Volkswagen clarifies Polo GTI price increase – pricing re-evaluation by authorities!

Volkswagen Malaysia has clarified the Polo GTI price increase on their Facebook fan page, explaining that the re-evaluation of pricing by the authorities is the reason for the big price hike of about RM34k for both the 3-door and 5-door models. This sounds like the same reason why the Passat CC price was increased as well. So basically it could be that a chunk (if not all) of the extra cost you’ll be paying is actually tax.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MycarMylife on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:23 pm

U help me I help you ma , subsidize your Ron 95 and u subsidize my coffers ha ha

• Vader on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:53 pm

it seem that the G is really need the money..

• MoFaz on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:15 pm

If they need money that bad, they would’ve increased tax for all cars. Now ask why this affect VW only? Possibly because VW under-declare their car value previously and customs only find out about it now.

• MoFaz on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:20 pm

If they need money that bad, they would’ve increased tax for all cars. Not many VWs being sold anyway. Why this affect VW only? Possibly because VW under-declare their car value previously and customs only find out about it now.

• boncit on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:15 pm

OR …DRB want customer to focus on HONDA … maybe they have to pay more for VW brand, but not honda brand

• Obama on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:41 pm

We are really sicked and tired of this “authorities” by increasing tax by their liking. Where the money will go to then? We must act in the next GE.

• alldisc on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:44 am

i am thinking there wont be any adjustment on the taxes unless the basic price it applies on changes.

so that means, VW did adjust the car price before the taxes were adjusted by default.

the taxes are fixed, right? if not mistaken… 157% import tax (non ASEAN), 75% excise duty and 10% sales tax. or something like that which applies for CBU cars below 2000cc

• MycarMylife on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:10 am

Govt is expert in shootin itself in the foot.

• Simon Hoh on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Finally! Now to find out from the authorities why is there an increase in tax! Tax should be based on engine capacity and NOT how well a car is received by the consumers!

• Vader on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:56 pm

yup, it just a b-segment car..
      a big challenge for VW to increase market share in bolehland.. das malaisia

• paparadzi on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Negative. Tax should be based on fuel consumption and CO2 emission. Using engine capacity as a tax indicator is old-fashioned and inefficient. There are cars with small capacity but very powerful, low mpg and expensive.

• FxxxGxxx on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:05 am

is that why our Vios and City had sky rocket price increase over the generation?? lols!

• rapidshifter on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:26 pm

RM34k hike? WOW… hmmm for now VW..next?

• alldisc on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:50 am

VW was all hyped, being adored by malaysians in the past several years.

but just a friendly reminder to VGM – things can change. dont be too arrogant towards the people of malaysia.

10 years ago Kia was a very successful brand in malaysia, now they are down on their knees when they refuse to listen or acknolwedged customer complaints. the forte, sportage, sorento and optima are all good cars buy malaysian are staying away from Kia anymore. dont let the same thing happen to VW, yah?

• Bowie on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:27 pm

WTF !!! This is the first three letters from my mouth …

• Cosmo Artemis on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Dear Bowie,

If you currently owned a VW, the three letters will never go out from your mouth.

If you plan to have one of those VW, I say, gutluck!

• Bowie on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:12 pm

U r right bro … One of the rare case in history of Malaysia that value of Automobile been appreciated !

• iLoveHybrid on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:46 pm

By Authorities? Having Consumer’s Right, may I have the Transparency behind it?

This explanation shows how irresponsible is DRB Hicom & VW to Malaysian’s Consumer.

• alibaba on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:47 pm

VWM you better go to hell…. booked car since last yr and now price increased and you do not honor my booking!!!!!!!!!!!!!! damn you!

• armandd on Jul 17, 2012 at 7:42 pm

I thought those who booked earlier should get the old price, no? If VWM don’t honor your booking, you have every right to be angry…

• Haddy on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:05 pm

Same situation here bro. I plan to make a huge fuss over this. Already drafted letter to Volkswagen AG, cc VWM. This is total bull, I put a deposit down to secure a unit at a particular price. Not my problem if the government wants to raise prices later, VWM damn well better absorb it. As it is, they can’t even guarantee when I’ll get the damn car! What sort of German company does not let its distributors know the allocation of cars/models and scheduled delivery? VWM say they don’t know when its coming…my foot!

• Chris on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:57 pm

If VWM decide to charge you 170k for your polo instead of the original price, isn’t this like bait and switch??

• Stealth on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:25 am

When we pay deposit & sign the order form there is a term stated need to follow the market value. I doubt we can issue any legal action but writing to VW AG is a good idea.

• I think you guys should make the complain with Kastam instead. VW can’t do anything if they were asked to pay more taxes. This is another example of how controlled the automotive industry is, by the few big Mafia.

Example, G suddenly increase income tax by 20%. So you blame your company and expect them to pay for the tax increase?

• kadajawi on Aug 26, 2012 at 8:49 pm

The government screws you and VW and you complain to VW?! WTF? I mean there is no country to my knowledge where out of nowhere they decide that one particular product of one particular brand has to be much more expensive. Only in Malaysia this is possible. Germans simply don’t expect such idiocy.

• BeemerFreak on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:33 am

Hey I was worse off I booked a Passat CC Sport in April only to know the old stock ran out. They asked me to wait for the facelift and then did not launch a 2.0 tsi model with the facelift. Put it that way at least you could have your car, mine forever gone.

Screw the fucking government of Malaysia. Don’t tax based your whims and fancies, it is non of VGM fault, they declare the right value only to be told that they declare it in the wrong category after sales has gone well. You are going out this general election, you have done nothing but screw and make difficult the life of Malaysians

• i wonder what will happen to the car prices after the current gov loses power. hmm

• For years Malaysians have been supportive of the Gomen, allowing them to plunder the nation blind. This is yet another such incident. So, blame no one but ourselves.

• kelvin on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:52 pm

I am more happy for BarangNak to go to hell.

• jalan54 on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Nothing will change for the car price, even if there is changes, it will only be a slight drop, if they drop the price tremendously, the automobile market will crash.
      Damage has been done by current G and thanks to the current G, all people in Malaysia will never be able to enjoy reasonable car price for at least another 5 years.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:48 pm

The automotive market will have to go through a reform with strategies by the govt to cushion the price adjustments and reduced tax revenues. People will have to decide whether they should continue to be slaves to high car prices or allow appropriate reforms to take its painful course.

