Caterham AeroSeven Concept premieres in Singapore

Caterham AeroSeven Concept 28

Earlier today, the Caterham AeroSeven Concept made its world debut at the start of the 2013 SingTel Singapore Grand Prix weekend. The signature green-yellow themed concept, unveiled by Caterham boss Tony Fernandes at the Pan Pacific Singapore, previews a production version of a two-seater performance road car that’s set to enter the market in 2014.

The AeroSeven Concept is the first Caterham model designed with significant input from all of the Group’s specialist business arms, in this case Caterham Technology & Innovation, Caterham Composites and Caterham F1 Team. The debutant was teased earlier in the month by the Malaysian-owned F1 team via silhouette stickers on the race machines of Charles Pic and Giedo van der Garde at the Italian GP.

The carbon-fibre bodied vehicle is based on an updated interpretation of the Seven CSR platform, and features race car-inspired features, including aerodynamic styling, an exclusive F1-style steering wheel as well as a new, fully active Graphical Display Unit (GDU).

The GDU – developed by Caterham Technology & Innovation – integrates all display and instrumentation in a high-resolution, centrally mounted screen, offering display information of items such as engine speed, gear selection, vehicle speed, traction and brake settings. The race-inspired steering wheel, meanwhile, incorporates ‘Road’ mode, ‘Flash-to-Pass’ and ‘Pit Lane Speed Limiter’ functions.

The design study, which draws heavily on methods used by the F1 team, incorporates a completely new rollover structure to aid safety and improve aerodynamic performance as well as enhance aesthetics. The vehicle also features traction control, the first ever Caterham to be equipped with it.

Caterham AeroSeven Concept 18

The rear-wheel drive vehicle will initially be powered by a 240 PS Ford Duratec-based 2.0 litre normally-aspirated unit, the same EU6-compliant mill found in the European-homologated Caterham Seven 485, paired with a Caterham six-speed manual gearbox.

The company says that it’s assessing other engines for suitability and options for the final production version, so this one isn’t definitive as yet, but in its current engined form, performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of under four seconds. Caterham also says it is exploring the feasibility of using Bosch’s race-derived anti-lock braking system on the car.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• i’ll take 2… what am i buying???

• 600kg only, therefore 240 PS should be enough.

• west end boys on Sep 21, 2013 at 2:33 am

not bad at all

• najib on Sep 21, 2013 at 3:06 am

it would be a real challenge if buyer need to build themselves from pieces.

• No doors – how did the model got into driver’s seat wearing mini skirt without exposing herself…. Or did she…..

• The Caterham AeroSeven, Flashing pass you. If you get what i mean haha

• Vincent Tan on Sep 23, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Well, I had to look away and place my camera upwards after placing the footstool and waiting for her to get into the car.

• shiftSpank on Sep 21, 2013 at 8:42 am

I really wanna love it… but. JUST. CAN’T. That face.

• heybadigol on Sep 21, 2013 at 8:44 am

What, no airbags, AC and wipers?? How to pass safety requirements :) And am surprised at the non-turbo route taken. With the kind of bhp per litre its making (sans turbo), not sure it can pass Europe’s strict environmental control requirements. But since it is lightweight, maybe it does not emit much emissions to move alomg.

• No airbags because the drivers of this kind of cars usually wears helmet on tracks (although most Caterham are road-legal). Safety requirement? It got rollover hoops behind the cockpit, and of course composite body structure, that’s more than enough. AC? Well u must be kidding.

• benzs on Sep 21, 2013 at 10:13 am

Glad to heard caterham is launching new model. Anyway its Malaysian own company now. Thumb up!

• Finally a Malaysian controlled car company that we can be truly proud of.

• powershot on Sep 21, 2013 at 3:04 pm

where’s the wind shield? driver might suffer from neck injuries when driving in high speeds

• The driver has to use a fullface helmet.

• it is a track car…meant to be used on tracks even though it is a road legal car…nobody is gonna drive the car down to KLCC in a full face helmet…

• hadi75 on Sep 21, 2013 at 10:20 pm

I like the red one please…… :)

• Keris Jawa on Sep 22, 2013 at 7:12 am

A rich man’s fetish.

• hadi75 on Sep 22, 2013 at 8:31 am

I like the red one please…..

• motorhead on Sep 22, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Go upgrade a go cart to max level.. You ll get a cheaper Caterham & same safety features.. Opps.. Sorry typo.. No safety features. Minus comfort of course.

• Jaybond on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:05 am

Perhaps this is what Caterham badly needs after decades of the same old of car (although this is still strictly a track dar, Rivals include Ariel Atom,KTM X-Bow, Westfield XTR & Radical SR). On the other hand, the next new Caterham sportscar jointly developed with Alpine-Renault could feature the creature comforts though..

• Giget on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:37 am

Middle bar is a safety hazard. Design flop. Easily can knock your head when langgar lobang on m’sian road.

• motorhead on Sep 23, 2013 at 12:31 pm

How many time you can go to track? Even though can pay the track fees.. The tracks not all time free just for you.. Anyway good la ve this kind ok.. Looking forward anyone to buy it in the future.. Supportlah lah this so called track car.. Go & take them to tracks.. Don’t let them become Spider web cars.. Huahaha..

• Looks like ninja turtle to me :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • subsidi gula on Sep 23, 2013 at 9:23 pm

for aero nomenclature,they should show wind tunnel test and drag coefficient numbers…ford duratec for this beuty?..hurmmmmmmmm…what happen?