Volkswagen Passat CC R-Line 3.6L Test Drive Review

Cars used to be simple things. Some were big, some were fast, some were cheap. It was easy. You buy a big Mercedes, or a fast Ferrari or a cheap something else.

But consumers get more demanding and competition gets stiffer. So we now ask for space, luxury, speed, safety and looks all in an affordable package.

Sometimes, it all works out. Ever since Volkswagen started doing business properly in Malaysia this century, the Golf GTI has become a benchmark. Its dimensions and simple lines are handsome and understated, it goes straight and around bends in a manner that astounds for a hatchback that offers comfortable seating for five. And it all came for around RM200k, a lot less than much slower European cars.

volkswagen-passat-cc-r-line-review-46

Other times, you end up with the Passat “Comfort Coupe” R-Line. It’s more beautiful than the Golf with a seductive boot lip and direct-from-the-sketchbook lines, it’s faster even than the Golf R, doing the century sprint in 5.6s, a tenth of a second quicker, and is, well, bigger.

However, it costs nearly twice as much at RM373,888. And has only four seats. And empties your fuel tank as if it came with a hole.

Not that this makes it a bad car. Heavens, no. It was enjoyable to drive, nice to look at and very comfortable to sit in. Continue reading after the break for our take on the V6-powered Passat CC R-Line.

If the Golf GTI is for the sensible family guy who still wants the option of making quick progress, then the CC R-line is for the guy who wants to make even quicker progress and is rich enough to consider a stylish status car. But not so rich he will go all out for a premium brand and he also doesn’t have a family of five or more. I don’t know how many people that amounts to.

Volkswagen UK has suggested it will sell only 100 V6 CCs in a year. In Malaysia, the car may actually do better relative to the total industry volume. For reasons stated above, it has merits which may convince you to plumb for it over a Golf. And because it’s smaller and cheaper than other German four-door coupes (or, if you want to be technical, a four-door sedan with a sloping roof), it will draw the eye of someone who doesn’t want to spend upwards of RM700,000 on a car.

The BMW 6 Series Gran Coupe and Mercedes CLS both cost twice as much as the CC R and in fact, the VW costs about the same as BMW’s two-door 325i coupe, which is about the same size but only beats the entry-level CC for pace.

But this is the R-line with the 3.6-litre V6, and not the entry-level variant with an engine half the size. The 300 PS six-shooter is an endlessly pleasing animal to prod, with peak torque of 350 Nm arriving at 2,400 rpm, decent for a naturally-aspirated plant.

The Adaptive Chassis Control offers a pliant ride in Comfort but in Sport, well, handling improves, but not so much as to actually compensate for the loss in composure when going over the stuff that passes off as ‘road’ in parts of the Klang Valley.

All that tinkering is a bit moot, though. The problem is that the car feels big and lumbering. Even though it is pleasingly, both in terms of looks and drivability – 55 mm closer to the ground than the standard Passat, the car doesn’t quite shrink around you when you drop the six-speed DSG to S.

The throttle response becomes sharper, but you’re all too aware of the car’s size, turning the car into a jagged sabre instead of a flying epee. Of course, the VW Rs are not as engineered as BMW’s Ms, but it was still disappointing to drive the top of the line model but still have to curb your enthusiasm.

Still, in every sense except the lack of a fifth seat, the CC is an improvement on the regular Passat, kudos to Volkswagen on that. This range-topper also comes with all-wheel-drive, panoramic tilting glass roof and keyless entry/start (a must-have in these days of ‘perceived’ crime) on top of standard features which include the very useful auto-hold funtion so you don’t have to keep your foot on the brakes at stops.

But unless you really need four-wheel drive, and really need the, admittedly, very fast and very thirsty V6 (which gave less than 500 km from a 70-litre tank), then the 1.8 turbo is more than adequate and comes at a more attainable RM225,888.

The R-line on the other hand, well, is faster, but not as fast as the Merc or BMW four-door coupes. Smaller and more affordable though but not as practical as the Golf. The only bit it might be the outright winner in is looks, but even that’s subjective.

