Volkswagen Touareg Hybrid introduced – RM617k

Volkswagen Malaysia has introduced the Touareg 3.0 V6 TSI Hybrid locally, and the hybrid Typ 7P5 joins the RM429k 3.6 V6 FSI in the model lineup in the country. Its arrival also heralds the roll-out of Volkswagen’s Think Blue environmental sustainability umbrella here.

The SUV is equipped with a 3.0 litre supercharged V6 petrol unit offering 333 PS and 440 Nm as well as a 46 hp electric motor and 1.73 kWh Ni-Mh battery pack, mated to an eight-speed automatic gearbox. Combined output is a rated 380 PS and 580 Nm.

Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.5 seconds and a 240 km/h top speed, and Veedub claims a fuel consumption figure of 8.2 litres per 100 km on a combined cycle for the 2.3-tonne machine.

Features include Start/Stop and regenerative braking systems, Hybrid Powertrain Monitoring System, e-Mode button, air suspension, Vienna leather seats as well as 19-inch Salamanca alloy wheels wrapped with 265/50 series tyres.

Also in the kitbag are a panoramic tilt/slide sunroof, RNS850 radio/navi system with a 60GB hard disk and a 10-speaker, 600 watt Dynaudio Confidence sound system. Meanwhile, exterior shades include Tungsten Silver Metallic in the palette.

The Touareg Hybrid rolls in priced at RM616,888, and is available for order at all VW dealerships nationwide.

[scribd id=109457153 key=key-tggbnnqa7vj9p5tvhs1 mode=scroll]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• lopui on Oct 09, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Avg. Paid:$58,729 – $58,729
    MSRP: $61,110 – $61,995
    Price From USA

SUV retail price only from HK$296,800 up, of which the Touareg Hybrid with EFV HK$75,000.
    Price from Hong Kong

average RM1xxK only ,malaysia you have 500% tax to pay up,WTF

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 2
    • Shocking Malaysia on Oct 09, 2012 at 8:59 pm

I am quite shocked at the price. Does Volkswagen think they are Porsche? Come on MITI, please check on the car companies in Malaysia. High taxes is one thing but hiking up the price to this extent, it is ridiculous. I saw in one blog the Porsche Cayenne is less than US$49,000. Even with the 130% tax on imported cars, how come it becomes RM580,000? Double whammy, high taxes and the Principal (car company) in Malaysia also making hefty profits. Ask the salesman, they conveniently blame the government’s high taxes. So, is it really the government’s high taxes or the car companies are reaping about RM300,000 clean profit on each high end car (eg the Cayenne).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
    • Krasher on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:18 pm

All thanks to Tun Mamak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 16
      • TIGER on Oct 10, 2012 at 11:00 am

the people who have money or know how to make money could easily buy any car and people like u always like to criticize government.
        our beloved DR.TUN MAHATIR is one of the Genius person born in one century one.
        He is the person who recognize Malaysia to the world by his fiscal and financial policies.
        before write to this genius person think tank
        if u could afford to buy this car go ahead if not dont blame to government
        work hard and smart and get ur desires.
        simple is that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 46
        • SatuMalaysia on Oct 10, 2012 at 9:18 pm

Because of TunM* protect Proton* even the company make losses by X Million, we here in this nation will be fine and prosperous. Protect by Tax Payer money and prevent others to use good valuable car with the low price. Just imagine perdana same price as bmw 3 series, which one you will buy to transport your family or girlfriend? Hehe. Can we have the statistic report from Insurance company which car involve more fatalities.

• What the? So Effing Expensive!

• I love this car but c’mon this is way too expensive ! plus this is hybrid ! should be around 200k~300k …

• Boycott VW on Oct 10, 2012 at 10:09 am

Moral of the story is boycott VW. They have been ripping Malaysian customers left right and centre. Even raising prices halfway as well when they see demand so high. The cars are so bloody cheap overseas, the Golf, Jetta and Passat but when it comes here, its sold for so high. In overseas they are known as kereta biasa ie for the common people. No prestige or status attached to them. But here, they make it seem its sama taraf as BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Cari fasal on Oct 10, 2012 at 4:26 pm

VW begin as cheap/alternative producer in mid 50s..

but now VW cars are not cheap..
        look around..
        in EU/UK their Golf GTI/CC has similar pricing as BMW 3 series..
        over the years they have gain more exposure…
        and thus in near future hitting the premium segment..

they have many brands under them…
        name it super bike… super luxury.. luxury… normal brand and even entry level brand..
        in addition they also has heavy vehicle under them..

anyway; the point is..
        if u like the car or particular brand..
        just buy it..
        if not; go sneak around; as there are many brand(s) around too

• Actually this Hybird SUV in the USA or Europe is still expensive than some premium brands SUV ! so VW what’s the point of calling people car?

