Speedsters, it’s game over, for the AES cometh soon

Well, forget the need for speed, because the days of carefree bombing down the tarmac are soon to be over. The upcoming Automated Enforcement System (AES) might be up and running by late August, according to reports, and there’s no escaping this one.

The system, utilising around 800 fixed and 500 portable speedtrap cameras from two different manufacturers, is set to ‘monitor’ traffic in 831 “black spot” areas on highways in addition to stretches of state and federal roads. These locations have been identified by the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (Miros) as having the highest number of fatal accidents, the reports add.

Around 200 of the fixed speedtrap cameras are to be located at traffic light junctions, some of these in housing areas. From a portable speedtrap camera point of view, the relevant radar-based units from both manufacturers are supposedly able to detect vehicles anywhere across a four-lane carriageway up to 250 km/h (one of the systems claims 300 km/h).

All the cameras – which have a 11MP resolution – will be able to record both still image and video footage of vehicles committing speed-related offences, and are connected via a broadband link to the respective system’s headquarters. Once captured, the photographic evidence is then passed on to the JPJ, which will verify it, and a fine is then issued to traffic offenders. As for calibration, word has it that SIRIM will recalibrate the cams every eight months.

The utilisation of two separate systems means that there are two distinct contractors, in this case Beta Tegap – which will run gear from Australian-based Redflex Traffic Systems – and ATES, which will operate equipment from German company Jenoptik Robot. Beta Tegap will run the AES for the southern region, while ATES will be responsible for the rest of the country, including Sabah and Sarawak.

According to another report, the cost of installing and operating the cameras will be borne by the two companies, with an estimated RM300 to RM400 million being bandied to get the AES going. Both companies will be entitled to a share of the revenue collected from the fines to offset operational costs and generate returns, with revenue sharing done across a three-tier model.

First, both operators will get RM16 from each valid summons in which the fine is collected, not on how many photographs are snapped (!), capped at five million summonses. Go past that number, and the second tier sees the companies taking 50% of the amount paid in fines. The cap changes to an amount, set at RM270 million a year, with the government taking an equal share.

If you all persist on being generous, and take things past the RM270 million a year mark, the third tier will see both companies raking in 7.5% of the balance revenue. Of course, both companies will only get their money if offenders pay up, the report adds.

While the implementation of the AES is a positive (promoting safety always is), the question does beg as to whether police speedtrap exercises continue as is; there’s really no need to even ask why there are two separate systems in the first place, now that it’s all done and dusted. As always with topics close to us all, your comments on the matter are most welcome.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• carnut on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:23 pm

im all for speed cameras, but i hope they’re put to good use. Also to me, publishing exact locations of fixed cameras i the best way if safety is the main reason for having them.. my reasoning is, if we know an operating camera is ahead, we are far more unlikely to speed in the first place. The camera’s job is to stop people speeding, not collect summonses to fill the coffers of the govt. and these 2 companies.

Also, police “speed trap” roadblocks” on main highways must finally stop for good (as promised by the police themselve some years back when they spent some RM20 million on new speed cameras). Wonder what happened to those…?

• totally agree..
      G must take measures such as giving indicators to warn people about speeding camera ahead..like in UK they give notice boards and paint the speed camera in Bright yellow so that drivers will notice it..

then only drivers will slow down their cars..i mean thats the point of speed camera in the 1st place.. to reduce accident rate in dangerous areas..not to collect people’s money.. right GOVERNMENT?

• Gabla on Jul 19, 2012 at 7:36 pm

If speeding is dangerous, why do ministers and their escorts drive so fast on the highway?

Does having police escorts make speeding safer? If yes, please tell me why? Are the policemen and the Ministers’ drivers better than others? How about professional racers? Should they be allowed to drive fast too?

I think that the Ministers should drive their car themselves without any escorts. That way, they will understand better why sometimes having 110kmh speed limit doesn’t make sense and they will also learn the hard way the consequences of not planning the roadwork correctly which will lead to a traffic jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • q: why do ministers and their escorts drive so fast on the highway?
          a: because ministers are human too. human like to drive fast.
          q: Does having police escorts make speeding safer?
          a: yes, if you compare with without escort. the escort warn other driver (slow and fast), and clear the road ahead.
          q: Are the policemen and the Ministers’ drivers better than others?
          a: statistically yes, ratio of policemen and minister’s drivers involve in accident are less compare too ratio or normal drivers.
          q: How about professional racers? Should they be allowed to drive fast too?
          a: nobody stop professional driver from driving fast, in fact professional driver encouraged to drive as fast as they can, unless if there is yellow safety car ahead, whereby taking over is not allowed.
          q: is gabla goblok?

• Gabla on Jul 20, 2012 at 7:09 am

So it is safer for the ministers to go fast when the road has been cleared by the escorts? At most, only one lane will be cleared by the escorts, they are still other drivers on the next lanes.

So is it safer for the minister to speed on an empty lane compared to someone who goes over the speed limit when there is nobody around or speeding is always dangerous for anyone else, regardless whether the road is clear or not?

• ever heard of standard operating speed ah? if someone is following them,they will stand out. so driving fast for vip is for safety reason la

• Wisdom on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:51 pm

You got your question all wrong.
          The correct question is, will the minister & the escorts get any speeding ticket at all?

• MoFaz on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:16 pm

RM400million for 1300 cameras? so each will cost RM300k to install and operate? ridiculous!!

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2012 at 8:57 am

welcome to malaysia!!

• ABTguy on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:04 am

Only if they jack up the prices of each installation, the 2 companies can ask for longer term agreement with JPJ. This is typical BN Govt tactic !!

Can someone tell what band these cameras will be using, I am going to invest in a infrared detector !

• _xXx_ on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:39 pm

it’s a cash generator, can print banknote faster than your copier
        not sure if there’s still road block with some polite polis asking where u r heading to and inform u that they had captured some nice photos of u and ur car some kms away…

• amonge on Sep 18, 2012 at 12:19 pm

planning and survey,installation,network setup,operation center setup,testing etc bla bla…have you think about this..

• Wisdom on Jul 20, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Might as well put up yellow ‘speed camera ahead’ signboards but no camera at all, or put a dummy camera. People will slows down rite?

That way the government saves rakyat’s money, saves rakyat’s lives…

• rohaizatmalek on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:02 pm

I don’t agree with you. I just wonder what type of car and how are your driving habits plus the distance you travel. If you just go home, office and balik kampung once in a blue moon then I guess its okay for you. But Imagine, thousands of drivers on the road trying to make ends meet for a living. You don’t know driving at 60, 90 and 110 can make you fall asleep.
      Anyway, its not speed that kills but its the bad habits such as sleeping on the wheel, messaging, talking on the phone. Carelessness is the name of the game. The govt is just making an excuse to compound you on the invalid reasoning of ‘speed kills’. It should be ‘carelessness kills’. If speed kills then tell me how many Ministers, Prime Ministers and VVIP’s die while their police escorts drive them on full throttle. By the way, how many traffic policemen have died in these accidents.

• outstationer on Nov 02, 2012 at 3:13 pm

i agree what you say. i always went for outstation up north for company trip. Every month 3 weeks to Perlis and back to KL. If i dont speed, sure i will fall asleep as you know the distance is very far. And yes, there have R&R, but i cant just sleep there for 1 to 2 hours. For me, time is gold. I need to meet my customer there.

• power8003 on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:24 pm

This is really nonsense. Where in this world, speedtrap is managed by Third party and not the government. It looks like the companies will be looking into profit rather safety of the road user. How is the black spot being assessed? Is it going to be announced to the public? You look at some of the countries, they have warning to the public that speed trap is ahead and the spots are usually dangerous spot. If you insisted in speeding, then you have to pay the fine.In Malaysia, all the speed trap are like hide and seek. It is not for the safety of the road user. :( :(

• cadogan on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:04 pm

In some parts of the UK, this model is currently being used. I know this for sure because I used to work with one of the consultants; implementing some of the schemes on the M3, M4, M6, Birmingham Box and some A roads

• USA

• treblecase on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:25 pm

You can all start to downgrade all performance mod with the implementation of this system.

