SPIED: Subaru XV caught testing, rollout in December

Here’s a spyshot we don’t need. Don’t need not because we don’t appreciate reader Tee Lim’s contribution (thanks, man!), but because we’ve already seen the car. It is rear shot of a Subaru XV caught testing along Jalan Duta in KL, with some bits like the badges and taillamps taped up.

Readers of this site would have known since last year that the Subaru XV will be assembled in Malaysia, for local sales as well as exports to Thailand and Indonesia. It’s all systems go at Tan Chong’s Segambut plant in KL, and we have been told that engineering trial units (the car pictured here is such a unit) have been evaluated by Fuji Heavy Industries (the maker of Subaru) and given the green light for production.

The first batch of XVs are expected to roll out in December, and a January 2013 official launch is on the cards. We were in Jakarta last week to have a closer look at the CKD Subaru XV – click here for the full story and gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Oh the one that looked like Neo. ;)

• skatax on Sep 26, 2012 at 4:06 pm

will steal some sales until new cr-v arrives end this year.. oh wait, we already have cx-5 with its famous ‘rimgate’

• _xXx_ on Sep 26, 2012 at 5:09 pm

cvt…mmm, no thx

• teelim on Sep 26, 2012 at 6:13 pm

I think the CX-5 is still be the best bang for buck in this segment and it’s also CBU from Japan.

Besides that, I think the CX-5 also looks the best (with 19″ wheels of course)

• Nepia on Sep 26, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Subaru Japan just launched the XV. So these are FC Comparison (JC08 Mode test) for Japan specs. Data took from their respective official websites.

Subaru XV (with idling stop function)
    Engine: 2.0 Boxer (FB20)
    Transmission: CVT (AWD)
    Curb Weight: 1390 kg
    FC: 15.8 km/l

Honda New CR-V
    Engine: 2.0 (S20A)
    Transmission: CVT (FF)
    Curb Weight: 1460 kg
    FC: 14.4 km/l
    Mazda CX-5

Engine: 2.0 (Skyactiv G)
    Transmission: 6AT (4WD)
    Curb Weight: 1510 kg
    FC: 15.6 km/l

All these 3 vehicles are compatible with Japan’s regular gasoline (RON90).

• bashy on Sep 27, 2012 at 2:17 am

NICE!!!

• mohsin on Sep 27, 2012 at 3:06 pm

tak payah2 dah tampal koyok!
    kan dah buat premier hari tu!
    Apada!

• nice looking..like transformers