Perodua Viva replacement to debut next year

daihatsu mira es

Perodua is set to introduce a new model in 2014 which, when it arrives, will be the cheapest new car available in the local market. This announcement was made by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak over the weekend at a Perodua event, Bernama reports.

The PM added that the second national car company has invested RM1.3 billion to build a new factory which will produce the new model. The new 65,000 sq ft manufacturing plant, which will be located adjacent to the automaker’s existing factory in Sungai Choh, north of Rawang, will be operational by next October.

The new plant will be able to add 100,000 units to Perodua’s annual production capacity. Najib stated that he’s hoping for market expansion beyond local shores. “I hope the factory will help Perodua export more cars, especially to neighbouring countries. Currently, Perodua exports 10,000 units a year and I hope the figure can be increased further,” he said.

No mention was made to the identity of the model, but as previously reported, the expected A-segment, five-seater hatchback is something that’ll take Perodua back to its ’90s Kancil roots – the entry-level vehicle will be the replacement for the Viva, and targeted very much at low income households.

dahatsu ayla

Candidate donor models will be a toss-up between the Daihatsu Mira e:S and its derivative, the Daihatsu Ayla. The Ayla – and its sibling, the Toyota Agya – debuted at the Indonesian International Motor Show last year. For the Indonesian market, the five-door hatch sports a D26F-1KR-DE 1.0 litre three-cylinder mill, mated to either a five-speed manual or a four-speed auto.

In its most base form, pricing of the Ayla as bandied about at point of launch was around RM23,000 (Rp 75 million), but the variant omits a whole lot of kit from the equation.

Production of the car was planned to begin last December, and the Ayla was supposed to have begun selling in the republic this year, but until May, sales of it as well as that of the Agya had not begun. The delay was brought about by the wait for the Indonesian government to announce support measures and output incentives for green cars.

The Ayla is of course based on the Daihatsu Mira e:S, which premiered in Japan in 2011. In its domestic market, the minicar is powered by a KF transverse three-cylinder 658 cc lump with 52 PS at 6,800 rpm and 60 Nm at 5,200 rpm, paired to a CVT transmission.

So, which do you think the new Perodua Viva replacement will shape up closer to – the Mira e:S or the Ayla?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jolly_idiot on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:55 am

Another Crap…

The current Viva face tremendous quality issue. I wish they can give us back the Kelisa & Kenari quality. But those were the days.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 337 Thumb down 6
    • The current viva including myvi has got lousy quality especially viva. I really hope they bring back the quality they had back in the old kancil, kelisa and kenari days.. P2 please wake up! Proton is already bitting your ass and you can’t seem to notice that?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 5
    • Smart Buyer on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:42 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 135
      • addalah on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:39 pm

i can’t imagine if the right land of the highway will be terrorized by this model. even now many viva and myvi are currently doing so. knowing that P2 is producing budget car, some of the owners think they are driving lambo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
      • safety first on Aug 27, 2013 at 5:05 am

safety first, it’s for your soul not syok sendiri craps. preve/SS is not direct competitor to viva/myvi but GSC which is due next year.

• HirumaKecil on Sep 25, 2013 at 10:27 am

Here we go againnnnn…. Haih… Jimat minyak is not everything lah… Not everyone want to jimat minyak… Proton has better handling and performance for those who always go > 100kmh while perodua is easier to drive and has wiser and more suitable in city area and speed < 100kmh… Proton is more comfortable for long distance while perodua is much much much more fun to drive in traffic and crowded road… If your A to B is from Damansara to Cheras of coz perodua is a better car to drive but if your A to B is from JB to Kangar will you prefer Viva or you will go for Saga? If you live in greater KL area and have four child age below 18 of coz Alza is a wiser car to owned but if you are a bunch of grown up Exora is the car that you should buy… For University students, viva is very very very suitable car for you.. For family guys persona, preve and inspira is a good choice of car.. And for those who already retired then myvi is a perfect car for you.. In the end no car is suitable for everyone.. if you are a car maniac(huhuhu…) of coz you will buy your fav car(if you can afford it laa…) For me, i love the old skool continental car so i bought a peugeot 405 and a citroen zx even though both car are not jimat minyak and curently tengah kumpul duit to buy a bmw e34..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • superbird #43 on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:38 pm

i prefer speed. im driving 2.8d toyota crown with 400k mileage. it’d more fuel efficient to drive a car moving at constant speed (70km/h) than driving a fuel efficient car in a traffic jam.. correct me if im wrong