• Interesting way of making traffic offending into money making business.

Enforcement needs to get a share too, else people won’t pay fines. Of course, there shouldn’t be 50% discount to offenders.

• Just me on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:27 pm

What’s the point of having fast car?

• junaidi on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:03 pm

fast cars were born on the track. Can take it there no one will stop you.

• Wisdom on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Are you saying your car cant exceed 110 on highways and 90 on federal road?

• Kalun on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Most of the fast car are made for day track cars. In UK, there is a track day where anyone with fancy sport cars can rev up to the max and go around the circuit for hours.

• Pffttt on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Let’s see if this system can cure/reduce accident rate…

• outstationer on Nov 02, 2012 at 3:19 pm

I dont think that this system can reduce the accident rate. You know why? because in malaysia have many coffee licence. At night, driving without turning on the lamp. No signal to make a turn. Turn on high lamp to make in front driver eyes pain. Install bright white lamp.

• Bimmer on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Firstly people need to understand the difference between “Notis Tawaran Kompaun” and summonses.

Get summoned means you need to make yourself available at a court hearing. If you pay the compound, you will not get summoned.

However if there are 1 million people who are caught on camera and did not pay the compound, a million court hearings will be required for each of the offenders…

• encik boss on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:30 pm

increase the speed limit first, then install these cameras.

• ///M Owner on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:44 pm

I agree with encik boss. At least 125km/h at main highways.

• junaidi on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:04 pm

why?

• Black Dog on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Why? Why??

Our speed limit is ridiculously low. Speed limit means the maximum speed you can drive. So if the speed limit is 90km/h on the Kesas highway, you should be driving around 80 – 85km/h at most. Imagine a 3 lane highway with a speed limit 80km/h (eg KL – Seremban Highway near Sri Petaling & most highways in the city)??? This is really stupid! 90% of the cars will get summon! As usual the laws goes back centuries ago but our cars and highways have improved tremendously.

Most cars you see driving over the speed limit are luxury cars belonging top politicians, lawyers, bosses, captains of industries etc. Why? They don’t simply follow blindly stupid laws created by the Govt to make money from the rakyat.

If they install cameras, they should also increase the speed limit. The cameras should also catch those hogging the outer lanes!

• Although you and most of the people who read this blog may be able to control a car going over 125 km/h, for every one of us that can, there are probably 50 who can’t.

The laws are not out of date. Here in AU, the limits are very similar. It is only because of the affordability of all cars and the mandatory requirement for all new cars to have ABS and ESP that the Govt thinking about increasing the speed limit. God knows when that is going to happen.

The mentality of the majority of Malaysian road users are not ready to drive at high speeds. How often do you see slow drivers (even at 90km/h speed limit) hogging the fast lane or idiots changing lanes without giving a toss about what’s coming up behind? What about the lori balak with burnt out rear lights going at 30km/h uphill? Not to mention those that sit on the side of the highway with no warnings.

Not all road users drive up to date cars. Lots of people esp from out of KL still drive cars that are dangerously unroadworthy.

Spare a thought for the poor makcik in a 30 year old death trap pootling along at 60km/h because the taxes in the country make safe cars unaffordable for most before demanding your right to speed.

• U all will die if live in japan…the highest speed limit is 100km/h for highway and max 60km/h for other road … malaysia speed limit among the highest in the world

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speed_limits_by_country

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:56 am

->kzm
          From the Wikipedia link you provided, for Japan:
          “Enforcement Tolerance:
          Typically 30-40km/h over, with vast use of overhead cameras and devices for detection.”

Therefore the actual limit before you receive a fine is anywhere between 110-140km/h. Hope nobody has ‘pengsan’ because of your distorted facts.

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:04 am

how fast a vehicle travels at

110kmh = 30 meters per second.

125kmh = 35 meters per second.

that 5 meters can mean death because nothing at that speed can stop immediately.

and this is one reason why there is such a test as 100-0kmh to see how good a car’s braking system is.

• outstationer on Nov 02, 2012 at 3:23 pm

the speed limit should increase in kesas highway. If not, it will having a bad traffic conjunction. Too many car in KL already.

• Kalun on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:05 am

I drive 160kph in Borneo highway even though they ask me to drive at 50kph.
      Who the heck want to drive at 50kph when you are driving from Miri to Kuching that takes you 10 hours with the speed of 120-160kph.
      Sometimes we have to slow down due to unseen bumps on the highway, potholes, sharp bends, 15 degree uphill climb, accidents and logging lorry. We have no choice!

• Black Dog on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:42 pm

Anon,

With due respect, Australia has different environment and people’s attitudes thus it’s own laws to dealt with them. Our new highways are much much wider and straight than Australian highways (I’ve driven almost the whole part of Eastern Australia, from Brisbane down Melbourne passing Sydney, then along the Great ocean road right to Warrambool and back up again to Ballarat and to the Snowy mountains back to Sydney – in 3 trips of course)

I certainly doesn’t agree with many Aussie laws. eg immigration & refugees are a big mess.

It is totally absurd for traffic speeding laws to cater for cars meant for the scrapyard. If they can’t drive fast, just keep to the inner lanes, no problem. (but they’re doing the complete opposite here!). Our new highways are very wide and criss-cross the city thus by law it’s following city road speed limits (which I feel should be changed).

Our Govt also make a mess of our transport system (they can’t even solve the taxis and bus problems in decades!). It’s always due to politicking and going into a self-denial mode.

• kambinganas on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Looks like another initiative to scam our money. Don’t be surprised that the system will be half functioning and the cost of the project balloon to billions. Standard operating expenditure of our govt.

• kerelbort on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:02 pm

do you read the article? operation cost of the system borne by the company that installing it…

if the project goes ballooning, the installer company need to fly kite.

• kambinganas on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:19 pm

I guess you are new to the term bailouts, soft loans, etc. The real truth will only come out when the govt have to foot the losses. If you have been reading about the AES since 2010, you will know that this project is in collaboration with JPJ.

• memang laa in collaboration with JPJ, tak kan boleh main letak kemera tepi jalan, lepas tu saman org senang-senang.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:57 am

I think what he meant was JPJ also is sponsoring this project in some way?

• Slum in Bolehland on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:39 pm

good luck all.before this i have kena that speedtrap.check with polis dont have any record but with MyEG have…btw i kena at 60km/h place as i drive 80.the best part is double saman. 1 taken from front side another rear side and both only differ 1minute time issued with different day.

• Saharizam on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:41 pm

Are these cameras able to take picture in dark hours? People normally speed up during night time.

• droll on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:43 pm

nobody will vandalize the cameras?

• nazgul on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:20 pm

this camera will need electric fence, dogs, security guard and another camera to look at the camera…

• kimikira on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:04 pm

it have 11mp , guess someone take it mod to Camera, anything happen in malaysia

• Hahaha…That’s why it’s hidden to make money…But definately, once found, sure gone missing…

• carazy on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:43 pm

its looks like our current G and cronies desperately need for money, particularly rakyat money!!

• Rachel on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Dont blame others if you get summoned,it’s your own stupidity to go against the rule.

• MetalFire on Jul 20, 2012 at 12:46 pm

Rule? What about the politicians, dignitaries, ranking government officers, etc being escorted by the police blaring their loud sirens? If they follow the “rule” and set as a good example, then only we talk about the “rule”.

