BL1M programme offers more affordable B2 licence

Motorcyclist

Malaysians who wish to apply for a B2 motorcycle licence can now do so at a reduced cost with the help of the BL1M (Bantuan Lesen 1 Malaysia) programme. Instead of paying an average of RM380 before, first time applicants are able to obtain a full B2 category (for bikes under 250 cc) licence for RM199.

The lowered fee includes the complete package of driving lessons, theory and practical tests at Road Transport Department (RTD)-approved driving institutes, as well as the licence application fee and photograph. Amusingly, the programme also allows applicants who happen to fail the computerised theory exam to retake the test a further two times at no extra charge.

BL1M is open to all Malaysians aged between 17 and 40 years old who do not hold any driving licence of any class as of January 1, 2013, so current drivers who wish to take up riding need not apply. The new government initiative is targeted at 500,000 eligible Malaysian citizens.

Local online portal MyEG Services has been appointed as the sole manager for the BL1M programme. To receive the discount, applicants are required to fill up an online registration form here, and submit the completed form along with Money Order made to MY E.G. Services Berhad (cash payment is not accepted), to the UMNO Office or the Component Parties in your own parliamental area.

Take note, however, that the registration for BL1M is only open for two weeks starting from February 1, so be sure to make good of this initiative before the end of next week!

So there you go boys and girls, no more excuses for riding around without a licence, okay?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• BMW Fanboi on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:07 pm

That’s where my wise vote is going. Helping the rakyat. Thank you.
    1Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 51
    • yea freaking thanks to Najib and his retards..

FK this 1M shits

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 32
      • No point giving all this nonsense. Stop corruption first. Stop all the stealing and plundering in the country. Malaysia is a super rich country, one of the richest in the world. If we stop corruption such as the free AP handouts, contracts, bribes etc, there will be ample to be given to everyone. No other country in the world is as rich as Malaysia in terms of natural resources, ie oil, timber, rubber, tin etc etc. Infact, for example, Singapore has ZERO resources, and it is one of the top countries in the world. Why? Answer is minimum corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
    • i dont understand why some of you didnt like this move. Some of Malaysian do get the benefits of this campaign too u know? esp those uncle2 who ride their old EX5 illegally carrying their wife and kids and SPM leavers who only uses their parents money to get the license.

yes i am also not a great supporters of some policies of gov, such as motor tax etc,
      but for these kind of campaign, what to hate? some of us PEOPLE do get the benefit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
      • rally_fan on Feb 05, 2013 at 11:15 am

its a good initiative.. but whats the real intentions behind this? Why after so long, only now are they doing this? they had so many years to help people have better lives but did nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
      • YeahYeah on Feb 06, 2013 at 7:09 am

What uncle2?! Age limit is 40!

• What does it mean? Mat Rempit can terrorise the street legally?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 37
  • mystvearn on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Already have license..damm

• Nick.C on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:15 pm

What nonsense. If they really wanted to help motorcyclists, they would abolish the excise on motorcycles. Why on earth should basic starter bikes like the CBR250 cost over rm20K in Malaysia when they sell for just over rm10K elsewhere?

Every time I balik kampung I just feel sorry for the guy struggling to get home on an EX5 on the highway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 9
    • orispuma on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:55 pm

I’m totally agreed with you but it is what it is. In fact, I was one of the fler used EX5 to ‘balik kampung’. Still remembered the effect every time when ‘bus express’ overtake me… hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • Expatriate VN on Feb 04, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Honda Wave basic model selling at around VND 17 Million (USD 850.00 or RM 2,600.00). How much this model selling in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • manyak syok on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:25 pm

good news for my younger bro..

• Bakut on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:30 pm

With the savings, please buy new shoes okay? Pakai selipar naik moto banyak bahaya tau

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • Grant on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Will we see BK1M? Bantuan Kereta 1 Malaysia?

Cars should be affordable to the layman. Car prices should be brought down.

