Honda Freed MPV facelifted – RM99,800 to RM113,500

freed-fl-01

Honda Malaysia has announced the facelifted Freed MPV, first launched here back in April 2010 as the “premium compact MPV”. No change mechanically, so say hello to the familiar 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine (118 PS/148 Nm) and five-speed automatic gearbox.

With a thick chrome strip across the logo, the grille is new, as is the front bumper. At the back, there’s a chrome garnish above the number plate, and the rim design is also fresh.

Inside, the higher spec Grade E now comes with leather seats, and fold-down armrests for both front seats are now available across the board (previously only the driver and two mid-row chairs had armrests). A driver’s seat height adjuster is another new addition. The instrument panel has a new colour scheme, too.

The Freed now comes with a five-year warranty with unlimited mileage, only applicable when regular preventive maintenance is performed at set intervals. Customers are entitled to a Free Service Coupon with up to six times free labour charge during service. The FSC is applicable for the 1,000 km, 10,000 km, 30,000 km, 50,000 km, 70,000 km and 90,000 km service.

The lower spec RM99,800 Grade S is available in Brilliant White Pearl, Polished Metal Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl. The RM113,500 Grade E can only be had in Brilliant White Pearl. Click here for a test drive report of the Freed, and to see how the original face looks like.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Davinnci on Jan 31, 2013 at 4:47 pm

How about a simple answer: NO

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 22
    • powderful on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:20 pm

They just plonk in similar city engine into this 6 seater. How about a simple word : UNDERPOWERED

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 12
    • Is much better looking than the new Avanzas…that car just looks like those Alien ships, and this one looks like the gardeniasss bread but the front is acceptable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:06 pm

it definitely is a looker compare to avanza but at 100k price, how about one simple answer : NO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • Joe Radzif on Feb 04, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Alphard also like gardenia bread kan…

• The Honda Freed was and is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you ever see it on the road? So why is Honda Malaysia wasting their money and investment on this facelift? Isn’t better to use the investments to reduce the price of the City or Civic?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 18
    • Honda should spend their time, energy and investments in trying to reduce the prices of their existing fleet. Diehard Honda fans were so pissed off when they saw their CBU Japan Made Honda Jazz turning into a Malaysian Made CKD with nearly the same price tag. I know so many Honda fans and Honda owners abandoning the brand. This is because the younger generation or the Y generation have no brand loyalty and if a company has no respect for their customers, these clients would not hesitate to move onto other established brands. I think Honda should recoup and re-strategise to win the hearts and minds of the younger generation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
    • komey on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Because Malaysians will buy anything throwed at them. From fugly veeyos to bread van alpat. Anything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 14
      • ok025 on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Wondering who will buy this kinda thing! there are plenty of much better choice and competitive nowadays . . .

• Is still too expensive and if you really want a Honda MPV, save up, eat your Meggis and go for the brilliant Stream. But than again, the Interior is spacious and what other MPV can you get with sliding doors at this price. Sadly, a Exora , Alza , ugly Avanza and the brilliant Grand Livina can do the job nicely. Honda is still my preferred brand, but not for its MPVs, get a Grand Livina.

BTW, Davinci, why did you compare Mazda 3 and Honda Freed, totally different markets and segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
    • kadajawi on Sep 19, 2013 at 10:38 pm

It’s a bestseller in Japan. I’m pretty sure the updates were done for Japan, and they simply also sell the car in Malaysia, just in case anyone wants it. I doubt there is much of an investment going on there.

Besides, I actually quite like it. The price is steep, but justified. Since the Kangoo left the market there is simply no competition left, except for the Sharan, Estima and Alphard, and those are much bigger and much more expensive.