• actually this is done based on the survey carried out by the gov and with the help of feedback from paultan readers. the gov found that most malaysian hate gov and really particular about contributing money to the gov coffer. everybody keep on complaining about tax here and there, and lots of people and companies evades tax every year.

so gov think if ppl really hate the gov, then this is the best way to curb high speeders, since no one wants to pay money to gov. so lets see after this if ppl will slow down or not.

• policemyass on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:44 pm

my main concern is, if the government trying to lure our money paying summons. Why did they let foreigners roaming our streets and hway way beyond the speed limit without have to pay the consequences. It is reaching hundred of millions rm amount of unsettlled summoned by foreigners..

• klguy on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:16 pm

yea. agreed. also not to forget the life threatening so called super bikes. sick n tired of these morons on road. somomore sometimse with police escort.

• maabas81 on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Agree with you… how about our neighbouring country cars ? drive like crazy…. !@#%$$#^%#@^

• zidane on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:57 pm

what i did to them is, drive in front of their car at the designated speed limit…

If they try to take over, i accelerate… hahaha

• ppocians on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:44 pm

I strongly disagree with speed cams. From all these years people have and many times got speedtrap. Does it help? It all start from the driver itself. Speeding a little wont cause accidents if another drivers negligence cause it. and come on, 110kmh on highway? and I wonder why cars are made faster than that?

• kambinganas on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:22 pm

Unfortunately, the govt does not know that Malaysians can be slow and reckless. Wonder what studies they have been doing except ways to korek duit.

• Sure, just make sure they follow the new act that states all speed cameras must have signage warning road users of speed camera up front. Currently, the traffic police still do not practise this requirement of notifying drivers of a speed trap operation up ahead and in progress.

• RM300-400 MILLION needed to set up this AES?! BULLSYHT!

• david on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Niagakan kesalahan rakyat untuk kayakan kroni.

another way the G robbing the rakyat. & we all know the two company ( beta tegap & ates is M** linked company)

SAY NO TO SAMAN EKOR!

• junaidi on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:07 pm

but if people dont go over the speed limit, then there is no salah to speak of.

• kambinganas on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:27 pm

@Junaidi

You mean these companies and the govt won’t get overzealous to makan duit? One fine day when the reduce the speed limit to 60km/j on a straight highway then you will understand how this whole thing can go wrong.

• zidane on Jul 20, 2012 at 5:59 pm

I’ll say YES…

because, IF you dont drive over speed limit… why do you scare of it?

• fatihablack on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:49 pm

if it’s for road users safety…well it’s fine to me…but when summonses becoming business….it means that gov really want to suck hard-earned rakyat salary…

• droll on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:54 pm

so what can we do? purposely drive slow like hell at those places and choke up traffic and deny them of summons money?

• Faruk on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:51 pm

“both companies will only get their money if offenders pay up”

What if they “prove” us speeding when we didn’t just for the sake of their profit or they didn’t issue any warnings at first place and just keep on issuing summons?
    Don’t get me wrong AES is a brilliant idea and giving it to third party is a good decision that will ensure it’s much better than our current lousy system. But, if there’s no restriction or any special sets of rule, trust me, they will use AES to gain more profit.

• – restriction? ada…. drive below speed limit
      – special sets of rule? no special one, normal one ada … drive below speed limit

• Faruk on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:18 am

Dude, the restriction and the special rules are for the governing body not for the drivers.

Without any of that mentioned above, they will do things as they wish. Somebody has to make sure that they will not use this to gain profit.

Think about it for a second. It’s a third party company which will get their money if offenders pay up. For sure they wanna maximize their profit. How they’ll do it? By increasing the number of offenders. They hold the prove to everything we will do on the road, they can alter as if we broke the rules and force us to pay.

• mr. li on Jul 19, 2012 at 4:59 pm

how about those foregn cars?
    especially the singaporean who test their car here on the higway.
    we don’t have any records of their cars in here, we don’t have any system for that.

• division93 on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:02 pm

CRONIES ALERT !!!!! never knew they were stupid enough to tell the public how much they are getting out of this mumbo jumbo.its like signing their death warrant.RM400 million just for the sake of money and nothing to do with safety.HAIHHHH.

• you call them stupid for telling the public what is the cost? or you want to be left stupid not knowing what gov is doing and how much money going around?

• akula on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:03 pm

make sure they also can collect payment from Singaporean offender

• Just me on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Put some mud on your number plate front and back.

• Wet a tissue paper, stick it on the front. while travelling at high speed, the tissue paper will stick to your number plate. At the back can put mud haha

• mystvearn on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Malaysia has a stupid/covert use of speed cameras. Speed cameras are suppose to warn people of dangerous areas. In Malaysia we use it to make money.

In UK, before you reach a speed camera, there are warnings in place. Even when you reach the detection zone, the cameras are painted in green/yellow high visibility tint.

I’m surprised no one/lawyer has brought this up with SUHAKAM or filed a class action lawsuit against the government for misusing speed cameras to generate income and not to protect public safety.

• outstationer on Nov 02, 2012 at 3:46 pm

DBKL also have to do something also. Cut the trees that is blocking the signboard! we cant see the so called warning board if there have a trees or leafs cover from our sight.

• hway de Cruz on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:17 pm

speed cameras must be installed with notifications at least 5 times interval of 250m apart…. and if u r caught, no compound, it will be a saman. of course, the authority hv to prove who is the driver in the first place… not just the saman ekor method. do this with integrity and make it a proving point the actual driver, then the rakyat will respect the authorities. this is not so currently done her in bolehland. it is like, u r guilty nless proven innocent

• My prediction is that on the 2nd day of implementation, most camera will go “missing” just like those metal gutters. :)

• kambinganas on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:29 pm

Haha, some mat rempits will be using these high-tech cameras to skodeng.

• Shaun on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:34 pm

110kmh at 4am on the north south is ridiculous

• areas on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:36 pm

What we need is not only a camera for speeding.. but one to monitor the right lane where if you’re going below the speed limit and hogging it, you’ll get fined as well.. I’m sick and tired of inconsiderate drivers on a 110kph freeway doing 80kph with space for a freight train ahead of them.

• boboboi on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:15 am

eyesight problems maybe. better be safe.

• twosent on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:50 am

That’s call safety distance. Aiyo y do u skip driving school?? I’m sick of people jostling to overtake and still end up in front of me since the flow ahead is full of cars. It’s not us who’s hogging the road it’s them who hog like hog to overtake

• Malaysian on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Good camera , why don’t G install such high tech camera at high crime rate area 1st,

This is wat rakyat more concern of

• Extrimist on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:43 pm

RM400 million? Better to separate the money and give them:

Chana 20 million
    Cherry 20 million
    Chevrolet 20 million
    Citroen 20 million
    Ford 20 million
    Honda 20 million
    Hyundai 20 million
    Kia 20 million
    Mazda 20 million
    Mitsubishi 20 million
    Nissan 20 million
    Perodua 20 million
    Peugeot 20 million
    Proton 20 million
    Renault 20 million
    Subaru 20 million
    Suzuki 20 million
    Toyota 20 million

and enforce them to put stability control in each car they produce, without increasing the selling price. Road accident probably will decrease dramatically.

Still has 40 million balance. Mmm…free toll perhaps?

• diamjer on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:44 pm

banyak komplen …. semut seberang jalan nampak, gajah depan mata tak nampak.

whenever some people try to implement something, everyone jump to their own conclusion. at the same time we compare our self with the westerner. those westerner are obedient driver, they drive bugatti veyron at speed limit without any complains.

• matrxe on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:19 pm

westerner obedient driver my arse!

• mystvearn on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:23 pm

You are wrong. In UK they drive above speed limit on major highways. If speed limit is 75 mph, people drive 85 mph or higher. Only slow down when come to speed camera. Also speeding like in Malaysia. Only difference, government transparent want to bring fatality rate down hence put warning first then action. In Malaysia, no warning, direct action of course rakyat complain.

