Ford Mondeo to get 1.0 EcoBoost engine in Europe

Never in my life I would have expected a D-segment car to be fitted with an itsy bitsy tiny engine. But here I am, looking at the Ford Mondeo that will run with the 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine.

The engine, which is said to be small enough to sit on an A4 paper, is capable of producing 125 PS and 170 Nm from 1,450 rpm, and up to 200 Nm in ‘overboost’ mode. Fuel consumption is expected to be low with CO2 emissions expected to be lower than 130 g/km.

We’ve already seen what the engine can do to a racer, but in a big car like the Mondeo, eyebrows will be raised. There will be more information coming when Ford reveals all at the Go Further brand event that will happen later.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• artworks on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:16 pm

prefer 2.2 turbo diesel

• black on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:16 pm

add power :
      -lesser engine weight
      -nice torque spread

minus power:
      -big heavy body – d segment
      -smaller hp

overall, maybe the engine of 1.8l c segment car. it’s not like 2.0l sprint, but not as sluggish as 1.6l engine.

the top speed would be limited by the hp number, maybe around 180km/h-200km/h, everybody will praise and accept top speed under 200km/h unless it’s a proton. i dun care much about top speed, because you are not going to do 400km/h all the way, either your car can do or not

• Janji da 3rd Parti on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:12 pm

Again, an extraordinary product marred by substandard dealership.

By the time Sime Darby brings this in, it will most likely be near its mid cycle !!

• Peaches (Merrill Beth Nisker) on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Belissimo

• polo saga on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:02 pm

impressive!!!

• theanswer on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:12 pm

impressive..but gonna waste lots of engine bay space.

• taboogen on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:20 pm

less boot space oso complaint.. less engine space also complaint… then by lah kancil…less space used mean less weight and they can tweak the car so that the cabin can be much more larger…thats why you are not working with Ford or any engineering company

• theanswer on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:07 pm

lol..why u butthurt suddenly? less weight is true. but it’s mondeo..the chassis going to share with more bigger engine..it’s not that easy to tweak the interior just to make it bigger. if u read enough abt car..u’ll know that even sylphy got 1.5 engine..smaller than 2.0..but the interior size still the same.

• ben yap on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:13 pm

bring it in to malaysia!!!

• breaL on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:19 pm

good looking car…aston martinish

• 125ps for a D segment car?? No matter whats the torque, this is going to be a sluggish ride..

• taboogen on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:18 pm

its not the power but torque that matter to move the car..smaller the engine.. the lighter the car will be.. less heat mean they can use small radiator to cool of the engine…

• This car is not going to have a torque of over 300nm. Even with high torque but too small cc engine, this is going to be a rough ride. The engine will be screaming all the time.

• passat on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:41 pm

hahaha…this ppl still dont understand about torque…look at the 170nm at 1,450rpm,..plus the additional overboost up to 200nm…

FYI, Honda accord 2.0 ivtec barely made 200nm at sky high 4,500rpm….

GO FIGURE

• ae101 on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Bear in mind if the engine can produced 300Nm torque, but out of breath in less than 4k rpm then what is the point. High torque doesnt mean good. You need to look at the overall powerband. I still have doubt on this 3 cylinder boost up mondeo.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:22 pm

I rather a family car that runs out of puff after 4000rpm then one that I have to wring past 4000rpm to get any meaningful forward progress.

The little Ecoboost could very well be making more power and torque compared to a 2.0L Accord under 4000rpm.

A quick google shows the little ecoboost makes about 100hp@4000rpm and 170Nm@4000rpm and the 2.0L SOHC accord making 90hp@4000rpm and 140NM@4000rpm.

While a I agree the 1.0 is a tiny bit small, I prefer to look at the torque curve as a better indication of how the car drives

• @passat You sure you really understand torque? A 1.0 produces 200nm and 2.0 produces the same torque at same rpm, which one is better? Still think its the same?

• kadajawi on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:02 am

Nope. Other way round. When the engine is screaming, you won’t be getting any faster. But at the low end it is very strong, so it should make for a very relaxed ride. What D segment driver will have the engine over 4000 rpm anyway?

