Vauxhall Astra introduces two new body styles and twin turbo diesel engine

Vauxhall has just shoehorned a powerful Biturbo diesel engine in the Astra. The product’s full name is the Astra BiTurbo and it comes in either a five-door hatch or sports tourer body style.

The 2.0 litre diesel engine is capable of generating 195 PS and 400 Nm, with 320 Nm of the total sum punching through at 1,250 rpm. The turbo system is sequential, meaning it has a smaller turbo that is used for acceleration with a larger one kicking in at 3,000 rpm. 

Whether it is hatch or sports tourer, the powerblock enables the Astra to achieve a 0-60 mph (0-97 km/h) time of under eight seconds, and a top speed in excess of 135 mph (217 km/h). Quite cool, don’t you think?

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• LE_buruk on Aug 02, 2012 at 4:40 pm

too bad our diesel isn’t good enough to power this machine.

• andique on Aug 02, 2012 at 8:26 pm

im noob in car and even in gas industry….

i just came across biodiesel pump at one of the esso station…. is the biodiesel better than diesel or is it equivalent?

what kind of diesel those european cars widely used?

can anyone answer me on the above question… tq ;)

• Bio-Diesel is more aggressive than normal Diesel fuel (will eat the standard rubber hosts) and it lacks lubrication characteristics (damage the injection pump).
        High pressure direct injection engines from europe are usually not allowed to be driven with Bio-Diesel.
        For older lorries Biodiesel is okay. An old Mercedes 911 lorry has an injection pressure of 1.740PSI only, a i.e. modern Ford or Peugeot common-rail diesel engine has around 26.000PSI…

• Eason Leong on Aug 04, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Mohd:
          Who tell you biodiesel is lack of lubrication? Please check your fact.

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/fuel-efficiency/alternative-fuels/biodiesel.htm

• Because I don’t care what “howstuffworks” writes about busses in the US, I care what Ford and Peugeot are writing in their operation manuals? “Warranty is null and void if operated with bio-diesel”?

• Eason Leong on Aug 05, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Mohd:
          You are right to some extent but diesel cars and SUVs from Volkswagen, Audi, BMW and Mercedes-Benz are all now approved to use B5 biodiesel under warranty. Not only that,the most recent models with the Ford Power Stroke, GM Duramax and Dodge Cummins diesel engines all can run B20 biodiesel without warranty worries. 2011 Ford Super Duty pickups even have “B20” boldly displayed on the Power Stroke fender badge.

Read more: http://www.motherearthnews.com/ask-our-experts/types-of-biodiesel-zb0z1205zmat.aspx#ixzz22dzU7fGv

• This is fine. But where can I buy “the most recent models with the Ford Power Stroke, GM Duramax and Dodge Cummins diesel engines” in Malaysia?

BTW: Army lorries and battle-tanks can even be driven with pure vegetable oil, the “multi-fuel-engine” is known for decades, latest since MAN’s famous L2AE from 1953?
          I didn’t say it’s impossible, I said that “High pressure direct injection engines from europe are usually not allowed to be driven with Bio-Diesel”?

• Eason Leong on Aug 06, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Mohd:
          Most models that sell at M’sia is biodiesel compatible.

http://paultan.org/2011/05/29/malaysian-b5-biodiesel-at-pumps-to-comply-with-ms2008-based-on-en14214-biodiesel-standard/

• Eason: Have you read your source? B5 is not biodiesel:

“B5 is a blend of 95% regular petroleum-based diesel and 5% biodiesel.”

Of course they can use fuel containing 95% diesel and only 5% biodiesel, but NOT 100% biodiesel.

• Eason Leong on Aug 07, 2012 at 10:25 pm

Of cause I read my source. Like what you said, biodiesel’s behaviour as a solvent is the main concern. If M’sia govt instantly start using beyond Biodiesel B20 (20% Biediesel, 80% petroleum diesel), most commercial vehicles in the country will breakdown on the street within short period of time.
          Why?
          Because the Biodiesel will clean the deposit in the fuel-line of the vehicles & clog the fuel-injector & fuel-filter. So the govt is taking 1 step at a time.

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/fuel-efficiency/alternative-fuels/biodiesel4.htm

• AKU LOLA KE? on Aug 02, 2012 at 5:05 pm

i love this car engine very2 much..!!!