• If this stupid, senseless and illogical pricing still prevail, authority must rationalize the effect by one thing: high price car must be purchase by cash or less than 3 year period.

It will cushion the negative consequences for our economic had the buyers unable to service their instalments.

Looking at this post-Budget pricing, I guessh our policymakers live in different world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • This car only belongs to buyers who can afford for such price tag. So the govern will nvr worry abt it matter of economy situation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • while i do agree with that car prices are crazy high. i think it is impossible for most people even to buy kancils with 3 year loans. our currency is not that strong. 40k ringgit does not equal to 40k pounds so you cannot compare uk policy with ours. The gov also loves it when you buy tax crazy cars like this cause half of the cost is going into their pockets. the banks also love putting people in continous debts and interest. its a win-win situation for them only losers here are us the customers.

• new policy should limit car loan to max 5 years regardless of car price. 9 years is absolutely ridiculous, though is actually enable many people to afford a new car, but in the long run, those who take 9 year loans will get into a financial situation when they new to replace their 5 year old cars. At that point, NRV is probably lower then loan balance.

Reducing the loan tenure will most likely see non-local cars prices getting reduced as most buyers ( with max 5 year loan ) will not be able to buy these over priced cars. by then, the car principals will have to slow reduce the car price to a more affordable and realistic selling price. MITI does control prices to a certain extend but the principals are also greedy IMO.

I know so many people buy car > rm150k with 8 or 9 year loans. If max 5 year tenure, do really believe these people can afford these over priced cars? of coz some can but majority Malaysians will not be able to afford it.

• neveraproton on Oct 09, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Car importers STILL have to pay AP holders for the APs. These bumis charge an arm and a leg for it, so importers have to recover. Add the taxes and duties that protect PROTON (from what???), and you have the Malaysian price! Tough!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • someone told me AP cost RM20,000 per piece in 2011 and only a handfull of lucky people get the AP from existing Govt.

wonder what is the market price for an AP in 2012….

• silver on Oct 09, 2012 at 10:32 pm

just abolish AP so if we are not happy with the price we could jsut import it from other countries and make it a more competitive market for the car industry

• Sharu on Oct 09, 2012 at 8:10 pm

What to do, there are some crazy Malaysian whom willing to buy with this “CRAZY” price and not concerning other Malaysian.

I agreed with Karl, either consumer pay cash or serve 2-3 years loan only.

Car price : 15-20% hike up/yr
    Property price : 80-150% hike up/yr
    Groceries price : 10-12% hike up/yr
    Salary : 3-5%/yr
    %INFLATION = -102% till -177%

How to cope up with this type of living cost?

Dear PM,
    STOP FEEDING THE YOUR CRONIES AND HELP THE RAKYAT

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo on Oct 09, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Yeah, at 600 grand, this car will even be colder door than S80

• Cayenne 3.0 Diesel RM580k, premium brand and visit to petrol station for diesel refill not that often too….

• sepul on Oct 09, 2012 at 8:22 pm

and vw is not even a premium brand to begin with.. yet priced so expensively

• I thought Hybrids come with special tax exemptions? That’s why the CRZ is fairly cheap in Malaysia if you think about it, coz its quite expensive overseas and the pricing is comparable to other cars such as the Mini and ct200h.

• why still so expensive when it’s hybrid?

• tishaban on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:05 pm

The Touareg hybrid is RM617k and the Cayenne Hybrid is around RM700k. I think VW is pricing this car far too high compared to the Porsche.

• i really wonder how many of this hybrid can be sold in a year. 2? 3?

• Drive Safe on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Why can’t we Malaysia enjoy buying good car at same price in USA? We will have more or less same amount of cars on the road because car is a requirement in Malaysia due to poor public transport and policy. If we don’t have to protect local auto maker by imposing higher price to imported car, those who drive Saga can upgrade to City or Vios or Polo.

• Simon Ng on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:12 pm

The price of this car can actually feed 130,000 wedding dinner guests. Another world record?