How many times have seen a toddler without helmet (coz there is no helmet for a toddler in the market since its illegal for a toddler being a passenger on the motorcycle in the first place) being sandwiched between his father riding the motorcycle and his mother sitting at the back. Very sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • Expatriate VN on Feb 04, 2013 at 4:14 pm

“BL1M RM 199.00 I still cannot afford, I need BRIM RM 500.00, then only there is extra cash to cover nasi lemak, kopi-O, travel cost for testing, etc”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Another taxpayer’s money wasted..where on earth in this planet Govt spend money for driving license..If you really honest to help ppl…reduce the car tax..abolish the AP..improve public transport..then ppl like me will afford to buy better car with better safety..ppl like me can stay outskirt and enjoy better public transport..ppl like me can spend extra money for better house near city if less commitment on car.. hope this money wont come from my EPF..like what they did for BR1M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 23
    • driver on Feb 04, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Indeed. Duit tu baik la baiki sistem pengangkutan awam.. rakyat bukan saja senang, tapi selamat. Bagi permit terus kepada pemandu teksi sendiri bukan ADUN sana sini, jadi tambang bole murah. Tak pun buat jalan moto yg mesra penungang bukan yg tak masuk akal — contoh di putrajaya.

This simple and quick “solution” not only inefficient, but worsen our current traffic safety situation. The more vulnerable entities/users on the road, the higher the risk of getting injury/fatality. Sigh!

p/s: satu lagi.. aku tak suka perkataan BANTUAN sebab tu adalah HAK rakyat untuk dijaga, bukan diniaga oleh gomen.

Enough said~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
      • diamjer on Feb 04, 2013 at 7:43 pm

why don’t you channel all your ideas/frustation to malaysia.gov.my

at least you’ve done your part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
        • Hahahaha on Feb 05, 2013 at 2:50 pm

easy, some people just like to rant about it then when it comes the time to decide or take it to higher level they chicken out. biasa la pahlawan kekunci

• driver on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:14 pm

at least I threw something worth discussing.. and not just licking, or a**-kissing.

• driver on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:12 pm

what made u think that I haven’t channeled it?

… and the things that I mentioned are no brainer.. simple thoughts, it’s not a rocket science!!
          if the current government can’t even think of it, then perhaps we should consider a substitution with a more capable one.

• diamjer on Feb 04, 2013 at 7:23 pm

well its always about me right?

• tokmoh on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:59 pm

RM380 – RM199 = RM181

Target: 500,000 people

Total = RM181 x 500,000 = RM90.5m

Millions to be spent to help rempits afford license = janji sudah ditepati, masa balas budi

Help rakyat reduce debt by reduce car price = negara bankrupt, populist policy, gila kuasa

Because fucuk logic, that’s why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
      • sub_zero on Feb 24, 2013 at 4:13 am

I’m sorry, did i just heard you say all bikers are rempit? You must be some poor sod who can’t even ride a bike much less even owning one lololololol

So much bigotry

• It’s quite good launching for those village kampong boy…illegal driving >.<

• Gokul on Feb 04, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Kurangkan harga Motosikal/Superbike.. Sekian Terima Kasih..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • totti on Feb 04, 2013 at 4:43 pm

What nonsense. If they really wanted to help motorcyclists, they would abolish the excise on motorcycles. Why on earth should basic starter bikes like the CBR250 cost over rm20K in Malaysia when they sell for just over rm10K elsewhere?

Every time I balik kampung I just feel sorry for the guy struggling to get home on an EX5 on the highway.
    ———————————–

Totally agreed with Nick.

All the safe bike (between 150CC to 250cc) price 30% higher than the Thai and indonesia.

Thailand selling Honda PCX scooter at RM 8K and malaysia selling at RM 10.5K.

CBR thailand at RM 12K and malaysia 18K.

Thailand selling CBR 150r and yahama 150r Y1 at RM 8K but malaysian still dreaming fuel injection small bike.

The G only help the Cronies AP to sell at low price (Naza 250 at RM 14K) and tax heavyly on other brand at the rakyat expense. All rakyat end up buying cub below 135cc at RM 5K to 8K range.

What a 1 malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • diamjer on Feb 04, 2013 at 7:34 pm

no such thing as safe bike.
      and safety has nothing to do with bike price.

however if you tech all those teenager how to drive (by getting them a license) they at least will;

1. understand their right on the road.
      2. understand road rules and regulation
      3. covered by insurance
      4. and hopefully by all means be safe

don’t let emotion ruin our judgement, or all of us will end up killing each other (on the road)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • Agreed with totti..

All we need is a cheaper motorbikes with all the safety features like 6 airbags, EBS, ABD, VSA and even reverse sensor.

U know how much Honda EX5 cost in Langkawi? RM1999.99 u know. Malaysian deserves better RV!!

