JAC bringing three new cars to Auto Shanghai 2013 – MPV, SUV and sedan all look very familiar!

jac_a20

Chinese carmaker JAC (Jianghuai Automobile Co Ltd) will be bringing three new cars to Auto Shanghai 2013, which will be happening later this week. One is an MPV, one a SUV, and the other is a compact sedan. Honestly, the only reason we’re interested is because they all look VERY familiar.

The JAC Refine M6 MPV is rumoured to be powered by a 2.0 turbo engine, with a 1.9 diesel also on offer. Six speed manuals are the norm, but the gasoline engine can be had with a five-speed auto, too. The sedan, tentatively named HeYue A20, has a 2,490 mm wheelbase and 1.3L/1.5L VVT options. A CVT gearbox is available. Lastly, the HeYue S30 SUV (2,560 mm wheelbase) can be had with 1.5T and 1.8L engines.

But who cares, just look at them! I’m pretty sure the folks behind Fluidic Sculpture will be having a great laugh seeing this – we did! Sorry, no prizes for naming the right inspiration :)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I fail to understand why the Chinese government didn’t do something about this ‘copycatting’……it’s a national disgrace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
    • tishaban on Apr 15, 2013 at 9:49 pm

I don’t know how true it is, but I’ve read that copying without acknowledgement is an accepted part of the mainland Chinese culture, so essentially most of them don’t see this as doing anything wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:00 pm

People from China cannot be trusted. If they can put poison into baby milk which killed so many babies, don’t be surprised if this car explodes while you are speeding. People is China ALWAYS lie and cheat and try to cut cost and compromise in quality and safety. That is a fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • Hyundai De la Junk on Apr 16, 2013 at 4:37 pm

I will never trust China companies. Would you buy a York aircon Made in Malaysia or would you buy an Akira?

Yes, I hear everybody also saying York. This attitude is the same everywhere. Nobody trust products from China really. We buy it because we have no choice or because it is OEM in China.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 15, 2013 at 10:52 pm

What do you expect from a country who only cared about money and profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • uncle on Aug 03, 2014 at 4:18 am

Copycat, push high profit by cekik civilian and selfish attitude…..it also turn to our leadership system..lets mirrow before speak!

• Jimmy on Apr 15, 2013 at 11:20 pm

While we all agreed that true copycating is wrong, the more important thing is: if the government don’t take care of the rakyat, in this context, safety, then the rakyat will suffer, which in return, will ultimately result in suffer of the government themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Copy here copy there,and then become a beautiful rojak car lolx

• i see mazda2….toyota alphard and hyundai elantra…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Hyundai De la Junk on Apr 16, 2013 at 9:12 am

Tell the same thing to the korean for copying MB, BMW & VW, remember “Sauce for the goose also for the gender”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Rio, alphard with audi q7 back light and santa fe

• hadi75 on Apr 15, 2013 at 9:49 pm

you gotta be kidding me….there’s a kia and 3 hyundais…

• guess the word copyright infringement meant nothing to JAC…

• LOVE the sedan looks…. Naza should rebadge the sedan for Malaysia..at an attractive price of course…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
    • carnoisseur on Apr 16, 2013 at 10:31 am

While looks may be flattering , the essence to a good product is its quality and durability , if they match up then its well and good , if not it will be pointless

• U r right…. Why would naza want to bring this car in anyway, they already hv KIA and etc….

• Enter your name... on Apr 15, 2013 at 10:38 pm

Angry crab Alphard

• frenzyaustin on Apr 15, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Hate to say the word “copy”.
    Toyota Alphard “look-alike”
    Hyundai Tucson “Look-alike”
    Kia K3/Forte “Look-alike”
    China’s automobile history is equal or longer than South Korean, but they can’t even design, or at least hired decent designer from the west. Even their so-called luxurious brand, Qoros resembled a Volkswagen. Is this how a world second or maybe most powerful country do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Megane on Apr 15, 2013 at 11:22 pm

JAC would say the fluidic design is inspired by a dragon having a bath at Yangtze river ….while the horizontal mpv grille is derived from resting chopsticks …take that Hyundai !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • you guys are laughing but at least their sedan looks good even though it has a combination of vauxhall astra gtc front bumper and elantra body.
    im no chinese, but proton couldn’t even design a car if their lives depended on it, and this company JAC came out of nowhere?
    give the chinese another 3 years, then we compare again. Because its been 3 decades and the malaysian car industry has gotten absolutely nowhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 38
    • no name on Apr 16, 2013 at 12:23 am

at least Proton come up with own design rather than copying almost 100% other manufacturers design and name it under own name.
      even Proton do rebagde, it is legal and with agreement with the design owner…:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
      • frenzyaustin on Apr 16, 2013 at 1:07 am

Although Proton ‘s few models looks awful, at least I’m not so shameful about it as it is designed by our own people, not CTRL+C, CTRL+V from other manufacturer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
        • fair point, but i still think proton’s design team is made by a group of people who have absolutely no passion for cars.
          i have seen local students with more car designing potential than proton’s whole designing department combined. Every car that rolled out of that factory will blend into every other car on the road. they are practically invisible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • alldisc on Apr 16, 2013 at 9:37 am

bear in mind, proton only designed waja, savvy and gen2 in house.

persona rear end, saga BLM, exora all designed by LG of south korea, while preve is of Bertone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Mat Global on Apr 16, 2013 at 10:35 am

I will definitely go for Proton Preve or Exora as in terms of technology and safety they are better than China cars. In designs also Proton cars are no less better.

• llgriver on Apr 15, 2013 at 11:43 pm

“excuse me..could you please park my JAC..i mean that JAC..not that JAG..”

• MengQ on Apr 16, 2013 at 12:35 am

Arggggghhhh! My eyes!!!!

• assman on Apr 16, 2013 at 12:57 am

JAC the one eye pirate

• HeyYou on Apr 16, 2013 at 6:55 am

10 ~15 yrs ago we’ve had our big lough on Koreans’ cars but now world are respecting them. Whatever, our ‘jaguh kampung’ is still there wondering ‘pi mai pi mai tang tu’- LETS VOTE FOR CHANGE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Hadi75 on Apr 16, 2013 at 7:21 am

Copycat carmaker….

• In China, copyright doesnt exist.
    only copyISright exist.

well the got the numbers,so..

• all look very familiar….. and ugly..

• Gokul on Apr 16, 2013 at 5:59 pm

JAC = “Jargon Arse from China”..

• freight on Apr 16, 2013 at 8:15 pm

1.retard alphard
    2.retard avante
    3.retard elantra

• thedarkside on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:20 am

this car company is surely JAC of all trades..

• estimosis on Apr 19, 2013 at 9:08 am

JAC – Just Accept Copies from the people of Jobs As Copycats