• lelonglelong on Jan 31, 2013 at 4:56 pm

honda to keep them until decay

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • Davinnci on Jan 31, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Mazda 3 2.0 is OTR is RM119k, plus 5 years warranty and 5 years maintenance, who wanna buy this small Honda SUV 1.5 with RM114k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 18
  • Vader on Jan 31, 2013 at 4:58 pm

I’m not sure whether the interior quality been improved or not on this facelift model.
    But for the pre-facelift model, the plastic interior look cheap and not nice when touch on it.
    However, RM113.5k is too pricey even compare to its own brand city, jazz and civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • Wanabe on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Honda had never improved since the past few years, Nissan outsold Honda taking the 2nd spot, in terms of reliability its still no match against Toyota, and the fact that most Honda cars are locally assembled in Malaysia might be the main reason. Nissan wins hand down in refinement, while Toyota wins hands down in reliability and practicality, Mazda on the other hand coming up with new technology and fully imported. What has Honda did ? Civic and City, nothing to shout out either. Owning a 2010 CR-V was a serious let down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
    • martin tay on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:39 am

WHAT DID HONDA AND TOYOTA DID? RECALL THEIR CARS BACK FOR CHECKING WORLDWIDE..

• Rather spend a bit more for a recond Wish
    Or save more for a new Nissan Grand Livina.
    Cheap face lift. pft

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • martin tay on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:44 am

I SUGGEST PEUGEOT 3008 RATHER THAN WISH…RECOND WISH ONLY COST 1MILLION YEN WHEN BRING INTO MALAYSIA. BRAND NEW WISH COST RM86K IN TAIWAN BUT PEUGEOT 3008 SELLING ALMOST SAME PRICE AS MALAYSIA .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • It suppose to sell at competitive price with T. Avanza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • nabill on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Brilliant white…stupid price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • kadajawi on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:36 pm

This thing has more space than the cars you mentioned, no? Also it is not as boring looking, and best of all it has sliding doors. Wait until you have old parents/grandparents. You’ll love it. Guaranteed.

Getting someone elderly into a normal car is very hard to impossible, not just for you but also for the person. With sliding doors and a seat in the right height it is so much easier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • xenogearz™ on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Honda Malaysia, please bring in Honda Freed Hybrid and price it competitively…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Peyno on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Cant laa.. Gomen need to protect local compact mpv perodua alza maaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Jimmy on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Do you mean after taking out all the airbags, abs, ebd and vsc then only price it RM5000 cheaper than the current price?
      Ambitious, if not greedy.

• Coffin Car on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:51 pm

This is a piece of sh*t car.
    And I can’t even brain why some people who buy it.
    They lost their head?
    Oh yeah.. By owning this “vehicle” they had lost their mind :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 28
    • swee swee on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:55 am

CNY coming soon, is time for T & H to ‘A’ money from consumers

• honda FREAK….err, typo.Freed~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • darker marker on Jan 31, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Instead of Honda Freed,

name it Honda TakLaku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • Peyno on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Tak laku in bolehland close market n local car perodua alza protected by gomen.. Look at open market in jspan.. Freed sales much better than passo sette ( alza).. N rakyat trust japanese’s choice instead of kampung bolehland close market like mesia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
      • everything also wanna relate due govt. govt just policy makers.

lets be logical here. civic 2006 recycle 2000 engine. civic 2012 recycle 2006 engine. doesnt it make it 12 years engine tech but at exorbitant price increase?

freed on other hand just use city engine.

accord also recycle engine.

only european really keep on improving their engine. u can see from updated focus, volkswagen & such.

still wanna blame govt? i think some companies just being greedy when we consumers allow it to happen by keep on buying. as example civic broke record sales even with 12 yrs technology. so we shouldnt be bashing proton with old engine as japanese are following proton now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • notImpressed on Jan 31, 2013 at 7:49 pm

i think a big reason why this doesn’t get attention is becoz of the name. It should be named Honda Greed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • ogaiyo on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Top up and get a civic better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Peyno on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Blame to gomen n perodua.. Just becoz to protect local car .. They price up imported car.. This compact mpv is similar as alza.. Freed is most popular compact mpv in japan m indon… If freed price like alza.. Only perodua salesman like amoi will buy alza perodua
    Prffthhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Peyno on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Talking about compact mpv

Rich ppl buy freed

Poor ppl jepun wannabe buy alza

Prffthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Dark Matter on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Not sure why people here loves to bash this car so much. Is it that bad?

