Porsche Panamera – rendering of next-gen Type 970

panamera render 1

It hasn’t been around the block that long, Porsche’s Panamera, but it does feel like it, what with variants of the form popping up every year or so. It’s about now that a midlife facelift should be due for the Type 970, but no intimation of it yet.

In any case, the second-generation car – to be underpinned by the Modular Standard Platform, (or MSB from the German term) – looks to be due sometime around 2015 or 2016, and some idea of how things will shape up has already been volunteered by the Panamera Sport Turismo concept that was showcased in Paris last year.

panamera render 2

Supposedly, reports say a shooting brake/sporty wagon Panamera will reach showrooms in 2016, and production is expected to take place alongside the successor to the current Panamera.

Meanwhile, Theophilus Chin has come up with a couple of renderings suggesting what the next Panamera may look like. He does however believe that the eventual car will have a different trunk design to his renderings. We think the car looks pretty sharp – what do you think about the form?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• neutral on Jan 04, 2013 at 5:47 pm

much much better than the current car…very nice actually

• Jimmy on Jan 04, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Theophilus: passion.
    Azlan: commitee.
    Cantiq.

• There is no need to say which Panamera is better looking considering nothing on this end of the market comes close to the hideousness that is the current gen which looks like a obese 997 911 trying to be a Morris Maxi.
    well, hope the next Panamera will look something like this or at least the rear has to be like this. And considering how much better looking Porsche models have become of recent, the ‘991’ 911 Carrera, ‘981’ Boxster and ‘958’ Cayenne, I have high hopes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • kadajawi on Jan 05, 2013 at 4:07 am

Too good looking. Can’t be a Porsche non-2-door-car. Porsche doesn’t know how to design a car with 4 doors.

• Theophilus Chin should be hired as Proton’s chief designer.

• kadajawi on Jan 05, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Don’t you think Lotus has enough good designers that could be promoted?

• nope those guys just rehash the design of the elise mk1.

• As what u mentioned, “Porsche doesn’t know how to design a car with 4 doors.” :-what makes u think Lotus, which only produces 2 door cars, knows how to design a 4 door car? u r making yourself look like a joke here..

• Or even Porshe AG can consider giving him a post..

• still butt ugly :(

• kitt jr. on Jan 06, 2013 at 11:39 am

we see hint of pontiac firebird aka knight rider.

• i just hate theo. he thinks like he’s a god where errybody will see and compliment his rendering?? and he also put some expectation in people for the next versions of vehicles with different body forms and lines. and people do expect them to be laucnched. stupid people.

• Makes me very sad. well as a designer, or at least on a footsteps of one, I probably should raise my concern.
      DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA how hard is it to make the entire thing looks balance?
      DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA how long to Photoshop the rear end let alone the technique and steps to do it?
      DO YOU EVEN KNOW HIM? to come the conclusion that he ‘thinks like he’s a god’
      ARE YOU JEALOUS? hating people just because he compliments for his work [that is seriously sick]
      ARE YOU THAT STUPID? to judge people as stupid just because they have a vision to see Theo’s work gets produce.
      seriously what has society come to by producing people like you, and if that’s sarcasm, it’s not remotely funny.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 07, 2013 at 1:09 am

At least he can visualised what he likes and share it. If you dont like it, so be it. I didnt lose a single cent for that.

• Ononimous on Jan 07, 2013 at 9:10 am

Hopefully Dr Mamak can launched it here while telling poor rakyat to keep buy Proton as charity amal jariah.

• Ok man on Jan 10, 2013 at 1:56 am

The body shape look a bit similar to latest Mazda 6.

• Luqman_HKM on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:46 pm

It looks like how a proper saloon should, not a stupid bulky fastback.