• ae101 on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:33 am

“What D segment driver will have the engine over 4000 rpm anyway?” this statement really ponder me a while how long you have been driving. there are a lot of 2.0NA for our D segment cars. driving highway to overtake a 110kmh above no need to rev 4k and beyond? unless you always a good driver that drive 100kmh below. what about a genting trip with 5 ppl and luggage in the car? with 1.0 turbo? another point is ppl usually own a D segment car because they need something bigger to carry more. i’m not saying this ecoboost cannot pull, but how well it can perform that is a big question. i always not convince by looking at the paper base info until i tested it.

• kadajawi on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:00 am

So what? Not everyone wants a race car. If it is enough to get around and drive above the speed limit, then that’s fine. In Europe until recently all C segment cars were offered with 75 hp engines. I have one of those. It’s not fast, but good enough for 170 on the Autobahn. Just acceleration can be… non existent when going uphill.

• LE_buruk on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:27 pm

aston martin look…

• diamjer on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:37 pm

yee keep it coming, soon kancil can be powered by a single cyc motobike engine.

• kudos to Ford for such forward thinking. it is companies like that drives innovation and improvement continuously like this that would succeed.

• Leonardo on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:52 pm

Excellent! Big car but Kancil Road tax!

• alex chan on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:20 pm

for sure sluggish one..better use vios VVT engine .. 1.5 summore..world class

• trollbuster on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:41 pm

for sure you are stupid. last time i checked that “world class” engine only packs 109PS and 141Nm. so yeah..world class your mama. why didn’t you just say better camry’s engine? 2.4 “summore”? but with ancient 4-speed auto. never mind because it too has “world class” engine, right? wrong!! bring it on, troll. bring it on..

no offence to other vios owners. i respect everyone’s choices. but this stupid troll fag just gets on everyone’s nerves.

• alex chan on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:06 pm

bring what?..i confused ..my car?..bring to where?..very bad english la you..aiyaa

• totally agree with trollbuster’s first five words.

• aBg_rOnGak on Sep 07, 2012 at 8:54 am

D*mn…Like by mistake…wanna dislike…

Mengata dulang paku serpih….

• sepul on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:51 pm

for europe only, here people will bash kaw2 if ford bring that engine in mondeo..

in europe they focus on fuel economy and emission than outright power/torque, makes sense to them

• Adoyai on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:07 pm

This i got to experience my self. Traditionally I would think impossible since mondeo chassis would weight close to what? 1.5 tonne? with that engine (3 cyl, 1 ltr), got to experience this to believe.

• AhBeng on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Ah Kow: Beng! you’ve got a nice big car! how many CC?
    AH Beng: 1,000 cc
    AH Kow: KNN. Don’t bruff la.
    Ah Beng: DUuu.. see the roadtax.
    Ah Kow: WTF.

• “with an additional 200 Nm in ‘overboost’ mode”

So there will be 370Nm of torque in total, from a 1L engine! That is mental!

• droll on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:52 pm

no. i think peak is 200nm. so additional 30nm from overboost. at 200nm, the engine will perform like a 2L NA engine (as far as max torque output is concerned). but the big difference is this torque is made from much much lower RPMs. i actually think this will work well on the mondeo.

• then it should say “with an additional 30Nm…” right?

• oligopoli on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:38 am

I understand ur concern, but i think Chris may wrote something he did not intend to. jump up from 170 to 375Nm doesn’t seem logic, afterall….

• Chris Ng (Member) on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:09 pm

I’ve edited that part for clarity. Sorry for the confusion.

• sleepwalkerz on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Can I put this onto my kawa Z1000?? Sure can fly…

• passat on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:38 am

bro, sportsbike engine are meant for fun…high revving machine, where take corner at low 2nd/3rd gear and keep the rev spinning at above 8,000rpm all the way to above 12,000rpm redline..thats the fun of having a sportsbike.

if you want torque, get a Harley…those are really torque monster wt high torque just above idle..and peak at just around 3,000rpm ++.

BASICALLY, choose accordingly…a corner carving sportsbike or a relaxing/lazy torque monster for town traffic lights drags…anyway, if u want both, get a Ducati “L twin” bikes

• Our too much government-interfere market already saturate with innovative idea as well intelligence. In Europe, they’re towards downsizing. In some part of the world (read Malysia) when government intervention or participation and distorts the market and mental ability of the citizen to keep abreast with advancement of technology l

• slumber on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Is this a facelift Mondeo? It is very different from the one on Ford Malaysia website.

• Totally new model lah..