• Car Driver on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:12 am

Yup agreed. Damage already done by current govt and the National Car plan. The only thing we helpless rakyat can do is dont buy cars. No wonder it is so hard to keep savings these days.

• Jimmy on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:12 pm

After the current gov loses power:
      Anwar and LIMGE reduce taxes on all vehicles and do not protect Proton anymore, car prices are reduced by 30% because of tax reduction (C-class will be at Accord’s price only) and everybody will be happy for 3 to 5 years only BECAUSE: UMW-H will raise back the price to original with FACELIFTS or new generations, and telan bulat-bulat the profit from tax reductions.
      So, after the current gov loses power, UMW-H will LAUGH and forever vote for PKR.

• abdul123 on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:49 pm

It will go down.

• alldisc on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:05 am

not much will change, as this will affect economy of many malaysian individuals.
      we cannot expect the 75% excise duty to be withdrawn immediately, right?

what happened to those who just bought a vios at 80K? their car value will drop to 60K in over 3 months because the new one is selling at 65K.

or someone bought a new 6 speed camry 2.5 at 180K. then after election, no more excise duty so UMW changed the price to 120K. it will not be fair to him.

in my personal opinion, we do look forward to price reduction in new cars and the best way is by reducing the rate bit by bit. something like 5-8% a year for the next 5 years. this way a golf 1.4 at 150K can be had for 5K less or abt 145K. that makes more sense. meaning the last 3-4 months of the year every car manufacturer will struggle to move their stocks, therefore offering great discounts.

the people win again.

• Gegary on Jul 23, 2012 at 10:48 am

People who already bought cars will still suffer from the uncertainty over how much cars will depreciate.

BETTER:

Keep prices high, INCLUDING FOR P1, P2, Naza etc. Just like Singapore (and HK?).

THEN, use the extra income to ELIMINATE tolls, build better infra to REDUCE traffic jam, INCREASE road safety so roads can have higher speed limit, MORE PARKING, etc etc. And also build better public transport for those who can’t afford cars (this also reduces jam!)

Also, don’t forget > cars too cheap > too many cars on the road – no one can get anywhere quickly, reduce your benefit from owning a car!!

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Which govt agency forced the increase? Customs? MITI? MoF?

Malaysians, haven’t you had enough of being taken for a ride by our govt?

• NAP my FOOT! Nak liberize automative industry KONON! Yeah, more like liberize all govt cronies and get rid of competition. Says a lot about our current govt, doesn’t it? So who are u gonna vote this coming GE?

• jab strong fierce! on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Justice has been served and us early adopters are literally paying zero interest for our bank loans right after the price hike =D

• open door on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:56 pm

yeepee!!! officially anounce meaning second hand polo GTI can sell higher price!!! and with this price tag … hope not many people will drive same car like me!!! haha…. now is unaffordable for alot of people!!! hahah……. bravo VWM… gracia VWM!

• kelvin on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:53 pm

No secondhand buyer one lah. Why so happy?

• open door on Jul 18, 2012 at 2:28 pm

:p i got offered for 145k!!! hahah…. after 9 mths driving still can make money……. VW!! i love u!

• What for to buy your second hand polo GTI??
      It better to go for Ford Focus, Hyundai Elantra….and your Polo GTI goes to trash!!

• VWM = WTF on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:58 pm

totally agreed …. WTF!…. is same as VWM 2!

• Anti_Fuel_Price on Jul 17, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Just because Polo GTI well received & superior 1.4 engine performance, the authorities felt:
    “hmmmm…. Let’s do something to this outsiders”
    “boss but increase 34K, wouldn’t be over?”
    “Don’t worry M’sia buyers can pay or they force to choose brand T or H” coz they invest heavily in our country”
    “Oohhh ya since RM 130K price range of course our rising sun partners feel the pinch in their sales, alrite boss….. I’ll do the price adjustment immediately!”

• Merc=Real Euro on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:05 pm

err.. wasnt mini the culprit?

• Estimosis on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:12 pm

It not fair to say to VWM “Go take your Polo GTI and die!”.. but you sure got a point there…

• macroman on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:03 pm

I like your story telling style… can anyone help draw ome frames fo these dialogus with maybe a melodramatic background of evil empires and shit.. make it into a movie

• FxxxGxxx on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:14 am

force to choose p1 or p2 for fresh graduate.. whr at other country fresh graduate getting city/civic class is piece of cake..

• Salleh on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:07 pm

Anyway, as I wrote it before in another page, I doubt that it got to do with the competitors. Else, BMW malaysia already asked gahmen to block grey importers from importing recond bmw/mini

have u ever wonder how come there is no more recond Golf GTI in Malaysia after WALD bring in em last time?

btw resale value of VW is much more worse than Merc and BMW. well at least you still can sell 15 years old W202 or E36 with the right price, but VW?

even the VW Golf GTI MK5 selling at one of the famous online website also kenot sell at RM 9X K price.Mind you the car has been advertised for quite some time.

• What has resale value or how the time taken to sell a car have to do with a price change? Are you on the same page as the rest of us or are you just looking for reasons to complain about VW/VWM?

Why are there no more re-cond GTIs in Malaysia? Simple, because the current GTI pricing from VWM cannot be matched by grey importers.

The unit of GTI that is unsold is probably in bad condition so that is why it cannot be sold. Besides, the time taken to sell a car does not relate to this post at all. I can also name a lot of BMWs that take forever to sell.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:01 pm

This is the surprise that current VW will experience down the road. Price increases will drive people away from creating a healthy market for an upcoming brand. As this happens, spare parts will become harder to source and more costly to replace, making maintenance of old/used models difficult outside of VGM’s network. Unless you are rich enough to continue to maintain your car with VGM after the warranty, I don’t see how some people here think that this will make their cars more valuable.

• _xXx_ on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:05 pm

sure onot??? Last time I saw many mk5 owners advertised their car like no or sikit depreciation even after mk6 launch…I was wondering who would want to pay 180-190k for a 1-2 years old used mk5…

• Who said no recond model for gti?.. My fren bought already with grey importer @ AP holder..the price aroumd rm 140 k for unregistered. .VW sell for rm 240k for brand new turbo Golf Gti

• Grey importer also gomen cronny la!