• Hadi1975 on Aug 03, 2012 at 6:58 am

Biodiesel sucks…..
      Conti cars use euro 4 diesel in europe whereas we malaysian got to use euro 2m spec diesel….which almost the same as euro 2….which is crap…

• zack randolph on Aug 02, 2012 at 5:22 pm

No matter how good Opel is doing, they still losing money

• Griggil on Aug 02, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Nothing to shout about.

1999’s Subaru B4 RSK 2.0 twin turbo standard specs can do 0-60mph just at 5.6 sec.

This Bi-turbo still loose no matter how much torque it has.

• Dude, this is a DIESEL engine… don’t compare with Petrol.

• jalan54 on Aug 02, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Try long distance and see which run out of fuel first. Can’t compare like that my friend.

• LOL..u idiot…this is diesel..u wanna compare apple with orange?

• Hadi1975 on Aug 03, 2012 at 6:46 am

Read the article carefully….it’s BITURBO DIESEL not TWIN TURBO PETROL engine….

• Take a look at its torque figures…400nm, and 320nm starts from low 1,250nm….

• Griggil on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:26 am

Yeah…torque figure…whatever. That torque figure + hp make it under eight seconds.

Well, 13 years Subaru Legacy B4 can make it under 8 seconds. So what’s the point. No matter its diesel or petrol. Still loose when it comes to acceleration.

But I did realized later after reading other website that this Vauxhall Biturbo’s FC is 55.4mpg or nearly 20km/l. That’s superb.

• bro, its a daily car not a racer wanabe like the subaru u mentioned

• Griggil on Aug 04, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Bro, Subaru Legacy B4 RSK is a daily car, not a race car wannabe.

• francis on Aug 09, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Poor Griggil… kena hantam… XD

• Ben Yap on Aug 02, 2012 at 5:53 pm

thought Vauxhall is a good car, many malaysians will think twice or thrice to buy it.

• andique on Aug 02, 2012 at 8:29 pm

yupp…

my personal view is the target market for european car in malaysia usually for the middle class upper….

mainly due to the high cost in maintenance…

as well as the fuel consumption…

• Yup, but over there in UK….vauxhall’s car are usually in the top 5 best sellers. Over there, its usually the Focus/Mondeo/Corsa/Astra are among the top seller.

• francis on Aug 09, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Provided they can sell at competitive pricing, Many Years warranty and availability SC across the nation.. Can sell what..

This is nice looking car tho.. SimeDarby.. Naza.. Please bring vauxhall and some Opel models in Malaysia..

• suka-suka jer on Aug 02, 2012 at 7:00 pm

no matter what it wont be sell in malaysia officially.
    so no need to comment.
    buang masa saja.

• Astra is a really good car since 3 generations ago. Too bad Opel is doing so badly. The German Union rules are killing them.

• GM moved the Astra production to England and Poland, no more Astra’s from Germany. So the German Union rules are killing cars made in England and Poland? ;)

• jalan54 on Aug 02, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Doesn’t matter how cool this car is, we will not be able to get it in malaysia and even if we do have it here, the price will sky high… sigh…

• retard on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:53 pm

vauxhall is also a good vehicle brand. it’s British. but then it’s all about the price. if the price is more than rm 45k, it will be totally a fiasco product to be sell in Malaysia.

• jolly_idiot on Aug 02, 2012 at 11:40 pm

This can smoke the 320d anytime.

• Camry Lover on Aug 03, 2012 at 7:13 am

320d can do 0-100 in 7.6sec. and its a single turbo. what are u talking?

• unless u’re drag racing, 0-100 figures not important for daily use. Its the in gear acceleration which is more important, thats where all this turbo diesels shine….go test drive any decent modern turbodiesel only then u understand….theres lot to test nowadays, focus tdci,320/520d,508 hdi FAP,santa fe,starex…etc..etc..

• Opel….try buying one and use it for 7-10yrs and see ur car value.. bought a 120k opel and used it for 8 yrs… sold it for 8k as there is no parts for it

• orange on Aug 03, 2012 at 9:58 am

nice car, wonder why is it vauxhall never intended to sell their car officially in this country

• Ganeson on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:52 am

Is this car coming to malaysia? I have seen some ads running on astro for the ASTRA GTC. is it a sign, that its coming. they can sell it as a chevrolet easily to dispel the OPEL stigma they have in malaysia

• skiborne on Aug 03, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Opel. Wir leben Autos. :)

• Better use polish language. Today GM announced that they will close all german factories.

• this is wat i call fuel economy performance car.. thumbs up