The way I look at expensive cars will never be the same again.

• cruzer on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:13 pm

anyway whoever buy it is either very loaded or damn stupid. design is so boring & dull, nothing attractive at all. try compared it with the evoque.

• tkling on Oct 10, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Not the same category lah.. Engineering wise vw is better than LR now…do u know German is the creator of 4×4?

• marcus on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:16 pm

financial suicide.

• Julian Lee on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Buy BMW hybrid is beterrer than lousie walks wagon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Dust Auto on Oct 09, 2012 at 10:09 pm

You guys just don’t get it do you? VW is now one good brand. It competes with BMW and Mercs hands down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
    • Cari fasal on Oct 10, 2012 at 4:30 pm

these few years back 2010-now..
      VW in Malaysia is getting stronger..
      u can look around; on road u can easily see VW(s)..
      unlike 10 years ago..

anyway; conclusion is..
      willing buyer.. willing seller..

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:48 pm

VW will never be able to compete Mercedes, BMW, Volvo. Volkswaegen should compete with Toyota, Honda, Hyundai.

• jab, strong, fierce! on Oct 09, 2012 at 10:35 pm

This is way too overkill! With 617k, I could literally get myself a RX350 and a GTI and put em both in my garage!

• this is really arrogant pricing by VW! who do they think they are? VWs are supposed to be peoples car / a poor man’s audi. but in bolehland they are priced like porsche! only a fool will buy this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Cari fasal on Oct 10, 2012 at 4:31 pm

wrong..
      if u want a poor man audi..
      should see SKODA..
      as what in VW Group..
      SKODA is the entry level of the brand..

• Jimmy on Oct 09, 2012 at 10:50 pm

S-class and X6 are always good decisions. I will laugh and look down on the owner of this Toureg Hybrid. You haven’t got enough money to fill your tank. More importantly you are not intelligent enough to differentiate gold from silver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • no need to laugh at other peoples choice. buying cars like sclass or x6 is also not a wise decision here in malaysia. if you are saying you can afford it then so can the vw guy. both are not silver or gold they will be cheaper than a new camry once they age

• deftones on Oct 09, 2012 at 11:49 pm

how on earth can u judge s-class and x6 are better decision? and how not enough money to fill up the tank? u must be joking right? do u think ppl who buys this will only pay 10% for downpayment? think abt it..

• jimmy you can’t even afford this toureg, how could you look down on its owner? lol

• Jimmy on Oct 10, 2012 at 1:47 pm

Ha ha ha, nothing to shout about, driving just a E200.

• Cari fasal on Oct 10, 2012 at 4:32 pm

seems this VW is more expensive then ur E200 :)

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:53 pm

At least the Mercedes Benz W212 E200 has more prestige and is more luxurious, comfortable and have better features than this useless, overpriced Touraeg.

• Ppl who buy this car does not mean they r fools coz they’r getting bored of their Merc or BMW…just like why do ppl buy the GTR not Porsche?!

• BeemerFreak on Oct 11, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Comparing these awesome high tier cars to VW? Did you typed this while you’re drunk buddy?

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:56 pm

I agree. VW should be compared with the likes of Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Peugot, etc since their brand is known as people’s car.

• nabill on Oct 09, 2012 at 11:22 pm

its like selling a brand new toyota vios for rm299k…buy a diesel u save alot more petrol and about 3000% cheaper

• takNakP1 on Oct 10, 2012 at 12:22 am

business is all about demand and supply. as long as there is demand, they will be supply. the market is studied and tested for pricing, just like property. If the response is good, they will increase the price. this will go on gradually until the demand drops then it might stop or promotion to attracts buyer.

No doubt the gov high tax and high profits contributes to the high price but the other question is the where the demand comes from? The people, our fellow Malaysian.

i think in general Malaysian culture is all about look good, pride, face, etc. Some are over sensitive with safety features, features and size. all these becomes a must even it cost more than 7 yrs of loan and more than RM1k of monthly repayment.

so don’t just blame the gov and seller (not that i support them).

• takNakP1 on Oct 10, 2012 at 11:01 am

the 3 thumbs down are those should be blamed for providing the unnecessary supply to car dealers and made them arrogant.

• seancorr on Oct 10, 2012 at 1:06 am

One can do or own a lot of things with RM617k but spending this amount on a VW is insane.