• cooolaid on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:27 pm

What you wrote before in another page and what you are trying to sell here is the same – no logic / warped thinking.

• 1. They can’t block someone with AP to bring in cars. Don’t forget, guys with AP are sub-mafia as well or they won’t get AP.

2. You can’t assume just because ONE SINGLE car was listed for a long time at a low price. Did u call to check? Did it have bad history? Last time I check on a month old posting, the car was sold but website still show it’s available.

• ABTguy on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Crazy G, must change it !!

Instead of fighting harder on corruptions, cow business, they go and tax the taxpayer to balance their pocket. WTF !!!

• Merc=Real Euro on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:18 pm

things are getting out of control…. Car are getting more expensive by the day…Any new launches the price increases by few thousand and before you know it is in tens of thousand….

• zidane on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:42 pm

If you are not buying this VW… you dont pay the tax increase by the “Authority” right?

• kelvin on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:57 pm

BarangNaik as usual. After GE, if BarangNaik win, we will be even more shock, the car price is more expensive and the petrol price will naik too.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Don’t forget the sleeping evil called GST that will be applied in addition to all taxes we already paying. The BN govt is just waiting to introduce this regressive tax structure to suck us dry of any purchasing power.

• Cosmo Artemis on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:02 am

Ala…if PR jadi gomen pun, are you sure they won’t do the same?

I bet if you are the gomen, you will do the same. Don’t talk shit “I will give back to people la, open tender la, no taxes la…” etc. Those are nonsense. And, all those people around Anwar, LGE or NA, are they just supporting and pushing them to the top ‘just like that’ without anything? Come on, be sense and come to the reality. At least, a small gomen contract to clean school or grass cutting should be ok. Or a taxi permit will do just fine. I help you, you help me la.

Tell me, when the gomen reduce RON95 recently, did the goods price reduce?

I tell you what, oil money from Petronas is quickly drying since there is not much oil available overthere. Therefore, be ready la kawan.

PR also a human like BN. If got chance, they will ngap as well. There money is there, why let other people ngap? Balun dulu lah!

OK, back to car. If the NAP is abolished, do you think the car price will be cheaper? Do you think all the Merc, Ferrari, Audi owners will be happy? Since the tax is no more there, technically price for new cars will drop like crazy.

• Salleh on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:08 pm

dear open door,

yeah, you can put any price that you like, but to get a buyer for Polo is like… err… like selling used Alfa or Pug.

So good luck!

• Merc=Real Euro on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Polo was already overpriced to begin with now it is even overpriced… actually all VW cars overpriced.
    VW pls go and fix your unreliable DSG gearbox…
    Mechatronic failure, juddering issue, clutch pack are to name a few. Pls dont let the consumer be the guinea pig. If you have done a proper testing all these issue would have come up and fixed. Why let us consumer suffer?.

• kelvin on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:59 pm

VW has nothing wrong. It is our BarangNaik tax, we rakyat suffer because of BarangNaik.

• Let’s not talk about VW overpriced la, all cars in bolehland are overpriced la… there will be endless argument about the actual value of our car we paid as long as current Gmen still making the same policy.. Is proton and perodua worth paying 50k?? same story la..

• Merc=Real Euro on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:13 pm

Worse still if pay 70K and got DSG problem may be acceptable..but 100+K!!!!!
    It is like paying gold price for silver!!!!!
    Not worth it…. German Engineering my foot…

• increasing price of private vehicles is among step could be done to encourage people to take public transports beside improving PT facilities. go ahead.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Are you working for the clowns increasing the price or what? Don’t you have it backwards? Improve public transport first and then only people will use it more!

• kelvin on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:03 pm

How to You get to work whithout any public transport. You have to really think before you talk. Please increase the price of Proron as well, to really encourange you to take public tranport.

• Yes yes, agreed. Question is WHERE ARE THE PUBLIC TRANSPORT????

I can run all over the place using public transport in Singapore, Hong Kong and even Bangkok. KL? Trying to get Taxi also problem. KL Sentral, so called central train station… where is the Monorail stop? Where is the Ampang line? Public Transport konon… don’t even get me started on that freaking useless ministry that is responsible.

• Jhuan on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Just when all of us thinking VW is selling at right price, here come the bomb!

RM34k is crazy! How would anyone willing to pay so much for a Polo?!

Tell us which model next? Golf? Or Passat?

Why not increase Proton/Perodua taxes as well? So that all of us no need to buy new car, and continue using our old car until it perish.

Is it VW selling too well? Or T & H brand lousy sales figures that provoke this action? I wonder?!

• I think the Cross Touran is a steal for what it offers. Especially with the 2011 clearance price.

• “Why not increase Proton/Perodua taxes as well? So that all of us no need to buy new car, and continue using our old car until it perish”

Then P1 and P2 will perish first.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Their prices were already high to begin with. Expect it to get worse if they were ever to add more specs or introduce new models. The CC and now Polo will take a bad hit.

• kelvin on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Because of our caring BarangNaik regime, I am now driving my car until it perish. Thank you BarangNaik. 1Melesia, 1Melesia, 1Melesia.

• macroman on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:18 pm

psst.. land rover evoque 2.0T engine from mondeo, 10 months wait. MANYAK ORG KAYA WOOOOOO…

• FxxxGxxx on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:22 am

Jhuan, blame your G. Nth to do with T & H sales. Fyi please check the sales volume by T & H before bashing. Sick of u ppl.

• T & H are locally or ASEAN assembled so they are priced lower. It’s the other makes managed by Sime that’s responsible.

• BRShooter on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Alfa Romeo giulietta rm17xk, polo GTI rm16xk. Which car u all choose??

• division93 on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:39 pm

BN can just go F*** themselves.Just being hopeful that if there is gonna be a new government(if you know who loses)the first thing a car buyer should demand is having the automotive tax burned.

• zidane on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:40 pm

Hahaha… easy escape by VW… maybe… to get ppl sympathy…

when ppl ask… the salesman can quickly answer…

Ni govt punya pasal la ni, kita pun nak cari makan…

So, no one knows, which part, person of Govt they have to go to make the complaint…

• who likes polo anyway on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:45 pm

i dont see any other CBU unit in the market hiking up their prices.

