BMW i3 production car sighted: two different models

bmw-i3-spyshots-0008

The BMW i3 has been sighted again by our spy photographers SB-Medien. The grey one we’ve seen before, but there’s also a silver one this time, and if you look closely you can spot some differences between the two cars, other than the most obvious which is the exterior colour and the alloy wheel design.

Although the headlamps are half covered by blue camo tape, it’s obvious these two cars have two different headlamp designs. The silver car has what appears to be lower spec headlamps – they look like regular halogen reflector ones. The grey car had LED headlamps, with the glow of the daytime running lights at the bottom of the headlamp peeking through the camo.

Another difference we spotted is an additional lid below the A-pillar on the grey car that can’t be found on the silver car. We’re guessing the grey car is an i3 with a range extender engine, which means the extra filler cap is probably for petrol or diesel, depending on what the production car’s range extender engine is fuelled by, while the filler on the rear that both cars share in common is for the charger port to plug into.

bmw-i3-spyshots-0002

Another thing that really stood out to us was despite the huge wheel circumference and the low profile of the tyres on the i3, it seemed to have tyres that were 30% narrower than usual. Designed in the spirit of better fuel efficiency, perhaps?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sudonano on Jul 06, 2013 at 6:47 pm

The tyres. Look like motorcycle tyres. SO THIN.

• Veneno on Jul 06, 2013 at 7:56 pm

purposely fitted to reduces the drag and decrease the FC..

• sudonano on Jul 06, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Even then…. traction… Hmm

• Jimmy on Jul 08, 2013 at 1:19 pm

I love BMw’s but why is the pariah BMW Malaysia ONLY giving 2 years warranty when most car manufaturers have upped it to 5 years. Even Mercedes give 4 years now.

You know why they give ONLY 2 years? Because they know, just right after the 730 days are up, your gearbox is high likely to kaput and it will cost you RM80,000 to replace. Be warned!

• lil kim on Jul 06, 2013 at 7:41 pm

Owh no where is EMAS?

• Clint Eastwood on Jul 06, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Emas was far ahead of this but like many projects it was killed by proton management god knows why????

• Veneno on Jul 08, 2013 at 10:18 pm

I heard that the 2014 Proton GSC will using EMAS design.. just wait and see..

• Ah Beng on Jul 06, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Yay! A RM 500,000 myvi!

• it will be trend for urban/city mover..in weekend, using for buy vege at nearest shopping mall.. close rival to P2..

• MAH WEZEN on Jul 06, 2013 at 9:04 pm

i think exora better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • RedCRZ on Jul 06, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Whoaaa… If tayar kaput where can buy new 1???

• Heybadigol on Jul 07, 2013 at 12:46 am

Kinda weird seeing a BMW with such thin tyres. Are they run flats, one wonders?

• art appreciator on Jul 07, 2013 at 4:08 pm

For me personally, there’s something very substantial and solid about the looks of this BMW. Despite being a little far off from the usual BMW design language, I appreciate the rather daring appearance. Not so long ago one can only expect to see such designs only in movies or in games. But now, not anymore.

The more I look at it, the more I find myself coveting this vehicle. Looking forward to such futuristic-looking cars on our road!

• Jason on Jul 08, 2013 at 11:11 am

Ugly!!!