Those saying this car a total failure due to low sales in Malaysia is really a katak di bawah tempurung because this car is hot selling in Japan and Indonesia.

To justify a car based on CC with price is pretty ridiculous too. Then most of the Chinese made car are actually even worth to buy as they have bigger CC and cheaper price.

Not sure why some people would said its justifiable to plonk in 50K just to get 500cc upgrade or spend 120K with a 5 year old recon car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • gOOsh on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:21 pm

since i’ve bad experience with civic fd, no honda cars for my next ride…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • beng beng on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Van oso offered sliding door ma. Its better and spacious than this ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • honda joker on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:45 pm

is this a joke?

• sambalbabi on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:26 pm

SOHC engine. i’ll gladly pass -_-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Freebies on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:45 pm

This MPV is for ppl who wants convenient of MPV with sliding doors without the huge size that hard to park and maneuver around town. If you don’t like don’t buy, stop talking like you are some automobile experts that know shit about automobile industry. Cakap pandai aja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
  • Sgt Scoop on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:19 am

Bash, bash, bash. If you don’t like it, don’t buy it. It’s definitely not for me but the endlessly negative comments are just boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Rakyat on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:21 am

Driven by FREAKs…

• Why would so many “genius” want to compare a compact to a sedan like city, mazda 3 or even full size MPV like Stream and Wish. Pls, use your brain and it is totally different class. Pls compare apple to apple. Compare a compact MPV like alza, avanza, GL at the same class. Undoubtedly it is pricey. However we treat is as low end estima?

• driver on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:11 am

i used to own civic sohc 1.7 after 10 years still the same engine. honda has good dohc engine but greedy and cut cost has blinded them.

• Leonardo on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:51 pm

On the contrary, once you have purchased this FREAK, you will be feeding the Honda GREED, and definitely not FREED of huge monthly installments! (Sorry, I have borrowed from some of the comments above and summarised).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Ah Beng on Feb 02, 2013 at 2:00 am

You will not be FREED from paying tax to the G!

• mohammadsuhaimi on Feb 02, 2013 at 10:51 pm

why honda no bring in honda airwave like our neighbour do instead of this freaks model? Same platform also and better fc

• saifulnizam on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:19 pm

is there any plan to bring the freed hybrid to malaysia?

• Kambingz on Feb 07, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Who is so so so so stupid enough to buy this annoying thing at 113K? I guess they thought most malaysian are stupid, 113K for this pathetic thing? amagad..

• Superfreak on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:23 am

Why is all the bashing abt this car?
    Pathetic car? How so?
    It can ferry d whole family in comfort without the bulk and has sliding doors.
    Tell me a competitor for this car. I heard u say livina? Alza? Avanza? Exora? Which car would u pick if they r all d same price? See that already? U would pick freed.. hence there is a value in it. Hence they charge more.
    Dohc better than Sohc? Not in mpv. As Sohc had better low end torque.
    Is a free market with many different needs. U dont like dont buy lah. Stop winding just bcos u cant afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi on Sep 19, 2013 at 10:41 pm

There was the Kangoo which also had sliding doors, but the first generation one was discontinued and TC never brought in the second generation car… and Mercedes probably also won’t bring in their rebadged version of the Kangoo either.

• stop by at honda showroom today, the saleman said that this model is discontinued for malaysia market, any info?

• amir bahar on Jul 19, 2013 at 9:12 am

HONDA have a big name in Msia ,just like adidas sports attire of Germany , you’ll be proud having one regardless of price, understand!

• moonier on Jul 08, 2014 at 3:19 pm

honda freed out of stock or discontinued for malaysia market?