If you have your own child also you do the same thing. You warn them first if he do bad things, then take action. Not directly taking action without warning. How to learn like that.

• Gabla on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:36 pm

In Germany, there is no warning for speed camera but yet people still obey the speed limit. The reason behind this is the rules there are fair. The speed limits are implemented only at neccessary places. If the conditions are safe enough, the are some stretches of the Autobahn where there is no speed limit implemented.

The people there not only understand that the limits are there for their own safety but they also know that if they want to drive fast, they are allowed to do so at certain places where it is safe. Since they are used to driving fast, doing past 110kmh is not a problem for most of them.

• zidane on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:04 pm

THE GERMAN are known for their DISCIPLINE…

MALAYSIAN? well, you answer yourself la….

• William on Jul 19, 2012 at 5:51 pm

How come speedtrap also can sub to 3rd party company to operate? Why let them earn when gov can do it themself? Later the 3rd party operator take opportunity by altering the cam so many ppl get summon and they profit a lot…

• ah seng on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Why like that???

• Kamal on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Nevermind.. Let them be.. We as road users should be smarter than them.. There’s applications for iphone and android called Waze, and another one Trapster. Lets get the community bigger than we can beat the system. :p

• kerelbort on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:09 pm

1) in PT.org proved that most commenter did not read the article. (typical malaysia who doesn’t read, urs truly inclusive)
    2) if you did not want to kaya the cronies or the govt, don’t speed. 110km/h is the way to go. want faster? go autobahn not rich enough go Sepang. no money to pay for trackday, u can’t afford good fast car. drive your kancil with care.
    3) no rakyat money spend here.. both company use their own money to built and operate the system and get their profit if any summons being issued and paid.

so… if you don like this to happen, stop speeding. let the company who run this die of natural cause.

also, the government should also impose recommended speed in highway… I always almost in an accident due to 50km/h driver on middle lane of the PLUS highway!

• Gabla on Jul 19, 2012 at 7:52 pm

If we want the company to die, a better option would be speeding but don’t pay the summons.

If more people speed, they will need process more documents, until a certain point, they will need to add manpower to handle all the cases. Then the postage cost will also increase. This way they will have a higher operating cost and then when people do not pay this summons, they won’t have any revenue. The end result, the company will die faster…

• you talked about hows the germans obey their speed limit without the need of sign or warning. but here you encourage people to speed and not paying penalty for it. really sad for malaysian who keep praising how good life abroad but have retard mentality when it comes to live in their own country.

• Bimmer on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:11 am

Do you have a problem understanding what the guy said? Let me quote him again for you:
          “The reason behind this is the rules there are fair. The speed limits are implemented only at neccessary places. If the conditions are safe enough, there are some stretches of the Autobahn where there is no speed limit implemented.”

Obviously the germans speed as well but at certain places where it is safe. The difference there is, it is legal to speed at certain places, while in Malaysia it is illegal to do the same speed everywhere.

So Malaysians will always be breaking the law if they drive above the 110km/h limit, even when the conditions are good. The only exception to this, like what Gabla said, is the ministers with their escorts.

• Rachel on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Yes,many of those ‘smart’ people want to go against the rules but don’t want to face the punishment and will blame this and that,instead of their own stupidity.All of them knows the speed limit is 110km/h but still choose to drive above that,isn’t that stupid?

• kambinganas on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Amboi cik adik, yeah, like our loving govt sayang us so much that when they outsource the creation of roads and highways it was for the good of the people. Wait till they start imposing utterly ridiculous speed limits and other creative ways to trap road users and make money. If you get your pic taken by them, please share ya!

• Rachel on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:42 am

Which part of following speed limit and traffic rules is so hard?

• kerelbort on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:19 am

@kambinganas come on lah… speed limit was impose based on research and consultancy of road safety… MIROS is one of them which are well known…

it is not as simple as dropping your pant to pee to drop the speed limit… u are reading about the project (and I’m so excited Malaysian read) but if you are a part of the project then u will understand better. :-)

• treblecase on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:12 am

Hi Rachel, I am sure you are a gorgeous lady but I couldn’t care less. This is not about not obeying the law but about WHY the implementation of speed traps need to be PRIVATISED?? What else have not been privatised? Even taking a dump nowadays have been privatised.

• Rachel on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:01 pm

They have to be privatised because the GOV cant control the speedster anymore.That’s why they have to let the private company do it.At least no more rasuah to the policemen and since all is computerized and have logs and data saved,everything now have evident and you can’t rasuah a computer,right?And since the survival of the private company depends on how efficient they work,they have to do it properly.Just like the mothers today sending kids to private tutor because kids tends to pay more attention to private tutors than the teachers in school.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:03 pm

->Rachel
          You must be very nieve to think that once privatized, there will be better regulation. One of these days when you are in a taxi ask the the taxi driver whether Puspakom is no longer corrupt after privatization. Privatization is often referred to piratization in Malaysia for a very good reason.

Just because the activity is logged into a computer, doesn’t mean it can’t be deleted.

• kerelbort on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:12 pm

also. gov should broadband the ticket to border for our friendly neighbor to pay before heading back to their tiny island nation….

• Expatriate VN on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Ha, ha, ha ….. Satu lagi projek dari kerajaan Barang Naik untuk 3rd parties from cronies! Another round of gravy train in the making …..

• Jimmy on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:26 pm

Vote for PKR!

• Jay Vee on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Corruption kills people, not necessarily speeding. Speeding is dangerous no doubt but the number of fake licence holders out there is mind-numbing.

One should do a study on JPJ corruption and fatal road accidents. I’m pretty sure that’s cheaper than what is being implemented. Think about it, if everyone had a REAL licence with optional advance driving courses, will we see as many road deaths?

Instead we send our money overseas by buying foreign technology, again. I guess the lines at the settle-your-traffic-fines-discount-period is going to be that much longer.

• Just worry if these 3rd party unable get enough summon to cover the running cost and profit. Will the government AGAIN pay compensates

• kambinganas on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Haiya, even if they are making money also they will report losses due to activities to siphon money out of their companies. Then they will use some clause in the lop-sided contract to korek from govt also. Some people here still have never learn from the bullshit with toll-road concessions.

• patrick on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:37 pm

I think this is a good system – I noticed in you mentioned that these will be implemented on the blackspots along prominent highways. Come to Western Australia and its a different story. More often than not, cops setup cameras (mobile ones) at spots after at the bottom of a slope or at blind spots where you can’t spot them as opposed to blackspots. Another favourite is just after the speed limit changes – usually no crashes there. Which is why we end up calling them revenue raisers instead of safety measures. All in all, positive to see that in Malaysia, they’re actually doing it for safety. Perhaps some of the Australian state governments have lessons to learn from this.

• kambinganas on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:44 pm

LoL, you must be referring to Bolehland not Australia. They don’t have kangaroo courts there that endorse such enforcement abuses.

• paparadzi on Jul 22, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Most likely this is what the Malaysian model will be, to maximize profit. A favorite spot for speed traps are straight, wide highways with 80 or 90 km/h speed limits, many can be found in KL area.

• BeemerFreak on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Err the KEJORA demerit system should be implemented in conjunction with this where 4 points deducted with a single offence and suspension after 24. If not motorist will never be scared as they have too much money to pay for fines. Furthermore a harsher punishment should be levied upon traffic light offenders so that they understand the severity of the matter especially motorcyclist whom cross junctions at their fancy.

• kambinganas on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:46 pm

They won’t do this one lah. Else how to continue to make money from you? Also in what way not having lesen has stopped people. You think mat rempit will be scared of these cameras?

• kerelbort on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:25 am

i’m pushing a proposal to the police to set up spike for the mat rempit instead of blockade…

I just hope no one will attack me with human right..

