Infiniti has decided to overhaul the way its car models are named. The entire model portfolio will start with Q for cars and QX for SUVs and crossovers from the 2014 model year, with a number tagged behind the alphabets to signify which segment the car is in rather than engine size.

Here’s the new names for the existing models:

  • G sedan will be known as Q50
  • G coupe/convertible sedan will be known as Q60
  • M sedan will be known as Q70
  • EX crossover will be known as QX50
  • JX crossover will be known as QX60
  • FX crossover will be known as QX70
  • QX SUV will be known as QX80

There are various reasons for this rename exercise. Firstly, it will allow the consumer to properly identify where a car is positioned in the Infiniti range.

“You know, unless you’re really familiar with the Infiniti lineup, who knows whether a JX fits above an EX or an FX, and where does the QX fit in? With the new system, customers will be able to figure out which fits in where,” says Infiniti president Johan de Nysschen. Something with a bigger number will clearly be more upmarket than something with a smaller number.

Secondly, the removal of engine displacement sizes from the model names will allow the brand to adapt better to trends such as engine downsizing. A G sedan with a 2.0 litre turbo could be making much more power than the normally aspirated 3.7 litre in the G37, but it would be confusing to consumers to think of a G20 to be higher up the range than a G37.

Some car companies don’t seem to have an issue with this though, happily just upping the number representing the engine capabilities while ignoring the actual engine displacement. For example, for BMW there’s a 530d, 535d, and M550d, that’s all powered by a 3.0 litre diesel, not a 3.5 litre and a 5.0 litre as you would think the model number represents.