• magpie on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:05 am

Kelisa. The last great Perodua car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 2
      • powershot on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:28 am

I still think to this day that the kelisa was the best car that Perodua ever produced. AFter that, everything went downhill

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 1
        • You must be thinking now that you are a master in manipulation. Don’t syok sendiri la.
          Just focus to sell at least 400 Preve a month and hopefully some Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • omanjedi on Aug 26, 2013 at 12:12 pm

I agree. My previously owned KELISA serves me well for 6 years with only single warranty claim. RM 30 fuel for good 230 km combine milage. Can titik Vios at Grik-Jeli Titiwangsa route somemore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
        • Lai kwee seong on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:47 am

I agree with you $RM30 for 230km mileage it is miracle car
          Please it Kelisa model back.
          Such an excellent car,why remove it…no reason to replace it…..
          Thanks
          James Lai

• Petrolhead on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:15 pm

If possible rebadge the Ayla over the Agya and Mira. The Mira looks too similar to the current Viva and the Agya doesn’t look as good as compared to the Ayla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • boring design…:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Suzuki Alto front..copycat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • Spark on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:56 am

ugly as f*ck.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
  • Etios on Aug 26, 2013 at 9:59 am

Don’t be surprise if P2 gonna replace the Viva with the Etios !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 66
  • Proton Staff on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:00 am

2014 gonna be interesting year for Perodua and Proton. Both going to have new model. Entry level for Perodua, B segment hatch for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • People will still buy no matter what. As if they have any other option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Datuk on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:49 am

hopefully no more 660cc spec. Completely tin kosong. The 850cc spec as entry level is just good enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • philippecr on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:23 pm

FYI, 660cc specs Daihatsu exist even in Japanese market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Datuk on Aug 26, 2013 at 3:10 pm

yess its true but the JDM 660cc is turbo, in malaysia, the front and rear bumper are not paint, no alarm system, no radio also. So u want to buy this kind of car?? its so expensive to paint the rear and front bumper? what it will cost 100k kah? thats why i said 850cc specs as entry level JUST GOOD ENOUGH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • dugong on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Paint of course expensive bro. Toyota will even remove an item if it can save them RM5. So perutdua sure the same lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
      • driver on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:58 pm

so? your point? If it exists in Japanese market, why would it need to also exist in ours?

• Low Budget on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:01 pm

In Japan they only drive this kind of cars in the cities where else in Malaysia they will drive outstation at max speed limit of around 120 km/h and very often squeeze 5 or more people inside only to get smashed…

• kadajawi on Aug 26, 2013 at 10:50 am

Didn’t Perodua always pick up the outgoing Mira generation and continue building it? i.e. 3rd gen Mira becomes Kancil, 5th gen Mira becomes Kelisa, 6th gen becomes Viva… and always after that car stopped production in Japan. So isn’t it safe to assume that the outgoing 7th gen Mira will make it to Malaysia, instead of a newer model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
    • Hopers can always hope. But I’ll stick to your logic.

• Celicazz on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:10 pm

No, i dont buy dat logic.

The new myvi is based on new passo, boon. And the Alza is based on sette, luminas, which is only a year behind those daihatsu, toyota equivalent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 61
  • Chris on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:19 am

When I got my Viva 660 a few years ago, I wished it has the new long stroke engine in the Mira e:S for more torque. And it does feel very expensive for what it is.

That said, my car been through hell and back with me. No squeak, no leak, extremely cold aircond, 22.5km/L economy on road trips. Well the cabin is noisy and the seat as no support, and I’d probably expire if something hits me, but other than that I don’t see what’s wrong.

Maybe I’m just lucky to get a good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • bOOST on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:56 am

Prefer old design – viva elite..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • low income households will buy this car then put 7 or 8 people inside like a moving coffin bcoz they cant afford to buy big car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Japcunt on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Myvi lagi best the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
  • ntah.. on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:04 pm

I actually don’t mind if perodua is still rebadging toyota’s cars and will do so for the next 10 years maybe.. But please, make it as same qualities as the japanese one.. The malaysian one are completely piece of bullshit and very expensive.. I’ve compared my sister’s myvi and the sirion in brunei, and the sirion is very abused one you know, but the sirion are very solid and there’s no rattling on the engine.. All panels are still tight and solid.. As for my sister’s myvi who had only done 70k city driving only mileage for the past 7 years, engine rattling, radio fucked up (need to slam hard for it to work, cd no longer can be used), 2 out of 4 power window no longer can be used.. Great pain in the ass.. Luckily she get rid of it.. But she got herself another myvi though..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • dugong on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:13 pm

There are 3 categories of ppl in the world.
      1.) The Wise – Learn from other ppl’s mistake

2.) The Average – Learn from their own mistakes.

