rpm Elantra is also very quiet and smooth. My honest opinion.

• Funniman on Jul 16, 2012 at 6:54 am

Teana is too big and long. I believed it is a very nice car. Actually I was so excited about Elantra but just could not fit my liking.
          I had been to one of the Honda’s OE Japanese factory in Prachaburi Thailand and I am convinced about their high quality standard.

• Davincci on Jul 16, 2012 at 8:57 pm

I test drove the car with very high speed, around 100-120, feel easy to handle

• Carl Wong on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:51 pm

Good choice anyway, I envy you :)..

• steve on Jul 15, 2012 at 9:25 pm

everything’s good except for the cheap recycled material used for the dashboard and cheap looking navi. Fuel consumption should be class-leading.

• Alexmann on Jul 15, 2012 at 4:09 pm

It will sells- ex honda salesman, now no more… Currently drives land rover evoque- WWW xx , watchout for me on the road…. Everybody just close your gaping mouth…

• romem on Jul 15, 2012 at 9:14 pm

just for info, not laugh, it’s not in bolehland, it’s a been-told-much-better-civic in US

“Bought my 2012 civic sedan on Feb 9th 2012. Drove it for 2 days and my lower back started to hurt like crazy. The pain was so sharp I had a hard time getting off of the couch at the house. I called the dealership and they said they hadn’t had any other complaints. I googled it and found a forum that had many complaints about the seats on the 2012 civic. Apparently there is an issue and I am not losing my mind. Called the dealer back again and he said to buy a lumbar support from Walgreens. Wow great fix!!! Honda has a defective seat design and the dealers wants your to try and live with it! Received a thank you from the Dealer General Manager thanking me for buying the car and to call if I had any concerns. Called the General Manager and left a message for him. He called me back and said they might be about to trade for it or I could call Honda and complain. Wow!!! He stands by there product! Honda SUCKS!! 28-32 MPG in town isn’t worth CRAP if you can’t drive the car because the seat is so uncomfortable that it causing excruciating lower back pain. The dealer is suppose to call me on the FEB 27th. Will see what they say!! HONDA SUCK!!! I’ll NEVER BUY ANOTHER ONE!!”

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 15, 2012 at 10:14 pm

I think that is your back problem and it is not a car problem. If it is a car problem, I think the whole Malaysia hospital will be crowded with people with back problem.

• witak on Jul 15, 2012 at 10:32 pm

better wait for malaysian civic FB owners, are the seats more comfortable than those in US

• sell it to me?

• Noticed that there is no traction control features in all ranges

• merepek on Jul 16, 2012 at 4:30 pm

please do more reading…
      different co brand their electric stability differently..
      anyway there are all the same..

TCS… ESP.. VSA.. DSC… DTSC.. etc etc etc…

all have the same basis…

• Medic on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:36 am

Wrong,traction control (TC)isn’t the same as the rest you mentioned here.

• Extrimist on Jul 16, 2012 at 12:26 am

I believe Honda Stability control (VSA) comes with traction control, as stated in Honda Malaysia website as:

VSA= ABS + TCS + side slip control

You can look for the details regarding VSA at Honda Malaysia website > Technology > Safety > VSA

• excivic on Jul 16, 2012 at 3:41 am

wow so hot!!!
    i mean the model, the car is undesirable
    better go for other brand this time

• Donttalkifdonocars on Jul 16, 2012 at 7:54 am

Saw alot of bad comment and huh-hah comparing with other brand. ask yourself, will u dare to buy other car beside this brand and model? exp civic vs elantra? i bet, people still will go for T&H also! cheers!

• yus selidik on Jul 16, 2012 at 8:34 am

..my family owned kimchi and sushi cars,you like,you buy, dont’t like ,buy conti, don’t like buy boat,don’t like buy bolldozer,don’t like buy bla…bla…bla,simple as A,B,C…

• bonbon on Jul 16, 2012 at 1:19 pm

why this people always try to identify which one are the salesman? weird!