• benedict on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:49 pm

very naiss…now people got money only can buy and wont have lots of people driving this car around..u no money go buy ur uncle toyota la..

• Garfield on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:54 pm

I would not take everything VW said in its face value. There was nothing they need need to explain, nor will you extract anything out from the authorities even if you enquire. Nowhere is stated that tax is calculated by horsepower, it’s by multitude of factors but most importantly by the cubic capacity. The car companies are here to make money and such is the business in Bolehland that they would never lose any.

They would happily make more money selling the Polo Sedan by pointing out to prospective customers just how expensive their car should have been. Heck they will sell even more of the Polo 1.2 TSI now. It’s not like 300 units of the GTI flying off their sales floor every month anyway. Anyone dumb enough to still buy is just bonus for them anyway.

Anyone still dumb enough to think VW is Teutonic luxury deserves them just as well.

• Merc=Real Euro on Jul 17, 2012 at 7:31 pm

well said…

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:59 pm

Unfortunately, the final prices and accessories must be approved by the govt before any distributor is allowed to complete any sale. Also VW is not a luxury brand by any stretch of the imagination, VW has Audi for that. For VW, by jacking up their already high prices, or by providing meager specs at high prices for their mainstream branded cars will not positively increase sales. People who can afford to pay such high prices would already go for their premium brands or other luxury brands. So this move will only reduce sales and bring it into a price bracket where buyers are looking for premium. The only buyers who would buy at this price are the uninformed or those who are blindly loyal to the brand.

• _xXx_ on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:54 pm

so guys u shd know by now what cars not to give a damn to, do u???

• Budget 2013 on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Hey All,

We all should voice out our opinions and thoughts as our PM wants to from the rakyat before the Budget 2013 and who knows they might do something to rectify and the price might come back down …

https://www.google.com/moderator/#16/e=1fed26

One of the suggestions given from the site
    “Cars and houses are two biggest components of our monthly expenditure. If these 2 items can be tackled, you would solved majority of raykat’s burden. If you abolish taxes for cars (including foreign makes) and AP for this budget, I will vote for you.”

• Metroboy on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Well said. I fully agree. I hate this current Gov’t, make life miserable for all. The only happy people are the cronies and their associates.

• zidane on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:40 am

well… where in the world that you can find the People are happy with the Govt?

Give me one country…

• GreenFuel on Jul 18, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Go Brunei then you will know how good their gov treat their citizen

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:39 am

life is so miserable until you can not buy a polo that is. If not why bother posting it here. We are spoilt with choices, if this is not to your liking move on, dont just look for the fall guy for your miserable life!

• Dont hate this govt simply for the increase in car prices, i doubt the alternative govt is any better…there are more important issues in this world.

• TheSceneBehind on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Let me explain: Authority means who? GOV? might be DRB Hicom.
    Why? VW Polo GTi is having some mechanic problems. It needs cost to do the repair before giving out to the customer. Tax will not rise. there’s a policy. you think the DRB wont fight kao kao?
    As a result of cost repair of New Polo GTi, Price incresed, GOV got more income at the same time since the Percent% of Tax if fixed!

• TheSceneBehind on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:01 pm

This is part of business tactics. Toshiba used to have a failure Android Tablet which eventually raised the price to 2x to prevent customer buying it.
      And for the case of DRB, they wouldnt allow such case to be transparent to the consumer. This will deeply affect the reputation they have gain so far.

• alldisc on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:13 am

the price increase is to cover losses from warranty claims lah

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:31 pm

Note that the DSG issues are also inherent in other models in their line-up. So the increase would be across the line-up. Furthermore, if VW and DRB are in cahoots, they can’t make up a better story, like increase of production costs, etc, no need to play the blame game to make people more pissed off with the govt.

• _xXx_ on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:59 pm

shiok spending rm500 for the ‘poor’, tnb green appliances rebate, sch kid dunno wat marney rm200….etc etc. Okay, pay back time….

• farghmee on Jul 17, 2012 at 5:59 pm

i have 2 opinions:

1. weh, org kaya xkn bising la kalu naik byk tu.

or

2. margin untung VW mmg besar? gomen increases price, vw can reduce profit, so sell at slightly higher price?

• bonbon on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:11 pm

how the hell is gov going to draft Akta Persaingan?

• alldisc on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:33 am

for those knowing :-

The Competition Act 2010 prohibits anti-competitive agreements and the abuse of dominant position in the market and has been in forced since 1 January 2012.

in europe it is even better. if a Vauxhall Astra is sold at £14,999 in UK and someone able to purchase the same car from Belgium at £12,850 and brought it to UK under personal import scheme, there is nothing much Vauxhall GB can do about it. the competition act prevents abuse of dominant position in the market.

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:42 am

do more research boy rather than barking out the things that has already been in place this year.

• Bullshit from vwm utting the blame on the authority.

Did vwm cheated in the beginning by under declaring the price of the car? And now got found out by the authority?

There is no tax structure change from the government on car tax, else we would have seen all cars price went up!

• Metroboy on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:06 pm

I think you either young or naive. No multinational would put up this statement unless it is the truth.

• Boy, you need to grow up instead of believing whatever bullshit given by multinational company.

• zidane on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:43 am

So… Multinational company is always right and national company always cheating?

What a low esteem minded…

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:44 am

im not sure how young you are, but please do more research before posting those self demeaning statement, youre just embarrassing your self.

• oblong on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:41 am

Ya lor…why always VM only increase their prices…first Passat CC…now Polo GTI…VM is like ‘Mario Ballotelli’ in M’sia auto industry…good finishing skill but problematic individual heheheh!

• Wisdom on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:44 am

Their finishing skills is not that good either with all those problematic DSG…

• I’m baffled by your attitude… honestly. All these accusations of cheating and what not. From my experience, only ONE PARTY (and all their crony) have the power to make such changes.

Did you know that more than 90% of people have cancelled their Polo GTi order? If VW have 200 cars sitting at the port, does it make business sense to earn 30k more from 20 cars but cannot sell 180 cars worth 15 MILLION??? I don’t want to be rude but I think you need to use your brain a little more.