• vivaFORever on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:38 pm

NICE implementation by our BELOVED BN government! Now I should consider to buy a VIVA 660cc since the latest model comes with DUAL AIRBAGS. I don’t have to waste my money to buy a new facelift Proton Inspira. Thanks again BN Goverment! >:)

• vivaFORever on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:39 pm

NICE implementation by our BELOVED BN government! Now I should consider to buy a VIVA 660cc since the latest model comes with DUAL AIRBAGS. I don’t have to waste my money to buy a new facelift Proton Inspira. >:)

• keluangman on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:45 pm

I smell another kroni lopsided deal….bleeding the rakyat dry….

• azmel on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:51 pm

I think, before there put cameras
    G, please made a requirement to all cars manufactures to install buzzer if driver drive more 110kmh, like in Renault which I remember they installed 15 yrs ago…

• A suicidal move by the ruling gov’t. A very2 unpopular move done while election is coming near… surely this issue will be used to sway the voters away from BN…

• just follow the rules and the speed limit, and saman will not come to you! even thought it is very uncomfortable when driving long journey at 110km thru highway in the early dark hours. you for sure terasa sleepy!

• bmpower on Jul 19, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Lols… seem govt really need much money now.
    Even give the chronies to handle fine with commission lol.

You still love them lol.

• firefox003 on Jul 19, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Vote for pkr to abandon all this nonsense project… BN only know how to dig money from rakyat…

• Im sure more fancy/ fake plates will appear when the system is implemented.

• Geoff on Jul 19, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Curbing excessive speeding is a good start. But most accidents are caused by dangerous driving and maneuvering. How about red light jumper cameras? These idiots are far more dangerous than a BMW doing 130hm/h on the north/south highway at 2am. Or the Malaysian preoccupation of sitting 5 feet behind the car in front whilst doing 110km/h. Fine neither car is breaking the speed limit, but the imbecile behind is risking the life of drivers and passengers in both cars, and if an accident actually occurs, probably a lot more cars around the scene. Anyone who is caught doing either of these things should face the maximum penalty available, and have their licenses revoked until they can prove they’re sane or intelligent enough to be allowed back on the road again with normal people…
    Anyway, the biggest problem in Malaysia isn’t a lack of laws. Its a lack of enforcement. If there are no consequences for our actions, however wrong and illegal they are, then nobody cares and will follow the rules…

• Garfield on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:00 am

I totally agree with you on this one. One of the reasons given by this tailgaters for their gungho driving is they will be too close to the car in front for the number plates to be spotted by the speed cameras.

Malaysian version of a ‘stealth’ car…..

• David on Jul 19, 2012 at 7:44 pm

Why make speed trap when our road got so many holes and hump?

• Something not right here! “Both operators will get RM16 from each valid summons issued” They should be paid based on the summons collected, not only issued. According to RTD, there are RM5.8billion unpaid summons from 2005 to 2009. Our government should not pay this blind money to these two companies!!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:02 pm

ky, most right. To ensure clarity, I have corrected the term to collected, since they only get the RM16 if the fine is paid.

• Maserati on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Just fix a number plate which is rotatable.Real plate on the front, fake one on the back. So when ur speeding,just flick the switch and let the camera capture the fake numba plate.

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:20 am

too much of james bond movie, but that idea does work and i support it. ha ha ha

• Nothg we can do about it.
    Finger crossed hoping they dont set up on Togue roads.

• Ilapproton on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:24 pm

Not to sound pessimistic but I bet this is gonna be another half baked implementation, just like those super duper cameras and tint detectors. Have they ever researched on why those blackspots are dangerous in the first place ? They could have use the hundreds of millions to fix those danger spots, improve the safety aspects first , rather than buying more equipment that’ll probably be another white elephant. This is like spending on new rims instead of replacing bald tires.

• It’s a blatant money-making exercise in my opinion. My editorial on this will not be so kindly worded.

• Unknown on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Implementing speeding cameras are effective in reducing traffic, however speed limits of various highways, i.e Maju express should be changed from 90km/h to 110 or 120km/h between first toll from putrajaya to bukit jalil, as the highway has only 2 entries and exits, therefore, a freeway must have a reasonable speed limit such as 110-120km/h with installed radars to those violating speed limit. This smoothens the traffic flow on many highways.

• KillBox1Alpha on Jul 19, 2012 at 8:58 pm

They can put all the speed cameras they want…its not going to stop the rich kids with ferraris and lambos from sticking to the speed limit…heck…forget these…even the super kancils wont be bothered…

• buzz1 on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Anyone know how/who can make a dummy no plot?? :)

• slum in bolehland on Jul 19, 2012 at 9:46 pm

every comment above always state 110km/h speed limit.but do remember alot of the camera install in various places.such as 60km/h,70km/h.
    company want to get more money install near school area.30km/h damn syiok ho…everyone will receive saman exceeding the limit.
    so good luck all.mine aready kena because average 80-90 to balik kg.so i do believe i need to slow down more to 70km/h to survive.

• Car Driver on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:03 pm

Highways as it name suggest is for “high” speed travel to get people to move faster from one place to another. With the advance tech of new cars nowadays 125km/hr or 135 km/hr is a very safe speed and can be controllable. The speed limit should be increased to 150 km/hr instead of remaining as 110 km/hr. A Merc traveling at 150km/hr is so smooth and in control it is nothing at all. Warnings of speed limit should be erected before the camera to deter high speed rather than to take advantage of the system to “make money”.
    I guess those who supported the idea like Rachel or Patrick had exceeded the 110km/hr limit several times even though they dont intend( I dont they dare to admit) to because 110km/hr is too slow by today standards. For those who supported this idea wait till received these summons. You’ll regret supporting it as the G and the vendors will take every opportunity to make money out of it. Accidents will still increase as most highway accidents are due to stalled vehicle, sleepiness, lighting, poor road design, poor drivers and poor vehicle conditions and not high speed in totality.

• deftones on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:39 pm

agreed…although who can afford to pay fines..but its just disturbance..

i hope those cronies who’s on escort still follow the rules instead of moving us away to let them pass..i just hate that unless i see a rolls royce or PM’s black perdana..other than that, they are just normal human being..

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:18 am

110kmh feels slow in a proton iswara because the actual speed is about 90-95kmh only.

where else on a bus or prime mover truck, 90kph meter reading is more or less true.

many times ppl say road hogger in the fast lane when they are actually doing 110-120kmh speed and there is nothing wrong with that. if your coming from behind at 150kmh, of coz u are traveeling a lot faster than the ones at 120kph – you just have to respect other road users because we all share the same road and no one can say ‘my car is faster than you and i just have it my way’. thats just ignorant and arrogant.

if everyone is travelling at the same speed, chances of accidents will be greatly reduced. if there are 1,000 cars travelling at different and random speeds, this is when there will a lot of brakings and swervings involve.

speed doesnt kill, the sudden braking does.

• Bimmer on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:50 am

The fast lane is only for overtaking, if there is enough room on the slower lane, you must use it, do not stay on the fast lane since you are not overtaking. How do you know if there is enough room or not? If the faster car can undertake you using the slower lane, then there is more than enough room for you to move over the slower lane.

• paparadzi on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:04 pm

Use the speed on your GPS. It is very accurate.

On my car the speedo will indicate 118 when the GPS ground speed is 110 km/h.

• kerelbort on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:42 am

Car technology has advance. however, our highway was designed for speed of up to 120km/h with 100kmh limit on certain stretch for cross wind area…

even our divider can only stop speeding vehicle of up to 130kmh in which over this speed will cause the car to cross to next lane.

• abe ja on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:39 pm

agreed with the implementation.just few points to ponder:

1. like few guys already said, put the signboard “speedcam 500m ahead.90km/h limit”.and then the “start” and “end” zone of speedcam..just like the speed limit.not just simply put one signboard at bukit kayu hiitam and the other one in gelang patah and expect “we’ve warned you this highway has speedcam!”

