Hyundai announces new 1.0 and 1.2 turbo engines

The global downsizing trend looks East as Hyundai recently revealed its future powertrain strategy, including new Kappa 1.0 TCI (Turbocharger Intercooler) and 1.2 T-GDI (Turbo Gasoline Direct Injection) petrol engines, at this year’s Hyundai-Kia International Powertrain Conference in Korea.

The company already has 1.6 and 2.0 T-GDIs, and is expanding the engine range to include “small, yet strong” units with an emphasis on fuel economy, eco-friendliness and high performance. There are also plans to expand the diesel range which currently consists of U, R and S series engines.

The 1.0 TCI is capable of producing 106 PS and 137 Nm of torque, which Hyundai says is exceptional compared to segment rivals. CO2 emissions are also claimed to be less than those of its original gasoline model. The 12-valve DOHC three-cylinder features an integrated turbocharger and offset crankshaft. Keeping weight in check is an aluminium cylinder block as well as an intake manifold and head cover made out of plastic. No details yet on the 1.2 T-GDI, so we’ll have to wait and see for that one.

In a bid to boost overseas sales, the company will also offer more customised powertrains to suit individual markets around the globe. For instance, while Hyundai plans to increase the ratio of T-GDI engine-equipped models in its major markets like the US and China, it also plans to introduce flex-fuel engines for countries better suited for them. For countries with extreme weather conditions, Hyundai will provide engines that deliver sustainable performance regardless of temperature changes.

Other engines showcased at the conference were the Gamma 1.6 T-GDI, Nu 2.0 CVVL, Theta 2.0 T-GDI, U2 1.1 WGT diesel and Euro 6 R 2.0 diesel. The Kappa CVT was also on display.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• paultanreader on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:12 pm

lol so hyundai will be using cvt for future model….
    i remember many paultan reader keep bashing the japanese and proton for their cvt and say their kia and hyundai 6 speed auto is better….say cvt not reliable….etc….
    any why after so long of r&d proton can only proton 1 1.6t engine yet others can come out with a series…..
    proton better move fast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
    • Kappa CVT. It’s the improved version of what japanese & proton have now. New stuff so I can’t elaborate more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
      • which line in the article mentioned it’s an improve version?or you just wanna bash the japanese and proton?by the way audi using cvt also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • Blehland people very interesting…when ask proton make own design car, proton make…they said crappy car…when ask proton make own engine…proton make…they said vtec better…when they ask proton make mpv…proton make..they said ugly…when ask proton using led lite..proton make..they said china made…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
          • sales figures dont lie, and iam talking about global sales figures. p1 cars suck, their engineering sucks, sad but true. styling for mpv, well i like mpvs but not the high sided bread tin like exora since they are into rebadging why didnt they rebadge the grandis? msians hate weak cronies or companies who only collude with the bn for easy money. p1 is afraid to compete at home even with all you socalled p1 ass kissers of the porsche driving tun.

• watchman on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:07 pm

The CVT is an addition to the range of engines, not replacement. they are just expanding the range of engine they can use in different models of cars for different market segments and different purpose. for someone who claimed to be paultanreader, you do sound like you just started learning to read.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Bikin turbo pun bocor enjin kuat batuk-batuk…

Apa macam mau move fast?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • cland on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:20 pm

gear DSG pun problematic gak
        factory turbocharged pun semput gak kadang-kadang

• Vader on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:57 pm

r u really a paultan reader?
      your statement just created by yourself.. lol

• Sam Loo on Nov 10, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Kimchi CVT will prolly be worse that VW’s DSG

• ben yap on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:17 pm

That’s the way to go Hyundai! Bravo!!

Toyota & Honda, when’s your turn? You guys are seriously lacking behind. Your badge won’t get you far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • Dude, turbocharged engine started a long time in JDM, don’t confused by our local bad T n H

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • ben yap too poor to explore to those models…at most also city and vios..m

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • ben yap on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:02 pm

better than you riding a kapchai. hahahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • Dude, I am so reliable, you just insulted me..
            Don’t compare me to a Indonesian made Avenza or Thai made innova please

• JDM used it in high performance car, not everyday street cars. Don’t confuse high performance turbo to low inertia turbo.

