VIDEO: Kia Forte K3 revealed in Sneak Peek Box

It looks like Proton isn’t the only car manufacturer who likes to use pre-launch peek-a-boo teaser boxes to tease an upcoming car. Kia is using a similiar teaser tactic with the new Kia Forte, which will be called the Kia K3 in the South Korean domestic market. Thanks to this video uploaded by a YouTube user, we get to see certain features of the car very clearly such as the front grille, headlamps, 17-inch alloy wheels and tail lamps.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments show mixed reactions to the Kia Forte K3 reveal, with many praising its sporty and premium design, comparing it to BMW and Audi, and highlighting its LED tail lights and interior features. Some fans express excitement for the new styling, while others comment on its resemblance to luxury models or criticize it as a copy. There are hopes for a turbo engine, diesel option, and competitive pricing in Malaysia. Several commenters feel the new Forte will surpass Proton Preve and other local competitors, viewing it as a strong contender in terms of safety, design, and value. Overall, the sentiment is largely positive, with anticipation for when the car arrives locally and curiosity about its pricing and features.

• Lim Kopi on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:33 am

Is Peter Schreyer still design chief?

If so why is the headlamp abit like BMW F30’s ??

• Desmond on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:41 am

IF you say Peter Schreyer designs German cars ie: Audi, i’m not surprised if Kia looks like BMW.

• Tony Montana on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:04 am

There seems to be nothing special to the designs.

Boring…

• Yeaaahhh…. a tad boring….no longer i feel it’s uniquely Forte…

• jalan54 on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Doesn’t really matter what you think as long as most of the people feel that this is a good looking design.

• Lim Kopi on Jul 28, 2012 at 2:49 am

Current Kias look cool for its day ..

I don’t understand why should they need to imitate Bimmers??

Even the larger Kia looks like an F10 !!

OMG … wake up Peter!! Or maybe its your cinaman boss telling u to copy them!!

• Donohue on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:40 am

If this is coming to Malaysia then Kia certainly will set the bar high. In term of safety, design and price, current Forte already has surpassed many in its class. I just hope the car prices will be cut down after the election.

• bslee on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Then you must choose the right government before tax reduction .

• Mario Gomez on Jul 27, 2012 at 7:06 am

Nice car.
    Farewell to Proton Preve and Honda Civic!!!

• ‘Shark fin antenna’ and front sensors spotted!
    Don’t know why I have a feel that they won’t remain the current price range

• plasma on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:06 am

the headlamp looks like the latest bmw 3series

• Kumar on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:55 am

It is a copy, that is what JunkKiaSu does best.

• jalan54 on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Name me one automobile manufacturer who doesn’t copy and their car is totally unique…

• jalan54 on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:09 pm

what is wrong with you, just leave if you don’t like it, why bother bother people?

• Pumpkins on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:08 am

One year from now half of Preve owners surely trade-in to buy this new Forte. Bye bye Proton.

• Ghost on Jul 27, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Hi Pumpkins. Keep bashing the Preve till the next haloween.

• Lim Kopi on Jul 28, 2012 at 2:46 am

Proton is meant to be bashed, its fated.

Who on earth, sacrifices the whole country’s automobile industry and its people’s pockets for a few persons gain??

Now tell me how not to bash Proton??

• mbras on Jul 28, 2012 at 1:32 am

only if i has good handling as contish preve

• Kalun on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:19 am

The front do look like the BMW new 3 series but even better.

• jalan54 on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Does it really matter whether he is smoking some dame good *sheet*? As I mentioned before, just leave if you don’t like, why bother putting shit here and there?

• xander on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:32 am

looks promising. :) not sure when will arrive in bolehland. guess the price tag is similar with elantra :(. Hopefully not. Naza always suprize us.

• kucau on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:41 am

pumpkins and mario, its the engine dude. its only NA.

• ss427 on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:45 am

Ahh… even with this peek a boo shots in a Korean shopping mall, the beautiful lines of the new Forte is already very obvious. :)

To those bros in the previous thread who insist the white car is not the new Forte, please have your eyes checked okie? You guys must have gotta used to @@ at too many awful designs such as the Preve, Altis, Almera, new FB Civic etc that you can no longer recognize a great design when you see one… LOL :)

• Common on Jul 27, 2012 at 9:53 am

Only if KIA can fit this with a 1.6 turbo engine, it would be perfect.

• ss427 on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:25 am

I certainly hope so too. The Veloster and this new Forte are all based on the new Elantra.

Therefore, if the new Veloster can be had with the 201hp, 1.6L Gamma Turbo GDI and a 6 speed DCT, I don’t see why the new Forte can’t. It can be marketed as a top spec, GT model with upgraded suspension tuning and perhaps better brakes.

• jalan54 on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:12 pm

hahaha… Something must be wrong with you? What shit did you take???

• ss427 on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:09 am

guys this is how the new Forte tailights looks like when lit up :)

http://www.kia-world.net/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/2014-kia-forte-light.jpg

Ahh… vert Audi like… nice… and I believe it is the FIRST Asian car model to feature such neon effect running lights and LED brake lights in the middle.