• Hanif on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Ok. Where did the money go?

• Kalun on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Where do the money go?

Malaysian submarine
      Rosmah purse
      Election campaign
      Bribery

• zidane on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:23 am

Malaysian submarine – SUARAM HOAX
        Rosmah purse – false accusation maybe
        Election campaign – CORRECT
        Bribery – probably

• Kalun – dont be kalut!
        You need to post more intelligent remarks. Nothing to do with anyone’s purse. I reason VM increased the base price and the govt follow suit to adjust the tax based on the increased base price. Vw was not honest when they misled the buyers saying demand exceed supply leading to shortage of stocks. The reality was they were waiting for govt clearance to increase the prices due to good demand. The stocks were waiting at the port all the while!

• jalan54 on Jul 17, 2012 at 6:27 pm

If that is true, fcuk the authorities, whoever they are!

• Hmm.. .. Can’t be the Audi A1 complaining kan? Just saying …

• VW owns 100% of Audi and also Bentley, Bugatti, Ducati, Lamborghini, Seat, Skoda and Porsche. What do you think?

• I said it before and I’m saying it again, it’s just going into someone’s pocket.

• Henry on Jul 17, 2012 at 7:17 pm

No need to fret. Just go buy something else.

• Trololo-nyancat on Jul 17, 2012 at 7:17 pm

This is one classic example of why I don’t need sex. They government f**ks me everyday :)

I never asked for cheap fuel in favor of expensive cars. Rather have it vice-versa.

• Salleh on Jul 17, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Polo is one bloody small car…smaller than Viva

Even though it is a pocket rocket as some claimed but RM 160K++ price tag wont justified it.

Golf GTI is just nice… but I think they may want to increase the price too…

increase it to RM 300K lah… let the buyer wait for two bloody years… thats what we call RARE cars LOL!

• DArkerMarker on Jul 17, 2012 at 7:21 pm

SUKA-SUKA only…..

• Robocop on Jul 17, 2012 at 7:26 pm

damn..malysia tax really kill rakyatsss..polo, golf, Megane and many more car at UK just ate dust beside the road.very2 cheap..

• Dr Mamak on Jul 17, 2012 at 7:35 pm

We don’t need sex because we are screwed by Barang Naik regime everyday!

• bmpower on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Which or Who authority u mean?

• tiadaid on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:16 pm

Yeah…trust DRB bulat2 say G’s to blame. Who’s to say the rise is due to the rise in car cost & additional markup?

Of course they’re not gonna say that!

• quottro on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Oh how convenient and expensive a ‘re-evaluation’ of the price of a road going model…

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Blame perodua. I’m sure they have something to do with the hike.

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Blamee perodua. I’m sure they have something to do with the hike.

• Bongcs on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Now government will ride all of us to the Moon….

• phlizzow on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:03 pm

please increase the price more and more.. coz i am not gonna buy it anyway.. let the rich guy pay the tax more this way.. good for them.. average people should only use bike to work..

• seriousdude on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:10 pm

aha…i was rite when i suspect the increase is due to G

• Wargreymon on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Rosmah doesnt have money to go overseas and shopping maybe? lol

• Mr Osama on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Hehehe….Only Sor Hai Malaysian willing to pay that much for cars! The Mat Sallehs are really puzzled by our Sor Hai behaviour, buying the BMWs, Mercs etc….:)))

• KillBox1Alpha on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:16 pm

Aiyaa….apa susah sangat..harga naik…lagi mahal…jangan beli la…habis cerita…apsal nak kutuk VWM or gomen…

Beli preve jer…..

• encikpadil on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:53 pm

kalau minyak naik? tarif letrik naik? semua barang naik? boleh ke kita jgn x beli jugak semua tu? bodoh ko ni!!!

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:51 am

hes just referring to the car, which i do agree. who is the ‘bodoh’ person now? blatantly lambasting the govt in a car blog on other matters unrelated to cars.

• encikpadil on Jul 18, 2012 at 2:13 pm

i disagree with you. actually there were too many hidden charges/taxes in every single thing sold in Malaysia and the rakyat doesn’t have a proper channel to voice out their opinion. please don’t just watch tv1, tv3/read berita hairan, utusan malaya only. now who’s the bodoh/buta/ person now? you or the rest of malaysian that are willing to change at least once in 50+ years?

• optimus on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:25 pm

polo gti buyer pay $ -> vw -> DRB -> g
    vw must be regretting coming to bolehland…

• Good Luck Polo,all the best to Volkswagen.

• paparadzi on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:37 pm

“the re-evaluation of pricing by the authorities”

In the free market VW is free to value the car at RM1000, and pay the appropriate tax in term of percentage for it. They can also value it at RM1000000 as long as they pay the appropriate tax. After all they are the one who will make the profit or loss. The authorities should not be interfering with the market.

But of course, this is Malaysia. Rakyat didahulukan? Poorah!

A note to the opposition parties: Make a decent promise on automotive policies that will enable the people to own cheaper decent cars, and you will get your voters.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Unfortunately a simple concept some people here can’t grasp. People think distributors can suka-suka put any price and gain market share. Unless they are T/H/N, such an act will just put a damper on their growing brand.

• YeapyEvo on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:43 pm

25% bankrupt due to default in car loan, partly due to Beban Negara policy of high car prices

• Insight kaki on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:07 am

They are not living within their means and do not use prudence when it comes to finances. Gaya mesti ada attitude.

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:53 am

another stupiak statement, this is simple dont live beyond your means. If you cant afford it dont buy it oh i guess after this you will blame the bank for it.

• jonjon on Jul 28, 2012 at 10:13 am

halo metroboy..tell that to your honorable leader and his wife to stop using the tax money i pay every for their personal means..however i would happily pay for her to get a new haircut because i kesian her with that ridiculous haircut..

• Salleh on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:45 pm

…and the “authorities” might be Albukhary and Co.

Or perhaps someone “miscalculated” the tax stuff just like Alfa Romeo last time. when SD takeover AR from Milan Auto everything goes up.

How come when these cronies company takeover the franchise suddenly all must go up?