This is, in isolation, a very good car. It’s just that VW makes other very good cars which meet a certain market segment and given recent pricing revamps, at better value (for example, the regular Passat comes at RM170,888 now).

These criticisms though, might all be a bit unfair. We’ve come to place very high standards for VW to make cars that make sense while ignoring some completely rubbish ideas from others. Post-Scirocco, VW’s actively telling drivers now that it can be as stylish as it has been functional all this while.

Given that the VW group includes the even more stylish Audi stable, we’re pretty much going into saturation here. The CC’s presence in Malaysia, especially the R-line, is pretty much an indicator that the automotive market has come to a point where choices are as much emotional as practical (gone are the days of only buying Toyotas and Mercs because of resale value).

So while cars are no longer simple things, the buyer’s choice still is. If you like it, buy it. With the CC R, this holds true, especially if you have the ability to ignore what the guy next door is driving.

Shannon Teoh

Shannon Teoh knows nothing about cars - despite having a mechanic for a father - but loves driving them. He has, however, written several articles that have caused civil unrest. So he can at least tell you what he likes and hates about the cars he drives. Or even those he has never laid a finger on. Kinda like what you guys say about Megan Fox and Kim Kardashian.

• Mario Gomez on Sep 02, 2012 at 6:18 pm

Nice car,now waiting for CC R-Line

• Anti_Fuel_Price on Sep 02, 2012 at 6:21 pm

But why now only bring in the “outdated” cc R line where else facelift passat cc already launch? Is it VGM bring in “old” stock from countries?

• am i right? on Sep 03, 2012 at 4:53 am

Dude, they just launched a Volkswagen CC and that’s not a Passat. I’m sure they’ll have a new replacement for the Passat CC right after they launched the new Golf MK7. Passat, Passat CC and CC. They are totally different type of car. God Volkswagen, don’t you have any other name?

• Tazzy on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:15 am

Guys, no more Passat CC.It will be known only as CC and it is a class higher than the Passat. According to VW, both models are different. The R-Line is the last of the Passat CC VGM is just trying to clear whatever stock they have got left.

The CC is already available at VGM for a couple of months now. Price 225K ~ 250k depending on spec. Nice car though. Good build quality but new A4 or F30 3 series anytime.

• Hyundai Salesman on Sep 02, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Buy Sonata better la. Why spend so much money when you can get the same quality? Tsk.

• Sam Loo on Sep 02, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Sonata/K5 will depreciate 50% within 30 years. No thanks

• which car wont depreciate more than 50% in 30 years?

• TurboMan!!! on Sep 03, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Its you again with your RV point.

It was shot down terribly in the Nissan’s post.

But wanna come here and start the whole thing over again?

• Sonata is overrated. Other than nice design i dont know what is so great about it.

• I guess it’s a bit too early to compare Sonata and Passat in quality…

• If this is a Camry/Accord thread, then its sensible to buy Hyundai over that but this is a CC thread dude. Go sell somewhere else.

• TurboMan!!! on Sep 03, 2012 at 2:29 pm

I agree Des.

• I disagree, both VW and Hyundai are cheap brand, they are same class. VW is no Merc OK.

• junior driver on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:07 pm

you kidding me..
          cheap??
          yar rite..
          only Skoda is the VW range which is cheap; of which Skoda is made as entry level brand of the group.
          VW is getting more expensive world wide..
          not only in Asian but in EU as well.
          no doubt their quality/build is good..
          and far superior then JAP/Kor/Chi…

• Have you seen a Sonata tailing another car closely? Im a Malaysian and I know how they drive when then get their hands on a good, quick car. My guess is the Sonata is a hopelessly slow on speed and pick up thing. Its a useless car.