2. i dont like the idea of privatizing it.as a profit oriented company,their main objective is to collect back their investment in implementing the system.in order to collect more revenue,what can stop them for setting up “extra” cams?cams in uncharted zones?next thing you know you get ticket for “illegal parking” in front of your own house,3am in the morning.and you know how the police settles the disputes in such cases “bayar dulu untuk clearkan nama,kemudian buat rayuan semula”.how many of us just simply pay and forget about it as rayuan cases are usually an absolute pain in the @55?

if all malaysians suddenly became obedient,lesser and lesser summons are issued,then how are they going to cover their loss?bailout?when’s their targeted ROI?2 years?

G..don’t screw up this time.it would be so unpopular that pr may take it as their GE’s manifesto to disband AES.

tq

• BOYRACER on Jul 19, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Hmm….if they implement this project, if everybody drives below speed limit, then there will be no summonses issued.If there are no summonses issued, then the operators wouldn’t not receive any revenue.No revenue means no income.Means the RM400 million goes down the drain.The question is how are they going to get back their investment.
    Sounds fishy to me.

• If used in right way, it’s good. But used to chunck out money, it’s call “Day light robbery”. Like many say, the money can be of good use, I.e- Add sign boards of incoming speed cam, improve some road conditions.

• JeremyNg on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:13 pm

I don mind how many speed camera they install at highway bcs i usually drive 90-110km/h (save fuel)…. BUT pls don install at those mountain road such as genting , karak , bkt tinggi , fraser hill road !!!

I thought government no money why still can spent so much on camera ??

• fariq on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:21 pm

another project by “kerajaan BN”….sigh~~~~

• ah beng on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Govt should know that sometimes accidents is caused by –
    a. slow car in a fast lane.
    b. motorcyclist riding through the right lane (also fast lane).
    c. not enough lighting.
    d. bumpy and full of potholes road.
    e. lot of lopak air at the side of the highway.
    f. speed limit it too low.

im sure there is lot more than this..they should revise back and put the money in a good use..

and i wonder if the 3rd party will get summons too if they get caught? how about personal police officer car?…

all i can say is, this is all bullshyte!..please la govt..dont make the people hate u more!..

p/s : sorry for the bad english!..

• mudtire on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:42 pm

aiyah juz drive faster than 250…problem solved…

• Garfield on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:11 am

This is another reason given by the speedsters why they’re speeding like hell. Maybe they have actually indeed experimented that at 250km/h they had the speed cameras beaten!

Their cars must be shaking like hell at that speed for the speed camera not to get one frame of clear shot of the number plate…..

• seriousfastdonkey on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:47 pm

Speedsters are cleverer and smarter than these dumb cameras. If the locations are known then get your foot off the pedals when approaching it.

• thebugbud on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:57 pm

i smell cronies.. another concession “like” deals. later will see increase in summons.

Problem with the situation, drivers are guilty until proven innocent. This will create more opportunities to make a lot more cronies summons to jack up the revenue.

Problem is, how can we as citizens and drivers get a fair treatment? Remember as both tax payers and honest drivers.

• tok kok on Jul 19, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Huh? 400 million for speed cameras?
    Made of Gold ah?

• roadkill on Jul 20, 2012 at 12:06 am

If you do the crime, prepare to do the time. In this case pay the the fine. If u didnt do anything wrong in the first place, then there’s nothing to be worried about. The camera’s are calibrated by SIRIM and will only capture the +10% of the speed limit.
    Speed does kill and the research really does show it. If anything, we should blame the govt for NOT implementing this sooner because it could save lives. The value of human life is intangible. Every life is worth saving. Even if its the lives of trolls who prowl this website advocating for higher speeds for our highways.
    Highway and road designs are best left to the engineers. There are alot of factors to consider when designing road geometry including acceleration, deceleration, vertical sight distance, overtaking sight distance, superelevation etc. All this in order to make it smooth and safe for 95% of motorist to drive the highway/road.(including commercial vehicles) It is not designed for the 1% speed demons in Malaysia.

• Rachel on Jul 20, 2012 at 2:06 am

Some even comes out with the idea of using fake plates.They are trying to break the rules by breaking another rules.Even basic rules like signals before changing lane and direction is so hard to obey.This proofs that most Malaysian are too self-centered.Human life is not as important as their own minor convenient on without having to flip a handle right behind the steering.Rules aren’t that complex,no entry means no entry.Simple things like shoulder check,mirror check,giving signal,speed control also can’t even do it properly and they thinks that they can handle their car at 160km/h.Learn the basic things first.

• ABTguy on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:10 am

Ya man, that’s a good idea. Build in some system to swap the no plate by a push button, then voila …. we can speed all we can !

And the fake plate to be using all politician no, ha ha ha.

• Garfield on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:48 am

I agree with most of your points! However, 160km/h is pretty safe if you have a clear road and not just reckless. Let me give you an example of my experience driving on M25 near London (way way back).

It was night time and there was not much traffic. It would have been a sleepy affair it I were to trot at the leisurely 110km/h (their 70mph speed limit). I was doing that speed while observing the 2-second rule (meaning the cars in front are doing the same). Then I saw a Volvo V70R motorway patrol car in my rearview mirror. It followed me for some time, then overtook me and did the same behind the car in front of me and so on.

I realised that what the officer was using his discretion to ensure the safety of the motorway within reasonable limits. He was observing each driver’s road behaviour and the ability to handle the speed (maybe looking for drunk driver). Yeah, I was driving an E-Class so maybe he is less worried than if I were driving an old Ford Escort banger.

If I were to panic brake immediately upon seeing him I was sure I would be hauled off. Braking unnecessarily even if just gently would trigger your brake light and the drivers behind you would have to react. The officer had already known that I had broken the speed limit; he just didn’t want me to create an even more dangerous situation.

My point is, on both sides (the law and the citizen), please use your god given intelligence. To the authorities, please put up the speed cameras where it is necessary and leave them there for deterrence. Please refrain from using them to just as revenue collectors. Ensure your officers are highly trained in not only skills but also judgement. And for the drivers, don’t tailgate. You made it dangerous for the others around you. I don’t care if you die doing anything stupidly on the road but don’t make others suffer.

• Rachel on Jul 20, 2012 at 3:10 pm

In Malaysia,many cant even change lane in town speed and will that attitude magically changed when it comes to 160 km/h?They will still be the same.Only this time,the consequence of their action will be amplifies at 160km/h.

• eurohead on Jul 22, 2012 at 9:27 am

just because u cant drive doesnt make it a rule for everyone to follow.. the most dangerous drivers are normally woman, they have the slightest idea of what theyre doing on the road.. and they travel at speed of cars built at 1920’s …govt should come out to test drivers and their abilities to handle their vehicle and categorize them according to their skill set… and those who can drive at 160km/h should not be allowed on the road at all…hahahahhah

• Have we check the ROC who owns the 2 companies that got the contract and who the owners are aligned to? hehe….. For those who wish a signboard will be placed, yes it will, these are already on the roads if you observe carefully, but thats only for the static cameras, the mobile ones continue to be behind the bush and pillar… You think our G so generous meh….Accdg to the report, The 2 companies were made pay for the upfront cost, and the recovery is tagged to the number of summons issued, surely they have incentives to issue as many as possible! You guys know what to do during the next election!

• Camera Setting:
    Auto Focus
    Auto Night Mode
    Auto Exposure
    OCR Plate No Filter:
    WWW #: Auto Delete Picture
    Govt Official Cars Plate # : Auto Delete Picture
    __Reserved_for_cronies_ # : Auto Delete Picture

• Im all for accident prevention. We’ve seen fatal hit and run cases crop up now and then…but seriously 400million? And managed by third party? Why must we pretend and keep on pretending we are one with the developed nations?