I think Malaysians really getting fed up with all these nonsense… like someone said, car and house are the biggest commitments most of us normal citizens pay every month. I pity those who born after 1990 ( who now currently in their 20s ) and wondering how the hell they gonna pay for their car and house when average salary doesn’t change much for the past 10 years…

This coming General Election, make a wise move. Vote for a better future.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Just like how our sugar prices went up when the govt took over Kuok’s sugar refineries. Same situation with our water and utilities piratisation.

• beatnik on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Authorities.. yaa right..
    The ‘G’ will be smart enough to increase the price of polo tsi, polo sedan and golf tsi instead, coz they are too ‘affordable’.
    Perhaps VWM realized the initial price of polo gti was too ‘cheap’ and decided to increase when it receives a huge booking.. hence the long waiting period is just good timing for the price hike. Stop pointing the finger!

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Very funny, you mean VW want to get rid of the customers buying Polo GTI because they have too many? Wow, makes so much business sense. After all VGM can always frame the govt by putting the blame on them and not worry their permits and licenses to operate be revoked. Yeah, the govt is so scared of VW.

• beatnik on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:24 am

*FACEPALM*

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:04 am

sometimes its a business strategy where car manufacturers try to limit sales on their car due to certain not so major faults OR the cars cause so much trouble that hits their pocket in terms of warranty claim.

Imagine what would happened if they recall Polo GTI? how much money they have to fork out to do this?

im not pro govt, but the statement does not state which authority. It is our nature to jump into conclusion that authority means govt. Mind you theres no mention about tax in the statement.

• jonjon on Jul 28, 2012 at 10:17 am

metroboy..i’m starting to get a feeling that you’re one of those gomen cybertroopers..

• polo saga on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:47 pm

time to change our moron, corrupted government, enough is enough!!!!

• This govt is better than the alternative govt- it is commomn for humans to look at the negatives only and ignore the positives

• U call that statement A clarification?? pfftt..

If you really want to clarify put la, should give more explanation, or how much is the price of car without the tax and then itemized all the taxes and whatever else that makes the total price. Well car dealers used to itemized all the items including the price and the tax for consumer to see.

• Jimmy on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:19 pm

This is what they said.
    Remember a lot of things that we read in newspaper are only 30% true. Newspaper A bergaduh dengan LIMGE and he/she said LIMGE bergaduh dengan semua newspapers in the whole world. Lack of confidence and kuasa, that’s why NEED to involve a whole lot of innocent people.

• teelim on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:21 pm

now who was it who said “don’t blame the government”?

XD

• DArkerMarker on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:28 pm

HAHAHAHA, poor poor malaysian…being conned left right up down.

Thanks to our blood sucking govt and the cronies.
    In the next 10 years, i bet its gonna be even worst.

so, Vote for your future sake, guys and gals…

• ShaqBkr on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:36 pm

yeahh..perfect timing to sell my polo.
    (if you know what i mean)

• Ongtk on Jul 17, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Before announce new NAP, re-evaluate car prices, increased prices! After NAP, reduce car prices back to old level. Net effect of NAP = NIL. No loss of tax revenue to government.

• Why don’t we forget about cars, and focus more on property investment?

Use the car that you’re having now.

• farghmee on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:53 am

err…we’re in paultan.org rite? not in howtobuyproperty.net..

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:06 am

and we are not in the “bash the govt blog” either, if you know what i mean

• retard on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:21 am

the authorities acknowledge the german products are the ultimate & superior as compared to japs, korean, lokal product & other un-german made.

high regards to the germans

• Josh Ling on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:43 am

somehow i feel this is the easiest way of blaming someone for something you have done. price hike? blame the government….who knows what’s behind the scene? i can’t see why government is the biggest beneficiary out of this thing. of course the tax could be one of the reasons, but putting RM34k on a VW vehicle while we have never heard any other vehicles other than another VW vehicle has the similar price hike, i don’t think tax is the main “contributor” of the whole thing…..

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:06 am

well said

• nicholas on Oct 25, 2012 at 2:30 am

although I don’t know who to blame but I really don’t think it is VW that is responsible because if they wanted to make a profit, this is the dumbest move… if I were VW and I want to make a profit out of the current situation I would increase the price by RM10K … people would complain but not many will cancel their order… I won’t say the government is trying to earn the mere few millions of tax from VW but the reason why most of the people would think the government is the culprit is because of the irrational tax rate that currently exist… they might not be the culprit but they are not innocent either…

• bagero on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:54 am

somebody is trying to cover his arse! did it mention bout tax?? who’s authorities? why so general maahh?? has anyone clever enuff to think that mayb VW trying to gain more profit from this new prices?? now paultan trying to be moron again… making assumption due to tax??? helloo!!? r u that stupid again?? dont make assumption and speculation laa bro!! paultan is kiasu enuff to dig the truth from VW itself.. now blame the tax?? ahahaha what a joke!!

• master on Jul 18, 2012 at 7:52 am

Your theory doesn’t sound clever at all. In facts it smells like bull.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 18, 2012 at 11:16 am

Or maybe you are having a hard time of understanding the govt is the master of this country, can do whatever they like? They are the ones controlling the market and keep messing with it.

• The govt has more important thing to get involved with rather than to meddle with a puny 1.4 cc car.
        I dare say the culprit is VW

• braderG on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:07 am

it seems that VWM are not paying enough kopi table to the invisible metal hand in the G.

• this is just a ploy la. vw is increasing thier profit levels and conveniently blame the govt for everything.

• Fed up with GOV. ABU

• Leonardo on Jul 18, 2012 at 8:59 am

Ironically ‘Volks Wagen’ or ‘People’s Car’ was meant to be an affordable car before/after WW2 in Germany. I guess it is not anymore. Not even in Germany.

• Rulered on Jul 18, 2012 at 9:57 am

Middle income trap. In this country the mid income earners have to support the lower income and the higher income. They, in return will support the G.

• mad aly on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:12 am

The manufacturer or the licenced assembler always blaming the tax!! Stupid reason from VW.. Its not the tax but ur (VW) profit margin very high..

And gov for sure silent on the issue coz the licenced dealer/assembler is their cronies!! My answer to them, u can fool some people sometimes, but u cant fool all the people all the time (Bob Marley).. :P

It’s time to rakyat to wake up and gather a public demonstration to protest the car ridiculous car price on malaysia..