• JeremyNg on Sep 03, 2012 at 12:09 pm

But sonata dont come with one of the world best DCT ……

• junior driver on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:10 pm

not the same quality la dude.
      the ride and handling of the YF sonata still sluggish and floats around; same as its older model the NF and more older model EF..
      even on paper said 175PS (2.4L) when u take to real world; it does not and cannot project such power on real road; unlike other conti even with 150PS you can feel the power…

also; unlike other manufacturer; more new model comes/replace old model; u can feel better significant of the build/ride/handling..

• Xefron on Sep 02, 2012 at 7:18 pm

fuuuuuu..beautiful car .

• adique on Sep 02, 2012 at 7:37 pm

So beautiful. I have always adore the styling of this car. Sleek and low to the ground.

• NasUrudin aidid on Sep 02, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Buy Hyundai ….my foot. Their engine just tahan our weather ,.. Same goes with VW and Audi. Very prone to overheating

• U sure? been driving my hyundai since 2005, and its almost 7 years old. Had not given me any problem so far, very reliable indeed as long as u maintained it according to manual. Good car but style wise very boring compared to the new ones, no wonder hyundai have no problem giving their cars long 5 years warranty, its basically bullet proof.

• proton also bullet proof now
        no wonder proton can give preve & exora bold 5years warranty also

• Mangkuk Hayun on Sep 04, 2012 at 11:06 pm

5 years warranty/300k km is true.
        but try ask for product/part(s) claim..
        see how long it will take u..
        normally 3-6 months as they dont have parts from their shah alam huge warehouse..
        ask around/check the hyundai forum see how many warranty claim was PUT ON KIV/HOLD/REJECT

• BeemerFreak on Sep 02, 2012 at 10:13 pm

The most ideal CC is the one that is missing in our market. The 2.0 tsi makes 0-100 in 7 secs and does over 12.5km/L.

However due to our fking governments cronies influence we will not be getting it as the car is taxed under luxury coupe category which atttracts a 225% tax instead of that for luxry sedan at 125% and would put it in the range of RM 300k qhich VGM is reluctant to sell for.

• passat on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:04 am

the ideal CC is the best selling in Europe, the 2.0 TDI ler…can do 20km/l with huge 350nm of torque.

• GTI Driver on Sep 02, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Hyundai does not belong to this class. Go sell somewhere else buddy.

• Then you think your VW is same class with Merc? Keep dreaming lah my friend.

• of coz la VW not same class with Merc

but korean are so much downgraded quality compared to even the cheapest germany can offer..u blow???yeah

• That is what VW fanboys think, shiok sendiri, in actual fact, VW and Hyundai is same class.

• Hyundai Salesman on Sep 04, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Sorry to break your bubble, but Hyundai is in the same category as VW. IF not, tell me where does VW belongs to?

• junior driver on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:10 pm

not same

• Mr grand on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Not same la…VW Group owned a Audi AG, the company that produce Lamborghini now. But hyundai cars better than Lamborghini la. My friend who work at Naza customer service told me that every K5 owner come to them, they don’t know Naza had change all the K5 engine bcoz they cannot solve the engine problem. hahahaha….

• Your friend is definitely screwing you!! To change engine car, owner has to re-register the chassis number again in the Reg. card which require JPJ to approve. How in the world car owner doesn’t know???

• manpowerkuat on Sep 02, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Normal car if compare with my CLS350………….

• Too expensive ! bring the new CC R 2013 here thank u !

• oldpassater on Sep 03, 2012 at 12:00 am

shall only consider vw if they r willing to provide 10-years warranty on the gearbox.

• Jolly_idiot on Sep 03, 2012 at 12:03 am

That price is hitting bimmer 528 or merc e200. Who will buy such car when only performance outshines but alot of sacrifices eg. Size, consumption, luxury. Even worse that 3.6 litre roadtax is killing

• Jimmy on Sep 03, 2012 at 12:31 am

You must love it in order to buy it. E200? Have you driven it before? Does it feel nice to drive?
      Talking about roadtax is counting beans. Luxurious cars is for people with overflow pockets whose one-day income already can pay for the roadtax of this car.
      Anyway, to me all VW vehicles are cantiq.