If i have that much money, i would turn to clean up the rising street crimes (of course the term ‘rising’ is still pretty much a huge debacle now but being a victim,i should have my vote on this). Snatch theft, theft n robbery at car parks, roads etc should be the first priority. And seriously speeding isnt necessarily the cause of accidents. With decent warnings on the road, u dont nead 1.3k cams to prevent accidents.

But then again we are barking needlessly at the wrong tree. The decision makers are chaffeured n escorted mindlessly across the stretch over the speed limits in multifold. Sigh…more petronas mooney down the drai

n
    Meanwhile, a birdie told me petrona is now known as anak derhaka kerajaan………

• If l were the companies I’ll installing my cameras mostly near school. We can reduce accident rate and almost 100% vehicle will getting tickets since everybody over the speed limit.

2. Put the camera at 60-70 kmh area. Sure everyone kena.

The intention is noble BUT the practice is far from clear business practice.

• eurohead on Jul 22, 2012 at 9:29 am

i agree.. put All the camera near school, leave none for the freeway/highway

• Dear Paul Tan;

The cost quoted by the companies already FISHY. The clause of the concessionaire must be worst. Do they have the clause that read about : If the revenue from traffic offences can’t cover the (inflated quotation of) investment made, the Government must bear the costs and buy back the concessionaire?

REMEMBER almost agreement made by EPU or Government always lopsided. Never make OSA as reason to justify the lopsided if any.

• happysadmelody on Jul 20, 2012 at 7:30 am

There’s a way to make sure this new system doesn’t work. STOP SPEEDING LIKE THE DEVILS!!!

Then there will be no summons, no summons means no money needs to be paid to the government or the so called cronies.

I have been driving for 15 years, never been summons for speeding before, and always arrive at my destination safely & cheerfully.

• mantoi on Jul 20, 2012 at 8:26 am

wah…pdrm dpt bonus tambahan hjg tahun ni! blom campur bonus kerajaan lagi

• It’s OK until the the driver suddenly brakes hard after noticing the camera and the guy behind who is tailgating then slams into the back of the car causing a major accident. I’ve seen this happen in the UK many times.

• Fix the pot holes lahh. Waste money on these machines.

• vincent on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:11 am

I think our speed limit is rediculously low, 70-90km/h for highway! You must be crazy! Nowadays cars are getting more powerful and you expect people driving 70 like you are driving a Datsun 120Y? Highway speed should be increased to 120km/h with 10km+/- allowance for overtake, where slower car please move to the left lane.

If we all driving at 90km/h, I am sure the road will be very jammed up. Our government must be very hungry for money now. They give away RM500, they want RM1000 back from you!

• abe ja on Jul 20, 2012 at 10:51 am

what is totally lacking from malaysian drivers is common sense.combined that with low-level of IQ,and ego as high as mount everest..you got a perfect cocktail of killing machines and suicidal maniac on the road.

they don’t know how to enter/exit roundabout properly.

they don’ bother to shoulder check,signal the indicator before changing lane or at the junction

they tailgate at very close proximity at high speed.want to experience first hand?try gebeng-inderamahkota two-lane road.during night.you’ll see how crazy these maniac there.

• ah seng on Jul 20, 2012 at 11:13 am

i think the governing body can install another few thousand of dummy camera on the highway and put sign board too… can make every one obey the rule at cheaper cost…

on the other hand, since there’s speed limit imposed at high way, they can just check your toll in and toll out time.. by calculation, if your average speed is higher than the speed limit, automatically summon you…

just a thought though…
    even some can drive ultimately fast and get a rest at rest stop… but that defect the purpose of driving fast already..

• ahmadfaris93 on Jul 20, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Apparently, the bigger the engine , people have to pay more for road tax. For performance car, the government imposes high tax on it because of PROTON. Now, for people who speed , they have to summonses and shit. However, the roads in Malaysia are mostly shit. There are holes and bumpy roads mostly everywhere.

If the speed limit is around 70mph it makes sense. This is because if youre driving 100kmh with a Kancil it feels really fast. However, if you are cruising around in an Audi S6 at 100kmh it feels real slow. SO are we paying for performance and bigger engine just for show.
    But please solve these crimes where people “bang your car then rob/kill you off cases” first. Plus, what happened to the “please wear seat belts for rear passengers” There’s lack of enforcement on simple things. People dont use the indicators when changing lanes and turning into junctions, drive slow but still use the middle lane and hogging. These simple things need to be corrected first.
    This would be like asking a teenager not to smoke but they end up doing it. The thing is it is how a person drives. People can still die while driving at 40kmh.
    List down all the hotspots and speed somewhere else ?

PENNY WISE POUND FOOLISH

• seancorr on Jul 20, 2012 at 12:18 pm

And five years down the road…50% of the cameras or more will either be non functional or discarded and its back to square one…

• what to do on Jul 20, 2012 at 1:06 pm

buat salah; bayar saja.
    apa pening

hidup kasi enjoy :)

LIFE GOOD

• zidane on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Why dont you all just obey the SPEED LIMIT..

So, whats the problem here?

• polo saga on Jul 20, 2012 at 7:56 pm

the problem is speed limit is outdated, 110km/hr is quite slow, and should be given at least 10km/hr allowance to overtake car.

• Extrimist on Jul 20, 2012 at 6:29 pm

“First, both operators will get RM16 from each valid summons in which the fine is collected, not on how many photographs are snapped (!), capped at five million summonses. Go past that number, and the second tier sees the companies taking 50% of the amount paid in fines”

5 million summons within 30 years = 13888 pieces of summons monthly need to be paid monthly. If it does being paid exactly like that, total fine collected is only RM80 million. Far below the estimated installing and operating cost of RM400 million.

I’m wondering how the two companies will get the ROI. Or, in how many years they want to get the ROI?

I smell Xeryus Rouge here :)

• unifried on Jul 20, 2012 at 7:10 pm

thank you to paultan.org will will sticky all the known speedtrap locations as posted by loyal readers and contributors to this website.

• Jonathan Lee on Jul 20, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Good move. Hopefully this will put an end, not just to speeding, but to the whole business of running a red light.

• eurohead on Jul 22, 2012 at 9:32 am

its time for us speedster to take speeding to the backroads… we cant do it in the highways then we do it in area that we would endanger even more lives…hahahah im lovin it

• zidane on Jul 22, 2012 at 10:35 am

Most Malaysian will give 1001 STUPID reasons just the need for speeding…

outdated la… cari makan la…

again… my question: if you stick to 110kmh, whats the problem? dont compare with Germans, because their civic conscious on the road is much better than Malaysian…

With current speed limit, hundreds accident has been recorded, then you as for higher limit… I’LL SAY… BS!

• Extrimist on Jul 22, 2012 at 12:17 pm

That 2 companies spend RM400 million for installation. If all Malaysians drive below 110kmh and obey the speed limit, how they gonna produce their income?

There must me some ways there gonna get back their money, and they will, no matter how.

• Vince on Jul 23, 2012 at 4:16 am

Lol problem doesn’t lies on obeying the speed limit or not. I guess people who agree with the 110km/h speed limit does not drive a big horsepower car for daily usage.

Im not trying to criticize people that drives low hp cars but please think of us who drives big hp cars. It is not easy to maintain at 110km/h as you think. At the highest gear, even a feet to pedal will accelerate at 110km/h.

Im saying this for people who get summoned for cruising 120km/h+ only. As for speeders, thats a different case.

• bamboozled on Jul 23, 2012 at 11:27 am

If this system really works, how are the 2 contractors gonna get profit? Everybody is driving at the regulated speed limit and the camera does it job perfectly, means no body is speeding.