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:59 pm

Better use the money to buy a BMW 528i/ Audi A6 3.0t/ Mercedes Benz E300.

• paparadzi on Oct 10, 2012 at 1:20 am

When I look at this type of vehicles, my thoughts are that the owner is either a crony with some government contract, someone who is involved in corruption or somehow has earned money in not-so-rightful means.

Not necessarily true, I know, but that is the effect of having low pay and high-price goods. One can’t afford this even if earning RM20k a month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • this is no more expensive than an s class. its just a matter of preferance. you dont always have to follow the crowd and buy mercs or bmws. buying other brands keep the competition alive and stop bmw and merc monopolizing everything. buying stuff is also good for the economy remember the european/us recession in 2008, ppl were afraid of spending and that caused it to be worse. just think if rich people keep all their money in the wallet. there would be less money around and inturn that will affect us the middle class who in one way or another get a portion of that money

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:03 pm

How about Bentley and Rolls Royce. They are even more expensive than S class or 7 series.

• albag on Oct 10, 2012 at 7:53 am

terrible car price in malaysia… screw you government!

• Rulered on Oct 10, 2012 at 8:24 am

I’d rather keep the 600k and build a ‘green’ kampong house in my hometown for retirement.

• Megane on Oct 10, 2012 at 8:43 am

Many people earn 20k per month now , and most of them are sensible and wont buy cars costing >300k , let alone a 600k car bro ..such is the effect of rising cost of living now

• Probably VGM realised they should just shoot the price up from day one rather than shocked us midway (Polo GTI).
    Just vote with your wallet guys though these are the days of RM15 char kway teow and RM20 coffee. In a way it’s a matter of choice. Keep and use your current car if it is still going strong.

• polo saga on Oct 10, 2012 at 9:16 am

ridiculous price tag, thanks to our current corrupted government!

• Pascal on Oct 10, 2012 at 10:48 am

Hi keyboard warrior.

Kindly support your comments with facts, statistics and fine jurisdiction. Any genuine links to back-up to what required
      Your Email you have claimed in your above mentioned statement would be kindly appreciated.

Bashing an entity with just a simply line reflects to the size of a productive brain you possess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • Cari fasal on Oct 10, 2012 at 3:32 pm

what to do most people dont have money to buy..
        at least they are still freely to type here..

hurm..
        keyboard warrior…

• dzulx on Oct 10, 2012 at 10:12 am

Govt may have some part on the pricing… but come on its too ridiculous…

I dont think we can blame govt squarely on this.. If you see the custom tax statement, you probably know the tax is not as high as you think.. Estimation around 150k only…

If you bought a CBU car, please check how much you are paying the govt.. The tax statement is provided in the purchase for you to see…

• Jilbaber on Oct 10, 2012 at 10:48 am

600k!! what the heck people is thinking nowadays…I know inflation is there..but this is more towards greedy!

• Megane on Oct 10, 2012 at 11:19 am

Just print the price of the car (non removable) at side body panel for bragging purposes …

• Maserati on Oct 10, 2012 at 11:36 am

Pls lah,people who buy 600k cars and above are business owners earning more RM 100k a month and above.They buy this kinda cars using company name for tax deduction purposes.

Not for people earning 30-40k lah pls!

• silver on Oct 10, 2012 at 4:12 pm

but porblem is u can only deduct 100k … any more then that u have to fork it out yourself

• oko028 on Oct 10, 2012 at 11:42 am

just dont get this, i can’t see the market for this VW Touareg Hybrid! Insanity

Get the 3.6 V6 FSI save you nearly 200k (More Environment Friendly to your pocket), why we need hybrid?

• Hybrid cars still new in Malaysia. It will be a trend in 2020. No more petrol cars at that time.

• RedLine on Oct 10, 2012 at 1:53 pm

RM600k for a VW? That’s just crazy.

• KL Stray Cat on Oct 10, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Things that make you go hmmm…
    Touareg Hybrid – 617k
    Porsche Cayenne – 570k
    Porsche Cayenne Diesel – 580k
    (Yes! Yes! I know one is a hybrid, but branding-wise…)

• Jasmine on Oct 10, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Buy Proton la, much cheaper. Support Malaysia product. :)

• I agree with you. Let’s buy a proton and if it’s possible, a gold plated version.

• people.. dont blame others. blame urself and those who supported BN all these years. i think when mamak died, everything will bak to normal.