• lalok_stylo on Jul 16, 2012 at 1:48 pm

still automatic 5 transmission??

come on honda, hyundai offered automatic 6 transmisssion 2 years ago….
    all its models got automatic 6 transmission except i10 and starex….

• merepek on Jul 16, 2012 at 4:26 pm

alot of gear also does’nt mean it will be better.
      its how u design the system (gearbox) and engine mix to blend and co-work together to create effective and efficient solution thus in honda..
      1. power
      2. reliability/durability
      3. fuel consumption
      4. fun to drive

• 1.power – torque already lost to elantra, preve, etc
        2. reliability – so much campaign service all over the world
        3.fuel consumption – even honda civic hybrid summoned in US. why? find it yourself
        4.fun to drive – conti/proton much better

what still you have honda?

• bmpower on Jul 19, 2012 at 7:04 pm

so you still drive a 4 speed manual car right? because 5 speed never be good. lol.

• honda malaysia still give us Euro 3 emmision compare to preve that is Euro 5, not environment frenly at all, come on honda , dont trick us here like shit – talking about cleaner, grenner…..honda ?! wat a joke

• so that’s why they decrease the power engine to sohc, the control the emission, if just euro 3, nothing to shout about, in contrast a shame, cps already euro 4, cfe already euro 5

why don’t honda make new engine? its power has to be traded with amount of emission. like old vtech, hp is good but sucks for environment, newer i-vtech also same, no way to fulfill the emission control unless to decrease power

so now honda, your car is weak, even weaker than ‘shitty’ preve

• Ha ha, really a hot topic to comment..jz get simple…now a day with 100k over price you get wht hv jz honda offer for the 1.8 definally disappointed! Beside engine cc how come a 100k over Civic 1.8 accesories are less than the new City..(Side Mirror Turning Light, reverse Camera, leater sit……and more tht city hv) if Honda assume 1.8cc is the lowest price of the class Honda offer and they can jz ignore all those accesories …..you are damn wrong for marketing.!!! If you and your friend both own a civic and City….when come to mamak chit-chat taking of those accesoris…for sure who paymore and get less are really get laugh from your friends…..

• biggge on Jul 16, 2012 at 9:37 pm

woo woo woo civic is global car, mind you some people can accept it even if it does not have ALL the accessories

remember, civic is always better than all cars even without any accessories

• DontCommentIfUDonoCars on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:23 pm

buy what u like and dont ever buy a thing u don like! dono la still got alot of ppl complaint complaint complaint! T&H is top in Malaysia because of what? ask yourself la…H got I-VTEC, P got CFE/CPS, T got dual VVTI, so what? other brand got their own Menu to show. 130k just to have a 140hp 2.0L family sedan with push start button, GPS and bluetooth and etc, complaint like mad shhit why dont just got buy preve which still have the same spec and half of the price? but i still believe those who know how to think in every point of view, i bet u still will got for T&H. I’m damm sure! Thumbs up if u r agree, if not im dare you are lying to urself!

• idonocars on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:57 pm

you don’t get the point?
      maybe ok, maybe they want civic at much cheaper price, they don’t want preve because of proton badge (it’s poor people car)even if preve wins hands down. what they want is the BADGE with much lesser price. that’s it.

i’d rather spend my money on my 4th house.

• civic88 on Jul 16, 2012 at 11:46 pm

hahaha… cool la bro… malaysians tend to be first class in complaining especially in paultan.org

they are simply bashers and most of them just red eye seeing people afford to buy it… i can bet also most of the people critisizing so bad about this model are not afford to buy it yet they want to talk talk and talk…

malaysians had been well known for demanding but unwilling to pay for the price… if u notice, whatever models launched also, people are just complain and give bad feedback…

for those who like to complain so much, why not u ride a horse or go to “flinstones” era driving a stone car???

don’t care… leave a thumb down as u like, typical malaysian! shame on u…

• jackSEPANG on Jul 17, 2012 at 12:35 pm

spot on bro.. this “some people” always complaining everything.. even dont have money to buy PROTON preve also complain about TOYOTA and HONDA.. not even afford these cars, but still complain to the core… poor them, hallo bros,,, if want to buy, they buy, if dont want to.. shut up only. I am malaysian, I own satria neo, and toyota vios. I am happy proton satria noe and vios owner,, the complaint so much.. live real world la fren.. complaining and complaining means nothing .. be rational, positive. dont always negative. jackSEPANG – Proud vios and Neo owner.

