Mazda 6 wagon, sedan on oto.my – ads hint at pricing

s4-Mazda6Wagon26950x492

The handsome third-gen Mazda 6 has yet to be officially launched in the country, but ads have already cropped up on oto.my (see all Mazda 6 listings here), with indicative prices.

In particular, a listing for the 2.5 SkyActiv Touring (that’s the estate) by Menang Nusantara Auto caught our attention, suggesting that the stylish load lugger might be Malaysia-bound.

The dealer has listed RM200k, but adds “Price TBA later” in the description, so we know that’s a ballpark figure. It also says that the 2.0 litre engine is not available for the estate.

As for the sedan, most listings estimate an average of RM180k, but this ad by the same dealer suggests a price range of RM160-195k. It adds that the Mazda 6 will be available in 2.0, 2.5 and 2.5 Touring variants.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Best looking estate ever!! Maybe second to the Swedish V60 or CLS shooting break.
    But this is far more affordable….. Beauty for the masses!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • skyrim on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:18 pm

You sure bro? Another way to look at it perhaps, from pricing point of view. Say if you top up another RM40k, you’d get a conti, say F30 320i, A4 or C200 which are premium cars. However if you want a practical car and can’t be bothered about driving dynamic then Japanese is good choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
      • I don’t think another 40k can get you any Teutonic estate.
        From a design stand point, the 6 is definitely a fresher face on the market like the Optima K5. Yes it dose’t have the handsome glitzy look of a German marque, but it’s got it’s own distinctive Japanese character that dose’t look mundane [The Interior could be better though]
        The Germans are also abit common already, F30 aside, I have to say the A4 and the C is getting so common, it looks almost mundane. The Japanese also have reasonably well driving dynamics, I don’t think is still on par with German precision.
        But I think the Mazda is cheaper to maintain, an edge over the exclusive Germans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • PauKaya on Jan 08, 2013 at 2:01 pm

maybe a ckd “premium” car. but definitely not a fully imported estate.

• best looking estate? haha.. one mans beauty, is another man’s ugliest Mazda yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
      • True…not everyone may like the Mazda’s new look . but as the way you put it, ‘ugliest Mazda yet’, does that mean no Mazda tickle your senses. well, most other estate actually look boring, but this is unique, I think I’ll agree with you that looks are’t for everyone, my favorite estate will be, and weirdly, Volvo 240GL….don’t know, it looks unique to me.

Mazda Cosmo, FC3S, the best-looking-Japanese-car of the 90s FD3S? None of them spike your interest. Mazda makes more better looking car than all other Japanese manufacturer.

• tokmoh on Jan 09, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Volvo makes nice wagons, the 240’s an FR summor, plonk in a 2JZ, fuuuh ultimate sleeper *naughty grin and eyebrows*

Estate always looks better than saloon IMHO. It doesn’t caught up here because in recent times T n H never sell them. If they can sell ugly dugong or ridiculously priced Freed, they can sell anything cuz Msian carbuyers are such suckers to these brands.

• Brayokmok on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:56 am

Come faster baby…

• sudonano on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:59 am

Gorgeous!

• shawal on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:00 pm

-_-” ….

• Kalun on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Mazda 6 vs Kia Optima K5 vs Hyundai Sonata.
    Hrmm.

• Sam Loo on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:00 am

Compare Mazda with Toyota, Honda, Nissan

Compare Hyundai/Kia/Ssangyong with Tata/Mahindra/Geely/Greatwall.

• way overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • I guess we should thank Peugeot for starting the whole estate trend here in our country. I hope more and more car company will decide to bring in their estate version of their sedans here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Jilbaber on Jan 08, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Still can’t accept the front look..otherwise its perfect..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • Fahmi on Jan 08, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Yeah at least better than the “All new” Camry… The previous Camry looks better than current one…

• Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Worst japanese maker ever because low RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 73
    • Kalun on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:27 pm

I think you are one of those who reported a missing Toyota.