• mustafa on Feb 04, 2013 at 4:45 pm

is this a government initiative or a political party initiative?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • hadi75 on Feb 06, 2013 at 9:07 am

They said it’s a government initiative but must go to umno/bn office to submit the form….why??if it’s gov initiative, the rakyat should be able to submit the form to their respective wakil rakyat not just from the umno/bn but also from pr…..

• and please remove all taxes for the riding gears & accessories like jacket, boots, helmet, gloves etc etc..
    err i mean branded one (alpinestar, dainese and others), not the imitations

• Grant on Feb 04, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Agreed. Why is safety being taxed as well? Something is very wrong here.

• More Mat Rempits! This time they come with liciense!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • diamjer on Feb 04, 2013 at 7:46 pm

why is that anyones who rodes motorcycles is being labelled as mat rempits?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • on what stupidity level is this by calling others mat rempit?

• Hahahaha on Feb 05, 2013 at 3:47 pm

only a rempit would recognised other rempits

• another Populism move. What about 1Malaysia Condom Aid?
    At least it reduces unwanted pregnancies and doesn’t further increase road fatalities among motorcyclists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • whysoserious on Feb 04, 2013 at 6:48 pm

One more thing..Why we need to renew our driving license? So weird..It’s like a different kind of tax..If let say the driving license got insurance coverage..Still acceptable la..

• slumber on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:19 pm

We need more quality teaching on road user behaviour that will be more practical; reducing the ‘gantry’ to obtain a license with sacrificed teaching quality will result in more injury and death on our road.

• you should put something like “this advertisement is brought to you by Najib” or similar.

• Kaninabei on Feb 04, 2013 at 9:34 pm

brim recipient are useless Loafers. Not harworking enough. Spoon feed whole life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • I guess you came from a very well off background. If you are, when other people (aka the Rakyat) need help while you don’t, why the hell do you still barking like a hungry dog then?

Still this cursed country being injustice to you?

• dont arrogant if you were born rich. Everyone feels the same once a day in the sun, But sometimes there is only room for one.

• sub_zero on Feb 24, 2013 at 4:18 am

LOL what a comment! Why are you still in this country when you can spend your so call hard earn money elsewhere?

Cakap tak bikin serupa lol

• TollFree on Feb 04, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Pls..la what can that do to help the rakyat ? Save the money and lower the tolls around the country pls !

• PakCik on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Anything related to 1Malaysia is fakkap…BR1M…BL1M…SL1M…KR1M…and all those 1M shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • Stupid. I have 20 year old C70. I have to pay RM200++ for the insurance. This is still cheeeeeeating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • most of insurance company in malaysia seeing motorbike having high risk on accident and also easy fatality. and it’s also happened frequently too. that why they increase premium to prevent losses of their profit.

eventho im working insurance company, motobike high insurance premium really give pain in the butt

• darker marker on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:57 pm

Can I have Bantuan 1Malaysia, for my daughter cutey pink bicycle??

CAn I oso have Bantuan 1MAlaysia, for my son’s tut-tut toy car??

Anyway, these BL1M is all sweet-sweet candy before the GE13. As usual lar…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Ah Beng on Feb 05, 2013 at 2:03 am

Is this BL1M mat rempit training program?

• Rakyat on Feb 05, 2013 at 2:33 am

Smart move by G i would say:

Cheaper license -> More mat rempit -> More AES saman -> Cronies more money -> More revenue to the G

So, the money still goes back to G and at the same time make more people(rempit) to vote for them. Brilliant plan!

Not all things are what they seem at the surface.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • potong dan madey bagai pinang dibelah dua on Feb 05, 2013 at 2:52 am

segalanya catuuuuuuuuuu

Br1m Kr1m BL1M SL1m catu malaysia boleh

• _xXx_ on Feb 05, 2013 at 6:06 am

mane pasport1M???? dh 15 thn aku bayor RM300 setahun bodo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Seriously, I personally think that Ah Jib can fish more votes if he reduce tax on Motorcycles as it is an necessities for the mass ……..DO 1T..
    Tax on basic bike (<250) shb be hara1m…

• for all brothers and sisters in Malaysia, doesnt matter what race u are. we gotto stand up together during the next GE. stupid G always come up with stupid idea. who the hell need these shit?? just lower excise duty and improve pubic transport. in that case, pakcik2 from kampung can easily afford a good car and need not ride bike with children sandwiched between. Everytime i go bak kelantan, can see ppl balik kampung with motorcycle and its so sad to see them have to bare with the weather. well, goina see this sad scene again during this CNY. our malay brothers and sisters struggling to make a life while BN is so blind to realize it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • those who thumb down are quite stupid. when ppl talk the truth, u all will dislike it. wonder which part in my comment sounded offensive?