• ktjong on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:55 pm

i’m a T&H fan too, just don’t know which to take, 1.8G altis / 1.8 civic

• ovpcr on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:21 am

both will make hole in your pocket, paying for overpriced car

• Davincci on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:05 am

Sure la Altis bro.. 1.8 civic is consider empty car if compare to Altis 1.8 G

• iloveyoucivic on Jul 16, 2012 at 11:23 pm

sexy civic

i love the handbrake lever, so classical design, so suitable for uncles and aunties. and the back bumper at corner, so sexy, it has somewhat extra fold like flabby stomach, imagine fat obese girl oh so sexy. and the backseats are crampier than FD, this is what i want, i want to sit very close with lenglui at the back at times, until our legs and body touching each other. the backlamp, again suitable for uncles and aunties, i don’t care, i will be an old guy too one day right? and your face, oh, looks like preve, yes, this is what i want, because deep in my heart i want preve, but i want to look richer so i buy civic. it’s ok, front copies preve, at least i can satisfy my inner dream, even though i get just its face, not body.

oh civic, you are so sexy, i want you so much, i will buy you.

• suku sakat kerabat johor on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:02 am

Guys. It is actually like this. Why T&H do not offer much? The main reason is because in Malaysia T&H Japan are not the real backbone which handling their market in here. Besides, did anyone ever wonder how come Korean products are able to keep up with Japan technology in very short term? It is because they have the technology. Ever heard of reverse engineering? Korean and China are very good at it. And don’t compare it with proton. Proton is actually buying the technology and have limited contract for their products. And for the Japanese,they are whom create the technology. It is actually a market strategy. And congratulation fanboys. You were deceived.

• breezehaw on Jul 17, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Love this Civic so much . Sporty looks.

• breezehaw on Jul 17, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Tested this car 2.0 version last Saturday. its run like a wind. Perfect hanlding. Stylish design especially the sideview. Plane to buy it but the price just different about few k to the Accord. Hard to decide.

• hejim on Jul 17, 2012 at 3:03 pm

dun like the butt, headlamps like uncles and aunties accord

• Extrimist on Jul 17, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Tried to compare Elantra and Civic UK.

Hundai Elantra 1.8 DOHC Nu MPi with 6AT (http://worldwide.hyundai.com/WW/Main/index.html)

0-100km/h: 10.2 s
    Max speed: 202 km/h
    C02 emission: 169 (g/km)
    Fuel Consumption: 14.08 km/liter

Honda Civic S (UK Spec), 1.8 SOHC i-VTEC with 5AT (brochure from Honda UK website)

0-100km/h: 10.4 s
    Max speed: 209 km/h
    C02 emission: 148 (g/km)
    Fuel Consumption: 19.05 km/liter

Just a single example; perhaps meaningless.

• Seem to me your MPG figure is a off. Officially civic 9gen is 39MPG Highway while Elantra 1.8 is 40MPG Highway.
      No idea what is it in real world, but I don’t think they are far apart.

• Hyundai get sued over their claim of 40 mpg which the consumers find hard to get

• That is isolated case, I believe it is due to either the owner is driving at very cold condition, or has a problematic car. My friend Elantra 1.8 can do less than around 6L/100km constant 110kmh in highway, around 5.6-5.8L/100km constant 90kmh. Which also translate to well above 40MPG.

I believe the figure is quite accurate as I have been following closely the FB elantra group.

• Although I think the latest Civic is a bit of disappointment especially the 1.8 spec, but it is still a Civic. Really disgusted by those die-hard Preve fans here keep on promoting their car non-stop. Who cares you can do 200kmh or have 205NM of torque or 7 speed gear if it is not reliable?