• Caruser on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:14 am

VW sales in Malaysia will be badly affected by this price increase. I don’t think VW wanted such thing to happen. We can stop hoping about car lower prices with the new NAP which could be another set of new policies to protect P1 and P2

• Sales price of a Polo GTi including tax in country of origin is R272000 (RM105,098), CIF value from the departing port dont know (20-40% could be the tax over there, maybe someone should dig that out).

Tax structure in this country is (35+75%+10%) for the 4 doors GTi such as this. But tax rate are add on by tiers after another tax added (not 120% total!, maybe someone should clarify this in the cabinet!)

You may paying RM80-100K tax for the car, base on this new price.
    My thought, don’t buy car with loan save another 10-30% by buying with cash. If you pay your tax as your earn, IRB can’t touch you at all.

In case you are taking bank loan, after paying bank 100K, later found unable to pay back, the court will still declare you bankruptcy. A modern case of how tax can affect so much in your life. Tax reduction is a must, or traveling allowance for personal income rebate should be in place. The current tax structure only prosper the Government. The highest tax contribution sector in the country.

• Wisdom on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:19 am

VW cars has been always been overrated and overhyped in Malaysia. Owning a VW seems so superior and ‘high class’ for some Malaysian. I support this increment so those living in pure ‘hearsay’ keeps on milking this german cow till they lost everything.

BWM and Merc might be slightly superior than ordinary sedan from the rest of the world (though Lexus catching up- I take Ct200h anytime than a Polo). Audi is underdog. But VW? sorry bro you’re just ordinary cars with slightly tweaked engine (which subsequently affect your tranny). Those VW owners gone through the remapping recall should notice that power lost.

For me, its enough from VW. VW CARS IS NOTHING. Even worst with this price-adjustment-pointing-finger exercise.

• matlimmutu on Jul 18, 2012 at 10:32 am

authorities??? ya la tu, vw is blaming others. boooooo to vw. polo or golf nice car??? design like 90s. thumbs down to vw.

• Guys, I can’t comprehend the all the misdirected animosity and hatred towards the Govt especially when it comes to issues like this one.
    Anything that is bad, blame Government.
    We need more clarification from VW, their statement without further details tantamount to defamation to the Government.

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:01 pm

not all people thinking it through, they just swallow what has been given in front of them. cant blame them though.

• matlimmutu on Jul 18, 2012 at 12:26 pm

vw thinks their cars r like bmw or merc. thumbs down to vw.

• Why dun we check the price inLangkawi? Then we know how much the actual value and the tax la.

• merepek on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:39 pm

wah too many keyboard warrior..
    got money just buy..
    what care want…
    no money; type2.. comment2..
    haha

• k_man on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:43 pm

Bet that the 20plus who tick excited at this article are current owners of the said car..

• govt is falling he next GE.. go fuck themselves.. we dont need such a cruel parents to guide us..

• Metroboy2 on Jul 18, 2012 at 4:15 pm

whats that got to do with the increase in polo gti price? if you got guts go parang those at wisma putra

• Dude, it’s very simple. If Kastam don’t clear your stock, it’s as good as they have never landed in Malaysia.

Kastam: Halo VW, kami dapat complain Polo GTi you under declare ya. Pihak yang complain tu ada submit data yg tunjuk Polo ni lebih pantas dari Cooper S yang di jual RM228 ribu tapi Polo you jual RM136 ribu je.
        VW: Tapi kost Polo memang harga tu. Manufacturing kami dengan menguna platform sharing memang boleh menurun harga kereta kami. Mini tak ada platform sharing sebab tu kost mereka tinggi.
        Kastam: Sori la bro, kami dah dapat arahan dari Dato KSU MITI untuk naikan kategori Polo ni. Kalau you nak dapat clearance, kena bayar cukai baru lah.
        VW: *sweat* Wah bang, cukai kategori ni terlalu tinggi. Kami tak akan dapat jual kereta kami ni. Susah lah…
        Kastam: Sudah dapat arahan dari KSU in. Kalau ada complain, memang macam tu la. You boleh appeal kat MITI tapi pihak complain tu orang kuat. Lagi you appeal, kena tunggu. Tak tau lah, 6 bulan ke se tahun. Kereta pun karat dah.
        VW: *sweat even more*
        Kastam: Ingat ya, you buat appeal, KSU tak suka, kami akan dapat arahan process clearance you last. Tu lebih teruk. Semua kereta you kena tanggung. You dah submit 2 ribu kereta nak masuk kan? Mungkin kena tunggu sampai tahun depan… you punya storage charge pun kena berapa ribu dah?
        VW: *admit defeat*

• Bullshitting again. Putting VWM as the innocent side, while Kastam as the bad man. Very very bullshitting without any ground.

You think Volkswagen is that stupid or innocent?

• stealth on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:22 am

@ RCZ, why would VW kill their Polo GTI sales? it doesn’t make sense. Do you think it is so easy to just blame the government openly? Govermnent can always hit back no? Do you think that the Tax review decision is fake as if VW is asking “Dato Seri, I think you under charge our Polo GTI la, please increase the Tax”?

• RCZ, if you say they are bullshitting, then PROOF IT!!! I’m of seeing your comments. Anyone with COW sense will know that they will kill themselves by raising price that much. All it takes is consumer to take them to Tribunal and they will have NO CHOICE but to sell at old price. So, let me see you proof that VW is bullshitting!!! Don’t talk only, like Barang Naik.

• KL, proof? Simple. Why other makers don’t have price hike but only VWM Polo GTI? More tax on Polo GTI? Why?

VWM should clarify instead of putting the blame on the “authorities”.

Do you have proof that government raise tax on car? I doubt, as there is no price change on other cars in the country. Simple logic isn’t it?

• nicholas on Oct 25, 2012 at 3:08 am

because their price is already hiked, that’s why… VW manage to cari lubang to reduce the tax previously but somehow their lubang has been found out and shut down so their price return to the normal expensive price like those other imported car we are buying…

• If the sales went down for the second half of the year, vw may reflect this to the government. Other makers may also revise their investment plan in malaysia.

