Toyota i-ROAD – three-wheeled EV fun for two

toyota i-road 05

Say hello to the Toyota i-ROAD, an all-electric personal mobility vehicle that seats two. The Geneva debutant is a three-wheeler that explores the possibility of having a similarly-sized but more versatile and eco-friendly alternative to conventional two-wheelers in an urban environment.

At 2,350 mm long, 1,445 mm tall and 850 mm wide, it’s tidy in size and no wider than a conventional two-wheeler, making it easy to manoeuvre as a scooter or motorcycle through urban traffic. The i-ROAD is powered by two 2 kW motors mounted in the front wheels, and a lithium-ion battery offers the vehicle an operating range of 50 km on a single charge, with recharging taking three hours.

toyota i-road 06

The occupants sit in tandem in a comfortable, enclosed cabin, and the promise is that the i-ROAD is easy squeezy to pilot, with no special skills required – ‘Active Lean’ technology automatically balances the vehicle when cornering or travelling over stepped surfaces, and the three-wheel configuration means there’s no need to stabilise the vehicle when manoeuvring at low speed or when stationary.

The system uses a lean actuator and gearing mounted above the front suspension member, linked via a yoke to the left and right front wheels. An ECU calculates the required degree of lean based on steering angle, gyro-sensor and vehicle speed information, and the system automatically moves the wheels up/down in opposite directions and applies a lean angle to counteract the centrifugal force of cornering.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sam Loh on Mar 06, 2013 at 2:18 pm

This will had a good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • kereta lembu on Mar 06, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Wow…Sam-Loo-Mobile!

• confused on Mar 06, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Can’t wait for it’s TRD Sportivo package!

• Jimmy on Mar 06, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Yeah, Sportivo with sunroof and 25-inch alloy rim, sold at RM200K in Malaysia. And the owner is so proud of it.
      Oh, almost forgotten, this vehicle has 6-star NCAP and is definitely safer than the crashed Mercedes which the driver survived (but she died).

• Nick.C on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Call me if they actually make a proper petrol or diesel version and put it into production…

• JackeyDeck on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:28 pm

let me know if they made a Akira Red Bike. I definately want to own n ride it ~

• JackeyDeck on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:30 pm

btw, this thing got air-bag ??

• Algojo on Mar 06, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Bike with a roof… perfect for KL commuting! Hopefully it has a/c though…

• I prefer Lit Motors C-1 more. http://litmotors.com/c-1/ But Toyo will have a better RV I guess…

• Abuya on Mar 06, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Absolutely for rich person. Why? because it so high tech which contribute high maintenance cost. Anyway, it is finest prototype.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 06, 2013 at 8:19 pm

JPJ in thier own small little world will never be able to classify this. So it’s easier for them to say this is illegal. Hahaha

• Sam Loo Jr on Mar 06, 2013 at 9:40 pm

got air cond or not?

• Anonymous on Mar 07, 2013 at 1:06 pm

I guess if the full battery can enlarge until 400KM and price is decrease to match kancil, i guess the selling will be good.

• comes to bolehland with TRD Sportivo, G Limited, E, and J spec :p

• obest on Mar 10, 2013 at 12:09 am

wonder why most of hybrid or ‘plug in vehicle’ didn’t have solar panel on the roof.. IMHO, if we leave the vehicle under the sun (parking), can charge what? most of the solar panel efficiency nowadays way better than before. DC radiation? OnG conspiracy?? why eh?? haha

• Franklin on Mar 24, 2013 at 10:18 am

This is really nice & cool too. Introduce it to SOUTH EAST ASIA Countries will be very suitable
    especially MALAYSIA..

• Along on Oct 01, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Useful for those who don’t have motorcycle licence…

• kakalutoh on Jan 04, 2016 at 11:39 am

so i need bring my power bank lah??

• how to get this?

• JackeyDeck, the answer is unfortunately No.
    Leon, Toyota is still silent on production. They have only brought it for test drive in NYC in March 2016.

• Jerry E Bernard on May 02, 2017 at 2:42 pm

Dear Mr Paul Tan, is the I Road already available here in Msia? I saw someone selling in the facebook. Dunno whether it’s a scam or not. Seller claims I bike co in Penang is d 1st one 2 bring I Road into Msia & has sold a few units to Sibu, Miri etc. I’ve checked Toyota Msia website bt no info there. Rgds

• Kereta ni boleh lepas kat JPJ ke?