Sharing to you all:
    Aduan by a Malay owner.
    http://www.aduanrakyat.com.my/enjin-proton-preve-bocor-kurang-sebulan

Preve full of quality problem
    http://apadehal.com/apabila-pelanggan-tidak-puas-hati-dengan-proton-preve/

Sorry I have to share this. If they can’t address their QC problem, no matter how many accessories they try to squeeze into the car, it is also worthless.

• ghirl on Jul 18, 2012 at 5:24 am

don’t tell me you didn’t know about this :
      “Honda tak guna” which goes viral on the net:

http://www.leonardfoong.com/2010/07/my-honda-tak-guna.html

still a small isolated case? how about how about honda had massive recalls all over the world?

http://www.slashgear.com/honda-recalling-another-962000-cars-worldwide-05177179/

http://www.tgdaily.com/business-and-law-brief/61651-honda-announces-massive-minivan-recall

google, and you can get plenty like this. honda oh honda

• Proton has issued a recall letter to Exora Bolt owners due to:

1. Engine oil leak
        2. Timing belt slippage
        3. Check engine light “on”

• To ghril:

Proton recently issued a recall letter to Exora bold CFE owner due to:

1. Engine oil leak (engine bocor)
      2. Timing belt slippage
      3. Engine light “ON”

• ghirl on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:27 pm

the number affected is not as much as hondas, which all over the world

• Extrimist on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:03 pm

I recheck my sources, which are from official Hyundai Worldwide website and Honda UK website. To be exact (as written in the sources):

Fuel consumption (Combined):

Elantra: 7.1 (liter/100km)
    Civic: 44.8 mpg

Fuel consumption (Extra Urban/Hiway):

Elantra: 5.7 (liter/100km)
    Civic: 58.9 mpg

• I know now, you confused me with MPG (UK) while most of the figure we normally see is MPG (US). Euro Civic is quoted based on MPG (UK aka imperial). Elantra 40MPG is US (metric)

Elantra 1.8 MPI
      HW: 5.88L/100km (40MPG (US) ,48.04MPG (UK))

Euro Civic 3 variants
      1.4-liter i-VTEC
      5.4 L/100km (52.3 mpg UK, 43.55 mpg US)

1.8-liter i-VTEC
      5.8 L/100km (48.7 mpg imp, 40.55 mpg US)

2.2-liter i-DTEC
      4.2 L/100km (67.2 mpg imp, 56 mpg US)

Read more: http://www.worldcarfans.com/111103137781/2012-honda-civic-5-door-euro-spec-in-detail-video#ixzz20tMEQu2T

• Extrimist on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:07 am

Oh s**t I didn’t know there are 2 kind of mpg in this world. Now it make more sense. Thanks for clarifying. New knowledge to me :) Why don’t you try check their official websites and compare. More reliable, I think (well, both are on paper specs).

These are the summary for the compared data through Hyundai and Honda UK website. I compared 1.8 cc with auto tranny.

ELANTRA Nu 1.8 MPI 6AT vs CIVIC 1.8 SE 5AT (UK Spec):

Kerb weight (kg): 1194-1269 vs 1242-1378
        Fuel Consumption (Urban / City) (L / 100km): 9.4 vs 8.7
        Fuel Consumption (Extra Urban / Highway) (L / 100km): 5.7 vs 4,9
        Fuel Consumption (Combined) (L / 100km): 7.1 vs 6.3
        CO2 Emission (Combined) (g / 100km): 169 vs 148

• If your figure is correct, is seems like Euro Civic is a more fuel efficient version, too bad we are not getting this version, but it is quite logical as Euro civic is a hatchback rather than a sedan, hatchback normally has much better cd (coefficient drag) figure than sedan and lighter as well.