• C_Optra on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:23 pm

how u know honda and toyota don’t have such engine?? Hyundai and Kia engine are seriously lacking behind.. put aside their amazing exterior design.. their engine range are still far far behind.. take Honda B16a vs 1.6cc in Forte as example.. u can see who is lack behind..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
      • Why so serious? on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:46 pm

your b16a doesn’t meet the requirement of euro 4 … Time to move on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Kalun on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Then bring in the K24a engine instead.
          That one euro6 compliant but due to our fuel quality here, we can get those kind of engine.

• Sam Loo on Nov 10, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Kimchis can have any additions to their models, but still, their RV will be poor and poorer

• James on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Might be small but undoubtedly still better than Proton’s campro CFE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
    • Y r u compare with old engine….retard or wat?..u just make old campro look good…suppose u compare with VW engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Campro own engine but still Protong price not lower after stop using Mitsubishi engines…where got cost savings transfered to buyers?

Savings on royalty payment konon…cakap tarak serupa bikin ini Protong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • that’s after adding the tax price la
          if don’t have tax proton is cheap

• that’s long time ago, everything gets more expensive through time. can you buy 3 sweets for 10 cents now? estupido

• Kent Loh on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Yes compare it.But VW’s TSI better than this old tech engine.

• wao!!! 1.0 can produce the same/nearly with 1.5 ^^ would like to know more about it :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • nice…1.0 TCI can produce 106 PS and 137 Nm of torque..i no need to consider 1.5’s cars hahaha…low road tax lagi good !

• pdvilq on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Proton, this is a good example to follow…

• Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Boleh mimpi lah

Bikin enjin sendiri tapi harga Protong lebih mahal dari Protong pakai enjin Mitsubishi dulu…

Mau tipu tengok kiri kanan dulu…org kampong boleh lah senang tipu

• No blehland people wan proton 2.0 to 6.0 engine…below that underpowered claim by them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • This what every good automotive company should be. They introduce new technology or new stuff to the masses. Give Proton another 100years also won’t come near to what Hyundai/KIA achieve now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • walaweh on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:58 pm

then maybe u can answer my questions. Where is hyundai/kia when they r at the same age as proton rite now? I know proton is a crap now, but how about hyundai/kia then, are they so advance@just as crappy as prtn rite now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Kalun on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:37 pm

By joint venture with main engine manufacturer like GEMA to make the engine. Fair enough Malaysians?

• spyshotX on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:36 pm

bro, the news said new ENGINE range laa.. where got new TECHNOLOGY.. small turbo DI engine & cvt tranny has been pioneered by big euro & japanese auto co. years ahead..

those korean knew that without good powertrain it’s still hard to beat the big guns for more market share if they merely depends on just good looks to boost sales.. with huge capital and reputation as world’s 5th largest carmaker, surely hyundai-kia had no problem spending billions on r&d to develop their own engines & trannies.. in fact, they should have them already..

why bother compare with puny small global-player-wannabe like proton? even if perodua had green light from big bro toyota to make their own engine it wont happen in overnight.. our culture is still light years away in terms of technology & innovation.. we need to cultivate it in our education system first and let it flourish.. sadly from the way people are commenting in here, we will forever be end-users, not inventors..

• Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Both Hyundai Kia and Protong enjoy Tongkat protection but:

Hyundai Kia use Tongkat to give Full-spec, quality, modern, fuel-efficient, nice design car at CHEAP price to local Koreans

Protong use Tongkat to give crap car low-spec outdated harga cekik to sembelih poor rakyat

Obviously Tongkat is just like a nuclear bomb – either use it for Good or Evil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • quaks on Oct 30, 2012 at 6:31 pm

please learn economies of scale, then you will understand why they can cut cost more than japs

• tokmoh on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Meanwhile in Malaysia, DRB wants Proton to use Petronas E01 engine, with pathetic Euro 2 emission rating, no direct injection, no turbo, confirmed fuel guzzling crappy engine from dinosaur era.