Let’s see how many Toyota got stolen. Hrmm. Wondering Sam Loo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • NONICKNAME on Jan 08, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Dont buying car if u think RV. Just use public transport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Jan 08, 2013 at 11:20 pm

I think our Cartier, Bvlgari, LV etc all have very good resale value. So are our RM300 shirts, trousers and our RM600 sports shoes.
      Beautiful things are for people with taste. These people can easily spend 6-figure rm in a 2-week Europe leisure trips. Hey, these people are not even billionaire alright, far from it.
      Talking about resale value or fuel consumption only shows your social status, unless UMW is your own company and you are promoting its vehicles.

• Sam Loo on Jan 10, 2013 at 10:01 am

Fake Fella

• kadajawi on Jan 08, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Now all people need to do is buy it to show car makers that the country is ready for estates.

• Wow, nice.im very into estates. Still hoping for new rs6 avant though.

• based on oversea review, the best version is the diesel 2.2 skyactiv…very powerful & more torquey than the 2.5 petrol and very frugal compared to both 2.0 & 2.5 petrols

• NONICKNAME on Jan 08, 2013 at 3:38 pm

U can see this model @ Mazda Glenmarie

• Avenger on Jan 08, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Cantik….cukup sempurna bila dipadankan dgn enjin berkuasa 2.5…apa apa enjin bawah 2.5 akan membuatkan pemanduan agak tidak responsive…saya masa awal tahun 90an dulu pernah memandu Ford Sapphire 2.5 station wagon…memang mengagumkan…harap harap Mazda ni pun begitu juga…

• Engines
      SKYACTIV-G 2.5 Petrol
      Max. power 138 kW @ 5,700
      Max. torque 250 Nm @3,250

SKYACTIV-D 2.2 Diesel
      Max. power 129 kW @ 4,500
      Max. torque 420 Nm @2,000

The 2.5 liter petrol only have an extra 9kw power at high 5,700rpm (138kw) compared to the 2.2 diesel (129kw@4,500rpm). not much advantage since the smaller 2.2 diesel have huge 420nm of torque from low 2,000rpm (thats a significant 170nm more torque than the 250nm at 3,250rpm that the petrol 2.5 liter is producing)….

• Fahmi on Jan 08, 2013 at 5:12 pm

2.0 or 2.5 petrol?? Still hoping for 2.2 diesel though… Thats definitely a better engine

• Vince on Jan 08, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Wagon or estate were dominated by Volvo decades ago. Then came all the suv and mpv. Hmm….wagon making a comeback? Personally, I don’t think so.

• tokmoh on Jan 09, 2013 at 11:35 am

It should. Saloons are too mainstream, and SUVs can go dai. Hate to see those behemoths, all pussy pretenders who’ve never been offroad. And usually rude arseholes, especially CRV drivers

• buy proton last on Jan 08, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Wahh….what a gorgeous looking estate! Gotta get one to drive around my oil palm estate….

• Wah, the Japanese Yen has dropped so much recently, and yet the price is so high? How come?

The Jap should capitalize on the weaker Yen to push sales. Just like the Germans do with weaker Euro.

But let’s see how Malaysians react.

• Whatever decision made for this New Mazda6 is pricing variable is most crucial. If Mazda Bermaz think about cocky-ness of being Japanese better stop or realize now since Mazda don’t have upper hand compared to other Japanese Big-Three or duo. 2.0 SkyActiv must be around RM140K

• mclaren01 on Jan 09, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Another brand with no marketing. I think mazda sell in malaysia solely of the product. Maybe bermaz is sleeping

• been tracking for it seen last year. If the price for 2.5 is more than 185k is no no from me. Too bad the price really not justify.

• Somehow I feel that 3rd gen Mazda 6 is too conservative compared to its concept car, especially the front look doesn’t coherent to its long front overhang. Apparently, Mazda might be having an intention of conquering T&H territorial, instead i think they should keep their own stance of being a sport sedan knowing that Mazda all this while has been targeting on the different group of buyers.
    With the price tag of RM190k-200k, the stern rivals are Mondeo Ecoboost & Pug 508 GT.
    Those who keen to own new Mazda 6 may need to compare these 3 cars to experience the difference among the new gen Skyactive NA engine, Ecoboost Turbo & 2.2 Diesel Turbo. These are the world most recommended new tech engines.