• Magneto on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:42 am

Waited for Civic in real excitement coz wanted to have my first Jap car under my budget..but got disappointed after seeing it in showroom last week, finally booked Elantra 1.8..waiting period approx 3 months. Hope its a good car…Resale value..no point talking as took it on loan and will use it the max i can…

• Hi Magneto, have you test driven both new Civic 1.8 vs Elantra 1.8? Can share your experience?

• funniman on Jul 18, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Once committed, no looking back. Do not compare, do not complain and do not regret. Congratulations.

• elantra > civic
      preve > civic
      inspira > civic
      pug 408 > civic

• najib on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:20 am

HU + nav was impressive, but looks not sexy.. better than UK spec.

full automatic aircond.. two thumbs up..

• retard on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:59 pm

ooo im never too late to komen,, ya ya ya, remember nokia, last time champion and now like shit loose to samsung and ipone. same goes to honda will also loose to other brands. y want to sell car after 5 yrs??? answer : to contribute tax to the gomen, it doesn’t matter yor car has value or not. :)

• idiot here on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Good example but yet brainless… let me ask you, who develop Blu ray??? do you know who earning from the copyright? yet, the inventor brand itself not strong in the blu ray player but others do. This is also how a car industry goes. Engine pattern been sold. Korean is good now, but if Japs never face those disasters and weak in economic. Their R&D in car is very much stronger than many countries even Korean… By the way, I find KIA getting more interesting nowadays, Im looking forward to see more good korean car. But we cant ignore the japs car reputation. hehe.. am i talk too much here which im just owning a bike.

• kompr on Jul 19, 2012 at 7:50 pm

enough with japs car, even proton can plonk in turbocharged engine, honda? still with sissy i-vtech engine (now even weaker with sohc) and 5 gears

are they sleeping?

• Extrimist on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Honda got turbo-diesel (Civic Euro 2.2 i-Dtec)
          Honda got turbocharged 660cc N-Box
          Honda got Hydrogen-fuel cell EV car with FCX.
          Honda got EV car with FIT EV.
          Honda got jet engine with 420KTAS jet.
          Honda also got ASIMO robot, VTEC marine engine and tractors engine.

I think Honda is too busy and don’t get enough know-how to develop a superior turbocharged engine like Campro CFE.

Maybe Honda should visit Proton’s R&D> They can learn so many things with Proton:)

• kompr on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:14 pm

i know that, i mean for malaysian market, why not use it here in accord, civic, etc

• breezehaw on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Just saw the video of US version Civic, they got sunroof and foldable back seat. Why Malaysian version don’t have it?

• Jerry Tan on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:47 pm

the new H.Civic is ugly…. H.Stream RSZ is da Best. end story. good night folks

• Anyone test drive the Civic Hybrid or already own it? Can share some experience on it?

Does the battery pack has any electric-field side effect especially on kids?

• Romuluz on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:15 pm

The FB Civic looks pretty good in Tafetta White and in Modulo bodykit. The painted grille does it justice as the original kit makes the frontage of the Civic appear to be of a generation before the FD-series 8G Civic. Hope Honda MY will bring in a special edition Civic with the K24 DOHC engine (similar to that offered in the US on the Si model)

• breezehaw on Jul 21, 2012 at 5:17 pm

In Taiwan Civic 2.0 just sell 89k. But Here sell 139K!!!??? 50k different!!! My God where the money going to?

• chua chim pao on Jul 22, 2012 at 9:39 pm

Honda bo sui la, kia ka sui

• My dear friends, If a 2.0 engine with 5 gear use less fuel than a 1.6 turbocharged CVT..which one will you choose?

• Shooosh. on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Rather get the Polo Sedan & install a RNS510 with Navigation @ 4k from the dealer.

• The hybrid price is ridiculous. in US, it sold at USD24,200, turns out RM77,400. Since govt said no Import Tax and Excise Tax, and the selling price (before road tax, etc) is RM115,000, what make the difference of RM38K? In whose pocket is the RM38K?

Don’t tell me the transportation cost (it is same that need to ship from Japan to US!).

With the USD24K, the seller already have some of the profit margin built in, right?