Last time say the Petronas engine E01 sold to some Chinese manufacturer, true or not? How come never got see any actual Chinese car with that engine? Petronas penipu scammer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • dass G on Oct 30, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Small turbo charged engine is the way to go Hyundai.
    Proton please learn form them.
    I bet this Hyundai 1.3 engine unit would be more powerful and more economical than P1’s 1.6 CFE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Don’t forget CFE the world first engine to use Ubat Batuk Cap Kelapa Laut Afrika to solve the coughing sound problem…Uhuk Uhuk Uhuk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • walaweh on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:29 pm

u r wrong pumpkins, not the first one batuk, lexus i think one of the earliest batuk enjin. U can search it on the net if u want to. Over crank issue for lexus. Its being years unsolve…x-files…i wonder who makes lexus engine???

• walaweh on Oct 31, 2012 at 1:33 pm

u also can google on owv n ocv wonder of vvti world wide. But i think u dont really know about this enjin batuk that use by famous company coz even their s**t is fingers lickin good 4 u :-).

• comparing 1.2 and 1.6 lol

• They has n had been bashed for using small engine rite…??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • and proton is going backwards by trying to use 2.0 petronas engine? sigh~

• Pumpkins on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:56 pm

The power of Reverse Engineering kah?

• Why so serious? on Oct 30, 2012 at 3:49 pm

Eco-boost released long ago dy, even better, not that Kia or Hyundai is not good, just.. Others can do e same, nothing special

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Haters gonna hate~ on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:53 pm

LOL, and I tot Kappa is a Japanese mythical monster.

Or an Italian brand. ROFLOL

• Sam Loo on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Two Words,

Low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Gavin on Oct 30, 2012 at 8:43 pm

Euro 6 r diesel thank you

• Maserati on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:11 pm

As usual with all the Korean crap.ON Paper stats very impressive.But when ur driving the thing on the road,feels like half of what they promised you.

Pls Hyundai and KIA.We dont care how much Nm torque u put in the papers,if your technology is just not up to it,pls keep your rubbish in Korea.Same goes to Samsung and the rest of the Korean junk.Looks great when new,after 6 months, parts start to fall apart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • enjoy your viva :D

• Sam Loo on Nov 12, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Hyundai USA was busted falsely declaring the FC of the 2011/2012 Elantra.

They have to compensate owners by issueing debit cards for fuel purchase and subsidising fuel purchase by 15% for the next 2 years

These Koreans are a bunch of liars

• pearjai on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:08 pm

it remind me some old daihatsu gtti cb80 ….stock 1.0 for 100hp that can tune for 200hp and more with stock internal !(forged internal)for me ,daihatsu still the king for compact engine !

• True bro , daihatsu is the king of performance engine like nowadays plenty of half cut Turbo engine from Japan now loaded into Kancil, kelisa , kenari. Truth said small CC turbo is nothing special for Japs, hope Perodua will come out something decent, next round not like Myvi, lagi power 1.5 only Malaysian can market like this , should have done something like 1.3 GTI, intercooler Turbo.

• Wonder what Hyundai/Kia model will first rasmi this 1.0/1.2 Turbo engine.

• fazron80 on Nov 02, 2012 at 12:17 am

TSI the way to go. maybe proton can turbo their 1.3 campro. at least better than doing nothin.

• pearjai on Nov 02, 2012 at 3:48 am

i’just imagine small diesel(common rail) engine with turbo intercooler + vnt/vgt….1.0 with tork(150-160n/m)sure rm10.00 can go 6 cent for km !..hahaha..then the car sound like 4wd/hilux/triton/navara…no need small petrol engine anymore or hibrid car ! diesel engine much efiency for cossumption but ”bad” for enviroment…do yo know Toyota supplied small diesel engines to BMW and Mini less than 10 years ago.