KL MRT: Trial closure of slow lane on SPRINT stretch

If you’re a regular SPRINT highway user, this may be of interest – to facilitate construction of the KL Mass Rapid Transit system, the leftmost lane on the highway, from the Bukit Kiara junction to the Jalan Maarof junction (KL-bound), will undergo a trial closure from 9.00 am to 4.00 pm for one day on Monday, October 29. This is to allow MRT Corp and its contractors to study the impact of the closure on traffic flow in that area.

The four-lane road does not have an emergency lane, while on the immediate left is a slope, followed by some houses. MRT Corp is planning to build a retaining wall near the slope, and then add one extra lane. This lane will then replace the rightmost lane, which will be the site for the piers of the Sg Buloh-Kajang alignment.

Safety barriers and traffic cones will be put in place, and traffic personnel will be on site to monitor traffic flow during the trial closure. See the video on MRT Corp’s Traffic Management Plan for the project here.

A stretch of Jalan Bukit Bintang has been realigned and the night closure of right lanes on a stretch of Jalan Cheras has been extended to the end of the year, also to assist the progress of MRT works. See suggested alternative routes here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Good move!! Once this complete, I’m proud to be Malaysian. Off course later, Bullet Train should be in Malaysia. Not some like those people, reducing car tax, bla bla bla…u reduce car tax more jam!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh on Oct 28, 2012 at 5:32 pm

This news should get you excited, as it did me:

“The KL-Singapore high-speed rail project, which could potentially cut travelling time between the two important financial centres of Southeast Asia by half to about two hours, is currently still in feasibility-study phase; this is expected to complete by the end of this year. Pre-qualification bids for the project are likely to be called by mid-2013 if it passes the feasibility test.”

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/10/27/business/12228623&sec=business

Actually car tax should be reduced. The benefits can be to help reduce debt/bankruptcy, coupled with abolishing AP, to eradicate AP king cronies.

To reduce jam, public transport must improve, and running cost of car should be increased ie remove fuel subsidy. That way, people can own car without going bust, then have a choice: cheap way public transport, expensive way is driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Dream on!!!!!!!!!

• tokmoh on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:54 pm

That wasn’t the first news that talk about the KL-SG high speed rail. There’s fair chance it can become a reality *fingers crossed*

If you’re talking about dreaming on hoping car tax reduced, I agree. As long as BN rules, we can only dream about car tax reduction.

• tokmoh, your comments are one of the rare sensible and on the spot remark with regards to issues that that are relevant in this being a car enthusiast blog.

• tokmoh on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Thanks, sometimes I do troll too for teh lulz hehehe

But public transport issue is something I feel needs to be addressed seriously. It’s chicken and egg for too long, until only recently we see the govt makes its move eg LRT extension, new komuter coaches, MRT, BRT, 4-car monorail this November, etc. We the rakyat should too, by showing willingness to sacrifice a bit of personal comfort for the environment, and most importantly, a more efficient mode of commute ;)

paultan.org, being Malaysia’s #1 car website can become a very good platform to educate Malaysians on what we’ve been missing. Haven’t we had enough of b*tching how Singapore and other developed countries enjoy efficient public transport? I’m also aware Jakarta, Bangkok, Manila are ramping up efforts to improve their public transport, wouldn’t want to be left behind again, especially after we’ve lost so much thanks to Proton, would we?

Kudos to all paultan’s writers, keep this issue updated, for a better Malaysia :)

• Reducing car tax is for people to get a higher safety standard car with a lower price. If you want to reduce traffic jam, increase fuel price for passenger cars la. They’ll think twice b4 they drive out.

BTW, I think the MRT is good too. But your comment about reducing car tax is just… trooperish.

• Bujang Lapuk on Oct 28, 2012 at 12:10 am

This is indeed interesting. The leftmost lane isn’t the most highly utilised stretch of road in the world, so there will probably be very little effect on day to day traffic flow (excluding rush hour). It seems to me traffic coming in from Mont Kiara will be affected somewhat,and should the congestion be especially bad, traffic from PJ will be affected as well. Best suggestion to those affected would be to leave a bit earlier for your destination. Always cuts down travel time.

• eleh Bujang BAPOK on Oct 28, 2012 at 11:14 pm

it’s easy to comment “after 57 years”…what did u contribute to the country nway? just give comment, at least we r moving towards that even though i agree it kinda late but not too late…

• Bujang Lapuk on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:37 am

Uh, where in my comment does it say “57 years”? I’m not complaining about the road closures at all, indeed it’s a necessary sacrifice if we want better public transport in the near future. Perhaps you should direct your comment to Mr. Muhammad bin Meor below me.