• JamesL on Sep 03, 2012 at 12:40 am

Having both new Sonata and Golf TSI in the garage of which the Golf is mine, I can tell you that the Sonata Engine is in a class below. Hyundai never brought in the 270HP Sonata Turbo, so there is really no comparison here. Cabin wise, the Sonata is a nice place to be but the VW teutonic feel makes it a bit more special. VW is understated which appeals to the more individualistic as opposed to the run of the mill BMW or Merc. Problem with this Passat CC R is that you can’t thrash it on track like a Golf R which is cheaper yet doesn’t have the practicality of a standard Passat which is also much cheaper. Really about looks then…though there is the new facelift CC to consider which is also much cheaper!

• passat on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:08 am

agreed bro, had the 2.5 teana & golf tsi too. mine is the golf, the golf drive 100% better than the teana. NVH/FC/power wise, the golf is huge margin better. just the boots size the teana wins (golf only 350liter but sufficient)

• The car seats 5, not 4. It was initially introduced as a 4-seater, bust as you can see from the photos, it now comes with a full bench at the back.

• taboogen on Sep 03, 2012 at 8:53 am

if only the redesigned the rear lamp cluster…

• confused on Sep 03, 2012 at 9:15 am

Looks outdated.

• kemek on Sep 03, 2012 at 11:39 am

Stop talking about cars and concentrate on changing the government so that we can buy cheaper cars real soon. The Passat is retailing only at RM70k overseas!

• JeremyNg on Sep 03, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Still prefer the BMW 335i although it cost RM100k more

• toyotathenvwnow on Sep 03, 2012 at 12:44 pm

i can only afford Passat 1.8 TSI n i really envy those who own this nice car

• Who want to buy a mediocre brand like VW for over 300k, with FWD some more. Get a Merc lah.

• JamesLL on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Anything over 100K should be “special” at the price point. You can’t find the combination of turbo, fast gearbox with paddleshifters and stability at 150K other than the Golf TSI. But at over 300K I think the Land Rover Evoque and Jaguar XF have the more “special” factor. I feel the Merc is the one you buy once to have the rich uncle feel and after that you will be looking for something else. Unless its the SLK…

• Kevin 9 on Sep 04, 2012 at 12:32 am

Good Write up! bravo!!

• Jilbaber on Sep 04, 2012 at 9:53 am

the only think I hate about this car is that frame less door windows…experienced 2x (1st time: mazda astina, 2nd time: honda prelude) my stereos got stole and the thief got in by a little peel off the windows..never bought car with frame less door window ever since..

• Jilbaber on Sep 04, 2012 at 9:57 am

not to mentioned the door glass does not align well with the upper frame (experienced that with my Mazda) after years of ownership…

• neutral on Sep 04, 2012 at 10:05 pm

actually only in Malaysia is the Passat CC R-line being sold as an “R” car….R-line is simply the addition of bodykits and some minor goodies….much like “M-sport” for BMW or “S-line” for Audi….it is not a true R car in the sense that it does not differ from the normal Passat CC V6 being sold in other markets…just the addition of bodykits…there is a reason why it is known as “Passat CC R-line” and not “Passat CC R”….

• FreakOfAudi on Sep 07, 2012 at 5:09 pm

You want the true R from VW?Get the golf R,it the only true R from VW.Scirocco R doesn’t count because it is FWD.

• Camaro on Nov 29, 2012 at 3:20 am

That’s a very nice car and 3.6-liter engine is pretty fast.

• i hardly accept the rear look -_-

• fahmin on May 14, 2013 at 12:58 pm

comparing this to sonata? u peeps got brain or not? sonata cant even compete with civic…….

aiyohhhhhhh

• I own a ccr line and it’s a awesome car :)

• Ananda on Mar 04, 2018 at 4:14 pm

Hi rev, would like to know ut experience with the cc rline. Would u recommend for a buy? What are the pros and cons?
      Planning to get one.