• Expensive Jap on Jul 18, 2012 at 7:08 pm

Somehow I think VW is trying to put the blame on “authorities” with regards of their price hike. If it’s the case of “authorities” hiking up tax, then their profit margin should be more or less the same. Then why on earth would they delay those earlier bookings and deny them a cheaper Polo GTI? At less than 140K, this is the best GTI bargain yet and VW are simply greedy. It’s easy to put the blame on the “authorities”.

• paparadzi on Jul 19, 2012 at 7:42 am

I’m sure their profit margin, per car, will still be the same. But their total profit will be much less because they will sell less car.

• Salleh on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:44 am

Agreed.

I think DRB Hicom is just too greedy on this matter.

Those fellas who booked earlier surely mad like hell.

• DRB is not running VW… they are only manufacturing partner for VW, for the locally assembled cars. Please see the press statement below:

13/08/2010
        Volkswagen signs MoU with DRB-HICOM Berhad

Volkswagen agrees to explore local vehicle production in Malaysia and expands activities in the ASEAN region with Malaysian partner DRB-HICOM Berhad

• Daniel on Jul 19, 2012 at 12:56 am

No worries, we just have to practice consumer’s right for now before the next GE. With the old price of Polo GTI, you can get Ford Focus or Peogeot 308 turbo

• nighttrain on Jul 19, 2012 at 2:17 am

Just find a way to decrease two major household debt. If you can present this in the next budget, I will vote for the current govt. The opposition already earmarked this issue and they are going to troll it without end. As for VW, until further clarification, suck on this first.

• kassim on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:49 am

i driving my suzuki happily.

• Kokoi on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:43 am

Jangan bising2 maarr… If u got money can buy maaa.. No money no talk. Just buy other brand maa..

• Extrimist on Jul 19, 2012 at 12:19 pm

I found this on someone’s blog stating his Polo GTI tax, complete with scanned document.

Here’s AP declaration on the Pocong. It works out like this :-

CIF – RM39242.00
    Import Duty (30% on CIF) – RM11772.60
    Excise Duty (97.5% on CIF) – RM38260.95
    Other Taxes (~22% on CIF) – RM8927.56

Total Cost RM98203.11 (sales price was at RM138888). VW gross margin >> RM40684.89 ??

Why don’t have a look at his blog for details.

http://poconggti.blogspot.jp/2009/09/custom-declaration-moment-of-truth-or.html

• Sale price was RM135,888 so Gross Margin is RM37,685. Warranty is 5 years so 5.5% per year is very fair.

• Nevertheless…

http://www.financetwitter.com/2012/04/here-are-reasons-why-you-shouldnt-buy-a-new-car-now.html

• boyz, Awesome Article!!! This page covered SO MANY areas that a lot of clueless Malaysians always ask. Of course, there are still some who will always claim this is rubbish and not true. Fine. Continue to live in the lies of your beloved leaders, who only think about themselves. IT’S NOT ABOUT YOU, STUPID!!! IT’S MY BANK ACCOUNT!!!

Now, if I were to read between the lines, it can be possible that DRB is trying to muscle their way to obtain controlling stake in VGM. VW sedan cars are not the hot sellers… if they force tax increase on their popular cars, VW might give in and pass to DRM to assemble here, then they will sell like hot cakes with ASEAN tariff!!! Then can fight with SIME! Hmm…

• Expensive Jap on Jul 19, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Eh, I want to ask 1 question. If VW increase Polo GTI and Passat CC price due to “authorities” or tax, how come other models and other car maker not increasing at the same time? Isn’t car tax are the same across whole industry? Hmmm…

• Good question. A lot of people fail to understand how our G work. If nobody complain, it’s all honky dory. If someone complain, then they will take action. If big shot complain, more severe action. Don’t forget, VGM is still considered a foreign company. Are they being forced to allow local entity to be involved? MAYBE… you decide.
      Key Executives for Volkswagen Group Malaysia Sdn. Bhd.
      Mr. Andreas Prinz Managing Director

• KL, if it is really that simple, VWM would have also complain on the price of other cars and we shall see all price increasing.

Or, is it only VWM “cheating” / “Guilty” in the first place?

• stealth on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:00 pm

@RCZ reply to your comment, do you mean that VWM is cheating and there is actually no Tax restructuring that happen as claimed, and VWM simply raise the Tax price? Is that logic? I don’t think VWM can push the blame to government if it is not true.

seriously why other car price is not increasing I don’t know, ordinary people like us will not know the real story. Only rumours I learn from VW internal people is that the price increase is because of competitors which powerful backing influence the gov.

• Dude, the correct name is VGM or Volkswagen Group Malaysia Sdn Bhd. The MD is German, hence not local company. Do you know how the powerful and connected muscle their way into owning non-local or non-bumi companies??? I’ve seen enough and experienced enough. Skomi used to belong to my family but was so easily taken over by those connected to ex-pm. Do you have resource to verify? Go ahead. Bowl yourself over. Nothing is simple in this country, but something as clear like this you cannot comprehend? Letting you know more is useless since you rather not believe anyway. Or is it coz your family is one of those who take other’s hard earned businesses so you refuse to believe it?

• Paul Tan on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:51 pm

VGM MD is not German. His name is Ricky Tay.

• No wonder you are biased and so hate the government. Btw, is there is company named skomi? I can only google find scomi. You forgot your own proud family company name?

Stealth, I do believe that there is a price restructuring, as it would be real stupid for VGM to post a false claim publicly. My point is…why? What being restructured? VGM is not telling the whole story, hence letting many pointing fingers on tax and the government. Which I think is unfair.

• Oh yeah, Ricky Teh was appointed last year… my bad.

Scomi skomi, whatever. They only know how to snatch away people’s properties when it is successful. We are not proud. We don’t drive flashy luxury cars.

• It is uncalled for any car company to blame authorities in public for price increase, must be the first time, blame game, arrogant?

• HeyDude on Jul 23, 2012 at 11:58 pm

vw just overestimated itself

• jonjon on Jul 28, 2012 at 10:36 am

wow!!the cybertroopers are really working hard..i hope you get paid well

• I’m another victim here… I booked Polo GTI since last year sept.. now they told me I had to pay RM34k extra … wth!
    Guys… shall we mogok together and bring this to media? Let them feel embarrassed! .. do u think this will work and help to fight back our justice here?