• muhammadbinmeor on Oct 28, 2012 at 10:23 am

After 57 years of independence..finally we will have good public transport

• Bee end palanji on Oct 28, 2012 at 11:13 pm

dont u think 57 years is a bit too long??
      how much of ‘wang rakyat’ has been collected for the past 57 years??
      why only now suddenly want to improve public transport??is it because election is coming??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • At least we can see the progress even though u said it gula2 PR.. Bukan cakap tapi x buat2

• flat_tire on Oct 28, 2012 at 4:08 pm

this will only benefit those in KL.. while the ones outside/other states can only watch.. yet have to pay the same tax rate.. hmmphh.. nothing to be proud of..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • FLAT BRAIN on Oct 28, 2012 at 11:19 pm

r u flat tire or FLAT of idea or brain? how many city are really congested compare to KL? sabar la, some more outside KL pay less taxes,not many high income, many normal income like u! who might not even pay tax at all. later when GDP increase, in the end tax receipts increase, then can extent la to outside KL!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Expatriate VN on Oct 28, 2012 at 5:21 pm

With one line of MRT, then jump into conclusion we will have good public transport!!!!!

With development cost of up to RM 50 Billion, for up to proposed 3 line of MRT, we are doom to become a bankrupt nation in time of this MRT in operation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • napster on Oct 28, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Mr Expatriate, you are a transport specialist? Since you say the one line is RM50b? Didn’t they just say it wont be even RM40b? Where is your source? Or are you upset you didn’t get a piece of the pie meh?

• Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:43 am

Where got upset! You are the one upset and don’t know how to read what I said!!!!! I said up to 3-line for up to RM 50 Billion!!! Go and check the meaning of “UP” in dictionary.

Some more, you are the one said one line is RM 50b?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Sir, your comments doesn’t seem to reflect for someone (from your name handle) who is educated or a Malaysian professional working as an expat in a foreign country.
          I worry the generalization of the Vietnamese people when they deal with you.

• Typical malaysian mindset whatever the govt did is wrong, will find 1001 reason to criticize. “buat salah tarak buat pun salah”. when public transport very poor traffic jam very bad what lah the govt doing makan duit rakyat apa pun tak buat. when the govt doing something to resolved them, apa lah menghabiskan duit rakyat.

come on lah m’sian come out from the 3rd world mentality. at least try to think like the “Koreans” :)

• Expatriate VN on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:49 am

If the gov think like “Koreans”, why we don’t have “Samsung” with the best smartphone in the world? Instead we have Jaguh Kampung no. 2 with the most crappy car in the kampung!!!!

Go and figure out that we have 1st world infrastructure, but 3rd world mentality gov. Only Trengganu, Sabah and Sarawak’s petroleum enable us to acquire Putrajaya and Petronas Twin Tower!

• the reason why we don’t have “SAMSUNG” and etc was because of people like you. Complaining all the times yet making so little effort to innovate new technology for Malaysia! :D

• zidane on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:34 pm

kahkahkah… no la… not 3rd world govt… 3rd world citizen… that includes you and me and govt staff…

hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

• if gov thinks like koreans, we will have more big companies which are handled by cronies and families. all located at gangnam.. err damansara.

• Toroto on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:14 pm

How come the renovation works at the Jalan Imbi and Jalan Pudu interchange seem never ending as before or just one renovation work finished, another begin. These always cause bottle-neck traffic jam around that cross-junction. These also cause motorists coming out from Jalan Bukit Bintang to Jalan Pudu only movable during red light, but stop at green light. Any chance to settle down? Are there any AES around there?

• Peter on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:16 pm

The diagram fails to picture the exit into Bangsar right after Victoria Station. As a person who uses this road daily, I know that the Bangsar exit is usually backed-up which also affects the 2 lanes heading to KL (thank you queue jumpers!)

Closing the left most lane would result in there only being 1 lane heading to KL. I anticipate traffic here to be quite bad.

As an alternative, users could take the roads through Bukit Damansara and rejoin the Sprint near the PBD exit.

• Bujang Lapuk on Oct 29, 2012 at 10:15 pm

This is the type of comment which should be exemplified. It doesn’t serve as a complaint or a foul-mouthed rant, rather acknowledges the pros and cons of a subject, and suggests solutions. Good on you Peter!