Can’t think of ANY Japs models, regardless of brand, size or category, featured anything similar.

IMHO, owners of this new Forte can further enhance the ‘all red’ effect by replacing the orange turn indicator bulb to red. Or they can apply red tint film over the turn indicator area and use regular neutral colored bulb for illumation… it will be very nice when all are lighted up :)

• can get plenty like this from aftermarket headlamps, nothing to shout about

• ss427 on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:22 am

Well still related to Kia, this is the promo video for the new export market K9… the new Quoris :)

http://youtu.be/3zidkEGObz0?hd=1

Anyone still insist it’s a BMW rip off? :( It’s better styled than the F10 and the size is on par with the 7 series than the 5 series.

Paul Tan should conduct a full 3 car comparo when the Quoris arrives in Bolehland.. :) Yes please go borrow a new 740iL and a LS 460 and you guys will see how silly it is to spend so much extra on these German and Japs lux sedans where you can get the same in a Kia for far less money :)

• Paul Tan on Jul 27, 2012 at 10:23 am

Quoris like all of the other premium Kias (even Cadenza) is left hand drive only, so it won’t happen.

• They are CCFL LED. Same type with those that you can found on latest Beemer, Merc and Audi.
      As for the DRL in headlights, they are the same too.

• Compilor on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:20 am

Korean >> aesthetic design
    Japanese >> engineering design

• ss427 on Jul 27, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Compilor said:
      Korean >> aesthetic design
      Japanese >> engineering design

Funny you’d put it that way… I didn’t know a 12+ yr old, wobbly and simple chassis and drivetrain can be considered an ‘engineering design’… LOL :)

And I’m certainly baffled how shrinking the wheelbase, cheapen the interior, soften the handling and ride, persistence use of existing mech as compared to the outgoing model can be considered an ‘engineering marvel’ in anybody’s book… *faint*

• Oh come on… The rear lamps are a complete rip off of the Audi A6!!!!!!!! Seriously!!!

• Can see so many Kia basher in this post… please la stop bashing the car if u dont like it please dont open this post. Go to Honda or Toyota website perhaps it will calm u down..

• ss427 on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Yeah… Maserati and Hyundai Junk bro, kindly click on this link. You will feel much better since according to you guys, anything Toyota build (or rebadged) will be light yrs ahead of whatever the Koreans can pull. :D :)
      http://toyota.com.my/avanza/

• Kumar on Jul 27, 2012 at 11:30 pm

This car really a low class JUNK!!

• video ni macam tengok skodeng je :-D

• JustSaying on Jul 27, 2012 at 4:49 pm

ehhh…this car many say like BMW..Like Audi..bnyk puji..liltle bash..if Proton ka…Perodua ka…Toyota ka…Honda ka…Sure kena bash Kaw-Kaw…”saying design car no idea”…”copy Paste la” herm…end of story…not every car can satisfied everbody…= )

• Observer on Jul 27, 2012 at 5:24 pm

The upper-front grille and headlamps are to huge and straight up which is quite unnecessary. Should has sharper nose. Just wonder how’s the aerodynamic result with drag coefficient is…

• jalan54 on Jul 27, 2012 at 6:15 pm

bring in the diesel version, hyundai and kia have a very good diesel engine, please bring it in.

• Still some people saying that it is ripoff from Audi or bla bla bla for the LED and lighting part.

Idiot.

• Hey people, check out the interior shots here:http://thekoreancarblog.com/2012/07/scooped-2013-kia-k3-caught-china/

• Hey people check this out
    http://thekoreancarblog.com/2012/07/scooped-2013-kia-k3-caught-china/
    http://thekoreancarblog.com/tag/kia-k3/
    http://www.kia-world.net/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/kia-ceed-interior.jpg

• seriousdude on Jul 28, 2012 at 9:19 am

sedan version of 2012 kia c’eed

• Embun on Jul 28, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Would be very nice if priced below 90k

• c3lvin on Jul 28, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Whether they copy the designs here or there, it is not the most important issue. KIA overall strategy is working very well.

The co. just posted their latest 2Q financial results and they has earned a net profit close to USD1 billion from Apr to June. More than 50% of their total production volume is for overseas market.

This proves that they are progressing very fast globally..

• At least it doesn’t look like a shitty Camry or Civic. Seen both on the road and oh gracious they are ugly and bland.

• Datuk Jack on Jul 29, 2012 at 12:37 am

come on guys… it just a car.. dont fucuk so much time to defend/bash it.. u not gain/lose anything.. if u plan to buy a car do not listen/read too much comment for “uncertified automotive engineer”.. most of them not owned it.. i own a new preve also 5 years old 3series.. if u ask me how is it?.. it the ammount money u willing to spend of… dont buy viva and aspect u get camry quality.. it just a car dude… grow up…

• damage digital on Jul 30, 2012 at 3:27 pm

fanboy_sorry to say,current ones looks more masculine than this.This is way too k pop.

• The front look needs time getting used too, unlike the current Forte which has a very universal appealing, to me that is.

I like the new rear look. Can’t wait to find out what will be offered in the package here.