It really doesn’t make sense that the hybrid is still expensive in Malaysia!

Anyone can explain?

• watchman on Jul 26, 2012 at 5:04 pm

Ask Mahathir.

• drMpower on Jul 28, 2012 at 4:08 pm

this is the most stupid answer in the entire world here and after. for pete sake please kill yourself

the fact that matter is tax or no tax, the car prices will still be sky high. so that rules out the government of the day.

• Hanif on Jul 28, 2012 at 9:09 pm

asking.

if locals are selling such high price..

why not we try to import that hybrid car? since no import and excise tax, should be much cheaper than buying locally distributed hybrid cars. am I right?

anyone can give clear explaination on this?

• atifjeelan on Jul 28, 2012 at 5:42 am

better take the new hyundai elantra. cool design and more powerful specs then 1.8 civic. i go foe elantra!

• Terry on Jul 28, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Elantra need to wait for 3 – 5 months. Test drove the Elantra, no power at all. You go to try out first…

• zaff1984 on Jul 29, 2012 at 1:05 pm

the leather seats look fluffy.

• damage digital on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:36 pm

this make my current FD looks better.

• zeirn on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:50 am

go for peugeot 408 2.0, below 110k..conti. feeling

• JamesL on Aug 17, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Bodoh those buy this Civic. If you can buy this you can probably buy turbo Jetta or Golf which is superior in EVERY aspect. 0-100 also 8sec much faster than this civic 2.0 Even my mum Sonata YF cheaper and better than this a class above with sunroof and 165HP engine some more. Dunno how many civic got smoke by my Golf TSI. Want to buy Honda pls buy 1996 Honda Legend. Thats only good car which I bought 30K for my wife and good quality. Wake up Honda or u die tiong by Samsung and Bosch

• Bad people on Aug 28, 2012 at 4:01 pm

you sounds very stress…. those honda civic driver rape your family before?

• fans of JamesL on Sep 26, 2012 at 12:41 pm

LOL… love to see such comments for a laugh….
      JamesL we love you… you are such a hero that can stop people buying civic for being bodoh..

by the way, your comments make yourself naive and even bodoh although you dont buy this civic.

like a kids comments…

• Trueman on Aug 26, 2012 at 10:39 am

So many ballless dude whine here about the price…….If can’t afford dont buy,other car maker do it better than stick to their product,no need to whine here,just cry to your mom and beg her to remarry a loaded man.If you area man just work it out for the car.

• Aidil Azhar on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:04 pm

is the lady model far sale? ehhehe.. the lady is nicer than the car

• Honda and toyota like Nokia and Motorola…
    Kia and hyundai like samsung….

Let see who going to win….

• Civic FD 2011 owner on Sep 20, 2012 at 1:11 pm

my first car is honda city flowerhorn 1.5 vtec 2008 facelift with 2 years free service (all in labor and materials; just pay the monthly installment)- no problem, spacious and fuel save.

after 2 and half years i trade in for Civic FD 1.8 without having to cover any shortfall for bank loans – d/p for my trade in city is standard 10% only. this shows a very sustainable resale value for Honda.

i am very happy with my 1.8 civic now – average driving 150-170 km/pH very stable and fuel save. furthermore, after sales service for Honda is very superb ….. this is my own experience la.

• esaterror on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Better compared with my EK4 B16b…i ‘ll be tapau them all at highway…peace

• didot on Nov 14, 2012 at 10:46 pm

ermmmmm my sr4 is still wild….

• I can 100% guarentee that people that support this Honda Civic are people that haven’t experience Honda Malaysia before..

The previous gen Honda Civic is total crap and from my experience and tons of others as well, 90% of the buyers will regret getting Honda..

Its not surprising to see Toyota way ahead of Honda..

• HAHA ! Honda Cars CKD ones are total bullshits.. PLS NVR SUPPORT HONDA MALAYSIA.

• anti dugong on Mar 03, 2013 at 12:00 am

i would say toyota is producing very old school design and look so funny on the road. the best example is toyota vios……..