• passat on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:42 am

its a one world ford design (ala… Focus)…called the Fusion for the North American mkt and Mondeo for Euro/rest of the world…same car, maybe wt diff engine…no diesels for the north american due to their msian like perceptions abt diesels (anyway, diesel sales is NA getting strong, thks to Germans manufacturer,…esp for SUVs)

• Joe Radzif on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:58 pm

saya mesti pileeeyyy….

RM65k can get ka?

• Jimmy on Sep 06, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Buying a RM200K non-luxurious brand car with 1000cc only shows that our kocek is cetek. Our friends will laugh at us, of course not in front of our faces.

Anyway, impressive if it can be done well.

• archer on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:12 pm

its the technology that matter bro, lots of continental model car with smaller cc is priced higher then their higher cc model because smaller cc model will comes with turbocharger.

• kadajawi on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:04 am

Haha, no, I’d be proud of driving a 1.0. Even the look upon the faces of passengers when they find out that this is a 1.0. I’d pay just for that look. (Have to install camera…).

• Copy here and copy there. Please stop saying design similar of other cars. Otherwise, we will see same scenario Apple vs Samsung….

• Jilbaber on Sep 07, 2012 at 7:13 am

if you trying to say FORD is copying Aston Martin, technically FORD still own AM…so copying is not the case…

• crappydongdong on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:44 pm

why la 1.0 ecoboost? 1.6, 1.8 or 2.0 ecoboost will be great… 1.0liter… aiyo……

• Sgt Scoop on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:03 am

I think you have to change your mentality a little. Think of the HP rather than the CC. This is a different animal to the 1L used in the Kelisa.

• Sgt Scoop on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:15 pm

This is a very interesting car and a massive (in terms of technological advancement) engine. I can’t wait to see it in the metal. The price will be very interesting too. If they can sell it for around RM150k, they’ll have a queue outside the door.

• ahmadfaris93 on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:40 pm

It would make sense if it is a smaller car

• kadajawi on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:05 am

They also offer it in smaller cars. Anyway, this is going to be their entry level engine in the Mondeo. You want more power, there’ll be bigger engines.

• shawal on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:52 pm

combine the two and make a twin turbo v6, probably dats wut ford did ib the first place , cut a twin turbo in half

• Anon Kneemas on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Turbocharging is slowly killing the ol’school ‘no substitute for displacement’ mentality. We’ve seen in on BMWs, we’re seeing it in this Mondeo. Its a must if an automaker have a fighting chance to meet lofty average fleet mpg goals. Heck, there’s even talk of a 2.0 ecoboost engine going in the engine bay of the next gen Ford Mustang and last I checked the Mustang ain’t exactly renowned for responsible consumption.

• Stupidoo on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:03 am

The tech too advance for our shallow minded market.. Even if proven to be a capable engine, malaysian still buy toyota, honda, proton.. And proud of it..

• kadajawi on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:09 am

However the Mazda CX-5 did favorably in a review against the Skoda Yeti (last gen TSI) and VW Tiguan (current TSI) in terms of fuel consumption. And the CX-5 uses an upsized engine that was developed for lower fuel consumption. How lower FC is achieved doesn’t matter that much, does it?

However this EcoBoost engine was fully developed as a turbocharged engine, from scratch. The TSI units are AFAIK modified NA engines. Thus the EcoBoost 1.0 should demonstrate how good turbocharged engines can really be in terms of fuel consumption etc.

• My neighbour uses CX-5 and he informed that for city driving, he gets 600km++ for full tank. That’s pretty impressive.

• fast on rolling downhill on Sep 07, 2012 at 8:44 am

RM 10 roadtx…ouchhh

• oligopoli on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:48 am

1 litre ecoboost is decent, but why dont they put 1.6L inline 4 in mondeo? that would probably better.i’m trying to imagine – exora cfe with 205Nm is decent for 1.4 tonne mpv, though i felt it should be more powerful. mondeo is about exora’s weight. but being a car, it should be more drive-oriented than exora, be more fun. don’t u think?

• In this mondoe, because it sooo large engine bay, they will put 2 ecoboast engine in the engine bay. So we will get a superhigh torque @ 170 NM x 2 = 340Nm. Power meh.. HAHAHAHAHA..

Hhahahahahaha.. Apa? Ford bg 1 engine saja, u tambah lah sendiri lagi satu engine.. HahahHaahhaahHAHAHA