Toyota hybrid sales top 100,000 units in Europe

05-Prius-Exteriorb1

For a diesel-loving continent such as Europe, it is indeed news to learn that annual sales of Toyota hybrids there surpassed 100,000 units last year for the first time, according to Automotive News Europe. Demand rose 29% to 109,478 compared with 2011.

Of this figure, Toyota sold 83,699 hybrids and Lexus sold 25,779. Lexus said its hybrids made up 90% of its total western European sales last year, the report further states.

It has taken Toyota and Lexus 12 years (since the first-gen Prius went on sale) to breach the 100,000 unit hybrid sales mark in Europe, a feat they achieved in five years in the US. Last year, their combined hybrid sales topped 325,000 last year in the States.

Hybrids made up 13% of total European sales for Toyota and Lexus in 2012. In the US, they accounted for about 15% of the brands’ total volume in that year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Mat Global on Feb 18, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Actually our sales also can be skyroketting but our pricing tak masuk logic. They say hybrid got no tax and excise duty but still the car can be sold for a crazy RM118000 (Honda Civic Hybrid) Where got logic? Even the Toyota Hybrid is at RM149,000.

UMw and Honda Malaysia are big crooks. They blame the government but it seems, they are the ones reaping mega profits of each hybrid sold. You ask the apek chinaman salesman and he still tries to con you saying duty and excise still got.

Now ZERO duty and excise, still its is sold for RM149,000. In the US, the car is about US$24,200. You do the calculations, at the most that comes to RM75,000. So, UMW makes a cool RM75,000 per car sold. Also, shipping and insurance from Japan to Malaysia is cheaper due to proximity as opposed to Japan and USA. The arguement that US is a bigger market is pure bull because no manufacturer is going to sell each car with a loss just to get volume benefits.

So how USA it is US$24,200? That also Toyota USA is making margins of each car sold. I think if come direct from Toyota factory in Japan, the car will ONLY be US$18,000

Problem is UMW is a crony company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • pak long on Feb 18, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Couldn’t agree more!

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 19, 2013 at 9:19 am

USD 24,200 is only for most basic unit, it can go up to USD 30,000 & In US price stated in website r not net on the road there a many cost not included which can go up to few thousand dollar, Hybrid car in Malaysia still need to pay 10% sales tax & AP is not free, further to this Malaysia corporate tax are higher than that in US, so don’t mislead the public if u know “Very Little”.

• kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 9:43 am

I will NEVER buy a Hybrid from UMW. Salesman got no ethics. They love to bad mouth and condemn the Honda Civiv Hybrid. They bull and lie so much condemning the Civic Hybrid that I got so disgusted and went out to buy a Civic Hybrid though I had narrowed down to the Toyota Prius Hybrid. UMW, pls teach some ethics and fair play to ALL your salesmen. Malu betul salesman for Toyota acting like pasar malam traders. Be more credible and have some ethics when you sell your product.

• The current PRIUS is a car i really admired, it’s really really excellent in fuel economy, at the same time, powerful enough when you need it to be. The interior (especially the “luxury” version), feels really smooth and soothing to me.
    I very nearly bought it last year (booked and cancelled) but my nagging wife looked to the Camry 2.0G. Yes, the stingy and outdated tech.
    The Camry has it’s plus points:Bigger and very quiet and comfortable to be in, good sense of occasion, smooth driving..and to be frank, Im quite happy with it..
    But, quite often nowadays, the “Prius” still echos in my head.. I possibily made the wrong decision, and it’s a little too late.. Now i can hear the echo: “don’t worry, start saving money now, get the next generation PRIUS.”.. I say “YES, indeed.”

• Carl Wong on Feb 19, 2013 at 1:50 am

O man how could you cancel the PRIUS (the most efficient car on the planet as of today) and get a…..Camry….???

But no worries man, as long as we’re alive, it’s NEVER TOO LATE to do/get what we really want. I’m getting a Honda Hybrid by the way :).

Maybe you could get the Plug In Prius next time around? Try not to be influenced by wife (or anyone) next time :]? It’s OUR MONEY isn’t it??!!!

• at first i thought toyota hybrid is d top sales in europe!!!!!

• Ben10 on Feb 18, 2013 at 10:27 pm

well, if you compare hybrid to hybrid sales, then yes, it is still the king, in the whole world.

Almost 1 million unit every year. scary number.

• Wisdom on Feb 18, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Any statistics for honda?

• alldisc™ on Feb 18, 2013 at 3:42 pm

this is news indeed, for always Toyota is not a favourite brand in the europe continent. its the backyard for VW, Ford, Opel/Vauxhall, peugoet, Renault and Fiat.

• pro super on Feb 18, 2013 at 4:21 pm

WHY you never tell the people total toyota + lexus hybrid sales is less one 1 % of total europe sales?

• Because it’t true?

Toyota has a market share of 4.2% (Hybrids AND non-hybrids) in the EU?

• Edmont on Feb 18, 2013 at 4:42 pm

i bought the Prius three months ago and loving every minute of it. the FC is good, the design is futuristic and the car is powerful. go for it guys :)

• Sam Loo on Feb 18, 2013 at 8:21 pm

And need I say more on Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • I bought a Prius last year May, the FC is really good average goes up to 780km for RM65, if you know how to control the acceleration paddle it can goes up to 840km for rm65. Maintenance fees is quite low, first service Rm70 second service Rm50 third service at RM150. Like Edmont said it is powerful but is for short distant drag only.