• “Who the hell need this shit?”

Well I do. My son get to have his licence using this initiative. You might be coming from a well off family & never rode a small cc in the city. Nevertheless, many people do. So don’t talk nonsense as if all people are like you. They might be doing it purely for political gain. But we have our rights to cast our vote and remember, the time will come soon. So watch your words boy.

By the way, whenever we drive in KL, for example, just have some respect towards bike riders. They might not be riding the biggest superbike here in KL, but they are someone’s father and son. They have family and children to feed. Not everybody is a mat rempit. And sometimes, the way car drivers’ drive that make them ride like one. Why? Because car drivers don’t bother to give signals, changes lane abruptly, and most of the time, doesn’t even care to give them some space to ride safely in between cars. And remember, there’s no bike lane in KL.
        Do you think this people really fancy riding their kapcai in the middle of a hot day and rain? So respect others.

• well said

so john, do u mean all motorist mat rempit ka? this mean me too. my car is camry and my bike is honda wave, using it go to work everyday. got it?

• paparadzi on Feb 05, 2013 at 10:37 am

For all these 1M this and 1M that, ever wonder where the money is coming from?

• klguy on Feb 05, 2013 at 10:37 am

nonsense, y don the gov just reduce the fee instead of giving subsidy. tak masuk akal. bodoh. oh yea, dia org memang takdak akal. apa mau buat, tau tidur dan makan saja. it is all to help another crony company MyEG.

• Ha Gnih on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Persatuan Institut Memandu Malaysia has refused to acknowledge the participation of driving institutes in any of this BL1M crap. This is just another ‘way’ for ‘some’ people to garner votes now that it’s nearing election and not really intending to help citizens. One thing for sure, sole proprietors of driving institutions are not given any form of compensation. Running costs of the whole process could easily reach RM300 per applicant and yes, I would rather scrap the whole B2 thing than making a loss. Bantu rakyat, iye memang murah hati kerajaan kita, tapi siapa yang nak bantu saya ???? Fikir-fikirkan lah.

• i think persatuan dun want to take it, because they will rugi. cannot bare cost rm199 from start to complete b2.

i’ve seen one of famous driving school, put their price of completing b2, about rm400++. even upgrading to b full cost rm600++

• I am above 40, and poor me, I could only see…
    Its not fair… tidak adil … tidak adil!

Sob sob sob

• captain fast on Feb 05, 2013 at 3:04 pm

great…more excuse for car scratching, lane squeezing, bump and go and not to mention snatch theft increase…

as always, middle income earners suffer…what’s new…seriously folks…make your vote count…

• u think all motorist all like that?

• sub_zero on Feb 24, 2013 at 4:26 am

Well karma is bitch, you nickname already show what kind mentality you are.

Tak mampu cakap lah tak mampu, konon miskin tapi bawak kereta sorang2 pergi kerja, bodoh.

Afraid to see people see you ride el cheapo kapchai? Hahahahaha

• faizal on Mar 18, 2013 at 11:56 am

this program kill driving institute(DI),,,,, it pay just 130 to driving institute, actually cost almost 200 per pax, they want the DI to absorb another 70++ loss ka? haiya…this thing politic ma… 50 rm goes to the politcal parties,,,,haiya….thinik carefully la….

• MUHAMAD SHAMSUL ARIFIN BIN HATIB on Aug 19, 2016 at 3:23 am

assalamualaikum.. salam sejahtera..
    saya nak tanya mengenai BL1M ni.. saya sudah datang kursus di dewan UMNO AMPANG, saya sudah bayar RM199 untuk pendaftaran BL1M.. tapi saya tidak dapat lesen yang dijanji kan tu.. kalau saya belum bayar tidak mengapa.. tapi saya sudah bayar RM199.. dan saya tidak terima apa-apa surat pun dari BL1M pun.. macam mana saya nak dapatkan lesen tu ye.. MOHON RESPON..