The 2 contractors knows very well their system won’t work, and Malaysians will continue to drive fast. If the 2 contractors know the system will work, then it is bad business indeed.

• bamboozled on Jul 23, 2012 at 11:34 am

Why can’t we implement point system? Repeat offenders will be scared of this system.

If I’m a gazillionaire with connection, I could drive fast and pay summons easily. No matter how many summons I’ve collected, as long as i paid them, and as long as i did not kill people, i can make the road like it is my father’s. Government and their contractor got their money, i get to do what i want. Win win.

If point system, if you got caught speeding let say 3 times, then just simply cut the license, or sent to seminar or do a public service.

Money is not the solution for everything. Money makes the world go round.

• mindfaucet on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:33 pm

LOL, don’t IF this and IF that. Those 2 companies will 100% sure get their revenues as Malaysians still will break the rules. BTW, reading PT nowadays is like reading Utusan/Harakah/Suara Keadilan. More & more political bullshits. No more talks purely on automotive.

• Speed camera makes sense at certain area and certain time such as at school, hospital, peak hour at town which required motorist to slow down. Otherwise on big motorway, it can be only promote drowsiness and putting more motorist on the road at a time.

Summone makes more sense for those who careless & incompetence(regardless speed they make) that cause the accident. Summone them big time!..

• do your part in the next general election so that this wont happen again hahahaha

• Ermm..something fishy here…the implementation is to reduce road accident or to gain profit from citizen? They even have so called “Sales Target” annually? ermm….

“First, both operators will get RM16 from each valid summons in which the fine is collected, not on how many photographs are snapped (!), capped at five million summonses. Go past that number, and the second tier sees the companies taking 50% of the amount paid in fines. The cap changes to an amount, set at RM270 million a year, with the government taking an equal share.”

• droll on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:46 pm

ok folks, i agree with a lot of the comments above about how cameras should be for safety, motorists should know the location of cameras etc.

but let’s be real here. this is the govt of m’sia – they implement policies that we know will only benefit themselves. so in light of this, what can we do to “deny” them of this revenue? i believe if we do enough of that, the companies operating it will go bust and the cameras will be neglected. but is this what we really want (at the expense of safety)??

• bhloy on Jul 26, 2012 at 1:58 pm

wats the point of buying a fast car then?

• Are these cameras meant to fill up the coffers or to genuinely reduce accidents?Why damn expensive?Someone made big money?In the first place, please let us know where the cameras are…Don’t do the silly childidih game of hiding the cameras under bridges, above trees or even inside some warong on the road side!

• Are these cameras meant to fill up the coffers or to genuinely reduce accidents?Why damn expensive?Someone made big money?In the first place, please let us know where the cameras are…Don’t do the silly childish game of hiding the cameras under bridges, above trees or even inside some warong on the road side!

• scania380 on Jul 29, 2012 at 1:44 am

Again.. don’t understand why these PR agents said BN/Govt make money? If you drive your car in a good manner, no offense, up to the speed limit, is there any ticket you will get? Govt/JPJ/BN will dig you pocket to get the money? or these peoples looking to break this law, and will spread out issues that gov. print out money from rakyat’s pocket??

stupid minded guys.. it seems that in this century, the technology would not pickup the human sense to be better way of thinking.. slanders is much easier.. sadly said malaysian minded..

• cedricltm on Aug 01, 2012 at 11:58 am

I know this is not related to this post but here’s my story.I got a summon letter once from a speed trap around in june stating tht speed limit in kesas is 90km/h and I got caught at 117km/h at 11/6/12.So the summons for that cost at RM300 but if I pay early got % so decided pay it a.s.a.p. As I get to there, I found out that I actually have 6 summons from the past 3 months which accumulate up to RM1300. Different summons have diff cost but most of them is in kesas highway. Was shocked about it and devastated about the summons so i actually check up one by one and most of the summons are back from march and early april and only 2/6 are from june (second latest). Was upset and desperate, i actually beg them to give me discount for all the summons because we’re not from a rich family and im just only a student also currently working as a part time but they said 3 months ago its impossible for them to give,they can only give out for the june only. In the end, i ended up paying rm900 for all of it..3/4 of my salary has gone just like that.. Week has gone by, again i recieved a letter of summon but come to my suprise.. it stated that it was back in june,the 2nd latest summons which I already settle it and now they only send me the letter.. Yes i do admit it is my fault for speeding at 1st ..But shudnt they supposed to send me the letter earlier? I mean this was like march and april ones.. they never send me a single letter but instead they send the ones only in june and by then its already accumulated..Has anyone been in this situation before? Just here to share out my story to u guys..

• dollah on Aug 04, 2012 at 1:21 am

Any speed detector or GPS to indicate the location of these AES?

• I have read some good comments here. But I’d like to give my views on road safety and responsible driving. Firstly, speed does have pros and cons. It kills and also save life. So, by limiting speed may not necessary save life. However, safe driving in my opinion save life.

I give an easy example. Say there is an intoxicated driver who is driving at 110kmh on a highway on the middle lane. What should you do?

One of the safe driving technique that I’ve learnt when I was taking my driving license in the UK was, before changing lane, you need to put on your indicator/signal. If you are driving at 60mph, you need to let your indicator blink for at least 6 time before you change lane. The police are very strict about you having to give indicator more than driving slightly above the speed limit.

Secondly, when overtaking, you are allowed to drive above the speed limit (reasonable speed).

I consider these two examples as safe driving.

In Germany, most highways do not have speed limit. But of course when situation changes such as sudden crawl in the traffic, rain and etc. they will ask you to follow a certain speed limit. And most interestingly instead of speed camera, they have lots of “distance camera”. Im sure you’ve heard about the 2 seconds rule. So this camera will detect whether the driver keep enough distance with the car in front. Another safe driving tip.

But as usual, we can only suggest. If the ideas are good but not a money making machine, it will not be implemented.

We used to give high beam to tell there is a speed trap to oncoming cars. Maybe it wont be long when people will tweet about the speed trap locations?Or the same company that partnered with the JPJ/PDRM may come out with a new business of giving notifications for subscribers of where the speed cameras are. Then this time they will not have to share their revenue with the govt. Ahax.

• Jason PR on Oct 07, 2012 at 6:38 pm

If a typical kancil (650cc) can go up to 120 km/h, can u imagine what a normal toyota camry can do? Seriously even with all speedtraps, it is hard not to go above 110 km/h. I myself drive kancil over 110km/h all the time and also my camry, i drive with speeds up to 200 km/h. I know that speed is stupid, but a camry can easily reach 130 km/h in no time. Imagine all those sport cars or those BMW, Mercedes and Audi’s ?
    They should implement like those in German. Notify drivers of safe zone where people can speed and vice versa for danger zones.

• Raja Razman Mansur on Oct 26, 2012 at 10:22 pm

My personal opinion about these issues are as below :
    Due to the massive volume of cars in Malaysia one can only agree that our Highways must have at least 3 lanes or more just like in economics – When there is demand (cars), there must be supply(roads).
    I think that people have a right to speed. As long as it is done in a civilised, safe and proper manner.I mentioned three lanes because everytime I am on a highway, especially on weekends or festive holidays, I cannot even dream of speeding. Why?.
    Because there’s simply too many cars on the road!. Sometimes when I drive so slow on a highway, I wish my car had wings and fly off to Neverland and meet Michael Jackson! Ha! ha!. Ok jokes aside, Make a special lane(third lane for SUPERCARS or Higher end luxury/sports cars cause I have been seeing quita a lot of ferraris’,lamborghinis’porsches and a lot of million ringgit cars lately, i.e. for motorist who wish to drive more than 110kmh and above. Possibly NO SPEED limits in some straights and fine/catch the cars that go slow on the fast lane!!! – Thats All for today folks! – Good nite Malaysia!