3.) The stupid – Never learns from their own mistakes.

No offense but guess which one is her?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • driver on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:05 pm

LOL! the last statement made my day…

• human on Aug 26, 2013 at 6:51 pm

so she may be the unlucky user, coz my sis myvi still serve her with pride, doing 200+ mileage and already 8 years, plus she always forget to service on time.

• philippecr on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Wish Perodua will bring in the Turbo engine variants in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
  • pssb hq on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Actually it is not the viva would be the most affordable and cheapest model next year but the all new perodua alza. Cut cost sum up to rm10k for the premium version.

Fortunately, will get an alza with new features but with price tag around rm50k.

• muah2 on Aug 26, 2013 at 3:58 pm

why going back ward? only going back ward can offer cheap price? what parts will be taken out? saga sv have 2 airbags you know. P2 nowadays is truly the P1 of 90’s!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 11
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 145
  • its true on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:11 pm

not another overprice 4 wheel motorcycle please

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 3
  • Perutdua on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:15 pm

I doubt that Daihatsu and Toyota will let Perodua to rebadge Agya or Ayla.

• Homoldy on Aug 26, 2013 at 7:07 pm

After all these years, i thought the new current myvi had an in-house design (perodua-inspired/design front lamps) and now noticed how similar it is with the Mira ES. Althought the myvi was launched 3 months ahead of the ES, developmental ideas and drawings must have been out and about.

• allianz on Aug 26, 2013 at 8:11 pm

it’s a mirrage

• when is the alza replacement ? should give 6 airbag and ESP as standard equipment .

• correct me if i m wrong… Perodua… pls come out with own design… yes is nothing wrong to rebadge but how come u must rely on rebadge all the while…

• Philip Yong on Aug 27, 2013 at 1:30 pm

I think Perodua may rebadge Daihatsu Ayla as their Viva replacement because Ayla has wider looks. If they rebadge Mira es, Perodua should use Toyota 1KR-FE engine for 1.0 spec.

• wanjamakwanjusoh on Aug 27, 2013 at 4:11 pm

for those who wish/ask/hope that perodua to come up with their own design are totally fool. perodua is a car assembler company. they assemble car. regardless of whether they mold the parts on house or imports the parts, they are are just assembler (Chips of motortrader always backup P2 and defended that P2 is not an assembler company but manufacturer, because it manufacture the body parts here, but what the hell. it’s just semantic). P2 is not a national car company. they already being sold to daihatsu. only the assembly line remain with the malaysian. in other words, they are kuli, not boss. so you ask kuli to design and put macam2? you think the boss will agree? idiots! P2 is no different that sime darby or inokom or tanchong or whatever else company who has production line here. if you want to blame, pls blame daihatsu/toyota. but would majority of toyota lickers would blame them?

• pearjai on Oct 12, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Erm, this mira L275 have already sold in japan since 2007…..buy basic 660 n then after 3 year sold all in the bay for rm 2k ….buy mira L 275 kf-vet with cvt ! Turbo car with 22km/liter……mana mau cari woooo ?

• Lai kwee seong on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:33 am

I recently drove 10 years old manual gear Perodua Kelisa from KL to Taiping,that belongs to my niece,who has kept the car in tip-top condition.
    It’s a wonderful car ecomonically fuel saving,it’s unbelievable great car,not even half of the tank used.
    Please bring back Kelisa model.
    I wanted to buy for my son for his travelling to n fro from hospital to university for BDS course training
    Thank you
    Hope to hear from you soon

Regards
    James Lai

• LUKE SKYWALKER on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:34 am

PLEASE BRING BACK D.CHARMANT & DETOMASO BACK FOR SEDAN SEGMENT

• Alan Tan on Dec 05, 2013 at 5:46 pm

It’s ok for Perodua to produce low-priced models. Janji, must be reliable. It’s pointless to produce cheapest model in the market, but got problem. No sales person dare to recommend this type of car.